View Full Version : Luke Power
Wally Matera
16 Sep 2003, 13:58
Is coming home!
Watch this space Tigers supporters... forget Brown, forget, Stevens!
Luke Power will be in the yellow and black next.
One-eyed Tiger
16 Sep 2003, 14:23
Love to believe it...............................
......................but I dont!:rolleyes:
scooter600x
16 Sep 2003, 14:27
Originally posted by Wally Matera
Is coming home!
Bloody hell.
Carlton were offering $600K/year, what would Richmond pay?
Wally Matera
16 Sep 2003, 14:37
he's weighing up whether to get a leadership role in brisbane - which will most likely never eventuate because leppitsch will be next captain - or take the money.
he's coming home l tell you!
bluechampion
16 Sep 2003, 15:31
Crikey! He can come to Carlton, we'll pay 600 grand and make him Captain, if that's what it takes...
Lady Lawrence
16 Sep 2003, 15:39
he's weighing up whether to get a leadership role in brisbane - which will most likely never eventuate because leppitsch will be next captain - or take the money.
he's coming home l tell you!
Utter Rubbish!
There is NO way Leppa will be the next captain, he couldn't step up when Voss was incapacitated, Matthews even said so.
Luke Power ISN'T going to leave the lions....his brother and family may move up to Brissy...anyway, how could Richmond fit him in the cap with all their overpaid hacks?
Maybe Richmond will trade Joel Bowden for him??
Moo://_Cow
16 Sep 2003, 17:11
why would he want to leave brisbane
As long as nobody calls him Lukey - God I hate that.
Originally posted by bluechampion
Crikey! He can come to Carlton, we'll pay 600 grand and make him Captain, if that's what it takes...
Isn't doing this sort of stupid thing what got you into trouble with Salary caps etc?
Sam Power won't go to Brisbane...he's studying law at Melbourne Uni I believe.
Originally posted by Moo://_Cow
1. MONEY
2. More footy groupies to slam in Melbourne
3. Best time for him to go after a stella year......big offers
cjwalkley
16 Sep 2003, 19:46
The only way Power would leave Brisbane is to play on the same team as his brother, and that won't be at the Bulldogs!
Richmond and Carlton are absolutely no chance:
- Horrific Lists
- Rabble Off the Field
- Great Chance to have new coaches in 2005.
i could see him leaving the Lions to come back to Melbourne for several reasons.
- to be close to his family
- to seperate himself from the demise of a top line team who has too many old guys in the side. Can't see them being as competitive next season. However they will still certainly be better than Carlton, Richmond and Bulldogs. This is the last chance for the lions to win a premiership in a long time.
Isdogisgood
16 Sep 2003, 20:13
Brisbane have a lot of ageing players so it is unlikely they would want to part with Luke Power. If he did want to leave the only club he would go to is the dogs so he can play with his brother....as has been said by young Sammy in interviews.
Originally posted by Hosko
i could see him leaving the Lions to come back to Melbourne for several reasons.
- to be close to his family
- to seperate himself from the demise of a top line team who has too many old guys in the side. Can't see them being as competitive next season. However they will still certainly be better than Carlton, Richmond and Bulldogs. This is the last chance for the lions to win a premiership in a long time.
i think your confused with adelaide, brisbane will be competitive for a little while yet
Wally Matera
17 Sep 2003, 07:57
ABSOLUTE CERTAINTY!
He's had a brilliant year, the Lions are on the decline and he wants to come home. His manager is ACTIVELY seeking Melbourne offers, as this is the perfect opportunity for him to set himself up with a quid or two.
He is studying commerce at QLD University and is looking to find his way into a Melbourne Uni as we speak.
There is no more certainty in this years trade period!!!
cjwalkley
17 Sep 2003, 09:22
ABSOLUTE CERTAINTY!
He's had a brilliant year, the Lions are on the decline and he wants to come home. His manager is ACTIVELY seeking Melbourne offers, as this is the perfect opportunity for him to set himself up with a quid or two.
He is studying commerce at QLD University and is looking to find his way into a Melbourne Uni as we speak.
There is no more certainty in this years trade period!!!
This horrific decline the Lions are in is probably a good reason to jump ship. I mean to be able to play for a powerhouse such as Richmond or Carlton, where you will be offerred huge dollars, but then have to give at least 25% back due to the clubs being either broke or over the salary cap, and have a brand new coach in a year or two (....and in the Tiger's case a year or two after that, and a year or two after that.)
I think those of you sprouting the Lions demise are clutching at very short straws. With no retirements to any top ecehelon players for the next couple of years (Lynch excepted) and players like Hadley, Gram, Brennan and Selwood to make a huge impression, I can see the lions still being amongst the top teams for 3-4years yet.
Outoftheblue
17 Sep 2003, 09:59
I mean to be able to play for a powerhouse such as Richmond or Carlton, where you will be offerred huge dollars, but then have to give at least 25% back due to the clubs being either broke or over the salary cap
More proof that arrogance is an acquired taste. No doubt, CJ, when the Lions were battling along as Fitzroy you would have been leading the bleating when Elliott made his very similar, weekly pronouncements about clubs being a rabble or going broke, but anyway: Power going to Carlton would be a bit like Alastair Lynch going to Brisbane, which had produced a massive four wins in 1993.
The money will be there as a lure to Power, but the move is highly unlikely because he will know that if he lines up in the middle for Carlton next year he will be hammered by opponents week in, week out as one of the few dangerous players. It would actually take a fair bit of courage for him to sign with the Blues knowing the pressure he would be under and the challenges he would face.
Anyway, I hope the Lions can win again this year. At least one of the alternatives is too horrible to contemplate.
Black Thunder
17 Sep 2003, 10:14
Brisbane are on a slight declie, there is no doubting that, and given Luke Power is still young and one of the guys who can stop that decline, the Lions will do just about anything to keep him on their list I reckon.
But if he did leave and came to Victoria, it would only be to go to Collinwgood I think you'll find and perhaps maybe Essendon.
cjwalkley
17 Sep 2003, 10:37
Originally posted by Outoftheblue
More proof that arrogance is an acquired taste. No doubt, CJ, when the Lions were battling along as Fitzroy you would have been leading the bleating when Elliott made his very similar, weekly pronouncements about clubs being a rabble or going broke, but anyway: Power going to Carlton would be a bit like Alastair Lynch going to Brisbane, which had produced a massive four wins in 1993.
The money will be there as a lure to Power, but the move is highly unlikely because he will know that if he lines up in the middle for Carlton next year he will be hammered by opponents week in, week out as one of the few dangerous players. It would actually take a fair bit of courage for him to sign with the Blues knowing the pressure he would be under and the challenges he would face.
Anyway, I hope the Lions can win again this year. At least one of the alternatives is too horrible to contemplate.
Not meaning to suggest that Brisbane is a powerhouse or anything, but for the next 3 or 4 years neither Carlton or the Tigers will fire many shots, and these will be Power's prime years. Carlton has Kouta's millstone around their necks, and with the draft penalties are in a hole for a long while yet. Richmond have built a very nice recent past of mediocrity, have Holland and Gaspar's inflated salaries to contend with and a very unstable administration and football department. Not trying to take a cheap shot, but being realistic.
The Lynch situation was completely different as he was jumping from a sinking ship, where he wasn't sure how long the team would exist, where they would train or play, and even when he would get paid.
Wally Matera
17 Sep 2003, 10:39
I dont think some of you are listening... trust me, he wants to come home. He's got what he wants out of Brisbane, nothing really more he wants to achieve (particularly if they take out the flag this year), and its time reap the rewards.
God's honour... he won't be at Brisbane next year. It's not the attraction of playing with his brother either. Being closer to the family is encouraging him, however, he'll never get a better opportunity to set his future up then NOW.
I would love him at Richmond.
kouta_43
17 Sep 2003, 11:23
What i have heard is that Carlton hae made an official offer to Luke Power, which is 600,000 big ones over a 3-year deal
Originally posted by kouta_43
What i have heard is that Carlton hae made an official offer to Luke Power, which is 600,000 big ones over a 3-year deal
I wouldn't take him if it was for that much money. A better wage would be at most $450,000.
One-eyed Tiger
17 Sep 2003, 12:12
Originally posted by shawry
I would love him at Richmond.
Second that!:D
Wally Matera
17 Sep 2003, 12:12
Yeah l wouldnt pay that much either... but its a fair increase on the high 200's - low 300's he's on at the moment.
SpecialBruce
17 Sep 2003, 12:30
I dont think some of you are listening... trust me, he wants to come home. He's got what he wants out of Brisbane, nothing really more he wants to achieve (particularly if they take out the flag this year), and its time reap the rewards.
God's honour... he won't be at Brisbane next year. It's not the attraction of playing with his brother either. Being closer to the family is encouraging him, however, he'll never get a better opportunity to set his future up then NOW.
Trust you? How can we trust a person with 26 posts next to his name claiming that he knows Power wants to go home?
Brisbane won't get rid of him considering in a week's time, he will be one of the 4 Brisbane midfielders to have a Brownlow medal. Not to mention he's going to be a leader in a few years time at the club and he's had an awesome year and Brisbane will try everything possible to keep him.
So the question has to be asked, how the hell do you think you know this?, are you one of Power's mates or something.
Seriously these stupid stories spring up every year, "trust me, i'm in the know".
Apoligies in advance if this does turn out to be true, but i am not holding my breath!
Wally Matera
17 Sep 2003, 12:50
Stiff sh*t... mate you think you're a genious because you've written 2500 posts of absolute bullsh*t!
It's an absolute special... Power will be at a Melbourne based club next year.
Anyway.... have a good look at what you quantify as a quality game - Richard Hadley 8 possesions.
Great insight their champ! Go back to the bronx!
Originally posted by One-eyed Tiger
Second that!:D
Seems like deja-vu from the Bartel thread.
Black Thunder
17 Sep 2003, 13:06
Just out of interest, these money value we're talking about aren't per year??
Surely Luke Power wouldn't be on high 200's/low 300's a year as Wally said??
And surely Carlton wouldn't have offered him 600K a year, rather 200K over 3 years......??
Wally Matera
17 Sep 2003, 13:07
I wasnt too incorrect with this insight yesterday... go to this thread -
BigFooty > BigFooty > Australian Football League > Smokin Joe
Barmera roo
17 Sep 2003, 13:28
I will give you credit, you were on the money wally.
Wally Matera
17 Sep 2003, 13:31
Cheers Barmera roo!
Nice to get some constructive feedback. I still stand by the call too!
Barmera roo
17 Sep 2003, 13:47
So what about his brother what are his plans?
Wally Matera
17 Sep 2003, 13:50
Sam loves the bullies... needs to do a bit of grunt work before putting the feelers out for offers.
Barmera roo
17 Sep 2003, 13:55
If Luke Power goes, will the brothers be at the same club Or does that not bother L.Power
Wally Matera
17 Sep 2003, 13:56
Have a look at Brisbane's poll on their website... they obviously havent rated the work the Luke Power has put in all year. He will win a top three place in their B&F, and they still dont rate him as a match winner!
POLL
Matchwinner?
Which Lion holds the key to Saturday night's preliminary final?
Michael Voss
Alastair Lynch
Jason Akermanis
Simon Black
Nigel Lappin
Jonathan Brown
Mal Michael
Justin Leppitsch
Wally The only way Brisbane would let him go is a situation similiar to Des Headland last year where they were faced with getting nothing for him if he nominated for the draft. He is very much a required/untouchable player even more so than headland
cjwalkley
17 Sep 2003, 16:28
Have a look at Brisbane's poll on their website... they obviously havent rated the work the Luke Power has put in all year. He will win a top three place in their B&F, and they still dont rate him as a match winner!
POLL
Matchwinner?
Which Lion holds the key to Saturday night's preliminary final?
Michael Voss
Alastair Lynch
Jason Akermanis
Simon Black
Nigel Lappin
Jonathan Brown
Mal Michael
Justin Leppitsch
You are a prize winning tool.
Of course Luke Power will be upset that some tech nerd who does the website hasn't listed him as a potential matchwinner in a game this weekend. Forget the fact that he will be voted into the top 5 of the B&F by the match committee, forget the extra midfield time he has received and important defensive roles from the coaching staff. But this website administrator has broken his heart!:rolleyes:
If Luke Power goes to Richmond I will happily apologise, but there is as much chance in that as there is of Joel Bowden being voted the AFLPA Most Courageous player.
Wally Matera
17 Sep 2003, 17:12
I'm not suggesting he is going to Richmond. I have indicated all along HE WILL BE GOING TO A MELBOURNE CLUB.
As for the tech nerd... are you trying to tell me that the Communications Manager at the Brisbane Football Club would have no bearing as to what is published on their website? It would be an indictment if that was the case.
The stupid tech guy cant just publish anything... their would be mountains of red tape to cut through before anything gets written up.
They (communications manager & management) obviously dont view LP that highly.
cjwalkley
17 Sep 2003, 18:43
Is coming home!
Ummm you didn't say Luke Power would be at Richmond?:rolleyes:
The communications manager also has such a huge bearing on a player's happiness and feeling of worth!
I'm not suggesting he is going to Richmond. I have indicated all along HE WILL BE GOING TO A MELBOURNE CLUB.
Wally, you said that Power would be in the yellow and black next year, not ANY MELBOURNE CLUB
essnickess
18 Sep 2003, 10:07
move of nathan, their is a new number one target for melbourne clubs
Crumden
18 Sep 2003, 10:14
Originally posted by SpecialBruce
Brisbane won't get rid of him considering in a week's time, he will be one of the 4 Brisbane midfielders to have a Brownlow medal.
Maybe the AFL will give Brisbane an additional "Brownlow Medallist Allowance" in their salary cap. :p
Wally Matera
19 Sep 2003, 16:07
Still an absolute moral!
Adrenaline
19 Sep 2003, 16:58
Despite what Brisbane may want for Power, if he is not satisfied with Brisbane's choice of club and/or the terms of his contract, he does not have to sign on the dotted line, he will just nominate for the pre-season draft (he will come home)
If the Dogs lost Brown, they would have the money and his brother to entice him, if not, Richmond and Carlton would definitely fit him in.
I dont think some of you are listening... trust me, he wants to come home.
Lets be honest here - noone trusts anyone else's trade rumours around here, and with good reason. There were plenty of posts on here mid-year when Judd was apparently heading back to Melbourne. People saying they knew friends of Judd and the like and that he was certainly heading back east, that he was heading back to Melbourne or Hawthorn or even Collingwood. In the end Judd's still at the Eagles. Until Power signs with a Melbourne club I reckon he's just as likely to stay at the Lions.
INSIDE INFORMER
22 Sep 2003, 14:25
Is coming home!
wHO WE GONNA GIVE UP FOR HIM ???SOME HOW I DONT THINK SO,
LOVE IT TO HAPPEN BUT ??? $$$ MONEY MONEY MONEY $$$$ RICHMOND AINT GOT THAT MUCH MONEY $$$$$
bogan_blue
22 Sep 2003, 14:34
Richmond would have to give up their 1st rnd draft pick and maybe a player for Luke Power.
If Power really wants to set himself up with
a) a young team who can win the premireship over the next four years (his prime)
b) a team that needs some extar class in the midfield
c) a team that has no salary cap problems
d) a team with a young coach who would give Power his head (and a leadership role straight away)....
then he would go to Sydney, wouldn't he?
cjwalkley
17 Oct 2003, 09:53
Is coming home!
Just wanted to bump this up and let Toolbag Matera swallow some humble pie.
Roylion
21 Oct 2003, 18:42
It's an absolute special... Power will be at a Melbourne based club next year.
Good call! :rolleyes:
Just heard on 3AW, just a few minutes ago, from the very man himself, that Luke Power has agreed to terms with the Brisbane Lions.
Yellow and black indeed. Try maroon, blue and gold.
Luke Power coming home?
He's already home.
caitlin3000
4 Oct 2005, 01:56
I was a lucky girl and got to have a chat with Luke Power after the Lions best and fairest dinner on saturday, what a cute little fella. I asked him if he would be sticking around, and if there was any truth in Akermanis' suggestion that Luke was heading south.....he said, "NO chance, God Aker is a ********er sometimes!" Pure gold.
But then he was a bit drunk... hmmm.
what do ppl gain by talking s*** n this forum, thank God none of you are journilists, you'd all be shot by now