View Full Version : Bendigo v Box Hill @ Windy Hill Sunday 19 June 2pm (note venue change)
rdhopkins2
14 Jun 2011, 19:31
ROUND 12
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/photos/fixtures/bombers-vs-bhh.gif
Seniors
Sunday 19th June 2011
Windy Hill
2:00pm
Development Team
vs Northern Bullants
Saturday 18th June 2011
9:00am
at Preston
Radio: www.3wbc.org.au (http://www.3wbc.org.au) or 94.1FM 3WBC
Note that this seniors game is no longer being played in Bendigo but has been transferred to Windy Hill, Essendon.
Teams TBC.
Those that aren't heading over to Launceston for the Hawthorn v Gold Coast game (or those who have flights canceled due to volcanic ash), take a trip down memory lane to Windy Hill, home of the Essendon Bowls Club.
Transport Information
Car: Windy Hill, Napier Street, Essendon (Melways Ref. Map 28 H3)
Public Transport to Windy Hill: Train: Essendon Station on Craigeburn line
Tram: Stop 43 via no. 59 tram along Alexander Road
TheFourPillars
15 Jun 2011, 13:47
Undecided whether it will be public transport or the car but will be down there.
Hallahan's back from injury, named in Saturday's Development squad.
Looks like Langford & Sam "kick Many-a-goala" will play Sunday in the Seniors.
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-0-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=16051440§ionID=60264
Rudi Gilham
16 Jun 2011, 19:32
Big test for the Stangers this week. That is one strong Bendigo line-up! Forward line contains Little, Gumbleton, Dickson & Maddern.
Go Sammy Menegola!
halfback dasher
16 Jun 2011, 21:28
Box Hill Hawks
B
Mirra
Langford
Duryea
HB
Kiel
Cheney
Boumann
C
Milne
Williams
S. Gibson
HF
Menegola
Lisle
Morton
F
Andrews
Wanganeen
Pattison
R
Lowden
Sierakowski
Schneider
Int
Jackson
Northe
Gilchrist
Neil
Cass
Fagan
Volta*
Pollard
Van Unen
Hallahan's back from injury, named in Saturday's Development squad.
Looks like Langford & Sam "kick Many-a-goala" will play Sunday in the Seniors.
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-0-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=16051440§ionID=60264
It would be awesome if they did. Hope Langford gets in the best.
go hawks!!!
17 Jun 2011, 06:04
Congrats for Langers. His first run for the seniors.
The kid has come a long way after not playing footy for 18 months. He has had minimal pre-season.
He has great composure, and can mark in a contested situation.
He has a bright future. Won't be long until we see another Langford in the AFL in Hawks colours.
philohk
17 Jun 2011, 11:18
Langford named at FB. Ah, the memories. Good luck to the young fella.
Ram-Man
17 Jun 2011, 12:18
mirra - langford - duryea ... awesome :D:thumbsu: ... and duryea to be the next ayres ;)
Neville Bartos
17 Jun 2011, 16:28
Wow, shortest backline of all time.
onthemoney
17 Jun 2011, 16:32
I must confess, this will be the first BH game I've made it to. Living in Ascot Vale, I really can't miss this though. How much will it cost me to get in? :confused: I've got a silver Hawthorn membership, but I take it that's no good for an away BH game anyhow?
It should be at half price. But surely money shouldn't be an issue when you're looking at the future AA backline?
By the way by time you by a Footy Record (you should buy one if you haven't been to any matches), have coffee, drink (how many that is), burger or/and chips, it's not that cheap I'm guessing.
onthemoney
18 Jun 2011, 11:20
It should be at half price. But surely money shouldn't be an issue when you're looking at the future AA backline?
By the way by time you by a Footy Record (you should buy one if you haven't been to any matches), have coffee, drink (how many that is), burger or/and chips, it's not that cheap I'm guessing.
Nah I'm not worried about how much it costs to get in, was just wondering how much it is? Thinking it's $10-15 yeah?
The BIG X
18 Jun 2011, 12:36
$10 for an Adult
$5 concession
$5 for BHH membership
4 Pillars see you there and I am going by public transport:thumbsu:
stemline
18 Jun 2011, 12:49
2011 VFL Reserves
Box Hill Hawks 6.5 11.9 15.12 22.17 (149)
Northern Bullants 1.0 5.2 6.5 11.7 (73)
GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Cooper 5 Monkhorst 3 Nye 2 Cust 2 Tobin Ellis Wallace Warren Wilson Sketcher Hoegel Murphy Kennedy Kickett
Northern Bullants: Arrowsmith 3 Dufficy 2 Dorman 2 Lincoln Church Soncin German
BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: Tobin Murphy Cooper Hoegel Kennedy Cust
Northern Bullants: Marcon McCann Dufficy Lincoln Arrowsmith Wilson
its game on
18 Jun 2011, 13:41
2011 VFL Reserves
Box Hill Hawks 6.5 11.9 15.12 22.17 (149)
Northern Bullants 1.0 5.2 6.5 11.7 (73)
GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Cooper 5 Monkhorst 3 Nye 2 Cust 2 Tobin Ellis Wallace Warren Wilson Sketcher Hoegel Murphy Kennedy Kickett
Northern Bullants: Arrowsmith 3 Dufficy 2 Dorman 2 Lincoln Church Soncin German
BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: Tobin Murphy Cooper Hoegel Kennedy Cust
Northern Bullants: Marcon McCann Dufficy Lincoln Arrowsmith Wilson
Great effort by young Cooper, does anyone know whether it was Daniel or John (brothers)?
I'm assuming that's not Xavier Ellis in the goalkickers there Stemline?
The BIG X
18 Jun 2011, 13:43
Thanks for the report Stemline - another good win.:thumbsu:
Cooper 5 goals - which Cooper??
seem to be 2 mins behind you IGO (smile)
its game on
18 Jun 2011, 14:08
Lilse is playing AFL, so he'll be a big out for Box Hill against Bendigo.
The Convert
18 Jun 2011, 15:28
It was Daniel Cooper Big X and IGO. Apparently came in last night with Pattinson pulling out of ones
The BIG X
18 Jun 2011, 15:44
its game on
18 Jun 2011, 15:49
It was Daniel Cooper Big X and IGO. Apparently came in last night with Pattinson pulling out of ones
Thanks Convert. Hope young Daniel's breakout game secures a more permanent position in the team.
BuddyHawkers
18 Jun 2011, 15:58
What is the score for the seniors VFL thanks
The BIG X
18 Jun 2011, 16:08
What is the score for the seniors VFL thanks
As per the title - they play tomorrow:)
The Convert
18 Jun 2011, 17:22
Thanks Convert. Hope young Daniel's breakout game secures a more permanent position in the team.
I have no doubt that would be high up in his hopes after today. Just needs asome consistency and I think he can achieve it.
its game on
18 Jun 2011, 18:01
I have no doubt that would be high up in his hopes after today. Just needs asome consistency and I think he can achieve it.
Yeah, but being an interstater means he would need time to settle in though. What position did he play today, as he's not KPP size?
Notsoyabby
18 Jun 2011, 18:20
I would say he played full forward when he was on the ground. Lots of interchanges.
Was number 51 and thats Daniel
Of interest:
Musto was the one of the runners and it looks likes Pollard may be in for his first game tomorrow and the selectors have decided to only give Dylan Van Unen one game this week - in the seniors
The Convert
18 Jun 2011, 18:29
Yeah, but being an interstater means he would need time to settle in though. What position did he play today, as he's not KPP size?
In the forward rotation with a reasonable amount of FF as suggested. Coaches happy. Heard he trained himself to a standstill yesterday as did not have a game. Might need to do it more Fridays before they play.
its game on
18 Jun 2011, 18:46
In the forward rotation with a reasonable amount of FF as suggested. Coaches happy. Heard he trained himself to a standstill yesterday as did not have a game. Might need to do it more Fridays before they play.
:thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu::thumbsu:
Good to see Musto getting involved with the runner's duties.
Mahoney & Hallahan were both part of the mid-field rotations, with Hallahan playing closer to goal in the last quarter. Interesting player to watch, still looks very much the boxer.
Hallahan is very strong in the contest. Trademark of his game is taking on players trying to tackle him and use his physical strength to break past them. (No twisting the body to draw high contact.)
At one point, there were about three players hanging off Hallahan, but he still managed to get the ball out to a team-mate who snapped a goal.
The BIG X
18 Jun 2011, 21:50
]Good to see Musto getting involved with the runner's duties.[/B]
Mahoney & Hallahan were both part of the mid-field rotations, with Hallahan playing closer to goal in the last quarter. Interesting player to watch, still looks very much the boxer.
Hallahan is very strong in the contest. Trademark of his game is taking on players trying to tackle him and use his physical strength to break past them. (No twisting the body to draw high contact.)
At one point, there were about three players hanging off Hallahan, but he still managed to get the ball out to a team-mate who snapped a goal.
Thrilled to read about Musto.
1. Must be getting close to game time and
2. Great team man.:thumbsu:
TheFourPillars
18 Jun 2011, 22:45
Good to see Musto getting involved with the runner's duties.
Good Stuff Scout can't wait for musto to come back to be honest missed him
Rudi Gilham
18 Jun 2011, 22:53
The "Ellis" was Andrew Ellis, not Xavier.
Looks like Taylor Gilchrist may join Shaun Pollard in playing in the seniors for the first time this season. Good luck to both of them.
RustyHawk
19 Jun 2011, 15:00
Q2 - 13 minute mark
BHH: 06.04.40
Ess: 05.04.34
+ 6
RustyHawk
19 Jun 2011, 15:06
Q2
Bendigo Bummers kick a goal. Seems the Bummers fans dont like the umpires and their very fair decisions.
BHH: 06.05.41
BB: 06.04.40
+ 1
Could have been a certain player by the name of Williams. Funny we used to have a player called Williams but we traded him to Essendon :D
RustyHawk
19 Jun 2011, 15:17
Just before half time and the bummer score a goal
BHH: 06.06.42
BB: 07.05.47
RustyHawk
19 Jun 2011, 15:21
Late in the 2nd quarter and Bummers score another major
BHH: 06.06.42
BB: 08.05.53
RustyHawk
19 Jun 2011, 15:24
Even later in the 2nd quarter and the Hawks score (dont we always :D)
BHH: 07.06.48
BB: 08.05.53
RustyHawk
19 Jun 2011, 15:30
Half time and Box Hill coming 2nd just 1 major behind.
BHH: 07.06.48
BB: 08.06.54
That quarter the Hawks kicked 4 goals to the Bummers 3 goals.
Now listening to the game is very difficult is _m _ett__g on__ a_ _nte__d _ig
Box Hill Goals (as I understand it but subject to change)
Northe 3 goals
Fagan 2
Kitchen 1
Jackson 1
Bendigo goals
Williams 1
Gumbleton - 1 - another great draft pick
Maddern
Steinberg
Quinn
Dixon
and the rest I could not make out.
Reimers of Essendon/Bendigo - something happened, dont know exactly what. A ball was bounced and then recalled and at the recall Reimers was lying flat out and taken off. As I say not sure why.
Henry Jr
19 Jun 2011, 16:20
Reimers of Essendon/Bendigo - something happened, dont know exactly what. A ball was bounced and then recalled and at the recall Reimers was lying flat out and taken off. As I say not sure why.
Ah, just put it on Buddy's tab.
Goldhawk
19 Jun 2011, 17:10
Any update on scores
Box Hill were smashed in the last quarter. Traffic all one way.
Just got back from the game.
Bendigo had a few bigger bodies, and some experienced heads to lead them to the win. Willo doesn't look interested half the time, but still finished with a bag of goals.
For Box Hill Northe was lively, Langford showed a fair bit of class in his first hit out, Lowden battled away all day with relief from Fagan. Jacskon was solid, and I liked the look of Menagola on a few occasions.
Not too many of the Hawthorn listed boys did a lot though. We were in it early and lacked a focal point going forward, but as the game wore on Bendigo put a bit of space on their opponents and really started to move the ball with more frequency.
The Convert
19 Jun 2011, 18:05
How did Lowden go?
BlackByrd
19 Jun 2011, 18:06
Bendigo Bombers 5.4 8.6 14.10 21.15 (141)
Box Hill Hawks 3.2 7.6 9.6 10.8 (68)
GOALS:
Bendigo Bombers: Steinberg 5 Gumbleton 3 Dickson 3 Williams 3 Webster 2 Quinn Jenkins Reimers Little Maddern
Box Hill Hawks: Fagan 3 Northe 3 Kitchin 2 Jackson 2
BEST:
Bendigo Bombers: Neagle Williams Carlisle Reimers Steinberg Dyson
Box Hill Hawks: Boumann Northe Lowden Milne Langford Sierakowski
FriarTuck
19 Jun 2011, 18:12
A grey day at the Essendon Bowling Club (est 1885). A good game until half time, after that the AFL conditioned players took over. Cheney was scratched presumably to play for HFC, ergo we had no AFL conditioned players. Damn we are short and light.
Schneider dominated early. Does not know how to spell the word fumbel. His work with Lowden at the centre stoppages was bordering on incestuous.
Milne started off deep in defence and looked comfortable was moved on ball to provide some run. He was OK. I preferred him down back.
Sirra was ordinary. Played on the ball and up forward. No sign of his speed or footskills as he had trouble finding space.
The Dalai Langford disappeared after half time, prior to that very nice. Played on a back flank, good speed and balance. Kicking may be suspect but for a debut game pretty impressive.
Morto played mainly up forward. If the MRP reviewed his game it would be classified low impact. Dunno what is going on with him but he is struggling.
Menegola played as a CHF. Took a nice grab and moves well. Yet another mid sizer to add to the mix.
Mark Williams played off a wing for a while. When he bothers playing he is a star. This rolling maul footy is particularly unsuited to his style. Three years on good scratch playing no touch footy – well done Willo.
Wanga, Duryea and Williams were unremarkable.
Lowden was disappointing. Fair enough he ran out of tickets as he was pretty much a lone hand, but when you are that tall you just need to stand there.
The BIG X
19 Jun 2011, 20:04
Pretty fair report Friar!!
except for last parra.
Luke Lowden - this guy worked his guts out - only big guy for BHH and reckon he was on the ground for 115mins of the 120.
Fagan helped him out when the ball was in the forward line and I believe it was the best game from Fagan in the BHH guensey.
Lowden worked well with Luke Andrews - Luke Andrews played another guttsy game and am thrilled he is in BHH seniors.
At 3/4 time (which I thought we still had a chance) Lowden looked absolutely buggered - the trainers spent the entire time on his legs (thighs and calves) and he put in a good last qtr.
The only other BHH player to give mention was Langers - agree with Friar great 1st 1/2 - second half their (B bumbers) big bodies overran us and it was tooooooooooooo difficult for him and his backline mates to compete against a continual flow.
Langers is a future HFC player - give him time - yes time - and I really hope he can grow a couple more inches
Consumed
19 Jun 2011, 20:18
Schneider dominated early. Does not know how to spell the word fumbel. His work with Lowden at the centre stoppages was bordering on incestuous.
Love your work........:thumbsu::D
The Convert
19 Jun 2011, 21:38
Luke Lowden - this guy worked his guts out - only big guy for BHH and reckon he was on the ground for 115mins of the 120.
That is a massive effort in anyones language.
Pretty big loss in the end. Funny how 3 weeks ago posters were complaining how BHH had too many talls on the ground and now.....
Hopefully it can be turned around
The BIG X
19 Jun 2011, 21:48
Simple answer - Convert - Injuries;)
savagelunchbox
19 Jun 2011, 22:23
Of all the Hawthorn listed players, only 4 of them have been Hawthorn listed players for MORE than 2 yrs. Morton and Lowden were the only senior listed players and Lowden was taken as a underage player so he could almost be considered a 2nd yr player. Milne and Siera were the only other 2. Very VERY inexperienced players up against a big-bodied team. Result was virtually inevitable.
Anyone reckon Milne could be a possiblility for this week to cover Franklin? Swap him and Lisle for the CHF/CHB positions?
Or Lowden for that matter?
TheFourPillars
19 Jun 2011, 23:09
I do not have time today to give my review will at some stage tomorrow only saw 3 qtrs of the match thanks to the FT and Big X for the reiviews
BlackByrd
20 Jun 2011, 00:24
Made the journey to Windy Hill today to watch a half of football and another half of.... well... i don't know what to call it.
After matching the bombers for much of the first half we disinegrated quickly in the second and just fell to bits from there. It will be a good learning experience for what was a very young and inexperienced squad that were missing key players in Cheney, Mirra and others.There were some highlights to take from this match though, particulary in the performances from Lowden, Langford and Schnieder.
Here are my thoughts on the listed players.
Schnieder: Gun. Roved well, picked up a stack of possies and generally used the ball well, particulary in contested situations. He is a bit 'one-paced' though and could be carrying some form of injury? Nevertheless, battled hard and really deserved to be in the best instead of a few named. May be a bit early to call but i'm tipping him to be the next Sammy Mitch!
Langford: First game in VFL seniors and did not look out of place at all. Great reader of the game, great spoiling and this was from someone who is clearly not 100%. His first half was brilliant, second half was a bit down but this was purely because he spent most of his time on the bench. Watch this space. He looks the goods.
Lowden: To think 2 weeks ago we had 5 ruckmen in the BH side and now we are down to one, unbelievable! It took a big effort from him today and he didn't let anyone down. Rucked well and gave a lot of hitouts to advantage. Seemed to be playing a kick behind the play most of the day and linked up well around the ground. Only criticism, needs to look at the ball in a ruck contest! Sometimes he'd look at the opposing ruckman and give away a free but when he was looking at the ball he was getting the tapout.
Morton: Underwhelming. Spent most of his time forward but didn't offer much. I think part of this was due to our non-existant forward structure.
Siera: Named in the best but i don't think this was particulary deserving. He just couldn't get enough of the ball to use his lethal left boot to advantage. An average game from someone who i think is a really good player. Am positive he'll be better next game.
Menegola: Quiet game from him today. Has good a good set of hands and a really big leap which will come in handy for the future. Showed some evidence of being good by foot. Missed a goal he probably should've got. Will be better for the run out.
Milne: Thought Riley played well today. Still makes some horrendous decisions at times but he provided a lot of run and carry off half back. Was given 4th best and this was deserved IMO. Hopefully he can continue this good form.
Williams: Quieter from his previous weeks.
Duryea: Can we please get him back into the forward line!! Although he is okay as a defender it is plain to see that he is better suited to a forward pocket. I watched his games last year and although he's not the greatest set shot, is a good crumbing forward that can offer defensive pressure and has a bit of X factor about him. He is twice the player there and i firmly believe we're wasting his talent. Anyway today's game was okay by Duryea. Got beaten in some marking contests but he contested well and generally used it well off half back.
Wanganeen: Quiet. Goes missing far too often. I'll put that down to inexperience. Lets just keep him next to our FF at all times so any marks the FF doesnt take, Wangas can rove as this is clearly what he is best at.
Anyway, i believe we have the bye next week which will be good for some of the developing players and then we're up against Collingwood the week after!
ordivician
20 Jun 2011, 14:23
Anyone reckon Milne could be a possiblility for this week to cover Franklin? Swap him and Lisle for the CHF/CHB positions?
Or Lowden for that matter?
Milne:
No way as that would be idiotic in the extreme as he is neither a key forward nor a key defender.
Apparently he is a sweeper which would be fine if we were playing soccer but we aren't, thank god!
He is still listed at only 80 kg and he is so thin that this figure can't be that far off the mark.
If we were really desperate like in late 2009, and god help if it ever came to that, then we could use him as a flanker just to make up the numbers. However, if we are reduced so badly that we are forced to give this kid a game then you can kiss this season goodbye.
BTW his ball use is pretty erratic and given that the AFL side plays a high possession game he would be all at sea being required to repeatedly hit targets.
Lowden:
As a key forward or back that is a laughable suggestion for anyone who has seen him play.
Clearly you haven't so its it a naive but fair question.
He is a very under developed and under bodied bean pole ruckman with a huge amount of potential i.e. fast with good skills, that will take years of solid development to turn him into an AFL standard ruckman.
There may be a case for giving a taste of AFL late in the year in the second suns games against similarly under developed kids, but as a ruckman only. Against any side using men as players like the filth, he would get smashed and potentially seriously injured. Not a great idea.
As an occasional forward target this year he has repeatly proven that he has no idea were to run or what to do, so if he is already incompetent at VFL level in this role he would be far worse at AFL level.
Remember Dawson?
Well we don't want any repeats of that debacle.
The BIG X
20 Jun 2011, 14:47
Good thinking - Ordi
Rd 24 would be an ideal debut of Lowden
Thats a long way off - 12 weeks away and as we know a week is a long time in football;)
FairCall
20 Jun 2011, 14:58
It was always going to be a tough day with probaly the weakest Senior BH side I've seen in the last couple of years and then Bombers had a very big, fast and strong bodied team. As someone previously posted only Milne 2 AFL games in 2009 and Morton not a great deal and 2nd game coming back from injury was not much in comparison to the Bombers who had Williams, Gumbleton, Reimers, Neagle, Slattery, Dyson and Steinberg who kicked 5 is also a very big boy.
We did well to stick with them until half time. I expected that we could be run over but not the avalanche that began half way through the 3rd quarter and destroyed us in the last!!
I thought Lowden battled well. As similar to last week he had an unusual approach to his ruck compared to his normal game, not sure if he is working on something new but not that successful for mine. He made good position around the ground but his team mates didn't help with delivery just out of his reach or at his feet. This made his already huge work load even higher. Although quite fast an agile he is not a rover.
I'm a little diffferent from others and question Schneiders decision making and disposal. When he has time he doesn't use first option and either complicates the disposal for himself or puts his team mate under pressure. You can never question his endeavour or work in tight. Maybe he struggles when he does have time to think??
I thought Fagan had a great first half but probably went the man a little in the 2nd half instead of the ball but still would of had him in my best. I agree Sierra who I think is coming along nicely was pretty quiet yesterday and surprised he was in the best. I guess we don't know what his role was.
The highlight for me was Langford. He impressed in the first half, showed speed strength and courage. Exciting prospect. He has really put on some size too since he has been at the Club. He and the rest of the backline were a bit like lambs to the slaughter in the 2nd half as the Bombers kept bringing the ball in at a rapid rate.
burner1
20 Jun 2011, 21:47
ordivician - thats a pretty negative wrap on Milne. The club must have seen something in him to make him the nominated rookie at the start of the year - has he stagnated/gone backwards this year? What do you think the club sees in him?
So I saw Cheney on the boundary in a tracksuit, I'm guessing he was injured too along with Mirra?
Does anyone know what injury Mirra suffered?
FairCall
21 Jun 2011, 03:33
Pretty sure Cheney was withdrawn by the Hawks not an injury. Mirra definitely injured but not sure what. He is my favourite BHH player. Missed them both on the weekend.
The Convert
21 Jun 2011, 08:36
Does anyone know what injury Mirra suffered?[/quote]
Understand he broke a rib. Whilst struggling to get off the field he ran and dived on a loose ball, copped the tackle by a couple of blokes but saved a goal. Then really struggled to leave the field. Tough stuff
The BIG X
21 Jun 2011, 11:02
Does anyone know what injury Mirra suffered?
Understand he broke a rib. Whilst struggling to get off the field he ran and dived on a loose ball, copped the tackle by a couple of blokes but saved a goal. Then really struggled to leave the field. Tough stuff[/quote]
Are you talking the Frankston game???
Dave Mirra is a real tough nut :thumbsu:
The Convert
21 Jun 2011, 13:24
Dave Mirra is a real tough nut :thumbsu:[/quote]
Yes.
The BIG X
21 Jun 2011, 13:28
Dave Mirra is a real tough nut :thumbsu:
Yes. Also heard but will not repeat a less flattering story about the weekend just gone (not about Mirra)[/quote]
Why mention it:confused:
The Convert
21 Jun 2011, 13:50
Thought the same thng so did a quick edit , but not quick enough for some
The BIG X
21 Jun 2011, 14:12
Good - but I am unable to delete my reference as not enough caractures remain:eek:
ordivician
21 Jun 2011, 14:32
ordivician - thats a pretty negative wrap on Milne. The club must have seen something in him to make him the nominated rookie at the start of the year - has he stagnated/gone backwards this year? What do you think the club sees in him?
When Milne was promoted both Bruest and Schneider, both of whom are so far better players than Milne, that it is laughable, where both recovering from serious injuries.
Now Bruest has recovered and is proving himself to be quite handy at AFL level and poor little Schneider is running around with groinus rooteditis, or rooted groins for all of youse non-medical types out there, on his stumpy little legs playing his guts out in a lone hand in the BH inside midfield and presumably watching Siera and Milne get named in the best and like us wondering WTF is going on on.
At the time I thought that Milne's elevation was typical Hawthorn idiocy that had Pelchoon's grubby paw prints all over it. After I calmed down, I thought that they may have promoted to give him a final run in the seniors to have a good look at him before hopefully, delisting him. A bit like Muston being given a few games last year before they axed him.
I don't know that Milne has gorn backwards as he was pretty ordinary to my mind last year as well. I think the fairest thing one can say is that he has not progressed at all this year or last.
In contrast Bruest showed sensational improvement at the start of last year and has continued to improve.
Siera showed a bit late last year in the BH firsts and up until the last two matches this season he has been bloody impressive. He got some massive whacks against the geelong sheep fanciers and hasn't been the same since and I'm sure all of the BH regulars would agree with me here.
Anyway Siera is very brave throws himself in, has a great left foot (oh no not another one! :eek: ), is very strong overhead, and is quickish, clever and has good evasion skills. I was told that he has now been elevated for Litherland, source:
http://twitter.com/#!/AFL_PKeane/status/81263794319392768
whoever the hell P Keane maybe.
What do I think the club sees in Milne?
A soft outside running receiver who is tall, but grossly under bodied and quite often an erratic kick?
Well that conundrum has me beaten.
Perhaps he has a nice smile like Rioli? After all if Rioli was a crap player I'd keep him around just to cheer everyone one up with his magical infectious smile. :)
More realistically they might have made some some internal commitment relatively recently, to give all of the new recruits a minimum of three years to prove themselves. After all I can't think of anyone after Little who was cut after just two years from the senior list, although a lot of rookies has been turned over fairly quickly a few years back eg Sandilands, Grimma, Markovic etc.
I think the grim reality is that 18yo kids need a good four years of development to be able to see what they can do. Some like Bruest and Siera show enough a bit sooner, to know that you should persist with them, whilst others take far longer. Grimely will be such a case in point where we may need four or five years to see what he can really do.
But as for Milne, I am afraid that you'll have to pose that question to some one who thinks that Milne has some value, as I can't see what role he could usefully play at AFL level.
go hawks!!!
21 Jun 2011, 14:54
Ordo and others, re Milne’s rookie elevation I believe this was to provide an edge in preparation for the ‘substitute’ rule.
I believe Hawthorn was completely unprepared for the sub rule and this was evident in game 1 and 2 and acknowledged by Clarko even though we had 3 practice games to practice it.
Milne was promoted due to his ‘flexibility’ and assumed X Factor. Unfortunately I have not seen this particularly in 2010 at BHH, I acknowledge he showed glimpses in 2009 and some games in 2010. That is he is a utility (Andrew Gowers....) at 190cm +, he can play Half back flank, half forward flank and midfield or off the wing. Unfortunately, I cannot see him succeeding in any of these positions and bloody hope he does not see AFL game time this year, if he does, we are royally screwed.
In summary, A.K.A Morton, he is a jack of all trades and a master of none. He, for me, is a victim of our development. This is his 3rd year in the system and his body has not developed given his size. I would love to see Milne V Grimley in an arm wrestle.....
Further, he has not been given time to learn the trade in one position and settle down. He can’t find a position where he can consistently perform.
Unfortunately, as a 3rd year rookie, I cannot see Milne being promoted next year to the senior list.
FriarTuck
21 Jun 2011, 15:08
Interesting as ever Ordo. We rabbit on about player development, you look at Bruest, Sirra and Savage that have all been beautifully managed. We are doing some stuff extremely well.
Two years ago Milne was a 6'4" stringbean with good hands and had time with the footy. He was the ideal project player for mine. Given our lack of height we probably had no option but to stick with him.
Agree that he has not come on. The way we used him on Sunday allowed him every opportunity. He does not cover enough ground given he has had three pre seasons with us.
Menegola looks like an upgrade on Milne. Milne needs to lift or he will end up with Norf or the Doggies.
A fit Schneider could be very very special.
Why, because he is not been selected he mustn't be fit. :rolleyes:
TheFourPillars
21 Jun 2011, 22:04
He aint AFL ready yet mate. Needs to do a full pre season. maybe 2 or 3 depending on the amount he completes
Yet he racks up possessions and disposals, inside and out, especially rebounding defensive 50 and inside 50.
He would be fine. Nonsense.
FriarTuck
21 Jun 2011, 22:49
Far from it. He is good now and Ordo reckons he has OP. This leads me to believe that if he gets over the OP he will be better than what he is now.
Brishawk
22 Jun 2011, 09:42
Two years ago Milne was a 6'4" stringbean with good hands and had time with the footy. He was the ideal project player for mine. Given our lack of height we probably had no option but to stick with him.
Agree that he has not come on. The way we used him on Sunday allowed him every opportunity. He does not cover enough ground given he has had three pre seasons with us.
Didn't he have some sort of foot injury post 2009 and miss the whole pre-season?
Seems to me this year was his first full preseason. My question would be, if he was fit and could cover the ground better, are his other attributes good enough for him to make it? Is his kicking erratic because he is tired when kicking (lack of fitness tired)? He looks (in those two afl games!) and sounds like an AFL type player (utility) and I just wonder if you could turn his fitness around would you see his capabilities shine through?
TheFourPillars
22 Jun 2011, 13:53
Yet he racks up possessions and disposals, inside and out, especially rebounding defensive 50 and inside 50.
He would be fine. Nonsense.
In the pre season and during games he gets a lot of work done on his body when he comes of the ground. To quote "The Spirit is willing... but the flesh is weak". Do not confuse AFL level fitness with that of the VFL. He also lacks a defensive side to his game. In fact on the weekend i thought we did better out of the middle when young Andrews was in there.
FriarTuck
22 Jun 2011, 15:36
......My question would be, if he was fit and could cover the ground better, are his other attributes good enough for him to make it? Is his kicking erratic because he is tired when kicking (lack of fitness tired)? He looks (in those two afl games!) and sounds like an AFL type player (utility) and I just wonder if you could turn his fitness around would you see his capabilities shine through?
I am not confident he would. Even if you are not a good AFL player you still stand out at the VFL. Milne is not being prominent. Compare him to Sirra who every now and then shows some genuine AFL toe and a deadly left foot.
Milne and Morton need to start racking up stats at BHH or they are both out the door. Both need to get to contests and back themselves in. If fitness is the problem then they should run themselves into the ground in the first half just to show what they have got.
In the pre season and during games he gets a lot of work done on his body when he comes of the ground. To quote "The Spirit is willing... but the flesh is weak". Do not confuse AFL level fitness with that of the VFL. He also lacks a defensive side to his game. In fact on the weekend i thought we did better out of the middle when young Andrews was in there.
Yes, and the same opinions were formed about Curnow, and Savage for quite a while, and Pedersen, oh an Mitchell as well.
Do not confuse AFL level fitness with that of the VFL.How am I confusing it? It's your unsubstantiated summation that I confuse this.
In other words what you are saying is that VFL players can never be fit enough to play AFL because the level of VFL fitness is not the same as it is at AFL. Like the perception that Barlow could not suit to the rigors of AFL. And only one club thought he would do okay.
Yes, these so called experts and club officials are so intelligent and knowledgeable that we should bow down to their superior knowledge.
From the games I have seen Tom leads the rebounds from 50 and inside 50 combined. Which means he must A) work really hard or B) he doesn't and therefore must be the most efficient runner in creating space and making the fitness level argument a moot point.
There are many players who have records at draft camp for fitness but fitness does not equate into how good a footballer you are.
Oh and I forgot wasn't there a perception about Breust at the club in a similar manner?
Anyway I can tell this has turned into a circular argument and I'll just leave it at that.
TheFourPillars
22 Jun 2011, 19:43
Yes, and the same opinions were formed about Curnow, and Savage for quite a while, and Pedersen, oh an Mitchell as well.
Barlow, curnow, Mitchell are you serious? they had several seasons (pre seasons) in the VFL compare that with Schneider in his first year and on the rookie list.
Savage had a full pre season this year. This is after playing two years. He wasn't quite ready last year was lacking in confidence the club were great in the way they handled him by getting some pre season games into him which lifted his confidence and he hasn't looked back
In other words what you are saying is that VFL players can never be fit enough to play AFL because the level of VFL fitness is not the same as it is at AFL. Like the perception that Barlow could not suit to the rigors of AFL. And only one club thought he would do okay.
Never said that. I said he needs to complete another pre season and depending on the amount he completes maybe another. Him being able to play in the VFL compared with the AFL (where fitness is priority to run out the game) is what i was referring to.
Yes, these so called experts and club officials are so intelligent and knowledgeable that we should bow down to their superior knowledge.
I think they are called experts for a reason. They have all the information about the player including fitness levels and key indicators so yes.
From the games I have seen Tom leads the rebounds from 50 and inside 50 combined. Which means he must A) work really hard or B) he doesn't and therefore must be the most efficient runner in creating space and making the fitness level argument a moot point.
There are many players who have records at draft camp for fitness but fitness does not equate into how good a footballer you are.
I never said that fitness is the be all and end all but it allows you not only to be offensive weapon but contribute defensively. Get to more contests where your footbal nouse can be used. Don't get me wrong i rate Tom very highly. He could be 200+ game player for us everything going well.
Oh and I forgot wasn't there a perception about Breust at the club in a similar manner?
With regards to breust yes there was and we are seeing the fruits of that patience. The kid is still slight and needs a bit more weight but when he first came to the club and played his first pre season game geez he was small would have been smashed in the AFL.
He started like a house on fire in the first half of last year and was knocking the door down. A few weeks in to the VFL season and other teams started to focus on him and tag him making him largely ineffective for the rest of the year. He has since improved his tackling and fitness and you see him in the side today. Breust has been in the system for 3 years or so now.
Schneider will get his chance i am sure its only a matter of time, more hard work and patience.
MF_Hawks
28 Jun 2011, 09:27
Congrats for Langers. His first run for the seniors.
The kid has come a long way after not playing footy for 18 months. He has had minimal pre-season.
He has great composure, and can mark in a contested situation.
He has a bright future. Won't be long until we see another Langford in the AFL in Hawks colours.
hopefully! as someone who knows will, he is in good spirits about playing for box hill and is already looking forward to next game!