View Full Version : If Carlton put their #2 Draft pick on the market...

Thrawn
16th September 2003, 19:40
Who will you give us to get that draft pick? Now, I believe that we shouldn't trade it away unless its for a player in the ilk of Judd or Scarlett (not that it will ever happen), but I'm curious to see what your respective teams will offer us for it.

year of the roo
16th September 2003, 19:49
daniel motlop, john baird + 1st round draft pick (no.9 overall)

bozza
16th September 2003, 19:49
Dean Rioli
Danny Jacobs
Cory McGrath

and we can take Tenace

Demon37
16th September 2003, 19:52
Travis Johnstone and pick 20.

I'm not saying I want Trapper gone, but I REALLY want Tennace.

Edit: Just realised that Carton are banned from the first two rounds.

bozza
16th September 2003, 19:55
Originally posted by Demon37
Just realised that Carton are banned from the first two rounds.

Doesn't mean they can't trade for a pick in those rounds though

Carlos
16th September 2003, 19:56
Originally posted by year of the roo
Settle down champ!!! :eek:

Demon37
16th September 2003, 19:56
Originally posted by bozza
I'm pretty sure it does.

year of the roo
16th September 2003, 20:00
Originally posted by Carlos
Settle down champ!!! :eek:
trust me, kane tenace would be worth it. absolute star and would solve our salary cap squeeze in a second. both motlop and baird are outta contract so it wouldnt get messy and i reckon deni$ and jyd would both love that deal.

i know you gotta high opinion of junior, but this tenace guy would straight away solve all our problems in the midfield.

tashibatts
16th September 2003, 20:11

NOOOOOOO NOT MOTLOP- are you mad?

He and Wellsy are best mates (look it anyway)

And Motlop has plenty of talent PLENTY.. and he now does the
1%ers to- why would you trade a bloke with so much talent who does the 1%ers for a draft pick that may not even turn out? Especially when the player is best mates with the player you got at that draft pick the year before.

Go Roos

tashibatts
16th September 2003, 20:14
trust me, kane tenace would be worth it. absolute star and would solve our salary cap squeeze in a second. both motlop and baird are outta contract so it wouldnt get messy and i reckon deni$ and jyd would both love that deal.

i know you gotta high opinion of junior, but this tenace guy would straight away solve all our problems in the midfield.

No player is guaranteed to do anything.. especially not an 18 year old. Not every player is like Judd.

Anyway, Motlop has a tonne of talent, and is versatile, can take a very good mark.. keep Motlop thanks.

Go Roos

Darealrath
16th September 2003, 20:16
Jacobs
Mercuri
Forster Knight
Bannister

year of the roo
16th September 2003, 20:17
i knew this trade wouldnt be popular with the north supporters on this site who generally cream themselves at the mere mention of the name daniel motlop. i still think that this trade would be enormous for both clubs, having another gun no.2 pick in the mix as we continue to develop into a side which could push top 4 soon, would be enormous!!

The invisible mullet
16th September 2003, 20:21
such a trade would be enormously stupid - why not throw Wells in while you're at it.

tashibatts
16th September 2003, 20:30
i knew this trade wouldnt be popular with the north supporters on this site who generally cream themselves at the mere mention of the name daniel motlop. i still think that this trade would be enormous for both clubs, having another gun no.2 pick in the mix as we continue to develop into a side which could push top 4 soon, would be enormous!!

Have you considered what this would do to Wellsy? He is a shy young kid, who is turning 19 next year, he comes from WA.. has huge wraps on him.. and if we delist SMotlop, then the only indigenous player left will be DMotlop.. DMotlop- Wellsy's best mate at the club, the guy he can trust, the guy he so happily embraces, the guy he can easily get on with.. now imagine if we traded him? Imagine how Wellsy would feel, he is shy, and after being shy, he has come from another state.. where he is very close to his family, now can you imagine trying to make friends? Especially with all hte media scrutiny he is under because of his talent? He has gotten very close to DMotlop.. very close.. and has probably improved DMotlop as a player..

And apart from his relationship with Wellsy, Jnr has talent to burn..

It would be absolute madness to trade DMotlop.

Go Roos

NorthBhoy
16th September 2003, 20:38

Insane.

year of the roo
16th September 2003, 20:39
Originally posted by tashibatts
Have you considered what this would do to Wellsy? He is a shy young kid, who is turning 19 next year, he comes from WA.. has huge wraps on him.. and if we delist SMotlop, then the only indigenous player left will be DMotlop.. DMotlop- Wellsy's best mate at the club, the guy he can trust, the guy he so happily embraces, the guy he can easily get on with.. now imagine if we traded him? Imagine how Wellsy would feel, he is shy, and after being shy, he has come from another state.. where he is very close to his family, now can you imagine trying to make friends? Especially with all hte media scrutiny he is under because of his talent? He has gotten very close to DMotlop.. very close.. and has probably improved DMotlop as a player..

oh please, this has nothing to do with wells. im sure he can make new friends, hes not a baby. and the fact that there will be no aboriginals left i guarantee you wont be a factor at all. its only an idea remember tashi, i havent just popped him into an envelope and sent it off to optus oval.

Kid Dynamite!
16th September 2003, 20:40
Nick Stevens.

Seb
16th September 2003, 20:53
Scarlett is worth all 3 priority picks - The only real star Geelong has (Apart from King when fully fit).

Perhaps the more commonly known term is 'Untouchable'

Although I did chuckle when a Carlton supporter phoned in to 3AW talk-back on the weekend and suggested such a trade.

Stiffy_18
16th September 2003, 21:00
Simon Goodwin

jivey
16th September 2003, 21:16
Dean Rioli
Danny Jacobs
Cory McGrath

and we can take Tenace

idiot.

evertonfc
Leigh Montagna + First Pick.

Negotiable.

I doubt you'll get the North trade ;)

Wels Eicke

How about replacing Daniel Motlop with Leigh Harding? Plus any of Dylan Smith, Ben Robbins and the usual suspects.

Groucho
16th September 2003, 21:36

It's true. Carlton can't trade into the first two rounds of the draft.

Sera
16th September 2003, 21:36
From the Eagles...

Ashley Hansen
Dean Cox
Pick #11
+ sweetener

tashibatts
16th September 2003, 21:42
oh please, this has nothing to do with wells. im sure he can make new friends, hes not a baby. and the fact that there will be no aboriginals left i guarantee you wont be a factor at all. its only an idea remember tashi, i havent just popped him into an envelope and sent it off to optus oval.

It has everything to do with Wells. IMO Wells & Motlop are closer then my watch strap is to my watch face. That is pretty damn close..

I am sure Wellsy can make plenty of friends, but how many would be as close to him as Motlop is?

And even if you discount Wells, Daniel Motlop still has loads of talent, and he was beginning to show some of that talent in the 2nd half of the year.. pretty nice beginning signs don't you think?

Go Roos

superstar
16th September 2003, 21:47
Jade Rawlings + Brett Johnson for pick 2?

scooter600x
16th September 2003, 21:54
Originally posted by Kid Dynamite!
Nick Stevens.

The best deal you'll get. Take it and run.

dasler
16th September 2003, 22:00
The use of the indigenous friendship ploy is a load of crap. It's a big world out there and you have to get used to it fast otherwise it'll kill you.

Sorry point rejected

bionicsasquach
16th September 2003, 22:05
Don't worry roo boys i don't even think carlton would be interested in that offer. Giving up the likes of tenace for that! try adding a real talent like corey jones and number 9 or watever u got

Carlos
16th September 2003, 22:15
Originally posted by bionicsasquach
Don't worry roo boys i don't even think carlton would be interested in that offer. Giving up the likes of tenace for that! try adding a real talent like corey jones and number 9 or watever u got
Dont rate Daniel Motlop as a "real talent"?

Watched much footy mate?

year of the roo
16th September 2003, 22:54
Originally posted by dasler
The use of the indigenous friendship ploy is a load of crap. It's a big world out there and you have to get used to it fast otherwise it'll kill you.

Sorry point rejected
thank you!! take note tashi!!

year of the roo
16th September 2003, 22:58
if they wouldnt entertain such a generous deal then they are not serious about moving away from the bottom of the ladder. i cant see why corey jones would be any more talented then junior, more consistant maybe, but no more talented...in fact i would say far less talented.

Carlos
16th September 2003, 23:33
Why?! Because dasler says so?!? :confused:

I reckon Tashi's right on the money personally.

Yes, ideally we'd like these kids to arrive mature and grown up. We'd like them to perform like robots and everything be fine and dandy.

But the raw facts are that they are kids. Sure, they are supremely talented, but it takes so much more than that to make the grade. They have young emotions and developing minds and attitudes.

And the fact both are Aboriginal potentially magnifies this situation as they are coming from such a different back ground, culture and environment to what Melbourne offers up.

Both Motlop and Wells have been quoted as saying they suffered from terrible home sickness when they first arrived, and i have no doubt that the Motlop brothers would have been a great sounding board for Wellsy in terms of how to deal with it seeing as though they went through the exact same thing.

Yes, Wellsy hopefully would have dealt wit it with or without Junior and Shannon, but i'm sure their presence made it a whole lot easier. As a result, you can see the friendship there. Much like our last batch of great players had between them when they arrived all around the same age together. And i'm sure that having eachother on the list next year and beyond will make it that little bit more enjoyable for them to be a North player.

The fact they are both blindingly good talents also helps. And why you would even consider trading a talent like Daniel Motlop has me completely baffled, but that is another matter altogether and i dont want to turn this into the North board.

Falconer02
16th September 2003, 23:44
Matthew Scarlett and David Clarke for Pick#2 and Waite.
Maybe....nah...I do not know?

James Bartel and Pick 7 for Angwin and pick 2

tashibatts
16th September 2003, 23:45

I took plenty of note, Dasler rejected my point, and so are you.

Doesn't mean I am going to agree with it.

I agree with Carlos.. Wells & Motlop are both kids.. they are both young and they are both great talents. As a duo, they are going to be a brilliant talent.

And I am sure the #9 pick will provide talent enough for our needs.

Go Roos

tashibatts
16th September 2003, 23:46
if they wouldnt entertain such a generous deal then they are not serious about moving away from the bottom of the ladder. i cant see why corey jones would be any more talented then junior, more consistant maybe, but no more talented...in fact i would say far less talented.

So why are you trading DMotlop off? (Not that I want Corey Jones to be traded.)

Go Roos

Carlos
16th September 2003, 23:48
Originally posted by Falconer02
Matthew Scarlett and David Clarke for Pick#2 and Waite.
Maybe....nah...I do not know?
As much as you've got to give up something good to get something good, i'd be hanging onto Scarlett for dear life if i was at Geelong.

Young quality key defenders are as rare as rockinghorse poo, and Scarlett is quality!

Effes
17th September 2003, 00:04
http://carltonfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=119455

year of the roo
17th September 2003, 00:15
Originally posted by Bluemike
http://carltonfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=119455
the whole point of this thread was that its hypothetical: "IF carlton put their #2 draft pick on the market"

Crusty Bode
17th September 2003, 01:20
ditto on Goodwin

bacon buster
17th September 2003, 09:24
Originally posted by superstar
Jade Rawlings + Brett Johnson for pick 2?

carlton would be mad not to do that

although i think hawthorn would be mad to offer it in the first place. unless they've done everything in their power to keep rawlings and they can't.

guess_who
17th September 2003, 09:30
There is no way that they will trade their #2 pick

If they do then, the club is even more of a joke then I thought..

CammoAU
17th September 2003, 09:34
Hmmm...

Well, from whats been put around the market so far, wouldn't take Lucas, Nathan Brown or Luke Power alone for #2. Nick Stevens however, yes I would.

Don't see the need to go for Scarlett myself. He's a damn good player, but Thornton, Livingston and Sporn are maturing into fine young defenders in their own right

Outoftheblue
17th September 2003, 10:20
Well, from whats been put around the market so far, wouldn't take Lucas, Nathan Brown or Luke Power alone for #2. Nick Stevens however, yes I would.

In a good team, Campo is basically the same player as Nick Stevens.

Don't see the need to go for Scarlett myself. He's a damn good player, but Thornton, Livingston and Sporn are maturing into fine young defenders in their own right

We could use Scarlett. Thornton is coming along nicely, Sporn will be OK but isn't a key defender. Livo has a long way to go.

Black Thunder
17th September 2003, 10:22
Edit: Just realised that Carton are banned from the first two rounds.

Carlton still have the second pick in the draft because it is a priority pick, but they will not have their number 5 pick.

They can also trade for any pick they want, but I hardly see anyone on their list worth a first two rounds pick.

Also, on the topic, if Carlton trade away their priority pick, then they have truley reach new lows. They've gotta go through this pain, and even though it may seem the easy way out to trade for someone established, they'll be much better for it if they develop new guys through the draft.

NorthBhoy
17th September 2003, 10:38
Originally posted by CammoAU

Don't see the need to go for Scarlett myself.

Ha.

You don't see the need for the very best FB in the comp? That is funny. Thornton has what it takes, Sporn is just passable and might not make it and Livingston is a turnip.

Every single side in the comp would bust arse to get Scarlett. Carlton have the worst list in the AFL by a fair way, but they don't need him?

Thunderstruck
17th September 2003, 11:46
Nathan Bassett and Matthew Bode and first draft pick :)

bluechampion
17th September 2003, 13:57
As I understand it, Carlton cannot take posession of any picks in the first two rounds.

If we were to trade, say, Whitnall to Melbourne for pick 5, then we would have to orchestrate a deal wherein Melbourne traded pick 5 to, say, Essendon and then Essendon could trade Solomon and Jacobs to the Blues.

This is all hypothetical - i'm not suggesting that Jacobs and Solomon are worth pick 5, nor that we would trade Whitnall...

But if we were to trade in any way involving the first two rounds that is, as i understand it, how we would do it.

bionicsasquach
17th September 2003, 18:34
Dont rate Daniel Motlop as a "real talent"?
motlop is nothing more than an inconsistent fringe player, just more north supporters overrating their own players

bionicsasquach
17th September 2003, 18:41
For the last time everyone, Carlton CAN NOT recieve any draft pick in round one or two of the 2003 draft!

year of the roo
17th September 2003, 19:37
motlop is nothing more than an inconsistent fringe player, just more north supporters overrating their own players
hilarious comment coming from a richmond supporter, we'll see who turns out better, d.motlop or say anyone on your current list at richmond.:rolleyes:

Carlos
17th September 2003, 20:33
Whatever you say great man. Obviously the comment of someone who has watched him play alot.

In fact, you'd be quite the expert on so called "young inconsistent fringe players" wouldn't you?

How's Pettifer, Fiora, Mills, Hyde, Krakouer, Rodan.... travelling?

tashibatts
17th September 2003, 20:42

:p:D:p

Comedian obviously. And if you aren't, you should be.

Go Roos

Deestroy
17th September 2003, 21:16
Originally posted by tashibatts

And apart from his relationship with Wellsy, Jnr has talent to burn..

That is a load of crap.

Wells would get over it as anyone older than a pre-schooler would.

Are you suggesting that because Wells is aboriginal he can't make any non-aboroginal friends?

Carlos
17th September 2003, 21:52
Originally posted by Deestroy
That is a load of crap.

Are you suggesting that because Wells is aboriginal he can't make any non-aboroginal friends?
Long bow there mate. I didn't see her say anywhere that Wells couldn't intergrate with the white blokes on our list.

Either way, i fail to see how you could deem what she has written as "crap".

Have you taken the time to talk to either player? (rhetorical question).

Have seen these blokes up close at training? At club functions? As spectators at VFL games?

I have done all of the above, often. Yes, that includes speaking to them.

And i assure you, she isn't far off the mark. They are inseperable and are a great influence on eachother, and i have NO doubt that having Motlop on the list has made things significantly easier for Wells in his forst year than had he not been there. And Motlop has grown immeasurably this year by having Wells around. Its brought out qualities in him that lots of North people had huge doubts we're there: in particular leadership and a genuine affection for the club.

Whether this would have happened regardless of Wells' presence is debatable, but it cannot be argued against that having eachother on the list has been hugely important for both kids and hence why we are so keen for this situation to remain.

But lets not fudge the crux of the matter: both are massive talents that most supporters would be loathed to see them elsewhere as they are crucial the North Melbourne Football Club's potential for future success.

tashibatts
17th September 2003, 22:35
Originally posted by Deestroy
That is a load of crap.

No I am not suggesting that.

Wells I am sure has plenty of mates, but having a bloke who can easily to relate to him would probably help him cope with Melbourne.

Have you ever watched them in a game? Like, closely watched them? They may as well be joined at the hip.

Go Roos

Demon37
17th September 2003, 22:38
hilarious comment coming from a richmond supporter, we'll see who turns out better, d.motlop or say anyone on your current list at richmond.:rolleyes:
Does that include Coughlan?

I actually rate D Motlop. Would give up pick 20 + a solid player for him.

year of the roo
17th September 2003, 22:48
Does that include Coughlan?

I actually rate D Motlop. Would give up pick 20 + a solid player for him.
try not to take those comments too literally...

and btw, no deal!!

superstar
17th September 2003, 23:17
Motlop doesn't do much for me to be honest. And all this talk about being best mates with Wells....stiff ****. If you can get a good trade for him, load him off. You can't go keeping blokes on your list just because they're mates. Ridiculous.

Carlos
18th September 2003, 00:00
Originally posted by superstar
Motlop doesn't do much for me to be honest. And all this talk about being best mates with Wells....stiff ****. If you can get a good trade for him, load him off. You can't go keeping blokes on your list just because they're mates. Ridiculous.
This is getting tiresome.

Where has anyone suggested retaining Daniel Motlop on the sole basis of him being Daniel Wells' best mate?!?!

Lets remember Motlop was a top 10 pick (#8 2000 draft).

Broken collarbone in his first year (2 games), OP in his second (5 games but some amazing VFL form). This year is his first injury free crack at it and after a slow start, he has thrived.

After regaining his spot in round 13, he averaged 15 possessions playing mainly as a half forward/forward pocket for a return of 14 .9 and a rising star nomination. Not startling stats perhaps, but anyone who has watched him closely (i and others on this board have seen about 99% of the games hes played (AFL and VFL level) can attest to this kid's massive potential and already prominant gifts.

186 cms and plays taller when required (kept Whitnall to 1 possession in a half as CHB for the Aboriginal All Stars, got 19 possessions and kicked 3.1 as a bonafide fullforward against St Kilda in Rnd 16). Is a magnificent pack mark, has a reach that needs to be seen to be believed, sticky hands, and can make blokes look like witches hats o the deck.

Yes, plenty of scope for improvement, but i'd trust Dean Laidley and co would be more than happy for opposition coaches and alike to underestimate this kid as much as some of you seem to, and going by Laidley's opinion of him (i know from talking to him), any trade proposition would be generated by other clubs, not our's, and would have to be bloody tempting.

Motlop's going nowhere, regardless of Daniel Wells.

bionicsasquach
18th September 2003, 13:53
hilarious comment coming from a richmond supporter, we'll see who turns out better, d.motlop or say anyone on your current list at richmond.:rolleyes: What about Coughlan, Rodan, Zantuck?

bionicsasquach
18th September 2003, 13:56
Whatever you say great man. Obviously the comment of someone who has watched him play alot.

In fact, you'd be quite the expert on so called "young inconsistent fringe players" wouldn't you?

How's Pettifer, Fiora, Mills, Hyde, Krakouer, Rodan.... travelling?
Wat you gettin at? Go to the Richmond board you'll find out we already know their crap,(Rodan and Krakouer still could be somthin)

year of the roo
18th September 2003, 17:03
What about Coughlan, Rodan, Zantuck?
all right i'll give you coughlan, but i still give junior a chance at being better.
rodan...pleeeeeeeease!!!
zantuck....thug, no skill at all!!