View Full Version : Carltons next big draft

Thomop
23 Jun 2011, 15:13
Wondering if anyone knows what sort of player are the blue boys targeting next? Are there any names being thrown around yet. Being that we have fevola's old budget to work with (correct me if I'm wrong) we should be able land a decent player.

HARKER
23 Jun 2011, 15:19
I doubt the recruiters would actually be looking for "types" just yet.
Having "lucked in" with attaining three quality talls we would have yearned for last year, we may just go back to best available.

Our first pick will also be pushed out to the early 20s this year making the job just a little harder unless we trade for picks.
Dylan Buckley still seems to be the most likely to be taken here, but others may refute this.

Thomop
23 Jun 2011, 15:58
Do you think we would bother trying to get a josh Kennedy type? We will have to see how waite and cruser go this year I suppose.
Possibly dangerfield would be a smart move given that he my be thinking about leaving Adelaide.

True Bluebagger
24 Jun 2011, 02:00
Do you think we would bother trying to get a josh Kennedy type? We will have to see how waite and cruser go this year I suppose.

Possibly Dangerfield would be a smart move given that he my be thinking about leaving Adelaide.

Dangerfield would be a great pickup as he can play midfield and forward, but realistically we would have to give up too much to get him and I am not sure how our salary cap is looking ATM for another big name (and big salary).

TNBT
25 Jun 2011, 00:41
Dangerfield would be a great pickup as he can play midfield and forward, but realistically we would have to give up too much to get him and I am not sure how our salary cap is looking ATM for another big name (and big salary).

I tend to agree. He's a great player and I'd love to have him in the Navy Blue, but I don't think we NEED him so much that he would be worth what the Crows would want in return for him. We have a great list as it is and everyone is going to need to get paid, so I can't really see us being able to fit someone like Dangerfield into our salary cap anyway (without giving away other players).

As for the type of players that we will be looking for in the draft, I have to agree that we will probably look at the best available player. When you really look at our list as it is, there are no real glaring weaknesses or holes that simply must be filled. Buckley will probably be our 1st round pick, unless his injury situation at the moment scares off other clubs and we can get him in the 2nd or, even better, 3rd round.

Jeremias
25 Jun 2011, 00:48
Dangerfield is far from a great player.

Good young footballer, but an exceptionally overrated one.

Would be nice to have him but I certainly wouldn't be chasing him too hard as Adelaide love him and he'd cost an arm and a leg.

With regards to the 'type' of player we'll look at, the obvious answer is all and any. WH goes for best available and that simply will not change. However, having secured some very promising KPP in last years draft, I'm sure we'll see a few new midfielders on the list - althouth that may be done through rookie elevations.

A young ruckman certainly wouldn't go astray, either.

But, as I said, it'll be best available talent. And really, that's the way it should be.

TNBT
25 Jun 2011, 00:56
Dangerfield is far from a great player.

Good young footballer, but an exceptionally overrated one.

Would be nice to have him but I certainly wouldn't be chasing him too hard as Adelaide love him and he'd cost an arm and a leg.

I guess it depends on what you define as being "great" or "just good". I agree that he isn't a superstar or anything, but I still class him as being a real quality player. Maybe I should have said that he was a good young player with great POTENTIAL instead.

As for your comment about him costing too much, I agree completely, as I said above.

Thomop
25 Jun 2011, 13:44
The reason for my inittial question was that I too thought our list was pretty good and couldnt really pick an obvious area to bolster. As far as filling any holes go, I dont think we really need to go chasing any expensive players at the moment either. Our young guys are just that, young and also improving quickly (very exciting!). I do think we need henderson firing, or a Bradshaw big body type to kick long to. I know we have resting big men down there, but it would be geat to have a full time target to go to.

Wickzki
28 Jun 2011, 12:04
I'm taking this type of perspective;

FF Betts Kreuzer Walker
HF Garlett Henderson Waite
C Simpson Gibbs Scotland
HB Yarran Bower Laidler
FB Russell Jamison Duigan
RU Hampson Judd Murphy
IC Robinson Lucas Tuohy
SU Carrazzo
EM Curnow Ellard Warnock

DEPTH Thornton O'hAilpin Houlihan* Collins White Davies
Watson Kerr McCarthy McInnes Mitchell Buckley

DRAFT Buckley Tuohy Curnow
VET Houlihan

Delist A Joseph M Austin
Trade D Armfield B McLean

Tuohy for Houlihan
Curnow for Joseph
Buckley for Austin

ScarfacePacino
3 Jul 2011, 16:37
Goddard will be at Carlton in 2012. The club will possibly trade one of our Ruckmen, either Hampson or Warnock along with a draft pick or player. The other possibility, will be a first round pick and a descent player. Goddard is walking, he will most likely want a flag in a few years.

He will ask to be traded and not waste his remaining years, he will be waiting 6 years or more for St Kilda to rebuilt. I think The Pratt family should have talks with him, as he followed Carlton big time as a kid.

I think St Kilda is looking for a Ruckmen to replace Gardiner, they more likely to recruit Brendan Fevola as well.

Daniel Talia is another player, that we should keep our eyes open in a couple of years. I think he would like to come home, as in Adelaide he will find it boring, as they only have chuches there and bogans in flannel.

TNBT
4 Jul 2011, 07:04
Goddard will be at Carlton in 2012. The club will possibly trade one of our Ruckmen, either Hampson or Warnock along with a draft pick or player. The other possibility, will be a first round pick and a descent player. Goddard is walking, he will most likely want a flag in a few years.

He will ask to be traded and not waste his remaining years, he will be waiting 6 years or more for St Kilda to rebuilt. I think The Pratt family should have talks with him, as he followed Carlton big time as a kid.

I think St Kilda is looking for a Ruckmen to replace Gardiner, they more likely to recruit Brendan Fevola as well.

Daniel Talia is another player, that we should keep our eyes open in a couple of years. I think he would like to come home, as in Adelaide he will find it boring, as they only have chuches there and bogans in flannel.

Do you have any sources for all of this info, or is it just your opinion? The only part of it that I really care much about is regarding Goddard. I would love to have him at Carlton, but what makes you so sure he is leaving? Again, is it just your opinion? Or do you have some inside news for us?

The last thing I remember hearing about Goddard was him swearing his life-long loyalty to the Saints. He may have supported Carlton as a kid, but he sure didn't seem to be looking to be traded.

Jeremias
4 Jul 2011, 19:41
Do you have any sources for all of this info, or is it just your opinion?

He's pulling it out of his arse, mate. Just like everything else he posts under his myriad of usernames

TNBT
5 Jul 2011, 01:07
He's pulling it out of his arse, mate. Just like everything else he posts under his myriad of usernames

I see.

krayfesh
5 Jul 2011, 16:28
Even if he did leave, no chance of us offering what would be needed to get him.

Or what would be needed to pay him.

I've been told there is a pretty big thing between Riewoldt/Goddard though. Angry things.

TNBT
6 Jul 2011, 00:19
That might work out in Riewoldt and Goddard's favor. Afterall, angry sex is usually pretty good. ;)

ScarfacePacino
6 Jul 2011, 02:31
Do you have any sources for all of this info, or is it just your opinion? The only part of it that I really care much about is regarding Goddard. I would love to have him at Carlton, but what makes you so sure he is leaving? Again, is it just your opinion? Or do you have some inside news for us?

The last thing I remember hearing about Goddard was him swearing his life-long loyalty to the Saints. He may have supported Carlton as a kid, but he sure didn't seem to be looking to be traded.

No, but It got whispered to me in Bed his a cumming.:)

ScarfacePacino
6 Jul 2011, 02:34
Even if he did leave, no chance of us offering what would be needed to get him.

Or what would be needed to pay him.

I've been told there is a pretty big thing between Riewoldt/Goddard though. Angry things.
The money he has, the reason for playing footy for a Premiership he wants. The money not the issue it's what the club offer for St Kilda. WE CAN DO IT.