View Full Version : WAFL Colts Grand Final Result (long)

dasler
21st September 2003, 16:08
Wet conditions, very good game if you are a South supporter as Claremont posed no threat really. Here's my run down.

Result

South Fremantle 14.11 (95) df Claremont 5.9 (39).

SF - Corbett-Wynne 4, Bosustow 2, Wilkie 2, White 1, Bebbington 1, Moody 1, Bowers 1, , Surjan 1, Teague 1

C - Wilkes 2, Ruck 1, Walton 1 , Orzel 1.

Best

South Fremantle

Surjan, Teague, Bebbington, Corbett-Wynne, Duffiled

Claremont

Franz.

Major players review

Jacob Surjan - clearly South's best player on the day. Worked hard and ran alot of kms. Positioned himself well, great use of the handball threading the needle quite often. Won basically every 50/50 possession and put on a real hard physical presence.Kicked a stunning goal in the 3/4. A great 4 quarter effort and deserved winner of the Mel Whinnen medal for BOG.

Lukas Teague - played an excellent game with superb skills. In the wet embaressed his opponets with a smoothness and velvet like game. Chipped in with a goal and ran very hard all day through the lines. An excellent effort.

Kane Bebbington - not very well known outside of WA but is an excellent big game performer and part of the SF midfield. Did alot of real in and under things and tackled very hard. Very very good game.

Tommy Corbett-Wynne - persisted all day like a little Phil Matera. Just kept going and going at the ball and paid off with 4 goals. Was very exciting when the ball was near him.

Paul Duffield - Played a great game at CHB. Towelled up his immediate opponent and created alot running forward. Very physical today and did alot of close checking. Really impressed by his footskills and decision making today.

Matthew Moody - one of his quieter games but chipped in with a goal and provided a focal point in the forward 50. Even though he didnt kick a bag i thought he played well.

Brent Hall - probably honours shared with Brandon Franz (C) in the ruck dual. Did set up some dominating taps though that resulted in goals. Really used his body well today.

Gerard Wilkie - so much of a fighting effort today. Really got in and played hard in and under footy. Kicked a nice goal and linked up well through the midfield.

Dale Roberts - so often this kid goes without the plaudits that he deserves. I was really worried about Rory Walton at the beggining of the game and Dale tagged him out of the game tremendously. Very close checking and backed himself in. Created alot of run and great link work. Well done Dale, all the best for the future and hopefully league berths will fall your way.

Team

Other than that it was pretty much a team effort with South having no one-on-one losers on the day.

Final thought

Pretty good game in light of the weather conditions with South dominating from siren to siren. Controlled the tempo of the game, looked hungrier and wanted the win more. Claremont fought valiantly and didnt play dirty football which was a credit to them.

Being a Souths person i'm as happy as a can be and look forward to coming back next year and watching it all happen again.

Cheers,

dasler

jojo
22nd September 2003, 20:14
Hey Dasler

Thanks for the colts write up, coz theres been bugger all else said. Have enjoyed following the colts comp and glad too see Souths have a good win, even though Claremont were pretty ordinary! About time the comp was recognised more, the crowd attendence for their game was p-ss poor!:(

kick
30th September 2003, 23:56
Watched the Colts grand final. Some good passages of play and worth watching the video on the game. If you were to watch the best player performances, count the number of productive possessions by each of the best named players for South. You might get a surprise when it comes to productivity. Dasler should pay more attention to detail. Although not a stand out, Jordan Smith sustained 4 good quarters of close contact fooball and did a lot of the 1% stuff. Moody played from behind all day and it seems this is adopted style. Good effort from South but did not play to their ability. Brave effort from Dale Roberts who I believe was as crook as a dog just before the game.

dasler
1st October 2003, 01:40
If you were to watch the best player performances, count the number of productive possessions by each of the best named players for South.
Yeah kick alright then, considering I came back to the club and the best that i named without knowing the order were the best that the coaching staff chose in the exact same order.Oh and i watched the video with the guys at the club too mate. Sorry for not paying attention to detail then :confused:
Although not a stand out, Jordan Smith sustained 4 good quarters of close contact fooball and did a lot of the 1% stuff.
He's no good kick, very very courageous player but lacks in skill level and vision. Doesn't pass the ball laterally and very rarley uses the handpass. Nowhere near being in the best I'm afraid. Will do well to progress past colts level football.
Moody played from behind all day and it seems this is adopted style.
Tell us something we don't already know. Moods would be double the player if he lead from the front. I thought without kicking goals it was one if his better games in a broad sense.
Brave effort from Dale Roberts who I believe was as crook as a dog just before the game.
Yeah i agree totally with you on Dale Roberts. He is incredibly disciplined and I know alot of people think extremely highly because of this fact. He never ceases to amaze people with how he shuts important players out of the game. A Captain Kirk like presence. Very under-rated and I believe he has a real future in WAFL league football if he wants to continue
Good effort from South but did not play to their ability.
South Fremantle 14.11 (95) df Claremont 5.9 (39).

Pretty decent victory in terms of the weather kick, so i think you are being pretty harsh there. Very rarely do teams play to their potential and South dominated the game and won. Simple as that.

Kick if you don't agree with me ask around about my credibility and surf some of the WCE and Dockers boards and see what they have to say about the GF!

:cool:

kick
5th October 2003, 00:22
you went way off the rails dasler. my post said "count the number of productive possessions by each of the best named players." by that I mean you and others seem easily impressed by quantity not quality.

Football is about productivity and i suggest you don't really study the game but listen to the opinions of others. your run down on smith was blind whilst your rundown on moody was very generous considering he had only 3 or 4 kicks.

My recollection of the "wet" conditions was a bit of drizzle in the third quarter. south fremantle were not pushed from claremont at any stage and thus the nine goal win should have been fifteen goals given the poor performance by claremont. so south did not play to their ability. There is a difference dasler in watching the game as opposed to watching & analysing the game.

I am sure your credibility is in good order with others, but i take your comments with less seriousness.

YAKUZA
6th October 2003, 20:49
"It's quite clear you are Jordan's dad so I will disregard your analysis of the game."

You pompous prick dasler, what a weak cop out. Once again you have been shown up as less clever than you think you are.

dasler
6th October 2003, 22:05
oh yakuza yakuza, go and read all the analysis from everyone who went to the colts grand final and then tell me i know absolutely nothing. If you can prove me wrong I will post a written apology on here.

As for this "pompous prick" go and read the footygoss website (yes i do read it), go to the south fremantle section and funny, a new member talking up jordan smith......coincidence?

Don't drag yourself down to a low level because nobody here is to argue and in highandsite, i have removed my comment as it was silly.

Characterized by excessive self-esteem or exaggerated dignity; pretentious: pompous officials who enjoy giving orders.

Pompous.....I'm not talking myself up at all, just contributing the little that i KNOW. Good day :)

YAKUZA
7th October 2003, 17:22
"go to the south fremantle section and funny, a new member talking up jordan smith......coincidence?"

So what? even if he is Jordan Smith's Dad or a relation, he raised some valid points and just because they happen to be different than yours you don't have to jump on your high horse and make out you're the ultimate authority on the SF Colt's.
Mind you as I said on another board that's about the limit of your knowledge. As for assuming that kick is Jordan Smith's Dad, it's fairly obvious to me and I am sure many others that some of your glowing comments about one certain SF Colts player suggest you have a close connection to him.
On the subject of Moody's performance in the GF, all it did was drop him further down the Draft pecking order.

dasler
8th October 2003, 12:33
Sorry for not being a knowitall like you yakuza.

Oh and the fact that i think young surj and teague are excellent players doesn't mean i have any relation to them....last year i was impressed by Anthony Frayne and Daniel Wells...does that make me their relations too???

As i recall it was raining the morning of the grand final before the game therefore making the Subiaco surface slippery and wet before the game, then it poured down in the 3rd quarter. Oh and it was a downpour if you were there yakuza, i hope you were so you can prove me wrong. Therefore, that = wet weather football.

As for my "limited knowledge" people have only asked me about South Fremantle players so i can only tell them what i know. I think you get offended by this knowing only Chris Johnson will be drafted from East Fremantle.

Atleast I am trying to post productive messages yakuza, not slant out at everyone because I think I know it all.

YAKUZA
8th October 2003, 18:15
Once again dasler you're wrong, Chris Johnson wont be the only player drafted from EF, not that I care or have any connection with EF, it's common knowledge that Peake will join the Dockers.
As for Surjan and Teague, I don't recall mentioning their names,
and as for the Colt's GF, if you call that a wet day then all I can say is that you haven't seen a wet day.
Now if you have nothing to do on Friday afternoon you had better trot along to the State Screening so you can post another of your productive messages on the SF boys.

dasler
8th October 2003, 21:19
Yakuza my bad i forgot about bomber peake's son. Two there you go. As for the screening camp why would i post on that? I can only talk about what I am asked to comment on and usually people ask me about the South players so I help out. Fair enough?

The game wasnt wet all day was it now yakuza....but it was raining before and during the game therefore simulating wet weather conditions.......enough said there.

As for your personal attacks directed at me, I'm really not fussed by your opinions in regards to what I say, as you provoke conflict and I wont have anymore of it on these boards.

As for the boys, I'm not ashamed at all to speak up young Teague and Surjan as I do believe they are our best players talent wise this year, closely followed by Moody, Hall and Duffield. Based on previous postings it doesn't take a fool that these players are alluded to. I can say to you now I have no affiliation to the club apart from being a supporter.

Enough of the nosence I'm all up for some fun. Thanks for your contributions even though i may disagree with them yak

YAKUZA
8th October 2003, 22:46
Go to the Fremantle Board and you'll see we do in fact have something in common.