11 Jul 2011, 23:09
ROUND 16
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/photos/fixtures/bhh-vs-roosters.gif
Sunday 17th July
CITY OVAL
2:00pm
Development Team
11:00am
Radio 94.1FM 3WBC or Live Stream at www.3wbc.org.au (http://www.3wbc.org.au)
go hawks!!!
11 Jul 2011, 23:22
I will be there.
Going to be difficult to win against the big bodies of nth ballarat against our inexperienced team with limited HFC players.
I would like to see Clinton Young play this week and gain some form. He missed a couple of weeks with the hammy and needs match practice.
Ellis should play to continue his good form from the weekend. Needs gametime, and can keep his spot with a good game.
Bateman if fit should play, he needs to show something and quick. Needs to show his body can hold up.
Riley Milne will play.
Hope Lowden comes back.
Go Stangers.
rdhopkins2
12 Jul 2011, 17:15
I have family committments this weekend so won't be attending.
Thanks in advance to our intrepid Big Footy Box Hill match reporters for their in depth match summaries.
Hodgepodge
12 Jul 2011, 17:53
I'm seeing Duryea do some good things at half back . . . really looks like he's belonged the last few weeks. Can we possibly salvage something from the 2009 draft? :eek:
Dixie Flatline
12 Jul 2011, 20:42
Hoping to get out there. Happy that Box Hill has a home game given Hawthorn's bye this week.
stemline
13 Jul 2011, 08:45
They should name Cyril just to make him look up where Box Hill is.
rdhopkins2
14 Jul 2011, 17:33
I may have one spare spot at this weeks President's Lunch (sponsorship prize recipient unable to attend).
If you participated in the player sponsorship this year for Box Hill, please PM me with your:-
Real name.
Email
Mobile number
Daughter's phone number (joke)
I'll be in contact with the lucky participant by 10pm tonight via email & PM.
Langers & Wangers in the Seniors. Interesting to see Clinton Young getting a run.
Cam Bruce and Lewis coming back too, but no sign of Lowden or Hallahan.
Seniors
B: Mirra Boumann Neil
HB: Sierakowski Pollard Kiel
C: Bruce Lewis Morton
HF: Ladson Young Wanganeen
F: Duryea Pattison Schneider
R: Grimley S. Gibson Milne
Int: Williams Monkhorst* Hoegel Gilchrist Menegola
Andrews Fagan Jackson Langford
Development squad
B: Nye Van Unen Johns
HB: Mahony Thompson Purcell
C: Menegola Jackson X. Murphy
HF: Northe Fagan Cust
F: Tobin Kennedy D. Cooper
R: Ralph Kitchin Andrews
Int: R. Wilson J. Cooper Fagan Allen Wilsen Cass
Sketcher Cassidy Phelps
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-150677-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=16321140§ionID=60264
rdhopkins2
14 Jul 2011, 20:08
You beat me to it scout.
Still a President's lunch ticket up for grabs. See my earlier post.
rdhopkins2
15 Jul 2011, 13:07
1xPresident's Lunch ticket still available. PM me me ASAP.
Great 2008
15 Jul 2011, 15:10
If Lewis gets injured in this game I will go off my tits.
rdhopkins2
15 Jul 2011, 20:23
President's Lunch ticket has been claimed. Enjoy the function guys!!! We look forward to your reports.
spudmaster
16 Jul 2011, 18:08
Great to see Bruce named in the lineup!
All the best to him and I hope he can regain some fitness and find some form over the next few weeks.
Good idea giving Lewis a run, even if only for a half of footy.
savagelunchbox
16 Jul 2011, 22:09
Great to see Bruce named in the lineup!
All the best to him and I hope he can regain some fitness and find some form over the next few weeks.
Good idea giving Lewis a run, even if only for a half of footy.
Y just a half of footy? Just as likely to get injured in that half as he is playing the full game IMO. I imagine the coach/fitness staff want him playing a full game to keep his match fitness where it should be.
I've been a bit uninformed this week. Why isn't Lowden playing?
Can see Langford and Menegola playing in the 2nds this week.
Fevola99
17 Jul 2011, 09:08
Y just a half of footy? Just as likely to get injured in that half as he is playing the full game IMO. I imagine the coach/fitness staff want him playing a full game to keep his match fitness where it should be.
I've been a bit uninformed this week. Why isn't Lowden playing?
Can see Langford and Menegola playing in the 2nds this week.Lowden was injured in the Collingwood game, I forget what because he played out the game so I cleared it from my memory, but he hasn't played since then.
I am still undecided as to whether to go to this game or to Frankston/Casey :confused: not every day my hero Fev comes to town
Rudi Gilham
17 Jul 2011, 11:39
Go to the Box Hill game Fev!! I'd be interested in your opinions on some of the Hawthorn listed players.
moginie
17 Jul 2011, 15:09
Streaming the feed is giving me no end of problems. It sounds like two daleks having an argument.
Does anybody have a score update?
Beandip
17 Jul 2011, 15:16
The default one is crap, just feedbacking for me. Try the media player link, which is working fine for me.
Half time score is
BHH: 7.4 46
NB: 5.7 37
moginie
17 Jul 2011, 15:38
Thanks Beandip, but unfortunately the internet sprites aren't doing me any favours on that feed either.
I'll just have to rely on the posts here.:)
Beandip
17 Jul 2011, 15:42
NB: 9.10 64
BHH: 8.4 52
NB showing us up for intensity it would seem.
Beandip
17 Jul 2011, 15:48
NB: 10.11 71
BHH: 8.4 52
NB Killing us so far this half, 9 scoring shots to 1. Commentary saying they're running end to end like a training drill.
Beandip
17 Jul 2011, 15:50
Spoke too soon, nice bit of play by Monkhorst to Wanganeen who by the *sound* of it sold a nice dummy, and kicked a contender for goal of the day. BHH 9.4 58
Someone just said Will Langford arm in a sling on the bench with his jacket on... doesn't sound good.
Beandip
17 Jul 2011, 15:56
NB: 10.12 72
BHH: 10.4 64
Commentary saying Jordan Lewis has been very damaging floating around racking up goal assists. BHH doing some nice things, getting more involved and a few Hawthorn listed players picking it up.
Quick reply from the Roosters...11.12 78
Beandip
17 Jul 2011, 15:59
Another quick one to Roosters, 12.12 84. Up by 20 odd, 3rd qtr almost over. 14 inside 50's to 6 for the Roosters, killing us :(
Have not heard the name 'Bruce' once yet, so I don't know if he's not playing, or if he's just playing awfully... Sounds like Grimley is doing alright.
Beandip
17 Jul 2011, 16:01
Managed to grab some of the goal kickers.
Wanganeen, Schneider, Grimley 2 goals each
TheFourPillars
17 Jul 2011, 16:10
Thanks for the updates beandip
Beandip
17 Jul 2011, 16:12
BHH: 70
NB: 90
About 5 mins into the final qtr. Sam Gibson just kicked one for BHH, Roosters lining up for a quick reply...... got it, 26 up now.
Beandip
17 Jul 2011, 16:17
Nice goal to Jordan Lewis
TheFourPillars
17 Jul 2011, 16:33
approaching final score time?
Ram-Man
17 Jul 2011, 16:34
Good to hear Sam Grimley bag a couple of goals!
Beandip
17 Jul 2011, 16:40
FINAL SCORE
NB: 96
BHH: 85
Went down by 11 points in the end, apparently we challenged pretty well but were let down by a couple of passages, in in particular was Ladson slowing the game down when he HAD to play on, commentators were filthy on him, saying that it just wasn't something an experienced player should do.
Schneider missed one from about 50m out with a minute or so to go, a bit blustery though from what I understand. They reckon if the game went for another 3-5mins we might have got up for the win.
TheFourPillars
17 Jul 2011, 16:50
cheers beandip
Baz_hawk
17 Jul 2011, 17:01
Looking forward to hearing some reports from guys who got to the game. Would like to hear about Grimely's game
Cheers for the updates beandip
Bloody cold day at the office. I'll be short and sweet.
Thought we may have been able to take advantage of the breeze in the last, but not to be.
Young had at least 4 shots from the 50m mark today.....I think he scored a total of 2 behinds. He did give us a highlight with a burning pass from the half back line that set up an eventual Wanganeen goal, but other than that didn't do a lot.
I thought Ladson was the best of the 'senior' guys. His over the top goal celebration, a highlight or lowlight, whichever way you want to look at it.
Schiederman was pretty solid, and is smart with the footy. Gonna be a good player when the development of his body catches up to where his brain already is.
Boumman was fantastic I thought. As a FB goes, he did exactly what you ask. Killed almost every contest he could get to, and just never gave in.
Langford hurt himself before half time today. Went in low to a ground ball but came off second best. Had his wrist strapped, arm in a sling and was also limping after half time. Refused to go for scans until after the game, and sat the game out in his tracksuit on the bench. Lots to like about the kid. Going to be a good'n.
Grimley showed some good efforts. Still too slight and was generally beaten by his opponent, but looked dangerous when he went forward as a leading target.
Lewis was no doubt told to "just get through the game".
Lisle looks to have zero swelling and bruising to show for his op.
Rudi Gilham
17 Jul 2011, 18:51
Box Hill Hawks
Goal Kickers: D. WANGANEEN 2, S. Grimley 2, T. Schneider 2, J. Lewis , L. Andrews , S. Gibson , B. Monkhorst , C. Young , R. Ladson , R. JACKSON
Best Players: A. Pattison, J. Boumann, S. Gibson, D. Mirra, R. JACKSON, J. Morton
Bit light on for senior listed players.
Rudi Gilham
17 Jul 2011, 18:53
Development squad
Box Hill Hawks
Goal Kickers: B. Kennedy 6, S. MENEGOLA 3, S. Cust 2, R. Wilson 2, J. Cass 2, D. Cooper 2, A. Fagan , J. Cooper , J. Mahony
Best Players: B. Kennedy, J. Sketcher, L. Tobin, L. Kitchin, T. Purcell, S. MENEGOLA
Wow didn't know Lisle played. Thats gotta be good news for HFC, thought he would be out for another 3-4 weeks.
Lisle did not play.
TheFourPillars
17 Jul 2011, 19:12
good stuff guys i see that morton was named in the best how was his game today?
go hawks!!!
17 Jul 2011, 19:13
Sorry, I am not aware that Lisle played, but he wss at the ground watching the seniors
FriarTuck
17 Jul 2011, 19:57
Friggin cold day in Bock Hill. A bad result but a very good game of footy. To beat the cold I ate about 8 snags and around 8 cans. My observations are more unreliable than usual. They were much bigger and heavier. It was a slow track and this worked in their favour.
Boumann spoils everything. Can kill the ball above his head and took a few grabs. Really good game. We need to put this kid on a plane to Arizona, get him pumped up then draft him. Too thin to be an AFL KPD but everything else looks good.
Patto plays his heart out. Good hands and a great competitor. Played number one ruck.
Williams played as a hard tagger. Kept his man quiet so he did his job.
Lewis was rested the last Q. Good game and was not reported. Heard him yelling at the ump - Lewie has some anger issues.
Grimley played FF and ruck. Lead well, although at time he lead way way too early. A good game and he is making progress.
Dalai Langford was quiet. Played deep in defence then got cleaned up in a side bump.
Youngy kicked the footy like it was a pumpkin. Is running well but he is not in any form.
Schneider does not play on an opponent. This will hold him back. His work in close is Svengali like.
Morto plays good footy when he is in the process of getting the footy. The rest of his game sucks. He does not react to what is unfolding.
Sirra was poor. His ball handling was sloppy and he had little influence. He has been on our list three years yet has no definition in his arms. What is going on.
Lewis and Laddo are our only genuine depth. Milne was a spectator so he must be keeping his spot.
Rudi Gilham
17 Jul 2011, 20:11
Is Adam Pattison travelling well enough at the moment to be considered for a rookie spot? Would he, in hindsight, have been a better option as a Rookie for us than Paul Johnson?
its game on
17 Jul 2011, 20:16
Did Taylor Duryea play? He was named along with Milne and Bruce (who both didn't play).
lethalselbow
17 Jul 2011, 20:19
Friggin cold day in Bock Hill. A bad result but a very good game of footy. To beat the cold I ate about 8 snags and around 8 cans. My observations are more unreliable than usual. They were much bigger and heavier. It was a slow track and this worked in their favour.
Boumann spoils everything. Can kill the ball above his head and took a few grabs. Really good game. We need to put this kid on a plane to Arizona, get him pumped up then draft him. Too thin to be an AFL KPD but everything else looks good.
Patto plays his heart out. Good hands and a great competitor. Played number one ruck.
Lewis was rested the last Q. Good game and was not reported. Heard him yelling at the ump - Lewie has some anger issues.
Grimley played FF and ruck. Lead well, although at time he lead way way too early. A good game and he is making progress.
Dalai Langford was quiet. Played deep in defence then got cleaned up in a side bump.
Youngy kicked the footy like it was a pumpkin. Is running well but he is not in any form.
Schneider does not play on an opponent. This will hold him back. His work in close is Svengali like.
Morto plays good footy when he is in the process of getting the footy. The rest of his game sucks. He does not react to what is unfolding.
Sirra was poor. His ball handling was sloppy and he had little influence. He has been on our list three years yet has no definition in his arms. What is going on.
Lewis and Laddo are our only genuine depth. Milne was a spectator so he must be keeping his spot.
Great write up. Thanks :thumbsu:
halfback dasher
17 Jul 2011, 20:20
Did Taylor Duryea play? He was named along with Milne and Bruce (who both didn't play).
Nup.....:confused:
Was at the ground though......
Buddy Guy
17 Jul 2011, 20:41
Thanks FT, good read.
Just one question though, is "Svengali like" a good or a bad thing?:confused::o
Hodgepodge
17 Jul 2011, 20:48
Thanks FT, good read.
Just one question though, is "Svengali like" a good or a bad thing?:confused::o
It's a good thing in this context I think. Svengali are people who manipulate others into doing their bidding . . . so i'm guessing the poster is saying Schneider wills the ball into his hands at the stoppages.
Hodgepodge
17 Jul 2011, 20:51
Grimley's just about ready to replace Hale isn't he? Pretty much all Hale does is give a contest in the ruck and stand in the forward line and kick the odd goal. Grimley may not be far off.
FriarTuck
17 Jul 2011, 20:55
Schneider did a move in the second Q where he dodged a couple of players and dished the footy to a passer by and we kicked a goal. He mesmerized those trying to tackle him. This kid has amazing balance. Just needs to work harder when he does not have the footy.
Grimley's just about ready to replace Hale isn't he? Pretty much all Hale does is give a contest in the ruck and stand in the forward line and kick the odd goal. Grimley may not be far off.
No chance.
Dixie Flatline
17 Jul 2011, 21:03
It was freezing cold for most of the day (much colder than I expected) and there was a decent breeze towards the corner of Middleborough Road and Maroondah Highway. I didn't notice much of the game, as I was chasing my children around Box Hill City Oval and making sure they weren't deflating the bouncy castle.
Lewis and Ladson predominantly played in midfield, Young as an outside winger and Morton on a half-forward flank. None played especially well, though Lewis was probably the best of the quartet. Wanganeen played as a crumbing forward pocket and kicked a goal, but was fairly well beaten by his opponent from what I could see - he lacks the workrate to make a consistent four quarter impact on the game. I didn't really notice Young until the last quarter, when I saw him miss yet another shot on the run from the half-forward flank, not even scoring. Morton tried for mark of the day but got nowhere near it.
From what I could see, Box Hill was beaten in midfield, as Grimley and Pattison were easily beaten by their Roosters opponents who were giving their midfielders first use of the footy. Ladson and Lewis were in the midfield, along with Jordan Williams.
Boumann and Mirra stood up in defence for Box Hill. Boumann is a fine VFL player but he lacks the size to make it as an AFL-sized KPD. I think he'd be worth a punt as a rookie, but he might be picked up by another club.
North Ballarat deserved the victory, as North Ballarat was the better team for most of the game. Box Hill really only played about 1.5 quarters of decent football and that's not enough to win games.
Good turnout by the senior contingent today. Clarko, Monkhurst and Leon Cameron were in attendance from the coaches. Brad Sewell, Paul Puopolo, Max Bailey, Riley Milne and Luke Lowden also attended. Missed Jordan Lisle.
Gibbo, Smith, Stratts, Cheney and Schoey were also there, DF.
Roger Rogerson
17 Jul 2011, 21:16
Is Adam Pattison travelling well enough at the moment to be considered for a rookie spot? Would he, in hindsight, have been a better option as a Rookie for us than Paul Johnson?
Please no.
Dixie Flatline
17 Jul 2011, 21:30
I noticed the Superstar Stallion was helping out the Box Hill coaches at the huddles today. Was blowing them away with his ability to hold a clipboard.
Henry Jr
17 Jul 2011, 21:49
Hey Echols, did GH buy anyone else beers or just himself?
Thought I must have been getting a pie when it was his shout today.
BuddyHawkers
17 Jul 2011, 21:51
It was freezing cold for most of the day (much colder than I expected) and there was a decent breeze towards the corner of Middleborough Road and Maroondah Highway. I didn't notice much of the game, as I was chasing my children around Box Hill City Oval and making sure they weren't deflating the bouncy castle.
Lewis and Ladson predominantly played in midfield, Young as an outside winger and Morton on a half-forward flank. None played especially well, though Lewis was probably the best of the quartet. Wanganeen played as a crumbing forward pocket and kicked a goal, but was fairly well beaten by his opponent from what I could see - he lacks the workrate to make a consistent four quarter impact on the game. I didn't really notice Young until the last quarter, when I saw him miss yet another shot on the run from the half-forward flank, not even scoring. Morton tried for mark of the day but got nowhere near it.
From what I could see, Box Hill was beaten in midfield, as Grimley and Pattison were easily beaten by their Roosters opponents who were giving their midfielders first use of the footy. Ladson and Lewis were in the midfield, along with Jordan Williams.
Boumann and Mirra stood up in defence for Box Hill. Boumann is a fine VFL player but he lacks the size to make it as an AFL-sized KPD. I think he'd be worth a punt as a rookie, but he might be picked up by another club.
North Ballarat deserved the victory, as North Ballarat was the better team for most of the game. Box Hill really only played about 1.5 quarters of decent football and that's not enough to win games.
Good turnout by the senior contingent today. Clarko, Monkhurst and Leon Cameron were in attendance from the coaches. Brad Sewell, Paul Puopolo, Max Bailey, Riley Milne and Luke Lowden also attended. Missed Jordan Lisle.
His height is 196cm that should be an excellent height for KPD
Size doesn't just relate to height.
He's a string-bean.
Collins-Langford-Ayres
17 Jul 2011, 23:32
Seems like Lewis will be an automatic inclusion. Hopefully with Changa, Sewell and Rioli.
Thanks for the write-ups.
SHAKESPEARE
17 Jul 2011, 23:50
No Bruce?
Lisle did not play.
My mistake, read the post wrong ;) Got me a bit excited, good to hear that its clearing up:thumbsu:
FriarTuck
18 Jul 2011, 08:27
He's a string-bean.
Even his tatts are stick figures.
powermax
18 Jul 2011, 08:52
Williams didn't play midfield, he was given the job of running with Cruze Garlett, they even ran off and on the ground at the same time. It was only at 3/4 time that D Carroll said" release the tag". All things considered he kept Garlett quiet...so job done. It was a role he has never done before........development?
Roomagic
18 Jul 2011, 10:49
Cruize Garlett continued his great run of form with 26 possessions (16 contested) and 10 clearances
http://www.kangaroos.com.au/latestnews/newsarticle/tabid/4912/newsid/118781/default.aspx
Doesnt sound like he kept Garlett quiet.
BuddyHawkers
18 Jul 2011, 10:57
He's a string-bean.
Fletcher of Essendon is not a big bloke, it really comes down to talent and judgement of the game.
powermax
18 Jul 2011, 11:07
Cruize Garlett continued his great run of form with 26 possessions (16 contested) and 10 clearances
http://www.kangaroos.com.au/latestnews/newsarticle/tabid/4912/newsid/118781/default.aspx
Doesnt sound like he kept Garlett quiet.
Williams did not go into the square at ball ups, so the clearances were not his fault,..he ran to him once the ball was bounced because he has the running stamina to go with him around the ground, and wasn't on him after 3/4 time.....as DC said "tag released"
Arrogant Frog
18 Jul 2011, 12:16
Definitely think we should strongly consider recruiting him if he has the right attitude. He is 90kg, which is a decent weight and 196cm and with questions marks over stratton, gilham and roughhead next season we definitely need some insurance with our talls.
Hawk Squawk
18 Jul 2011, 16:07
Definitely think we should strongly consider recruiting him if he has the right attitude. He is 90kg, which is a decent weight and 196cm and with questions marks over stratton, gilham and roughhead next season we definitely need some insurance with our talls.
Would love to see Boumann rookied next year. He can fill the third tall defender position easily. Has good poise and skills.
However, given Hawk selectors ignored the Box Hill form of Markovic, Curnow and Pedersen I won't be holding my breath. Can't believe they watched Box Hill last year and decided Morton was a better medium-tall than Pedersen.
BuddyHawkers
18 Jul 2011, 16:24
Would love to see Boumann rookied next year. He can fill the third tall defender position easily. Has good poise and skills.
However, given Hawk selectors ignored the Box Hill form of Markovic, Curnow and Pedersen I won't be holding my breath. Can't believe they watched Box Hill last year and decided Morton was a better medium-tall than Pedersen.
Yes I agree, I think Pedersen is a better footballer than Morton, but that's
my 2cents worth
FriarTuck
18 Jul 2011, 16:48
Boumann has a bigger upside than Marko or Pedo. If he comes on he will be a genuine KPD rather than our hybrids certainly worth the risk for mine. Seeing we have been gazumped on a number of BHH players I hope we handle this opportunity with a bit more thought.
Fletcher of Essendon is not a big bloke, it really comes down to talent and judgement of the game.
Fletcher is one of the exceptions to the rule, based on talent.
Boumann doesn't have the same amount of talent, obviously.
I don't usually complain about the umpiring, actually I haven't complained about the umpiring in any VFL game this season as I am more interested in looking how the individual players perform regardless of external influences. But I have to say it was not only deplorable, it was the worst VFL umpired game I had seen in quite a while. Certainly this year. I don't know who the no.18 of the umpiring fraternity was, what I am fairly confident about is that he payed ALL the free-kicks to Ballarat. I know a lot is talked about players putting match bets, but when I see things like, even in the AFL, I am suspect.
Anyway, the game was pretty close all day. Box Hill I would say dominated the first half and if it wasn't for the free-kicks (which continued all day to favour Ballarat) the Hawks would of have been up plenty. The only part of the game they were clearly beaten - and this was also all day - was the stoppages. And while it's well known Box Hill suffers in this area, having said that, many clearances were gifted to Ballarat by the umpires. BH usually moved the ball well in transition and one sublime attack from defence which then resulted in a goal even had Clarko clapping.
I think they were the better team on the day and should still make the finals with some players coming back from injury.
Here are the player reports.
I have been very critical of Boumann all year, his poor reading of the play and his constant clangers really hurt in defence. I almost was going to say to play him up forward as his kicking technique is actually quite good. On Sunday I thought he was BOG for us, especially in the first half were he was outstanding. I think he took several contested marks but most of these came in the FH. He also did a very good job of reading the play and intercepting with taking marks from opposition or just generally spoiling. Didn't have as much impact in the second half but I don't think he really put a foot wrong all day. Best game for the club.
Gibson was the only guy in the midfield that played consistently four quarters. I don't think he has bad game and I said this before and started a thread that I hope he does not end up like another Curnow. Could easily be in our best 22. Runs all day, covers a lot of ground, wins contested and uncontested ball, uses it well on both sides, is a good goal kicker. If we don't pick him I'm sure someone will, he deserves to play AFL.
I thought Lewis was okay without been great. His highlights were mainly his use of the ball inside 50 which was the best on the ground, and his ability to find space up forward. He seemed like he wasn't going at full pace but this is to be expected.
Young played okay but unfortunately his forte has almost become his achilles heel. I expected he would somehow manage to find some form today as he manage to get enough opportunities with entries inside 50 but apart from his first goal in the first quarter most of them were either average to poor. Obviously his confidence is down as his running well just not kicking well.
Ladson tired hard all day, has been all year. Tackled a lot, but uncharacteristically had a few brain fades with his ball use and decision making. Seemed more like a young inexperienced player than premiership material. His effort was there but his class wasn't.
Pattison was very good today. He is like a Wayde Skipper around the ground only better, and can actually ruck. He's very good at ground level and sometimes doesn't look like a ruckmen with his tackling and kicking.
Grimely second game in the seniors this year and he seems to be adjusting quite well. Didn't get a lot of hitouts but sometimes they were quite nice taps, especially one in the centre square were he leaped and palmed it nicely into the dashing teammate. He's not a big body so he doesn't like to wrestle at the ruck or up forward and most of his marks and goals came from just beating his opponent with agility. He just needs to bulk up.
I feel Mirra is not as quick after coming back from injury and has lagged behind defenders a few times in the last few weeks. Was never beaten in before then and was the best defender in the comp by a mile. None the less he still was competently adequate on the weekend. Generally used it well.
I thought Morton was actually very good today, especially in the first half. Unlike previous weeks he actually read the ball well and managed quite a few interceptions. Used the ball really well and appeared to have gain some confidence moving the ball with run and carry also. Looks to be improving and not finished many may have thought.
I am surprised Sirra was named as an emergency for The Hawks of recent, as he's performances recently have been below par. This week he was even worse. Hardly touched the ball and lost as many contests with his forward. He needs to find the form he showed at the start of the season. I think he's been tagged as he's seen as the most best kick coming out of BH defence.
Schneider is an interesting one. I think he's been one of the best players at BH this year, but the last few weeks not so much. Was injured a couple of weeks back and today he was didn't get a lot of uncontested ball. More contested ball in the centre. He kicked one nice goal in second quarter from 50 out but then couldn't repeat the same effort in the last quarter to put us within a kick with a minute to go. Was okay.
Wanganeen seemed to be trying hard up forward. Unfortunately didn't get to a lot of contests. Kicked a great goal in the third quarter on the run were he burned off a couple of opponents and then slotted it nicely from 35m out. Just needs to work his way into the game somehow if things aren't going our way.
Andrews was alright today with tackling and pressure. Kicked a nice goal too but didn't get a lot of possessions. He's very young and looks like an ant on the field but he certainly put a fair bit of effort.
Jackson had an exceptional third quarter were he kicked a timely goal also. Kept us in the game in that quarter. If only he put in a four quarter performance we may have won the game but was poor in the first half.
Kiel had a pretty good game today and provided a lot of run and used the ball quite well.
Apparently I hear that Williams did a tagging job but I thought he was the worst for us today. Maybe he was tagging but whenever I saw him near the ball barley made a whimper.
Neil put a very good effort today in the backline with lots of spoils and tackles and some good rebounds. Unfortunately he's decision making was awful and costs a lot of turnovers which resulted in scores.
The other defenders like Pollard and Gilchrist were okay today. Pollard did well with balls in the air but did little else all day. Gilchrist seemed to play loose in defence but didn't get too many possessions. Used pretty well though.
Up forward Fagan had a shocker, could not get in the play at all. While Hogel had a few chances but missed them. His pressure up forward was okay. Monkhorst on the other hand with already just a couple of games looks like he will be a very good KPF in the AFL sooner rather than later. I expect Collingwood will pick him up though.
Unfortunately for Langford he came off what look to be an injury to his ribs. When low and hard and was kneed in the chest halfway through the second quarter. I noticed in the first quarter had his left knee heavily strapped and it looked like he just come out of hospital with that cast on his leg. He look to have not a lot acceleration and lagged behind a few defenders. Had little game time but did a few really nice things. Like spoiling with courage running back with the flight of the ball. Showed good composure with ball use out of defence. Even set up 1-2 handballs and was involved in scoring chains were he got a few possession. The most impressive piece of play was him twisting and turning past three players before then been run down and tackled from behind. Hope he is back soon - very exciting player.
Beandip
19 Jul 2011, 10:38
thanks for the extra comprehensive write up Roby, these direct insights always make for a riveting read, I really hope Hawthorn considers Gibson as well, I think you should always have a few quality midfielders up your sleeve, they can always play on flanks if needed.
ordivician
19 Jul 2011, 14:02
No Bruce?
And no Duryea either which was a bit weird since he is normally a regular.
Rudi Gilham
19 Jul 2011, 14:31
Or Riley Milne either for that matter. Can't have been an injury picked up during his short, one quarter cameo against the Lions?