View Full Version : News Trent Barrett's Cousin Now With GWS Academy
LordMarbury
16 Jul 2011, 19:20
As highlighted by the Age, Jake Barrett, cousin of Trent Barrett, the league star, is playing with the NSW/ACT Rams U16s and is now a member of the GWS Academy. Sounds very similar to Sam Gilbert of St Kilda's story, coming from a huge Rugby League family only to play AFL.
Could be one to watch in coming years...
http://images.smh.com.au/2011/07/15/2496561/art_NEWS-AFL-420x0.jpg
http://www.smh.com.au/nsw/afl-in-league-of-their-own-at-spotting-talent-20110715-1hhy1.html#ixzz1SFwgFJEk
TheLandlord
28 Jul 2011, 13:26
Hi, I'm a new member of the boards. I can't start new threads so this seemed the most appropriate to state my opinion on where the giants and afl community are going wrong.
I am interested in becoming a giants fan. I'm a hardcore league fan, and no team will ever replace my dragons, just like no collingwood fan would ever love the storm as much as the pies. But I'm interested, mainly because I love sport. And in terms of AFL I've never really gotten in to it, because I've never had a team. I actually live 10mins from the SCG but the swans have never interested me. There are alot of reasons for this, but I don't need to go into them now.
A new club, built from the ground up with youngsters appeals to me. And it's my one chance to build a connection with afl. If I don't get "into" the giants, I never will follow afl.
But here's the catch. I love league. My whole family loves league. I don't want league to die, I don't want afl to "win". (and it won't). But I'm happy for it to co exist and respect the NRL. Paul Roos was always good at this.
Sure, afl wants to wage a generational war. It wants to be bigger than NRL in 25 years. It wants kids. That's fine, but you're gonna miss out on people like me...a27 year old sports lover. I started watching following the giants on twitter, I visited these forums for the first time ever (I'm usually checking leagueunlimited 15x per day!). But every time I hear someone talk about converting NRL fans, or sending league broke, or buying more players, or paying out things about league showing they have no appreciation of league, well it makes me take one step closer to the door.
NRL would never be arrogant to waltz into Victoria or Adelaide and think it's going to defeat afl. It would look to coexist. That's what afl, and it's fans, need to do. There would be few, if any, current NRL fans, or even swans fans, who are going to discard their allegiance. But I'm keen to make the giants my 2nd team, maybe even buy a membership, if they can take the arrogance and "war" attitude down, and say "hi, we know you, you love NRL. That's great. It's a great game. Come try out our game too, you might grow to like it aswell". If the giants did that, they'd have me.
Honestly I have not seen any indication from the AFL or GWS that they want to wipe out or defeat NRL. They want to establish a foothold and see how it goes.
However I note the "war" line is what both the media pushes and also some AFL fans, unfortunately in both cases. I really don't like that for the exact reason that you post - if it's an antagonistic relationship, we're going to miss out on people who are willing to support both sports.
My suggestion would be to give the club a chance until you see word from the AFL or GWS along those lines. I don't think I've read anything from either to that effect, it's only ever been ex-NRL players turned commentators/newspaper columnists in the SMH or Daily Telegraph.
GiantForce
28 Jul 2011, 16:23
There is no war...common misconception. The Sydney media (Mainly Murdoch Media) are just a bunch RL fanboys who want to say it's a war so they can go on and on and on about how "The AFL won't win the war in Western Sydney because it's RL heartland" and paint the AFL/it's game as idiots. The AFL/Giants want to recruit the kids/families/sport lovers/people who don't really follow any sport at the moment in Western Sydney. AFL has no intentions of getting hardcore RL fans. If it was one or the other in WS...RL would win easily, the AFL aren't doubting that. They're not idiots! But the Sydney media (Espically the Murdoch Media because they do own own half the NRL) are intent of making it a one or the other scenario and convining the locals to choose RL over AFL isntead of both because they know the only way they could possibley eliminate an AFL team in Wetsern Sydney is by making it a one or the other scenario. However I'm sure most of the people of Western Sydney aren't that dim...sure there are a few ferals/bogans who love their rugby and it will always be "gayfl" to them. But really, these are the ferals getting arrested for assualt, drugs and all that.
Hi, I'm a new member of the boards. I can't start new threads so this seemed the most appropriate to state my opinion on where the giants and afl community are going wrong.
I am interested in becoming a giants fan. I'm a hardcore league fan, and no team will ever replace my dragons, just like no collingwood fan would ever love the storm as much as the pies. But I'm interested, mainly because I love sport. And in terms of AFL I've never really gotten in to it, because I've never had a team. I actually live 10mins from the SCG but the swans have never interested me. There are alot of reasons for this, but I don't need to go into them now.
A new club, built from the ground up with youngsters appeals to me. And it's my one chance to build a connection with afl. If I don't get "into" the giants, I never will follow afl.
But here's the catch. I love league. My whole family loves league. I don't want league to die, I don't want afl to "win". (and it won't). But I'm happy for it to co exist and respect the NRL. Paul Roos was always good at this.
Sure, afl wants to wage a generational war. It wants to be bigger than NRL in 25 years. It wants kids. That's fine, but you're gonna miss out on people like me...a27 year old sports lover. I started watching following the giants on twitter, I visited these forums for the first time ever (I'm usually checking leagueunlimited 15x per day!). But every time I hear someone talk about converting NRL fans, or sending league broke, or buying more players, or paying out things about league showing they have no appreciation of league, well it makes me take one step closer to the door.
NRL would never be arrogant to waltz into Victoria or Adelaide and think it's going to defeat afl. It would look to coexist. That's what afl, and it's fans, need to do. There would be few, if any, current NRL fans, or even swans fans, who are going to discard their allegiance. But I'm keen to make the giants my 2nd team, maybe even buy a membership, if they can take the arrogance and "war" attitude down, and say "hi, we know you, you love NRL. That's great. It's a great game. Come try out our game too, you might grow to like it aswell". If the giants did that, they'd have me.
The 'war' is effectively a Daily Telegraph creation. There will always be overzealous fans on both sides of the fence but the vast of Australian football fans would have nothing against rugby league. Why would they? As for the AFL themselves, they want to grow but so does every other league in Australia. As they have stated many a time, there are plenty of people in Western Sydney who support no code. These are the people they want to 'convert'; it is far from a 'war' against the NRL.
At the end of the day, my recommendation to you (and indeed anyone) is to become a fan if you find yourself enjoying the sport. If you get involved with GWS and you enjoy the games and watching them on TV then great. If you don't then that's fine too. But don't make your decisions based on phony 'wars' and silly fans, otherwise you might miss out on something you would enjoy.
Rioli magic
28 Jul 2011, 17:31
Luke Bruest, who plays for Hawthorn is also Trent's Barrett's cousin.
.Shotties.
28 Jul 2011, 17:55
But I'm keen to make the giants my 2nd team, maybe even buy a membership, if they can take the arrogance and "war" attitude down, and say "hi, we know you, you love NRL. That's great. It's a great game. Come try out our game too, you might grow to like it aswell". If the giants did that, they'd have me.
Erm, that's pretty much what they are doing. They're going to great pains not to slag off League.
GiantForce
28 Jul 2011, 18:59
So basically tell the folks on your side of the fence to lay off with the war talk...not us ;)
TheLandlord
29 Jul 2011, 00:06
Gday guys. Thanks for the replies. I wont quote reply to each post individually but I think replying to this post will cover most of what has been said. Unfortunately, I may sound like a leaguie troll here, which is not the case. I came here expecting to be welcomed and encouraged, but I feel the need to retort some of the stuff in this thread.
There is no war...common misconception. The Sydney media (Mainly Murdoch Media) are just a bunch RL fanboys who want to say it's a war so they can go on and on and on about how "The AFL won't win the war in Western Sydney because it's RL heartland" and paint the AFL/it's game as idiots.
Its funny, because league fans hate the telecrap for being an AFL propaganda machine. People like Rebecca Wilson doing anything they can to bag league and pump AFL's tyres. If you go to the telegraph sport site right now you will see a story titled "How league is losing the battle of the west". So I dont think you're correct here. The telegraph is gutter journalism, but to say that they are creating a war purely to discredit AFL is wrong IMO. The idea of war started when AFL poached two rugby league internationals on million dollar a season contracts despite having never played the game (apart from a few school games in KHunts case). The idea of war comes from the placement of teams in league heartlands without a huge demand, compared to places like Tasmania, some regional centres in Victoria, and arguably ACT. The idea of war comes from the $200million being spent in west Sydney. Sure the telegraph are reporting these things, but if the don't happen they're not reported. I think its naive of you guys to think the AFL arent aggressively attacking the Sydney market when they clearly are. Im not saying they shouldnt, but im saying dont deny its happening.
The AFL/Giants want to recruit the kids/families/sport lovers/people who don't really follow any sport at the moment in Western Sydney. AFL has no intentions of getting hardcore RL fans.
Its debatable whether the signing of Izzy was designed to interest hardcore RL fans or just to get on the back pages, but regardless...why arent AFL interested in NRL fans? This is my point, Im interested in becoming a Giants fan..genuinely...but the antagonism towards NRL unsettles me. Imagine if the storm went into melbourne wanting fans as long as they didnt have an AFL team...theyd habe absolutely no-one! Imagine if the NZ Warriors said "come watch us, as long as you dont like rugby union"! My whole point is if the giants only want people with no other affiliations to other sports thats fine. But with the 7 clubs that play within "GWS" regions of west sydney/ACT, you have close 85-90,000 members of NRL clubs...why wouldnt you want to tap into those sport lovers?
However I'm sure most of the people of Western Sydney aren't that dim...sure there are a few ferals/bogans who love their rugby and it will always be "gayfl" to them. But really, these are the ferals getting arrested for assualt, drugs and all that.
And this here is exactly the type of comments that make me think twice about why Im here. The suggestion that the only people who are one-eyed NRL fans and arent interested in other footy codes are "ferals getting arrested for assualt, drugs and all that" is exactly the kind of comments that make me think "stuff you and your 'gayfl' sport"! Seriously though, I live in the eastern suburbs, studying my second degree at Sydney Uni, and until a couple of weeks ago I was definitely in the category that had no time for anything but NRL. Hate union, hated AFL, no interest in A league (although enjoy soccer world cup). The whole point of my initial post was that alot of people (esp Victorians) dont seem to realise that people in Sydney are as protective and proud and attached to NRL as Victorians are to AFL. No, we dont get 90,000 people to games. But that doesnt mean the passion of the 20,000 who do go is any less. All I'm asking is that giants fans, the club, the AFL and the media respect this!
Now, I can sense this getting into an NRL vs AFL debate which is so far from the intention of my first post its not funny. So moving on - sell me the giants! Why should I get interested? Ive told you all Im a Sydney sider from an NRL background, who are you guys? Ex Swans fans? Expats from Vic/SA/WA? Sydney siders with or without NRL allegiences? Im interested!
None of the above here. Ex-North Qlder, love the Cowboys, Reds, Lions, Mariners (odd one out, but the FFA decided to screw the Fury)... and as you said, "A new club, built from the ground up with youngsters appeals to me." Exactly the same reasoning.
GiantForce
29 Jul 2011, 08:28
Its funny, because league fans hate the telecrap for being an AFL propaganda machine. People like Rebecca Wilson doing anything they can to bag league and pump AFL's tyres.
That is seriously bordering troll. Rebbeca Wilson is the biggest one eyed league supporter out there and laways going on about how good NRL is and why the AFL are loosing the so called "war"
TheLandlord
29 Jul 2011, 11:45
Cheers dlanod. You've had a pretty good year then, with the Reds winning, Mariners making the GF and Cowboys resurgence into the top 4. Good times!
That is seriously bordering troll. Rebbeca Wilson is the biggest one eyed league supporter out there and laways going on about how good NRL is and why the AFL are loosing the so called "war"
Trolling? Are you kidding? I'm just stating the truth. I just did a quick search of 'Rebecca Wilson' on leagueunlimited forums and found the following threads very quickly:
* DUI Bec spends her time bagging off RL players on Melb radio
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=381321&highlight=Rebecca+wilson
* Beccy displaying her pure and utter hatred of rugby league
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=362693&highlight=Rebecca+wilson
* Will Rebecca Wilson write an article about the latest AFL scandal?
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=374935&highlight=Rebecca+wilson
A troll is someone who comes in here making deliberately inflammatory remarks. Im just commenting on how league fans feel...
Anyway, can we get off this war/troll nonsense, GiantForce whats your story, how did you come to be a fan of a club that hasn't even started in the AFL yet? Have you always been an AFL fan or a new fan?
Its debatable whether the signing of Izzy was designed to interest hardcore RL fans or just to get on the back pages, but regardless...why arent AFL interested in NRL fans? This is my point, Im interested in becoming a Giants fan..genuinely...but the antagonism towards NRL unsettles me. Imagine if the storm went into melbourne wanting fans as long as they didnt have an AFL team...theyd habe absolutely no-one! Imagine if the NZ Warriors said "come watch us, as long as you dont like rugby union"! My whole point is if the giants only want people with no other affiliations to other sports thats fine. But with the 7 clubs that play within "GWS" regions of west sydney/ACT, you have close 85-90,000 members of NRL clubs...why wouldnt you want to tap into those sport lovers?
I'm confused. You don't want the AFL antagonising the NRL but you're annoyed that they are not trying to tap into NRL fans? Besides the Folau situation the AFL has gone out of its way to avoid antagonising NRL fans by directly targeting non-supporters. You'd prefer the AFL to directly target the NRL heartland? To date it would seem that the AFL is perfectly happy to co-exist, in recognition that there is a very large market in Western Sydney and a lot of them do not have any sporting club allegiance.
As I mentioned earlier, if you think you'll like the sport then start watching. The more the merrier I always say. To be honest I'm not sure why you would care about perception, a game is a game, if its fun then get involved. If not, then that's fine too. But if you care more about the phony media 'war' and melodramatic rants from both sides of the fence then that's fine too. But at the moment some of your opinions seem to be driven by the Sydney media, and as someone who reads both the Sydney and Melbourne newspapers I think the views of Daily Telegraph are intentionally inflammatory and at times, quite frankly, absurd.
GiantForce
29 Jul 2011, 17:44
Cheers dlanod. You've had a pretty good year then, with the Reds winning, Mariners making the GF and Cowboys resurgence into the top 4. Good times!
Trolling? Are you kidding? I'm just stating the truth. I just did a quick search of 'Rebecca Wilson' on leagueunlimited forums and found the following threads very quickly:
* DUI Bec spends her time bagging off RL players on Melb radio
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=381321&highlight=Rebecca+wilson
* Beccy displaying her pure and utter hatred of rugby league
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=362693&highlight=Rebecca+wilson
* Will Rebecca Wilson write an article about the latest AFL scandal?
http://forums.leagueunlimited.com/showthread.php?t=374935&highlight=Rebecca+wilson
A troll is someone who comes in here making deliberately inflammatory remarks. Im just commenting on how league fans feel...
Anyway, can we get off this war/troll nonsense, GiantForce whats your story, how did you come to be a fan of a club that hasn't even started in the AFL yet? Have you always been an AFL fan or a new fan?
So Wilson just talks about how good AFL is huh?
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/fanatic-origins/story-e6freyar-1226085861080
Just talking about how good that NRL is and making pure dribble up about AFL and getting all the facts wrong. "(AFL) Unable to attract the same number of fans under 20 (as NRL)" wait what? It's the complete opposite! Most of the article is dribble too and just made up facts (Which most League journos do to make their sport seem better).
-----------
Me eh? You want my story? Lived in Melbourne for my early primary school years. Coming from a pretty non sporting family, it was weird going to your first day of school and all the other kids talk about it and play it every chance they can. Friendships were formed over it! Everyone loved AFL, being the odd-one out, I joined in the hype almost straight away. And that's when I fell in love with the great game of Aussie Rules. I loved it so much. So I've been an AFL fan since around 2000 (Give or take a year, but pretty sure off the top of my head thats when I started following AFL).
Can't remember how I ended up going for Brisbane (It was a year or so before they really became a force, so it wasn't because they were on top, which is how alot of kids would choose their team). I would really like to know though! However when your a kid you don't really know too much about whats happened in the past and why. Being the person I am today, I would have never chosen the Lions if I was awhere or had any grasp on just how big the whole Bears/Fitzroy Merge saga was way back when I was a kid. The Lions treatment of Fitzroy fans recently (and getting rid of the Fitzroy Lion off the jumper!) has left me very angry and dissapointed. I simpley can't support them at the moment. And after the massive legal battle with Fitzroy over recent years, it means the Lions won't change their stance on these issues for some time to come.
So there is no better time to come than to hope on board the Giants and watch a club start from the ground up. Effectivley the local team for Canberra (Been living here since 2004/2005) too. Nothing appeals to me more than exposing some people to the greatest sport in the country who might not otherwise get any of it/not give it a chance because of Western Sydney/Southern NSW being such a Rugby league place (I loathe the game of Rugby League, like it or not). As we're seeing on the Gold Coast, once people are exposed with such a wonderful game, support will come. I've put my neck on the line more than a number of times already for the Giants on BF and out in the community, and I will for a long long long time. The Giants will really be my footy team.
SHAKESPEARE
29 Jul 2011, 19:53
Luke Bruest, who plays for Hawthorn is also Trent's Barrett's cousin.
He ain't going anywhere
TheLandlord
1 Aug 2011, 10:10
So Wilson just talks about how good AFL is huh?
http://www.dailytelegraph.com.au/sport/fanatic-origins/story-e6freyar-1226085861080
Just talking about how good that NRL is and making pure dribble up about AFL and getting all the facts wrong. "(AFL) Unable to attract the same number of fans under 20 (as NRL)" wait what? It's the complete opposite! Most of the article is dribble too and just made up facts (Which most League journos do to make their sport seem better).
-----------
Me eh? You want my story? Lived in Melbourne for my early primary school years. Coming from a pretty non sporting family, it was weird going to your first day of school and all the other kids talk about it and play it every chance they can. Friendships were formed over it! Everyone loved AFL, being the odd-one out, I joined in the hype almost straight away. And that's when I fell in love with the great game of Aussie Rules. I loved it so much. So I've been an AFL fan since around 2000 (Give or take a year, but pretty sure off the top of my head thats when I started following AFL).
Can't remember how I ended up going for Brisbane (It was a year or so before they really became a force, so it wasn't because they were on top, which is how alot of kids would choose their team). I would really like to know though! However when your a kid you don't really know too much about whats happened in the past and why. Being the person I am today, I would have never chosen the Lions if I was awhere or had any grasp on just how big the whole Bears/Fitzroy Merge saga was way back when I was a kid. The Lions treatment of Fitzroy fans recently (and getting rid of the Fitzroy Lion off the jumper!) has left me very angry and dissapointed. I simpley can't support them at the moment. And after the massive legal battle with Fitzroy over recent years, it means the Lions won't change their stance on these issues for some time to come.
So there is no better time to come than to hope on board the Giants and watch a club start from the ground up. Effectivley the local team for Canberra (Been living here since 2004/2005) too. Nothing appeals to me more than exposing some people to the greatest sport in the country who might not otherwise get any of it/not give it a chance because of Western Sydney/Southern NSW being such a Rugby league place (I loathe the game of Rugby League, like it or not). As we're seeing on the Gold Coast, once people are exposed with such a wonderful game, support will come. I've put my neck on the line more than a number of times already for the Giants on BF and out in the community, and I will for a long long long time. The Giants will really be my footy team.
So we've learnt: AFL fans hate rebecca wilson because of her NRL bias and NRL fans hate her because of her AFL bias! Well the more people that her her the better I say, she is scum.
You hate league? Couldn't tell that ;)
Well, thanks for your reply. I'll continue to dip my toes in GWS and see how it goes.
Cheers guys
Hey Landlord, thanks for coming in here and showing some enthusiasm for expanding the sporting landscape of Sydney.
I was born in Victoria but grew up in Mackay and Brisbane, I played soccer as a youngin' but when I was 12 we moved back to Melbourne and started playing Aussie Rules, my uncle from a young age indoctrinated me as a Blues supporter and I remain one now.
When I was 19 I moved to Sydney (Wyong more accurately) and never really had any antagonism thrown at me for being an AFL supporter. More often than not people just didn't care and I didn't get to watch games because they were on at 11:30pm and I had a pretty busy lifestyle.
I joined the Army when I was 22, and now 6 years later, find myself in Canberra, the coverage is a little better but next year will remedy that. Previously I was in Toowoomba which, believe it or not, has a pretty healthy Aussie Rules competition, but is undoubtedly League Land. I played league with the Army and have had vitriol thrown at me for liking fumbleball, but that's usually by the ones who haven't posted to Adelaide, Perth or Melbourne and actually got to play the game.
I've been here in Canberra for the last 4 years and I am really happy that Canberra gets a 'defacto' team in the Giants, who look to be investing in the community, instead of getting the scraps of a Victorian side.
I have found myself rather shocked over some of the paranoia displayed by some League personalities, even on 7 news last night, who I would think would want to back AFL as hard as it could, was buying into the 'war'. I think that some parts of the media have latched onto the small feeling of paranoia some parts of the League community are feeling and are trying to exploit it to maximum capacity, not having a bias in one sport or the other, but having a bias in simply getting people to tune in or buy their product, and controversy does that.
My main concerns with the AFL as a whole are continuing the competition equalising measures and expanding them to the fixture and into refining picks for the draft.
But as a Canberra Giant, I say welcome aboard and keep up the friendly discussion!
Cheers.
noodles81
2 Aug 2011, 13:19
Hey Landlord, thanks for coming in here and showing some enthusiasm for expanding the sporting landscape of Sydney.
I was born in Victoria but grew up in Mackay and Brisbane, I played soccer as a youngin' but when I was 12 we moved back to Melbourne and started playing Aussie Rules, my uncle from a young age indoctrinated me as a Blues supporter and I remain one now.
When I was 19 I moved to Sydney (Wyong more accurately) and never really had any antagonism thrown at me for being an AFL supporter. More often than not people just didn't care and I didn't get to watch games because they were on at 11:30pm and I had a pretty busy lifestyle.
I joined the Army when I was 22, and now 6 years later, find myself in Canberra, the coverage is a little better but next year will remedy that. Previously I was in Toowoomba which, believe it or not, has a pretty healthy Aussie Rules competition, but is undoubtedly League Land. I played league with the Army and have had vitriol thrown at me for liking fumbleball, but that's usually by the ones who haven't posted to Adelaide, Perth or Melbourne and actually got to play the game.
I've been here in Canberra for the last 4 years and I am really happy that Canberra gets a 'defacto' team in the Giants, who look to be investing in the community, instead of getting the scraps of a Victorian side.
I have found myself rather shocked over some of the paranoia displayed by some League personalities, even on 7 news last night, who I would think would want to back AFL as hard as it could, was buying into the 'war'. I think that some parts of the media have latched onto the small feeling of paranoia some parts of the League community are feeling and are trying to exploit it to maximum capacity, not having a bias in one sport or the other, but having a bias in simply getting people to tune in or buy their product, and controversy does that.
My main concerns with the AFL as a whole are continuing the competition equalising measures and expanding them to the fixture and into refining picks for the draft.
But as a Canberra Giant, I say welcome aboard and keep up the friendly discussion!
Cheers.
Hey mate, I am watching the Gold Coast with great interest after not really supporting anyome for a while and its good to have new teams in the comp,I am hopeful the Giants will do well and hope to get to a few games next year!
Question Im from Wyong (still am now) and around same age did you play while here,if so for who?
cheers
Hey noodles,
I was far too busy to watch AFL let alone play, I retired after a glorious season in the U18s with St. Mary's in Melbourne. Shame though, would've been nice to spread the word on the beautiful Central Coast when I had the free time at hand.
Anyhoo, I'll be sure to make the trip to Skoda Stadium a few times next year along with all the Manuka games.