View Full Version : Alessio Calls It A Day

Pevers-Legend
24 Sep 2003, 13:38
ALESSIO CALLS IT A DAY

Wednesday, 24 September 2003

Veteran Essendon ruckman Steven Alessio today announced his retirement from AFL football. Alessio played 16 games for Essendon in 2003 bringing his career total to 184. Together with his 18 pre-season games, he retires as a member of the AFL’s 200 Club.

Alessio was a member of Essendon’s 2000 Premiership side and the pre-season Premiership sides of 1993 and 2000. He was named the Bombers’ Best Finals Player in 2001. His contribution off the ground during his 12 years at the club was outstanding. He was named Essendon’s Best Clubman on three occasions - 1995, 1999 and 2001.

“Steven has not only been a great servant of this club on the field but also a terrific person off the field. Good clubs need good people and Steven Alessio is such a person,” Essendon chief executive Peter Jackson said.

“But his on-field deeds should not be under-estimated. He played in a Premiership side in 2000 and in 2001 was he named our Best Finals' Player so he has done the job in big games.

“On behalf of the club and our members and supporters I sincerely thank him for everything he has given Essendon Football Club. We look forward to still seeing him around the place from time to time and wish him all the best in his retirement."

A good honest loyal servant of the club. Always thought he was under-rated. All the best big CES!!

Lloydy!
24 Sep 2003, 13:47
no doubt, great person and player.

added goals when needed, for a guy that just went down to essendon to have a kick with mates, to being recruited, i reckon he would be very satisfied with his career.

Thanks Sess

Pornstar
24 Sep 2003, 16:57
Could have kissed him when he took that mark and goaled in the dying seconds of that swannies game at TD a couple of years ago. One of the nicest blokes in footy.

Darealrath
24 Sep 2003, 19:32
Always liked Ces - Thought he was a tad underrated.

His routine at Longy's testimonial was priceless :D

IceTemple
24 Sep 2003, 22:25
A true Bomber! He wanted to play for us and so walked in and asked if he could. Luckily the staff were smart and drafted the guy. Well done on an important career with the club!

marcuz
24 Sep 2003, 22:33
A lot of people forget how much of a dominant player he was in the 96 finals series up forward. A true gentleman is ses. Good luck mate on life outa footy

mantis
24 Sep 2003, 23:29
Sad to see you go big guy, you mightn't have been a star player, but you bleed red & black & you added some humour around the club. :)

Hope the club can find a job for you, would be a shame to lose you completely. :(

Just waiting for the SES baggers to make an appearance on this thread.

cbreban
24 Sep 2003, 23:30
Originally posted by Pornstar
Could have kissed him when he took that mark and goaled in the dying seconds of that swannies game at TD a couple of years ago. One of the nicest blokes in footy.

Remember that.

Was listening to that one on the radio. Was very Loud!!

A great player and a great all round career.

Thanks Ses.

topdon
25 Sep 2003, 00:50
C'mon windyhill ... surely you can pass on your well wishes for this great man ;)

Stealth bomber
25 Sep 2003, 01:49
I've always thought Ces got a bad rap from supporters. I guess towards the end of his career he was pretty down on form, but even then he could always be counted on to do something good at a crucial moment. Did play terrific in 2001 finals. Winning two games against the Swans off his own boot.

Always enjoyed his charisma off the field.

I guess Simon's old #27 now has a vacancy.

Cupestar
25 Sep 2003, 02:35
Ah Ses, great bloke, His charisma and positive influence on team morale, and his mentoring the younger players is what he'll be remembered for in the later stages of his career.

He put his heart and soul into Essendon, and for that we applaud him.

Don't worry about his future, he's got a very successful restaurant called Mark's Place on the corner of Grattan and Swanston Street...the Tangy Chicken Pizza is worth a visit on it's own. Some great fotball memorabilia on display too...

mantis
25 Sep 2003, 15:21
Originally posted by topdon
C'mon windyhill ... surely you can pass on your well wishes for this great man ;)

It will never happen.

BomberGal
25 Sep 2003, 18:42
Thanks a lot Ses...great player. :) (sometimes :p)