View Full Version : AFL Cairns - 2011 Season Part 2

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14

Saint
20 Jul 2011, 16:06
I think Crocs v Hawks will be a close one, with the winner likely to go into firm flag favouritism. It's the wrong end of the season to be talking about injuries and potential improvements. An injury now is not something which could be come back from easily.

Souths over the Lions in a null rubber, so wouldn't be surprised if the Lions take it right up to Souths. Chance of Souths dropping a few players back for 2s finals qualifications, so the senior game will probably be a close one but still expect Souths to get up.

Norths v Centrals is last chance for Norths, but I think Centrals will be able to put this one away and then really start planning for the finals.

UTM, I wasn't saying that was the minimum standard, merely that there was a lot of talk going on when the umpiring standard was quite good in my opinion.

TBH, I thought the umpiring would be a lot worse than it is, there are plenty of people who move up here to play football, but few who would move up here to umpire it.

One league which springs to mind is the MPNFL in Victoria where the standard of play is quite high, while umpiring levels are pretty poor and usually genuinely biased.

People complain about umpires like they complain about taxes, they know that there is a benefit to them but will always hit the roof when they perceive something to be unfair on themselves. Umpires don't deliberately set out to influence games or persecute people or teams.

There are far too many people happy to sit outside the fence and hurl abuse and far too few willing to get out there and give it a go. Umpire one or two junior games and see how difficult it can be.

ShowNtell
20 Jul 2011, 17:42
I personally think the umpires are passable... And they should get some slack... However they need 2 use a bit more discretion b4 giving away 50s they give them away 4 near nothing and a lot of the time with little or no warning..

Loyal tiger
20 Jul 2011, 18:52
In terms of 50's, watched a player from another team abuse an umpire the entire distance of the 50 metres, but nothing was done apart from the initial 50. I won't name the team because the issue is the umpire not the player's team.

Consistancy is what we want from the umpires. Call it shit both ways and we can all feel they didn't have an influence on the game.

Too many games this year, there seems to be a plethora of free kicks early in the game one way, then when the game is over by half/three quarter time, the even uppers come... so they can say...oh the free kicks were even...

teamwork
20 Jul 2011, 19:31
I've umpired a few junior games at under 18 level and found it very easy. It's all right there in front of you, I don't get how you could find it tough. The answer is simple, you MUST have played before you can umpire properly. Having been in every situation as a player gives you the knowledge and the confidence to call any call needed. A common school of thought is that if you didn't notice the umpire then they have done well. This is something I whole heartedly believe. Unfortunately there are a few 'showman' that feel they have every right to be noticed as much as the players That's a very wrong way to teach any umpire.

teamwork
20 Jul 2011, 19:58
Kiss of death this week as follows -

Hawks to topple the Crocs
Cutters to smash the Lions
Norths to upset Centrals

On another note, still undecided on whether to go to the show. Was thinking of stuffing my face full of Dagwood Dogs and Waffles and then going on the Gravitron with the kids. I wonder how popular I'd be???

Hawks
Souths
Norths to win by a goal at home

38southerner
20 Jul 2011, 21:21
not a truer word spoken.......totally agree

blueeyes
20 Jul 2011, 22:09
Hawks are packing to many guns this season.. there number of qaulity players far out way the crocs..The Crocs have'nt even looked like getting anywhere near them in there two previous encounters this season up at the croc pit.. the hawks are doing it on the bit at the moment and there players know it.. they are playing with a lot of confidence and arrogance

Lachrilly
21 Jul 2011, 14:22
Hawks are packing to many guns this season.. there number of qaulity players far out way the crocs..The Crocs have'nt even looked like getting anywhere near them in there two previous encounters this season up at the croc pit.. the hawks are doing it on the bit at the moment and there players know it.. they are playing with a lot of confidence and arrogance

Playing with confidence and arrogance has got teams in trouble in the past. Just ask Souths and Port.

teamwork
22 Jul 2011, 19:05
Playing with confidence and arrogance has got teams in trouble in the past. Just ask Souths and Port.

That statement alone was arrogant lachrilly.

tamba
22 Jul 2011, 19:27
As per the fish & chip wrapper today, it must have cost the Bulldogs a small arm & leg, let alone all the conning of the sponsors to bring these players up from down south,

I wonder why????

why did the players in question not try to be part of a triple premiership ?????
(I did in my junior days & was trilled by wins)

unless the COIN was too great to pass up. Then that is the case of money speaking again, mmmmmmm

So which means then has T. Lane been authorized to try to BUY a G.F , mmmmm

Sherlock Holmes where are you, we have a mystery

teamwork
22 Jul 2011, 20:28
This is exactly what needs to be regulated. How can you go and buy 5 players well over half way through the season to try and buy a premiership? I don't believe it will work in their case but what about the 5 blokes that spent the first 14 rounds as senior footballers? Maybe one is fine but 5 is just going against everything a football season is all about.

ShowNtell
22 Jul 2011, 20:39
I agree it's not fair especially with no other clubs paying players the league needs 2 regulate this

teamwork
22 Jul 2011, 20:52
I agree it's not fair especially with no other clubs paying players the league needs 2 regulate this

What do they say about sarcasm being the lowest form wit? They're spot on showntell.

It's got nothing to do with paying anybody, its to do with recruting players over half way through a season. How they get them there is beside the point.

ShowNtell
22 Jul 2011, 21:07
It was a reference 2 what tamba said.. Sarcasm being the lowest form of wit it should've been pretty clear what I meant

watsons oval
23 Jul 2011, 08:42
As per the fish & chip wrapper today, it must have cost the Bulldogs a small arm & leg, let alone all the conning of the sponsors to bring these players up from down south,

I wonder why????

why did the players in question not try to be part of a triple premiership ?????

unless the COIN was too great to pass up. Then that is the case of money speaking again, mmmmmmm

My mail was that they simply couldn't handle the cold South Australian winter and left on good terms with the club. Its obviously costing Centrals something but I don't think they will be on match payments. Maybe travel costs and accomodation?? Either way, personally I don't think these blokes will improve Centrals enough to challenge the top 3, will make it hard for us to claim 4th though:thumbsd:

tamba
23 Jul 2011, 20:41
My mail was that they simply couldn't handle the cold South Australian winter and left on good terms with the club. Its obviously costing Centrals something but I don't think they will be on match payments. Maybe travel costs and accomodation?? Either way, personally I don't think these blokes will improve Centrals enough to challenge the top 3, will make it hard for us to claim 4th though:thumbsd:

couldn't handle the cold South Australian winter

MMMMMM :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes: :rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes::rolleyes:

they have been there at least 2 years
and can't stand the cold winter ???????

I was raised there & learnt my trade,

give my right foot a pull ,

LOL

Lachrilly
23 Jul 2011, 23:26
Thought i would head down to the home of Cairns Footy to watch the top of the table clash today. It sure was a tale of 2 halves with Port dominating the first half making Hawks looking second rate (some poor kicking for goal didn't help Hawks) then the second half saw Hawks pile on 7 or 8 with the wind and with a big enough lead at 3/4 time held on to win by 14pts. Not the greatest game to watch with neither forward line looking overly dangerous but Hawks with more options around goals maybe proving the difference.
In the 2's Port easily won. A 6 goals to nothing first 1/4 enough to keep a spirited Hawks at bay.

upthemiddle
24 Jul 2011, 10:21
Thought i would head down to the home of Cairns Footy to watch the top of the table clash today. It sure was a tale of 2 halves with Port dominating the first half making Hawks looking second rate (some poor kicking for goal didn't help Hawks) then the second half saw Hawks pile on 7 or 8 with the wind and with a big enough lead at 3/4 time held on to win by 14pts. Not the greatest game to watch with neither forward line looking overly dangerous but Hawks with more options around goals maybe proving the difference.
In the 2's Port easily won. A 6 goals to nothing first 1/4 enough to keep a spirited Hawks at bay.

I saw a great game of footy, a good contest that saw both teams fight back at different stages. Hawks kicked 2.8 to half time with 3 or 4 hitting the post. A 9 goal third term broke ports spirit. But port scored 2 in a row in the last and began a tough fight back but hawks did enough to hold them off. Terrific game, incredibly bad umpiring!

watsons oval
24 Jul 2011, 12:35
I saw a great game of footy, a good contest that saw both teams fight back at different stages. Hawks kicked 2.8 to half time with 3 or 4 hitting the post. A 9 goal third term broke ports spirit. But port scored 2 in a row in the last and began a tough fight back but hawks did enough to hold them off. Terrific game, incredibly bad umpiring!
Norths out of finals race now, losing to dogs by about 40 points, despite being only 2 goals down at 3q time. Dogs always had their nose in front and were too good. Whether they have improved enough to challenge top 3 i don't know...
Sounds like a good game at Cazalys, Port would have to be pretty happy to know they can get close at the ground where the real stuff is played, especially since they had a few not playing. How close to full strength were Hawks?

teamwork
24 Jul 2011, 14:40
Norths out of finals race now, losing to dogs by about 40 points, despite being only 2 goals down at 3q time. Dogs always had their nose in front and were too good. Whether they have improved enough to challenge top 3 i don't know...
Sounds like a good game at Cazalys, Port would have to be pretty happy to know they can get close at the ground where the real stuff is played, especially since they had a few not playing. How close to full strength were Hawks?

Like Port we were half dozen or so off a full team, but I think that's pretty much normal for all sides at the minute. We copped a couple of injuries to key players during the game and kept them off rather thank risk them. Take nothing away from Port though, they threw everything at us and with their tails up are tough to chase down.

Lachrilly
24 Jul 2011, 16:22

Umpiring wasn't that bad. Yes there were a couple of puzzlers but overall were ok i thought

ShowNtell
24 Jul 2011, 18:25
Well my learned ShowNtell, it just goes to show how much you know about the teams in this league. Last season the "precious" Bulldogs were beaten by the 2010 Wooden Spooners in their last fixture game. Both Souths and Norths have nothing to lose. Both clubs are known historically for knocking off teams in the top 4 at the business end of the season

I clearly know nothing... Last season was last season... Maybe watch some recent games so u can make an articulate comment... But of course it's only because of their new recruits... Hawks must be favorites after their win on the weekend.. Interesting of saints can put something together in the next few weeks because they seem 2 b struggling atm.. Hope ur stirrups are tight teamwork because it's a long fall from ur high horse

teamwork
24 Jul 2011, 19:49
I clearly know nothing... Last season was last season... Maybe watch some recent games so u can make an articulate comment... But of course it's only because of their new recruits... Hawks must be favorites after their win on the weekend.. Interesting of saints can put something together in the next few weeks because they seem 2 b struggling atm.. Hope ur stirrups are tight teamwork because it's a long fall from ur high horse

I'm not sure what I've said to make you think I'm on any kind of high horse showntell, but I'll ride with my heels down just to be sure!

Flintstone
25 Jul 2011, 11:05
Well my tips were almost right this week. I heard Norths took it right up to Centrals. I was told that Port stopped playing, were there own worst enemy and lost interest. As for the Cutters V Lions game, by half time I was bored and went in and sat at the bar occasionally looking out to check the score. Clearly, the poor Lions were down in numbers and at least half a dozen played two games of footy. I can at least say I know how the Lions fans feel. It was gut wrenching watching the Cutters go through it last year. I will also go on the record to say "the umpiring was of a higher standard than normal". I thought the two field umpires did well and young Mr Burke probably had his best game in the last 3 years. Ok, you can all pick yourselves up off the floor now. The Cutters Ressies are looking good and I'll go out on a limb and will say that I expect they'll be in the grand final.

Flintstone
25 Jul 2011, 11:07

Well clearly, you don't know how to spell either. :p

Flintstone
25 Jul 2011, 11:11
That statement alone was arrogant lachrilly.

Expect nothing less of Lachrilly Teamwork. He has it down to an art form.

Flintstone
25 Jul 2011, 11:17

I wonder why????

Tamba my old friend, coin wouldn't be involved. I reckon they might be on incentive payments and not being paid at all. ;););)

DrRichardKimble
25 Jul 2011, 11:58
The Cutters Ressies are looking good and I'll go out on a limb and will say that I expect they'll be in the grand final.

So they are dropping senior players back because they can't make the finals??? Would have to drop a few back because in the 2s Port and Saints are way ahead of the rest

Lachrilly
25 Jul 2011, 12:28
Expect nothing less of Lachrilly Teamwork. He has it down to an art form.

My statement is 100% on the money. Both Souths and Port thought it was won b4 the day and looked what happened.It didn't matter who beat them (It was Saints both times). When a team you support wins 3 flags in a row you can be a bit cocky i think. Saints will be there abouts this year. I think it will be tough to knock off Hawks or Port but if Hawks play like they did in the first half and Port the way they did in the 2nd, Saints will pounce.
Considering nobody likes what i post anyway i might aswell say it as it is.
Attack Sains all you like i wont sook about it like some other people on here.

ShowNtell
25 Jul 2011, 15:01
Lachrilly obviously saints were flying early in the season... Y do u think they r in a bit of a form slump atm? And do u think they r a chance 2 turn it rnd like in rescent years?

Lachrilly
25 Jul 2011, 15:28
Lachrilly obviously saints were flying early in the season... Y do u think they r in a bit of a form slump atm? And do u think they r a chance 2 turn it rnd like in rescent years?

Saints got off to a good start because they were reasonably healthy, minus Walsh of course. They lost McIntee early for the season then Coatsworth has struggled with injury now Powell and Poyner will miss most of the second half of the year. Walsh is back now but still not 100%. Hawks have obviously improved since the start of the year as they always do and Port still have a few to come back.I think Hawks are still the favourites by far but Saints and Port will be there come the pointy end and i think its the closest the comp has been for a few years. Any of the top 3 can win it. Everyone has had injuries and i think who ever has their best available come finals will win it.

Flintstone
25 Jul 2011, 16:41
The Cutters Ressies are looking good and I'll go out on a limb and will say that I expect they'll be in the grand final.

So they are dropping senior players back because they can't make the finals??? Would have to drop a few back because in the 2s Port and Saints are way ahead of the rest

I can assure you of one thing good Doctor, no one has been dropped into Ressies. In fact, they have been promoted into the Senior team. When you have the likes of Gary Wilson coming out of retirement to play, I can assure you, you couldn't be any further off the mark if you tried. This team of blokes who only play footy because they love it (yes that's right, they still exist) and not because of any other reason. These blokes are playing and enjoy playing in their playing group and nothing else. As I said previously, I expect them to be in the grand final and it will be through sheer heart that they are there.

Flintstone
25 Jul 2011, 16:44
My statement is 100% on the money. Both Souths and Port thought it was won b4 the day and looked what happened.It didn't matter who beat them (It was Saints both times). When a team you support wins 3 flags in a row you can be a bit cocky i think. Saints will be there abouts this year. I think it will be tough to knock off Hawks or Port but if Hawks play like they did in the first half and Port the way they did in the 2nd, Saints will pounce.
Considering nobody likes what i post anyway i might aswell say it as it is.
Attack Sains all you like i wont sook about it like some other people on here.

Excuse me Lachrilly while I cough (cough, cough). Are you serious?

Lachrilly
25 Jul 2011, 18:26
Excuse me Lachrilly while I cough (cough, cough). Are you serious?

Saints pretty much only get attacked for paying players. This ones been done to death. Any slight bad thing said about Souths or Hawks gets whoever said it an earful even if its true

tamba
25 Jul 2011, 18:41

Souths won't & never have in my time with them, they only use the lads that were always Reserve players

BUT in saying that the Penguin & I were chin wagging this morning & still are of the same opinion that OUR club has & will always put the Best Senior side on the paddock each week from available players, we see that rule at the club will not change in the foreseeable future.

tamba
25 Jul 2011, 18:47
Well my tips were almost right this week. I heard Norths took it right up to Centrals. I was told that Port stopped playing, were there own worst enemy and lost interest. As for the Cutters V Lions game, by half time I was bored and went in and sat at the bar occasionally looking out to check the score. Clearly, the poor Lions were down in numbers and at least half a dozen played two games of footy. I can at least say I know how the Lions fans feel. It was gut wrenching watching the Cutters go through it last year. I will also go on the record to say "the umpiring was of a higher standard than normal". I thought the two field umpires did well and young Mr Burke probably had his best game in the last 3 years. Ok, you can all pick yourselves up off the floor now. The Cutters Ressies are looking good and I'll go out on a limb and will say that I expect they'll be in the grand final.

The bar sales went up when Flintstone went back to the inside bar :D

& the can bar downstairs got a flogging from me as well, :eek::eek::eek:

I did little of cheering like I normally do with my foghorn voice, but polite clapping of the goals, ;)

Lachrilly
25 Jul 2011, 19:48
[quote=DrRichardKimble;21728414]

Souths won't & never have in my time with them, they only use the lads that were always Reserve players

BUT in saying that the Penguin & I were chin wagging this morning & still are of the same opinion that OUR club has & will always put the Best Senior side on the paddock each week from available players, we see that rule at the club will not change in the foreseeable future.

Thats how it should be. But there are always clubs in all leagues that drop players back once their seniors cant make it. Saying that i think it should be harder to qualify. I think its if you have played 3 senior games you need to play at least 5 in the 2's.

ShowNtell
26 Jul 2011, 07:20
Lachrilly are poyner and Powell likely 2 b healthy by finals? and whatabout coatesworth is it his hamstring giving him trouble?

DrRichardKimble
26 Jul 2011, 07:57
[quote=tamba;21732978]

Thats how it should be. But there are always clubs in all leagues that drop players back once their seniors cant make it. Saying that i think it should be harder to qualify. I think its if you have played 3 senior games you need to play at least 5 in the 2's.

harder to qualify?? what about the fringe players who play ones all yr and then get dropped come finals because the seniors get their full list back? know this will be the case at saints and I'm sure hawks and port are in the same boat..

As for saints Harth, Ridges, Powell, Poynter, Cockfield will be all right come finals time.. and coatsworth's Hammy is fine.. Parson's however will be unlikely to make it back this season

Lachrilly
26 Jul 2011, 15:44
[quote=Lachrilly;21733733]

harder to qualify?? what about the fringe players who play ones all yr and then get dropped come finals because the seniors get their full list back? know this will be the case at saints and I'm sure hawks and port are in the same boat..

As for saints Harth, Ridges, Powell, Poynter, Cockfield will be all right come finals time.. and coatsworth's Hammy is fine.. Parson's however will be unlikely to make it back this season

If they play 1's all year and get dropped then they can play 2's because their seniors are obviously in the finals 2. Powell and Poyner will be back but underdone no doubt and Parsons will be a massive loss if he can't play again this year

Flintstone
26 Jul 2011, 15:49
Saints pretty much only get attacked for paying players. This ones been done to death. Any slight bad thing said about Souths or Hawks gets whoever said it an earful even if its true

It's called being passionate about you're club Lachrilly. There have been numerous times when you have leapt to the defence of your precious Saints. So don't come the raw prawn with us and start telling furphies on here my friend.

ShowNtell
26 Jul 2011, 21:43
So is that y all the souths u18s are jumping ship after this season if they haven't already... Passion?

teamwork
27 Jul 2011, 13:03
Should be a different game than last time between Hawks and Saints this week. Although it seems that Saintsstill have a few out.

Lachrilly
27 Jul 2011, 13:34
Should be a different game than last time between Hawks and Saints this week. Although it seems that Saintsstill have a few out.

I'm sure Saints will be keen to put in a better show than last time.Watching Hawks in the first half last week, It showed that Hawks can be beaten if played the right way. Saints will still have a few missing as will Hawks no doubt but will give themselves every chance of winning.
Heard an add for this weekends games on the radio. It said that Port were hosting an inform Souths. Not sure where they got there info on Souths from but they are hardly inform

Flintstone
27 Jul 2011, 14:04
I'm sure Saints will be keen to put in a better show than last time.Watching Hawks in the first half last week, It showed that Hawks can be beaten if played the right way. Saints will still have a few missing as will Hawks no doubt but will give themselves every chance of winning.
Heard an add for this weekends games on the radio. It said that Port were hosting an inform Souths. Not sure where they got there info on Souths from but they are hardly inform

As oppose to an out of form Saints. I guess that's what they mean Lachrilly.

Flintstone
27 Jul 2011, 14:08
So is that y all the souths u18s are jumping ship after this season if they haven't already... Passion?

Well you're obviously in the know ShowNtell, who are they and when are they going??? If there are players leaving, good luck to them and the clubs they go to as 8 pointers. There are also other items/issues that will need to be settled before they even look like getting a transfer.:eek::eek::eek:

Saint
27 Jul 2011, 14:52
Wouldn't have thought there'd be many Under 18's who weren't already playing seniors that would be worth 8 points.

I hope these players aren't lost to the game though.

One thing about the points system, what if 5 or 6 of those U18s wanted to go to Lions, if they wouldn't get a game at Souths (perhaps even in the 2s) but would get a game in the Lions 1sts. Can they not do that because of the points system?

Is there any flexibility in the rules so that Lions could perhaps pick up 5 or 6 players from various clubs reserves or 18s to make their seniors at least a little bit competitive, which we'd all like to see.

tamba
27 Jul 2011, 17:04
Wouldn't have thought there'd be many Under 18's who weren't already playing seniors that would be worth 8 points.

I hope these players aren't lost to the game though.

One thing about the points system, what if 5 or 6 of those U18s wanted to go to Lions, if they wouldn't get a game at Souths (perhaps even in the 2s) but would get a game in the Lions 1sts. Can they not do that because of the points system?

Is there any flexibility in the rules so that Lions could perhaps pick up 5 or 6 players from various clubs reserves or 18s to make their seniors at least a little bit competitive, which we'd all like to see.

Unfortunately there were no provision put in place for this to occur, if they leave then as per the rules they are 8 pointers for 3 years then reduce down,. This was stipulated to stop clubs raiding junior ranks of other clubs as it was a bone of contention in the mid 2000's, all clubs agreed with it then, some not overly happy, Souths were being raided then so was another club.We lost a great junior in Rod North as this was being brought in, but he managed to duck the points, from memory it came in the next season after the Hawks & Tyson Lane enticed him over on the pretense of having an under 18 side which they didn't do for another couple seasons later.

Lachrilly
27 Jul 2011, 17:50
As oppose to an out of form Saints. I guess that's what they mean Lachrilly.

I thought you might say that and it was too late by the time i thought of it. Saints are out of touch at the moment also but have been winning games while not playing well. I suppose Souths have won 2 of their past 11. Both against Lions. So thats decent form i guess. Not bagging Souths its just what the guy on the radio said. Must have just looked at last weeks results

JackBlack
27 Jul 2011, 20:12
As a hawks supporter I enjoyed watching the past weekends game vs port. I enjoyed it because we got the win. It's always exciting to see your team come back and take the lead then continue to the final hooter in front. There was a real goose running around out there wearing no. 19 for port. There was a hawks player down injured in Damien roe and he was laughing calling him weak and pumping his players up by pointing out this injured Player what a tool.

Hawks get on these rolls and look good too working as a team never relying on any 1 team member "even though Lucas is a gun".
I will say Luke Powell made a huge impact hanging around the back line as I feel if he was not there to get in the way of shaw there would have been more points on the board for port. The full back marking shaw has no idea what to do when it comes to a quality full forward. he is young so I won't comment to harshly but I will say he WILL lose the hawks close games due to his lack of positioning and no physical presents. Hopefully it's not a final

Lachrilly
27 Jul 2011, 20:34
As a hawks supporter I enjoyed watching the past weekends game vs port. I enjoyed it because we got the win. It's always exciting to see your team come back and take the lead then continue to the final hooter in front. There was a real goose running around out there wearing no. 19 for port. There was a hawks player down injured in Damien roe and he was laughing calling him weak and pumping his players up by pointing out this injured Player what a tool.

Hawks get on these rolls and look good too working as a team never relying on any 1 team member "even though Lucas is a gun".
I will say Luke Powell made a huge impact hanging around the back line as I feel if he was not there to get in the way of shaw there would have been more points on the board for port. The full back marking shaw has no idea what to do when it comes to a quality full forward. he is young so I won't comment to harshly but I will say he WILL lose the hawks close games due to his lack of positioning and no physical presents. Hopefully it's not a final

Hawks wern't angels in the first half either. Scrymmer was throwing arms around. They are seen as tackles but they are jabs to the mid rift and can cause damage and Martin as good as he was on the day was doing similar things. One ruck contest he was lucky not to get reported from.

ShowNtell
27 Jul 2011, 22:39
Well it wasnt a good look 4 souths tonight barely fielding 14 on the field.. Most teams generally play with 22. No need to be condescending the statistics show there isnt alot of enthusiasm there.

DrRichardKimble
28 Jul 2011, 07:50

Be careful Jackblack even mentioning no.19 from Port will get you sent off. Always starts the fights but never gets sent off for it....

teamwork
28 Jul 2011, 13:48

It's hard to soar like an eagle when you're surrounded by turkeys...and you my friend are a turkey! What is the basis for your rant against this kid?
The Hawks young full back has not been beaten once this year, not even close. The two times he has played on Matt Shaw, Shaw has kicked 1 goal both times. ONE goal from the 2010 centurion goalkicker that kicked 10 against Saints only 2 or 3 weeks ago.

And 'presents'?? Is he meant to bring a gift on to the field is he? lol

teamwork
28 Jul 2011, 13:57
Can someone tell me if Tom Holland got a lengthy suspension after all the talk about him stomping on a head on here? The reason I ask is that we had a report because of a retaliation to the Port #19 on the weekend, and looking at it, it was very very soft.

Saint
28 Jul 2011, 15:32
Tamba, what if they won't get a game at Souths 2s, do they have to not play football because they can't all play for another club?

I guess I'll wait until Saturday to see who's name is next to 19 for the Crocs to see what people are talking about.

Obviously the big game this week is the Hawks v Saints match. 100 points to Saints then 100 points to Hawks. On current form, Hawks would have to be raging favourites. Saints in survival mode until finals, any more injuries and they'll really struggle to cover them. Rserves game should be a good game with lots of reserves from previous encounters in the 1sts for Saints, I don't think it will be a similar scorecard as previously and the Hawks have finals to play for.

Cities v Norths,
Norths 1sts can't make finals and their twos are right on the brink. If they drop enough back it might open up a chance for Cities to get close. But I doubt it.

Port v Souths
Longest trip of the year for Souths and their Seniors are out of finals contention. Twos will cop a pummelling whether they drop people back or not. Tipping a long day for Souths. Will all depend on how Port are feeling about things, if they're feeling ruthless or still in the low gears. Only 8% splits Port and Saints, so Port might be looking for a bit of %.

Good luck to all, especially the umpires!

tamba
28 Jul 2011, 16:59
Tamba, what if they won't get a game at Souths 2s, do they have to not play football because they can't all play for another club?

I guess I'll wait until Saturday to see who's name is next to 19 for the Crocs to see what people are talking about.

Obviously the big game this week is the Hawks v Saints match. 100 points to Saints then 100 points to Hawks. On current form, Hawks would have to be raging favourites. Saints in survival mode until finals, any more injuries and they'll really struggle to cover them. Rserves game should be a good game with lots of reserves from previous encounters in the 1sts for Saints, I don't think it will be a similar scorecard as previously and the Hawks have finals to play for.

Cities v Norths,
Norths 1sts can't make finals and their twos are right on the brink. If they drop enough back it might open up a chance for Cities to get close. But I doubt it.

Port v Souths
Longest trip of the year for Souths and their Seniors are out of finals contention. Twos will cop a pummelling whether they drop people back or not. Tipping a long day for Souths. Will all depend on how Port are feeling about things, if they're feeling ruthless or still in the low gears. Only 8% splits Port and Saints, so Port might be looking for a bit of %.

Good luck to all, especially the umpires!

Who said they won't get a game at Souths --not me or Flintstone, the club is already playing some who want to play up in grade, all the others have to do is turn up for training to be considered, which they don't do.

Barry59
28 Jul 2011, 17:51
#19 from port is a thug. I saw him hit a norths player who looked to be 16/17? and then kicked him whilst on the ground, not a blatant kick but a shove with the foot.

Lachrilly
28 Jul 2011, 20:48
#19 from port is a thug. I saw him hit a norths player who looked to be 16/17? and then kicked him whilst on the ground, not a blatant kick but a shove with the foot.

I am totally against any kind of violence on the field but i am sick of people carrying on about guys hitting the young players. Yes it shouldn't happen but if they are out playing senior football they are open to anything the opposition dishes out. The kids are an easy target and should be looked after but when it comes to 22 v 22 age doesn't matter. Saints have a young guy who plays in the 2's with the odd 1's game and gets belted week in week out. He is a bit of a mouth so he probably deserves alot of what he gets and no doubt he isn't the only one.

Barry59
28 Jul 2011, 23:02
look mate, i couldnt agree more. 22 on 22 is how its played, regardless of age. But seriously why dont people like that pick on someone their own size. It is not the right message to be sending juniors watching and playing the game

Lachrilly
29 Jul 2011, 01:23
look mate, i couldnt agree more. 22 on 22 is how its played, regardless of age. But seriously why dont people like that pick on someone their own size. It is not the right message to be sending juniors watching and playing the game

The kids are 90% of the time the smallest on the ground so therefore are the easy targets. These guys targeting the kids obviously dont have kids themselves

Geegrimey
29 Jul 2011, 10:17
Some handy ins for the Saints this week. Hislop and Bryne are two red heads that will keep the Hawks honest. The Saints boys and the faithful will be happy to see them on the paddock. Hawks still favourites, but I wouldn't be betting with my testicles.

On a serious note! I love a milestone so congratulations to Josh Martin of the Saints who plays his 100th game this weekend, a good hard clean competitor and one of the reasons the Saints have been so successful on and off the field over the last few years. Could not have a better bloke around our club.

How many blokes in the league have 100 senior games at one club? Cooper? English? I think Kennedy reached the ton this year. Great effort with all the crap of footy politics these days.

Flintstone
29 Jul 2011, 13:19
Kiss of death this week (before I unleash) -

Port (Although I do hope Cutters can cause an upset, they have nothing to lose and almost did it last time they played)
Hawks to get over Saints.
Norths to give Cities a going over.

Flintstone
29 Jul 2011, 13:32
Well it wasnt a good look 4 souths tonight barely fielding 14 on the field.. Most teams generally play with 22. No need to be condescending the statistics show there isnt alot of enthusiasm there.

Dear, dear ShowNtell, you obviously don't engage brain before typing a comment. I am certain that Souths are no different to any other club. Young guys at this age think of other endeavours such as girls, alcohol, cars etc. Plus the fact I note that you have neglected to say that the Souths boys had to travel to Trinity Beach. Which, the last time I checked, was a bit of a trip. Sometimes people are unable to travel and if these kids aren't motivated enough to get themselves there by asking for a lift etc, there isn't much the club can do. Over the last few years, the club has bent over backwards for the U16's an 18's (in a number of ways) and let me tell you, not once have I ever heard anybody and not even them, thank either the senior or junior club. Some of these kids couldn't give two shits and have the attitude of take, take, take. And if you don't believe that what I said isn't the case, you're walking around with your head shoved up your behind. As I have said before, you're obviously in the know, put up or shut up.

TheTommyGun
29 Jul 2011, 14:36
The full back marking shaw has no idea what to do when it comes to a quality full forward. he is young so I won't comment to harshly but I will say he WILL lose the hawks close games due to his lack of positioning and no physical presents. Hopefully it's not a final

Hope you are not referring to who I think you are referring to. If it is indeed him the bloke is probably in the top three backmen in the comp. Rarely beaten one on one and even on the lead. He plays a strong traditional role on his Forward player. Against Port I believe there was one man on man contest he was beaten on. But he was giving up a lot of size and when the ball is kicked on top of the Forwards head in a standing prone position, you would hope the Forward would capatilise.

But each to there own.

Tips for this week;

Hawks - Hopefully another good game and not as one sided as the last affair.
North - Smashing
Port - Be good to see some fight from Souths for a close finish.

Refused Transfer
29 Jul 2011, 15:17
Dear, dear ShowNtell, you obviously don't engage brain before typing a comment. I am certain that Souths are no different to any other club. Young guys at this age think of other endeavours such as girls, alcohol, cars etc. Plus the fact I note that you have neglected to say that the Souths boys had to travel to Trinity Beach. Which, the last time I checked, was a bit of a trip. Sometimes people are unable to travel and if these kids aren't motivated enough to get themselves there by asking for a lift etc, there isn't much the club can do. Over the last few years, the club has bent over backwards for the U16's an 18's (in a number of ways) and let me tell you, not once have I ever heard anybody and not even them, thank either the senior or junior club. Some of these kids couldn't give two shits and have the attitude of take, take, take. And if you don't believe that what I said isn't the case, you're walking around with your head shoved up your behind. As I have said before, you're obviously in the know, put up or shut up.

Pity to hear this kind of stuff, every club in the comp needs these kids coming thru, and having been involved with kids of this age for many a year, the 1st thing you learn is it is a thankless job, BUT, someone has to do it, and the pleasure you get when they run out in the senior grade far outways the crap you go thru to get them there. Vey hard to build a culture with a group of kids, unless you are prepared to develop them as THAT group from a young age, then instill a culture that may well get the majority thru to senior ranks, again, hard thankless work, but someone has to do it, and do it properly, or we end up with this type of stuff happening.
On Marto from Saints, outstanding achievement and well done to a top bloke, both on the field and off, i reckon Welsford from Hawks who is still playing 2nds has passed the 200 senior games and recieved life membership a few years ago, also Badger, injured at the minute also plays 2nds, would be near on 200 senior games, just a few i can think of.

Refused Transfer
29 Jul 2011, 15:26

Geez Jack are you serious mate or have you not taken your medication before writing this???

The kid you are refering to, who has just turned 18 this year, has had every foward he has played on covered thus far, good test tomorrow on Walshy, but to his credit, and the coaches credit to back him, he deserves a crack at the best for the stellar year he has had so far, to the point if there was an 2011 Alll AFL Cairns team, he should without question be 1st picked at fullback.
Just another while i am going, you have mentioned yourself as a Hawks supporter, so why would you get on here and bag the kid!!

Lachrilly
29 Jul 2011, 15:34
Geez Jack are you serious mate or have you not taken your medication before writing this???

The kid you are refering to, who has just turned 18 this year, has had every foward he has played on covered thus far, good test tomorrow on Walshy, but to his credit, and the coaches credit to back him, he deserves a crack at the best for the stellar year he has had so far, to the point if there was an 2011 Alll AFL Cairns team, he should without question be 1st picked at fullback.
Just another while i am going, you have mentioned yourself as a Hawks supporter, so why would you get on here and bag the kid!!

There seems to be quite a few good young backman around the league which is good. Souths and Hawks both have a couple and Saints have Harth who is probably a veteran now but still only young. What about mids and forwards? Any good ones playing at the moment. I have watched most games this year but probably dont know the age of players.

Saints just. A kick
Norths to kick a cricket score
Port about about 10 goals

teamwork
29 Jul 2011, 15:50
Hawks by a fair margin
Port by more
Norths by even more

TheTommyGun
29 Jul 2011, 15:56
What about mids and forwards? Any good ones playing at the moment. I have watched most games this year but probably dont know the age of players.

We have a fair few in the Hawks outfit, I know Souths have a quite a few good young talents as well.

JackBlack
29 Jul 2011, 23:20
Refused transfer your questioning my support towards the hawks and doubting it well your wrong. My comments were more aimed at the coach saying I thought his inexperience might worry us when we have a close game at hand. Because on the weekend he was standing about a metre and a half behind shaw at all times even when senior players were telling him to mark up tighter. If everyone disagrees with me than I will take it as call i was wrong about and he must be better than I give him credit for. Everyone but the coach just watch him this weekend and next week tell me if I was wrong I'll take it on the chin.
Teamwork apparently u calling me me a turkey was "getting of light" the people I spoke to say he is your favorite and you were nice to me after my comment about him. Haha thanks

teamwork
30 Jul 2011, 21:09
Jack black, leave the coaching to the coaches and the playing to the players mate. Young Wiess played a metre and a half of Shaw because if you know anything about Shaw, he is a man mountain and very strong. Wiess has good pace and closing speed, hence the best way to play Shaw is to play off him, don't give him touch, and use your speed to get to the spoil, or jump at it to spoil. I challenge anyone in this comp to stand side by side with Matt Shaw and out body him. Or maybe you should jackblack??

I think refused transfer is spot on regarding his doubt at your support when you get on here bagging the kid. He is the best choice at full back and will stay there.

Barry59
31 Jul 2011, 12:58
A few injuries to both the North reserves and seniors yesterday.

Lachrilly
31 Jul 2011, 14:02
Saints pulled off a great win against Hawks yesterday. Saints started well then Hawks kicked into gear and it looked like how far Hawks. But to Saints credit they hung in there and with the aid of the breeze in the last came from behind to snatch a 3pt win. A great win for Saints considering they had some key players out and that Hawks seemed to be near full strength.
Saints also won a very tight reserves game by 6 goals.
What was with Boxall playing 2's for Port. He looked a little out of sorts last week, maybe just to get some touch?

watsons oval
31 Jul 2011, 15:03
Saints pulled off a great win against Hawks yesterday. Saints started well then Hawks kicked into gear and it looked like how far Hawks. But to Saints credit they hung in there and with the aid of the breeze in the last came from behind to snatch a 3pt win. A great win for Saints considering they had some key players out and that Hawks seemed to be near full strength.
Saints also won a very tight reserves game by 6 goals.
What was with Boxall playing 2's for Port. He looked a little out of sorts last week, maybe just to get some touch?
Yeah a good win by Saints, doesn't seem to be much separating the top 3. I heard 2 things last night, 1 Walsh carried off near the end of the game with a nasty ankle injury. 2 A couple of Hawks lads arguing amongst themselves when the heat was on at the end. Any truth to either of these?? The fella telling me looked like he'd had a thousand :D

Lachrilly
31 Jul 2011, 15:34
Yeah a good win by Saints, doesn't seem to be much separating the top 3. I heard 2 things last night, 1 Walsh carried off near the end of the game with a nasty ankle injury. 2 A couple of Hawks lads arguing amongst themselves when the heat was on at the end. Any truth to either of these?? The fella telling me looked like he'd had a thousand :D

Walsh did go off with an ankle. Not as bad as first thought but will miss a few i reckon

carl41
31 Jul 2011, 16:17
Talked with a mate of Walshy's today... he is gone for the rest of the season. Rumour is that it's broken.

teamwork
31 Jul 2011, 17:56
Hawks lost a close one yesterday, and that's exactly what happened, hawks lost rather than Saints winning. It was an ugly game and Hawks played poor footy and paid the price. Still with 5 to come back in, and I reckon Saints probably have about the same to come in also. It was a loss that will only snap them out of the half pace footy they've been playing the past month.

Walsh looked as if he's snapped his ankle in 100 places the way he came off! I doubt he'll be back.

watsons oval
31 Jul 2011, 18:11
Hawks lost a close one yesterday, and that's exactly what happened, hawks lost rather than Saints winning. It was an ugly game and Hawks played poor footy and paid the price. Still with 5 to come back in, and I reckon Saints probably have about the same to come in also. It was a loss that will only snap them out of the half pace footy they've been playing the past month.

Walsh looked as if he's snapped his ankle in 100 places the way he came off! I doubt he'll be back.
I'll go out on a limb and say Saints can't win it without him....but then again it is Saints we're talking about...

DrRichardKimble
31 Jul 2011, 18:23
Talked with a mate of Walshy's today... he is gone for the rest of the season. Rumour is that it's broken.

Walsh was at the rooms last night after getting an x ray and it's not broken... He will be back for sure.

not so confident he will be back now ... :s

Lachrilly
31 Jul 2011, 19:04

How about giving Saints some credit for the win. All these teams who think they are better than they are always say We lost it not the other team won it. Who are the 5 walk in starts who are out. Didn't seem to be many stars from memory not out there.

teamwork
31 Jul 2011, 19:39
How about giving Saints some credit for the win. All these teams who think they are better than they are always say We lost it not the other team won it. Who are the 5 walk in starts who are out. Didn't seem to be many stars from memory not out there.

Yeah I'll disagree lachrilly. It seems that almost always everybody says the same old thing, which is "all credit to them, they were the better team on the day etc etc". I thought I'd tell the truth and say that Saints were the better team on the day because the scoreboard says so, but you must admit it was an ugly scrappy game and that Hawks were very ordinary..? I think the game was lost, not won. But opinions may vary.

I think we have Warren, Halter, Aisi, Perry, Martin, Ward, Stenfors that will walk into the senior team. But I'm sure you guys can name as many to come? And as your players were so loud in reminding our guys as they walked off yesterday, "you don't win premierships in May!" or was it June? I can't remember which month it was but I know the message will be etched firmly in the memories of every Hawk that walked off yesterday.

HadToPost
31 Jul 2011, 20:47
If you didnt kick goals for them, they won the game. End of story. AFL is at times a scrappy game, better teams get through it and win the game.

the message will be etched firmly in the memories of every Hawk that walked off yesterday
The message they should take is "WE ARENT AS GOOD AS WE THINK WE ARE". Maybe if 1/2 you blokes werent so worried about what people in the stands are saying or posting shit on bigfooty you wouldnt play such scrappy football. At the end of the season you guys can all give each other a big pat on the back and wank each other off, the buildup has gone on for long enough. That is until you get down on the scoreboard, then you hate each other and thats easy to see.

Deathtouch: Hawks to finish 3rd even if they bring in their X number of players that were "out last week" or "still to come in the side" or any other same old excuse they've been pumping out all year..

Warren, Halter, Aisi, Perry, Martin, Ward, Stenfors
2 out of these 7 played in Round 10 when you beat Port by ~50 points.. Aisi has played 2 games all year and Perry played the 1st game only :confused:... Why are you trying to make it seem like you are down when you arent? Warren & Halter fair enough, they've had good seasons and should walk back in but saying you are 5 players down and that helped saints win is just another cop out hawkie.

Just say it... "WE LOST" its really not that hard and doesnt make your club look like a bunch of sore losers..(too late)

Lachrilly
31 Jul 2011, 20:59
Yeah I'll disagree lachrilly. It seems that almost always everybody says the same old thing, which is "all credit to them, they were the better team on the day etc etc". I thought I'd tell the truth and say that Saints were the better team on the day because the scoreboard says so, but you must admit it was an ugly scrappy game and that Hawks were very ordinary..? I think the game was lost, not won. But opinions may vary.

I think we have Warren, Halter, Aisi, Perry, Martin, Ward, Stenfors that will walk into the senior team. But I'm sure you guys can name as many to come? And as your players were so loud in reminding our guys as they walked off yesterday, "you don't win premierships in May!" or was it June? I can't remember which month it was but I know the message will be etched firmly in the memories of every Hawk that walked off yesterday.

None of these guys have been regulars in the best players and a couple have hardly played at all. Will they make that much difference? I'm only asking because i dont know much about Hawks. Did Aisi play 2's and get sent off or have i got my players wrong?

teamwork
31 Jul 2011, 21:47
Ahhh had to post you are obviously a teenager at best. The remarks shouted out to our players didn't come from the stands, it came from the saints players, hence why it will stick in the memory. As for the rest of your rant, I won't bother.

Lachrilly, all are walk up starts, some haven't played a lot due to work or injury or suspension or all of the above. They're in our best 22 but whether or not they play is to be seen. And yes Aisi got carded in the 2's.

TheTommyGun
31 Jul 2011, 22:07
I'll admit to you Saints boys that you won the game and played a lot better 4th quarter. But to say we will come 3rd from here is just a funny statement. But will add all the more fuel to the fire for September.

tamba
31 Jul 2011, 22:31
Fellas or maybe a Lass there, in the chat,
who knows with all our non-descriptive names,

LOL

it sounds like tit for tat at the moment,

careful the Dogs & Tyson Lane are still there to unravel the top during the finals,

I can't write them out of the scenario at this time even though they are behind the 8 ball,

Remember the Finals are another murderess challenge.

Collo_Cairns
31 Jul 2011, 22:34
I don't think had to post is a saint, but saying hawks won't finish top is a big call. Saw the last half of the hawks v saints game (it was a great game, fast, big grabs, good skills but unfortunately the umpires were inconsistent). Hawks posters - can't you just admit to a loss, maybe the saints boys made you play bad. I know I'd hate to play Sydney because that is what they do to the opposition. Swallow your medicine boys, you lost! Watson's - why isn't Kane playing yet?

teamwork
31 Jul 2011, 22:52
Haha pretty sure I said we lost, that's my point! Seems as though there's a few that love remind you. Haters are like crickets, they're loud. But when you get close to them they go quiet.

Lachrilly
1 Aug 2011, 00:58
Haha pretty sure I said we lost, that's my point! Seems as though there's a few that love remind you. Haters are like crickets, they're loud. But when you get close to them they go quiet.

Hawks will finish top theres no doubt about that and it will probably come down to the last game of the year when Saints play Port to see who finishes 2nd. Aisi was easily best for Hawks till he got sent off in the 2's

DrRichardKimble
1 Aug 2011, 10:36

Hawks will finish on top... The pressure applied by the saints made it a scrappy game and you can only play as well as the other side lets you. Hawks got found out with Martin, Rowe?? (numb 11), Langford etc all running off the half back line well early but when their were skill errors they failed to push back and man up... Looks great when everything is going well but when their is a turn over they got hurt by Hallas, Mcqueen and Hislop being left with a paddock to run into..
Thought 17 for Hawks had a great game.... Ferrier for Saints was best on as he proved what most on here think.. Booth is no superstar..

Plugger... must be fun playing with Barlett haha all the team works hard all game and to have him give away stupid frees and 50m's would be frustrating ...as good as he can be you would be better off without a hot head like him come finals time.

TimBurr
1 Aug 2011, 11:35
hey Dr noticed Crane in the twos on Saturday?? was this for discipline reasons due to him driving an old ladies car or the pink socks?

carl41
1 Aug 2011, 11:52
No disrespect to South Cairns or Port, but can anyone please tell me why the Cairns Post would preview the Port (2nd) V Souths (6th) game in last Friday's paper when the Hawks (1st) V Saints (3rd) game had much more riding on it & would have had much more interest from people associated with Cairns AFL? It seems ridiculous that this would happen.

Flintstone
1 Aug 2011, 12:00
No disrespect to South Cairns or Port, but can anyone please tell me why the Cairns Post would preview the Port (2nd) V Souths (6th) game in last Friday's paper when the Hawks (1st) V Saints (3rd) game had much more riding on it & would have had much more interest from people associated with Cairns AFL? It seems ridiculous that this would happen.

Yeah I'll have a crack at this one. They obviously think a lot more of Port and Souths and don't think Hawks or Saints are worth writing about. Another reason could be, that the management of the Cairns Post wanted to sell more papers. :p:p:p And before you all get on your bandwagons, I made this comment with tongue firmly planted in cheek. Look Carl41, I hear what you're saying, maybe they're just spreading it around.:confused:

Flintstone
1 Aug 2011, 12:10
Okay you lot I heard a good rumour yesterday and as I have said already, it is just a rumour. The news is, that the current player/coach of Souths will be moving on at the end of season. And next year, will be running out in AFL Cairns 2012 season in Bulldog colours.

ShowNtell
1 Aug 2011, 12:28
Flintstone your comments are a little confusing. I insinuated that souths u18s lacked passion and several have either transferred or left, than in an attempt to discredit me you said

Sometimes people are unable to travel and if these kids aren't motivated enough to get themselves there by asking for a lift etc, there isn't much the club can do. Over the last few years, the club has bent over backwards for the U16's an 18's (in a number of ways) and let me tell you, not once have I ever heard anybody and not even them, thank either the senior or junior club. Some of these kids couldn't give two shits and have the attitude of take, take, take.

which seems to back up what i said....

Plus the fact I note that you have neglected to say that the Souths boys had to travel to Trinity Beach. Which, the last time I checked, was a bit of a trip.

True that is a bit of a trip, however what about Napiorkowski who must make the trip 3-4 times a week from south cairns up to trinity for training and games. You wanted me to name someone there it is, he was that keen to get away from souths he was happy to add several hours to his travelling times a week. As for naming other u18s souths players that have left the club, their isnt a paper trail for players that quit, or players that go play other sports, i never said the kids that have left all joined other teams, they just didnt have the passion to continue and quit because they werent enjoying themselves.

Maybe next time actually read what is written instead of just start firing off insults.

carl41
1 Aug 2011, 13:47
Yeah I'll have a crack at this one. They obviously think a lot more of Port and Souths and don't think Hawks or Saints are worth writing about. Another reason could be, that the management of the Cairns Post wanted to sell more papers. :p:p:p And before you all get on your bandwagons, I made this comment with tongue firmly planted in cheek. Look Carl41, I hear what you're saying, maybe they're just spreading it around.:confused:
I think you're right Flinstone, they must be spreading the write up amongst the teams..that's the only reason I can think of. It's definitely not because they wanted to sell more papers ;)

Lachrilly
1 Aug 2011, 14:09
I think you're right Flinstone, they must be spreading the write up amongst the teams..that's the only reason I can think of. It's definitely not because they wanted to sell more papers ;)

Port came close to Hawks and Souths had a massive win so maybe they thought it would be close. Not the case. If Adams is found to be heading for the Beaches do you think they should sack him now, like they talk about in the AFL with players signing for GCS or GWS. Would not blame them one bit if they did.

Collo_Cairns
1 Aug 2011, 14:12
The way I read your post Teamwork was that the Hawks should have won, Saints had nothing to do with the game? I thought the Saints did well to get back into it. I am pretty sure Glen Martin played so there is one of your so called 5 walk in players. Why was Aisi playing 2's if he is a walk in player? Lots of excuses there I think. Who do Saints still have out Dr? I didn't see Powell or Poyner, any others?

Funny little write up in the paper about the Hawks supporters drinking bubbly and eating cheese and dips at Griffith Park. Do Saints sell dips at the canteen, bubbly at bar or was it BYO? I think the reporter is taking the p*%s out on the hawks. Does he have a grudge?

TheTommyGun
1 Aug 2011, 14:31
Plugger... must be fun playing with Barlett haha all the team works hard all game and to have him give away stupid frees and 50m's would be frustrating ...as good as he can be you would be better off without a hot head like him come finals time.

I don't know about the rest of the team but I love Bartlett being in the team. Regardless of what ever free kicks he does give away he presents a great option and his hard attack on the ball provides more than he may give away. Remembering that was his first game back for a while.

I am pretty sure Glen Martin played so there is one of your so called 5 walk in players.?

Jacko Martin, not Glen Martin Teamwork would of been speaking of.