View Full Version : Giants club song
thegreig
14 Aug 2011, 13:06
heard a part of the giants song today on channel 7s game day. The players were spelling out the name (give me G, give me a I....) with Izzy in the middle of the circle. Not sure if it's going to be there actual song it could just be something the players have made up.
does anyone who has gone and watched them play know how it goes?
Not an actual song. It's a player led substitute.
GiantForce
14 Aug 2011, 21:47
Yeah...just the sub to celebrate wins til we get a song
Spirit of 39
14 Aug 2011, 22:55
You'll have 4 to 5 years to come up with a song. Take your time and get it right.
thegreig
15 Aug 2011, 20:23
http://video.heraldsun.com.au/2092535654/Izzy-loving-it?area=videoindex4
AsianWithAFro
19 Aug 2011, 14:15
Wow Izzy looks like he has lost lots of weight. If he has a goods pre-season he could make more of an impact than Khunt.
If memory serves he hasn't actually lost that much (104kg NRL playing weight to 102kg AFL playing weight). However he lost a lot around the shoulders and forearms and put it on in muscle in the legs and lower half of the body. He actually got down to about 96kg at one point.
A few of my mates were saying that the GWS song was most likely this number. . . Not too sure if it's true, because I can not find an official link, but if it is i'd say fantastic choice!
b0c10iQAbJc
We're the giants from the west - Hurrah Hurrah
We will put you to the test - Hurrah Hurrah
We're the giants from the west
We never give up, We'll show we're the best
As Greater Western Sydney
March on to victory
Bowakawa
22 Sep 2011, 18:31
A few of my mates were saying that the GWS song was most likely this number. . . Not too sure if it's true, because I can not find an official link, but if it is i'd say fantastic choice!
b0c10iQAbJc
March on to victory
That is what Giants FC posted not too long ago.
There's a thread on this I started a while ago.
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=808713
Lol would be something i'd expect an AFL franchise to do - See something on a public forum, fall in love with the idea, and claim it as their own!
.Shotties.
23 Sep 2011, 09:07
When Johnny Come Marching Home is used by Wests AFC in the SFL at the moment.
Giants FC
23 Sep 2011, 23:38
b0c10iQAbJc
March on to victoryI'd heard that rumour as well. I'm happy they'd take the tune I suggested, although my words were different.
.Shotties., I think UTS Bats use that tune as well. But my words, and these ones, are different to what Wests and UTS use.
Lord Nicholson
24 Sep 2011, 00:40
Since you suggested that original "When Johnny Comes Marching Home" variant, Giants FC, I'd been hoping that they'd go with something like that. Let alone... that precise tune. Hope it turns out to be true - in a few years time it'd be one of the most, if not the most imposing song in the league. Provided the lyrics work.
AsianWithAFro
24 Sep 2011, 10:50
I would be happy if this was the tune they used
hairy lasoo
24 Sep 2011, 19:50
Great tune and a perfect match, will be one of the best songs in the AFL
We had to sing that song in primary school for some assembly in like 1996. We all thought it was hilarious when the line "And we'll all feel gay when Johnny comes marching home" came around.
bluekidjoe
30 Sep 2011, 22:50
It'd be bloody awesome! I love it! Exactly what they should go for, even with GFC's updated lyrics.
But no doubt Mike Brady will come out singing a non-catchy shambles of a tune... sigh...
thegreig
3 Oct 2011, 19:33
this is fantastic, it would be good to see a new club with a traditional old style song instead of something that sounds like it should be on a cereal commercial.
RodneyMaynard
25 Oct 2011, 14:37
Would love if they went with this tune. One of the requirements of an AFL club song is you need to be able to yell it in celebration, and this would work perfectly. As for lyrics, I was thinking something like:
The Giants go marching one by one, hoo-rah, hoo-rah!
The Giants go marching two by two, hoo-rah, hoo-rah!
We fight for honour, we strive for fame;
We play in Western Sydney's name
and we all go marching, to victory and the flag.
GiantForce
25 Oct 2011, 15:07
So when will we find out. Also when is the B&F night?
Does anyone think much of this.
Tune of Kookaburra sits in the old gumtree
Giants from the west are the team for me
Always taking steps towards vic-tor-y
We'll win
Never let em in
And we'll hold up the cup you'll see
Flows ok I think. Basic and solid, has a familiar tune everyone knows and most importantly mentions premiership success :thumbsu:
thegreig
26 Oct 2011, 17:48
Does anyone think much of this.
Tune of Kookaburra sits in the old gumtree
Giants from the west are the team for me
Always taking steps towards vic-tor-y
We'll win
Never let em in
And we'll hold up the cup you'll see
Flows ok I think. Basic and solid, flows ok, has a familiar tune everyone knows and most importantly mentions premiership success :thumbsu:
I like it, but they would probably get sued just like men at work did... :D
TradeDraft
1 Nov 2011, 21:11
When will it Officially be Announced?
Bowakawa
1 Nov 2011, 22:39
When will it Officially be Announced?
I think it will premiere when they run onto the field for the first time in the NAB Cup.
Gws Giants
16 Nov 2011, 10:30
We need a strong song. No Wimply stuff
pekay-norwest
22 Nov 2011, 10:45
That'd be a terrific song, love the tune, although it gives me bad memories of being beaten like a red head child down at Trumper Park. I'd love to belt this song out.
I'd heard that rumour as well. I'm happy they'd take the tune I suggested, although my words were different.
.Shotties., I think UTS Bats use that tune as well. But my words, and these ones, are different to what Wests and UTS use.
I recently went to a talk that Sheedy gave and after his speech a group of us were talking about the GWS club song and he said that they didn't have one yet. I mentioned that it should be a chanting song so that the players who couldn't hold a tone can join in too. I told him that UTS had a good song to the tune of "When Johnny comes marching home" and he said that’s a good tune and wrote it down … so don't be surprised if they end up with a similar song to what UTS has.
It's also the same tune that the Western Suburbs AFC junior teams sing. They have a great line:
"The ball was bounced and in we went
and down they went like wet cement"
.Shotties.
7 Dec 2011, 16:57
It's also the same tune that the Western Suburbs AFC junior teams sing. They have a great line:
"The ball was bounced and in we went
and down they went like wet cement"
And they all step back when Wests come charging through!:D:thumbsu:
you pick one
11 Dec 2011, 15:38
b0c10iQAbJc
March on to victory
Could you do that to Duff Duff music.
blaze036
13 Dec 2011, 22:30
When did GC announce their song
GiantForce
14 Dec 2011, 06:21
About mid 2010
Black Falcon
16 Dec 2011, 10:10
Any news on the likely LAUNCH when the club song would have to be unveiled, plus the 2012 squad parade in their colours.
Have noticed that the white G is the home strip, but what happened to the orange with charcoal G strip - training purposes only?
Mountain Giant
16 Dec 2011, 14:36
Have noticed that the white G is the home strip, but what happened to the orange with charcoal G strip - training purposes only?
They held a vote on which strip to use. And the white G won and the orange with G got relegated to training/warm up. However it seems that everything said about guernseys in 2011 is now out the window and the warm up guernsey could be anything in 2012.
Martin_Riewoldt
16 Dec 2011, 19:07
b0c10iQAbJc
I've snatched some ideas from other posters to make this one. I reckon that the tune could really catch on and in my opinion, a team song has to be full of gusto and must make you lift your chest in pride.
Anyways, here are my lyrics.
The Giants come marching through the West! Hoo-rah! Hoo-rah!
We're going to put you to the test! Hoo-rah! Hoo-rah!
We fight for honour, we strive for fame
We play in Western Sydney's name
And we'll never stop
until we have victory!
*Bolded lines are from RodneyMaynard, could not leave his genius out of this work.
I can imagine the crowds screaming 'And we'll never stop!"
MrRockett24
16 Dec 2011, 19:34
SOOOOOOO HOPE ITS "When Johnny Comes marching Home"
Let me just add one thing though...
Take notice how in the video of the song...the men HARMONIZE and some maintain their pitch whilst others go high on the HURRAH HURRAH...then the next time some maintain pitch and the rest go lower....what a beautiful sound that makes...
Certainly the biggest thing lacking on Modern Clubs songs is the harmonies of the male voices...and lets be serious the testosterone in their voices also.
It would be great if they used this as their song...but it will still be bloody annoying and crap if they
1: Dont get the right lyrics for the song.
Eg: STOP STOP STOP TIL WERE TOP TOP TOP = Very poor
FIGHT FIGHT FIGHT, Til We Hold Up The Cup = Very Very poor
WHERE FLYING HIGGGGGHHHHH!!! WHERE FLYING HIGGGGGHHHHH!!! = WTF???
2: Harmonise with deep bassy male voices..nothing high like West Coast...JEESUS THATS BAD!!!!
HereIam86
24 Dec 2011, 07:20
Just wondering when will the GWS theme song be revealed?
MelbourneGiant
24 Dec 2011, 19:35
They haven't set a date yet, but I'm guessing at the season launch in February.
TradeDraft
24 Dec 2011, 20:38
b0c10iQAbJc
March on to victory
Is this still the Likely Song?
Black Falcon
30 Dec 2011, 09:55
Has to be Johnny song
As MrRocket says tho, get the lyrics right.
Also, even pub louts could get it right, so footballers :thumbsu:
Love to hear some bass harmonies too Rocket, but jeez thats setting the bar high, just cos they are testosterone fuelled footballers.
After agonizing when the Freo lot destroyed their Volga tune on all occasions with nary regard for their minimal lyrics (where are my blood pressure tablets) or the portent of Weagles Flying High , just keep it simple stupid.
Something like:
When the Giants go a-trampelling Hurrah, Hurrah
We'll form an orange-charcoal ring Hurrah, Hurrah
We'll knock em down, We'll squash em flat
.........the Greater Western Sydney pack
and we'll all be trampling, when Giants are marching home
(....the Giants marching home)
[Ok, its the festive season, so be jolly ho ho ho ] :D
GreaterWeStener
30 Dec 2011, 15:06
I agree that the words and tune need to be able to screamed at the top of your lungs no matter what state of semi-consciousness you are in.
I'm not a fan of using the 'Johnny Comes Marching Home', its too un-Australian ;).
To put it another way I think the tune of a classic Australian rock song that has already been sung millions of time when drunk at the pub.
Something like:
Working Class Man - Jimmy Barnes
Cheap Wine - Cold Chisel
High Voltage - AC/DC
Power and the Passion - Midnight Oil
We Cant Be Beaten - Rose Tattoo
I'm probably showing my age but I think you get the idea. Of course, there could be insurmountable copyright issues in using these songs.
blaze036
30 Dec 2011, 20:02
sorry, johnny comes marching home is a WINNER
Black Falcon
8 Jan 2012, 04:59
I agree that the words and tune need to be able to screamed at the top of your lungs no matter what state of semi-consciousness you are in.
I'm not a fan of using the 'Johnny Comes Marching Home', its too un-Australian ;).
To put it another way I think the tune of a classic Australian rock song that has already been sung millions of time when drunk at the pub.
Something like:
Working Class Man - Jimmy Barnes
Cheap Wine - Cold Chisel
High Voltage - AC/DC
Power and the Passion - Midnight Oil
We Cant Be Beaten - Rose Tattoo
I'm probably showing my age but I think you get the idea. Of course, there could be insurmountable copyright issues in using these songs.
Jeez you've raised the bar there GWSter.
Tunes above are great in pubs but footballers have to manage without any musical backing. The Crows have a stomping Halls of Montezuma tune to mimic and just like the Aztecs, they murder it every time. No doubt the Giants will do same for Johnny goes marching home.
But the fans in the stands and the young kids will do a great job on Johnny. Sydney is far more US oriented than Melb.
I'm a huge Chisel fan, but even Crawls Oh Errol or Dragons April sun in Cuba would be beyond a footie team. Crowded House's You Better Be Home Soon would be perfect but I'm dreaming at the Opera House.
One of the best club songs is Carlton's, but in this day and age of instant gratification, a 2/4 dance hall lullaby won't be the GWS go.
Johnny comes marching home fits that notion of the rabble out west and skirmishing civil unrest. Just get the show on the road. Its Showtime. :D
GreaterWeStener
8 Jan 2012, 12:52
Jeez you've raised the bar there GWSter.
Tunes above are great in pubs but footballers have to manage without any musical backing. The Crows have a stomping Halls of Montezuma tune to mimic and just like the Aztecs, they murder it every time. No doubt the Giants will do same for Johnny goes marching home.
I have absolutely no musical ability but think 'Johnny' would be more difficult to sing unaccompanied than the choruses of any of the songs I suggested. It seems to be to be more tuneful and have less of the driving beat making it more difficult to sing unaccompanied
Personally, this
-ZZnhBQXRaI
would be much easier to sing unaccompanied
than this
b0c10iQAbJc
That being said, I accept that the choice of GWS club song has almost certainly already been made and it almost certainly to the 'Johnny' tune.
Bowakawa
8 Jan 2012, 17:26
That being said, I accept that the choice of GWS club song has almost certainly already been made and it almost certainly to the 'Johnny' tune.
Sorry, but what is this based on?
Black Falcon
9 Jan 2012, 08:22
GWSter - there is absolutely NO driving beat when the players are murdering their club song after a victory, so it doesn't matter.
Only the fans at the game are privvy to the accompanying music at the stadium (not that it helps anyone trying to sing our national anthem).
I don't believe there is a true chorus for 4/5 of the songs you mentioned (all I know of AC/DC is their Highway to Hell). A repetitive line is not a chorus.
"Cheap wine and a three day growth,
Cheap wine and a three day growth I know WHAT THE :eek:
Lions have the French national anthem tune.
It needs to be sung, not shouted pub style
Johnny marching is a Am Rev march/anthem well known that defies sweaty meatheads stuffing it up, warriors in arms and all.
Giants name is based on NFL NY Giants, so a US idea is not so out of place for a team named after them (pleez save the fingering on the Gold Coast Giants NSWRL name - hardly Sheeds inspiration is it ?).
The club song may already be decided, but you can bet that it is what Sheeds wants. If he goes with Johnny, same as he chose orange and Giants, I'm cool with that. :footy:
GreaterWeStener
10 Jan 2012, 15:27
I'm starting to suspect Sheeds has too much of a say at GWS!
Am I allowed to say that or should I watch out for lighting bolts?
:D
Black Falcon
13 Jan 2012, 10:55
I'm starting to suspect Sheeds has too much of a say at GWS!
Am I allowed to say that or should I watch out for lighting bolts?
:D
Vlad has entrusted Sheeds with Mission:Bloody Difficult so whatever he wants he gets.
Lightning bolts or light bolts, Sheeds was no sparkie. Would an insinkerator or J pipe suffice? :p
gusslmcmanus
22 Jan 2012, 22:29
In a world that has become so artificial, so corporate, that even the great old traditions of footy are contrived and manufactured, something special has happened. A footy song has emerged from the fans of the GWS Giants. It has formed totally organically, not from some external source, or out of work muso, but from real fans!! Its a blissful return to the old days when all the great songs were coined, the Swans, richmond, collingwood... But best of all its actually good!!
Recent songs have been so awful. This song has something of the timeless quality inherent in the great songs. The great songs are not just 'marketing tools' they are something deeply intwined in the culture of the club. They are songs the fans become nostalgic about, well up with pride, and keep them coming back week in week out.
This song is he song of the loyal old lady who's stuck with her club all her life and sings it with tears streaking down the face at final siren of a long awaited grand final; its the song of a new father who proudly embraces his newborn baby and sings it softly in his ear.
So Giant fans, this is the song for us. It truly represents who we are and what we are about! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHXTpeh8Mes
Alberton_Magpie
22 Jan 2012, 22:46
im sorry but that song is not very good, hopefully its not the official song and you just made that up. The clubs name is even wrong in the song "greater west sydney". Northern Melbourne Kangaroos?, West Bulldogs?
pekay-norwest
23 Jan 2012, 08:21
A club song needs to be sung, but alos, hummed, whistled, tapped on a table, Johnny fits like a glove in all departments. Can you imagine 100s of people humming it before a game? That'd be pretty cool.
Truckasaurus
23 Jan 2012, 09:16
In a world that has become so artificial, so corporate, that even the great old traditions of footy are contrived and manufactured, something special has happened. A footy song has emerged from the fans of the GWS Giants. It has formed totally organically, not from some external source, or out of work muso, but from real fans!! Its a blissful return to the old days when all the great songs were coined, the Swans, richmond, collingwood... But best of all its actually good!!
Recent songs have been so awful. This song has something of the timeless quality inherent in the great songs. The great songs are not just 'marketing tools' they are something deeply intwined in the culture of the club. They are songs the fans become nostalgic about, well up with pride, and keep them coming back week in week out.
This song is he song of the loyal old lady who's stuck with her club all her life and sings it with tears streaking down the face at final siren of a long awaited grand final; its the song of a new father who proudly embraces his newborn baby and sings it softly in his ear.
So Giant fans, this is the song for us. It truly represents who we are and what we are about! http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sHXTpeh8Mes
As a nuetral I think that's pretty bloody good!
The production is awful, but if you replaced the cheesy synths with a swelling orchestra then you just may have something.
A good footy song has to be singable when you're half sloshed. This fits the bill perfectly. If GWS ever manage to fill a stadium this would sound awesome being belted out.
RodneyMaynard
23 Jan 2012, 14:51
That can't seriously be the actual song can it?
For the record, the offical Giants youtube account is GWSGiants, not GWSGiants2012, so I'll keep my fingers crossed this is just a joke.
brucetiki
23 Jan 2012, 19:08
First thing that came to my mind after hearing that song
qw0zZttfUaw
blaze036
23 Jan 2012, 20:38
Lol yes does give an oompa loompa vibe. Some bits arnt great, and copies a line from the NM song. But im sure the song will grow on us after we've heard it a few times.. so 2014. The GC song sounds much better now than it did when it was announced, a lot of ppl were bagging it, but its actually worked well
GreaterWeStener
24 Jan 2012, 16:27
Everything suggests to me you're trying to perpetuate a fake, or you have fallen for somebody else doing the same.
GWS's YouTube station is 'GWSGiants', the clip you link to is on 'GWSGiants2012'. 'GWSGiants' has 87 videos available while 'GWSGiants2012' just the one. The words, what has 'central station' got to do with the GWS AFL side, and tune, way too high, also suggest it is to me.
Either of these two YouTube efforts are clearly better than the one you claim is the official one:
rcR79MHpH4o xPCHvX6lPkk
Bowakawa
24 Jan 2012, 20:20
xPCHvX6lPkk
That music in that one sounds like an 8-bit version of the Collingwood song from a Street Fighter stage.
captainMyCaptain
26 Jan 2012, 01:44
This is not the Giants song or in the words of GWS when asked about this song on fb:
GWS Giants (http://www.facebook.com/GWSGiants) Love the enthusiasm guys but this is not an official club song - our song will be released before the NAB Cup so stay tuned
captainMyCaptain
5 Feb 2012, 22:50
Matthews said the club was also close to finalising its theme song.
"There's been a number of submissions in the last 6-12 months and we've sort of sifted through the ones that we thought make sense for us and we've arrived at one that is an original song that's done in the traditional style of an old-school football song.
"It's something that we've engaged our playing group in and our coaches and the feedback's been very, very positive so we think the fans are going to love it."
http://www.perthnow.com.au/giants-leaders-club-song-under-wraps-until-debut/story-fn6mh93f-1226263126639
RodneyMaynard
6 Feb 2012, 08:48
So much for When Johnny Comes Marching :(
IzzyIsGod
6 Feb 2012, 10:55
Its a blissful return to the old days when all the great songs were coined, the Swans, richmond, collingwood... But best of all its actually good!!
These 3 club songs were based on famous tunes, as most AFL club songs are.
MrRockett24
7 Feb 2012, 09:04
Setting the bar high, just cos they are testosterone fuelled footballers.
I think i was mis-quoted...i never meant that the footballers need to sing it that way...thats just stupid.
BUT...The vocal artists that record the club song need to sing it properly and need to sing it like the older songs with the deep bassy tones and harmonizing voices.
Listen to all Victorian Club songs (except Bulldogs cos its a new version) and they are all old style voices and tunes. All the new club songs are too weird sounding, its like 1 person with a high voice sings it and thats it, get a bloody barbershop quartet in or something...just do it properly.
Im still laughing at the thought of letting the footballers record the club song...i shudder at the thought.
GiantForce
8 Feb 2012, 06:14
Whispers going around that "The Cat Empire" have something to do with the song...make of that what you will
Bowakawa
8 Feb 2012, 16:43
Whispers going around that "The Cat Empire" have something to do with the song...make of that what you will
Please go on...
Where did you hear this?
Did you get any other details?
Please go on...
Where did you hear this?
I heard the same rumour on Sunrise this morning.
GiantForce
8 Feb 2012, 19:31
Please go on...
Where did you hear this?
Mark Beretta heavily suggested that they would be involved.
Striker475
8 Feb 2012, 19:54
This got posted on the Melbourne board
sHXTpeh8Mes
Scully2Folau
8 Feb 2012, 20:19
^^^ I think that one was posted earlier, someone also posted it on the Giants Facebook and they said "Love the enthusiasm guys but that's not an official club song"
Bowakawa
8 Feb 2012, 20:25
Should we start tipping the day we think it'll be announced?...
I'll take Monday-Tuesday.
Simple Jack
8 Feb 2012, 20:31
^^^ I think that one was posted earlier, someone also posted it on the Giants Facebook and they said "Love the enthusiasm guys but that's not an official club song"
Yeah but last year some guy made up a Gold Coast song and put it on youtube and the Suns just took that one with some minor changes and made it the official song.
I can't find the old one on youtube anymore. It had a line which was 'we're paid to never say die' or something which amused me because it was so accurate but they removed that line for the official one.
The Suns song is worse than ours. Lets hope GWS at least get their song right.
TradeDraft
8 Feb 2012, 20:58
This got posted on the Melbourne board
sHXTpeh8Mes
Hope not because that is Terrible
Black Falcon
10 Feb 2012, 21:39
I think i was mis-quoted...i never meant that the footballers need to sing it that way...thats just stupid.
BUT...The vocal artists that record the club song need to sing it properly and need to sing it like the older songs with the deep bassy tones and harmonizing voices.
Listen to all Victorian Club songs (except Bulldogs cos its a new version) and they are all old style voices and tunes. All the new club songs are too weird sounding, its like 1 person with a high voice sings it and thats it, get a bloody barbershop quartet in or something...just do it properly.
Im still laughing at the thought of letting the footballers record the club song...i shudder at the thought.
Point taken MrR. Agree with your suggestions. Carlton's tune one of the best - and its slow time dance hall.
Even with the best of examples provided, footballers success rate will barely be 60 % on delivering the tune somewhere within cooee of its pitch key.
After all, they are professionals....... :cool:
Meantime, take a Bex and get ready for the next club song thread. :D
Bowakawa
15 Feb 2012, 17:05
Any news?
Scully2Folau
15 Feb 2012, 19:33
Any news?
All indications seem to be that it'll be revealed on Saturday at the NAB Cup at Blacktown... Bring on the dodgy iPhone recordings for 'exclusive first listens'!
Rohan25
15 Feb 2012, 20:13
These 3 club songs were based on famous tunes, as most AFL club songs are.
And so is the one he posted. It's a Gilbert & Sullivan song called "with cat like tread", from The Pirates of Penzance. It was a fair effort I thought, the lyrics weren't that great, but I'd enjoy hearing a classic tune like that belted out after a win.
It's funny, I heard a German woman listen to the club theme songs on the radio before the game started at work one day. She scoffed and said that at least back home their clubs could make up their own tunes, and brought up a youtube clip of the song being played at the stadium she went to in Germany for us to hear an original club song. I took one listen, and commented that while it sounded awesome, it was actually a traditional Scottish song called Loch Lomond. She was a little perplexed.
I do think that songs based on existing tunes, whether they're an old folk song, from a musical, a national anthem or whatever are always better because the song is familiar already. It doesn't take long to seep into our memories because it's probably already there.
You're right though, most club songs are based on famous tunes, but Port and GC made up their own songs. Brisbane had an original in their first year or two as well. They are mostly terrible. That trend will probably continue with GWS. It's something about appealing to kids, or forging their own identities or some rubbish. I hope they pick a catchy existing song, and put some punchy, snappy lyrics to it. But I think it's a forlorn hope, I'm sure they'll release some piece of crap that "represents the spirit of the area" or some such nonsense.
Scully2Folau
16 Feb 2012, 07:12
From the Giants' Facebook and Twitter this morning:
Morning GIANTS fans. Can you hear that? There's a BIG sound coming... #thinkbig
westie88
16 Feb 2012, 08:24
I read that too and interpreted it as possibly a song announcement today...
Not really anything else it can be, surely.
Lord Nicholson
16 Feb 2012, 12:07
No further news on this?
Seems almost absurd that we haven't heard it by now (not that it should be absurd, necessarily).
Mountain Giant
16 Feb 2012, 12:09
No further news on this?
Seems almost absurd that we haven't heard it by now (not that it should be absurd, necessarily).
Might get some of it this afternoon.
Might not get it all until Saturday.
westie88
16 Feb 2012, 12:09
Confirmed on Facebook they will be uploading the first part of the song this afternoon (they set a minimum likes/shares requirement which has been met already).
.Shotties.
16 Feb 2012, 13:11
There are some really obsessive people on the Giants facebook page. I honestly don't know where they get the time or energy. I don't think I've ever even looked at the Carlton facebook page and when the Reds come into the NRL I won't be on that page going on and on about how WA is a footy state.
Scully2Folau
16 Feb 2012, 13:21
Beat me to it, exile!
Giants Twitter: "the full song will be uploaded to our website REALLY soon"
That opening refrain sounds like something clowns tumble onto stage using, it better pick up from there!
GiantForce
16 Feb 2012, 13:24
That opening refrain sounds like something clowns tumble onto stage using, it better pick up from there!
Sounds more like the very end of the song actually
Gold. :D
Lord Nicholson
16 Feb 2012, 13:26
Or maybe the bridge.
Like the sound so far. Which means nothing until you hear vocals/lyrics. Is it based on anything that anyone can recognise? It sounds vaguely familiar.
Scully2Folau
16 Feb 2012, 13:28
Or maybe the bridge.
Like the sound so far. Which means nothing until you hear vocals/lyrics. Is it based on anything that anyone can recognise? It sounds vaguely familiar.
Facebook comments thus far say Borat or Buble :p
Lord Nicholson
16 Feb 2012, 13:32
Facebook comments thus far say Borat or Buble :p
Good calls, both.
To be fair, the Borat version of the Kazakh national anthem is great.
Yeah, sounds like the Kazakhstani national anthem. :thumbsu:
haha that's what i said on the gws fb page. glad i'm not going crazy here, it was the first thing that it made me think of.
Bowakawa
16 Feb 2012, 14:09
I think it sounds great! Like an old war song!
Mountain Giant
16 Feb 2012, 14:23
Yeah, sounds like the Kazakhstani national anthem. :thumbsu:
GWS - no.1 exporter of Potassium.
The club song needs a bit more banjo (hopefully a banjo solo) but good brass.
Lord Nicholson
16 Feb 2012, 14:58
The club song needs a bit more banjo (hopefully a banjo solo) but good brass.
If that's the case we'll have duelling banjos for the Sydney Derbys.
Which would be awesome (although the Banjosity of the Sydney song cannot be matched, I would argue).
Not sure if this is legit but found this on youtube:8bNrvUXBcoA
TradeDraft
16 Feb 2012, 17:10
Not sure if this is legit but found this on youtube:8bNrvUXBcoA
That is not it
Mr Eagle
16 Feb 2012, 17:28
The real one (the preview) sounds fairly good... for 8 seconds of song with zero context!
Mountain Giant
16 Feb 2012, 17:30
Sheedy just rang me and played the whole song over the phone! It's pretty good. Maybe a few too many words in there though!
fargothegreat
16 Feb 2012, 17:33
Sheedy just rang me and played the whole song over the phone! It's pretty good. Maybe a few too many words in there though!
Do u know when everyone else is getting it???