View Full Version : Port Melbourne v Box Hill Sat 27 Aug 1.10pm @TEAC Oval, Port Melb

rdhopkins2
22 Aug 2011, 17:17
ROUND 22
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/photos/fixtures/port-melbourne-vs-bhh.gif

Seniors at 1:10pm
TEAC Oval - Saturday 27th August

Development Team
at 10:10am
(curtain raiser)

Radio: 94.1FM or www.3wbc.org.au (http://www.3wbc.org.au)

http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/photos/sponsors/ocsober.gif (http://www.everydayhero.com.au/box_hill_hawks_f_c)
Unfortunately for Hawthorn supporting Box Hill fans, this game clashes with the Hawthorn v Bulldogs game. A must win game for Box Hill this week for finals aspirations and regain some confidence after a horrid loss last week.

Port Melbourne are currently undefeated for the season and the Box Hill Hawks shall be hungry for a big upset.

This is also an early game for the TV.

CrowdedHouse
22 Aug 2011, 17:37
Ahem....

GO BOX HILL HAWKS!!!
(edited for accuracy) :D

C'mon guys, I had to ;) So did I;)

I wonder if Coach DC was happy with me in the social rooms after the game, when I was wearing the Port Melbourne scarf :eek:

rdhopkins2
22 Aug 2011, 17:41
What shade of red do you like your cards, Crowded House? :D

Seriously though, a big thanks to you and the 3WBC team for your support of Box Hill and committment to our VFL coverage this year. It's been terrific and well appreciated and we look forward to it continuing next year.

halfback dasher
22 Aug 2011, 19:57
Massive game in so many ways . A final , even just one , will help the Hawks boys no end , and if the mail is correct , Stratton getting a run would be great . Im split on where too go .....:confused:
Might do both infact .

The BIG X
22 Aug 2011, 20:01
All's OK -HBD- your a split personality anyway:)

DannyJ
22 Aug 2011, 20:20
If Stratton is playing for Box Hill we should all probably go see this game instead of the Bulldogs game.

Stratton is just that good. :) Get around him

Echols
22 Aug 2011, 20:39
Massive game in so many ways . A final , even just one , will help the Hawks boys no end , and if the mail is correct , Stratton getting a run would be great . Im split on where too go .....:confused:
Might do both infact .
Was thinking along these lines as well.

Henry Jr
22 Aug 2011, 20:42
What time would the Dev Squad game finish?

Echols
22 Aug 2011, 20:56
About 1pm.

halfback dasher
22 Aug 2011, 21:06
All's OK -HBD- your a split personality anyway:)
Never judge a book by its cover "X".....;)

Henry Jr
22 Aug 2011, 22:12
About 1pm.

Hmmm, doesn't leave much drinking time :eek:

The BIG X
22 Aug 2011, 22:18
Reckon there is about 25 min break between games

TheFourPillars
22 Aug 2011, 22:55
I don't care if i am late to the hawks game i'm going to see the development game. He will only play a half i presume will leave plenty of time to make the game. Unless he does what renouf did and play the 2nd half :D

Echols
23 Aug 2011, 06:33
Reckon there is about 25 min break between games

Yeah, that's probably more like it. At worst we should be able to get to the G with a couple of minutes to spare.

CrowdedHouse
23 Aug 2011, 11:53
What shade of red do you like your cards, Crowded House? :D

Seriously though, a big thanks to you and the 3WBC team for your support of Box Hill and committment to our VFL coverage this year. It's been terrific and well appreciated and we look forward to it continuing next year.

Does that red come with blue as well? ;)

Seriously, thanks to all on this forum for their support of the 3WBC call.

I can confirm, regardless of Saturday's result, we will be doing at least one final per week.

Also, there is 'talk' why *might* be doing 2 games a week next year (at least one Box Hill game per week, plus another match) - IF we get more sponsors (or a big sponsor)

Buddy Guy
23 Aug 2011, 12:00
Hmmm, doesn't leave much drinking time :eek:

It depends which way you look at it HJ.

Is the bar open for the DS games?

As far as maximising drinking time goes, it would work out perfectly if Stratts plays the first half of the early game.

Henry Jr
23 Aug 2011, 15:42
It depends which way you look at it HJ.

As far as maximising drinking time goes, it would work out perfectly if Stratts plays the first half of the early game.

Yeah, but as I was thinking today mate, what if they do a Twister and only play him in the second half! :eek:

CrowdedHouse
23 Aug 2011, 23:50

Beer Booth opens at 12 - so you can start cracking open cans then :thumbsu:

SHAKESPEARE
24 Aug 2011, 06:33
Port by 314 points

CrowdedHouse
24 Aug 2011, 11:43
Port by 314 points

:D :thumbsu:

Buddy Guy
24 Aug 2011, 12:04
Beer Booth opens at 12 - so you can start cracking open cans then :thumbsu:

Thanks mate:thumbsu: Good result.

The BIG X
24 Aug 2011, 17:14
Port by 314 points

Is that 3 goals 14 points ????

I predict a BHH win:)

CrowdedHouse
24 Aug 2011, 22:06
CONFIRMED:

Guest Special Comments Man for 3WBC's coverage this week...

Luke The Dookie Dasher Lowden

its game on
25 Aug 2011, 18:10
CONFIRMED:

:):eek::):eek:

scout
25 Aug 2011, 20:18
Stratts in the Seniors? That's thrown a spanner in the day's schedule.

Not a bad backline. Stratton Bouman Langford

Ladson playing & Renouf into the Seniors.

http://www.aflvic.com.au/index.php?id=1

Rudi Gilham
25 Aug 2011, 20:28
Ellis, Stratton, Renouf, Ladson are good ins as you say. Williams & Schneider return.

Interesting that Osborne has not been named for Box Hill despite being an emergency for the seniors. Read into that what you will.

No Wanganeen, Sierakowski, Morton, Pattison or Young.

I can' t think of one player out of that Port Melbourne side. It oozes talent across every line. We really need Geelong to beat Sandringham!

go hawks!!!
25 Aug 2011, 20:34
Ellis, Stratton, Renouf, Ladson are good ins as you say. Williams & Schneider return.

Interesting that Osborne has not been named for Box Hill despite being an emergency for the seniors. Read into that what you will.

No Wanganeen, Sierakowski, Morton, Pattison or Young.

I can' t think of one player out of that Port Melbourne side. It oozes talent across every line. We really need Geelong to beat Sandringham!

Wanga has a knee injury.

Young is a long way off, arguably the season is over.

Morton, well, ........ well, lasted 20 minutes last week, starting to act like Boo Dowler at the moment.

Ossie - reckon he is a certain starter at the MCG.

Great see see Stratts, I reckon he will play 70% game time.

Ellis, best of luck, needs to dominate.

TheFourPillars
25 Aug 2011, 21:41
hmmmm he's playing seniors won't have time to go down to port now dammit. Not that I'm complaining will he play against GC next week its a big call final home away match

HAWKS HEROES
25 Aug 2011, 22:00
CONFIRMED:

Sticks taking Gillies job cool

Baz_hawk
25 Aug 2011, 22:56
All the best to Stratton, hope he can get through the game and have a solid game.

Changa10
25 Aug 2011, 23:25
CONFIRMED:

Isn't that Luke "Horse Head" Lowden?

Big Jablonski
26 Aug 2011, 09:15
Just dont ask him what he used to do with the left nostril of the potty calves up on the farm. He told me their tongues are like sand paper!!!!

walhawk
26 Aug 2011, 09:33
Has anyone done the sUms re us making finals.
I.e. If Sandy beat Geelong, how much can we afford to lose by and still make it.
Based on my prelim calcs the diff is around 85.
So, I'd Sandy win by 25, we have to lose by less than 60.

Changa10
26 Aug 2011, 11:42
Will try that again!

Changa10
26 Aug 2011, 11:47
Box Hill Hawks

B Stratton Boumann Langford
HB Cheney Lisle Mirra
C Williams Ladson X. Ellis
HF S. Gibson Grimley Gilchrist
F Northe Johnson Andrews

R Renouf Milne Schneider

Int Cass, Kitchin, Tobin, Thompson, Kiel, Neil, Nye, Fagan

CrowdedHouse
26 Aug 2011, 12:04
Has anyone done the sUms re us making finals.
I.e. If Sandy beat Geelong, how much can we afford to lose by and still make it.
Based on my prelim calcs the diff is around 85.
So, I'd Sandy win by 25, we have to lose by less than 60.

As outlined here - http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=861714

The line is 94 points.

So if Sandy won by 6 goals, Box Hill cannot lose by greater than 10 goals (IE: a total of more than 94 points when you add up both).

'Technically' it could go the other way as well - say Sandy flogged Geelong by 100 points (unlikely), then Box Hill would have to win and do it by more than a goal!

Goldhawk
26 Aug 2011, 14:06
:):eek::):eek:

:D:thumbsu:

hawkz
27 Aug 2011, 02:29
Is this game on ABC? Trust ABC tv guide to only show "VFL football". Doesn't even show teams playing

Fevola99
27 Aug 2011, 09:09
Is this game on ABC? Trust ABC tv guide to only show "VFL football". Doesn't even show teams playingYeah the 1:10 game is the ABC one.

I think we will get done by 20 goals but hopefully Sandy lose too so we can get beaten again next week.

CrowdedHouse
27 Aug 2011, 09:52
Is this game on ABC? Trust ABC tv guide to only show "VFL football". Doesn't even show teams playing

Yep, ABC 1 game from 1pm.

Also, you can view it later in the week (usually Wednesday) online at abc.net.au/iview

Game being streamed live on the net (for outside of Melbourne) on 3wbc.org.au and on the radio (for those at the G for the AFL) on 94.1 FM
Today's 3WBC commentary featuring Luke Lowden

The Convert
27 Aug 2011, 10:26
If anyone can do an update of the development game it would be great, thanks

walhawk
27 Aug 2011, 11:37
Sandy beating cats so we will have to stay close to Port or miss finals.
Savage out for hawthorn so unless Ossie plays BHH will lose another

hawkz
27 Aug 2011, 11:41
Yeah the 1:10 game is the ABC one.

I think we will get done by 20 goals but hopefully Sandy lose too so we can get beaten again next week.

Thanks, will tune if for strattosphere!

hawkz
27 Aug 2011, 11:42
Sandy beating cats so we will have to stay close to Port or miss finals.
Savage out for hawthorn so unless Ossie plays BHH will lose another

Where to get live scores of the other match playing at the moment?

Rudi Gilham
27 Aug 2011, 12:04
1/2: Sandy 7.3.45 Geelong 7.6.48, Go you Cats!

Echols
27 Aug 2011, 13:14
Stratton on the bench, lisle starting back. No strapping on stratts knee.

The Convert
27 Aug 2011, 13:24
DS result anyone? Anyone oustanding?

Rudi Gilham
27 Aug 2011, 13:24
FINAL SCORE

Geelong 19.10.124
Sandringham 18.12.120

Looks like we're in regardless of today's result.

philohk
27 Aug 2011, 13:26
Cats have come back from 118-88 down in the last to win 124-120. Finals-bound!

WA Hawk
27 Aug 2011, 13:26
Box Hill looking good, want it more at the moment - 21 BHH v 1 Port

Hopefully Stratts gets through well.

Got to love VAST so you can watch live from Perth

philohk
27 Aug 2011, 13:33
Box Hill looking good, want it more at the moment - 21 BHH v 1 Port

Hopefully Stratts gets through well.

Got to love VAST so you can watch live from Perth

Cheers for the update, WA Hawk. Has Stratts got on the ground?

WA Hawk
27 Aug 2011, 13:36
Cheers for the update, WA Hawk. Has Stratts got on the ground?

Yeah playing in back line. Looking fairly thin but playing with no fear still charging in to contests.

Will make a early prediction that he will play against the GC Suns next week.

27 v 8

MuzzHawk
27 Aug 2011, 13:42
Our senior players are showing they are too good for this level as they should.
Renouf, Ellis, Ladson, Cheney and Johnson looking good. Schneider was amongst it early.

He has had a shocking injury run this year but we should retain Johnson on the rookie list. I think he has something about him that is worth persisting with.

Had most of the play so Lisle and Stratts haven't been in it too much.
Up by 14 at 1/4 time.

Agent Smith
27 Aug 2011, 13:48
From what I've seen so far of Stratts, it's like he hasn't missed a beat. Watch his one percenters. So cool, calm, collected down back.

With Lisle and Boumann down back with him and Renouf winning the ruck, no wonder we're in front. We're now running with purpose too, totally opposite of last week.

buddylg
27 Aug 2011, 14:02
More reports on Stratton please!

Each touch is worth a comment

tommyk72
27 Aug 2011, 14:09
And the score! Cant believe we're up!

Agent Smith
27 Aug 2011, 14:13
Williams and Ellis doing some nice things. Ellis definitely trying to put his hand up for senior selection.

Backline is very tight atm, not letting much thru, mainly thanks to pressure of midfield.

Langers has hurt his shoulder, and a dog act by an opposition player tested him out straight after it. I hope karma comes back to bite, and hard.

WA Hawk
27 Aug 2011, 14:13
And the score! Cant believe we're up!

31 v 17

Agent Smith
27 Aug 2011, 14:19
4-7 to 2-5 at half time, which is an interesting arm wrestle. Pretty good conditions, scores reflecting a high pressure and enjoyable game of footy. If we can keep our intensity in the second half, this could prove to be a remarkable win not many ppl would have penciled in, especially after last week.

Agent Smith
27 Aug 2011, 14:47
Not taking their opportunities, Hawks. Here comes Port.

WA Hawk
27 Aug 2011, 15:01
BHH 49 v Portb42

Hawthorn 44 v WB 21

Agent Smith
27 Aug 2011, 15:09
3/4 time: 8-7-55 to 7-8-50, Hawks just keeping their noses in front.

Quiet quarter by Stratts for those who are interested. He and Ellis gifted a couple of 50m penalties to help Port back into the game.

TAITA
27 Aug 2011, 15:14
X really needs to have a good hard look at himself - just a terrible brainfart of a quarter.

Like Gilchrist and Schneider's games, Suzie & PJ dominating, Gibson has been awesome.

All round effort has been great - now we need to go on with it for a real boost going into the finals.

WA Hawk
27 Aug 2011, 15:33
All tied up - one on bench starting to show

TheWrench
27 Aug 2011, 15:37
cant get 3wbc stream on my mac so have to listen to the biased rubbish from the abc commentators. every cross down to phil cleary has been something about his beloved borough!

WA Hawk
27 Aug 2011, 15:38
Down by 13 - time on in last

WA Hawk
27 Aug 2011, 15:39
7 points

Echols
27 Aug 2011, 15:46
Who is injured?

At the G now, so relying on updates.

WA Hawk
27 Aug 2011, 15:47
20 point loss - lack of rotations major impact in second half

Agent Smith
27 Aug 2011, 15:48
Full time: 14-11-95 to 11-9-75, Port's way.

Couldn't quite keep the intensity up in the second half. Lower bench rotations due to injuries didn't help, but the game just went for a quarter too long for us.

For Stratts followers, an incident in the last quarter summed it up when he took that 'dependable' mark in the last line of defense we're all used to seeing, but his clearing handball didn't quite hit its target, resulting in a turnover goal. Once he clears that bit of rust out, he'll be okay.

WA Hawk
27 Aug 2011, 15:51
Who is injured?

Langford - shoulder taken to hospital
Grimley - ?
Third I think is one of the Fagan's

TAITA
27 Aug 2011, 15:51
Who is injured?

Langford, Grimley & Fagan.

3 undisciplined 50m penalties really cost us the match as they all resulted in goals that shouldn't have.

Sadly they were to Stratts, X and Gibson which was disappointing.

breuuust!!!
27 Aug 2011, 16:47
any match reports?

TheWrench
27 Aug 2011, 18:44
Port Melbourne 2.2 2.5 7.8 14.11 (95)
Box Hill Hawks 4.4 4.7 8.7 11.9 (75)

GOALS:
Port Melbourne: Galea 4 Cain 4 Rose Bonaddio Dwyer Pinwill Deluca Lynch
Box Hill Hawks: Renouf 3 Neil 2 Northe Johnson Gibson Schneider Andrews Gilchrist

BEST:
Port Melbourne: Baird Pinwill Lynch Valenti Cain Sandilands
Box Hill Hawks: Lisle Johnson Mirra Ellis Gibson Neil

Pessimistic
27 Aug 2011, 18:51
I see the umpires helped port to a 'perfect' season.

Hodgepodge
27 Aug 2011, 20:30
Schneider is fantastic, didn't use it well at times, but continues finding the ball and runs hard.

dermott
27 Aug 2011, 21:42
Good to see Lisle and Ellis amongst the best players. Together with Stratton they will add greatly to our depth in the finals.

Baz_hawk
27 Aug 2011, 21:59
Umpiring in that final quarter was horrible. Did us no favours withba depleted bench already effecting our chances. The umpiring was decent up until that last quarter so it was a disappointing end to a good contest. From what I saw Lisle was pretty good, took some solid grabs and his disposal was solid.

Hodgepodge
28 Aug 2011, 01:02
I'm excited about The Roof. I no longer think he'll be traded, and he seems to be working on becoming a goalkicker, which is what is needed to get a spot ahead of Hale.

FriarTuck
28 Aug 2011, 12:16
What a stunning turn around. X, Laddo and Suzie really set the tone of the game but the coaching staff must have some serious magic going on.

Agent Smith
28 Aug 2011, 13:05
The Roof is on fire!! :)

Plenty to like with finals approaching. Lots of guys putting their hands up and showing what they're capable of. Injuries stopped our impact against Port but the positives of the club as a whole are that we can mix it with anyone at AFL and VFL level.

I'm not overly greedy but I say lets win it all. At every level of competition. That way we can be accused of fluking three flags in the one year. :D

go hawks!!!
28 Aug 2011, 15:54
I watched the replay. Few points to note:

Riley Milne - For me, he has so much potential, showed promise in 2009 in his 1st year, played 2 games and impressed. Had a foot injury last year, and this year he has struggled. He is a 3 year rooke and his future will be determined later this year where we will either delist him or elevate him to the primary list.

For me, my opinion is that he is a downhill skier, his game yesterday showed this. His intensity is poor and is shown by his missed tackles and endeavour around the ball. He is still a toothpick and gets pushed off the ball too easily. Further, he is a utility, a jack of all trades and a master of none, he has not found a position that he has performed consistently at.

I wish Riley all the best, but have not seen much improvement this year.

Cheney - Did not have a great game yesterday and lacks pace, I don't see him as part of our finals capaign.

Ellis - showed class yesterday, like to see him get a game against GC next week and see if he can hold a spot. Trying to think who he is competing for a spot with, i'd say cameron bruce or savage. Savage did not perform well yesterday, and seems low on confidence.

P. Johnson - has returned well after a injury interrupted season where he has mastered the art of peeling oranges. For me, I would like to see him as a rookie again next year, as a back up and show leadership to lowden and grimley at box hill.

Stratts - Well we are all happy to see him back on the park. I'm sure he will be on the plane to Qld next week.

Laddo - Great depth player and will struggle to stay on the list imo. If there is a wet weather forecast for a final, will we see laddo play?

Renouf- Great use of the body up forward. Good to see him back!

Gee Gary Ayres is composed in delivering his message, very impressive.

Henry Jr
28 Aug 2011, 16:05
I watched the replay. Few points to note:

Riley Milne - For me, he has so much potential, showed promise in 2009 in his 1st year, played 2 games and impressed. Had a foot injury last year, and this year he has struggled. He is a 3 year rooke and his future will be determined later this year where we will either delist him or elevate him to the primary list.

For me, my opinion is that he is a downhill skier, his game yesterday showed this. His intensity is poor and is shown by his missed tackles and endeavour around the ball. He is still a toothpick and gets pushed off the ball too easily. Further, he is a utility, a jack of all trades and a master of none, he has not found a position that he has performed consistently at.

I wish Riley all the best, but have not seen much improvement this year.

Cheney - Did not have a great game yesterday and lacks pace, I don't see him as part of our finals capaign.

Ellis - showed class yesterday, like to see him get a game against GC next week and see if he can hold a spot. Trying to think who he is competing for a spot with, i'd say cameron bruce or savage. Savage did not perform well yesterday, and seems low on confidence.

P. Johnson - has returned well after a injury interrupted season where he has mastered the art of peeling oranges. For me, I would like to see him as a rookie again next year, as a back up and show leadership to lowden and grimley at box hill.

Stratts - Well we are all happy to see him back on the park. I'm sure he will be on the plane to Qld next week.

Laddo - Great depth player and will struggle to stay on the list imo. If there is a wet weather forecast for a final, will we see laddo play?

Renouf- Great use of the body up forward. Good to see him back!

Gee Gary Ayres is composed in delivering his message, very impressive.

Well summed up mate except for Cheney. The boy has plenty of pace.

Dixie Flatline
28 Aug 2011, 21:53
Box Hill earned itself an away elimination final against Werribee at Avalon Airport Oval on Saturday, 3 September, at 2.10pm.

Haven't read anything about the development squad yet.

scout
29 Aug 2011, 00:55
Apparently the Dev squad earned themselves a week off for finishing top of the ladder.

A week's rest could be very handy, considering they lost two players in the third qtr.

Xav Murphy, Tommy's brother, was KO'd in a tackle. Seemed to recover ok, was walking around soon after, and even joined the 3/4 huddle.

More of a concern, defender Michael Thompson went off with a knee injury. He went home on crutches with an ice pack on his knee.

The BIG X
29 Aug 2011, 03:13
Actually heard Tommo say he was going straight to Hospital for scans - I am not aware of any update.

CrowdedHouse
29 Aug 2011, 10:40
Box Hill earned itself an away elimination final against Werribee at Avalon Airport Oval on Saturday, 3 September, at 2.10pm.

Haven't read anything about the development squad yet.

Development side have the week off as reward for finishing on top of the table.

Tough task for the Box Hill seniors... haven't won at Werribee in 20 years! :eek:

J0NNY B
29 Aug 2011, 12:32
Spent the afternoon at Port Melbourne, was amazed at how well Stratton was running and jumping into packs, thought he might have been a bit proppy, or holding back a little. Probably saved 3 or 4 goals throughout the game.

It was embarassing watching Ladson play for Box Hill and listening to the crap he gets from opposition supporters. He was a class above all day, doing a lot of the grunt work in the middle and IMO should be in the 22 and hopefully will be.

Riley Milne turned the ball over a lot, seemed to make the wrong decision in important passages of play that turned into Port goals.

Lisle was a solid player in defense all day, scratching head a little at why he is not getting senior experience.

Johnson is a beast of a ruckman, runs in straight lines and attacks the footy hard. Shame he has been injured this year.

Ellis seems to be working on match fitness, was bringing himself off a lot even though only one on bench. Played midfield all game and always does something smart (knock into space, quick handball etc. I hope he can get 100% fit and have an impact this year.

First time I saw Langford play, and agree with a lot of others in thinking he could be anything. Maybe needs to get some mongrel in him as was getting picked off a bit when he put his head over the ball, as apposed to him dishing out a bump and then collecting the footy. Was demanding the ball be kicked to him when he was playing forward and backed it up with some good aerial contests.

Big Cheney fan but he probably had an average day. Defense was under pressure most of the day, it appeared his direct opponent kicked a few goals, but Cheney was trying to cover multiple players most of the time. Big future with the hawks.

The Convert
29 Aug 2011, 17:37
Actually heard Tommo say he was going straight to Hospital for scans - I am not aware of any update.

Not too good I believe