View Full Version : Clayton's half dozen
The Doctor
30 Sep 2003, 09:57
Scotty was on radio this morning and was asked his top 6 prospects at the draft. He came up with (in order of mention);
Cooney, Dunn, Clarke, Walker, Sylvia, Bradley.
He almost confirmed Cooney as first pick.
Interesting no mention of Tenace or Ray. Could be a furphy as he did this last year with Paul Johnson. I hope it's true as I don't have either in my top 10 picks.
dogman22
30 Sep 2003, 10:04
Interesting, four of those are midfielders (could be 5, not sure about Walker - is it the same Andrew Walker that plays for Echuca??).
If that's what Clayton's thinking, then hopefully it's Cooney and Bradley, depending on what happens in trade week, could throw Sylvia into the mix.
Perhaps Scotty was thrown off the Tenace trail by the TAC Cup Grand Final. Didn't have a good day, either himself or the Bushrangers. Couldn't handle wet, scrappy conditions
Kidd Rocker
30 Sep 2003, 12:45
Originally posted by The Doctor
Scotty was on radio this morning and was asked his top 6 prospects at the draft. He came up with (in order of mention);
Interesting no mention of Tenace or Ray. Could be a furphy as he did this last year with Paul Johnson. I hope it's true as I don't have either in my top 10 picks.
Cooney hasn't had the greatest year in the South Australian Footy League, and didn't poll very well that night either (says my south aussie friend)..
I'm really interested with Cooney, I don't however understand how he could have a standard year and still be the #1 pick.. Like the games hes played recently, haven't been so elite and the "BEST" onground or anything? Why is he the number #1 Pick Doctor or anyone for that matter? I'm interested.. I wanna know what hes gonna provide the Dogs with
The Doctor
30 Sep 2003, 13:07
Originally posted by Kidd Rocker
Cooney hasn't had the greatest year in the South Australian Footy League, and didn't poll very well that night either (says my south aussie friend)..
I'm really interested with Cooney, I don't however understand how he could have a standard year and still be the #1 pick.. Like the games hes played recently, haven't been so elite and the "BEST" onground or anything? Why is he the number #1 Pick Doctor or anyone for that matter? I'm interested.. I wanna know what hes gonna provide the Dogs with
I'll tell you why he is going to be the number 1 pick.
- He is easily the best 17 year old footballer in the country.
- He has a strong physique that will adapt easily to AFL football within 12 months.
- He has explosive leg speed
- Amazing evasive ability
- Superbly dual sided
- Equally effective as an inside player or outsider
- Brilliant hands for on ground ball or in the air
- Immaculate disposal at full pace or blind sided
- Is a genuine goal kicker
- Can destroy his opponent in a contest either with skill or with strength.
- 2 time All Australian
- He is already playing senior football in a strong team in a major competition
He is as close to the full package as you could get.
Kidd Rocker
30 Sep 2003, 13:16
I'll tell you why he is going to be the number 1 pick.
- He is easily the best 17 year old footballer in the country.
- He has a strong physique that will adapt easily to AFL football within 12 months.
- He has explosive leg speed
- Amazing evasive ability
- Superbly dual sided
- Equally effective as an inside player or outsider
- Brilliant hands for on ground ball or in the air
- Immaculate disposal at full pace or blind sided
- Is a genuine goal kicker
- Can destroy his opponent in a contest either with skill or with strength.
- 2 time All Australian
- He is already playing senior football in a strong team in a major competition
He is as close to the full package as you could get.
Thanks alot mate - I appreciate the answer. I am really keen on watching him play, I was just interested in what all the fuss was about as I don't show much interest to players outside of the AFL
You said he'll be adapted to AFL football within 12 months? Do you think he'd be in our starting 22 round 1 next year and play over 15 games for us?
Hopefully wearing the #17 guernsey, unless he prefers otherwise
The Doctor
30 Sep 2003, 13:49
Originally posted by Kidd Rocker
You said he'll be adapted to AFL football within 12 months? Do you think he'd be in our starting 22 round 1 next year and play over 15 games for us?
I'd say he'd be a big chance but I can't be sure as our coaching panel have mysterious methods of nurturing young talent.
Cooney and Faulkner should be in the starting line up for round 1 next year imo.
stmookeyj
30 Sep 2003, 17:16
My feeling is that Clayton is resigned to the fact that Tenace is going to Carlton and Ray is likely to go to a West Aus. club.
murphy2bedabest
30 Sep 2003, 18:31
Originally posted by stmookeyj
My feeling is that Clayton is resigned to the fact that Tenace is going to Carlton and Ray is likely to go to a West Aus. club.
pick 1 dogs cooney
pick 2 carlton tenace
pick 3 melb
pick 4 dogs
mmmmmmmmmmmm tenace to cart yes i can see that but thats funny no w.a teams before us to pick up ray???
stmookeyj
30 Sep 2003, 18:35
Originally posted by murphy2bedabest
pick 1 dogs cooney
pick 2 carlton tenace
pick 3 melb
pick 4 dogs
mmmmmmmmmmmm tenace to cart yes i can see that but thats funny no w.a teams before us to pick up ray???
Discounting Cooney and Tenace, there are a number of better options before Ray in the draft (E.g. Clarke, Bradley)
murphy2bedabest
30 Sep 2003, 19:00
Discounting Cooney and Tenace, there are a number of better options before Ray in the draft (E.g. Clarke, Bradley)
true but if clayton as seen something in ray then i see nothing will stop us picking him up
bradley would be mine didnt rate him high b4 but seeing bris with 3 gun ruckman made me think about him more and gun ruck man are hard to come by
OldSchool
30 Sep 2003, 19:14
No real surprises there except as you pointed out no mention of Tenace who I rate in the best crop of youngsters.
If we dont get Bradley you can almost bet that we will get another midfielder although we might go for Clarke.
Happy to see Walker being mentioned because he has tremendous athletic potential.
2 Bendigo boys named is just great.
Isdogisgood
1 Oct 2003, 09:24
From the website....
http://westernbulldogs.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=122535
Isdogisgood
1 Oct 2003, 14:12
...and this from the age
http://www.realfooty.theage.com.au/articles/2003/09/30/1064819932526.html
The Doctor
2 Oct 2003, 20:53
Kevin SHEEHAN has put up his top 4
Cooney, Sylvia, Walker and Ray
Also stated that Sylvia could challenge for top pick. His Draft camp results have been outstanding.
OldSchool
2 Oct 2003, 21:22
Also stated that Sylvia could challenge for top pick. His Draft camp results have been outstanding.
2 from Bendigo in the top 4, its getting better.
Sylvia does not possess Cooney's pace but he is an outstanding reader of the game for someone so young and he is an awsome mark for his size. I rate him in the top 4 and would not be upset if we miss out on Bradley and take him instead.
Walker must also be in Clayton thoughts because of his athletic potential. His kicking skills can be untidy at times and his decision making needs a little work but he is an outstanding prospect.
We really cant lose with two picks in the top four.
Captain Sensible
2 Oct 2003, 21:28
I heard that as well Doc. He was quite fulsome in his praise pf Sylvia I thought.
I thought it was funny that Sheehan said that Sylvia was attractive to Victorian teams because he was 'unlikely to want to go home'. Hes from Bendigo isnt he he? T
hose Bendigo boys are real loyal.:rolleyes:
The Doctor
2 Oct 2003, 21:38
Perhaps we should send Brown off to Carlton where he can spend all week counting his money.
We can take Sylvia at 2 and probably still get Bradley at 4. Melbourne would probably not want to risk missing out on Walker at 3 knowing we will probably pounce on him at 4. Either way we win. But I would dearly love to get Kepler.
As Clayton has said several times we do have a lot of developing talls on the list already. We actually have a lot more tall timber on our list than the Lions, if not the quality at this stage.
stmookeyj
2 Oct 2003, 21:56
Originally posted by murphy2bedabest
true but if clayton as seen something in ray then i see nothing will stop us picking him up
bradley would be mine didnt rate him high b4 but seeing bris with 3 gun ruckman made me think about him more and gun ruck man are hard to come by
Suddenly there may be a new contender given Ray's 15.3 beep test today.
The more I think about it, the more I like it.
Love to get a bloody great lump of a CHF, but if we don't I could be happy with Brown at Carlton, miserable under Pagan.
Perhaps we should send Brown off to Carlton where he can spend all week counting his money.
Isdogisgood
3 Oct 2003, 14:32
Brown wants to go to a team that is a good chance to play finals (in his opinion). Carlton would have to be his last option. Pick 2 would be good though.
Suddenly there may be a new contender given Ray's 15.3 beep test today.
Great he can run! Thought we had plenty of them.
Do they test to see if they can get the ball? Mark, handball , kick it?
Originally posted by B2..
The more I think about it, the more I like it.
Love to get a bloody great lump of a CHF, but if we don't I could be happy with Brown at Carlton, miserable under Pagan.
Thought we got Walsh and Wight as a propects here.