View Full Version : Elim Final:-Werribee v Box Hill Sat 3 Sep 2pm @ Werribee
rdhopkins2
29 Aug 2011, 18:18
Elimination Final 1
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/photos/fixtures/werribee-vs-bhh.gif
Seniors at 2:00pm @
Avalon Airport Oval -
Saturday 3rd September
Radio:-94.1FM or www.3wbc.org.au (http://www.3wbc.org.au)
Box Hill have a tough task in our elimination final against Werribee on their home turf, a venue where we haven't historically been successful.
History is history however and we look forward to a spirited and tenacious Box Hill taking it up to Werribee and creating our own piece of history. When the going gets tough, Box Hill will get going!
I'll be away this week watching Hawthorn, so looking forward to your reports! Go Box Hill!!
Goldhawk
29 Aug 2011, 19:26
A disappointing time slot again as they will clash with Hawthorn playing up in Gold Coast.
They should have made the elimination final for Sunday as heaps more Hawthorn supporters would have attended.....a bad mistake by the VFL.
The BIG X
29 Aug 2011, 19:34
A disappointing time slot again as they will clash with Hawthorn playing up in Gold Coast.
They should have made the elimination final for Sunday as heaps more Hawthorn supporters would have attended.....a bad mistake by the VFL.
Ditto GH:thumbsu:
TheFourPillars
29 Aug 2011, 19:49
I'll be there. Looking forward to it. If we can play with the same intensity that we showed against Port we should win
TheFourPillars
29 Aug 2011, 19:50
Whilest i agree hope a few ppl record it for later mate cmon down to the ground.
BTW Sunday is fathers day wouldn't have been able to come.
Dixie Flatline
30 Aug 2011, 10:16
Herald-Sun reports that Stratton is likely to line up for Box Hill because Hawthorn thinks he's eligible to play in the VFL finals.
The Convert
30 Aug 2011, 11:58
Herald-Sun reports that Stratton is likely to line up for Box Hill because Hawthorn thinks he's eligible to play in the VFL finals.
That what was printed in the Record on the weekend. 18 Hawks eligible although Duryea and Hallahan are not available and Langford and Grimley must be in some doubt.
Ladson, Cheney, Wanganeen, Milne, Lisle, Morton, Schneider, Williams, Sierakowski, Mahony, Menegola, Langford, Stratton, Renouf, Grimley, Johnson are eligible
FriarTuck
30 Aug 2011, 12:56
...They should have made the elimination final for Sunday as heaps more Hawthorn supporters would have attended.....a bad mistake by the VFL.
We look like playing the handbags on Friday night so a Sunday game means our ressies would only have a five day turn around.
Bloody shame the game is at Werribee.
The Convert
30 Aug 2011, 13:06
[quote=FriarTuck;22084084]We look like playing the handbags on Friday night so a Sunday game means our ressies would only have a five day turn around.
So does this mean they are likely to rest a couple this week depending on the outcome of an injury check after Gold Coast game
FriarTuck
30 Aug 2011, 15:46
Who needs a rest? The doggies game was low intensity, I cant see GC worrying us too much.
With Mitch, Cheney, X, Suzie and maybe Stratts we have some genuine competition for spots so I cant see anyone voluntarily asking for a rest.
The ideal situation will be come the first final we will have 27 guys match fit and ready to fire.
Rudi Gilham
30 Aug 2011, 19:34
Anyone know of the availability or otherwise of the following players for Saturday's final?
Jarryd Morton, Adam Pattison, Derrick Wanganeen, Will Sierakowski,
Will Langford, Ben Fagan & Sam Grimley?
Could make a huge difference to our hopes.
From Hawthorn's injury update:
Langford has had surgery to repair a fractured collarbone, and will be fit for the start of pre-season training.
Grimley has a slight fracture in his hand, and is waiting on advice from a specialist as to how it should be treated.
Rudi Gilham
30 Aug 2011, 20:33
That's a couple of relatively serious injuries. While Hawthorn are getting a few back and having close to a full list to choose from, poor old Box Hill can't seem to take a trick at the moment. I believe Michael Thompson did a knee in the twos on the weekend?
stemline
31 Aug 2011, 08:34
Anyone know of the availability or otherwise of the following players for Saturday's final?
Jarryd Morton, Adam Pattison, Derrick Wanganeen, Will Sierakowski,
Will Langford, Ben Fagan & Sam Grimley?
Could make a huge difference to our hopes.
Thing is, the VFL site says that as long as Hawthorn are still alive, ANYONE on Hawthorn's list can play VFL finals.
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?c=1-118-0-0-0&sID=223956
Refer 21.5, 21.6 and 21.7
philohk
31 Aug 2011, 13:43
Yep, so anyone who's played VFL can play this week. Can someone tell me how we did against Werribee during the season?
Edit: never mind, found it. They touched us up early in the season, but similar amount of shots. Let's hope we turn it around. Anyone give us a chance?
The Convert
31 Aug 2011, 14:50
Yep, so anyone who's played VFL can play this week. Can someone tell me how we did against Werribee during the season?
Edit: never mind, found it. They touched us up early in the season, but similar amount of shots. Let's hope we turn it around. Anyone give us a chance?
There is always a chance. Depends on how much the boys want it. Hawthorn might take a few if they rest players as suggested but this might not be totally bad as thye are playing for Box hill due to being out of form. Biggest issue might be the ruck with Bailey resting and Grimley out means Renouf might go up to the Gold coast leaving Johnson and Ralphy?
Johnson's been elevated to the senior list now (in place of Duryea) so it may be the other way around - PJ up to the Gold Coast, and Renouf gets another crack.
Henry Jr
1 Sep 2011, 17:17
I do feel sorry for BoxHill this week after seeing the HFC changes....
TheFourPillars
1 Sep 2011, 17:20
I do feel sorry for BoxHill this week after seeing the HFC changes....
I think i remember you posting earlier in the year that we might send box hill up to play in the last round. If you had money on it you'd be rich :D
CrowdedHouse
1 Sep 2011, 17:54
Gotta feel sorry for DC with all those changes...
This is what I posted in another thread.
If you are a betting person....
Bet all the money you can on WERRIBEE to beat the Box Hill Hawks on Saturday
With any of Box Hill's quality players now going up to play with Hawthorn at the Gold Coast, and Box Hill have not won at Werribee in 20 years - THIS IS EASY MONEY!!!
Goldhawk
1 Sep 2011, 19:26
Gotta feel sorry for DC with all those changes...
This is what I posted in another thread.
If you are a betting person....
Bet all the money you can on WERRIBEE to beat the Box Hill Hawks on Saturday
With any of Box Hill's quality players now going up to play with Hawthorn at the Gold Coast, and Box Hill have not won at Werribee in 20 years - THIS IS EASY MONEY!!!
Feel sorry for DC....but one has to look at the bigger picture,i'm sure DC knows that.
A very "non-Hawthorn" looking team.
Good to see Wanganeen named. No Renouf.
B: Mirra Pollard Kiel
HB: Sierakowski Boumann Tobin
C: Williams Jackson Wanganeen
HF: Gilchrist Gibson Northe
F: Cass Pattison Neil
Followers: Ralph Kitchin Andrews
Interchange: Menegola Van Unen Mahony Nye Hoegel Sketcher
Cust Kennedy Purcell
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-0-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=16796211§ionID=60264
Rudi Gilham
1 Sep 2011, 20:30
No Tom Schneider, either, who seems to play one, rest one.
No Riley Milne either. Not sure what's going on there. No Morton.
Grimley & Langford out injured from last week.
Good to see Pattison & Jackson back. Jack Mahony could debut for BH seniors in a final.
No Riley Milne either. Not sure what's going on there. No Morton.
As both Sierakowski & Williams are named as emergencies & also named for Box Hill, I'd assume that Milne will be the travelling emergency to the Gold Coast.
The BIG X
2 Sep 2011, 06:14
Guess the good news is - the Development Team have a break this weekend.
Reckon they would be scratching to field a team to put on the park.:eek:
go hawks!!!
2 Sep 2011, 06:30
A very "non-Hawthorn" looking team.
Good to see Wanganeen named. No Renouf.
B: Mirra Pollard Kiel
HB: Sierakowski Boumann Tobin
C: Williams Jackson Wanganeen
HF: Gilchrist Gibson Northe
F: Cass Pattison Neil
Followers: Ralph Kitchin Andrews
Interchange: Menegola Van Unen Mahony Nye Hoegel Sketcher
Cust Kennedy Purcell
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-0-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=16796211§ionID=60264
No renouf is alarming.
Will be interesting to see how the boys perform.
Riley Milne may have tripped over a blade of grass at training, resulting in a season ending injury. Oh wait a minute, he is named as an emergency for the hawks (but not named for BHH), like Osborne last week, I have a feeling there will be a late change.
There is always a chance. Depends on how much the boys want it. Hawthorn might take a few if they rest players as suggested but this might not be totally bad as thye are playing for Box hill due to being out of form. Biggest issue might be the ruck with Bailey resting and Grimley out means Renouf might go up to the Gold coast leaving Johnson and Ralphy?
Cheers for the response. Looks unlikely now with the Hawks team as named. I guess much interest now goes to Stratton, and it looks like he's eligible to play for the DS - wonder if it'll happen next week (if he's not picked for the QF) or the week after (to get another game in him).
Fevola99
3 Sep 2011, 17:08
Werribee 13.11.89
Box Hill 9.9.63
Goldhawk
3 Sep 2011, 17:38
Looks like it must have been a very good effort by a very undermanned Box Hill Hawks side to go down by 26pts. Especially at Werribee"s home ground.
Rudi Gilham
3 Sep 2011, 17:42
Box Hill Hawks
Goal Kickers: J. Ralph 3, A. Pattison , D. WANGANEEN , R. JACKSON , D. Mirra , B. Neil , H. Kiel
Best Players: R. JACKSON, J. Boumann, J. Ralph, D. Mirra, W. Sierakowski, J. Williams
ordivician
3 Sep 2011, 23:14
Lord I hate IE I wrote a full page game report only to lose it due to the inability of the MS druts to produce software that works.
Precis:
Warm dry day, 3 to 4 goals wind to the Geelong end and we kicked with the breeze in the first and third.
Undermanned with stuff all hawks players, only three playing.
Siera: bloody good all day along with his star twin Mirrakowski. Great to see him finally, return to form.
Wangas: bloody awful, hardly went near the ball, totally lost with no idea how to get into the game. Snagged one late in the fourth. A sad end to a very good year but probably ran out of steam due to lack of base fitness in the 2nd half of the year.
Williams: ran around a lot but did not get much of the ball may have had a tagging role, named in the best as a sop (?) but will probably be delisted.
Rucks were Pattison and some fat kid called Ralph, but I can't remember his surname. Even Ben of clan Kennedy (no relation) got a go in the centre. Ralph kicked three which was most encouraging for him except that it underlined the fact that we did not have any forward structure.
Almost pulled out an upset win in the last staying within 1 to 2 goals from roughly the 10 minute to 20 minute marks.
Most of the DS/fringe players did bloody considering including Northe, Andrews, 8 quarters, Neil, Nye, Kitchen etc.
The Convert
5 Sep 2011, 08:41
Bit harsh on Ralph (which is actually his surname). He has had a pretty good season rucking in the development squad with a couple of games in the ones.
As for listed players I think a few decisions will need to be made
Big Jablonski
5 Sep 2011, 08:50
The fat kid was the last one picked on the Mustangs list and has done a superb job considering he is 6'2 in the old and every single week he comes up against 2 203cm monsters. What an absolute competitor who does everything he is asked and more and a nicer kid you wouldn't find.
How many fat kids can say they kicked 3 in a VFL final playing in the ruck?
Good luck next week Ralphy.
The BIG X
5 Sep 2011, 20:11
Thanks to the above 2 posters - I too have time for Ralphie - he really 'puts in' and battles above his height:thumbsu:
ordivician
6 Sep 2011, 11:47
Bit harsh on Ralph (which is actually his surname). He has had a pretty good season rucking in the development squad with a couple of games in the ones.
As for listed players I think a few decisions will need to be made
1. Really??? Well FMD.
2. The DS has not had a real ruckman all year as Grimely is really a part timer/second ruck rather than a specialist ruck.
In the end the team went down fighting which was a quite creditable effort considering how undermanned they were. To have the game alive half way through the last was a moral victory for the boys and I trust it will stand those still elligible for the DS in good stead as they march towards back to back flags.
stemline
6 Sep 2011, 12:20
To have the game alive half way through the last was a moral victory for the boys and I trust it will stand those still elligible for the DS in good stead as they march towards back to back flags.
A hat-trick in fact.
rdhopkins2
6 Sep 2011, 19:18
Thanks to those reporting-it was indeed more like a Gold Coast v Box Hill on Saturday up there.
Disappointing the seniors season is now over but the development squad are doing nicely.