View Full Version : Jade quits Glenferrie...they think

acg_204*
1 Oct 2003, 02:07
http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,7426685-23211,00.html (here)

My favourite part of the article:

Part of the Cats' offer will possibly include Rawlings' demand to continue to live in Melbourne and a chauffeur service to drive him to and from training.

Wow, that's sure to get him.

lazydog
1 Oct 2003, 08:57
Wouldn't think he'd be too popular with the other Catters when they find out he's being paid a mint AND he's getting the chauffeur treatment. That's gotta be just the paper juicing up their story.

The Shun also said that now we'd make the play for Nathan Brown by offering Holland and Harford. I dunno. Just want Oct 13 to come round so the headaches can stop :)

Becker
1 Oct 2003, 09:22
I don't know about anyone else, but I just don't care any more. Rawlings is an example of the modern player. All they are thinking about is themselves, and yet they try to tell us it's not about money, or that they want team success. Rubbish.

Pornstar
1 Oct 2003, 09:57
God i hate these mercanaries who have a break out season when they are out of contract and suddenly think they are Elvis. Brown, Rawlings, Solomon, etc, they can all **** off i wouldn't want a player with no heart at my club.

rizzo
1 Oct 2003, 11:48
hey, im a cats fan & if geelong let rawlings get takin to and from training they have rocks in there head.

also what the new on holland?? i would love him down in geelong?

Seb
1 Oct 2003, 11:56
Originally posted by rizzo
hey, im a cats fan & if geelong let rawlings get takin to and from training they have rocks in there head.

also what the new on holland?? i would love him down in geelong?

You want Nick Holland at Geelong?

*note to self* Never, ever read posts by Rizzo again.

Ramma
1 Oct 2003, 12:24
Originally posted by Becker
I don't know about anyone else, but I just don't care any more. Rawlings is an example of the modern player. All they are thinking about is themselves, and yet they try to tell us it's not about money, or that they want team success. Rubbish.

a) He hasn't gone...yet.
b) To lose him, and Holland and Harford as is being rumoured,
means 2 KPP's lost, and we MUST have someone else lined up
(a KPP) from another club, otherwise we are in serious trouble
down the spine. I guess all we can do is trust the club on this.
c) I cannot remember over time (and please correct me if I'm wrong)
any player leaving Hawthorn that they (Hawthorn) wanted to stay,
('cept for Chick perhaps, and that was extraordinary circumstances).

I'm prepared to hang off a while here and see what develops - we
follow the club for a reason - let's trust them, and hang in there.......

:)

lazydog
1 Oct 2003, 12:27
Originally posted by Ramma
a)
I'm prepared to hang off a while here and see what develops - we
follow the club for a reason - let's trust them, and hang in there.......

:)

Well said

Sundog
1 Oct 2003, 13:19
All that talk about chauffeuring has got to be crap. Based in melb, ok just. but what club would agree to that? I'd hate to be morale officer at Geelong if that was true :)

BigCat1
1 Oct 2003, 13:35
Originally posted by Sundog
I'd hate to be morale officer at Geelong if that was true :)

I'd hate to be the morale officer at Hawthorn when the players who gave up some of their personal money to save a mate find out the club won't give it back and will inturn splurge it on one of thoses 'mercanaries', 'money hungry', 'selfish' players like Nathan Brown. Also when they try and free up the extra 200K by trading a life member and club veteran in Holland. Mate with all due respect stick to worrying about your club.

Hawk in waiting
1 Oct 2003, 15:51
What's all this crap about players taking pay cuts for Nathan Brown. Rawlings may be on his way to Catland, but nobody said anything about the player cuts being kept if Rawlings leaves. In fact, the 'rumour rag' said they were nbot able to contact the club. In other words, they print unsubstantiated assumptions.

The only thing Hawthorn supporters want is something reasonable for Rawlings.

jj flash
1 Oct 2003, 16:35
Originally posted by BigCat1
I'd hate to be the morale officer at Hawthorn when the players who gave up some of their personal money to save a mate find out the club won't give it back and will inturn splurge it on one of thoses 'mercanaries', 'money hungry', 'selfish' players like Nathan Brown. Also when they try and free up the extra 200K by trading a life member and club veteran in Holland. Mate with all due respect stick to worrying about your club.

That's not actually true though is it? The club has already said that they will speak to the players about giving it back (to those who deserve it anyway).

You may also find that some are still willing to give it up for the right bloke coming in. After all, some blokes actually play for finals not just $$.

Grendel
1 Oct 2003, 16:41
Originally posted by Pornstar
God i hate these mercanaries who have a break out season when they are out of contract and suddenly think they are Elvis. Brown, Rawlings, Solomon, etc, they can all **** off i wouldn't want a player with no heart at my club.

Wont disagree with you often my friend but this time, your wrong.

There is mercenary Rawlings then there is mercenary.. Brown.

Jade wanted (and imo) deserved to be offered a lot better deal than he was on (around $250k if reports are true). Given his past three seasons when he's been our best performed KPP that wasn't and isn't unreasonable. That he was also willing to sign off on less than what he will get with whomever he ends up with shows that the money (while apart of the decision no doubt) wasn't the only part.

It's the 'three year' deal thats been the sticking point and quite frankly, he deserved to have at least been given an opportunity at having that contract with a stipulation written into it after the first two seasons has expired.

Not once has that even been mentioned by the club as an option.

Fact's are, he's been better performed than 90% of the senior list for three seasons. He's been paid probably in the bottom quarter of regular senior players in that time, he's at his prime and about to be married. When do you put yourself first and ask that the club give considerations to your needs?

Mate, don't get me wrong, I am filthy on the whole saga but I'm much much more filty at the club for being so inept at past dealings that they could let a situation like this arise than I am at the player for (after nearly ten seasons) finally deciding to put his welfare first.

We screw over one of our own and then we chase the likes of Brown, Soloman (according to reports) maybe Stevens and we have the temerity to turn around and call Jade the betrayer?

Something very very wrong at the HFC when a player like Jade (and believe me, he was the best clubman we had) has to leave to get his worth.

We under-paid him for the last three years at least, how many of us would remain in our jobs if we were in a similar situation?

Geez.. I'm bitter on this. But not just at the player, it goes much deeper than that.

lazydog
1 Oct 2003, 16:52
Originally posted by Hawk in waiting
In other words, they print unsubstantiated assumptions.

That pretty much sums up the Press Media :p

feher
1 Oct 2003, 16:55

c) I cannot remember over time (and please correct me if I'm wrong)
any player leaving Hawthorn that they (Hawthorn) wanted to stay,
('cept for Chick perhaps, and that was extraordinary circumstances).

what about D. Jarman?

Others that come to mind but can't remember the facts are:

Tony Hall
Matthew Robran

Notice anything strange? all from SA, also have you notice that we haven't drafted (via national) a player from SA since Darren Collins from Port in 97, is it more then consciences (spelling?)? or is it that we are sick of cry baby SA players?

Personally if jade wants to leave, let him leave, he doesn't want to play for us, so lets get as much as we can get for him from Geelong/whoever.

lazydog
1 Oct 2003, 16:59
Originally posted by BigCat1

The reports in the paper (believe them at your risk) stated that the club would not ask for the pay cuts with Rawlings going (if indeed he is). So don't worry what other people say, check your facts too.

I'll agree with one thing he said...if Rawlings asked for that (chauffeur etc) and Geelong gives it, then your club will be having some serious morale trouble.

Grendel
1 Oct 2003, 18:03
c) I cannot remember over time (and please correct me if I'm wrong) any player leaving Hawthorn that they (Hawthorn) wanted to stay, ('cept for Chick perhaps, and that was extraordinary circumstances).

Barry Rowlings, Peter Welsh, Alan Martello (all Richmond strangely/depressingly enough) Rodney Eade, Mick McCarthy, Peter Curran (all Bears.. when we ship em out least we do it in groups), Peter Russo, Paul Abbott, Paul Barnard, Brad Scott (but that was more to play with his brother after we made a play *not strong enough imo either* to get Chris to the Hawks), Richard Taylor, Trent Croad.

I reckon you ask any one of them if they made a conscience choice to leave the HFC or had the choice made for them, the replies would pretty much all be in the latter.

Don't kid yourself that the club hasn't done just as bad to players as players have to the club. Nature of the beast that is footy.

Ramma
1 Oct 2003, 18:43
Originally posted by Grendel
Barry Rowlings, Peter Welsh, Alan Martello (all Richmond strangely/depressingly enough) Rodney Eade, Mick McCarthy, Peter Curran (all Bears.. when we ship em out least we do it in groups), Peter Russo, Paul Abbott, Paul Barnard, Brad Scott (but that was more to play with his brother after we made a play *not strong enough imo either* to get Chris to the Hawks), Richard Taylor, Trent Croad.

I reckon you ask any one of them if they made a conscience choice to leave the HFC or had the choice made for them, the replies would pretty much all be in the latter.

Don't kid yourself that the club hasn't done just as bad to players as players have to the club. Nature of the beast that is footy.

That was my point Grendel - none of them WANTED to leave, rather the
choice was made/helped for them, and thus the strange happenings
with Rawlings. Hell, we took Bucky and Paul Harding to court to keep them,
but we don't seem to have tried very hard with Jade.
Again, Hawthorn don't let players go that they, (Hawthorn), want to keep.
So why let Rawlings go so (apparently) easily??
Interesting times ahead.......

Ramma
1 Oct 2003, 19:08
Originally posted by feher
what about D. Jarman?

Others that come to mind but can't remember the facts are:

Tony Hall
Matthew Robran

Notice anything strange? all from SA, also have you notice that we haven't drafted (via national) a player from SA since Darren Collins from Port in 97, is it more then consciences (spelling?)? or is it that we are sick of cry baby SA players?

Personally if jade wants to leave, let him leave, he doesn't want to play for us, so lets get as much as we can get for him from Geelong/whoever.

Again, I guess that's my point - the club DIDN'T try hard to stop those players from leaving. Robran cracked it for being left out for Brereton in the
'91 GF (and would have struggled for a regular game with Dunstall, Brereton, P. Dear etc), Hall's knees were shot, and the club did talk to A. Jarman about playing with his brother, but ultimately decided, rightly or wrongly, that they would let him back to SA to play (one year?) with him.
When they REALLY wanted to keep players (ie. Bucky, Paul Harding) - they took them to court! Different administration, granted, but surely if they REALLY wanted to keep Rawlings, they would have tried harder - they haven't and I suspect there are reasons why (including ineptitude from the board).
Time will tell.

Grendel
1 Oct 2003, 19:23
Sorry Ramma, mis-read your post.

In that case.. err.. Wallace, Hudson, Lester-Smith, Allan, Jarman (more his wife than anything), G. Dear (never understood that one), both Robrams, McDonald (Yay), Hargreaves (double Yay) I think all wanted out.. and got out.

lazydog
1 Oct 2003, 21:35
Whatever the reasoning, Rawlings has now officially quit and has told the club he'll make his decision as to where he's going within 48 hours.
That means by Saturday we'll know WHERE if not HOW. The 'where' doesn't really bother me any more, the 'how' does. Will be interested to see what we're getting traded.

saaam
1 Oct 2003, 23:24
Originally posted by lazydog
Whatever the reasoning, Rawlings has now officially quit and has told the club he'll make his decision as to where he's going within 48 hours.
That means by Saturday we'll know WHERE if not HOW. The 'where' doesn't really bother me any more, the 'how' does. Will be interested to see what we're getting traded.

I'm interested too, but aren't we now desperately short of key position defenders. I mean I know Jade didn't play CHB this year, but we didn't really have a CHB and I reckon that cost us dearly. With Holland rumoured to be on his way too, we really have to pick up a key position defender, a key position forward as well as a gun midfielder .... or am I talking crap?

feher
1 Oct 2003, 23:42
Originally posted by saaam
I'm interested too, but aren't we now desperately short of key position defenders. I mean I know Jade didn't play CHB this year, but we didn't really have a CHB and I reckon that cost us dearly. With Holland rumoured to be on his way too, we really have to pick up a key position defender, a key position forward as well as a gun midfielder .... or am I talking crap?

You ain't talking crap. I guess the spine could look like this without rawlings and holland (if rumors are true):

FF/CHF - Thommo
FF/CHF - Barker
CHB/FB - Smithy (undersized, should be a true flanker)/Stone/Graham
CHB/FB - Hay/Stone/Graham

Ruck - Everitt/Loats/Campbell/Thommo

Reserve Key Positions: Lonie (bit undersize and hasn't played there since juniors?) Barlow (undersized), Boyle (he's tall thats all i know), Dixon (undersized, and has only played ff), Hodge (he played on Lade), Veale (see Boyle).

I agree it doens't look good at the mo, but i am sure we will draft a key position player early and trade for at least 1 or 2 as well or we will be the bullies in '04 :(

Ramma
2 Oct 2003, 09:48

In that case.. err.. Wallace, Hudson, Lester-Smith, Allan, Jarman (more his wife than anything), G. Dear (never understood that one), both Robrams, McDonald (Yay), Hargreaves (double Yay) I think all wanted out.. and got out.

Sure, but how hard did the club REALLY work to keep them??
Wallace didn't fit into Jeans' game-plan, Lester-Smith/Allan wanted to
return home (so did Chick 3 years ago, but Dicker talked him around it),
so the club said 'OK'! , etc.
Something isn't right here (moreso if you believe the back page of the
Hun today) - obviously mismanagement of the player's payments, which
is the main contribution to all of this (we're sounding a bit like the Labor
Party at the moment!!!), but as far as Rawlings is concerned, they just
didn't seem to try VERY hard. Maybe Brown has already declared his
intention to Hawthorn, and they ultimately view him a better option than
Rawlings (rightly or wrongly) - I suspect this is the case...why would have Brown not already announced his intentions?? The only 'logical' clubs he would now go to, given it's been a week since he said he was leaving the Doggies, would be Collingwood - (GF has now been well and truly over), or Hawthorn. Delay in announcement? - what's happening to Rawlings!
It is going to be a very interesting week or so.....

jj flash
2 Oct 2003, 10:31

Andy Gowers? went to Brisbane for more money and slowly faded away. Later on he tried to come back and we correctly told him to p1ss off.

Could this be Jades destiny?