View Full Version : What is a bogan ?
Collingwood Boy
16 Feb 2001, 08:50
Can someone living in Australia fill me in as to what this is ? We've known the word "mullet" for a long time but I'm clueless about "bogan". I assume it's a woman's hairstyle ?
Originally posted by Collingwood Boy:
Can someone living in Australia fill me in as to what this is ? We've known the word "mullet" for a long time but I'm clueless about "bogan". I assume it's a woman's hairstyle ?
A species that existed predominantly in the 80's.
Picture someone with a glorious mullett haircut, flannelette shirt unbuttoned and/or a muscle shirt, lambswool moccasins or leather/suede shitkicker boots and torn jeans.
Would listen to predominantly hard rock / heavy metal music (eg., Angels), would be seen nocturnaly at Blue Light Disco's. May also be involved in surf culture.
Would rarely be seen at - say - the ballet or the opera!
I guess a bogan could be described as a cross between a headbanger and a redneck!
------------------
TigerFury.net (http://www.tigerfury.net) - Independant Richmond Tigers website
[This message has been edited by CJH (edited 15 February 2001).]
walshy1993
16 Feb 2001, 09:12
im sure joffa would be the expert to explain what a bogan is
a bogan is basically a version of what americans call a redneck
bogans usually have a mullett, wear flanette, smoke, drink, covered in tats and usually a couple of teeth missing
Pessimistic
16 Feb 2001, 09:14
.. Or totally bald with dark glasses and a ridiculous bit of facial hair. And as for the men....
I looked up 'Bogan' in the dictionary and it had the following.
BOGAN- Collingwood supporters :eek: :eek: :eek:
Actually its another version of saying someone's a 'dag'. :D
------------------
"Hey ,just because I don't care doesn't mean I don't understand"
BUBBALOUIS
16 Feb 2001, 09:17
Originally posted by JUBJUB:
I looked up 'Bogan' in the dictionary and it had the following.
BOGAN- Collingwood supporters :eek: :eek: :eek:
Actually its another version of saying someone's a 'dag'. :D
So JubJub, Easty would qualify?
The invisible mullet
16 Feb 2001, 09:28
A bogan is a bevan, a westy, a booner. Think flannies, winnie blues, mulletdom and limited taste in music by bands outside the heavy metal genre.
Originally posted by walshy1993:
im sure joffa would be the expert to explain what a bogan is
a bogan is basically a version of what americans call a redneck
bogans usually have a mullett, wear flanette, smoke, drink, covered in tats and usually a couple of teeth missing
Walshy
You just described Mellows to a tee. :eek:
You left out 1 thing, always wear black jeans & their shirts usually have the sleeves cut off. :rolleyes:
------------------
Frodo does not exist outside of Tolkien's imagination
Mobbenfuhrer
16 Feb 2001, 13:24
Wouldn't a yobbo be a bit more comparable to a redneck than would a bogan?
------------------
Hallowed be thy Roy
Bogan is not political - think Angus and Malcolm Young. Even tho' they're zillionaires, they're bogans 'till they die.
Macca19
16 Feb 2001, 16:12
Originally posted by Collingwood Boy:
Bogan (bo - gn) is pretty much describing a person that is less gifted in skills than others, one who is a bit of a scruff (messy hair, beard, old clothes) sorta like that
others words similar to bogan - loser, reject, homeless bum
Westy Boy
16 Feb 2001, 20:08
The invisible mullet destroyed what little self esteem I had left with:
A bogan is a westy
HEY!! Us bogans have feelings too you know. :(
Gotta go..... Blue Light Disco is startin.... now where did I put my moccasins....
Eagle_Fan
16 Feb 2001, 21:52
I'm sure you've all read this already, but what the heck....
Save the Bogan (maximumus tightblackjeanus withmulletus.)
First identified as a sub-species during the mid-70s, the Bogan is thought to be a close relation of the Booner (found in Canberra's outer suburbs) and the Westie (spread throughout Western Sydney). It is believed the initial Perth bogan population was introduced to purpose-built habitats such as Rockingham and Westminster.
However, by the mid-80s, the species had multiplied to plague proportions, spreading through much of Gosnells and outer-Mirrabooka. While authorities considered a culling program, they need not have bothered, as the regional population began a rapid decline from the early '90s onwards.
The situation has now reached a critical point, with Bogans rarely sighted in Central Perth, and those remaining clinging to the region's outskirts.
In the year 2001, the species is now officially endangered.
Identifying a Bogan is not difficult. Males sport a distinctive hair growth called a "mullet" (short front and sides, long at back). Some scientists believe the growth is genetic, while others argue it is a product of nurture, as even extremely young males seem coerced by parents to adopt the growth. Other distinguishing male characteristics include a tight black denim covering on the hindlimbs and bright flannelette markings
on the forepaws and belly. Males adopt a dominant status within the community, with a vague sense of rank defined by the ownership of aging Ford and Holden motor vehicles.
Female Bogans are entrusted with the raising of multiple offspring, a role they perform from a young age and often without the presence of the male. They may be similarly identified through distinctive denim markings, though the colour is usually "stonewash". In warmer weather, females have been known to shed the lower layer of demin to just below the genital area, resulting in a "cut-off" effect. Both males and females have been known to cover their lower hind-limbs with furry pouches called "ugh-boots."
While the wild population of Bogans is dwindling, it is still possible to view them in their natural environment. The species has been known to congregate around regional "shopping malls", where family units often come to settle domestic issues using high-pitched wailing sounds. After sunset, younger males and females meet in small dark enclaves known as "Taverns"
where they consume large amounts of a liquid called "Bourbon." There are numerous factors attributed to the decline of the local Bogans population.
Scientists have identified the popularity of stadium rock as a contributing cause, while the development of adequate social
infrastructure (ie. schools, medium density housing) may have fragmented the species. More controversial theories suggest many bogans may have removed their mullets, purchased "cargo pants" and attempted to integrate themselves in Perth's mainstream population, but these claims are yet to be
substantiated. Authorities will have a better idea of bogan numbers early
this year when Bogan elders AC/DC visit Perth for a concert at the Burswood Dome, home to other Bogan-centric pursuits such as Supercross, Big Wheel truck racing and the Motor Show.
At present there seems little hope of restoring the Bogan population to its
previous levels. Recent attempts included the development of a new artificial habitat named "Joondalup", but is seems this area may be too close to Perth to attract large numbers of the species.
More successful is an enclosed breeding program called "V8 Supercars", which takes place annually at the Barbagallo Raceway complex in Wanneroo. The program has proven highly effective, combining motor vehicles and bourbon with rampant displays of female sexuality.
(from the Eagles forum I think)
Havent read it Eagle_Fan and what a classic!!! Pissed myself laughing. One of the funniest posts i have read since ive been here.
In Moccasin County (Braybrook in Melbourne's west), I believe there's actually a council by-law that states you have to have a MINIMUM of two car bodies in your front yard and six out the back, with a large vicious dog sitting on the roof of one of them.
mellows
17 Feb 2001, 18:44
Hey there is nothing wrong with us bogans, women love us right Sandie. ;)
Curios Bob
27 Feb 2002, 21:18
Originally posted by mellows
Hey there is nothing wrong with us bogans, women love us right Sandie. ;)
stop talking to yourself Sandie:rolleyes:
Cheeky68
27 Feb 2002, 21:19
I thought bogan was another word for booga oops maybe I'm getting confused oh well.
Bomber Spirit
27 Feb 2002, 21:34
You know you are a bogan when.....
1. You let your twelve-year-old daughter smoke at the dinner table in front of her kids.
2. Bikers back down from your mum.
3. You think loading the dishwasher means getting your wife drunk.
4. You've been married 3 times and still have the same in-laws.
5. Jim Beam, Jack Daniels and Johnny Walker makes your list of "Most Admired People."
6. You've ever had to scratch out your sister's name in a message that begins "For a good time call...."
7. You've ever worn a dress that is strapless with a bra that isn't.
8. Every day someone comes to your door mistakenly thinking you're having a garage sale.
9. You have a working television that sits on top of a non-working television.
10. You think the Nutcracker is something you did off the diving tower.
11. Your dog was desexed by court order.
12. Your 13 year old daughter and her husband wanted belly button piercing, and you said no and got them matching tattoos instead.
13. You mow your lawn and find a car.
14. Your tyres are worth more than your car.
FreoDocker
27 Feb 2002, 21:49
Alright, here's your typical Bogan checklist !!
1) Mullet sometimes covered with a black Beanie and large beard.
2) Loads of tats.
3) Heavy Metal T-shirt, preferably black in colour, or if all else fails a flatette shirt.
4) Bogans also drink heaps, smoke and have lost a few teeth (Bogan brawls).
5) Tight Black jeans, usually attired by large Woollen Ugboots or black steel capped boots.
6) Listens to Heavy Metal / Death Metal.
7) Tends to use "ay" and "youse" alot.
Have I missed anything??
Originally posted by Bomber Spirit
You know you are a bogan when.....
1. You let your twelve-year-old daughter smoke at the dinner table in front of her kids.
2. Bikers back down from your mum.
3. You think loading the dishwasher means getting your wife drunk.
4. You've been married 3 times and still have the same in-laws.
5. Jim Beam, Jack Daniels and Johnny Walker makes your list of "Most Admired People."
6. You've ever had to scratch out your sister's name in a message that begins "For a good time call...."
7. You've ever worn a dress that is strapless with a bra that isn't.
8. Every day someone comes to your door mistakenly thinking you're having a garage sale.
9. You have a working television that sits on top of a non-working television.
10. You think the Nutcracker is something you did off the diving tower.
11. Your dog was desexed by court order.
12. Your 13 year old daughter and her husband wanted belly button piercing, and you said no and got them matching tattoos instead.
13. You mow your lawn and find a car.
14. Your tyres are worth more than your car.
We have a closet Jeff Foxworthy fan here :D
Winny Blues
27 Feb 2002, 21:55
Boganville is where these people live is commonly known as the city of Geelong which in turn the inhabitants are known as bogans. They are easily identified by driving past any Centrelink office as this is where they seem to congregate.
pickos_chick
27 Feb 2002, 22:30
What is a Bogan????
I reckon the song "Nobody Likes A Bogan" by Area 7 pretty much explains it!;) :D ;)
Cheeky68
27 Feb 2002, 22:32
Originally posted by pickos_chick
What is a Bogan????
I reckon the song "Nobody Likes A Bogan" by Area 7 pretty much explains it!;) :D ;)
<----------who is that gorgeous picture of-lol
Example of a bogan: Chris Franklin.
Rusty Brookes
28 Feb 2002, 07:40
Man I get a bit confused sometimes. I definitely display some bogan traits (drink beer, listen to heavy metal, used to have very long hair, go the footy every week;) , wear mocassins some time, own several flannys) but I also display some non-bogan traits (Drink milk, listen to punk and 60s garage rock, now have shorter hair, wear nice cuban heeled Italian boots, own several nice shirts, go to work in an office 5 times a week).
Where do I fit in the scheme of things?
Signed
Confused:(
dennisismyhero
28 Feb 2002, 10:52
That Area 7 song tells the story perfectly:
"Well he's the king of fashion in his neighborhood,
With his ripped blue jeans and a flannel shirt.
His got a well kept mullet and a packet of smokes,
And his mates will all tell ya he's a real top bloke.
Well his real name is Barry, but his mates call him Bazza.
And his girlfriend's name is Sharon, but you can just call her Shazza.
She's a real top Sheila, a real top sort,
She'll even change your stubby while your watching sport.
But don't victimize him for his way of life,
He's sick and tired of hearing people say...
Nobody likes, nobody likes, nobody likes a bogan.
He drives a VK Commodore with alloy wheels,
With a home made spoiler made from crappy steel.
His got a pair of fluffy dice and all the other toys,
But his No Fear sticker is his pride and joy.
On a Saturday night the boys hit the town.
Yeah they're cruising the streets with all their windows down.
They put on some Barnsey and they're on their way,
You can hear the car coming from a mile away."
BomberGal
28 Feb 2002, 15:27
I dunno but....
nobody likes, nobody likes, nobody likes a bogan!
:D (for anyone who didn't understand, it's a song. for anyone who did....lame joke I know!)
BomberGal
28 Feb 2002, 15:28
damn dennis, you stole my lines!!!!
Blues_Girl
28 Feb 2002, 17:16
Another words a bogan is none other than bigfooty own Docker Brat :D
Sorry sweetie you just couldn't hide it any longer :p
Richmondfan#1
28 Feb 2002, 17:28
Originally posted by pickos_chick
What is a Bogan????
Haha, what a catchy song!
Docker_Brat
1 Mar 2002, 11:34
Originally posted by Blues_Girl
Another words a bogan is none other than bigfooty own Docker Brat :D
Sorry sweetie you just couldn't hide it any longer :p
OI!
I haven't had a mullet since 1990 :p
*sculls a Woodstock*
OK perhaps I miiight be :)
If you want a perfect example of a bogan look around next time you're at Alberton Oval.. or when the footy isn't on in that area, see if you can spot the people with no shoes carrying a stereo into Cash Convertors. :D
Blues_Girl
1 Mar 2002, 11:36
Originally posted by Docker_Brat
OI!
I haven't had a mullet since 1990 :p
*sculls a Woodstock*
OK perhaps I miiight be :)
If you want a perfect example of a bogan look around next time you're at Alberton Oval.. or when the footy isn't on in that area, see if you can spot the people with no shoes carrying a stereo into Cash Convertors. :D
And your last residental address in Adelaide....was indeed Port Adelaide...was it not :D
Don't try to deflect this onto those poor unfortunate "things" from down Port Adelaide way.
Just admit it :D
Docker_Brat
1 Mar 2002, 11:41
And your last residental address in Adelaide....was indeed Port Adelaide...was it not :D
Don't try to deflect this onto those poor unfortunate "things" from down Port Adelaide way.
Just admit it :D
Now that is slanderous! I have never lived within 10km of Port Adelaide, I think that is the safe minimum distance for avoiding disease? :)
Blues_Girl
1 Mar 2002, 11:45
Now that is slanderous! I have never lived within 10km of Port Adelaide, I think that is the safe minimum distance for avoiding disease? :)
Actually I thought it was 15 these days.....so you could be a diseased one :p :D
Docker_Brat
1 Mar 2002, 11:47
Actually I thought it was 15 these days.....so you could be a diseased one :p :D
I passed quarantine at the WA border, I am fine. Thanks for asking ;)
Blues_Girl
1 Mar 2002, 11:49
I passed quarantine at the WA border, I am fine. Thanks for asking ;)
Well WA quarantine.......need I say more :D
Docker_Brat
1 Mar 2002, 11:54
Well WA quarantine.......need I say more :D
WA quarantine is very strict, better than that joke of a stop at Yamba..
I've seen them open parcels and burn Port Power merchandise, just in case.
Blues_Girl
1 Mar 2002, 11:55
WA quarantine is very strict, better than that joke of a stop at Yamba..
I've seen them open parcels and burn Port Power merchandise, just in case.
I'm surprised you didn't recognise my burning all that stuff :D
Docker_Brat
1 Mar 2002, 11:57
I'm surprised you didn't recognise my burning all that stuff :D
At least we don't have to worry about Essendon gear, their own supports pre-burn it.
Blues_Girl
1 Mar 2002, 11:58
At least we don't have to worry about Essendon gear, their own supports pre-burn it.
and a good thing that is too, i'm running outta lighter fluid :D
BomberGal
1 Mar 2002, 13:05
Originally posted by Richmondfan#1
Haha, what a catchy song!
LOL, I reckon the song sucks!! Pity someone sang it during a class and now I've been singing it all day. :mad: :mad:
Rusty Brookes
1 Mar 2002, 14:50
Originally posted by BomberGal
LOL, I reckon the song sucks!!
I agree-I tend to think of that song as A Bogan "No-one likes Area 7"
A bogan is:
A Narre Warren living, Ford V Holden, VB Drinking, Richmond supporting, Acid Wash Jeans wearing, AC/DC listening, Rosebud holidaying, Mulleted, Hallam Hotel attending Troy who is going out with Sharon and has 3 kids named Craig, Barry and Kylie.
Originally posted by Rohan_
A bogan is:
A Narre Warren living, Ford V Holden, VB Drinking, Richmond supporting, Acid Wash Jeans wearing, AC/DC listening, Rosebud holidaying, Mulleted, Hallam Hotel attending Troy who is going out with Sharon and has 3 kids named Craig, Barry and Kylie.
This is very close to describing CJH circa 1986-7!
Only differences were:
Living in Clayton instead of Narre Warren
Frequenting either the Notting Hill or Monash Hotels (both with excellent Bogan credentials!)
Didn't go out with a Shazza and didn't have 3 kids (then!)
Aside from that, was a Holden / Brocky fan, Drank VB religiously, supporting Richmond, had the acid was jeans, have about 5 - 6 AC.DC albums (all on vinyl and still at Mum and Dad's), often went to Rosebud for holidays and had a mean mother of a mullet.
This mullet was further enhance by a rat's tail which was so long that I could grap it and wrap it entirely around my head.
I also had the army jacket, moccasins, flannelette shirts, muscle shirts etc happening.
My how things change! :o
Originally posted by CJH
This is very close to describing CJH circa 1986-7!
Only differences were:
Living in Clayton instead of Narre Warren
Frequenting either the Notting Hill or Monash Hotels (both with excellent Bogan credentials!)
Didn't go out with a Shazza and didn't have 3 kids (then!)
Aside from that, was a Holden / Brocky fan, Drank VB religiously, supporting Richmond, had the acid was jeans, have about 5 - 6 AC.DC albums (all on vinyl and still at Mum and Dad's), often went to Rosebud for holidays and had a mean mother of a mullet.
This mullet was further enhance by a rat's tail which was so long that I could grap it and wrap it entirely around my head.
I also had the army jacket, moccasins, flannelette shirts, muscle shirts etc happening.
My how things change! :o
1986-7 was peak bogan season.
I think Bogans are a little more refined these days and sorry about the generalizations