View Full Version : Devt Squad Semi Final:-Box Hill v Port Melb@ Port Sat 10 Sep 11am
rdhopkins2
6 Sep 2011, 17:12
SEMI FINAL 1
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/photos/fixtures/bhh-vs-port-melbourne.gif
Development Team at 11:00am
at TEAC Oval -
Saturday 10th September
TV?
Radio?
More to follow shortly.
Get down and cheer on the Box Hill Development Team now that our seniors season has unfortunately ended.
TheFourPillars
6 Sep 2011, 17:37
SEMI FINAL 1
http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/photos/fixtures/bhh-vs-port-melbourne.gif
Development Team at 11:00am
at TEAC Oval -
Saturday 10th September
TV?
Radio?
More to follow shortly.
Get down and cheer on the Box Hill Development Team now that our seniors season has unfortunately ended.
Ok here's the deal if the Hawks knock of the cats i will be there. If not i will just be a negative puss and won't have cheerful voice in any case.
The Convert
8 Sep 2011, 17:25
Team is up on the VFL website. No real surprises
I can't see it. Are there many Hawks in? Could be a ridiculously strong squad if they chose.
Edit: Found it buried! Just Stratts and X from the AFL Hawks team. Interesting - I'm not that up to date with VFL selection, but surely that means a few players will be short of match fitness deeper in to the finals.
The Convert
8 Sep 2011, 18:12
Shows a little faith to the Box Hill boys though after last week having to rest a few causing a few problems. Menegola and Mahony played 2s all year and other two on way back in. Probably gives an indication of who Hawks would like to be in line for a game if injuries kick in.
savagelunchbox
8 Sep 2011, 20:19
Doesn't seem fair that the game has to be played at TEAC Oval (Pt Melb's home) when BHH finished on top. Yes i know all finals are played at TEAC, but surely the players aren't that poor that the drive to BH City Oval would send them to the cleaners financially?
rdhopkins2
8 Sep 2011, 22:44
I don't believe there is any TV or even radio coverage of this game...so if you can venture down to Port Melbourne to watch the game, fantastic! I'm sure the boys will appreciate your fanatical support.
The Convert
9 Sep 2011, 09:24
Doesn't seem fair that the game has to be played at TEAC Oval (Pt Melb's home) when BHH finished on top. Yes i know all finals are played at TEAC, but surely the players aren't that poor that the drive to BH City Oval would send them to the cleaners financially?
Just shows the lenghts they need to go to to beat the DS. Mind you still will not work. I only moved here early this year and love the footy they play. The young blokes have real close knit look about them as well as the talent and enthusiasm to keep going. Tomorrow should be good
stemline
9 Sep 2011, 14:41
Who's the DS captain this year?
Interesting they are going for their 3rd flag in a row with 3 different coaches.
Notsoyabby
10 Sep 2011, 09:31
Leigh Kitchen is this years captain
BuddyHawkers
10 Sep 2011, 11:06
Who's in the line up, I can't find it
savagelunchbox
10 Sep 2011, 11:29
Who's in the line up, I can't find it
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-102874-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=16861818§ionID=60264
BuddyHawkers
10 Sep 2011, 11:38
http://www.sportingpulse.com/assoc_page.cgi?client=1-118-0-102874-0&sID=60264&&news_task=DETAIL&articleID=16861818§ionID=60264
Thanks Mate :thumbsu:
The BIG X
10 Sep 2011, 11:42
Who's the DS captain this year?
Interesting they are going for their 3rd flag in a row with 3 different coaches.
Think the BHH senior coaches B Bolton 09/10 and D Carroll 2011 have a lot to do with the success of the Development team.
After the Premierships the 09 Development coach went elsewhere (eastern districts??) looking for greener pastures and last year's coach went to Williamstown not sure this was a great move. Currently Marco Bello is doing a fine job and I sincerely hope he stays for next year.:thumbsu:
walhawk
10 Sep 2011, 12:03
Scores? How are Stratts and X going?
Roger Rogerson
10 Sep 2011, 12:06
from sporting pulse 1/4 time BH 2.4 PM 3.3
Half time, Box Hill down by 6, 37 to 43.
BH kicked a goal after the siren, pumped up going into the rooms.
Strats going along nicely, usual top class work overhead.
3/4 time, down by two. 47 to 49.
Roger Rogerson
10 Sep 2011, 13:35
3/4 time, down by two. 47 to 49.
keep the updates coming scout!! great work.
Roger Rogerson
10 Sep 2011, 13:45
We win 74-69.!!!!! you beauty!!!
Roger Rogerson
10 Sep 2011, 13:46
Box Hill 10.14-74
Port 10.9-69
Victory! 74 to 69.
BH almost looked done, but put in a stirring effort to grab the win.
Time Machine
10 Sep 2011, 14:04
Great win, hard to beat those Borough buggers on their own ditch, take some momentum into the GF, will be hard to toss.
stemline
10 Sep 2011, 14:05
Box Hill Hawks 2.4 5.7 6.11 10.14 (74)
Port Melbourne 3.3 6.7 7.7 10.9 (69)
GOALS:
Box Hill Hawks: Johns 2 MENEGOLA 2 Fagan 2 Allen Hoegel Cust Kennedy
Port Melbourne: Henderson 4 Wall Sinclair Johnston Free Smith Purcell
BEST:
Box Hill Hawks: STRATTON Northe Allen Johns Kitchin Ralph
Port Melbourne: Sinclair Martin Henderson Purcell Burge Keely
LuvMyHawks
10 Sep 2011, 15:16
What a great effort by them...Well done, boys...Something is going right this weekend for us...
Hawker_Ant
10 Sep 2011, 15:30
Yay! Sounds like a triffic come-from-behind win. Would have been a great game to watch.
Nice to hear that Stratts is getting his halo back on straight. Chuck Norris will be trembling in his boots again. Menagola seems to be coming along nicely too.
stemline
10 Sep 2011, 16:25
Apparetly 14 points down with 4 mins to go. Came back and snatched it.
TheFourPillars
10 Sep 2011, 16:32
Apparetly 14 points down with 4 mins to go. Came back and snatched it.
Its called belief you can't buy that...
The Convert
10 Sep 2011, 17:05
That was a bit close. Probably the game they needed after a great season and a week off. Should be better for it next week.
Statton back for Hawks next week
ordivician
11 Sep 2011, 01:21
An interesting game.
Missed the first and more or less ignored most of the second.
I then sat down and watched the third intently. Got sucked in and stayed 'til the end forgoing the opportunity to watch the start of the game at the 'G; a much needed tonic of seeing how a real footy side goes about it after watching the sorry efforts served up by the hawks seniors last night.
Persons of note in attendance:
The little scallywag himself Clarko looking decidedly concerned.
My hero Brendan Bolton who should be our senior coach, and the old bloke with the funny head (Fagan???).
Caroll the BH seniors coach and some of his lackeys.
A smattering of Hawks players, which was a bit disappointing being restricted to Chaney (good lad), Grimers (who reckoned he could have played) and someone else. That's right it was Lukey Luke Lowden! the dookie dasher! Great to see these blokes come and lend their moral support it shows real character.
As for the rest of them what a piss poor effort not showing up considering that the DS kids really deserved their support. FFS even Brendan Fevalenko (you beuddty!) was out there at our three quarter time huddle, lending his much needed moral support and guidance by example.
The game:
With all of the injuries to AFL team and to so many of the listed Hawks players, we fielded a very young and light team.
If some of our Hawks younguns had been available like Grimers, Hallahan, Wangas and Langers all of whom have played some DS footy, although some of these players may not be eligible, then we could have fielded a far stronger team. As if was we had no real rucks nor any true keys.
Whilst we trailed for the second quarter I was not really concerned as I thought our lads would extract the digit and burn of the port trash who had more than enough player who looked like they were in their late 20's and had failed third graded four or five times. You know the types that make you wonder why the stuff did the State government ever abandon the technical school system that was a perfect preparation for being a bogan tradie for the sub-litterate or graduating to a life of intermittent internment at the hands of the in the criminal justice system for the functionally illiterate scions of the lumpen proletariat.
Similarly the third was dour struggle where I expected the DS to cut lose. We certainly missed a few opportunities and one goal four was not a great return but at eth end of eth premiership quarter wew were only two points behind.
Unfortuantely Port the impudent rapscallions of the local boganatariat, came out at the start of the last quarter playing as if they some how deserved to win. Where modern youth derive their inflated sense of entitlement from is beyond me, however the education system and all those bolshie teachers no doubt should bare a fair proportion of the blame (and let us not forget the nation destroying efforts of the bloody ALP & and what passes for the Liberal party)).
Anyway halfway through the last we looked done. A couple of goals down and effectively out. Fortunately I had found CS lurking by the fence so I decided to torment him instead regarding in inflated belief in the abilities of the senior team and saint Clarko. But then a miracle occured and the natural order was restored; the DS fought back snagged a few nice goals including a very neat one to Menas. We rode out a tense last two minutes with CS cussing (as he is too much of a gentleman and gentle soul to swear) the port (his words) timekeeper :D, to score a great come from victory. For those that care teh ball was deep in our left forward pocket when teh siren went with Ellis lying on his back ahving just sucessfully hand passed teh ball of his stomach at the forth attempt.
Great stuff indeed but next week let us look forward to a more dominating effort.
Some hawks listed players:
Stratton:
Looked a cut above at this level and so he bloody well should!.
Was composed in the air and took some nice (neat) relieving marks. Did not dominate at ground level as he should have. May a have been best on ground but it was an unconvincing effort for a good level AFL player who should have ripped it apart agianst the kids at this level. I can only conclude, rightfully that he is still rusty and a fair way from being AFL match ready. But then again we may well see for ourselves next Friday.
Ellis:
What a joke that this bloke has been granted a three year contract!!!
He was ineffective for pretty much the whole of the second half. I thought he may have been good at this level or even ESFL, but his body is so messed up that he can barely perform at this level and then the club grants him a three contract :mad:. Bloody hell if this year is anything to go by, and I can't see why this should not be the case, he'll need a good two years to get his body right.
His hips?/legs?/ankles are badly out of alignment. Even at this level he can't get through a game and not get hurt (and he looked very sore and sorry on the bench in the middle of the last) just taking the normal bumps. I really don't care that "Ellis should have won the norm smith in teh 08 GF ... bleat ... bleat ..." that was then when he had a future and thus is now and his future looks decidedly tenous.
Menagola:
Kicked two goals.
I noticed he did a lot of nice things around the ball: he layed some very good good tackles, effected some good spoils and knock ons, and took some sound marks. unfortunately he absolutely burnt three or four (some counts) short passes.
Is short kicking not his forte? After all Clarko has even the DS playing this short kicking sideways slow ball movement rubbish that so sadly afflicts the AFL team. I suppose it is just ok for the DS to slavishly follow this style as they lack large forward targets; their tallest forwards are 190-1cm Kennedy (no relation) and Monkhorst (no relation).
Mahoney:
Ran around and looked like a fotballer. Did not get a great deal of it but did not make any obvious errors (that I noticed at least). A very solid build dare I say it nuggety?
Some other players of possible interest:
Murphy:
Xavier, named after our best afield 08 GF hero, and apparently younger brother of Tom of the same name. Very lightly build kid but has real go and plays with intensity. I am sure he has played a few firsts games late in the year and not looked out of place. It will be interesting to see how he developsand whether or not there is a place for kids this small and light in modern footy.
Ralph:
I still don't know his surname but had a far quieter day than his firsts finals debut last week. Clearly blew up by the last and could not make the distance from a set shot 45m out when we were coming back. Having seen him kick so well last week this was disappionting especially given the context.
Still he played pretty much a lone hand in the ruck. The DS could really do with a proper +200cm ruck prospect (and some 195 cm keys as well!). He definately needs to lose a lot of weight ~10 kgs.
Northe:
We've all seen him in play some creditable footy the firsts and was deservedly named in the best today. A solid effort.
Notsoyabby
11 Sep 2011, 08:04
Take out one or two name players from both Teams and they were both teams of developing players although Port did look like they had players with bigger bodies.
A good team effort with special mention to Kitch. A great captain's effort to extrate the ball from the pack in the dying minutes which lead to a goal.
Some interesting match up's:
Callum Sinclair (PM) against Ben Monkhurst (BH - son of): 200 cm 95kg v 189 cm 83 kg
Adrian Bonnaddio (PM - hardly slighted) against Dylan Van Unen (BH) : 195 cm 112 kg v 189 cm 84 kg
Tim Martin (PM) against Josh Ralph (BH - or is that Ralph Josh??? :)): 200 cm 100 Kg v 192 cm 94 kg
Great effort from these guys. I would say Ralphy and Monky broke even with Dylan winning his one on one.
3 in a row on the cards. Well done DS
dermott
11 Sep 2011, 10:38
Thanks for your report ordivician. It was as usual erudite and esoteric giving an unusual perspective on the development of players at Box Hill. I always look forward to reading your acerbic commentary. Keep up the good work.
The Convert
11 Sep 2011, 11:19
Size wise these young blokes have been up against it all year but they mange to compete and win both one on one contests and around the ground as if it the way things should be. Just a desire to do it for each other. Kitch was absolutely inspirational as the leader yesterday. The club measures honest efforts with a target of 200 for the day. This means blokes should average around 9-10 whilst I hear Kitch got to 27. Unbelievable effort. Hope they go on with it
Mississippi
11 Sep 2011, 14:33
This was a great win by the DS. No doubt they were gone at the 24 minute mark. A lead to Port of 14 points - and all the Port supporters milling around the Port bench giving themselves high 5s and grinning like cheshire cats.
Then we scored 3 hard goals from nowhere. And one of the players in the last quarter - who brought that about - was Ellis, in the packs winning some hard balls. I didn't mind his game at all. He was closely tagged for 120 minutes by Josh Purcell. It was a good work out for X who took a couple of heavy knocks when going for the ball. I liked the way he got up and kept going.
I also liked the games from Rob Allen and Aaron Johns (although he missed a couple of sitters).
The win was more meritorious because we were absolutely thrashed in the ruck - completely outbodied. The hit outs would have been about 50 to 3. And Port had their big man Sinclair, in the 2nd half dropping back and taking a dozen or so marks uncontested on our full forward line.
But, by far, the biggest hurdle we overcame was the handicap known as the crap short kicking/sideways chip game the poor buggers have to play under Clarkson's direction. The last thing this side really needs to do is to have to move the ball slowly and sideways into the forward line allowing Port to pack the backline and have talls like Sinclair outmark our stationary short forwards. Had we not gifted 5 or 6 goals to Port, because of the turnovers that occur when we over-use the ball because of this defective gameplan, then we would not have been 14 points down with 6 or so minutes to go.
The Convert
11 Sep 2011, 16:20
If the forwards were stationary it means they were not doing their job. The game plan provides for good options in the forward line and staionary will never do that. A couplew of games around 2 months ago had a very open structure up front and the young bloke on his own created some good goals and disposals. Did not see him there yesterday. Injured maybe but much better efforts thasn yesterday.
TheFourPillars
11 Sep 2011, 17:26
thanks for that ordi will definitely make it next week
whiteandred
13 Sep 2011, 23:38
Hey congratulations to the boys for a great season and good luck on Saturday!
There are plenty of ex-Sydney boys running around for you guys.
Could someone offer an appraisal on their progress this year?
Of particular interest the St George boys; Cooper brothers and James Wilsen (though i understand James has had injury problems)
Thanks!:thumbsu: