View Full Version : Dees contingency plan..

chiliboy
2 Oct 2003, 11:16
It has becoming apparent that if Melbourne is to lose out on Jade Rawlings, it will almost certainly do a deal for out of favour docker, Trent Croad..

The deal would likely involve St.Kilda's heath black to fremantle, and would see the demons swap their 5th pick for St.Kilda's, as the saints want to guarantee themselves Raphael clarke..

Rawlings will announce his club of choice today, believed to be either the cats or demons..

Melbourne has also intensified its bid for dean Solomon , and will raise the offer even higher if Rawlings joins the cats..

bogan_blue
2 Oct 2003, 16:50
I would bet u any money that Melbourne won't get Rawlings, Croad or Solomon.
Who would want to go to that Rabble.
Contigencey plan ?
Bring back Joe Gutnick (Where is that moron anyway ?)

Tim56
2 Oct 2003, 16:53
Rabble, eh? Carlton are looking really good for 2004, aren't they? You should bring back Jack Elliott.

rda
2 Oct 2003, 18:28
Originally posted by chiliboy
It has becoming apparent that if Melbourne is to lose out on Jade Rawlings, it will almost certainly do a deal for out of favour docker, Trent Croad..

The deal would likely involve St.Kilda's heath black to fremantle, and would see the demons swap their 5th pick for St.Kilda's, as the saints want to guarantee themselves Raphael clarke..

If that deal goes down i will be very disappointed, Croad for the 5th pick is way too much.

Broadbridge_20
2 Oct 2003, 18:52
Originally posted by rda
If that deal goes down i will be very disappointed, Croad for the 5th pick is way too much.

We'd be swapping pick 5 for pick 8 and gaining a potentially lethal CHF. It's a great deal for us.

morgoth
2 Oct 2003, 18:53
If he has another poor year Croad will be trading for a third round pick. His days of attracting first round picks are long gone, high second round if Freo were lucky.

He is not Pavlich.

superstar
2 Oct 2003, 19:07
Originally posted by Broadbridge_20
We'd be swapping pick 5 for pick 8 and gaining a potentially lethal CHF. It's a great deal for us.

Potentially lethal CHF alright...

...for Sandringham.

Seb
2 Oct 2003, 19:11
Croad might be handy down back for the Dees.

Deestroy
2 Oct 2003, 19:29
Pick 5 for Pick 8 & Croad I would do.
Croad could be a handy CHB.

Broadbridge_20
2 Oct 2003, 19:48
Originally posted by Deestroy
Pick 5 for Pick 8 & Croad I would do.
Croad could be a handy CHB.

I wouldn't lay too much hope in him being any good as a CHB.

Discipline, strength and consistency, the 3 key components to being a good backmen are not Croads major strengths.

Trying him there to get some confidence up wouldnt hurt but essentially he's a pure forward.

Falchoon
2 Oct 2003, 20:15
Doesn't seem a great deal for St Kilda. As much as we rate Clarke their is still a chance he'll be available at 8 and a chance he'll be gone by 5.

I say bypass Melbourne and go Black for Croad, take our chances at getting Clarke and if we miss out pick up someone like Watts. Seems the better option.

CowboyFromHell
2 Oct 2003, 20:42
Originally posted by Falchoon
Doesn't seem a great deal for St Kilda. As much as we rate Clarke their is still a chance he'll be available at 8 and a chance he'll be gone by 5.

I say bypass Melbourne and go Black for Croad, take our chances at getting Clarke and if we miss out pick up someone like Watts. Seems the better option.

Not from our point of view it isn't! ;)

Robelosis
2 Oct 2003, 20:55
Discipline, strength and consistency, the 3 key components to being a good backmen are not Croads major strengths

And they were strengths of Clint Bizzell before he came to Melbourne?

Croad would be perfect at CHB.

Broadbridge_20
2 Oct 2003, 21:21
Originally posted by Robelosis
And they were strengths of Clint Bizzell before he came to Melbourne?

Croad would be perfect at CHB.

Clint Bizzell was always a better player in defense for Geelong than he was up forward and Croad played his best football for Hawthorn in attack. They're uncomparable anyway because theyre totally different players.

Unless we could turn Croad around 180 degrees Croad in defense would be a nightmare.

Robelosis
2 Oct 2003, 22:05
Bizzell barely played at all in defense.

His only notable games where at FF for Geelong, where he was once the next Gary Ablett.

He played his junior footy down back, but not a lot of it down in Geelong. About as much down back as Neitz did down forward in his first couple of years at Melbourne.

I reckon we could turn Croad around.

superstar
2 Oct 2003, 22:11
1. Bizzell could always play football, it was just a matter of him putting it together. Croad is a poor footballer.

2. Bizzell was never as undisciplined and stupid as Croad. I can't believe he's still some of the things we thought he'd grow out of at 17.

You wouldn't give up a first round pick for him.

Demonheart
3 Oct 2003, 10:37
Originally posted by superstar
1. Bizzell could always play football, it was just a matter of him putting it together. Croad is a poor footballer.

2. Bizzell was never as undisciplined and stupid as Croad. I can't believe he's still some of the things we thought he'd grow out of at 17.

You wouldn't give up a first round pick for him.

Agreed, Croad is not the answer for us, unless it was for a later pick. How much money would he demand? With pick 5 we could get one of Sylvia, Bradley, or Clarke. I'd prefer to give away another player to the saints for pick 8 and have picks 3,5 & 8.