View Full Version : Stevens to nominate Carlton

Cuba
3 Oct 2003, 12:49
Expect this afternoon or tomorrow that Nick Stevens will haeded Carlton's way. I believe a four year deal. I'm a Collingwood man so a little disappointed, but the pies i believe aren't to concerned, we were more into a ruckman and key forward. The pies right into Dean Cox, Ben Holland. I also believe that Mark Mercuri could be a magpie next season. Funny thing about this is that i thought Nick Stevens wanted to play finals football in Melbourne.

Lloydy!
3 Oct 2003, 12:55
highly doubt...source?

IceTemple
3 Oct 2003, 13:01
Stevens can nominate Timbuctoo if he wants BUT it is the club that arranges a trade so we will probably not find out where anyone goes until trade week.

morgoth
3 Oct 2003, 13:03
Cuba

That is quite odd as Port are already negiating with the Pies as we are the club of his choice. Must have been a big back flip.

Lloydy!
3 Oct 2003, 13:04
collingwoods deal

HERE HAVE KINNEAR OR MCGOTH AND 33333th pick ;)

im sure port are tossing and turning about this deal

stefoid
3 Oct 2003, 13:11
Carlton will go for the preseason draft, wont they? They are desperate and have no scruples.

kouta_43
3 Oct 2003, 13:13
CUBA! source?

chiliboy
3 Oct 2003, 13:13
He Will announce monday that port will decide an appropriate deal from either : Bombers, Demons, Pies..

Sezzac
3 Oct 2003, 13:20
Carlton will go for the preseason draft, wont they? They are desperate and have no scruples.

In our position, which is somewhere down **** creek, you want us to have scruples as well? Do me a favour.

This is big business not kindergarden stuff. Wake up and smell the cut grass.

Demonheart
3 Oct 2003, 13:41
What will Carlton give up for Stevens? Surely not their priority pick.

captain ebert
3 Oct 2003, 13:49
just as long as port gets cooney....;)

Deej
3 Oct 2003, 13:49
Port screwed us over with the French/pick 18 deal, now they're trying to screw us over with a Stevens/pick 2 deal, I'm sick of their demands and frankly I hope Stevens nominates for the pre-season draft and puts a certain price on his head that lets us get him for zip. Basically it's **** Port Adelaide and their bull**** demands, lets get him for free.

Would be surprised if this happened, but I hope it does. The audacity of them to disrespect the Carlton Football Club in this way, we eat you lot for dinner bloody fishbowl champions.

captain ebert
3 Oct 2003, 13:51
Originally posted by Deej
Port screwed us over with the French/pick 18 deal, now they're trying to screw us over with a Stevens/pick 2 deal, I'm sick of their demands and frankly I hope Stevens nominates for the pre-season draft and puts a certain price on his head that lets us get him for zip. Basically it's **** Port Adelaide and their bull**** demands, lets get him for free.

Would be surprised if this happened, but I hope it does. The audacity of them to disrespect the Carlton Football Club in this way, we eat you lot for dinner bloody fishbowl champions.

youre full of $hit mate, just like your club.

Deej
3 Oct 2003, 13:58
Originally posted by captain ebert
youre full of $hit mate, just like your club. How so buddy? Please explain how exactly i am full of ****.

electricsix
3 Oct 2003, 14:02
if carlton trade pick 2 they are mental.

stevens is very good but by the time carlton build a competitive side [2-3 years] a number 2 pick would be a gun anyway.

if they go for stevens with this pick it is backward thinking.

fair enough if they get him in the pre-season draft but this wont happen as port will want some form of compo.

im tipping essendon will get him for danny jacobs and their second pick.

collingwood simply do not have anything to offer.

stevens will prefer collingwood then essendon then carlton.

however port desperately need a defender and jacobs fits the bill.

i expect this to be the case. collingwood do not even have players to trade for draft picks.

thoughts?

Zombie
3 Oct 2003, 14:09
If we trade to Carlton is there any chance of them trading Whitnall?

captain ebert
3 Oct 2003, 14:10
How so buddy? Please explain how exactly i am full of ****.

well, just re-read your previous post for starters - if that doesnt help, then i'm sorry, i cant do any more for you ;)

Lloydy!
3 Oct 2003, 14:11
Originally posted by electricsix

stevens is very good but by the time carlton build a competitive side [2-3 years] a number 2 pick would be a gun anyway.

fair enough if they get him in the pre-season draft but this wont happen as port will want some form of compo.

im tipping essendon will get him for danny jacobs and their second pick.

stevens will prefer collingwood then essendon then carlton.

however port desperately need a defender and jacobs fits the bill.

i expect this to be the case. collingwood do not even have players to trade for draft picks.

thoughts?

yerp, even tho i hate giving players to port, its gonna happen, jacobs is what they need NOW and could head a good backline in later years, youth and experience are on his side, and for a bonus they get a pick.. id say its a good deal for both clubs.... jacobs will fit in nicely in adelaide with his relaxed / laid back attitude

GOOD LUCK SON

Deej
3 Oct 2003, 14:12

What surprises me is just HOW incompetent people think Carlton are. Amazes me. People must just think that we have monkeys running things down there. How did we ever get 16 flags, Essendon's equal in flags, Collingwood's nemisys in many a GF, look at our head to head against every other club...it wasn't all a fluke surely...could so many of you people possibly be that stupid to underestimate us that much???

Oh well, good for us me thinks, LOVE being the underdog!

FIGJAM
3 Oct 2003, 14:14
We can secure another first round, early second round pick. Combined, they might seal the deal.

Port can then on trade one or both picks to address immediate needs.

Cuba, we, the fans, might be more into a ruckman and key forward, but the coaches seemingly have a different view.

I want Stevens in our side. We should be able to strike a deal, surely!?!

David_02
3 Oct 2003, 14:22
stevens goin to collingwood trading place with alan didak and richard cole. Bother getting traded because they want to go home back to s.a. but they will still need more for stevens so rhyse shaw or someone like that might go aswell.

FIGJAM
3 Oct 2003, 14:27
Originally posted by David_02
stevens goin to collingwood trading place with alan didak and richard cole. Bother getting traded because they want to go home back to s.a. but they will still need more for stevens so rhyse shaw or someone like that might go aswell.
What ever you do during the day, stick to it!!

Zombie
3 Oct 2003, 14:29
What surprises me is just HOW incompetent people think Carlton are. Amazes me. People must just think that we have monkeys running things down there. How did we ever get 16 flags, Essendon's equal in flags, Collingwood's nemisys in many a GF, look at our head to head against every other club...it wasn't all a fluke surely...could so many of you people possibly be that stupid to underestimate us that much???

Oh well, good for us me thinks, LOVE being the underdog!

Huh? Weren't you the one just complaining about getting screwed in a trade?

Porthos
3 Oct 2003, 14:30

Would be surprised if this happened, but I hope it does. The audacity of them to disrespect the Carlton Football Club in this way, we eat you lot for dinner bloody fishbowl champions. If you want to talk about disrespect come trading time, how about Carlton bull**** about taking him for free, offering rubbish trades like Campo and and third round pick, launching major bids at our players for the second year running and so on. If you want trading respect, earn it. All Carlton have shown an ability to do in the past is throw money at players, and hey, they're still doing it.

Pick 2 would be an awesome deal for Carlton if they're after a genuine top rate midfielder right now. I'd be very ****ed off if thats all we got, because it isn't enough - if we can't get Cooney, then pick #2 is not much better than a later one, unless we trade it on. But frankly without that pick, Carlton can't address any of our needs.

If your club don't want to trade real player value, then they won't get real players. End of story. Your complaint is about him not being great value for your side - essentially, your complaint is with the Carlton Football Club for not knowing what they need to get. Take it up with them.

godees
3 Oct 2003, 14:48
We'll offer pick 5.
If you need a back man as well you can have Lamb or Nicholson (although I don't think you'd be too keen).
Now that Rawlings is out of the question, I think we should really go after Stevens. Our midfield is almost as poor as our tall backs and a player of his calibre would be a great addition.

Magpie
3 Oct 2003, 15:01
Mark Mercuri LMAO

morgoth
3 Oct 2003, 15:05
I love reading we have nothing to offer from our playing stocks yet the 14 clubs that finished below us are chock full of talent.

Yeah I would take a fringe player from the Dees over the runners up anyday of the year!

Unless Stephens decides otherwise he will go the club of his choice or the Blues. Simply put, Port refuse to deal with his club of choice they can:

1. Put an alternative trade to him and hope he takes it
2. Get nothing and watch him go in the pre-season.

Stephens holds all the cards, if he decided to go in the draft to Carlton than Port are stuffed.

Dane Swan Fan
3 Oct 2003, 15:11
Blah. Bull**** thread. Collingwood is going after Nick hard. Nick was a Collingwood supporter growing up so i think he would choose Collingwood over Carlton.

Babylove
3 Oct 2003, 15:17
I thought that Carlton said they weren't going to trade their No.2 draft pick it being their only pick in the first two rounds?!

bogan_blue
3 Oct 2003, 15:22
If we trade to Carlton is there any chance of them trading Whitnall?

Deal !!!
However I can't see how Whitnall could fit into Port's structure unless you slot him somewhere in the backline.
Be rapt if we did that deal IMO.

Zombie
3 Oct 2003, 15:32
Originally posted by bogan_blue
Deal !!!
However I can't see how Whitnall could fit into Port's structure unless you slot him somewhere in the backline.
Be rapt if we did that deal IMO.

I reckon he would fit into Port's structutre perfectly, put him at FF, Tredrea at CHF and swing C.Cornes to a CHB role.

We'd proabably be after more than just Whitnall but it would just be interesting to know if he would be on the tradeable list or not. You guys could trade to get T.Croad and we'd trade you N.Stevens for Whitnall and Croad, how does that sound? I'm sure Croad wouldn't cost you that much.

Jars458
3 Oct 2003, 15:32
How so buddy? Please explain how exactly i am full of ****.

Stevens is worth pick 2

Carlton don't eat Port for breakfeast

Such demands have nothing to do with disresepct

Carlton have only themselves to blame for accepting the French deal

Its you who is dis-respectig Port.

Laughable from a supporter of a club who are in as much trouble as Carlton.

FIGJAM
3 Oct 2003, 15:38
Originally posted by Porthos
If you want to talk about disrespect come trading time, how about Carlton bull**** about taking him for free, offering rubbish trades like Campo and and third round pick, launching major bids at our players for the second year running and so on. If you want trading respect, earn it. All Carlton have shown an ability to do in the past is throw money at players, and hey, they're still doing it.

Pick 2 would be an awesome deal for Carlton if they're after a genuine top rate midfielder right now. I'd be very ****ed off if thats all we got, because it isn't enough - if we can't get Cooney, then pick #2 is not much better than a later one, unless we trade it on. But frankly without that pick, Carlton can't address any of our needs.

If your club don't want to trade real player value, then they won't get real players. End of story. Your complaint is about him not being great value for your side - essentially, your complaint is with the Carlton Football Club for not knowing what they need to get. Take it up with them.
Nice to see Deej's *'s rubbing off.

You'd still be happy (so to speak) with two first rounders though, yeah??

bogan_blue
3 Oct 2003, 15:39
We'd proabably be after more than just Whitnall but it would just be interesting to know if he would be on the tradeable list or not. You guys could trade to get T.Croad and we'd trade you N.Stevens for Whitnall and Croad, how does that sound? I'm sure Croad wouldn't cost you that much.

Problem is, Carlton haven't got any more draft picks or decent tradeable players to barter with, so i doubt we could get Croad (not that I would want him anyway)
Not sure if Port actually do need more talls, I would have thought you need a Mark Coughlan type on-baller who is tough and quick.

electricsix
3 Oct 2003, 15:41
Originally posted by FIGJAM
We can secure another first round, early second round pick. Combined, they might seal the deal.

Port can then on trade one or both picks to address immediate needs.

Cuba, we, the fans, might be more into a ruckman and key forward, but the coaches seemingly have a different view.

I want Stevens in our side. We should be able to strike a deal, surely!?!

who are the pies gonna trade to improve their draft position

they have nothing to trade

Porthos
3 Oct 2003, 15:49
Originally posted by FIGJAM
Nice to see Deej's *'s rubbing off.

You'd still be happy (so to speak) with two first rounders though, yeah?? If the second one was higher than our first rounder, sure.

electricsix
3 Oct 2003, 15:49
also you have commited two picks to the shaw boys so that limits your ability to trade aswell

FIGJAM
3 Oct 2003, 16:10
If the second one was higher than our first rounder, sure.
Now you're just getting fussy!

FIGJAM
3 Oct 2003, 16:12
also you have commited two picks to the shaw boys so that limits your ability to trade aswell
This is true, but we do have some good players who will be traded.

Dunno about getting a pick 11 - 15 though. Tough one!

Free Willy
3 Oct 2003, 16:14
Originally posted by Jars458
Stevens is worth pick 2

Carlton don't eat Port for breakfeast

Such demands have nothing to do with disresepct

Carlton have only themselves to blame for accepting the French deal

Its you who is dis-respectig Port.

Laughable from a supporter of a club who are in as much trouble as Carlton.

As average as French has been for Carlton, we were lucky to land him or anything for pick 18.
This is a pick we would have lost & if Carlton were as low down & dirty as some are saying out there, we would have ontraded picks 1 or 2 or both as the board knew they were stuffed.
It appears Carlton paid the price for tat 2nd round pick as we dont get a pick to the 3rd round........ some irony perhaps ??

Moving forward as good as Stevens is, the best thing for Carlton is to pick up a young star with pick 2, hopefully attract some good mid range players like a Guerra or whoever else opts out in the next week or so.
Finally can people on this board please stop bandying about trades involving 2nd round picks to carlton as we are banned until the 3rd round !

We have to invest in youth, bide our time & that may even involve having picks 1&2 next year regrettably.

:(

Porthos
3 Oct 2003, 16:19
We actualy had to give up our second round pick + French for that second round pick in the end.

Free Willy
3 Oct 2003, 16:35
We actualy had to give up our second round pick + French for that second round pick in the end.

if you like you can have him back - or livingston for free if you want a project player that may take up to 10 years to realise he is absolutely useless !

Deej
3 Oct 2003, 16:49
Stevens is worth pick 2No he is not. Only a topliner is worth pick 2, Francou isn't even worth pick 2. Pick 2 gets you a Daniel Wells or a Chris Judd, or better. With Stevens you already know what you've got, an above average midfielder at best. Pick 2 has the potential to be anything.

Macca19
3 Oct 2003, 16:55
Originally posted by morgoth

Stephens

Its about the 20th time youve called him that. Surely understanding that his name is Nick Stevens isnt that hard to grasp?

Jars458
3 Oct 2003, 17:04
Pick 2 has the potential to be anything.

True, could be the best AFL player ever or could never play an AFL game

Stevens is top line AFL performer and is only 23 and has experience

histroy shows he is worth a number 2 pick in my opinion.

Deej
3 Oct 2003, 18:15
Stevens is top line AFL performerVoss, Buckley, Koutoufides, Hird, McLeod, Ackermanis, they are your topline performers.

Josh Francou isn't in this class let alone Nick Stevens.

I guess it's just our opinions of how good Nick Stevens is that's different. If he comes to Carlton, IF he comes, I'll watch the guy for 6 weeks and be able to tell you exactly how good he is compared to our decent footballers. At the moment I still think Camporeale is a better footballer, with the right support Campo is absolutely lethal still mate don't you worry. And I wouldn't think Campo would be worth pick 2 in anyone's language.

Porthos
3 Oct 2003, 18:21
Voss, Buckley, Koutoufides, Hird, McLeod, Ackermanis, they are your topline performers.

Josh Francou isn't in this class let alone Nick Stevens.Nick Stevens isn't as old as any of those players either. He's certainly well placed to take an Akermanis-like step up though.

At the moment I still think Camporeale is a better footballer, with the right support Campo is absolutely lethal still mate don't you worry. And I wouldn't think Campo would be worth pick 2 in anyone's language. That would be because of his age. In 2000, he easily would've got a #2 and more.

Deej, the only reason he might not be worth pick #2 TO CARLTON is because they aren't good enough right now to merit the trade. To any other club with a decent bit of structure to their side, he is easily worth it.

Deej
3 Oct 2003, 18:27
the only reason he might not be worth pick #2 TO CARLTON is because they aren't good enough right now to merit the trade. To any other club with a decent bit of structure to their side, he is easily worth it. Yeah ok maybe. Personally I still wouldn't trade the pick for Stevens though even if we were like 2000, because you can get a player that could be the next Royce Hart or Craig Bradley or BJ Goddard with pick 2 and I just think that possibility alone makes the top 2 picks worth their weight in gold.

Maybe my opinion of these high draft picks explains why I believe we were punished over the top last year....

Ching
3 Oct 2003, 18:34
Maybe my opinion of these high draft picks explains why I believe we were punished over the top last year....

Someone told me it was because you cheated???

blackdiamond
3 Oct 2003, 21:38
Originally posted by Macca19
Its about the 20th time youve called him that. Surely understanding that his name is Nick Stevens isnt that hard to grasp?

Morgoth reminds me of those supporters who make the banners for the players and forever mispells the names and words.

blackdiamond
3 Oct 2003, 21:41
Voss, Buckley, Koutoufides, Hird, McLeod, Ackermanis, they are your topline performers.

Josh Francou isn't in this class let alone Nick Stevens.

I guess it's just our opinions of how good Nick Stevens is that's different. If he comes to Carlton, IF he comes, I'll watch the guy for 6 weeks and be able to tell you exactly how good he is compared to our decent footballers. At the moment I still think Camporeale is a better footballer, with the right support Campo is absolutely lethal still mate don't you worry. And I wouldn't think Campo would be worth pick 2 in anyone's language.

While it might be fair to say Stevens isn't in the class of Voss or Buckley it still doesn't mean he isn't work pick 1 or 2 in the draft. It just means that Voss or Buckley would be worth pick 1 and 2.