View Full Version : Best player you have played with or against

Cupido13
3 Oct 2003, 15:34
Hi everyone, just looking for a best player you have played with or against, outside of State League, District Cricket or Premier League. ie. the WACA, SACA, Sydney Grade, Victorian Premier Cricket.

I am more looking for country comps. or sub districts. The chances are the best will probably be overseas players (which is fine), but there is always the chance the odd Jamie Siddons (went back and played country cricket for a few years after he retired) or someone of the like will pop up.

Cupido13
3 Oct 2003, 15:42
Personally, I have played with or against Upul Fernando (Sri Lankan Test Squad member during late 90's), Jacques Rudolf (current South African batsman).

I would say I saw better from Upul but Jacques is probably the better player!

NakedDeadGuy
3 Oct 2003, 18:37
Steven Lind, I think he's represented Australia Country XI a few times.
Lindsay Davidson, ex Tasmania was captain/coach at my old club for a while.
Spud Davidson, current opening bowler for North Melbourne played in the same comp.
Dave Perryman, a pom who came out for a couple of years played with us and was a very good leggie.
Played against Cameron White's old man Russell, he was an absolute gun - huge man, big hitter and awkward to face in a Joel Garner kind of way - he really is a big bugger!

Not much there really I suppose.

Bresh
3 Oct 2003, 20:09
Played with Callum Ferguson, Ken Skewes, Cullen Bailey...

Played against Mark Cosgrove, Trent Kelly...

dr nick
3 Oct 2003, 20:15
Played against Stuart Clarke 2 years ago, when he was just coming back from a back injury and thus playing in the lower grades.

carringbush
3 Oct 2003, 20:22
had the privledge of facing alan hurst who for you younger blokes, opened the bowling for australia in the lambs to the slaughter tour of england

dees 4 life
3 Oct 2003, 21:37
I have played with Cam White and Will Carr. Also Warren Aryes.

Dipper
3 Oct 2003, 23:28
Originally posted by NakedDeadGuy
Dave Perryman, a pom who came out for a couple of years played with us and was a very good leggie.

Bloody hell do the England selector's know about him, they'd kill for a leg spinner any leg spinner.

Can't go any worse than the non turning brigade led by Robert Croft.

I once played against former England left armer John Lever when he was a PE teacher at my school.........trouble was it was a game of football.

He was quite good though, he nearly broke my mate's leg & my mate hada go back at breaking one of his.:D

skilts
4 Oct 2003, 09:48
Originally posted by carringbush
had the privledge of facing alan hurst who for you younger blokes, opened the bowling for australia in the lambs to the slaughter tour of england

Was that when he played with Melton?

Saw him play in his first season for Melton the year after he left Test cricket. He was a bit too good for our blokes. It was the first game of the season and it was freezing, as is often the case at Melton.

He ran through our batting and our off-spinner was the last man in. He had been ****ing himself as he saw his more talented team mates succumb to Hurst. Eventually, reluctantly, he had to go out and face the music. I think it was the second ball, a yorker which smashed into his boot. Innings over.

To our eternal shame, I and the other members of the team thought this was incredibly funny. Don't think the offy shared our amusement, especially after spending 6 weeks with his leg up, so-to-speak.

Best player I played with was Peter Bedford, at school. Played in a team in the YCW Sunday comp. which contained six district firsts cricketers. I opened the batting and the bowling, mainly bcause nobody else wanted to. We got into the finals, only to be creamed by the opposition, who had a bloke called Gary Lazarus playing for them. He was also the full-forward for Fitzroy at the time.

Lazarus made about 50 against us and another bloke made 80, in the semi. Lucky we didn't make it through to the final, because these two blokes became very serious indeed. They had a partnership which allowed their team to make 4/620 dec. Lazarus made 180 and the other fellow made 220. Glad I didn't have to chase all that leather.

A bloke I played with in that YCW team, Bob Jardine, played the best innings I've ever seen in District cricket, for Northcote. It was at the Melb. University Ground and it had been raining. Usual thing, wet track, slow outfield and good attack. Uni. were captained by Paul Sheahan, BTW. Jardine made 80 out of a total of 120, while everyone else looked like rabbits caught in the headlights. Bobby was like that though, he played a different game to everyone else. The next week he probably made a blob on a flat deck. Oh, and Bill Lawry was playing with Northcote that day and hardly made any.

Cupido13
6 Oct 2003, 15:46
Originally posted by NakedDeadGuy
Steven Lind, I think he's represented Australia Country XI a few times.
Lindsay Davidson, ex Tasmania was captain/coach at my old club for a while.
Spud Davidson, current opening bowler for North Melbourne played in the same comp.
Played against Cameron White's old man Russell, he was an absolute gun - huge man, big hitter and awkward to face in a Joel Garner kind of way - he really is a big bugger!

Not much there really I suppose.

From the sounds of some of those names you hail from Bairnsdale somewhere? I played against Steven Lind last year in the last round of GCL, all the boys reckon he was lightning quick in his heyday.

Cupido13
6 Oct 2003, 15:53
Originally posted by skilts
Best player I played with was Peter Bedford, at school. Played in a team in the YCW Sunday comp.

Is that the same Peter Bedford who played/still plays in the Mornington Peninsula league. I played in the Sale Maffra Country week side last year and our manager is originally from Mornington and he was always telling stories about Bedford. Apparently he has made about 10 Country Week hundreds and the next best is 3 or 4.

I think he has represented Vic Country quite a few times.

In our league currently, we have Ian Wrigglesworth who played for the Bushrangers, Nathan King, who was on the Bushrangers list for a few seasons and Stuart Anderson, who played in a premiership with the Kangaroos, but, also played about 10 state second XI games for Victoria.

dees 4 life
6 Oct 2003, 21:05
Originally posted by Cupido13
Is that the same Peter Bedford who played/still plays in the Mornington Peninsula league. I played in the Sale Maffra Country week side last year and our manager is originally from Mornington and he was always telling stories about Bedford. Apparently he has made about 10 Country Week hundreds and the next best is 3 or 4.

I think he has represented Vic Country quite a few times.

In our league currently, we have Ian Wrigglesworth who played for the Bushrangers, Nathan King, who was on the Bushrangers list for a few seasons and Stuart Anderson, who played in a premiership with the Kangaroos, but, also played about 10 state second XI games for Victoria.

Cupido what is your real name if you dont mind me asking. I used to play a fair bit of cricket down your way. Wriggles is a very very good man.

BERT
7 Oct 2003, 09:38
Its Robbie Bedford who plays on the peninsula. Absolute gun.

Peter is the former Brownlow winner who also played cricket for Victoria.

Disgustipated
7 Oct 2003, 11:48
Hi everyone, just looking for a best player you have played with or against, outside of State League, District Cricket or Premier League. ie. the WACA, SACA, Sydney Grade, Victorian Premier Cricket.

I am more looking for country comps. or sub districts. The chances are the best will probably be overseas players (which is fine), but there is always the chance the odd Jamie Siddons (went back and played country cricket for a few years after he retired) or someone of the like will pop up.

Former English bowler Phil Newport played at my club 1992. He probably best known for bowling at Steve Waugh 89 Ashes tour.Short balls outside off stump sent to point boundary with regularity.

Ive never seen anyone swing the ball as much as he did. The CBR local comp had some decent players back then and he made them look ordinary. He took about 40 wickets but i recon we dropped about 30 catches in the slips that year.

Jars458
7 Oct 2003, 12:10
Played against Rick Darling once.

He just hit single after single and didn't get out. They won.:(

Foxtrot
7 Oct 2003, 12:38
Originally posted by Jars458
Played against Rick Darling once.

He just hit single after single and didn't get out. They won.:(

No mixups with his batting partner?

crazyeight
7 Oct 2003, 21:17
played with steven stubbings.(opening bat from derby)...... also had ian blackwell play at our club a few years ago..(england one day player)

dogman22
8 Oct 2003, 10:02
Played with Michael Carberry in an rep match a few years ago - he's playing with Kent seniors at the moment. Also played against a guy from Warrnambool in junior Country Week by the name of Jonathan Brown - opened the bowling, and bowled quick bouncers!!!

Cupido13
8 Oct 2003, 10:14
Originally posted by dees 4 life
Cupido what is your real name if you dont mind me asking. I used to play a fair bit of cricket down your way. Wriggles is a very very good man.

I went to country week with Wriggles as our captain last year. We won Provincial division for the first time in about 10 years. He played some pretty awesome innings for Sale Maffra last season.

What about you? What is your name? Which club did you play with?

Cupido13
8 Oct 2003, 10:20
I also played cricket against Blake Campbell who plays with Carlton Football Club in a rep tournament when we were both 17. He was real quick, but, we had a bloke in our side who ended up playing for Aus uner 19's and is in the Tasmanian squad at the moment who tore him apart.

Blake was rapid though, easily the quickest bowler I have faced in my life.

Arch#11
8 Oct 2003, 11:10
Paul Collingwood (England 1 day player) played for the crusaders against my school. Swung the ball both ways a fair bit and hit 3 of the biggest 6's I have ever seen in any form of cricket. Absolutley masive hits.

Cupido13
8 Oct 2003, 11:14
Originally posted by crazyeight
also had ian blackwell play at our club a few years ago..(england one day player)

Do you follow his progress at all these days? I played a season of cricket in Devon (right near Somerset) and watched him play a bit. The other day he hit 250 odd off about 130 balls. He just smashes it like no other.

dees 4 life
8 Oct 2003, 12:17
I went to country week with Wriggles as our captain last year. We won Provincial division for the first time in about 10 years. He played some pretty awesome innings for Sale Maffra last season.

What about you? What is your name? Which club did you play with?

I used to play at Heyfield. Where did you play and what is your name?

matty_saints
8 Oct 2003, 19:26
I've played most of my cricket in Traralgon, and I'm not sure if any of yas know but Brendon Goddard is an awesome cricketer, he's probably the best junior I've played against. But I've also played against Cameron White, Brad Knowles (got a rookie Vic contract this year) and this guy from Geelong, Matthew Harrison, is a great underage cricketer too. I also played country week for Traralgon last year in Provincial and we played that Robbie Bedford and damn can he hit the ball and there was another guy from Mornington, opening batsman but i can't remember his name.

Rodgerramjet
9 Oct 2003, 17:13
Craig McDermott: I played against him, I was an opening batsman.

Harvs35
9 Oct 2003, 20:12
played with Damian Cupido's brother, Stephen........dont laugh.

harvs35

Cupido13
10 Oct 2003, 10:34
A good friend of mine played cricket for Victoria under 17's with Damien Cupido, he was an all rounder, batted about 6, and bowled medium pace and off spin, I think.

Lonie_from_50
10 Oct 2003, 13:36
I am playing with this bloke called Marco Norder, he is going to be the next Brett Lee, watch out.

Brad Hodge coached me two years ago.

Fall Out Boy
10 Oct 2003, 13:37
Once faced Brad Williams, back when he was the tearaway quick.

Scary stuff.

Cupido13
12 Oct 2003, 21:34
Originally posted by Lonie_from_50
I am playing with this bloke called Marco Norder, he is going to be the next Brett Lee, watch out.

Brad Hodge coached me two years ago.

Can you tell me anything about this fella?

Who does he play for? What league, what grade, how old?

Lonie_from_50
13 Oct 2003, 13:09
He is playing Under 16's and is super quick. He is tall and lanky. Plays in the WGCA leaugue with the Tigers

Cupido13
13 Oct 2003, 13:11
Originally posted by Lonie_from_50
He is playing Under 16's and is super quick. He is tall and lanky. Plays in the WGCA leaugue with the Tigers

Who did he play Dowling for? Is he in the Vic u/17 side?

^Eagle^
13 Oct 2003, 13:11
Played against Des Headland's brother - better than Des

Stafford678
6 May 2005, 00:01
Personally, I have played with or against Upul Fernando (Sri Lankan Test Squad member during late 90's), Jacques Rudolf (current South African batsman).

I would say I saw better from Upul but Jacques is probably the better player!

where did you play with upal? i played with him at heyfield for a few seasons

Blue Boyz
6 May 2005, 01:04
I was a handy club cricketer but was very fortunate to play against a lot of very good players, some played 1st class cricket.

I played with a club game in England with the WA quick Chris Matthews and he even managed to land a few on the pitch!!!

I played a few games for the Plastic X1 in the old Melb. weekday comp. and I played against Julian Weiner and Peter Cox.

I grew up in the bush and played with and against Gary, Rodney and Leigh Watts.

The best player I played against in the country was Henry Gunstone from the Stawell/Ararat area. He made over a 100 100's and I am sure he would have played 1st class cricket if he of stuck at it in Melbourne.

Even here in Japan I have played with several sub continential 1st class cricketers from Sri Lanka, India, Pakistan and Zimbabwe.

Blues_Man
6 May 2005, 01:11
played indoor cricket against Greg Campbell who played the one (i think ?)ashes test for Australia. he wasn't real quick but he moved the ball in the air both ways .

played outdoor against a bloke called Gary Whitney who once opened the bowling for Tassie against a touring west indies side . he was in his early forties when i faced him but he was still bloody quick for a 4 or 5 over spell

umpired Bruce reid plus roger woolley (who toured the windies as aussie reserve keeper) he played 2 tests IIRR .

dilz
6 May 2005, 13:44
had a guy at my club gam perera who captained sri lanka u19s when jaysuria played. he left his old land coz of the war n came here and smashed every1 around and bowled great spin. made 150 and took 7 fa in subbies grand final while the other team were calling him a black ******** and stuff, we were like wat more do u want him to do to get respect lol.
i have also played against leigh watts and can hit a ball for a small guy
have played against matt harrison as well, a very good left hand bat and has a great arm for a batsman, class act, should see him develop into a good cricketer for victoria in the next few years to come

DaveMorro
6 May 2005, 18:53
When i was 15 i played under 16s in the morning then seniors in the Para Districts CA in Adelaide.
I played against Gilbert McAdam when he was still playing footy for Centrals. Every ball i faced from him was a bouncer intended to knock my head off !
I scored a fifty that day and he was the greatest bloke you could meet after the game.

Also played district cricket with Stuart Dew but didnt rate him too high as his dad was the typical bad sports parent, absolute prick !