View Full Version : What makes Adam Cooney #1?

Magpie
3 Oct 2003, 16:49
Why is he the best of the pack? He didnt even attend the camp. Are people just juging him on some of his games?

Porthos
3 Oct 2003, 16:52
He went to the camp last year. He starred for SA in the national u18 championships this year, having played last year. He's playing in a grand final this weekend.

sog35
3 Oct 2003, 16:54
The reason he isn't going to the cmap is because it was going to wreck his preparation for the GF. He essentially played CHB in the prelim. He's that damn good.

And really all people can judge him on are the games he plays. He's tough, dishes out the hip and shoulders, loves the packs and has immaculate skills.

SCRAY72
3 Oct 2003, 17:05
I hope if we pick him up that they give him number 17.
With that hair style and his aggressive playing style he will become a cult figure almost immediately.

bogan_blue
3 Oct 2003, 17:13
Personally I would pick Kane Terrance ahead of Cooney, but good luck to the Dogs, hope he becomes a great 200 game champion for them.
As any club been kicked in the teeth more than the Dogs, especially with Nathan 'moneybags' Brown leaving ?

Stiffy_18
3 Oct 2003, 17:45
What makes Nathan Buckley a champion player??????

Cooney is THE best youngster. If you ever saw him play against men you would know why. Imagine a 17 year old with the maturity of a 30 year old. Imagine that teenager have an absolute beauty of a footy brain. Imagine disposal skills by foot that is of pin point accuracy. Good overhead. He can play just about anywhere with the same impact.

I would be an absolutely delighted if he was at Crows. Mark my word Adam Cooney will be a champion player. He reminds me a bit of Buckley.

muesli
3 Oct 2003, 17:50
Originally posted by Magpie
Why is he the best of the pack? He didnt even attend the camp. Are people just juging him on some of his games?
One word TALENT, didn't go to the draft camp as his playing in the SANFL grand final this weekend but he did go last year.

dasler
3 Oct 2003, 17:56
Something bothers me about Cooney though. He is extraordinarily talented but he is also a very well developed young man. Would he lose his physical strength advantage over his junior peers as maturity kicks in?

Has all the hallmarks of being a star

SCRAY72
3 Oct 2003, 17:59
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
What makes Nathan Buckley a champion player??????

Cooney is THE best youngster. If you ever saw him play against men you would know why. Imagine a 17 year old with the maturity of a 30 year old. Imagine that teenager have an absolute beauty of a footy brain. Imagine disposal skills by foot that is of pin point accuracy. Good overhead. He can play just about anywhere with the same impact.

I would be an absolutely delighted if he was at Crows. Mark my word Adam Cooney will be a champion player. He reminds me a bit of Buckley.

Thanks for cheering me up Stiffy. Finishing bottom and losing an elite player in Judas Brown makes for a disappointing year. Picking up Cooney and introducing another South Aussie in Cam Faulkner to the side in 2004 gives us hope.

Thewlis Dish
3 Oct 2003, 18:02
Originally posted by dasler
Something bothers me about Cooney though. He is extraordinarily talented but he is also a very well developed young man. Would he lose his physical strength advantage over his junior peers as maturity kicks in?

Has all the hallmarks of being a star

well he's primarily played key positions in his junior career, but in the afl i think his future is as a ruck rover in the mould of a voss cos he has the same sort of body type. supreme talent to play key positions at one level and then switch into midfield at another

i still remember sheedy's comments on him after the under 18 championships - "well, that kids gonna be a champion isn't he?"
interesting to see how he stands up in a senior GF tomorrow

Thewlis Dish
3 Oct 2003, 18:05
Originally posted by SCRAY72
Thanks for cheering me up Stiffy. Finishing bottom and losing an elite player in Judas Brown makes for a disappointing year. Picking up Cooney and introducing another South Aussie in Cam Faulkner to the side in 2004 gives us hope.

mate you're laughing, picking up the number 1 and 4 picks without even being the worst team last year (regardless of final standings). welcome chris grant, faulkner and mark alvey back, get a good deal with for brown and pick up cooney and another top 5 player and you could be the big improvers

SCRAY72
3 Oct 2003, 18:13
Originally posted by Petrie Dish
mate you're laughing, picking up the number 1 and 4 picks without even being the worst team last year (regardless of final standings). welcome chris grant, faulkner and mark alvey back, get a good deal with for brown and pick up cooney and another top 5 player and you could be the big improvers

Agreed if Clayton, Rohde, Richardson do their job then our list will be vastly improved in 2004. Only way is up but we are a long way away from the top sides. We have to win at least 10 games next year.
Just hope the Brown deal in done early in trade week to enable the club to evaluate what else is available in the market just in case the club decides to trade an early pick(not 1) for an established player.

Stiffy_18
3 Oct 2003, 18:18
Originally posted by SCRAY72
Thanks for cheering me up Stiffy. Finishing bottom and losing an elite player in Judas Brown makes for a disappointing year. Picking up Cooney and introducing another South Aussie in Cam Faulkner to the side in 2004 gives us hope. No worries mate;)

Don't get too comfy with either of them.reidy is love with both those players and I can guarantee you that we will have a crack at Cam next year when he comes out of contract and then at Cooney the following year;)

Ching
3 Oct 2003, 18:22
Originally posted by sog35
The reason he isn't going to the cmap is because it was going to wreck his preparation for the GF. He essentially played CHB in the prelim. He's that damn good.

And really all people can judge him on are the games he plays. He's tough, dishes out the hip and shoulders, loves the packs and has immaculate skills.
Stop talking like that as a bulldog fan I've just creamed my pants

Scottroo
3 Oct 2003, 18:29
Ive been at School with Cooney since year 8 and to be honest hes not quite you all expect, hes not bigger then his junior opponents, maybe abit taller but not bigger in weight, hes not the build of michael Voss, more the build of Goddard at the momment, he loves a fly and can take a wikid mark and has impeccable skills off both feet, his pace is his main asset and the way he can turn it on when he needs to...Ar la Daniel Wells, he now goes to Aberfoyle High (before that Blackwood High) and during a open school game where a mate of mine was playing he kicked 9 goals from onball, in an effort where it didnt look like he raised a sweat, he will be a good player and should start next year, but may play a different role eg back flank, then one that you all expect

Deej
3 Oct 2003, 18:56
I reckon he's a lot like Goddard actually. He'll be a star.

NorthBhoy
3 Oct 2003, 19:00
Originally posted by Deej
I reckon he's a lot like Goddard actually. He'll be a star.

Are you Mr Goddard?

Monocle
3 Oct 2003, 19:19
Originally posted by Magpie
. Are people just juging him on some of his games?

Judging him on some of his games ! Sounds like a very good idea after all isnt that what he will be drafted for????

Draft Camp results are only indicators to identify potential, all counts for nought if they cant play the game.

NeoBlaze
3 Oct 2003, 20:21
Originally posted by Scottroo
Ive been at School with Cooney since year 8 and to be honest hes not quite you all expect, hes not bigger then his junior opponents, maybe abit taller but not bigger in weight, hes not the build of michael Voss, more the build of Goddard at the momment, he loves a fly and can take a wikid mark and has impeccable skills off both feet, his pace is his main asset and the way he can turn it on when he needs to...Ar la Daniel Wells, he now goes to Aberfoyle High (before that Blackwood High) and during a open school game where a mate of mine was playing he kicked 9 goals from onball, in an effort where it didnt look like he raised a sweat, he will be a good player and should start next year, but may play a different role eg back flank, then one that you all expect

scott roo your a roo man, convince him to take the trip over to arden street after his contract expires :D

on a different note though, hope he becomes a real champion and leads the bullies to a premiership in the near future

GoalsFrom50Out
4 Oct 2003, 03:58
Cooney is a Footballing mastermind. By the time he is 25, he will have a Brownlow. If any of you have a chance to watch the SANFL Grand Final on Fox Footy this Sunday, DO IT.

Now saying that he'll play a stinker.

fugazi
4 Oct 2003, 09:48
I think Doggies will be very good in 2 years time, and better off without Brown. You'll get pick#6 from Richmond, plus a player...you'll have 3 picks in the top 6, and experienced players returning, and some of your gun young players coming into their third year...huge potenetial for the Doggies, but probably need some more coaching staff to manage the boys and get the potential delivered.

Thunderstruck
4 Oct 2003, 21:33
Cooney is going to be an AFL champion. Mark my words, they guy is a machine, basically looks and plays like Goddard but with a touch of James Hird and Buckley thrown in as well as some Mcleod pace and marking like Tarrant. At under 18 level he has destroyed all opposition.

Hasnt been able to keepa regular SANFL place this season because westies have beent hat good, but he will hopefully get more game time in the Grand Final 2moro.

wooshta_9
4 Oct 2003, 22:04
Awesome talent, absolutely awesome.
In the prelim last week he had a very minimal impact and only had about 3 touches. But everyone has there bad ones 9even trent croad)
best under 2o year old gting around including the blokes already in the AFL in my opinon.

superstar
4 Oct 2003, 23:18
Originally posted by Thunderstruck
Cooney is going to be an AFL champion. Mark my words, they guy is a machine, basically looks and plays like Goddard but with a touch of James Hird and Buckley thrown in as well as some Mcleod pace and marking like Tarrant. At under 18 level he has destroyed all opposition.

Hasnt been able to keepa regular SANFL place this season because westies have beent hat good, but he will hopefully get more game time in the Grand Final 2moro.

Yeah I hear he's got the footskills of Darren Jarman, the hands of Greg Williams, the strength of Leigh Mathews, the courage of Glenn Archer, and the hands of Wayne Carey. :o

Dry Rot
5 Oct 2003, 05:05
Originally posted by superstar
Yeah I hear he's got the footskills of Darren Jarman, the hands of Greg Williams, the strength of Leigh Mathews, the courage of Glenn Archer, and the hands of Wayne Carey. :o

Fine, but can he drink like Martin Pike?

Demonheart
5 Oct 2003, 10:50
and the hands of Wayne Carey. :o

Hope he has a good lawyer!

CrowBoi
5 Oct 2003, 11:21

He has 4 hands?? :o ;)

Make that the Hands of Andrew Jarman, not Diesel... ;)

superstar
5 Oct 2003, 13:18
Originally posted by CrowBoi
He has 4 hands?? :o ;)

Just ask Kelli. :p

Drew8488
5 Oct 2003, 19:50
He had no impact in the first three quarters of the SANFL grand final but if he plays like he did in the last quarter for a whole game he will be a star.

Adrian Shelton
5 Oct 2003, 19:55
Did anyone see THAT goal from the boundry?

Stiffy_18
5 Oct 2003, 19:56
Originally posted by Drew8488
He had no impact in the first three quarters of the SANFL grand final but if he plays like he did in the last quarter for a whole game he will be a star. He was played on and off the bench and went into the game with a bit of a groin injury.

How good was his 4th quarter and that 2nd goals he kicked. FREAK!!!!!!

Stiffy_18
5 Oct 2003, 19:57
Originally posted by Adrian Shelton
Did anyone see THAT goal from the boundry? Darren Jarman stuff;)

Thunderstruck
5 Oct 2003, 21:55
He started ona wing on Healy but couldnt really get into it apart from the very first kick. Was then moved to Guerra I think but was done for experience and seemed to lack heart. Moved to defence into Eddie Sansbury where he was towled up (this guy is a mini Mcleod btw and is certain to go in the draft after his 5 goals) but his last 1/4 was insane!!! His first goal was just classic brains, front and square crumbing simple snap goal, his 2nd was wicked, on his non preferred left if he has a non-preferred that is, he just put on the afterburners did a 180 and speared it thru from the boundary 30m out!! Wicked goal!