View Full Version : Best 5 movies of all time

Adrian McAdam
5 Oct 2003, 23:13
Must be the silly season cos we're all bored *****less, so I'll have a crack at stirring the pot :)

1. Shawshank Redemption
2. The Usual Suspects
3. Blues Brothers
4. The Negotiator
5. National Lampoons Vacation

Honourable Mentions :
Ronin
The Fugitive
The Professional
Caddyshack
Heat

Best Trilogy of all time : Back To The Future

Uncle Steve
5 Oct 2003, 23:33
Indeed, the footy season finished today (SANFL GF) and I'm bored already. So, off the top of my head:

1. Bad Boy Bubby
2. The Last Temptation of Christ
3. Being John Malkovich
4. The Matrix
5. Monkey Business (Marx Brothers)

Dry Rot
6 Oct 2003, 00:11
Best 5 of all time for me:

Metropolis

The Harp of Burma

A Touch of Evil

The Conformist

Dersu Uzala

Honourable mentions to:

Battleship Potemkin

M

La Grand Illusion

Double Indemnity

Sunset Boulevard

Rashomon

Vertigo

Breathless

Love and Anarchy

Apocalypse Now

PS Given the title of this thread, I hope we'll see lists of the best movies of all time, not just the last 15 years and from the USA.

lioness
6 Oct 2003, 00:30
The Goodbye Girl

Breakfast At Tiffany's

Barefoot In The Park

Gone With The Wind

Guess Who's Coming To Dinner

Honourable mentions: Almost Famous, Blues Brothers, Prisoner of Second Avenue, To Sir With Love

Dane Swan Fan
6 Oct 2003, 01:26
5 - Friday
4 - 28 Days Later
3 - Happy Gillmore
2 - Fight Club
1 - Bully

coxon
6 Oct 2003, 02:25
the party
fletch
buffalo '66
clerks
pee wee's big adventure

Bresh
6 Oct 2003, 03:10
5. Donnie Darko
4. Cannibal: The Musical
3. The Deer Hunter
2. Lord of the Rings: Fellowship of the Ring
1. Wet Hot American Summer

Adrian McAdam
6 Oct 2003, 12:56
Originally posted by Dry Rot
PS Given the title of this thread, I hope we'll see lists of the best movies of all time, not just the last 15 years and from the USA. [/B]

Alrighty then... best movies of all time not made in the last 15 years :

It's a Mad Mad World (A+ cast and absolute classic)
Bullit (just for the car chase !)
Ben Hur (for the chariot race)

That should do for starters...

Dry Rot
6 Oct 2003, 15:04
The strangest thing about most of the posts on this thread is that clearly the French, Germans, Japanese, Swedes etc are apparently incapable of making great movies.

??????

El Scorcho
6 Oct 2003, 15:38
1 - Police Academy
2 - Police Academy 2
3 - Police Academy 3
4 - Police Academy 4
5 - Police Academy 5, 6 and 7

SonOfScray
6 Oct 2003, 15:46
Fight Club
Braveheart
Ferris Bueller's Day Off
Shawshank Redemption
The Matrix

gPhonque
6 Oct 2003, 15:54
1. Electric Dragon 80,000V (ok, it's not the "best" but I love it)
2. Amelie
3. Shaolin Soccer
4. Scarface
5. The Usual Suspects

Honorable mentions: Apocalypse Now, Planet Of The Apes (the original of course), Hero (the Jet Li movie), and The Club. :D

I know I've missed about 1000 that are as good or better.

noodle
6 Oct 2003, 15:57
Fight Club
Snatch
Pulp Fiction
Das Boot
Star Wars

Mobbenfuhrer
6 Oct 2003, 16:09
5. Sunday Too Far Away
4. Long Weekend
3. Quiet Earth, The
2. Sky Pirates
1. Year My Voice Broke, The

Falchoon
6 Oct 2003, 16:28
Godfather II
Shawshank Redemption
Ferris Buellers Day Off
Platoon
Wall Street

Noddy Holder
6 Oct 2003, 17:39
1. The Green Mile
2. Shawshank Redemption
3. American Beauty
4. Billy Elliott
5. The Game

Adrian McAdam
6 Oct 2003, 20:08
The strangest thing about most of the posts on this thread is that clearly the French, Germans, Japanese, Swedes etc are apparently incapable of making great movies.

??????

You're right...the Swedish Chef gave a sterling performance in The Muppets Take Manhattan ! ;)

TheBloods
6 Oct 2003, 20:35
Chariots of Fire

Shawshank Redemption

Empire Strikes Back

Casablanca

Lawrence of Arabia

Special mentions to:

Indiana Jones trilogy, To Kill a Mockingbird, Aliens, Dances with Wolves, Apollo 13, Schindler's List, Glory, The Wizard of Oz, Seven Samurai, Last of the Mohicans, The Princess Bride, Star Wars, The Big Sleep, Die Hard 1 & 2, Groundhog Day, The Maltese Falcon, Bridge on the River Kwai, Life of Brian, Dr No, From Russia with Love, Goldfinger, Goodbye Mr Chips, Oliver

This pretty much reflects part of my DVD collection.

Milkman
6 Oct 2003, 21:55
1. Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas
2. Snatch
3. The Shining (Kubrick version)
4. Lock Stock and Two Smoking Barrels
5. Pink Floyd: The Wall

Magpira
6 Oct 2003, 22:16
Very hard to name only 5! But I'll give it a go....

1. The Godfather 1 & 2
These films have to go #1 imo. Magnificent story and cast, brilliantly acted and directed.

2. Fever Pitch
As a passionate supporter of Football I totally appreciate this movie. An emotional and at times, very funny look into the life of a true die-hard footy fan. Reminds me a lot of myself!

3. Bitter Moon
Love this insane story of an obsession that goes beyond the realms of anything I've ever experienced :D

4. Almost Famous
Cameron Crowe is a genius. I always admire directors who actually write their own scripts. This is a brilliant insight into Crowe's life and passion for music.

5. The Unbelievable Truth
Speaking of great directors who write their own scripts... Hal Hartley, who imo is totally underrated, wrote and directed this classic story of coming home and starting over.

Milkman
6 Oct 2003, 22:42
How could i forget the Godfather 2?:rolleyes:

Adrian McAdam
6 Oct 2003, 22:45
Some interesting posts for sure.

Bad Boy Bubby ? the bloke who shags his mum and cling wraps cats ? Yeah, that was must see viewing ! :eek: And we wonder why the Australian Film industry has struggled to obtain credibility...
Green Mile ? less said the better.

No takers for Debbie Does Dallas ? Starring Debbie Mathers, mother of Marshall ? ("Would the real slim shady please bar up !")

Keep em' coming.

Noddy Holder
6 Oct 2003, 23:12
Originally posted by Adrian McAdam

Green Mile ? less said the better.

No - say more. I would be very interested in why you don't rate this movie. Everybody else I know who has seen it loves it. Superb movie.

Woodson
6 Oct 2003, 23:30
I agree with some of those previously mentioned.....

and add Some Like it HOT starring Tony Curtis, Jack Lemmon and Marilyn Monroe

Recently saw THE GOOD, THE BAD and THE UGLY with Clint Eastwood at the Astor and it definately still shoots holes in some movies made these days.

Amelie and Run Lola Run are other foreign films worth viewing.

Chasing Amy, Something About Mary, Liar Liar, Devil's Advocate, Austin Powers 1 & 2, are among my recent list NOW GENERATION flicks...

Terminator Trilogy rates highly with me...:D but DeNiro vs Pacino Head to head in HEAT gets my 3 votes period

Dane Swan Fan
7 Oct 2003, 00:48
Fight Club is the greatest movie ever.

sandeano
7 Oct 2003, 00:55
Double Indemnity

Au Hasard Balthasar

A Matter of Life or Death

The Servant

The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie

...but five is far, far too few.

Grendel
7 Oct 2003, 03:29
Whitnail and I
Year my voice broke
Quiet Earth
Akira
Cinema Paradiso

Dry Rot
7 Oct 2003, 08:06
Originally posted by Grendel

Quiet Earth

Was that the one where the central character wakes up to find everyone dead? If so, a beauty.

Dry Rot
7 Oct 2003, 08:07
Originally posted by sandeano
Double Indemnity

Au Hasard Balthasar

A Matter of Life or Death

The Servant

The Discreet Charm of the Bourgeoisie

...but five is far, far too few.

Very interesting list, and finally someone who appreciates old and foreign films.

Mobbenfuhrer
7 Oct 2003, 09:20
Was that the one where the central character wakes up to find everyone dead? If so, a beauty.

Yep, played by Bruno Lawrence. The only other characters are played by Alison Routledge, Pete Smith and Anzac Wallace.

(Pete Smith is the bad guy in What Becomes Of The broken Hearted)

Great to see Grendel also listed this movie, and even better to see he also list YMVB! Good taste!

DEVO
7 Oct 2003, 09:46
My Top 5 are:

5. Diary of a Lost Girl (Germany 1929) directed by G. W. Pabst
4. The Double Life of Veronique (France/Poland 1991) directed by Krzysztof Kieslowski
3. Pandora's Box (Germany 1928) directed by G. W. Pabst
2. Amelie (France 2001) directed by Jean-Pierre Jeunet
1. Three Colours Red (France/Poland 1994) directed by Krzysztof Kieslowski

Not an English word spoken amongst them, and in the case of the two Pabst Films, not a word spoken at all, as both are Silent Films.

The only American film that gets close to these masterpieces is The Shawshank Redemption, but I still wouldn't have it in my Top 10.

Dry Rot
7 Oct 2003, 09:54
Another Louise Brooks fan?

I loved Kieslowski's Decalogue.

Mobbenfuhrer
7 Oct 2003, 10:18
Originally posted by DEVO
My Top 5 are:

5. Diary of a Lost Girl (Germany 1929) directed by G. W. Pabst
4. The Double Life of Veronique (France/Poland 1991) directed by Krzysztof Kieslowski
3. Pandora's Box (Germany 1928) directed by G. W. Pabst
2. Amelie (France 2001) directed by Jean-Pierre Jeunet
1. Three Colours Red (France/Poland 1994) directed by Krzysztof Kieslowski

Not an English word spoken amongst them, and in the case of the two Pabst Films, not a word spoken at all, as both are Silent Films.

The only American film that gets close to these masterpieces is The Shawshank Redemption, but I still wouldn't have it in my Top 10.

Liked Red and Amelie, but wouldn't call them top 5 ... they're just movies, when it comes down to it.

Foreignlanguagewise, I still can't go past the trusty Das Boot, with honourable mentions to Central Station and that Emporer/Assassin movie.

American films of greatness would have to include Wonderful Life & Harvey, while other English-speaking foreign movies for me would include Breaking The Waves and The Lion In Winter.

DEVO
7 Oct 2003, 11:07
Another Louise Brooks fan?

I loved Kieslowski's Decalogue.

Louise Brooks was an incredible talent, incredibly wasted. What a shame, because she has a presence on film that no one has had before or since. Not even Garbo or Dietrich.

It's extremely dificult finding Louise's films on DVD or Video, but I have managed to find a couple of her other films:

The Show Off (1926) - Early Silent classic.

Prix de Beaute (1930) - The French film she made after her German classics. This is her last great film, infact a lot of fans consider it her second best behind Pandors's Box.

Windy Riley Goes Hollywood (1930) - The less said about this the better.

Overland Stage Raiders (1938) - The last film she made. It's one of John Wayne's early efforts and is absolutely terrible, but Louise was good, and she has a fantastic voice (Those who know the Louise Brooks Story will know the relavance).

I also have the documentary "Looking for Lulu".

Kieslowski's Decalogue is an incredible Series, so well crafted, acted and directed from my all-time favourite director. The full decalogue has been made available in the States on DVD and I'm seriously thinking about ordering it.

TheBloods
7 Oct 2003, 12:07
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
Foreignlanguagewise, I still can't go past the trusty Das Boot. American films of greatness would have to include Wonderful Life & Harvey.

Yes, yes and yes!! :)

DEVO
7 Oct 2003, 13:58
Foreignlanguagewise, I still can't go past the trusty Das Boot, with honourable mentions to Central Station and that Emporer/Assassin movie.

Are you talking about the Chinese film "The Emperor and the Assassin" (excellent double-cross epic) with the always gorgeous Gong Li. It's the only one I can think of at the moment.

Mobbenfuhrer
7 Oct 2003, 14:33
Are you talking about the Chinese film "The Emperor and the Assassin" (excellent double-cross epic) with the always gorgeous Gong Li. It's the only one I can think of at the moment.

Yep that's it!

Booze Hound
7 Oct 2003, 19:28
The Seven Samurai - Japanese can't make good films????? This, for me, is my man Akira's best but he made many fine ones.

The Sting - Great story well told, superb cast, fine music, incredible atmosphere.

The Shawshank Redemption - Have to agree with this.

Goodfellas - My favourite gangster/mafia film.

Remember the Titans - came to this one recently but thought it really good.

The Lord of the Rings films will be in my top five very soon, possibly by Christmas.

Dry Rot
7 Oct 2003, 22:43

Well if I end up being the next Dr Who, I'm going to have a threesome with Gong Li and Louise Brooks.

Adrian McAdam
8 Oct 2003, 02:36
Very interesting list, and finally someone who appreciates old and foreign films.

Foreign Films ? Try these on for size :

Eat Drink Man Woman
The Sent Down Girl

Top Chinese flicks !

DEVO
8 Oct 2003, 08:11
Well if I end up being the next Dr Who, I'm going to have a threesome with Gong Li and Louise Brooks.

You can have Louise now (but you'll need a shovel), she's been dead since 1985, and I'll have Gong Li.

Dry Rot
8 Oct 2003, 09:36
You can have Louise now (but you'll need a shovel), she's been dead since 1985, and I'll have Gong Li.

Thus the need to travel in time.

DEVO
8 Oct 2003, 09:46
Thus the need to travel in time.

I'm sorry. I thought with a name like Dry Rot you'd be right into Necrophilia.:D

Mobbenfuhrer
8 Oct 2003, 10:00
Devo you seem to love foreign films ... what's your opinion on Central Station ... loved it myself.

DEVO
8 Oct 2003, 11:33
Devo you seem to love foreign films ... what's your opinion on Central Station ... loved it myself.

I haven't seen it. Same with that other Academy favourite from Italy.

Mobbenfuhrer
8 Oct 2003, 12:04
I haven't seen it. Same with that other Academy favourite from Italy.

You haven't seen Life Is Beautiful?

DEVO
8 Oct 2003, 13:04
You haven't seen Life Is Beautiful?

Shocking isn't it. Here I am going on about how Foreign Language Films are better than anything Hollywood has produced, and yet I haven't seen two of the better (supposedly) ones of the last decade. I want to see them, it's just they were so hyped up by the time got here I thought I'd wait awhile... and then forgot. Also my wife wasn't that interested in them for some reason so I never saw them.

The last Foreign Language film I saw in the cinemas (and recently bought on DVD) was the last Pedro Almodovar film "Talk to Her". An absolute classic about these two guys who meet in hospital, when the girlfriend of one is mauled by a bull (she's a matador). When it comes to film making Almodovar is a true artist. I'd loved every film of his I've seen, especially "Tie Me Up Tie Me Down".

Also I noticed that one of my all-time favourites "Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon" is screening on SBS this Sunday night. A classic not to be missed.

Mobbenfuhrer
8 Oct 2003, 13:58
Shocking isn't it. Here I am going on about how Foreign Language Films are better than anything Hollywood has produced, and yet I haven't seen two of the better (supposedly) ones of the last decade. I want to see them, it's just they were so hyped up by the time got here I thought I'd wait awhile... and then forgot. Also my wife wasn't that interested in them for some reason so I never saw them.

The last Foreign Language film I saw in the cinemas (and recently bought on DVD) was the last Pedro Almodovar film "Talk to Her". An absolute classic about these two guys who meet in hospital, when the girlfriend of one is mauled by a bull (she's a matador). When it comes to film making Almodovar is a true artist. I'd loved every film of his I've seen, especially "Tie Me Up Tie Me Down".

Also I noticed that one of my all-time favourites "Crouching Tiger Hidden Dragon" is screening on SBS this Sunday night. A classic not to be missed.

Talk To Me looked pretty good, it was on TV somewhere sometime here and I saw parts of it between other stuff ... Crouching Tiger didn't do a heck of a lot for me, though.

El Scorcho
8 Oct 2003, 14:07
Crouching Tiger didn't do a heck of a lot for me, though.

Eh?
Zhang Ziyi can crouch on my tiger any time! ;)

Mobbenfuhrer
8 Oct 2003, 14:19
Uh-huh, point taken ... but I was talking about the movie as a whole :)

Dry Rot
8 Oct 2003, 17:29
TCrouching Tiger didn't do a heck of a lot for me, though.

Same here - fun action pic but nowhere near quality of flics like Raise the Red Lantern.

ant
8 Oct 2003, 17:31
10 Things I Hate About You
Casablanca
It's a Wonderful Life
Roman Holiday
Life is Beautiful

This list is forever changing however, the only constant for me would be Casablanca.

Ron
8 Oct 2003, 17:42
1- The Usual Suspects
2- Shawshank Redemption
3- Highlander
4- Seven
5- The Untouchables

hans moleman
8 Oct 2003, 20:34
The Jerk is a personal favourite

"He hates these cans! Stay away from the cans!"

-WWJD-
9 Oct 2003, 00:23
1. Out of Sight
2. Memento
3. Shawshank Redemption
4. Toy Story 1/2
5. Moulin Rouge

Grendel
9 Oct 2003, 07:18
Yep, played by Bruno Lawrence. The only other characters are played by Alison Routledge, Pete Smith and Anzac Wallace.

(Pete Smith is the bad guy in What Becomes Of The broken Hearted)

Great to see Grendel also listed this movie, and even better to see he also list YMVB! Good taste!

Cheers Mobs, have to admit though that I 'lifted' those five straight of a similar thread from about a year ago. I thought that I'd done this before and was trying to think of what I'd posted then.. so I looked it up and found what I'd posted then!

Actually, my five were broken up into what I considered 'best' from various regions, Aus (YMVB) UK (Whitnail) Yank (?) Jap *cross-over into animation* (AKIRA) and Sci-Fi (QE.. though Friendships Death gives it a nudge).

Basically five straight out movies though? Geez.. tough. Amelie would be pushing into that five now (after being reminded of it from others in here). Devo's mentioning of German silent classic's reminded me of 'M' which is just outstanding. Kurosawa was an awesome film-maker and I loved 'Kagemusha'.

Even in the other thread about Hitch's 'the Birds' reminded me of a brilliant Ken Loach film from the early 70's (I think) called 'Kes'.

So many really fine films and to name a top five is just to limiting.

There's stuff like 'Scent of the Green Papaya', 'Hana-Bi', The Vanishing *Original Dutch version*, 'The Kid', 'On the Waterfront', 'The Ladykillers', 'Of Mice and Men' (yea with the Wolfman himself Lon Chaney jr as Lenny), 'The Mighty'..

Yea, just to many damn good movies!

St-KriS
9 Oct 2003, 07:56
1: Fight Club
2: Requiem For A Dream (Although, I'll never watch that again!)
3: The Usual Suspects
4: Akria (err...cartoon movies count right? :D)
5: Girl (no, not girl interrupted)

DEVO
9 Oct 2003, 08:10
Same here - fun action pic but nowhere near quality of flics like Raise the Red Lantern.

I love Raise the Red Lantern, and the other Zhang Yimou/Gong Li collaborations (Ju Dou, Story of Qiu Ju, To Live and Shanghai Triad), but Crouching Tiger would have to be my favourite Chinese film.

Interestingly Zhang Yimou discovered both Gong Li and Zhang Ziyi, possibly China's two finest acting exports. He has a good eye for talant... and looks.

Beffery
9 Oct 2003, 12:01
1. Ferris Bueller's Day Off :D
2. Braveheart
3. Schindlers List
4. The Usual Suspects
5. Grease

Honorable mentions - It's a wonderful life, To Kill a Mockingbird, A Beautiful Mind and The Club

DEVO
9 Oct 2003, 12:36
Devo's mentioning of German silent classic's reminded me of 'M' which is just outstanding.

Another Silent Classic. You'd be hard pressed to find a better era in cinema then the German Silent era of the 1920's. Metropolis, M, Nosferatu, The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari, Faust, Sunrise and Spies to name a few are all classic. And their visual style considering the technology available is just unbelievable. Lang, Pabst, Marnau are superior to any Director going around today.

DEVO
9 Oct 2003, 12:38

Would make an interesting Thread. Which dead actress would you go back in time for??

I could think of ten right off the bat.

Mobbenfuhrer
9 Oct 2003, 13:47
Would make an interesting Thread. Which dead actress would you go back in time for??

Yvette Mimeux

kaysee
9 Oct 2003, 14:47
1 - LOTR (FOTR, TT, ROTK ... it is all 1 movie broken into 3 parts because of it's size)
2 - Shawshank Redemption
3 - Citizen Kane
4 - Matrix
5 - Cassablanca

Honourable mentions... Star Wars, Groundhog Day, Life of Brian, Se7en, Terminator, Goodfellas, Forrest Gump and Jaws (come on who seen this at the cinema and then went swimming at the beach without thinking about sharks?)

SKC

Wicked Lester
9 Oct 2003, 16:24
Lawrence of Arabia
The Godfather
Goodfellas
LOTR (all)
The Searchers

Honourable mentions: This Is Spinal Tap, Withnail and I, Starship Troopers, The Great Escape, The Magnifiacnt Seven, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, Jaws, Star Wars, Europa Europa, The Pianist.....this is actually quite hard. Perhaps best to do it by genre.

Dry Rot
9 Oct 2003, 17:05
Originally posted by Wicked Lester
Lawrence of Arabia
The Godfather
Goodfellas
LOTR (all)
The Searchers

Honourable mentions: This Is Spinal Tap, Withnail and I, Starship Troopers, The Great Escape, The Magnifiacnt Seven, Butch Cassidy and the Sundance Kid, Jaws, Star Wars, Europa Europa, The Pianist.....this is actually quite hard. Perhaps best to do it by genre.

Years ago, I used to think Westerns were utter crap until I saw the Searchers - fantastic film and the best John Wayne has done. First "road movie" too (even if it was on horseback). A must see on the big screen.

And there's High Noon, which definitely deserves a mention on this thread - 24 was hardly the first to tell a story in real time.

And Europa Europa - a true story - but so wild, would you find it a credible piece of fiction? Talk about being in the wrong place at the wrong time....

ScouseCat
9 Oct 2003, 21:18
Back To The Future trilogy
Indiana Jones trilogy
National Lampoons Vacation movies
The Fugitive
Star Wars trilogy

Rod Stroker
10 Oct 2003, 02:14

I'll start with one : Mae West !

Grendel
10 Oct 2003, 02:15

Anna May Wong, Clara Bow, Colleen Moore, Vivien Leigh, Gloria Grahame, Audrey Hepburn, Liz Taylor *yea I know she aint dead but she sure looks it*, Paulette Goddard, Dorthy Dandridge... Linda Wong

Grendel
10 Oct 2003, 04:40
Another Silent Classic. You'd be hard pressed to find a better era in cinema then the German Silent era of the 1920's. Metropolis, M, Nosferatu, The Cabinet of Dr. Caligari, Faust, Sunrise and Spies to name a few are all classic. And their visual style considering the technology available is just unbelievable. Lang, Pabst, Marnau are superior to any Director going around today.

A mate gave me a copy of 'Das Golem' a very early (1912ish he reckons) German silent. Holds up remarkably well given its age. Almost like looking into another way of life altogether (which in effect I guess it is).

Caligari, and the Lang films I liked. Nosferatu I found silly though, hasn't aged well at all (or didn't for me).

DEVO
10 Oct 2003, 08:29
Anna May Wong, Clara Bow, Colleen Moore, Vivien Leigh, Gloria Grahame, Audrey Hepburn, Liz Taylor *yea I know she aint dead but she sure looks it*, Paulette Goddard, Dorthy Dandridge... Linda Wong

Louise Brooks, Francoise Dorleac, Audrey Hepburn, Sylva Koscina, Vivien Leigh, Silvana Mangano, Soledad Miranda, Ginger Rogers, Romy Schneider and Jean Seberg. Once Elizabeth Taylor passes away (which mighten too long), she'll be included.

Grendel
10 Oct 2003, 09:08
Ginger Rogers!?!

Bbrrr.. are either of Mitzi Gaynor or Leslie Caron still going? They'd be the 'hoofers' I'd be going back for.. and I forgot June Allyson.. unforgivable. :(

Soledad Miranda Sylva Koscina, have to admit to never having heard of either of them.

Mobbenfuhrer
10 Oct 2003, 09:18
Yeah you can add Audrey hepburn to my Yvette Mimeux.

Is Jessica Harper dead yet? If so, add her in.

DEVO
10 Oct 2003, 10:41
Ginger Rogers!?!

Bbrrr.. are either of Mitzi Gaynor or Leslie Caron still going? They'd be the 'hoofers' I'd be going back for.. and I forgot June Allyson.. unforgivable. :(

Soledad Miranda Sylva Koscina, have to admit to never having heard of either of them.

Love Ginger Rogers. She was such an incredible talent. Could dance, sing, was a great comedian and won an Academy Award for a excellent dramatic performance. Quite easy on the eye and had the longest and best set of pegs I've seen.

Soledad and Sylva are European actresses who were reasonably well known in the early sixties, before finding "fame" in the horror genre in the late sixties and early seventies. Soledad made about 5 films for Jess Franco before being killed in car accident in 1970 and Sylva (who looks a lot like Elke Sommer) starred along side Elke few Horror films (Lisa and the Devil is probably the best known) and Tony Curtis in a few of his steamier romps.

Pieman7
11 Oct 2003, 18:07
I could probably narrow it down to these in no real order -

Raging Bull
Gladiator
The Crow
Falling Down
Braveheart
Rocky
Jaws
Terminator 1&2
The Lecter series(SOTL, Hannibal and Red Dragon)
Major League 1&2