View Full Version : Im just sick of this this shit.

jod23
8 Mar 2001, 19:10
Its sooooooo god damn hard to find an intelligent conversation on this site anymore. With idiots such as Mags Easty Tony Shaw Hawkforce and Jub Jub Jub and all the unregistered losers who come on and post utter crap. Theres others but im not going to sit here and name them.

But for gods sake i think Bluey should start another Board called Intelligent users only.
Where ppl such as Sandie BSA Eagle_Fan GoEagles Stealth Olmy Carb Ant Dutchy Dan (sometimes :D) Arch and other sensible ppl can talk footy intelligently!! Instead of your a ******** and i spat on a coffin??? and other absolute CRAP that somehow finds its way onto these boards!!!!!

[This message has been edited by jod23 (edited 08 March 2001).]

sbagman
8 Mar 2001, 19:14
I'll have an intelligent conversation with ya! name a topic!

sbagman
8 Mar 2001, 19:15
The best way is not to respond to all these stupid threads... responding just lends credibility to them, which is thoroughly undeserved.

------------------
Life has meaning only in the struggle.

JUB JUB JUB
8 Mar 2001, 19:18
Originally posted by sbagman:

The best way is not to respond to all these stupid threads... responding just lends credibility to them, which is thoroughly undeserved.

I'm with sbagman!!!!!!!!!!!

sbagman
8 Mar 2001, 19:19
Rats... we had a chance of intelligent conversation for exactly two mintues, 15 seconds....

------------------

JUB JUB JUB
8 Mar 2001, 19:22

Rats... we had a chance of intelligent conversation for exactly two mintues, 15 seconds....

Yeah, then someone had to spoil it.
I'm with sbagman on this one.

sbagman
8 Mar 2001, 19:24
Agreeing with a "dumb wog"?

------------------

lioness
8 Mar 2001, 19:41
jod, I didn't get a mention in your list of intelligent posters. :( I am deeply offended. :p

------------------
*the one and only lioness*

sbagman
8 Mar 2001, 19:45
Hey, I didn't either....

------------------

sbagman
8 Mar 2001, 20:00
Actually, just reading some of this stuff.... I'm tending to agree. Do we have to have people referring to other people as "****s", must we have pontification on people's sexual orientation, must there be a minimum of twenty obscenities in every post?

I've changed my mind. Make registration compulsory. have a "P" plate period, the first 50 posts, if the person is deemed to be offencive, ban him/her and remmove all her posts.

What exactly is the policy on swearing? OK, I don't mind the odd word chucked in here and there, but then you get people who overuse it, and it becomes a matter of scrolling through 19 rubbish posts to get to 1 intelligent one.

Something has to be done.

------------------

JUB JUB JUB
8 Mar 2001, 20:13

Actually, just reading some of this stuff.... I'm tending to agree. Do we have to have people referring to other people as "****s", must we have pontification on people's sexual orientation, must there be a minimum of twenty obscenities in every post?

I've changed my mind. Make registration compulsory. have a "P" plate period, the first 50 posts, if the person is deemed to be offencive, ban him/her and remmove all her posts.

What exactly is the policy on swearing? OK, I don't mind the odd word chucked in here and there, but then you get people who overuse it, and it becomes a matter of scrolling through 19 rubbish posts to get to 1 intelligent one.

Something has to be done.

I'm with sbagman on this one!

JUB JUB JUB
8 Mar 2001, 20:21
Actually, Sbagman is a pretty cool bloke... just wanted to add that just before I apologise for being a total pratt. See, I have a lot of self esteem issues, and want everyone to like me, so I get them to notice me by putting moronic posts like the ones I have done these last few days... sorry all... I am seeking counselling... please bear with me...

lioness
8 Mar 2001, 20:34

Hey, I didn't either....

OK well we don't need them, let's have our own intelligent conversations. ;) hehehe

------------------

lioness
8 Mar 2001, 20:36
Originally posted by JUB JUB JUB:

Actually, Sbagman is a pretty cool bloke... just wanted to add that just before I apologise for being a total pratt. See, I have a lot of self esteem issues, and want everyone to like me, so I get them to notice me by putting moronic posts like the ones I have done these last few days... sorry all... I am seeking counselling... please bear with me...

:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

------------------

sbagman
8 Mar 2001, 20:39
No good, Lioness?

------------------

sandie
8 Mar 2001, 20:43
Jod, Lioness & sbagman
I actually thought things would improve once footy started, boy was I wrong.
I agree, there aren't many posts worth responding to at the moment, but all I can say is it has happened before, just ignore the trolls & they eventually go away. Let's hope it doesn't take too long. :(

------------------
mantis

Hawkforce.
8 Mar 2001, 20:44
You idiot, Jod!

magpie_joffa
8 Mar 2001, 20:45
I agree.....LOL

------------------
There is nothing in life greater,than to be a supporter or our beloved collingwood football club,we must remain united,we must stand tall,we must be prepared to fight for our glorious black and white,for we are THE ENVY OF ALL NATIONS.

sbagman
8 Mar 2001, 21:26
I would agree Sandie, but even the footy related stuff is degenerating into stupidity... I can't remember how many times a footy related thread ends up in purile name calling, and by registered members too... I don't want to sound like a spoilsport, but I think a line must be drawn somewhere, and maybe there needs to be more moderators for the boards? I'll stick my hand up if need be.... not that I'm having a go at Bluey or anything, just trying to resolve a problem I think most serious users of bigfooty would acknowledge exists.

Cheers,
Sbagman.

------------------

Grendel
8 Mar 2001, 22:25
Jod, agree with you 110%.

jod23
8 Mar 2001, 23:02
I get the feeling Hawkforce is Joffa :)

------------------
All the people in the broken homes dont wanna fight no more. All the people nursing shattered bones dont wanna fight no more. But theres no profit in peace so we gotta fight some more.

jod23
8 Mar 2001, 23:03
Sandie i agree with ya. I thought it would pick up once the footy started but it just seemed to get worse. Hopefully the thucking idiots will leave.

------------------
All the people in the broken homes dont wanna fight no more. All the people nursing shattered bones dont wanna fight no more. But theres no profit in peace so we gotta fight some more.

jod23
8 Mar 2001, 23:06
Ive got it !!! A new Intelligent Forum where Bluey chooses the intelligent posters due to there form on other boards gives them a password and only the good ppl can go there. :D

(im not serious though) <--- thats for the dense who dont get it.

------------------

Bloodstained Angel
9 Mar 2001, 03:32
Not serious jod23

I bloody well am !

I'm fed up with the way BogFooty has totally gone down the gurgler recently. - And to think we all did a very good job during the off season to keep the place running along nicely.

The present tone of BigFooty is crap - its just infantile abuse and name calling and some the most purile topics you could imagine.

Its getting so bad that I have started to think a 'secure' board for us er, more 'serious' users is going to be the way to go.

No Triple Jubs, Tony Shaws or girlies talking about the size of Jimmy Hird's penis, or other assorted idiots talking about spitting at Bradman's coffin or arguing about whether calling Jo Gutnick a Jew is a racist insult or not - I don't care really

I just want to find someone to talk about footy (and a couple of other things) with in a serious, but friendly way.

A secure board for serious posters has to be the way to go.

Heck I'll even moderate it - so that way I can decide who is in and whos out (heh Heh)

cheers

JUBJUB
9 Mar 2001, 03:47
Originally posted by jod23:
Ive got it !!! A new Intelligent Forum where Bluey chooses the intelligent posters due to there form on other boards gives them a password and only the good ppl can go there. :D

JOD23,thats a good way of getting rid of the Collingwood supporters :D :D :D

------------------
"Hey ,just because I don't care doesn't mean I don't understand"

Darky
9 Mar 2001, 04:18

(im not serious though) <--- thats for the dense who dont get it.

You might not have been serious, but that is one bloody good idea, even if I miss out :D!!!!

Crow54
9 Mar 2001, 06:46
Have to agree with you guys,here.

I don't bother to read 90% of the posts now. It used to be an interesting site to visit, but now I check out a couple of the separate club boards, and that's about it.

The Dutchman!
9 Mar 2001, 06:54
I'm interested if you can manage it BSA

magpie_joffa
9 Mar 2001, 07:23
LOL...LOL....hope im invited!!!!

------------------
There is nothing in life greater,than to be a supporter or our beloved collingwood football club,we must remain united,we must stand tall,we must be prepared to fight for our glorious black and white,for we are THE ENVY OF ALL NATIONS.

this shit
9 Mar 2001, 07:38
i'm sick of you too!

Arch
9 Mar 2001, 08:14
Its sooooooo god damn hard to find an intelligent conversation on this site anymore. With idiots such as Mags Easty Tony Shaw Hawkforce and Jub Jub Jub and all the unregistered losers who come on and post utter crap. Theres others but im not going to sit here and name them.

But for gods sake i think Bluey should start another Board called Intelligent users only.
(edited 08 March 2001).]

here here Jod. Finally someone said it. BSA, Id urge you to contact bluey about it, and see what can be done.
cheers.

Bloodstained Angel
9 Mar 2001, 08:51
Thanks for the responses - obviously a few people agree with jod23 and myself - something definitely needs to be done otherwise BigFooty will rapidly lose its reputation,not to mention its popularity.

Much as I would like to - I don't have the time or opportunity to access BigFooty terribly often. And moderating a board reeking of exclusivity and elitism would have to be a very deamnding, not to mention fulltime job.

Jod23 ? - perhaps you could stick your hand up ?

I can offer assistance but can't be more involved than I already am.

a couple of points about any 'serious' board :

1. It has to be secure otherwise it won't work, a firewall must be place that can be only be negotiated by a username and password. I don't know enough about UBB software to know whether this is possible or not (bluey ?). A normal BB where anyone can come into just won't work and actaully defeats the purpose of setting up such a board anyway.

2. The board cannot be moderated along fair and democratic principles. By its very nature it has to be a dictatorship, people who have their crap posts wiped out by the moderator should not go bleating about freedom of speech or censorship or anyth8ing like that. The purpose of the 'serious' board is to keep it serious so the Moderator has to be a bit of a ruthless control-freak type who will scrap any post that dosen't meet his (or hers) criteria.

Its a shame it really has to come down to this but going to BigFooty these days is jumping into a sewer - and something needs to be done to raise the tone of what was once a great BB.

cheers

CJH
9 Mar 2001, 09:39
I'm all for cleaning up BigFooty.

At the least, I have suggested (on the moderator board) that we have more moderators on the AFL board.

I also think these extra moderators should be given a mandate to:

Immediately remove offensive or racist shite like the Nazi stuff or the recent bowl of dicks.
Lock posts that denigrate into the infantile shite that is the majority of the main board at the moment.

I don't think we need to get to the stage of an exclusive intellectual board yet - when I first came here in October last year, that is what the main board was like - we should work to getting it back to that state.

------------------
TigerFury.net (http://www.tigerfury.net) - Independant Richmond Tigers website

sandie
9 Mar 2001, 09:49
CJH
I agree with deleting disgusting threads like the nazi ones, but you have to be really careful with giving someone the power to close other threads. You would have to select someone who is totally unbiased, otherwise you could have a supporter just getting read of posts that they don't agree with, or because they don't like a particular poster.
Cheers

------------------
mantis

joshhem
9 Mar 2001, 09:57
Registration MUST be esential!

elt
9 Mar 2001, 10:04
Interesting ideas guys and I agree that something needs to be done. Some points that came to me as I read the discussion so far :

If a new board is started and the current main boards are allowed to deteriorate how will any new people ever be given access to the secure board? Will it just become the same (relatively) few discussing things?
To decide on moderator(s) for either the new forum or to help Bluey on the existing ones maybe a vote would be best? You need a special kind of person to do the job properly and they need to have the time. As I have said in other threads timely deletion of some things would solve a lot of the problems.
Having said that I think BSA would be an excellent choice :D

All of this is obviously subject to Bluey's approval. I hope we can come up with some sort of solution because it is very frustrating watching what was a great site for football discussion turning into a puerile name calling mess.

------------------
The early bird gets the worm. But the second mouse gets the cheese.

[This message has been edited by elt (edited 08 March 2001).]

ant
9 Mar 2001, 11:40
Originally posted by elt:
Interesting ideas guys and I agree that something needs to be done. Some points that came to me as I read the discussion so far :

[list]
If a new board is started and the current main boards are allowed to deteriorate how will any new people ever be given access to the secure board? Will it just become the same (relatively) few discussing things?

I think in this case new people will just have to prove themselves over time, by posting credible posts on the other boards. Once he/she has demonstated themselves to be an intelligent poster or something close to that, then they can be given admittance into this board. But who decides this??? The moderator, or maybe 5 or so of those already with access to the secure board could petition for a person to be given admittance to the 'special' board. I think most people can identify a good poster so this might be an option. Thoughts??

Mags
9 Mar 2001, 11:41
With idiots such as Mags

**** Off U Scummy Eagles Supporter, what have I done too u ******** too deserve that comment?

For all it comes down too ur a ****ing wanker and I never wanna have anything too do with u, ********.

CJH
9 Mar 2001, 12:36
Originally posted by sandie:
CJH
...You would have to select someone who is totally unbiased, otherwise you could have a supporter just getting read of posts that they don't agree with, or because they don't like a particular poster.
Cheers

Actually Sandie, I think it should be those that have demonstrated that they are big enough to rise above this.

To place independant objectivity above self interests.

------------------

Visro
9 Mar 2001, 14:33
My god....i go away for two days and i come back to see you all like this. :p that idea about a forum for intelligent posters of which i better be included seems a very good idead....whether it can be done however im not sure?? :confused:

------------------
I was put on this Earth to complete a certain number of tasks. I am so far behind, I will never die...

Shinboners
9 Mar 2001, 14:59
Well maybe we could start up a mailing list on something like onelist, so it becomes e-mail based. I think on one-list, it's possible to restrict the membership.

Just an idea.

jod23
9 Mar 2001, 17:19
Well my not so serious idea has turned into a serious one. I would be happy to moderate it if it gets under way, im here pretty much every day so not much would get by. I dont think moderating it would be hard seen as we would all be sensible intelligent posters.
No more JJJ and Tony Shaws and Eastys.
But the final word has to come from Bluey and he hasnt been around lately.

------------------

Woodsman
9 Mar 2001, 17:52
If you can tolerate briefly dipping your toes into Magpie territory, check out the ubb on Nick's site:
http://nick.magpies.net/ubb-cgi/Ultimate.cgi

Just about everything that can be done to a ubb has been done to that board. In particular look at the private forums - all tightly locked, you can't even read them without access.

That will give you some idea of what can be done.

Richmondfan#1
9 Mar 2001, 18:09

Where ppl such as Sandie BSA Eagle_Fan GoEagles Stealth Olmy Carb Ant Dutchy Dan (sometimes :D)

[This message has been edited by jod23 (edited 08 March 2001).]

Why aren't i in that list? lol
Just kiddin mate!

Visro
9 Mar 2001, 18:37
ok i think the following are necessary ideas:

1. Introduce more moderators onto bigfooty forums to control what is put on.

2. Make registration a necessity. I think its about time it became compulsory.

3. Had a look at nicks page courtesy of someone (sorry cant remember who exactly :D) and these private boards should become a reality. That way you can restrict people you dont want. Respected posters board should be introduced.

4. Team boards should be limited to people who support that club.

I know a lot of these sound strict but it really has to be done except for maybe point 4. Bigfooty was great when i first joined but it has progressively got worse and has now reached a stage where some restrictions should be placed.

Cheers Vis

------------------
I was put on this Earth to complete a certain number of tasks. I am so far behind, I will never die...

Stealth bomber
9 Mar 2001, 19:30
I'm tired too.

I guess I had hoped that footy fans in general had a lot more class and respect for each other. Of all the places I've ever visited and talked about sports with other people, I've never seen a place that was as volatile as this one.

I've always been welcome anywhere, despite whatever club allegiance I have or what my nationality/background might be. While I haven't been singled out here by anyone in particular, I see my club and its players slagged on a regular basis, almost to the point of extreme obsession. After losing one match in particular, there were at least a dozen topics started with no better intention than to rub salt in the wounds of the defeated.

There are 16 clubs in the AFL. Some are more successful on the field, some off the field. Some have more money. Some have more supporters than others. Some of them might not exist in their current form in a couple years' time.

No one club is bigger than the rest. They are all equal; they all contribute something vital to the league, and if any one of them would cease to exist tomorrow, the whole league would suffer.

It's fun to perpetuate stereotypes about certain groups of supporters...we all do it. We even acknowledge them sometimes. It's gotten to a point though where people will now jump on anyone without taking anything else into account other than what club they support or which player they follow.

If we were all in a room together physically, would we all attack each other like this? Maybe if you put a couple of the Maggies in a room with Dan24, but otherwise? I doubt it.

I think if some of you Collingwood blokes sat down and had a drink with some of us Essendon blokes, you might feel differently about some of us. In fact, you might even (*gasp*) like some of us by the end of the day. And (*gasp*) we might even like some of you guys too.

Off the box I go...

Eagle_Fan
9 Mar 2001, 19:39
I've been waiting almost 21 years, but finally my life has amounted to something.... I made Jods list! ;)

Seriously though, completely agree that something has to be done...

Same Old's
9 Mar 2001, 19:47
Originally posted by Bloodstained Angel:
Thanks for the responses - obviously a few people agree with jod23 and myself - something definitely needs to be done otherwise BigFooty will rapidly lose its reputation,not to mention its popularity.

I've been on other boards and when someone mentions Bigfooty most other posters say that it's just a place for "slanging matches".

Your right, BSA, this "problem" we have might deter "newer" people from joining Bigfooty.

[This message has been edited by Same Old's (edited 09 March 2001).]

jod23
9 Mar 2001, 23:35
Well i think we should get a Intelligent forum up and running soon and those ppl who are allowed on will be given a password and so forth. Then we will talk about footy without having to put up with the stupid slanging matches that go on here on a daily basis.

Eagle_Fan you were on top of the list, in fact most eagles supporters are pretty well behaved on bigfooty.

Grendel
9 Mar 2001, 23:45
Though most of the offending posts have been removed. Ive yet to see Bluey (or anyone else for that matter) comment about any of these issues that have been raised.

If the boards going to remain as is, the problems will only continue (new abuse,delete the new abuse, its replaced by more of the same).

Changes are needed and soon.

Westy Boy
10 Mar 2001, 00:55
Originally posted by ant:
I think in this case new people will just have to prove themselves over time, by posting credible posts on the other boards. Once he/she has demonstated themselves to be an intelligent poster or something close to that, then they can be given admittance into this board. Thoughts??

I like the idea, but what we have to consider is that initially newcomers will be arguing with the likes of TONY SHAW.

EG

INTELLIGENT NEW POSTER WHO COULD ENRICH THE BOARDS: Buckley is a fantastic talent, but in my opinion Malthouse could use him in a far more damaging role.

TONY SHAW: YOU ******!! GO SUCK YOUR MUMMIES ******!

INTELLIGENT NEW POSTER WHO COULD ENRICH THE BOARDS: *Leaves Bigfooty to never return- thinking TONY SHAW is best intellectual debate available*

Another problem is that TONY SHAW could re-register as MapgiesSupporterNotHereToAbuseHONEST, manages to speak some sense, ....then gets accepted in to the "elite", learns the password etc., send it to all his mates or post it on the 'abusive' board... everyone jumps on board and we're back to where we started.

Just one other thing. Some of the more 'longer term' posters aren't really too much better IMO. Nothing but looking for confrontation for any pedantic reason..... Not me! .... i've cleaned up my act.... as of now... HONEST! :D

The Dutchman!
10 Mar 2001, 04:09
The other prob is that I'm not a huge fan of exclusivity, elitism or hindered free speech. The alternative to a separate board etc is to just get Bluey to police the place a little more rigourously.

Plus its only March - most of these tossers inevitably lose interest my mid-May when their teams fail to deliver - cos let's face it the reason most of these irritants are new is because they are on the bandwagon while it lasts.

Frankly, we could continue to not win a bloody game for the whole bloody year (sigh) and I'd still be on here every other day to check out some humour and have a good, smart argument about one of my favourite subjects - AFL footy. I'd really miss some of the classics from folks like Walshy, Arch, Stealth, Ricey, Wally and hell even Dan when he doesn't lower his standards... and that's just some of the bomber fans... the list of the rest is endless... shinner, Rooboy, CIK (sometimes), TT, RF#1, EF, Jod, BSA, Gren, Pess, ODN, Westy, Olmy, Sainter, GoCatsgo, QT, Dees etc etc etc... apologies to those I left out.

Summary - better policing and eventual drop off of the troll factor is better than elitism IMHO.

CJH
10 Mar 2001, 04:30
Originally posted by Visro:

4. Team boards should be limited to people who support that club.

I haave no issue with supporters of other clubs coming onto our board.

In most cases commentary passed is fair and reasonable - and even some of the good-natued stirring from opposition supporters is OK.

In the 4 months or so I've been moderator there, I've hardly had to do a thing.

I've got no problem with keeping the club boards as they are!

------------------

Visro
10 Mar 2001, 05:13
yeah i sort of scrapped that idea as soon as i posted it...with this debate about new posters being deterred away from here by certain morons, why not just get rid of some or morons. Also, most of the team boards are a place of sensible conversation which the "morons" avoid. And if we did set up a private forum, whats to say we still wouldn't post in the main afl forums?

Hawkforce.
10 Mar 2001, 06:21
I get the feeling Hawkforce is Joffa :)

Ouch!

Hawkforce.
10 Mar 2001, 06:31
Originally posted by Westy Boy:
I like the idea, but what we have to consider is that initially newcomers will be arguing with the likes of TONY SHAW.

EG

INTELLIGENT NEW POSTER WHO COULD ENRICH THE BOARDS: Buckley is a fantastic talent, but in my opinion Malthouse could use him in a far more damaging role.

TONY SHAW: YOU ******!! GO SUCK YOUR MUMMIES ******!

INTELLIGENT NEW POSTER WHO COULD ENRICH THE BOARDS: *Leaves Bigfooty to never return- thinking TONY SHAW is best intellectual debate available*

Another problem is that TONY SHAW could re-register as MapgiesSupporterNotHereToAbuseHONEST, manages to speak some sense, ....then gets accepted in to the "elite", learns the password etc., send it to all his mates or post it on the 'abusive' board... everyone jumps on board and we're back to where we started.

Just one other thing. Some of the more 'longer term' posters aren't really too much better IMO. Nothing but looking for confrontation for any pedantic reason..... Not me! .... i've cleaned up my act.... as of now... HONEST! :D

Where ya been, Westy? This is the type of post that has been missing!

I must say, for all that Mags can crap on (especially with Easty etc) sometimes there are moments when you can almost see the maturing process happening while he posts.

Does Bigfooty want to lose moments like that?

I still think refusing to reply/acknowledge stupid posts is the ONLY practice that works.

JUB JUB JUB
10 Mar 2001, 06:45
Originally posted by Westy Boy:

Ill enrich your diet with some protein by tossing off over your pie you cum sucker!

sandie
10 Mar 2001, 07:36
I agree with Hawkforce.
The trolls only post to get a reaction, if no one responded they would go away. I know that nazi crap was bad, but it would have gone away a lot quicker if no one had of responded in the actual posts. It is hard ignoring morons like that, but I think that is the best way to go, I think this elite posters thing isn't a good idea.
Cheers

------------------
mantis

mantis
10 Mar 2001, 12:38
Another suggestion. While bluey is awol, how about we nominate 1 of the team boards which has a moderator, to use as a main board, so that there can be some control exercised over posts until bluey is back on board.
What are your thoughts on this idea?

------------------
First registered April 2000, Add 2000 to number of posts.

Visro
10 Mar 2001, 12:48
Nope sandie its about time some reforms were introduced here. I am sick to death of coming onto these forums and seeing these unregistered morons posts. I dont want to have to ignore them. You shouldn't have to do that, we barely ever use to have to do that before christmas.

Its high time we got a seperate and private board for respected bigfooty members where they can post their own ideas without being blasted for no reason by some unregistered or gutless person. THis isn't to say though that we wouldn't still use the main public boards. They are in need of reform too. More moderators are needed as the more populat bigfooty becomes, the more of this shit we are going to have. We need some sort of limit to say we aint going to take it anymore.

On the subject of reforms, i have heard that the nazi posts have been removed which means that Bluey has removed them. What are Blueys views on all these suggestions he is being bombarded with?

------------------

GoEagles
10 Mar 2001, 16:25
Wow I was away for close to a week and I see that World War 3 has almost hit BigFooty. What needs doing is being able to weed out the good from the bad. By now, everyone has an opinion on each BigFooty poster and we know what they are like. It's the folks who we don't know about that seem to be causing all the problems (racial and disrespectful tacky comments). Is giving each board a moderator going to solve the problem? Will BigFooty become too protective and be another version of a Net Nanny - I know there has never been any problems in the Eagles board, which is probably why we don't have a moderator there right now.

There is no quick fix for this, because all boards do have problems from time to time, but we do need to work on a solution, before we start losing any of our guests from the boards. For now, the best way to clean things up is to email the board moderator with URL's of bad posts.

The Dutchman!
10 Mar 2001, 17:42
I'll just add Sandie, Mantis and Same Olds to that list b4 I forget.

jod23
10 Mar 2001, 18:24
I was gonna say Dutchy ... Sandie will be pissed lol. :D

------------------

Same Old's
10 Mar 2001, 18:34
Don't you mean Mantis, Jod? ;)

Dipper
10 Mar 2001, 20:14
Hey Jod I'll have an intelligent conversation with you (or at least I'll try my best)I remember you saying that you dig the Doors so which is your favourite album?Me, I love LA Woman it just blows me away every time I listen to it.

Fred
11 Mar 2001, 02:13
I too am finding the quality of the posts has dropped considerably. As one of the older generation, I find many posts infantile and just plain abusive, and fully support a new board for the serious posters.
I cannot see why it is that even if we support different teams, we can't show some respect for one another. We all follow the footy and as such need each other and each others teams.
Even the footy chat has gone downhill a lot. Individually, the vast majority are great to talk to, but when a group of same-team supporters get together, it seems a case of leave your brain at the door.
Ilook forward to compulsory registration and a much harder line on abusive posts.
I also suspect that if I was bluey then the 50000 odd posts here would be cut to about half that and it just might make more enjoyable reading.

Having never made a post this long before, I'm now going to lay down for a while.

I am also offended that I wasn't mentioned in the serious poster category.
------------------
I am grateful that I am not as judgmental as all these censorious, self-righteous people around me.

[This message has been edited by Fred (edited 10 March 2001).]

jod23
11 Mar 2001, 04:21
Dipper - LA Woman the album and the song is just awesome!!! Makes me wanna take alot of drugs and just get crazy!!!!!!

Morrison for ever ... The Great American Poet

------------------

joshhem
11 Mar 2001, 06:27
TIME TO RENAME THIS BOARD:

'Take the piss out of easty'

joshhem
11 Mar 2001, 06:28
can everyone just forget any dissagreements with easty!! pls.. taht's all that you talk about at the moment and i find it really BORING!

Woodsman
11 Mar 2001, 08:25
Visro, the posts are still there, but they've moved down the list and you have to look for them. So they're pretty innocuous unless some clever poster decides to add a comment and bring them back to the top.

It's interesting that the reaction to discriminatory posts is a cry for discrimination. To those of you calling for restriction based on 'intelligence' I ask who is to be the measurer - and just what is the measure? The same can asked of those of you calling for discrimination based on the 'sensible' measure of the poster. Sure you can see the extremes, but when it comes to ruling a line you need to be very careful that you're not discriminating against somebody who falls just outside the line. Move the line to accommodate that person and you have a new person to consider...

Add to that the fact that the group is already divided along lines of allegiance to their clubs and you have a minefield. I've already seen 'Collingwood' used to label a group that are not worthy, in some minds, of membership - dangerous stuff.

The paradox here is that the moderator must discriminate to achieve some level of harmony and workability of the boards and to ensure that posts do not breach his legal obligations.

I think the main problem here is that moderation is not happening in this instance. That the extremes have been allowed to remain, be seen and have an impact and the lesser ratbags have been swept up and included in the outcry caused by those extremes.

Bluey has disappeared for some reason unknown to us. He is at risk while he isn't moderating. He has a responsibility as a publisher to ensure that the content of the boards does not contain unlawful material, whether it be defamous, discriminatory or whatever. His disclaimer can not effectively remove his responsibility for this. If it did every talk back radio show in the land would carry a similar disclaimer and broadcast whatever they liked.

Even without his responsibility as publisher, Bluey has demonstrated that he has the ability to remove posts by doing just that, and that demonstration is enough to make him liable for the posts that remain. Be warned, all moderators carry that level of legal responsibility, once they have demonstrated their ability to modify the content of the board.

One of the reasons that club forums have either disappeared or become sterilised by rigid moderation is that they are aware of the implications of running an open slather forum. Ask Adelaide and Essendon.

THE ICON
11 Mar 2001, 13:05
Gee who are the intellects and who are the morons?

It is pretty difficult to work out for some.

I can work out who are up themselves.....
all of you!!!

THE ICON

[This message has been edited by THE ICON (edited 10 March 2001).]

Visro
11 Mar 2001, 14:03
see it aint that hard :rolleyes:

------------------

WA
13 Mar 2001, 08:57
I'm not sure if anyone else has already said what I'm about to say, (I'm at work & don't have time to read all the posts on this one), but, wouldn't it be smarter to just NOT respond to the crap topics? By responding to some of the stupid topics you are just giving certain people the reactions they were after in the first place. Anyone heard the saying 'ignore them and perhaps they'll go away'?!?

WA
13 Mar 2001, 12:37
Sorry, this is just a test.

WA
13 Mar 2001, 12:52
sorry again

Same Old's
13 Mar 2001, 14:07
What are you testing, WA?

WA
13 Mar 2001, 15:39
Originally posted by Same Old's:
What are you testing, WA?

I've been having probs getting my screen to refresh when new messages are posted. Up till now it's taken hours for new messages to be displayed, even after pressing refresh or shift+refresh. I was trying something new I had been told about (proxy setting). Seems to be working so far. :)

jod23
14 Mar 2001, 02:06
WA tell me your secret cos mine do not come up straight away either :(

WA
14 Mar 2001, 15:16
WA tell me your secret cos mine do not come up straight away either :(

Hey Jod23
Mine still seems to be working! This is from memory and as I am not much of a ‘computer person’ - I was walked thru it by my ISP. It may have something to do with your ‘proxy settings’. I had to do the following:
Control Panel, Internet Options, Internet Properties, Connections, Double click on your default in
Dial Up Settings, put a tick in the square for ‘use a proxy server’, type in the address of your ISP proxy, then type in their proxy number (?) in the port section. The last 2 details you may have to get from them.
I hope this makes sense and as I said, it’s from memory, so I hope it works!! If it doesn’t let me know & I’ll ask my provider again.
:)

jod23
14 Mar 2001, 23:27
Tried it but it didnt work i think i need there number and that so i will contact Westnet and get my details then try again.

Cheers

WA
15 Mar 2001, 07:04
Still so far so good for me. It makes a big difference!!
Good luck!

Bluey
16 Mar 2001, 03:21
Closing this one - please start a new thread :)