View Full Version : Adelaide's 2004 Fixture.

GoalsFrom50Out
8 Oct 2003, 01:01
ROUND 1
SUNDAY MARCH 28 AEST
Kangaroos vs Adelaide Crows
MCG 2:10 PM AEST

ROUND 2

SATURDAY APRIL 3 ACST
Adelaide Crows vs Brisbane Lions
AAMI Stadium 1:40 PM ACST

ROUND 3

SUNDAY APRIL 11 ACST
Fremantle Dockers vs Adelaide Crows
Subiaco Oval 1:40 PM AWST

ROUND 4

SATURDAY APRIL 17 AEST
Adelaide Crows vs St Kilda
AAMI Stadium 7:10 PM ACST

ROUND 5

FRIDAY APRIL 23 AEST
Richmond vs Adelaide Crows
Telstra Dome 7:10 PM AEST

ROUND 6

SUNDAY MAY 2 AEST
Geelong vs Adelaide Crows
Skilled Stadium 1:10 PM AEST

ROUND 7

SATURDAY MAY 8 AEST
Port Adelaide vs Adelaide Crows
AAMI Stadium 6:40 PM ACST

ROUND 8

FRIDAY MAY 14 ACST
Adelaide Crows vs Essendon

ROUND 9

FRIDAY MAY 21 AEST
Collingwood vs Adelaide Crows

ROUND10

SATURDAY MAY 29 AEST
Hawthorn vs Adelaide Crows

ROUND 11

SATURDAY JUNE 5 ACST
Adelaide Crows vs Carlton
AAMI Stadium 1:10 PM ACST

ROUND 12

SATURDAY JUNE 12 AEST
West Coast Eagles vs Adelaide Crows
Subiaco Oval 6:40 PM AWST

ROUND 13

SUNDAY JUNE 20 AEST
Adelaide Crows vs Western Bulldogs

ROUND 14

SUNDAY JULY 4 AEST
Adelaide Crows vs Melbourne

ROUND 15

SATURDAY JULY 10 AEST
Sydney Swans vs Adelaide Crows
S.C.G. 7:40 PM AEST

ROUND 16

SATURDAY JULY 17 AEST
Adelaide Crows vs Fremantle Dockers
AAMI Stadium 7:40 PM ACST

ROUND 17

SATURDAY JULY 24 AEST
Brisbane Lions vs Adelaide Crows
Gabba 7:10 PM AEST

ROUND 18

FRIDAY JULY 30 ACST
Adelaide Crows vs Kangaroos
AAMI Stadium 7:40 PM ACST

ROUND 19

SATURDAY AUGUST 7 AEST
St Kilda vs Adelaide Crows
York Park 1:10 PM AEST

ROUND 20

SUNDAY AUGUST 15 ACST
Adelaide Crows vs Richmond

ROUND 21

SATURDAY AUGUST 21 ACST
Adelaide Crows vs Geelong

ROUND 22

SUNDAY AUGUST 29 AEST
Adelaide Crows vs Port Adelaide

There you go, no need to go looking through the other one for it ... WE PLAY CARLTON HERE! :D

DaveW
8 Oct 2003, 01:04
Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
ROUND 15

SATURDAY JULY 10 AEST
Sydney Swans vs Adelaide Crows
S.C.G. 7:40 PM AEST
Sweeeeet... would've preferred to play at Stadium Australia though.

dyertribe
8 Oct 2003, 01:05
ROUND 5

FRIDAY APRIL 23 AEST

ROUND 6

SUNDAY MAY 2 AEST

ROUND 7

SATURDAY MAY 8 AEST

ROUND 8

FRIDAY MAY 14 ACST

ROUND 9

FRIDAY MAY 21 AEST

ROUND10

SATURDAY MAY 29 AEST

Gee that's a charming little run...

DaveW
8 Oct 2003, 01:08
WE PLAY CARLTON HERE! :D I can't say I'm happy about that.

I'd much rather play Carlton away and play a stronger team at home. Say swap the Collingwood game to Adelaide and the Carlton game to Melbourne.

It's a conspiracy I tells ya... all these years we've had to play a strong Carlton side on their home patch. Now that they're at their lowest ebb we don't get the easy four points away.

dyertribe
8 Oct 2003, 01:10
Twice to Subi again...

I wonder which Victorian team doesn't have to go this time.

GoalsFrom50Out
8 Oct 2003, 01:12
Well, Collingwood do have to go over there amazingly ...

DaveW
8 Oct 2003, 01:14
Originally posted by dyertribe
Twice to Subi again...

I wonder which Victorian team doesn't have to go this time. They're a happy team at Hawthorn.

dyertribe
8 Oct 2003, 01:15
In fact... the first half of our season is a nightmare!

Fixtured amongst Rounds 1-12:

Kangaroos, Richmond, Geelong, Collingwood and Hawthorn away...

Brisbane, Essendon and Port Adelaide at home

Two trips to Subiaco...

That's a tough tough draw. :(

GoalsFrom50Out
8 Oct 2003, 01:19
Run home isn't too bad though.

dyertribe
8 Oct 2003, 01:20
Run home isn't too bad though.

Yeah if we're not 3-9 or 4-8 at the time...

macca23
8 Oct 2003, 01:21
As usual, we've been shafted. Out of our 10 away games we get Subiaco TWICE again, Brisbane, Sydney, York Park, Skilled Stadium.

We actually get to Melbourne only 4 times.

2 MCG

2 Telstra Dome.

As for the 7 teams that we play twice. No Carlton, Bullies or Melbourne there. We only got to play them once last year as well.

I just know that when I get to see the Collingwood program with its special treatment I'm gonna spew again!!

GoalsFrom50Out
8 Oct 2003, 01:21
We should be able to beat Geelong and Richmond away, though ...

macca23
8 Oct 2003, 01:25
In fact... the first half of our season is a nightmare!

Fixtured amongst Rounds 1-12:

Kangaroos, Richmond, Geelong, Collingwood and Hawthorn away...

Brisbane, Essendon and Port Adelaide at home

Two trips to Subiaco...

That's a tough tough draw. :(

That's a bloody nightmare draw. Not happy Jan!! :(

7-5 would be good with a draw like that. 8-4 would be excellent.

The last 10 games is a good run home if we're still in contention.

dyertribe
8 Oct 2003, 01:30

Richmond are due for a good year with a bit of luck with injury and Geelong at Kardinia with their harem of kids who'll be a year older...

Even St. Kilda at home will be tough in that lot...

If we turn 6-6 in those first twelve I'll do handstands...

GoalsFrom50Out
8 Oct 2003, 01:35
And then again, it is an even numbered year, Melbourne'll be good. :(

DaveW
8 Oct 2003, 01:38
And then again, it is an even numbered year, Melbourne'll be good. :( Well then hooray for the fact that we only play them once, and it's a home game to boot! ;)

sapaul
8 Oct 2003, 03:01
Play Hawthorn in Round 10 at the MCG, let's hope that's our last game in Melbourne until the Grand Final.

Jerome
8 Oct 2003, 06:56
That's a shocker!

3 out of the 4 games before the first showdown are away.

There isnt two games in a row at AAMI until June.

I agree if we manage 6/6 or 7/5 I'd be happy.

York Park :)

topjars
8 Oct 2003, 09:09
No Jonothan Brown against Brisbane in Round 2:mad: :D

magicman
8 Oct 2003, 09:38
They really dont want us to make the finals do they. :mad:

MaccasNeighbour
8 Oct 2003, 09:44
That's one very very tough draw!!

The first half of the year is a nightmare.

5 out of the first 7 games are away (including 1 Showdown).

The second half is a pretty good run home though.

If we only win 6 of our first 12 games I think we'll actually be doing pretty well.

_espoir
8 Oct 2003, 10:00
ROUND 7
SATURDAY MAY 8 AEST

we get a saturday night home game? damn it. I liked the sunday home matches! :mad: allows me to take better photos. :mad:

MaccasNeighbour
8 Oct 2003, 10:15
Is this draw legitimate or a dodgy leak??

Port01
8 Oct 2003, 11:06
It looks legitimate from what I've heard.

I don't understand how the AFL can do things like give Port or crows 3 consecutive away or home games (to finish the season no less), but make sure that Fremantle and West Coast alternate.

At least our members can give the season up after round 19 next year, rather than 22 ;)

Port01
8 Oct 2003, 11:07
I also thought Demetriou said they were doing away with the round 22 derbies.

How wrong we were.

Jars458
8 Oct 2003, 11:18
That's a disgrace

Every interstate venue plus Tasmania.

This Tassie thing is really annoying. The Melbourne clubs should play there if anyone to cut down on travel.

Why we have to go to Perth twice nearly every year is beyond me.

No Melbourne Dogs or Carlton twice.

Porthos
8 Oct 2003, 11:39
This is very much like the run you guys got in 1997, and Brisbane got in 2001, 2002, 2003. Get your travel out of the way early and build momentum going into the finals.

I'd swap home-away game formats with your mob in a second.

topjars
8 Oct 2003, 11:42
Originally posted by _espoir
ROUND 7
SATURDAY MAY 8 AEST

we get a saturday night home game? damn it. I liked the sunday home matches! :mad: allows me to take better photos. :mad:

Listen fiesty chick; I cant wait that long for revenge...:D

snakebite01
8 Oct 2003, 11:50
So in summary:

Play Twice: Kangaroos (10th), Brisbane (1st), Fremantle (7th), St. Kilda (11th), Richmond (13th), Geelong (12th), Port (4th).

On paper that looks reasonably good but Saints are expected to improve next year and Richmond and Geelong would have to improve or there will be major changes.

Play Away: Collingwood, Hawthorn, West Coast, Sydney, plus teams we play twice.

Play Home: Essendon, Carlton, Bulldogs, Melbourne, plus teams we play twice.

I'd much rather swap those home & aways around. ***** easy run at home but very difficult run away.

It doesn't look that bad but we never have a period where we have the potential to string 5 or 6 wins together.

And why the **** do we always have to go to every corner of Australia? Why do we always have to go to all 4 other interstate places in Perth twice, Brisbane, Sydney and now this year we are going to York friggin Park.

Oh well, if we're good enough we'll win 'em.

_espoir
8 Oct 2003, 12:13
Originally posted by topjars
Listen fiesty chick; I cant wait that long for revenge...:D

you wish ;) :D :p

snakebite01
8 Oct 2003, 12:31
Actually, having a look at it, the first 6 rounds aren't that bad. We play Geelong when they come back from Perth, we should beat AT LEAST one of Richmond and Kangas away and we should win our 2 home games.

MaccasNeighbour
8 Oct 2003, 13:46
Just noticed we have 3 Saturday afternoon games. Damn that gives me the absolute sh*ts!!!

The AFL knows that AFC don't like them, they know the Adelaide fans don't like them, they know these games don't get very good crowds, they know there are parking problems because of the shopping centre..... so what do they do? Give us 3 of them.

Maybe we should start telling the AFL we really love Saturday afternoon games and in 2005 they probably wont give us any.

Scotty's_Girl
8 Oct 2003, 13:56
From the AFL site:

Adelaide: The Crows only play three of their first seven games at AAMI Stadium, with one of those being against Port Adelaide. Their first three matches (Kangaroos, Brisbane and Fremantle) will all be tough and the Crows will need to hit the ground running to avoid an 0-3 start. They finish with three home games, and with Port to close the season out once more. A bonus is only meeting three of the 2003 finalists twice and a big fortnight in May with consecutive Friday night games against Essendon and Collingwood.

The Crows would be disappointed with three Saturday afternoon games at home – which they believe does not suit their demographic. :mad: I reckon. What a load of crap!!!

Stiffy_18
8 Oct 2003, 14:24
I am not too thrilled by the trip to York Park:(

Start of the season looks reasonably tough with a lot of the games away. The upside of course is that we are at home for the last 3 games.

Can't really complain about it. Its never going to be 100% fair.

maccas_no1
8 Oct 2003, 14:36
Only five games in Victoria:mad: :mad: gee we have alot of travelling next year 2 games in Perth (again) 1 in Sydney;) 1 in Brisbane;) 1 in Tassie:rolleyes:

At least we havent got a perth trip then a Melbourne trip, but what is the go with these melbourne Double headers:confused:

Stiffy_18
8 Oct 2003, 14:39
To be honest every year the draw comes out I expect us to go to Perth twice. We always get dudded witht his crap. And York Park?????? PLEASE:rolleyes:

maccas_no1
8 Oct 2003, 14:46
I cant understand why we are getting dragged down to tassie to help out St Kilda's coffers:rolleyes: Ohh well will have to go down there and freeze my tits off;)

Stiffy_18
8 Oct 2003, 14:53
These trips AFL has planned for Manuka Oval, York Park and Darwin should really be between Vicotian clubs who do bugger all travelling. Why do the non-victorain sides have to go to these places??????

This is just WRONG.

maccas_no1
8 Oct 2003, 14:58
Exactly Stiffy why cant Collingwood go to Tassie????Oh thats right Eddie is doing Demetriuo dry:rolleyes:

Stiffy_18
8 Oct 2003, 15:13
Originally posted by macca23
The last 10 games is a good run home if we're still in contention. The fat lady might have sung by then:(

At leaast we get 2 games at the MCG.

maccas_no1
8 Oct 2003, 15:22
The AFC have a Bloody tough start to the season, all our boys are going to have to fired up and the coaching panel with their thinking caps on or yes Stiffy the Fat Lady might have sung and gone home to bed:rolleyes:

Motto: 2004 Get It Right:D :D :D

snakebite01
8 Oct 2003, 15:37
Having a closer look at our draw.

Rounds 1-4
Very tough opening but it's a marathon not a sprint. I like the idea of playing at the 'G' in round 1. The 'King' will be back at the 'G' for the first time in 2 years. Brisbane will be tough but without Brown will be a bonus. Freo will be very very hard at the start of they year and who knbows what the Saints are capable of. Could easily go 0-4 in this spot but need to atleast get 2-2. 3-1 possible but doubtful.

Rounds 5-8
Should be able to beat Geelong after they're coming back from Perth and we have the wood over Richmond away in recent years. Port will be hard but probably 50-50 and we should beat Essendon at home. Should go 3-1.

Rounds 9-12
A very tough month with the only 'easy' win coming against Carlton. Collingwood, West Coast and Hawthorn all away is a tough ask but we should win atleast 1 of those. Must go 2-2.

Rounds 13-16
Starts to open up a little bit here with Bulldogs before the split round and Melbourne after both at home. Should win both, then have Sydney at night at the SCG which I think will be a cracker especially at night. IMSC we haven't lost to the Swans at the SCG at night and we have a great record against them recently. Then Freo at home to finish the month. Could quite easily go 4-0 here but may only get 3-1.

Rounds 17-19
Tough little three rounds here with trips to Brisbane and Tasmania (for Saints) split up by a Friday night game against Roos. 2-1 would be excellent but more realistically will be 1-2.

Rounds 20-22.
Three home games to finish the season against Richmond, Geelong and Port. The first two are gimmes and hopefully percetage boosters if we are up around the mark. Our chance to beat Port is here after they come off a similar road trip that we did at the same time last year. 2-1 at the least with 3-0 a possibilty.

On paper with all things being equal we should win 13-14 games. With a bit of luck we could get 15-16 with not many injuries and meeting teams at the right time but could also go 10-12 wins if we have massive form slump and injuries.

Only time will tell.

MaccasNeighbour
8 Oct 2003, 15:42
After having some time to think about it I don't think next year's draw is any worse than the usual crap we get stuck with.

I'm confident that we can win 14 games or more.

A lot of Victorians have written us off for next season, saying we went all out for the flag in 2003 and we failed. They seem to forget we didn't have a forward line for most of the season.

Having Stevens back kicking 2 or 3 goals a game will make a huge difference, and with Carey/Welsh up there with him we will really stretch the defences of most teams.

Don't start believing the rubbish from the other side of the border, we have one of the strongest line ups going around. It's very unlikely we will have as many injury problems in 2004 as we did this year.

We may have an older line up compared to most other teams but "older" is just a negative term for experienced. We have players in our squad that know how to win premierships. I'm quite happy to let the rest of the competition think we're out of it because we have a very good run home and we'll come home with a wet sail and plenty of momentum going into the finals.

Bring it on!

maccas_no1
8 Oct 2003, 15:49
The simple fact is where ever and who ever we play we have to play our best footy make the most of our opportunities infront of goal, attack the footy hard, and have a half decent game plan I think we could win 14-15 games if we go about it the right way, a top 4 finish is a must in 2004, we pay the price this year of a lack lusture finish to the season:rolleyes:

2004: AFC will be covered in glory:D :D :D

bluecrow
8 Oct 2003, 16:05
What a **** draw!

Perth x 2, Bris, Syd, Tassie, Geelong. It's a joke...we went to perth twice last season, surely we would only go once this year??

:mad: :rolleyes:

Yay we go to Brisbane on my birthday!! Time for a trip!

4 games in Melb + the game in Geelong is terrible for us Melbourne members. Doesn't even seem worth it to be a member!

DaveW
8 Oct 2003, 16:42
What on earth is wrong with playing at York Park?

I don't see what all the complaining is about.

I'd much rather play St Kilda on a more neutral ground than their familiar home of the Docklands.

dyertribe
8 Oct 2003, 16:52
Originally posted by DaveW
What on earth is wrong with playing at York Park?

I'd pick Darren Jarman for that one... horses for courses...

What were his stats against Hawthorn there in 2001?

39 touches and 3 goals?

Bockchoy67
8 Oct 2003, 17:42
I really don't think that the 2004 draw is that bad for us, I mean, considering that we have a good record in Melbourne.

We beat West Coast and lost to Freo by a point, with both of these games being at Subiaco.

We beat Geelong at Skilled last year, and have stamped our record as one of the best teams to play at the SCG against the Swans.

In my opinion the Brisbane and Port games are the only fly in the ointment as far as Adelaide's concerned.

dyertribe
8 Oct 2003, 17:57
Originally posted by Bockchoy67
I really don't think that the 2004 draw is that bad for us, I mean, considering that we have a good record in Melbourne.

We beat West Coast and lost to Freo by a point, with both of these games being at Subiaco.

We beat Geelong at Skilled last year, and have stamped our record as one of the best teams to play at the SCG against the Swans.

In my opinion the Brisbane and Port games are the only fly in the ointment as far as Adelaide's concerned.

You're either an eternal optomitrist (:p) or have been smoking some bad granola - it's a woeful draw in the first 1-12 rounds... :( If we're not on our game in those rounds we'll be well out of contention before our 'easy' run home.

noddy
8 Oct 2003, 17:59

Yep, i don't mind it to much either especially the 2nd part of the draw,

Provided we hang around in the 8 before the bye then if we are good enough a top 4 finish is well on the cards,

noddy
8 Oct 2003, 18:03
You're either an eternal optomitrist (:p) or have been smoking some bad granola - it's a woeful draw in the first 1-12 rounds... :( If we're not on our game in those rounds we'll be well out of contention before our 'easy' run home.

Granted the first 12 rounds are not easy but i can see us at least 6-6 & as i said before if we are good enough a top 4 finish is very likely,

acg_204*
8 Oct 2003, 18:46
Originally posted by MaccasNeighbour
Just noticed we have 3 Saturday afternoon games. Damn that gives me the absolute sh*ts!!!

The AFL knows that AFC don't like them, they know the Adelaide fans don't like them, they know these games don't get very good crowds, they know there are parking problems because of the shopping centre..... so what do they do? Give us 3 of them.

Maybe we should start telling the AFL we really love Saturday afternoon games and in 2005 they probably wont give us any.

Triggy was saying on 5aa that the original draft had us playing 5 Saturday games at home!! 3 was the best they could wittle it down to.

macca23
8 Oct 2003, 21:08
Originally posted by acg_204*
Triggy was saying on 5aa that the original draft had us playing 5 Saturday games at home!! 3 was the best they could wittle it down to.

With the exception of those 3 games he wasn't overly concerned about the draw.

He made the point that we have 7 away games in our first 10 games (1 against Port), which was balanced up by having 7 of the last 10 at home.

He was very sarcastic about the games played at York Park as home games by both Hawthorn and the Saints, and then proceeded to reel off all non-Victorian teams as the ones listed to play there, finishing off with "make of that what you will."

The continued bias and generosity of the AFL to both Collingwood and Essendon was also noted.

Kane McGoodwin
8 Oct 2003, 21:12
Would have prefered to play Richmond later than round 5, as they usually start the season well then things turn sour. However, we do tend to have the wood on them.

Kane McGoodwin
8 Oct 2003, 21:16
Originally posted by Porthos
This is very much like the run you guys got in 1997, and Brisbane got in 2001, 2002, 2003. Get your travel out of the way early and build momentum going into the finals.

Good point Porthos. I would prefer to have a tough run early (ie. travel to WA, Gabba, etc) as it means we finish with home games before the finals. Travel late in the season to WA has not helped us in the past - better to get it out of the way early.

Kane McGoodwin
8 Oct 2003, 21:19
Originally posted by Jars458
That's a disgrace

Every interstate venue plus Tasmania.

This Tassie thing is really annoying. The Melbourne clubs should play there if anyone to cut down on travel.

Why we have to go to Perth twice nearly every year is beyond me.

No Melbourne Dogs or Carlton twice.
The concern is that we have more non-Melbourne games because Melbourne teams are playing more home games away from their home state.

I would prefer another game or 2 at the MCG or Colonial rather than an extra Subi/Gabba/SCG game to what we normally get & Yorke Park ... & we still have to go to Skilled Stadium.

Stiffy_18
8 Oct 2003, 22:27
I think playing tough games to start off with is probably a good thing in a way. Get them out of the way before injuries strike. Often injuries happen later on in the season with us.

Have a good preseason and come out all guns blazing. If we can stay in the top 6-8 in the 1st half of the season then we are a good chance to finish of the season strongly and finish in the top 4. Providing of course we have a good run with injuries.

We play Brisbane in Rd 2 and they would be without Brown. THis would free up Kenny for Lynch (providing of course that Kenny is fit and Lynch plays on)

GoalsFrom50Out
8 Oct 2003, 23:19
And it's actually in Adelaide for once. :)

kirky
8 Oct 2003, 23:41
Ask the Leyland Brothers should be our new theme song. At any rate, I'm booking my flights to see them against Brisbane and the Roos at the "G" in the first game.

CrowBoi
9 Oct 2003, 02:48
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
... & we still have to go to Skilled Stadium. We draw a good crowd at Skilled at the moment due to our "coach"... The AFL is playing on that :( Although we've done well there recently :)

DaveW
9 Oct 2003, 02:55
Originally posted by CrowBoi
We draw a good crowd at Skilled at the moment due to our "coach"... The AFL is playing on that :( That would surprise me. As hypocritical as it would be considering they fined him for that.

topjars
9 Oct 2003, 09:18

I agree; and welcome bockchoy67:rolleyes:

topjars
9 Oct 2003, 09:23
ROUND 5

FRIDAY APRIL 23 AEST

ROUND 6

SUNDAY MAY 2 AEST

ROUND 7

SATURDAY MAY 8 AEST

ROUND 8

FRIDAY MAY 14 ACST

ROUND 9

FRIDAY MAY 21 AEST

ROUND10

SATURDAY MAY 29 AEST

Gee that's a charming little run...

Its not too bad if we win 'em all:D ...and we're a good chance in all of 'em

napsyd
9 Oct 2003, 12:34
Not really sure what we are fussing about.

The draw is always tough on the "interstaters", not so tough on the Vic teams AND even easier again on the "blockbuster" Vic teams. Part of the beauty of interstaters winning the flag is that they do it against greater odds than the Vic teams. Unless there is a MAJOR shift in the amount of teams from each state, it will remain this way for the foreseeable future.

This year we had a crap run in rounds 5 to 8 and the last eight rounds. Next year we have a tough run in the first 12 rounds. If we are good enough then this should not matter.

Ayres has many faults but one thing he has done is mould us into the sort of team that comes out firing from Round 1, this will help us in the tough early rounds and i'm sure he will put greater emphasis on it next season.

The fact is we must travel 10 times one way or the other. Whilst I'd prefer no trips to Perth or Brisbane, it really shouldn't make much difference, it's all in the mind set. The players must believe we can beat anyone, anywhere.

And DaveW, a night game at the SCG!! Last one of those I can remember was, well, special!! :D

topjars
9 Oct 2003, 13:23
I love Ports run home....Can we go to Darwin Can We Can We:cool:

Stiffy_18
9 Oct 2003, 14:35
Originally posted by napsyd
Not really sure what we are fussing about.

The fact is we must travel 10 times one way or the other. Whilst I'd prefer no trips to Perth or Brisbane, it really shouldn't make much difference, it's all in the mind set. The players must believe we can beat anyone, anywhere. I am only fussing on the York Park trip, an extra Perth trip, and 3 saturday afternoon games. Apart from that I think its pretty good draw.

If we could swap 1 Perth trip and York Park trip for a couple of Melbourne games, it would be much better. If one of those games happened to be at the MCG it would have beeen great.

3 Saturday afternoon games at home are a disaster for a lot of members. 1 would have been acceptable but none would have been better. Trigg said on 5AA yesterday that initially AFL had us playing 5 saturday afternoon games at home. He had to fight long and hard to get it down to 3.

4 friday night games is very good.:)

Dasher39
9 Oct 2003, 14:42
All I can say is they better drop the price for being a member in Victoria, 5 games and our last game is in Rnd 10:rolleyes: Whats with these Melbourne double header's:rolleyes:

Marty is travelling alot again in 2004:rolleyes:

To those who know him Mark has already booked his flights for Brisbane and Tassie OMG he is so married to the AFC:p

maccas_no1
9 Oct 2003, 14:45
Dasher 39 was my post, bloody housemate didnt logout did he:rolleyes: Bloody Geelong Supporters:rolleyes:

DaveW
9 Oct 2003, 17:05
Originally posted by napsyd
And DaveW, a night game at the SCG!! Last one of those I can remember was, well, special!! :D Indeed. :D

Bockchoy67
9 Oct 2003, 18:18
And it's actually in Adelaide for once. :)

That reminds me, it feels like ages since we've faced them in Adelaide.

Despite our recent failings against Brisbane (Semi final comes to mind) I think that we have a very good chance against them in that game, especially if we escape the injury list. Our record is also good, as we actually beat them in 2002 at the Gabba. Then they turned out to be the premiers that year.

Anyway,I like our chances and see that as a potential match winner.

:)

DaveW
9 Oct 2003, 18:25
That reminds me, it feels like ages since we've faced them in Adelaide.

Despite our recent failings against Brisbane (Semi final comes to mind) I think that we have a very good chance against them in that game, especially if we escape the injury list. Our record is also good, as we actually beat them in 2002 at the Gabba. Then they turned out to be the premiers that year.

Anyway,I like our chances and see that as a potential match winner.

:) We beat them in 2002 at Football Park.

We beat them in 2001 at the Gabba.

It's really only been the last one home and away match we've played them at the Gabba. It's just that we've had two finals there as well.

Bockchoy67
9 Oct 2003, 18:35
Is this strike four now Dave? ;)

I thought we faced them this year as well in the home and away season at the Gabba. We were actually winning at one stage but never seemed to put enough effort in to win.

Definitely once match this year I would rather forget. That, and both of the C'wood games, both of the Port games, the Kangaroos game, and the worst of all...Round 2 vs Saints.

Other than that we played well this year.

acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 18:39

Strike one, second innings.

DaveW
9 Oct 2003, 18:47
Like acg_204* said. You start from scratch again on a new thread.

I thought we faced them this year as well in the home and away season at the Gabba. We were actually winning at one stage but never seemed to put enough effort in to win. Yeah, we played them this year at the Gabba. We were up at half time and lost by three goals despite greater scoring shots.

Definitely once match this year I would rather forget. That, and both of the C'wood games, both of the Port games, the Kangaroos game, and the worst of all...Round 2 vs Saints.

Other than that we played well this year. Yeah there were quite a few games I'd rather forget this year. :o

acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 18:49
Yeah, we played them this year at the Gabba. We were up at half time and lost by three goals despite greater scoring shots.

Was at that game and we defiantely had the better of them all night...but they managed to get away from us in the last quarter. We had a few players missing that night didn't we, I know Carey was missing, can't recall who else.

DaveW
9 Oct 2003, 18:55
Originally posted by acg_204*
Was at that game and we defiantely had the better of them all night...but they managed to get away from us in the last quarter. We had a few players missing that night didn't we, I know Carey was missing, can't recall who else. Just our entire forward line - Carey, Stevens, Welsh, Burns and Burton.

And we couldn't even call up Daniel Schell. He was injured too! :p

acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 18:57
And we couldn't even call up Daniel Schell. He was injured too! :p

Thank bloody God for that:p

brucetiki
9 Oct 2003, 20:34
This draw is an absoloute disgrace.

3 away games in a row (although one is a showdown), but 3 home games in a row at the end of the season is probably the only pro.

Two games at Subi, again! This is a farce!

Playing in all states (inlcuding Tasmania). A joke.

When I saw we weren't playing Carlton @ Princess Park, I pinched myself to see if I was dreaming. Correct me if I am wrong, but will this be the first year EVER we DON'T have to play Carlton @ Princess Park.

And who said Demitreou was going to continue the success Jacko made. By the time Demitreou has finished the AFL will probably be a shambles. To me, Demitreou is worse than bin Laden, Mugabe, and Hussein put together! This draw fiasco proves this.

I also note the WAFL is going to sue the AFL over the draw. That will be interesting.

It is a disgusting draw, but that means the team will have to play better and beat it!

GO U CROWS!!!!

kirky
9 Oct 2003, 22:02
Originally posted by brucetiki
When I saw we weren't playing Carlton @ Princess Park, I pinched myself to see if I was dreaming. Correct me if I am wrong, but will this be the first year EVER we DON'T have to play Carlton @ Princess Park.

It certainly is the first time since we joined the competition thirteen years ago. We have only played them 5 times in Adelaide and it has only occured when we have been drawn to play them twice in a season (91, 94, 97, 98 and 01).

ok.crows
10 Oct 2003, 16:06
Originally posted by brucetiki
By the time Demitreou has finished the AFL will probably be a shambles. To me, Demitreou is worse than bin Laden, Mugabe, and Hussein put together! This draw fiasco proves this.

This is the third or fourth time IN A ROW that Demetriou has chosen to shaft Adelaide in regard to fixturing when he could easily have given them a reasonable go.

topjars
11 Oct 2003, 15:32
Round 1
Adelaide v Kangaroos
+ The Carey Factor
+ MCG

Round 2
Adelaide v Brisbane
+ No Jonathon Brown
+AAMI
- 6 day break by Adelaide

Round 3
Adelaide v Fremantle
+ 6 day break by Fremantle
+ Fremantle play in Sydney the previous week
- Subi game

Round 4
Adelaide v St Kilda
+AAMI
+ 5 day break by Saints

noddy
12 Oct 2003, 12:13
Round 1
Adelaide v Kangaroos
+ The Carey Factor
+ MCG

Round 2
Adelaide v Brisbane
+ No Jonathon Brown
+AAMI
- 6 day break by Adelaide

Round 3
Adelaide v Fremantle
+ 6 day break by Fremantle
+ Fremantle play in Sydney the previous week
- Subi game

Round 4
Adelaide v St Kilda
+AAMI
+ 5 day break by Saints

All is not doom & gloom as some would have us believe,

Well done tj,:)

Scotty's_Girl
12 Oct 2003, 20:05
Round 1
Adelaide v Kangaroos
+ The Carey Factor
+ MCG

Welshy's 100th game!! :D Of course I would notice something like that! :p ;)

Kane McGoodwin
12 Oct 2003, 22:51
Originally posted by Scotty's_Girl
Welshy's 100th game!! :D Of course I would notice something like that! :p ;)
It would be great if it is against his old side in the Roos.

Let's hope Welshy has an injury-free year, as he make a heck of a difference to our forward line.

Stiffy_18
12 Oct 2003, 22:56
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
It would be great if it is against his old side in the Roos.

Let's hope Welshy has an injury-free year, as he make a heck of a difference to our forward line. Hear hear.

If Welshy can stay sound for a whole year he is a player capable of kicking 50-70 goals a year. A good run with injuries would be great in 2004.

maccas_no1
13 Oct 2003, 11:56
We need our WHOLE forwardline up and firing all year, but more importantly we need good delivery into our forwardline;)