View Full Version : Worst player to put on a Crows jumper?
magicman
8 Oct 2003, 09:58
Judging by previous posts on this board I think most of you guys would say Daniel Schell, so excluding him, who do you think has been the worst player ever to wear the Crows tri-colours?
There are plenty of contenders I feel - Chris Groom, Josh Mail, Tom Gilligan, Adam Saliba (remember him?).
Sorry if a thread like this has been done previously. I only discovered big footy last week (and loving it :D ).
In my opinion, Wayne Weidemann was the worst to play 50 games.
The worst ever I would say is Linden Stevens. Although it is only natural that I have forgotten a few duds.
Mong
Punchy Bassett
8 Oct 2003, 12:00
Shane Tongerie for sure!
RaDaR ReiLLy
8 Oct 2003, 13:08
Well I can't say i remember too much about the team back in its debut year, so I would have to say *cough* Ben Marsh *cough*. Always hated the dude, although I have to confess he is a great bloke to chat too off the field :p
OMG!! Where does one start!! :D
This will need a bit of thought.
Aaron Keating maybe?? He seriously couldn't play!!
RaDaR ReiLLy
8 Oct 2003, 13:16
Heres another I forgot (seriously, how could I?!)
David Gallagher :(
Originally posted by magicman
Adam Saliba (remember him?).
I only discovered big footy last week (and loving it :D ).
Wouldn't call Saliba a dud, could have been anything if he wanted to be but he didn't.Only played 3 games for Adelaide, did also play a State of Origin match.
Anyway, welcome to bigfooty.:)
Chris Groom was crap, but boy oh boy did he turn out to be good trade bait :D
Scotty's_Girl
8 Oct 2003, 13:40
Ricky O'Loughlin wasn't the best ... :(
Downsborough came pretty close to it,
But for the biggest disappointments i would have to Ben Marsh & Brett Chalmers, both with heaps of ability but very little heart.
Originally posted by yob
Chris Groom was crap, but boy oh boy did he turn out to be good trade bait :D
:D :D Would have to be the trade of the century,
Stiffy_18
8 Oct 2003, 14:33
Personally I think Ian Downsborough was one of the worse if not THE worst of all time
magicman
8 Oct 2003, 14:41
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Personally I think Ian Downsborough was one of the worse if not THE worst of all time
I forgot all about him. Probably one of the softest players ever to play the game.
And the Chris Groom trade was hands down the trade of the century. Maybe we should have given Freo a couple of premiership medals for their part in our back to back flags.:D
maccas_no1
8 Oct 2003, 14:42
I still dont even understand why we recruited Downsbourgh, Port hack who for some unknown reason the AFC thought was alright:rolleyes:
Other duds and in no particular order: Daniel Schell, Ryan Fitzgerald,David Gallagher,Lucus Herbert, Aaron Keating, Ricky O'loughlin, Trent Ormond Allen and BEN MARSH:rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:
Darren Smith
David Brown
Brett Chalmers
Ian Downsborough
Lucas Herbert
Matthew Golding
Linden Stevens
Clayton Lamb
Dean Howard
Darryl Wintle
Alan Bartlett
Danny Hughes
David Gallagher
We have had some fair dinkum shockers. The list could go on and on and on.
Stiffy_18
8 Oct 2003, 14:55
Originally posted by Jars458
Darren Smith
David Brown
Brett Chalmers
Ian Downsborough
Lucas Herbert
Matthew Golding
Linden Stevens
Clayton Lamb
Dean Howard
Darryl Wintle
Alan Bartlett
Danny Hughes
David Gallagher
We have had some fair dinkum shockers. The list could go on and on and on. I think you better stop there. I am getting sick just reading it:(
Its fair to say we have had our fair share of duds over the years:(
maccas_no1
8 Oct 2003, 15:03
We really I think have drafted and traded porrly, Blighty seemed to be good at that:rolleyes:
naughty monkey
8 Oct 2003, 15:48
Originally posted by Jars458
Darren Smith
David Brown
Brett Chalmers
Ian Downsborough
Lucas Herbert
Matthew Golding
Linden Stevens
Clayton Lamb
Dean Howard
Darryl Wintle
Alan Bartlett
Danny Hughes
David Gallagher
We have had some fair dinkum shockers. The list could go on and on and on.
With the 3 notable exceptions take your pick of any of the other ruckmen Adelaide have ever had.
Negri
Downsborough
Standfield
Herbert
Golding
Chalmers
And everyone thinks we should be drafting 1 or 2 ruckmen this year! We would have to have the worst strike rate at finding even a semi-decent one of any AFL club ever.
The two worst players though would have to be Negri and * pains me to say it * Barty (Alan Bartlett). There have never been 2 more inept players to make it at senior level in my view.
dyertribe
8 Oct 2003, 15:54
1. David Gallagher
2. Daylight
3. Aaron Keating
Hi all, new member here.
Being anti-Port Adelaide, I would have to say Darren Smith.
Honourable mentions to Negri, Bartlett & Dudsborough.
dyertribe
8 Oct 2003, 16:14
Originally posted by Dogga
Hi all, new member here.
Being anti-Port Adelaide, I would have to say Darren Smith.
Honourable mentions to Negri, Bartlett & Dudsborough.
Greetings Dogga...
Poor old Darren... was the best CHF in the SANFL but didn't have the required athleticism to make it in the AFL. :(
go uuu dogs
8 Oct 2003, 16:37
scott hodges and ben marsh wernt to good in the afl but good in the sanfl marsh has been good of late
naughty monkey
8 Oct 2003, 16:38
Originally posted by dyertribe
Greetings Dogga...
Poor old Darren... was the best CHF in the SANFL but didn't have the required athleticism to make it in the AFL. :(
or skills,
and his hearing was suspect too...he kept hearing footsteps whenever he went for a mark.
dyertribe
8 Oct 2003, 16:42
Originally posted by go uuu dogs
scott hodges
Averaged just under three goals a game for Adelaide when we were being flogged every second week and the lineup was never settled. Had a record haul of 11 against 1992 Grand Finallist Geelong.
Played nowhere near his full potential at AFL level after being treated dismally by Cornes despite turning down million dollar offers from Brisbane and Collingwood to play for the Crows and suffering his fair share of injuries.
Wasn't as bad as the Hodges-haters made out.
Black JuJu
8 Oct 2003, 16:53
Originally posted by maccas_no1
I still dont even understand why we recruited Downsbourgh, Port hack who for some unknown reason the AFC thought was alright:rolleyes:
Perhaps they saw the quality football the man played when not dogged by injury in 1996 while at the Eagles, and not just as a static ruckman, he put together some very good games. At the time it was a tough call for the club to trade him away (I recall Malthouse saying at the time it was his toughest call since Dean Laidley wanted to try his luck elsewhere) but he's what Port wanted in exchange for the NUMBER 1 DRAFT PICK - ie, Michael Gardiner.
He definately had talent - injury ruined any chance he had of cementing a career.
dyertribe
8 Oct 2003, 16:58
Originally posted by Black JuJu
... but he's what Port wanted in exchange for the NUMBER 1 DRAFT PICK - ie, Michael Gardiner.
And Brayden Lyle and Shane Bond... looked a canny exchange for a good few seasons until injury and all-round crapola saw the three Power picks in question delisted/traded/retired...
Meanwhile Gardiner, after looking jammy and incapable of fulfilling his potential in the same timespan, has developed into a colossus.
GoalsFrom50Out
8 Oct 2003, 17:05
EUGENE WARRIOR.
And who'd we trade for Negri? :confused:
Black JuJu
8 Oct 2003, 17:08
No Bond and Lyle were seperate.
The Eagles recieved like 4th round draft picks for them. They were direct trades.
Ian Downsborough was an uncontracted player selection for Port (along with Wanganeen, Primus and Heuskes), we got picks 1 (Gardiner) and 24 (Wooden) in compensation for losing him to the new team, West Coast were desperate to secure Michael Gardiner and simply asked Port what it was going to take to make it happen. It was Downsborough.
dyertribe
8 Oct 2003, 17:10
Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
EUGENE WARRIOR.
And who'd we trade for Negri? :confused:
Warrior never actually played a senior game for us.
Negri was a member of the Crows first 52-man squad. Was initially Woodville's first ruckman and was first ruckman in that first-up 69 point demolition of Hawthorn as Mickan was injured.
melbourne2004
8 Oct 2003, 17:15
Sujay Cook
GoalsFrom50Out
8 Oct 2003, 17:17
Warrior never actually played a senior game for us.
He still sucks ;)
acg_204*
8 Oct 2003, 18:42
Brent Williams
Tim Cook
Anthony Ingerson
Zed's Dead
8 Oct 2003, 18:51
New user here peoples.
Allan Bartlett (useless 6ft 4 hack loved by Cornes), Shane Tongerie (once saw him walk after Shane Crawford who was sprinting up the outer wing of footy park) and David Gallagher - definitely.
dyertribe
8 Oct 2003, 19:03
Originally posted by Zed's Dead
Allan Bartlett (useless 6ft 4 hack loved by Cornes)
And the rest...
Thompson, Rouvray, Lamb, Marshall, Viska...
I'm sure he would've selected Salisbury and Melican if he'd have been able to get away with it.
Greetings Dogga...
Champion bloke too was our Doreen.
Just didn't have the necessaries at AFL level.
Kane McGoodwin
8 Oct 2003, 20:50
David Gallagher was the most fustrating player in recent memory, but Jars came up with some dead set shockers from the early years. This question probably deserves a poll. Probably should limit it to players who have played at least half a dozen games or so, as at least with players who only played a handful of games, the club realised early that they were duds.
beckybiglands
9 Oct 2003, 00:22
benny marsh
evan hewitt
david gallagher
basically all the crap we recruited when Blighty was here...:eek:
Evan the dud Hewitt came in at the end of 2000. So you can blame Ayresy for that one.
Ayres was also responcible for recruiting James no talent too Byrne.
Originally posted by DaveW
Evan the dud Hewitt came in at the end of 2000. So you can blame Ayresy for that one.
Ayres was also responcible for recruiting James no talent too Byrne.
In retrospect, Hewitt was an amazing trade choice. Ayresy can't stand soft players and has got rid of a stack since coming to the Crows. Yet he took on Evan Hewitt. Perhaps he had the modern-day version of Dr Christian Barnard standing by ready to give him a heart transplant. If so it was unsuccessful. :(
James Byrne. Don't know what to say. Perhaps Ayres thought he was Cornes for a brief moment, and must have a Glenelg player. ;)
Stiffy_18
9 Oct 2003, 00:45
Evan the dud Hewitt came in at the end of 2000. So you can blame Ayresy for that one. Drew Petrie:mad:
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Drew Petrie:mad:
That IS a savage one. :(
The pick we gave away for Hewitt got exactly what we needed. :(
Stiffy_18
9 Oct 2003, 00:50
Originally posted by macca23
The pick we gave away for Hewitt got exactly what we needed. :( Ironic isn't it??????:(
acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 00:53
Matthew Powell
Marty McKinnon
Matthew Kluzek
Jonathon Ross
Stuart Wigney
Matt Connell...how the hell he played in two premierships and won our best and fairest I'll never know :confused: Hack!!
Originally posted by acg_204*
Matt Connell...how the hell he played in two premierships and won our best and fairest I'll never know :confused: Hack!! Ball magnet. ;)
acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 01:01
Ball magnet. ;)
No point getting the ball if all your gonna do once you get it is dance on the spot for a few minutes while all the options dry up and then kick it about 30 metres and 50 metres in the air...he could get the ball but had sh*t all decision making skills...the only best thing he ever did for the team was colliding with Carey that night against the Roos...Carey got taken off with a shoulder injury and thankfully Connell had to get stretchered off as well.
I've always felt Connell was pretty harshly maligned.
He was a key player on the wing during the Shaw/Blight era.
acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 01:11
I've always felt Connell was pretty harshly maligned.
He was a key player on the wing during the Shaw/Blight era.
I suppose you're right...he did keep Tregenzer out of the team...
Trengenza, like Liptak, was riddled with injuries from 1997 onwards. :(
And don't cave in so easily acg_204*, more people agree with you than me.:o
acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 01:17
Liptak...lets not go there;) Good old Dr Fumles...
I'm not caving...I just don't want to waste my night reliving memories of Matt Connell :p
Liptak...lets not go there;) Good old Dr Fumles... Gun. ;)
acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 01:28
Gun. ;)
Not bad...but had to put up with my sister who has absolutely no idea about football telling me how hot he is every week...so I started hoping he'd do his hammy again so I wouldn't have to listen to her crap:p
Shane Ellen...played one good game in his life.
Shane Ellen...played one good game in his life. And that one game is enough for him not to be mentioned in this thread. :D
acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 01:38
And that one game is enough for him not to be mentioned in this thread. :D
Fair point. I'm running out of names...I think the best...well worst have been listed.
Oh look it's past midnight 170 sleeps...
My mate and I used to love bagging Romano Negri - how can a footballer have the name Romano? It sounds like a men's fragrance. "Romano - for the man who doesn't have to try too hard ..."
acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 01:53
Just looking at the old 99 year book...who the hell is Clint Kirey?! :p
dyertribe
9 Oct 2003, 02:05
Just looking at the old 99 year book...who the hell is Clint Kirey?! :p
He's in the same boat as guys like Brendan Logan, Ben Parker, Brooke Fogden, Andrew Geddes, Luke Godden, Sam Smart, et al.
You look back and just go "huh?"
acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 02:12
You look back and just go "huh?"
Speaking of which...just looking back at the year book from when I was in grade 5 at school...why did I draw love hearts around Bicks, McCartney and some bloke called Toby Kennet...they're shockers:p The guys you find good looking as a 10 year old *shakes head*
He's in the same boat as guys like Brendan Logan, Ben Parker, Brooke Fogden, Andrew Geddes, Luke Godden, Sam Smart, et al. Balraj Singh, Ben Finnin, Michael Handby...
I've always been a Connell fan :)
acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 02:55
Originally posted by CrowBoi
I've always been a Connell fan :)
Oh dear God I'm surrounded...:(
maccas_no1
9 Oct 2003, 15:07
What about Adam Richardson:mad:
Another one of our 'forward failure's':rolleyes:
Stiffy_18
9 Oct 2003, 15:13
What about Adam Richardson:mad:
Another one of our 'forward failure's':rolleyes: Yeah but he cost us bugger all and was worth a shot;)
Some people are really harsh on Connell:(
tredders16
9 Oct 2003, 15:16
Has to be Trevor Clisby with Robbie Thompson as a close second.
maccas_no1
9 Oct 2003, 15:19
gee I just thought of another one:
Brodie Atkinson:rolleyes:
*Marty runs away from sapaul*
maccas_no1
9 Oct 2003, 15:21
I thought Connell was a pretty handy player for the Crows till he got injuries, hell of alot better than Tregenza:rolleyes:
Thunderstruck
9 Oct 2003, 15:24
Tom Gilligan easily takes the cake, he was totally useless.
Toby Kennett didnt play a game and he was one of the best junior footballers ive seen, he got injured so often he had to retire at about 22. Was the crows first draft pick.
Nick Laidlaw
Brendon Logan
Linden Stevens
They take the cake
Matty Connell is a champ! A club best and fairest ffs.
maccas_no1
9 Oct 2003, 15:39
Lawrence 'thief' Angwin:rolleyes: :rolleyes: What a ****ing waste he was:rolleyes: :rolleyes:
dogman22
9 Oct 2003, 16:05
gee I just thought of another one:
Was wondering how long it would take for Booba to get a mention. Don't let anyone in Portland (an hour from Mt. Gambier, just over the Victorian border, for those who don't know) hear you say that - he coached the club from third-last in 2002 to a flag this season - bloody good player in the WBFL
:D 1 of my faves purely for what he did at Sturt.;)
acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 17:25
Barry Stanfield...started 97 off well...him and Mods were a nice little duo up forward. Then he just dissappeared off the face of the Earth.
naughty monkey
9 Oct 2003, 17:45
Originally posted by Zed's Dead
Allan Bartlett (useless 6ft 4 hack loved by Cornes)
And the rest...
Thompson, Rouvray, Lamb, Marshall, Viska...
I'm sure he would've selected Salisbury and Melican if he'd have been able to get away with it.
All those blokes were at least good at SANFL level.
Bartlett sucked. Definitely the worst GFC player at the Crows.
Top fella though. He still goes to all of the Glenleg matches.
Bockchoy67
9 Oct 2003, 18:28
Adam Richardson would definitely have to be a contender. Promoted as "what Adelaide needs", gets three or so games and does nothing. Mind you, we got him when he was already 29!
Bit of a thug too. Had the tats and everything.*
*I meant absolutely no offence to fans of Adam Richardson supporters.
Leaping Lindner
9 Oct 2003, 19:28
Originally posted by Bockchoy67
Adam Richardson would definitely have to be a contender. Promoted as "what Adelaide needs", gets three or so games and does nothing. Mind you, we got him when he was already 29!
Bit of a thug too. Had the tats and everything.*
*I meant absolutely no offence to fans of Adam Richardson supporters.
Remember that friday night game at the MCG in 2001 where we came out after 1/2 time and "sliced and diced" Richmond. We killed them all over the ground. All over the ground that is except for Full Forward where Adam Richardson was getting towelled by David Bourke. I mean FFS David Bourke???? That was the end of Richo.
Bockchoy67
9 Oct 2003, 19:49
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
Remember that friday night game at the MCG in 2001 where we came out after 1/2 time and "sliced and diced" Richmond. We killed them all over the ground. All over the ground that is except for Full Forward where Adam Richardson was getting towelled by David Bourke. I mean FFS David Bourke???? That was the end of Richo.
Yep, I remember, and it's a very sad though at that. Bourke beating Adam Richardson.*
*I also mean no offence whatsoever to fans of David Bourke.
Peter Turner, Shane Tongerie, Josh Mail, Ashley Fernee, Sean Tasker
acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 21:20
Originally posted by Bockchoy67
Yep, I remember, and it's a very sad though at that. Bourke beating Adam Richardson.*
*I also mean no offence whatsoever to fans of David Bourke.
:eek: David Bourke has fans?!
Scotty's_Girl
10 Oct 2003, 22:43
Originally posted by Pepi
Sean Tasker
Sean Tasker used to play for the Crows? :eek:
Gee, I dunno where I was when he was playing. :confused:
I just thought that he was a commentator/journalist on Triple M. :p
Crow-mosone
10 Oct 2003, 23:37
If you don't think Allen Bartlett is the worst player in crows history, you have a short memory.
he was so bad, Andrew Geddes won the memorial Allen Bartlett trophy 3 years running.
Scotty's_Girl
11 Oct 2003, 00:52
Originally posted by Crow-mosone
If you don't think Allen Bartlett is the worst player in crows history, you have a short memory.
I definately have a crap memory ... never heard of the bloke
macca23
11 Oct 2003, 00:58
Originally posted by Scotty's_Girl
I definately have a crap memory ... never heard of the bloke
If you saw the mongrel lumbering around the oval you'd never forget him. He's not an illegitimate son of Cornesy's is he?? ;)
crudbucket
11 Oct 2003, 00:58
Eddie Hocking.... seven pages of posts and this is his 1st mention ???
Scotty's_Girl
11 Oct 2003, 01:01
He's not an illegitimate son of Cornesy's is he?? ;)
hehe :D u mean that he had a wrinkley face like Cornesy? :p
Crow-mosone
11 Oct 2003, 01:03
Originally posted by crudbucket
Eddie Hocking.... seven pages of posts and this is his 1st mention ???
being a terrible player doesn't necessarily cut the mustard amongst this lot.
Brad-clare
11 Oct 2003, 13:34
Allan Bartlett for sure, I remember his super soft effort in 1991 against North Melbourne when he let Carey kick 2 goals in the last 2 minutes, which meant the Crows lost. His attempt at spoiling was so pathetic it was laughable. Cornes must have had faith in him cause he put him on Lockett in the 1991 Footy Park game when Plugger was at the peak of his powers and he kicked a lazy 10 that night.
MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
11 Oct 2003, 16:11
Nick Pesch
Daryl Wintle
Stuart Wigney
Brett Chalmers
Grantley Fielke
Peter McIntyre
Randall Bone
Paul Patterson
Tim Cook
Josh Mail
k
xx
macca23
11 Oct 2003, 16:17
This thread is more than a list of duds - it's a chamber of horrors!! :D
Sean Tasker? Man, he wasn't that bad!
Kane McGoodwin
12 Oct 2003, 18:42
This thread is more than a list of duds - it's a chamber of horrors!! :D
Aint that the truth! :eek:
The good news is that these duds are no longer playing for us.
maccas_no1
12 Oct 2003, 18:48
The bad thing is kane is they were allowed to play with AFC:rolleyes:
roo9699
12 Oct 2003, 18:52
what about Adam Saliba? or John Klug?
Kane McGoodwin
12 Oct 2003, 18:53
The bad thing is kane is they were allowed to play with AFC:rolleyes:
Ssssshhhhh, I'm trying to forget...;) :o
OMG!! Where does one start!! :D
This will need a bit of thought.
Aaron Keating maybe?? He seriously couldn't play!!
I agree 100% withyou Macca,he was an apology for a Ruckman,and yet, his brother put on one of the best Rucking displays I have ever seen in the GF against Colliewobbles,he hardly missed a knock all match.:cool: :) :)
Kane McGoodwin
12 Oct 2003, 22:53
With all these shockers, we could put together a damn good (bad) dud team. :o
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
With all these shockers, we could put together a damn good (bad) dud team. :o Here's what dyertribe and I came up with:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&postid=1398304#post1398304
Kane McGoodwin
12 Oct 2003, 23:15
Here's what dyertribe and I came up with:
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?s=&postid=1398304#post1398304
I can tell you if that team was playing, I reckon I would be giving the game a miss. :o
Clayton Lamb is stiff IMO. He played OK in his only game & got dropped due to non-football issues. I would sub in someone like Lyndon Stevens.
Also, bit rough on Clay Sampson. Bit inconsistent, but did play some useful games & kicked a few bags of goals.
macca23
12 Oct 2003, 23:22
Selectors DaveW and dyertribe.
Aaron Keating would be really upset. He's far worse than some of those that made the all-time dud star team!!
Surely you can find a place in this side for such a pathetic player - give him the rewards that he deserves!! ;)
PS How many other wimps his size also wore a helmet!! :)
macca23
12 Oct 2003, 23:29
HB: David Gallagher, Brett Chalmers, Robbie Thompson B:
Lance Picioane, Danny Hughes, Alan Bartlett
Great effort with the back-lines fellas.
This set of 6 could let through 50 to 60 goals every week.
Piciaone could be a problem though, because he just might get a kick now and again. :D
acg_204*
12 Oct 2003, 23:31
PS How many other wimps his size also wore a helmet!! :)
How many other wimps his size got beaten over the head with a metal pipe and had plates inserted into their skull?! :p
...wait was I just defending Aaron Keating?!...
macca23
12 Oct 2003, 23:34
How many other wimps his size got beaten over the head with a metal pipe and had plates inserted into their skull?! :p
Hell, I didn't know that. Any more details on the how, when and why??