View Full Version : Daniel Motlop asks to be traded

Pages : [1] 2

Stiffy_18
8 Oct 2003, 11:17
What do you think fellas?????? Worth going for?????? Won't cost an arm and a leg. Lacks a bit of discipline at times but definetly has talent.

Worth having a look at even tho we are not really desperate for that type of player.

Punchy Bassett
8 Oct 2003, 11:39
Don't want him need proven CONSISTENT performers. Not players who will play one semi decent game out of ten

topjars
8 Oct 2003, 11:39
Without trying to sound racist...because Im not ; we dont need another aboriginal player in our squad.

Before long we will become Port Power and we'll start ducking our heads in finals and go missing or walkabout.

Im very happy with the fantastic players that we have in McLeod, Johncock, Burns and co but thats plenty thanks.

...besides Stiffy.

We need KPPs...................................please;)

Porthos
8 Oct 2003, 11:43
Originally posted by topjars
Before long we will become Port Power and we'll start ducking our heads in finals and go missing or walkabout. I'd think that your end to the season would've shown the Crows to be perfectly capable of doing all of those things without extensive aboriginal influence.

topjars
8 Oct 2003, 12:54
No prizes for seconds Porthos....ah thats right; you didnt even come second

MaccasNeighbour
8 Oct 2003, 13:02
Without trying to sound racist...because Im not ; we dont need another aboriginal player in our squad.

Before long we will become Port Power and we'll start ducking our heads in finals and go missing or walkabout.

Im very happy with the fantastic players that we have in McLeod, Johncock, Burns and co but thats plenty thanks.

...besides Stiffy.

Ahem, I'm sure you were genuinely not trying to sound racist but I can assure you that you failed miserably.

Would we have won in 97 and 98 without McLeod? Would Essendon have won in 93 without Long?

macca23
8 Oct 2003, 13:15
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
What do you think fellas?????? Worth going for?????? Won't cost an arm and a leg. Lacks a bit of discipline at times but definetly has talent.

Worth having a look at even tho we are not really desperate for that type of player.

Wouldn't bust my guts over getting him Stiffy unless we get him for an absolute song.

Remember to maintain the focus m'boy - it's KPP's we need!! ;)

noddy
8 Oct 2003, 13:22

How old ? how many games has he played ? is he injury prone ?
how much would he cost us ?

Don't know enough about him to comment further Stiffy but if you think he's worth a look then why not,

Cyclops
8 Oct 2003, 13:22
No prizes for seconds Porthos....ah thats right; you didnt even come second

...what if Porthos told you to go forth and multiply.......ah thats right; you didnt even come fourth

noddy
8 Oct 2003, 13:27

...besides Stiffy.

"Ouch" steady on there tj ,

Napier_Street
8 Oct 2003, 13:34

...besides Stiffy.

Not only do you sound racist, you sound like a pretty pathetic excuse for a human being.

So you wouldnt want Goodes(Brownlow Medalist), or Wanganeen (Brownlow Medalist and Runner Up) or any of a dozen Aboriginal players that could only make your hack side better?

Racist and Stupid!! Would love to know what McLeod, Johncock, Burns etc would have to say about your ignorant red neck remarks.

Get a life idiot.

But hey, your from Adelaide, so that aint possible

PAfolwr
8 Oct 2003, 13:43
Daniel Motlop is a good player that still has heaps development left and would not demand a high salary.
He has had problems with injury, but none of the career threatening type.
A good six footer that tackles and has a good kick.

I'd be happy if we did a deal with Guerra plus or minus picks.

noddy
8 Oct 2003, 13:44
Originally posted by Cyclops
...what if Porthos told you to go forth and multiply

Well i guess that would depend who he was referring to,

Take myself for arguments sake, if Porthos was to say the above to me well i would know without any doubt at all the meaning of such words but other posters would probably take it a different way,

noddy
8 Oct 2003, 13:47
Originally posted by PAfolwr
Daniel Motlop is a good player that still has heaps development left and would not demand a high salary.
He has had problems with injury, but none of the career threatening type.
A good six footer that tackles and has a good kick.

I'd be happy if we did a deal with Guerra plus or minus picks.

Cheers for that PAfolwr,

Stiffy_18
8 Oct 2003, 14:06
Originally posted by macca23
Wouldn't bust my guts over getting him Stiffy unless we get him for an absolute song.

Remember to maintain the focus m'boy - it's KPP's we need!! ;) I am aware that we need KPP and ruckman BUT if you have a chance of getting a talented player like D. Motlop (taken in the top 10 in 2000 draft) surely you would have to look at it.

We need some youth in our group and he is still only 20-21 year old. Certainly have a look at him. If we could get him for DOughty I would do it.;)

magicman
8 Oct 2003, 14:21
We need some youth in our group and he is still only 20-21 year old. Certainly have a look at him. If we could get him for DOughty I would do it.;)
Totally agree with that one. I'd definately take Motlop for Doughty.:D

macca23
8 Oct 2003, 14:46
I am aware that we need KPP and ruckman BUT if you have a chance of getting a talented player like D. Motlop (taken in the top 10 in 2000 draft) surely you would have to look at it.

On second thoughts, get the old trading papers out and sign him up!! :D

That works for both parties .

Stiffy_18
8 Oct 2003, 14:48
On second thoughts, get the old trading papers out and sign him up!! :D

That works for both parties . Told you it was worth looking at;)

Gee this recruting work is a piece of cake:D:p

I am going to ask Fanto to give me a job. Hentschel galore:p

maccas_no1
8 Oct 2003, 14:51
Yes I say we go after Daniel Motlop, when I heard he was up for trade this morning on the radio I was pretty impressed, like has already been said he wouldnt cost that much he is young, has a bit of talent.............. AFC Go For Motlop;)

Jars458
8 Oct 2003, 15:03

...besides Stiffy.

That comment at the very least has racial overtones.

McLeod and Johncock are two of our best players.

Would you take Adam Goodes? Dean Rioli?

You should have just said you don't wnat Daniel Motlop because he is inconsistent. Linking that to his race achieves nothing and is clearly flawed.

Stiffy_18
8 Oct 2003, 15:09
I don't know but I reckon majority of aboriginals make bloody good footballers. Their speed, acceleration and overall athletic ability make them a joy to watch. I would actually like us to get more aboriginal players in our squad. This would add a lot of pace and skill to our squad.

Daniel Motlop has the potential to be something special. He has already lived in Adelaide before. If his brother gets delisted by Kangaroos he is likely to return to North Adelaide. This would make it more attractive to Daniel to return to Adelaide based club. At this stage Port have to offer Guerra if they want him. I do know that Laidley is a fan of Doughty and he tried VERY hard to make Doughty part of the Carey trade last year.

If we could get Daniel motlop for Doughty I would do it in a second;)

Mong
8 Oct 2003, 15:16
I think I know what Topjars was getting at.

Many aboriginal players do play an attacking style and aren't particularly diligent with the defensive side of things. I don't know if it's to do with race but think that race certainly could have something to do with it, afterall aboriginal players have a likeness in so many aspects of the game, like their evasive skills, their flashes of brilliance, their ability to produce feats of magic. I don't think it's unreasonable to suggest race has something to do with all of these things. And it's not denegrating them. I mean we all acknowledge the positive aspects that their aboriginality brings to their football, why can't we be open about their negative tendancies?

It doesn't mean they can't be defensive it just means many are not and I don't think this is unreasonable to suggest.

I don't agree that they go missing in finals, though. Sure, Che CC is as soft as they come but that's just him.

Mong

Stiffy_18
8 Oct 2003, 15:21
Originally posted by Mong

Many aboriginal players do play an attacking style and aren't particularly diligent with the defensive side of things. I don't know if it's to do with race but think that race certainly could have something to do with it, afterall aboriginal players have a likeness in so many aspects of the game, like their evasive skills, their flashes of brilliance, their ability to produce feats of magic. I don't think it's unreasonable to suggest race has something to do with all of these things. And it's not denegrating them. I mean we all acknowledge the positive aspects that their aboriginality brings to their football, why can't we be open about their negative tendancies?

It doesn't mean they can't be defensive it just means many are not and I don't think this is unreasonable to suggest.

I don't agree that they go missing in finals, though. Sure, Che CC is as soft as they come but that's just him.

Mong I can see your point but I am a firm believer that you cannot teach some things. They come naturally. Motlop has some freakish skills. Yes he is a bit unaccountable BUT what he brings on the offensive end is just freakish. I am a believer that you can build a solid (workman like) defence but having an ability to kick freakish goals is a rare talent. If you have a chance to get that then you gotta go for it.;)

naughty monkey
8 Oct 2003, 15:23
This bloke is definitely worth the effort. North still consider him a required player (http://kangaroosfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=123258)

And come on Stiffy, you know it's gonna cost a lot more than Doughty to get Motlop (http://kangaroosfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile) . (Port will undoubtedly offer at least Guerra)

Are you prepared to part with a second round pick for him?
What's the most you'd be prepared to offer for him?

maccas_no1
8 Oct 2003, 15:25
Aboriginal Footy players are talented no doubt about it, they do it hard learning the game especially up in the Territory, no proper footy feilds of boots they run around on the dirt in bare feet but they have talent no doubt about it;)

Daniel Motlop Welcome to the AFC;)

topjars
8 Oct 2003, 15:25
Originally posted by Cyclops
...what if Porthos told you to go forth and multiply.......ah thats right; you didnt even come fourth

Touche' testube

topjars
8 Oct 2003, 15:29
Originally posted by Mong

Mong

I just think you can have too many of 'em on the field.
Its a little bit like having too many white ruckmen

Mong
8 Oct 2003, 15:30
Don't get me wrong Stiffy.

I am not saying we shouldn't go for him, I would love to have him. I am just trying to offer a different side to those who claim 'racism' everytime anyone comments on tendancies of aboriginal players. I just think there is some difference in their play, both positive and negative. That certainly doesn't mean I don't want them, I definately do.

People say white men can't jump. It's no big deal. Generally blacks ARE more athletic than white so there is truth to that, although there are obviously exceptions. In the same way black footballers do play a different style (once again, there are exceptions) and I don't think people should be called racist for acknowledging a difference in playing styles.

Mong

naughty monkey
8 Oct 2003, 15:31
Motlop has some freakish skills. Yes he is a bit unaccountable BUT

That is more to do with being 21 and relatively inexperienced.
Mong, Topjars - how many 21 year olds do you know that play accountable footy all the time?
I suspect it's the same as me, none.

Topjars, your initial comments are a disgrace fella.
As you have already noted, Motlop would have some very good role models should he choose to play with the Crows.

DaveW
8 Oct 2003, 16:56
Look how many gutted Roos fans there are on the North Melbourne board because of his depature.

I think that says it all.

I still say we should go after Shannon as well. :cool:

GoalsFrom50Out
8 Oct 2003, 17:25
Originally posted by Porthos
I'd think that your end to the season would've shown the Crows to be perfectly capable of doing all of those things without extensive aboriginal influence.

Someone sounds bitter.

-clutches throat-

Porthos
8 Oct 2003, 17:43
At least I'm not in denial.

GoalsFrom50Out
8 Oct 2003, 17:46
Pfft. I'm not in denial, I'm not too far off of ant in negativity sense. :rolleyes:

-clutches throat-

Cyclops
8 Oct 2003, 18:02
Touche' testube

Ah the cut and thrust of internet sniping, I'm turning into Dave. I'm sure Porthos can look after himself, but I feel great loyalty toward Port.

Actually I reckon Motlop would be very good for Adelaide, they still have the midfield bodies to get to the finals, they just need something to get them over the line. McLeod is the big game fella in the centre, but Motlop is the sort of bloke who could tear a final up. You're only 1 forward away from the big one for mine.

ant
8 Oct 2003, 18:06
Originally posted by DaveW
Look how many gutted Roos fans there are on the North Melbourne board because of his depature.

I think that says it all.

Yeah, it's amazing isn't it? Akin to what you'd see if say, Stiffy left the Crows.....I mean, open weeping by Roos fans because D. Motlop has asked to be traded, he really must be a special talent.

Well and truly forget Holland, what do they want for D. Motlop?

And Goalsfrom50out, glad to see I've got another one :)

GoalsFrom50Out
8 Oct 2003, 18:08
:D

Kane McGoodwin
8 Oct 2003, 21:27
I am aware that we need KPP and ruckman BUT if you have a chance of getting a talented player like D. Motlop (taken in the top 10 in 2000 draft) surely you would have to look at it.

That's the key Stiffy. If we just swap him for a fringe player such as Dogga who needs a fresh opportunity, we can't really lose (though may not win either). ie. Wouldn't be risking much.

Stiffy_18
8 Oct 2003, 21:31
Originally posted by naughty monkey
This bloke is definitely worth the effort. North still consider him a required player (http://kangaroosfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=news&spg=display&articleid=123258)

And come on Stiffy, you know it's gonna cost a lot more than Doughty to get Motlop (http://kangaroosfc.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile) . (Port will undoubtedly offer at least Guerra)

Are you prepared to part with a second round pick for him?
What's the most you'd be prepared to offer for him? They raped us last year dont you think that is about time we raped them back?????? :D

I would be more than happy to trade our 2nd round pick for D. Motlop but we really need our 1st and 2nd round picks this year to go for talls. If we can trade back into the 2nd round I would do it. Otherwise no;)

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
8 Oct 2003, 21:33
Originally posted by Jars458

You should have just said you don't wnat Daniel Motlop because he is inconsistent. Linking that to his race achieves nothing and is clearly flawed.

Goodes - most certainly

Rioli - no, not interested

k
xx

DaveW
8 Oct 2003, 21:33
I'd offer Doughty and a second rounder for Daniel Motlop. But I doubt they'd take that.

Going back to that bit about Laidley being keen on Doughty for the Carey deal. In hindsight we should have given them pick 4 and Doughty. If we kept pick 20 (which turned out to be pick 18), we could have gotten someone better than Dogga.

Kane McGoodwin
8 Oct 2003, 21:37
That is more to do with being 21 and relatively inexperienced.
Mong, Topjars - how many 21 year olds do you know that play accountable footy all the time?
I suspect it's the same as me, none.

Topjars, your initial comments are a disgrace fella.
As you have already noted, Motlop would have some very good role models should he choose to play with the Crows.
Also, being mainly attacking & not being very accountable isn't restricted to just some aboriginal players - Chris Ladhams is also an example of someone else who fits this mould.

No doubt the Aboriginal players make our game even a better one, bring much in the way of excitement, flair & silky skills. AFL would be poorer for less Aboriginal players involved in the game. You need to go no further than imagining an Adelaide side in 2004 without Andrew McLeod. It doesn't bear thinking about!

Kane McGoodwin
8 Oct 2003, 21:39
I'd offer Doughty and a second rounder for Daniel Motlop. But I doubt they'd take that.

Going back to that bit about Laidley being keen on Doughty for the Carey deal. In hindsight we should have given them pick 4 and Doughty. If we kept pick 20 (which turned out to be pick 18), we could have gotten someone better than Dogga.
Dave, I hope you mean Doughty OR a 2nd rounder for Motlop, as he is not worth both IMO. Personally, I would prefer to trade players, as we need to turn over some our fringe players to inject new life into the squad.

macca23
8 Oct 2003, 21:48
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Dave, I hope you mean Doughty OR a 2nd rounder for Motlop, as he is not worth both IMO. Personally, I would prefer to trade players, as we need to turn over some our fringe players to inject new life into the squad.

No trading the 1st or 2nd round draft pick IMO. Has to be a big no-no this year.

Doughty for Motlop - done. Works for both clubs. Doughty plus 4th round pick at most.

Why not Doughty and Gallagher for both Motlops. Keeping the 2 brothers together should have good appeal and might just revive Shannon Motlop's stalled AFL career.

DaveW
8 Oct 2003, 21:49
If we got D.Motlop for Doughty + pick 29 that would be a steal.

ant
8 Oct 2003, 21:55
If we got D.Motlop for Doughty + pick 29 that would be a steal.

Agreed. Though to be honest, I haven't seen enough of D. Motlop myself, but a lot of good judges rate him highly, and will only get better.

Still, he's not a player that fits into our immediate needs, and I don't think we'll go after him with much gusto, but if he's still there at the end of trade week, you'd be mad not to try and get him. You can't ignore talent.

macca23
8 Oct 2003, 22:04
Originally posted by ant

Still, he's not a player that fits into our immediate needs, and I don't think we'll go after him with much gusto, but if he's still there at the end of trade week, you'd be mad not to try and get him. You can't ignore talent.

I think this is how the AFC are going to play their cards this year. Bargains or nothing.

ant
8 Oct 2003, 22:12
I think this is how the AFC are going to play their cards this year. Bargains or nothing.

That preying on dead carcasses theory eh? Probably the best way to play it, most deals are done in the last 30 minutes anyway, leave it to the last minute and maybe get something for virtually nothing *having a stiffy-like trade week dream*

Kane McGoodwin
8 Oct 2003, 22:13
Sounds good to me. May be able to get a bargain by either brokering a deal between 2 other clubs as a 3rd party (as there is going to be a higher number of high profile player movement this year), or getting a disgruntled player who would probably quit their club any way (& nominate for the pre-season draft).

Also, agree with what you said before, where we need to keep hold of our round 1 & 2 picks (unless we trade up of course).

Stiffy_18
8 Oct 2003, 22:20
I think this is how the AFC are going to play their cards this year. Bargains or nothing. I can't complain really. Although I still think we need to have a decent crack at a good young ruckman and I still wouldn't rule Holland out of the equation if he comes at a right price.

We might be lucky and Geelong/Western Bulldogs would come to the party for Perrie like Saints did for Brooks last year.

Who knows we might land a steal.:D here is for hoping;)

Stiffy_18
8 Oct 2003, 22:29
If we are to have a crack at Motlop, would the fact that he would play with Carey have any negative influence on his decision to join us??????

macca23
8 Oct 2003, 23:19
If we are to have a crack at Motlop, would the fact that he would play with Carey have any negative influence on his decision to join us??????

Nahhhh!! Carey didn't bang his girlfriend!!!

at least I don't think he did

magicman
8 Oct 2003, 23:38
Just saw a thread on the Roos board stating that Motlop wants to play for Port because he idolises Wanganeen. Apparently this was heard on 3AW.:(

Stiffy_18
9 Oct 2003, 00:00
Originally posted by magicman
Just saw a thread on the Roos board stating that Motlop wants to play for Port because he idolises Wanganeen. Apparently this was heard on 3AW.:( I think we have to be realistic and admit that Port have more bargaining power than we do. They can offer Guerra for Motlop and still be well off in the trade.

I still think we should make some enquiries about him;)

marvin
9 Oct 2003, 11:04
Originally posted by Jars458

While I agree with your sentiments Jars, and I'd take Adam Goodes in a heartbeat, I wouldn't have Dean Rioli in my team if Sheedy paid me cash personally and agreed to settle the pizza bill at the end of each month.

Scottroo
9 Oct 2003, 15:42
*cough* Brent Reilly *cough*

Mong
9 Oct 2003, 16:12
Originally posted by Scottroo

Gee, I hope not. I haven't seen enough of Motlop to know how good he will be but he'd want to be damn good if Brent Reilly is to be traded.

Mong

AngelEyes
9 Oct 2003, 16:45

You got to be kidding me!!

No way!!!!!!

Stiffy_18
9 Oct 2003, 17:13
*cough* Brent Reilly *cough* *cough* keep dreaming *cough*

acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 17:14
*cough* keep dreaming *cough*

Is the flu bug going around again?! :confused:

Stiffy_18
9 Oct 2003, 17:17
Originally posted by acg_204*
Is the fly bug going around again?! :confused: :p

acg_204*
9 Oct 2003, 17:21
Fly bug?! D'oh!!

naughty monkey
9 Oct 2003, 18:16

would the fact that he would have to play with Peter Burgoyne have any negative influence on his decision to play with them?

Mong
9 Oct 2003, 18:32
would the fact that he would have to play with Peter Burgoyne have any negative influence on his decision to play with them?

Probably. That's enough to turn just about anybody away.

Mong

Stiffy_18
9 Oct 2003, 20:10
It looks like Administration from Arden Street has been in contact from those on Punt Road and have decided to smoke some strong sh|t together.

After Richmond have been shopping Ben Holland around for a 1st and 2nd round draft pick, Kangaroos have infored all the clubs interested that they will accept nothing less than a pick 3 in the up and coming National Draft.

There must be something in the water in Victoria.:)

Porthos
9 Oct 2003, 20:32
Do you mean third round pick? Or are they being that stupid?

Stiffy_18
9 Oct 2003, 20:50
Originally posted by Porthos
Do you mean third round pick? Or are they being that stupid? Pick 3. Not 3rd round pick. So to answer your question, yes they are being that stupid;)

GoalsFrom50Out
9 Oct 2003, 20:58

... don't get what you mean by the one ...? :)

DaveW
9 Oct 2003, 21:02
Um yes, was Peter Burgoyne convicted or merely alleged of this crime?

lozstar
9 Oct 2003, 21:12
Um yes, was Peter Burgoyne convicted or merely alleged of this crime? don't think he was convicted.. have heard that there were lots of $$$ involved to keep people quiet about it.

Punchy Bassett
9 Oct 2003, 21:50
Originally posted by lozstar
don't think he was convicted.. have heard that there were lots of $$$ involved to keep people quiet about it.

have heard this in quite a few places myself as well

tashibatts
10 Oct 2003, 00:07
Kangaroos have infored all the clubs interested that they will accept nothing less than a pick 3 in the up and coming National Draft.

Where'd ya hear this?

I want Motlop to stay:(:(:(

Go Roos

Stiffy_18
10 Oct 2003, 00:09
Originally posted by tashibatts
Where'd ya hear this?

Go Roos It was on the radio and TV here in Adelaide.

D. Motlop is a good player but he is not worth pick 3 IMHO. You might disagree with me but I am sure if you lost Motlop you'd be bloody thrilled to get pick 3 for him.;)

Kane McGoodwin
10 Oct 2003, 00:10
Originally posted by lozstar
don't think he was convicted.. have heard that there were lots of $$$ involved to keep people quiet about it.
Correct & we probably shouldn't say too much more than that, except to say he was lucky (& hopefully has learnt from the experience).

Kane McGoodwin
10 Oct 2003, 00:11
Where'd ya hear this?

Go Roos
Tashi, how will you feel if you lose both Motlops???

tashibatts
10 Oct 2003, 00:12
It was on the radio and TV here in Adelaide.

D. Motlop is a good player but he is not worth pick 3 IMHO. You might disagree with me but I am sure if you lost Motlop you'd be bloody thrilled to get pick 3 for him.;)

:eek: Least we are going to attempt something good if we lose him..

Would prefer he stayed:(:(:( I love Motlop:(:(:( He is worth pick 1 for the next 10 years if you ask me..

Go Roos

tashibatts
10 Oct 2003, 00:14
Tashi, how will you feel if you lose both Motlops???

Words could not possibly explain how I would feel losing both Motlops :(

Losing SMotlop alone is bad enough, let alone losing Jnr :(:(

Go Roos

Kane McGoodwin
10 Oct 2003, 00:20
Words could not possibly explain how I would feel losing both Motlops :(

Losing SMotlop alone is bad enough, let alone losing Jnr :(:(

Go Roos
Thought that would be the case.

Well where there is life there is hope. It wouldn't be the 1st time a player has changed their mind & stayed.

tashibatts
10 Oct 2003, 00:27
Thought that would be the case.

Well where there is life there is hope.

I am still hoping, hoping like hell. Hoping he does change his mind, and stays.. :(:):(:)

Go Roos

hurricane
10 Oct 2003, 15:04
Just to put it into a Kangaroos perspective for you guys.

You scoff at a Reilly for Motlop trade. I rate Reilly, but if that trade occurred, you guys would have won significantly IMO.

He has yet to achieve a great deal at AFL level, but in three seasons he has been very unlucky with injury. Despite this, several of the games this guy has played in the VFL have been better performances than I've seen by anyone at this level. Bar none, AFL players included.

The younger Motlop has more talent than Daniel Wells IMO (although he did was not quite the same rounded package at the same age).

It is often worth re-appraising draft choices after they've spent a couple of years at a club. For example, Dylan Smith, who we picked up at no.6 in the 2000 draft was probably worth about no 70 in hindsight.

After witnessing Motlop's development, and taking injury into account, a top 3 spot would be a very accurate reappraisal of his worth.

Make of it what you will, but there's an assessment of someone who has seen most of his football in the last 3 years. I've also seen many players come and go at both VFL and AFL level over the last 15 years, and I don't make this call lightly.

It may clarify the gutted reaction you're seeing on the North board, at least :(

ant
10 Oct 2003, 15:33
Exactly hurricane, that's why I defended North's demand for a top 3 pick. Not that I'm sure you're going to get it, but it's a fairly realistic appraisal and somewhere in the ballpark. Same cannot be said for Richmond's trade expectations!

Good luck with getting something done in regards to D. Motlop, but for your sake, I hope he stays at Arden St.

maccas_no1
10 Oct 2003, 16:04
Hopefully the AFC have a crack at him in trade week, what about D.Solomon lads????????????

Can we have a crack at him?????

macca23
10 Oct 2003, 16:20
Originally posted by maccas_no1
Hopefully the AFC have a crack at him in trade week, what about D.Solomon lads????????????

Can we have a crack at him?????

At 400k a year - no thanks. Essendon had it right at around the 250k mark max.

Kristof
10 Oct 2003, 16:21
At 400k a year - no thanks. Essendon had it right at around the 250k mark max.

I'm just going to agree with every macca on this board.

$250k - good. $400k - bad.

Davo01
10 Oct 2003, 16:25
Most fans know there own club's players well.... right? Checkout the posts on the Kangaroos board - we do not want to loose this kid. A lot of people feel very passionate about this kid because this kind of talent does not come along that often. He has huge potential and after a few injury inturupted seasons made great strides this year.... He has talent to burn and needs the right coaching and players around him to get the best out of him. If he was on offer you're coaching panel would be negligent to not try and find the right trade for him.

Kristof
10 Oct 2003, 16:29
Originally posted by Davo01
Most fans know there own club's players well.... right? Checkout the posts on the Kangaroos board - we do not want to loose this kid. A lot of people feel very passionate about this kid because this kind of talent does not come along that often. He has huge potential and after a few injury inturupted seasons made great strides this year.... He has talent to burn and needs the right coaching and players around him to get the best out of him. If he was on offer you're coaching panel would be negligent to not try and find the right trade for him.

See - your one mistake is TELLING US. If he's any good, keep it to yourself, and maybe we'll just offer Romano Negri, Allan Bartlett and a fourth round for him, and he'll be so offended he'll stay.

If you know what you're talking about, don't let the world know ...

DaveW
10 Oct 2003, 16:34

Can we have a crack at him????? Overrated mercenary. No thanks.

Stiffy_18
10 Oct 2003, 17:25

Can we have a crack at him????? Yes to Motlop. No to Soloman for 2 reasons

1) Because he is not worth $400K per year and we cannot afford him anyway as far as salary cap goes.

2) We already have too many half back flankers;)

PAfolwr
10 Oct 2003, 19:18
Sorry chaps but you're too late.
http://users.bigpond.com/tropin/DanielMotlopPort.jpg
Plus he's too young to be recruited by the AFC.

Bockchoy67
10 Oct 2003, 20:25
Sure, Daniel Motlop is young, fast, accurate and has plenty of talent, but worth atleast a no.3 pick in the draft? I doubt it.

In my opinion he's worth a spot in the top 10, probably 7 or 8.

In reference to the Crows, I think he would do nicely here, but we've got no chance. The best we can do is offer an average player and our first draft pick, but in the spot we're in that would be crazy.

Plus, he wants to go back to his old club (Port) anyway, so I don't see him coming here at at all.

DaveW
10 Oct 2003, 20:30
Originally posted by Bockchoy67
Plus, he wants to go back to his old club (Port) anyway, so I don't see him coming here at at all. Geez, you continue with the bloopers. ;)

The Motlops came from North Adelaide (and before that Wanderers in the NT).

tashibatts
10 Oct 2003, 20:33
Sure, Daniel Motlop is young, fast, accurate and has plenty of talent, but worth atleast a no.3 pick in the draft? I doubt it.

In my opinion he's worth a spot in the top 10, probably 7 or 8.

Watch some tapes of his best VFL games- and then you will see the exact amount of potential he has, and you will know his worth.

I am biased as hell, but anyone (even Jack the Blind Miner) can see he has all the talent in the world, and all the potential in the world.

But personally, I would rather Adelaide got a number 3 pick and kept it for themselves, any number 3 pick, Daniel Motlop will be better than.

Go Roos

Bockchoy67
10 Oct 2003, 20:40
That's cool Tashi, I respect your views and perhaps I judged him a little harshly.:)

I'll make sure I watch him more closely next year, whether it be in the AFL, VFL or...SANFL.

By the way Tashi I was wondering, what is your personal preferance of which club Motlop should join?

tashibatts
10 Oct 2003, 20:52
That's cool Tashi, I respect your views and perhaps I judged him a little harshly.:)

I'll make sure I watch him more closely next year, whether it be in the AFL, VFL or...SANFL.

By the way Tashi I was wondering, what is your personal preferance of which club Motlop should join?

Sorry- I was a little snappy.. I am very edgy about Motlop...

It will be the AFL..

My personal preference on which club he joins? The Roos. He stays at the Roos or I am not happy..:(

Go Roos

Crow-mosone
10 Oct 2003, 23:42
Guys,
if you think Motlop is taht good (I don't, but hey), how do you rate him talent wise against say a Damien Cupido or Jeff Farmer?

don't be dicks now, be serious

DaveW
10 Oct 2003, 23:43
Originally posted by Crow-mosone
Guys,
if you think Motlop is taht good (I don't, but hey), how do you rate him talent wise against say a Damien Cupido or Jeff Farmer?

don't be dicks now, be serious Those two are just run-of-the-mill forward pockets.

Motlop sounds like he will be something much more special than that.

Crow-mosone
10 Oct 2003, 23:50
Those two are just run-of-the-mill forward pockets.

sounds like, or looks like...

big difference.

Nige_Bix
10 Oct 2003, 23:56
I reckon Motlop has something a bit "special" - but I worry when players hint at going back to their own state - I often wonder if its a guise to hopefully get a better deal and stay at their current club.

ant
11 Oct 2003, 00:13
sounds like, or looks like...

big difference.

Well, to the people who have seen him play for 3 years (many Kangas fans), it would be looks like.

For those that haven't seen him as regularly (pretty much everyone else), it would be sounds like.

1jasonoz
11 Oct 2003, 00:18
Guys,

don't be dicks now, be serious

Farmer is an average player, Freo wasted a pick on him, and Cupido is handy.

macca23
11 Oct 2003, 00:21

Averaged 12 disposals and 1 goal a game for 2003 over 15 games.

A fair way to go before he is actually in the special category.