View Full Version : Sunbury out of BFL
goaldrush
23 Oct 2003, 10:02
Originally posted by Clackers69
I heard on the grapevine that Sunbury's appeal has been successful and both the suspension and fine have been revoked. Has anybody else heard this? Can this be verified somehow? Not yet. We won't find out until November 5th 2003.
What you heard was a false rumour.
Clackers69
23 Oct 2003, 16:24
Thanks Suzi, I'll have a word with the guy who told me to get the source of his information. Perhaps they're confident that they'll win the appeal!!!
goaldrush
23 Oct 2003, 16:31
Thanks Suzi, I'll have a word with the guy who told me to get the source of his information. Perhaps they're confident that they'll win the appeal!!! Anytime.
Either You_Idiot or myself will let you know what the result is.
You can go to http://www.ballarat.yourguide.com.au
and keep an eye on the situation.
Clackers69
27 Oct 2003, 15:19
Heard from another source on the weekend that Sunbury has been re-admitted to the BFL for next season. Again, I have nothing to back up this statement, but have no reason to doubt the source (father of one of the current players).
goaldrush
28 Oct 2003, 08:45
Heard from another source on the weekend that Sunbury has been re-admitted to the BFL for next season. Again, I have nothing to back up this statement, but have no reason to doubt the source (father of one of the current players). There has been nothing said in the papers or on the news so I would ask the source where did he hear that from because it is another false rumour.
I have also heard that they have been accepted back into the BFL from a source at the footy club.
I also heard this will be there final year and Sunbury will complete there final year of there license next year and head to Bendigo, this will sllow Bendigo to go to a 10 team league which benefits them greatly.
In the end its the Ballarat league which will lose as the standard is going to drop significntley with Sunbury gone.
Night Night Ballarat.
goaldrush
28 Oct 2003, 12:17
Originally posted by tige19
I have also heard that they have been accepted back into the BFL from a source at the footy club.
I also heard this will be there final year and Sunbury will complete there final year of there license next year and head to Bendigo, this will sllow Bendigo to go to a 10 team league which benefits them greatly.
In the end its the Ballarat league which will lose as the standard is going to drop significntley with Sunbury gone.
Night Night Ballarat. Where did you hear this from tige19?
Because there is nothing on the bfl website and there has been nothing in the papers or on the news.
Bomber12
29 Oct 2003, 12:53
[QUOTE]Originally posted by goaldrush
Where did you hear this from tige19?
Because there is nothing on the bfl website and there has been nothing in the papers or on the news. [/QUOTE
Good evening Peter Mitchell here welcome to the 6 o'clock news, breaking news as we speak, Sunbury have been let back into the BFL.
goaldrush
29 Oct 2003, 13:47
Originally posted by Bomber12
[QUOTE]Originally posted by goaldrush
Where did you hear this from tige19?
Because there is nothing on the bfl website and there has been nothing in the papers or on the news. [/QUOTE
Good evening Peter Mitchell here welcome to the 6 o'clock news, breaking news as we speak, Sunbury have been let back into the BFL. That is strange because Sunbury's appeal hasn't been heard yet. It will be heard next Wednesday. So that rumour that is going around is false.
BigCat1
29 Oct 2003, 15:44
Originally posted by goaldrush
That is strange because Sunbury's appeal hasn't been heard yet. It will be heard next Wednesday. So that rumour that is going around is false.
Do you wanna have a bet that Sunbury will be playing football next year in the BFL?
Dog Town
29 Oct 2003, 17:27
So that rumour that is going around is false. Far from!It is common knowledge in Sunbury.Did you really believe the BFL would shoot its self in the foot by getting rid of its biggest drawcard?
goaldrush
30 Oct 2003, 07:44
I don't bet on football or on anything so I am going to wait. There was nothing on the news BTW.
So somebody in here is full of it.
Mobbenfuhrer
30 Oct 2003, 08:25
Originally posted by Dog Town
Far from!It is common knowledge in Sunbury.Did you really believe the BFL would shoot its self in the foot by getting rid of its biggest drawcard?
Of course it'd be big news in Sunbury. I'm big news in my puny little noggin, too.
I love tige's comment about the standard of the BFL dropping without Sunbury :D I know, mate, I know, for instance the standard of discipline in Grand Finals still has so far yet to fall :D
Time will tell.
Mobbenfuhrer
30 Oct 2003, 08:27
I don't bet on football or on anything so I am going to wait. There was nothing on the news BTW.
So somebody in here is full of it.
Nothing in the Courier again, either. Maybe its all hush-hush :D
(they're having a lend of ya, Suzi, I reckon)
goaldrush
30 Oct 2003, 08:33
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
Nothing in the Courier again, either. Maybe its all hush-hush :D
(they're having a lend of ya, Suzi, I reckon) Maybe. I am waiting until next Wednesday night when we will know the result.
BrownDog2
30 Oct 2003, 08:39
i am invloved in the BFL - Sunbury will be in the league for next season. The suspension was just to scare them to clean the touble makers out.
Sunbury will show the BFL board their new code of conduct, pay the fine and they will be readmitted.
goaldrush
30 Oct 2003, 08:47
Originally posted by BrownDog2
i am invloved in the BFL - Sunbury will be in the league for next season. The suspension was just to scare them to clean the touble makers out.
Sunbury will show the BFL board their new code of conduct, pay the fine and they will be readmitted. Wait and see on the final result though because at the moment the suspension stands.
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
Of course it'd be big news in Sunbury. I'm big news in my puny little noggin, too.
I love tige's comment about the standard of the BFL dropping without Sunbury :D I know, mate, I know, for instance the standard of discipline in Grand Finals still has so far yet to fall :D
Time will tell.
Yeah Mobbs, im talking of course about the standard of football played :D your right about the discipline in a GF that deffiently needs to be attended to. Both Redan and Sunbury probably need to have a look at that:rolleyes: .
cheers
goaldrush
5 Nov 2003, 09:02
Everyone will find out tonight about the decision on Sunbury. They are appealing their dumping from the league tonight and the $10000 fine.
It will be in the paper tomorrow
goaldrush
5 Nov 2003, 17:00
Sunbury's future to be known tonight
Tuesday, 4 November 2003
SUNBURY Football Club will make a comprehensive submission to the board of the Ballarat Football League tonight in an attempt to overturn its 12-month ban from the league.
The Lions were given a $10,000 fine (with $5000 suspended until the end of 2005) and banned from playing in 2004 after the BFL found the club guilty of bringing the game of football into disrepute.
The league tempered these decisions by giving Sunbury the opportunity to reaffiliate with the league if it could show "due cause" as to why that should happen.
New BFL chief executive officer Rod Ward said Sunbury's case for reaffiliation was "very good and comprehensive".
He said the submission would be heard and a decision announced tonight.
Mr Ward said Sunbury would present a code of behaviour to the board and detail how it would be implemented.
He said the club's submission dealt with a range of issues affecting its future.
http://www.ballarat.yourguide.com.au/detail.asp?class=sport&subclass=local&story_id=265310&category=General+Sport&m=11&y=2003
Click on the link and you will get the update on what is going to happen.
goaldrush
6 Nov 2003, 09:15
An update from the Courier.
Sunbury's future remains in doubt
Ken Hill
Wednesday, 5 November 2003
SUNBURY Football Club's playing future in the Ballarat league remains in limbo for another seven days after the full board of the league late last night decided it had insufficient information from Sunbury officials to readmit the club for season 2004.
Sunbury has until next Wednesday night to provide further information in addition to its seven-page comprehensive appeal submission before the league can throw a lifeline to the club for next season.
The Lions remain faced with exclusion from the 2004 season as well as paying a $10,000 fine, half of which has been suspended for two seasons.
Sunbury is appealing its supension and fine after the league found it guilty of bringing the game of football into disrepute as a result of several on-field and off-field incidents in the 2002 grand final against Redan on September 28.
Initially, Sunbury was disaffiliated for 12 months but then thrown a lifeline to demonstrate by appeal why it should be re-admitted for the start of the 2004 season.
Sunbury last night provided the BFL board with the lengthy submission including a code of behaviour and other self-imposed conditions that would prevent a reoccurence of incidents which led to its suspension and fine.
But after a three and a half hour sitting of the board, Sunbury is still no closer to ascertaining whether it senior football sides and netball teams will be eligible to play next season.
Sunbury officials left the meeting disconsolate at the outcome but indicated they would be back next week to further press their case for re-admission.
BFL chairman Brian Shorter said his board was still "strongly committed" to obtaining the right outcome for the league and the Sunbury club.
"We would not have made such a heavy decision in the first place as the issue cannot be taken lightly," Mr Shorter said after the marathon meeting.
Mr Shorter said Sunbury had worked hard to convince the league that it would make a number of changes if it was re-admitted "but it is still not enough".
"It (the appeal) needs more work and we are adjourning for seven days. The whole process is in the hands of the Sunbury club to drive anyway," the BFL chairman said.
Mr Shorter said he did not believe the fine was a major stumbling block in the temporary stalemate.
"But we have to be satisfied our decision will be the best for the football league and Sunbury. It has to be said they are working very hard ... but there is still work to be done," he added.
Mr Shorter said the details of the closed meeting would not be released publicly but kept between the parties involved until a final decision was made.
He said the Sunbury club would be sent an official letter from the league today outlining the need for more detail in its submission for re-admission.
Sunbury was last night represented by its president Richard Baird, secretary David Kimpton, who compiled the appeal submission, football manager Brian O'Connor and league delegate Ray McGuiness.
Earlier in the night, Sunbury president Baird told that his club's submission provided a detailed code of behaviour from which the club officials and players were prepared to follow.
"One of main concerns for us, though, is the fine and we have made an offer to the board that we want a bond situation wherby we do the right thing and we get it (the money) back," Mr Baird said.
He said there were a few senior players at the club undecided about playing again next season since the controversy but he believed the club would retain the majority of its players if re-admitted for next season.
goaldrush
12 Nov 2003, 07:53
Should be able to find out the result today sometime on re: Sunbury's appeal.
goaldrush
12 Nov 2003, 08:11
Sunbury faces league D-day
Wednesday, 12 November 2003
SUNBURY Football Club goes back to the Ballarat Football League board tonight to apply for reaffiliation.
Sunbury was sent away last Wednesday night to provide more detailed information in its submission as to why it should be allowed to play in 2004.
At present, Sunbury has three senior football and three netball teams not affiliated to play next season.
The Lions are also understood to be in dispute with the league over the severity of a $10,000 fine - half of which is suspended until the end of 2005.
The disaffiliation and fine handed down by the BFL board followed the club being found guilty of bringing the game of football into disrepute after the 2003 grand final against Redan on September 28.
BFL chief executive officer of the BFL Rod Ward yesterday said it was "crunch time" for Sunbury.
He said Sunbury had forwarded a document this week which "addresses most of the issues".
Mr Ward said he was was confident Sunbury had a case that would be well received by the board.
But the decision on whether Sunbury is readmitted into the league won't be known until late tonight.
The board's chairman Brian Shorter and Sunbury president Richard Baird were tight-lipped after last week's marathon 3 1/2 hour meeting failed to resolve the issue of reaffiliation and the controversial big fine.
Chairman Shorter would not elaborate on details of the closed meeting last week, revealing only that Sunbury had been sent back to provide more detail in its original seven-page submission.
The submission is understood to cover a new code of behaviour for players and officials as well as addressing the indiscretions on-field and off-field which came to a head on grand final day.
Mr Shorter said last week that the appeal submission needed "more work".
"The whole process is in the hands of the Sunbury club to drive".
He said he did not believe the fine was a stumbling block in the overall issues.
But Sunbury president Baird said the fine was a concern.
"...we have made an offer to the board that we want a bond situation whereby we do the right thing and we get it (the money) back," Mr Baird said then.
http://www.ballarat.yourguide.com.au/detail.asp?class=sport&subclass=local&category=general%20sport&story_id=266766&y=2003&m=11
goaldrush
13 Nov 2003, 09:19
The result is in and I have opened another thread called It's Official Sunbury readmitted in BFL