View Full Version : Sunbury out of BFL
anniswan
8th October 2003, 16:13
Heard a snippit on the news that Sunbury Football Club had been suspended from the Ballarat Football League, does anyone else have anymore information
Mobbenfuhrer
8th October 2003, 16:22
First I'd heard ... what news did you hear this on?
anniswan
8th October 2003, 16:27
3pm news on 774, although someone called me at about 1pm and told me that they had heard it also.
Richoagain
8th October 2003, 16:38
Well, yeah....
Here's the report of the BFL grand final as posted by a guy from Avoca.
It was a rough old day as their was a total of 29 charges laid over the senior & Reserves games.
Sunbury captain was sent of for the entire game after only 4 minutes of game time. Stood on an opposition players head and clocked a bloke after being ordered off the field.
Sunbury also had 14 men on the ground at one stage during the 1st quarter after 4 players were ordered from the field for a number of indiscretions.
Other than that it was a great game with Sunbury leading at 3/4 time and Redan storming home to win by 6 goals.
Dog Town
8th October 2003, 19:25
It wouldnt suprise me!The ballarat teams would kill for Sunbury to leave that comp there just to strong.The only thing that denied them another flag was the fact that there was an all in brawl and 4 sunbury players were sent off and only 1 redan player.I doubt the BFL would kick them out but IMO they wont stay much longer anyway.They were heading for the VFL before the format changed to accomadate the AFL reserves.My tip would be the Essendon league or even the Bendigo league.They wont go back to the riddell league its to depleted.
Mobbenfuhrer
8th October 2003, 19:30
Yeah I've heard this now from a couple of sources, 2 year suspension for the club.
Dog Town
8th October 2003, 19:38
Got the inside word for yous!
BFL has fined Sunbury ten grand for what occured on grand final day (officials getting involved and players jumping fences etc).If they dont pay then they are suspended for two years from the BFL.Apparently what Lupson did at the tribunal last night didnt help.You cant blame him for flying off the handle you would think there playing under 10s the way the BFL handle these things.
anniswan
8th October 2003, 19:41
So are they allowed to move to another league if they are suspended from the BFL, I am interested in this as I am involved with the Sunbury Juniors and this could effect the future of our kids.
Dog Town
8th October 2003, 19:45
Originally posted by anniswan
So are they allowed to move to another league if they are suspended from the BFL, I am interested in this as I am involved with the Sunbury Juniors and this could effect the future of our kids. I am pretty sure they would be allowed.I wouldnt stress to much Sunbury is one of the few country clubs that could pay that fine at the click of its fingers.They are loaded!Apart from that the juniors are a seperate entity to the seniors and play in a different competition.IMO it will come down to whther they want to continue in the BFL or cut there losses and move to a more accomadating league.
Richoagain
8th October 2003, 20:42
Sunbury are a useless pack of thugs. Good luck to them trying to find a new home.
Dog Town
8th October 2003, 20:55
Originally posted by Richoagain
Sunbury are a useless pack of thugs. Good luck to them trying to find a new home. I reckon any league would take them as they have such a strong following.The quality of the BFL will be up the **** without them I am afraid.
My North
8th October 2003, 22:19
would any comp accept Sunbury after this?
grinspoon
8th October 2003, 22:31
play them in the vfl. then i go go 5 minutes down the road to watch willi vs sunbury:D
anniswan
8th October 2003, 23:40
Why couldn't they just suspend Lupson and Powell for 2 years, why effect the whole club.
I am not sticking up for them as I think the players behaviour was reprehensable, but to suspend the whole club seems to me that they were possibly looking for a reason the get rid of them.
As far as the VFL thing goes, Clarke Oval is not to the standard of other VFL grounds,
dogman22
9th October 2003, 09:30
Heard on Triple M this morning that Sunbury has been suspended for a year from the BFL...take that for what it's worth
Mobbenfuhrer
9th October 2003, 09:31
Yeah Herald Sun today reckons its 1 yr suspension and $10,000 fine ... but the BFL is happy to hear an appeal.
Perhaps they'd let it all slide if Sunbury agreed to ditch Luppo? :D
sross
9th October 2003, 10:50
Here is the article from todays Herald-Sun. It seems it was not only the players but also officials and supporters.
Team is suspended
09 October 2003 Herald Sun
By CHRISTINE CAULFIELD
A COUNTRY football club has been suspended for one year after angry supporters, players and officials lashed out at umpires during their grand final.
The Ballarat Football League yesterday disqualified the Sunbury Football Club for 12 months and fined it $10,000 for unruly behaviour during and after the match on Sunday, September 28.
The league's board ruled club members had brought the game into disrepute with aggressive off-field behaviour aimed at umpires and spectators.
The Sunbury Lions football team lost the senior grand final by more than six goals to Redan.
League chief Rod Ward said Lions fans and officials reacted violently, abusing and threatening umpires, spectators and journalists after the last siren.
He said the Lions had also been penalised for on-field incidents, with the tribunal suspending four players for striking and wrestling and two officials for abusing umpires.
Sunbury vice-president John Arthur said the ruling was outrageous and the club would consider appealing or leaving the league.
"There is no way known the Sunbury Football Club will have a year off," Mr Arthur said.
Mr Ward said the league would give Sunbury a chance to appeal against the severity of the ruling and apply for re-affiliation next month.
muesli
9th October 2003, 12:25
Can Sunbury play in another league next year or does there 1 year suspension cover all leagues?
you_idiot
9th October 2003, 12:42
From the Ballarat Courier, confirmed, on both the club and Lupson.
And yes, Sunbury have the option to play in another competition next season, regardless of whether they choose to appeal.
On the main news: http://www.thecourier.com.au/detail.asp?class=sport&subclass=local&category=general%20sport&story_id=259796&y=2003&m=10
SUNBURY SUSPENDED FOR ONE YEAR
David Brehaut
Thursday, 9 October 2003
SUNBURY Football Club is out of the Ballarat Football League for one year for having brought the game into disrepute.
BFL chairman Brian Shorter yesterday dropped the bombshell that Sunbury's affiliation with the Ballarat Football League had been suspended until the end of next season.
Mr Shorter said the BFL board of directors had decided to suspend Sunbury after a review of incidents at the grand final at the Eastern Oval on September 28.
He said the board believed some of the actions of Sunbury players, officials and spectators on the day had brought the BFL, Victorian Country Football League and the game of football into disrepute.
"We feel it is our duty on behalf of our member clubs, supporters and the VCFL to be seen to act in a decisive manner and send a clear message that inappropriate behaviour will not be tolerated by the BFL."
Mr Shorter said the board's review had not focused on on-field incidents.
"That's up to the tribunal to deal with," he said.
Mr Shorter said this was not a kneejerk reaction.
He said there had been a series of incidents involving Sunbury over a number of years, including threats to leave the competition, that the BFL board had not been happy with.
"Incidents on grand final day brought everything to a head," the chairman stated.
Sunbury has also been fined $10,000.
The Lions must pay $5000 by November 19 this year, while the balance has been suspended until the completion of the 2005 BFL season.
If no breaches of a Sunbury code of conduct occur before that time, the second $5000 will be waived.
The BFL board of directors have given Sunbury a lifeline through which would allow the club to be reaffiliated in time to play in the competition next year. Mr Shorter said the suspension was not fait accompli.
He said Sunbury would be offered reaffiliation if it could show "due cause" why the Ballarat Football League should readmit it.
He said a case for reaffiliation must include the development of plans for the implementation of a club code of conduct for all players, officials, members and spectators of Sunbury. The code of conduct would be subject to BFL approval.
Mr Shorter said Sunbury also had a right to appeal to the BFL board.
He said October 21 was the deadline for an appeal application and if an appeal went ahead it would take place on November 5.
If Sunbury does not wish to go down this road, it also has the right to apply for transfer to another competition.
Mr Shorter said to do this Sunbury would require the full support of the VCFL board of directors.
THE Ballarat Football League's decision to suspend Sunbury goes beyond senior football ranks. The suspension also leaves the Lions' reserves and under-18 football teams, and senior, reserves and under-17 netball teams in the wilderness.
And on Lupson: http://www.thecourier.com.au/detail.asp?class=sport&subclass=local&category=general%20sport&story_id=259421&y=2003&m=10
Lupson ousted indefinitely
By David Brehaut
Wednesday, 8 October 2003
SUNBURY'S Dean Lupson has been suspended indefinitely from all football as a result of an outburst after an appearance before the Ballarat Football League independent tribunal last night.
The open-ended suspension will remain in force until Lupson re-appears before the tribunal to explain comments he made as he left the hearing at Saxon House.
The incident occurred after Lupson had been suspended for five matches on a striking charge.
Lupson was found guilty of having struck Redan's Gareth Hose with an elbow in the first quarter of the BFL grand final at the Eastern Oval on September 28.
Lupson, who represented himself in last night's hearing, pleaded not guilty.
Tribunal chairman John Blythman was unhappy with comments made by Lupson at the conclusion of the hearing.
Mr Blythman called Lupson back, but the three-time Sunbury premiership coach refused to return - stating that as far as he was concerned he had accepted the five-match suspension and the hearing was over.
After deliberating behind closed doors, the tribunal announced the additional penalty.
The indefinite ban might well mean Lupson has played his last game of football, with Sunbury football manager John Arthur telling the tribunal Lupson was moving to northern Victoria.
Earlier, Lupson told the tribunal that he had eyes only for the football in the incident in which he was reported by central umpire Davin Reid.
He said there was no evidence to show that he had been reckless or had intentionally struck Hose.
Lupson said he had been playing as a sweeper to control the back of packs and his intention had been to collect the football.
The Sunbury veteran said he was about to pick up the football, which was at his feet, and contact had been made by a Redan player in the contest.
Lupson denied raising an elbow. He said he had braced himself to stop being pushed off the football.
Reid told the tribunal that he had no doubt Lupson had deliberately raised his left elbow and struck Hose in the jaw.
Reid said Hose was holding his jaw and appeared groggy after the incident.
Hose told the hearing he had felt contact to his jaw and subsequently gone to ground. He said contact was "quite hard" and he had felt groggy after the incident until after half-time.
The suspension is Lupson's second this year.
I should also add that (and this has already been published in our paper) that one of Sunbury's players (can't remember which one) threatened one of our reporters after losing the grand final. Irrespective of my affiliation to the Ballarat Courier, that cannot be condoned by any means whatsoever.
Sunbury really needs to clean up its act. Taking the year off, and not playing in another competition, might actually do some good in that regard, IMO.
you_idiot
9th October 2003, 12:45
Originally posted by muesli
Can Sunbury play in another league next year or does there 1 year suspension cover all leagues?
They can apply for membership for next season in other leagues, but it should be important to note that the suspension covers not just the senior footy team, but all of the footy and netball teams under the club's banner as well.
A lot of innocent people are hurt by this decision, outside of the senior football club.
Richoagain
9th October 2003, 12:46
If the whole club culture condones this sort of crap, then it has to wear it.
Congrats to the BFL for not putting up with it.
Mobbenfuhrer
9th October 2003, 13:52
(I know its too low a grade but anyway) The Central Highlands FL won't take 'em .. once bitten twice shy on that front!
Bendigo FL, Essendon DFL, maybe Western Region FL, Diamond Valley would be too far away right?
Riddell and CHFL too low a grade. for VAFA they'd have to go amateur ...
Because of their behaviour, some leagues may be somewhat reticent about taking them on.
Richoagain
9th October 2003, 14:35
A club like Sunbury couldn't move to the VAFA - for starters, the most appropriate grade for them would be at least C or B, if not possibly A, but the league would require them to start at the bottom and work their way up... But more importantly it'd mean restructuring the club from the ground up to be run as an amateur outfit, which would in turn lead to most of their players leaving for better, paying offers.
Essendon District or Western Region would be their best options. They certainly won't be heading for the VFL any time soon.
They could I suppose move into the Bendigo league - it would involve some seirous road trips.... But hey, means there'd be Sunbury vs Gisborne games.
anniswan
9th October 2003, 14:54
I don't think that having 2 clubs from Sunbury in the VAFA would be a viable propersition.
dogman22
9th October 2003, 14:56
Originally posted by anniswan
I don't think that having 2 clubs from Sunbury in the VAFA would be a viable propersition.
If they were in a different grade to Rupo, then there shouldn't be a problem - would be issues with the current Sunbury players gaining Amateur permits though - the Amateurs executive are the most pedantic people I've ever dealt with in football
Mobbenfuhrer
9th October 2003, 15:41
Nah I mentioned the VAFA with a view to ruling them out ... they'd have to go amateur and a proud club like Sunbury wouldn't want to kick out their list and go get new up-and-comers to replace them just so they could go payroll-free ...
That was why I mentioned that, Richo yes I know they'd have to start at the bottom and that they are too strong a team for that ... but I didn't mention it because the idea is already shot due to the requirement that they'd need to go amateur.
PS : The Bendigo road trips wouldn't be THAT severe. There are no Bendigo FL clubs north of Bendigo, and there's a lot of freeway up there nowadays.
you_idiot
9th October 2003, 17:12
Originally posted by Mobbenfuhrer
(I know its too low a grade but anyway) The Central Highlands FL won't take 'em .. once bitten twice shy on that front!
:(
I don't think the CHFL (which isn't that bad of a footy competition, by the way ;) ), would take them back, either. For one thing, too many teams would complain about having to travel from around Ballarat all the way to (almost) Melton or Bacchus Marsh to get to a game.
Also, too much of a PR risk as well, given Sunbury's reputation over the years.
I will, however, stay in touch with my CHFL contacts and see what they think about any rumours that may come up regarding a probable or improbable Sunbury link-up with that league.
BigCat1
9th October 2003, 17:27
I doubt a huge club like Sunbury will go a year without playing footy. However their ban does appy to other comps. They need to get permission from either the VCFL or the VMFL. They will never go into the Amateurs so that leaves them with three options. Pay the fine and beg the BFL to take them back or join the Bendigo or Essendon leagues. They won't join the DVFL because its to far away and the WDFL isnt strong enough. There are a number of ex Riddel clubs playing in the EDFL and its the closest so it would have to be the prime candidate. I couldnt see them playing B grade (they would smash the weaker teams) so that would mean a major shake up of the EDFL A grade comp.
Dog Town
9th October 2003, 22:08
Bendigo FL, Essendon DFL, maybe Western Region FL, Diamond Valley would be too far away right?
Riddell and CHFL too low a grade. for VAFA they'd have to go amateur ...
As I understand it
Essendon League-Sunbury enquired about going there two years back and were told they would have to start in b grade and that is to low a standard for Sunbury.
Bendigo League-Have to be front runner.
Anni Swan-It is not only Power and Lupson who have caused this.There ere several other things that have caused it combined with the fact that Ballarat has a complete and utter hatred of the club.
You Idiot-You dont seriously believe all the anti sunbury hype up there do you?From watching the tape it seems that the Redan boys targeted Sunbury player (Matt Payne) and then when his mates went in to help out they all got sent off and it all went wrong from there.
you_idiot
9th October 2003, 22:43
Originally posted by Dog Town
You Idiot-You dont seriously believe all the anti sunbury hype up there do you?From watching the tape it seems that the Redan boys targeted Sunbury player (Matt Payne) and then when his mates went in to help out they all got sent off and it all went wrong from there.
I'll answer this as honestly as I can.
I couldn't see the actual grand final, as I was on deadline for the under-18 and reserve grand finals at the Eastern Oval that day, so I had to scurry back to the Ballarat Courier office to write my copy. But for what unfolded, I wish I had seen it all.
As for all the anti-Sunbury 'hype', it seems clear to me that their punishment isn't stemming from this one game (OK, I realise how frustrating losing a grand final can be, let alone two in a row, but it's no reason to act as they did, and for one player to take it out verbally on one of our reporters in the change rooms is a bit over the top IMO). In fact, the BFL reached their on the basis of several incidents over the past few years or thereabouts.
It is, in fact, a pattern of repeated behavior which hasn't changed. On that basis, the punishment is deserved. Unfortunate for the club and the innocent victims of the members of its other teams, both footy and netball, but nonetheless deserved.
But I think it's something Sunbury can learn from, regardless of the course of action the club takes in the aftermath. Case in point, Hepburn-- Hepburn were hit with a one-year ban a few years ago, served their pennance and now are now one of the model clubs of the Ballarat & district region, from what I've been able to gather in all of my journalistic travels this year.
I hope Sunbury recovers from this, because it puts footy in this area and country footy in general in a bad light.
footyman
10th October 2003, 09:59
I was at the Grand Final and it was the first time I have seen a Ballarat FL match. What an overreaction from that league to ban a club for 12 months and fine them like they did.
One person threw a bottle onto the ground at an umpire, yet the league sounds like they are making a song and dance that the Sunbury supporters bring the game into disrepute. There is very little a club can do to monitor their supporters - they are individuals and will do what they want. A club can't say "all our supporters you have to behave today". It is the responsibility of the league to provide adequate security so when incidents occur the spectators involved in incidents can be removed from the ground and fined.
Journalists were being abused???? By who???? The excuses about bad supporters and journalists are just rubbish. A league should only focus on the club - its players and officials.
The umpires spent the day being inconsistant and letting incidents go which would be free kicks at AFL and VFL level, so it's no wonder players and supporters get annoyed.
And if the BFL want to bag anybody I thought the official from Melton South in the 2s who spent the whole presentation yelling out abuse at Sunbury was nearly as bad as anything else I saw in the day. That was extremely poor sportsmanship.
lions_threepeat
10th October 2003, 13:03
Good to see that Sunbury are out of the Ballarat League.
Was at the Grand Final and thought that Sunbury were very stupid indeed.
you_idiot
10th October 2003, 13:19
Sunbury have announced that it will appeal the BFL's banning.
From today's (Friday's) Ballarat Courier:
http://www.thecourier.com.au/detail.asp?class=sport&subclass=local&category=general%20sport&story_id=260084&y=2003&m=10
Sunbury to appeal
By David Brehaut
Thursday, 9 October 2003
SUNBURY Football Club yesterday set the wheels in motion to appeal the Ballarat Football League's decision to suspend its affiliation for 12 months.
Sunbury will meet with the BFL board of directors in Ballarat on Wednesday night to begin the appeal process.
BFL chief executive officer Rod Ward said the informal meeting with the Sunbury Football Club executive would be a pre-cursor to a BFL board meeting on November 5 - the date set to hear an appeal if one goes ahead.
Mr Ward said the BFL board was pleased with the positive signs which had emerged from Sunbury since the penalty had been announced on Wednesday morning.
The BFL fined Sunbury $10,000 - $5000 of which has been suspended until the end of the 2005 BFL season - and suspended the Lions after finding that the actions of their players, officials and spectators had brought the league, VCFL and game of football into disrepute.
While handing down the suspension, the BFL stated that it would consider re-affiliating Sunbury in time for next season if the Lions could show they had changed their ways through the introduction of a strictly-adhered to code of conduct.
Mr Ward said the BFL board was confident that as a result of the pro-active approach already being shown by Sunbury in this matter, steps being taken by the Sunbury executive could assist its case for re-affiliation.
Sunbury vice-president John Arthur said the Lions wanted to resolve the matter as quickly as possible.
He said the club was determined to play next year - whether it was in the BFL or elsewhere.
"We need to know where we are going so we can get on with the job of recruiting and other planning.
"We're in an awkward position.
"We can't go out and recruit, and our players are being chased.
"We're naturally concerned, but believe we can work through it," Mr Arthur said.
The Sunbury committee met on Wednesday night and will meet again before having talks with the BFL board.
Mr Arthur said to avoid an open slather verbal stoush over the matter, the committee had determined only three club executive members would be permitted to speak publicly on the issue - president Richard Baird, secretary David Kimpton and Mr Arthur.
Mr Arthur said all players had been told they had no authority to speak publicly.
"We intend to talk to the players Friday night (tonight) about it," he said.
He dismissed comments made by suspended player Dean Lupson yesterday.
Mr Arthur said Lupson had had no authority to speak to the media and any comments had made were not sanctioned by the Sunbury Football Club.
Lupson told Win-TV and Channel Nine that the BFL had a vendetta against Sunbury.
"I think it's just another case of them cheating the system again," he said.
"They're a law unto themselves.
"They are a bush court and they been doing it for seven years."
In other issues:
* Mark Fedoruk has handed in his Sunbury Football Club membership to sever ties after the BFL independent tribunal on Tuesday night suspended him for 12 months from holding any official role with the Lions or any other club under VCFL jurisdiction. He was found guilty of misconduct on BFL grand final day.
* Sunbury vice-president and football manager John Arthur has offered to resign from his posts after being found guilty on Tuesday night of misconduct in that he used abusive, insulting threatening and obscene language towards an umpire in the senior grand final.
* Sunbury captain Mark Power, suspended for eight matches on Tuesday night on a striking charge and two charges of misconduct arising from the grand final, remains a required player. Sunbury is planning to talk with Power shortly.
* Non-playing coach Peter Freeman has been offered the coaching job for a second year.
lions_threepeat
10th October 2003, 13:22
Hope that the appeal is thrown out. They deserve the suspension.
timelord
10th October 2003, 17:14
I've come back just this once to say - Sunbury IS the problem.
I was there. The trouble in the seniors started when that idiot Sunbury player (I assume it was the Payne boy that was mentioned) DELIBERATELY shouldered the Redan player who kicked the opening goal of the match inside 30 seconds. It was NOT Redan that started that fight - it was Sunbury.
I also saw Mark Power's carry on - and he got what he deserved. In fact I think he got off lightly with just eight weeks!
As for Lupson - who has a history of pathetic behaviour which I think has been mentioned before - he can get out of the game and stay out.
Don't forget the pathetic behaviour of the three Sunbury reserves players who gave the Melton crew the one arm salute from the victory platform. THAT was poor sportsmanship when the game was OVER!
However, I think the fine is enough. Kicking them out for a year is something of an over reaction because not every Sunbury player was guilty of poor behaviour. It was the same with Hepburn a few years back. They got rid of the trouble makers, and cleaned themselves up. Sunbury can do the same.
Although they have made a mistake retaining Power! I wouldn't have after that display! It was pathetic!
That's it - no more from me.
Bombers 2003
10th October 2003, 17:46
Sunbury FC isnt the problem,only certain Officials and Players.I dont doubt that these people have been good servants of the FC,as much as i think 1 is a DH,he is also a ex-President.As for the players,especially the former Coach,i can say that perhaps the time is past for on-field Antics.
tige19
10th October 2003, 18:40
Originally posted by timelord
That's it - no more from me.
Well thats the best news ive heard all day, passing judgment on Sunbury FC as a whole is very rich coming from a outsider who clearly has little or any idea on the club.
It is as clear as day that Sunbury has been sterotyped into a rough and tumble dirty big fat rich club which is pathetic. I cant understand why it is that Redan who were clearly having a crack at the man just as much as Sunbury (although with little damage) and they only end up with 1 player sent off??? its bemusing as there are 2 teams playing this sport.
Although i do no condone what Mark Power did Sunbury cant afford to lose a player of his value, he is the club captain, VCFL rep player,League Rep player and also JJ Liston runner up and B&F winner at Nth Ballarat, now you tell me Phil how can you discard a bloke like that???? maybe cause his on 30k a season :D :D you would love that mate.
I actually thought it was great viewing the GF, great to see the punch ups and melees very funny stuff. I cant belive how much the BFL is making a fuss of when Luppo went to jump the fence!!!! it was a light hearted attempt to scare the crowd which actually worked a treat as the group on fence scruffled back hahaha.
Well im hoping Sunbury persure the opportunity to go to the Essendon league, if that is they get accepted to A grade straight away.
The EDFL would gain alot by accepting Sunbury as the league as a whole will rise in standard and depth, could you imagine a better match up than Sunbury VS Keilor?? or Sunbury VS Aberfeldie sounds exciting.
cheers
timelord
11th October 2003, 00:04
I wasn't going to post again (and the reason had nothing to do with this thread) but Tige has forced my hand.
I cant understand why it is that Redan who were clearly having a crack at the man just as much as Sunbury (although with little damage) and they only end up with 1 player sent off??? its bemusing as there are 2 teams playing this sport.
Who threw the punches? Sunbury. Who was doing nothing more than pushed and shoving? Redan. That's what I saw. Which game were you watching?
Although i do no condone what Mark Power did Sunbury cant afford to lose a player of his value, he is the club captain, VCFL rep player,League Rep player and also JJ Liston runner up and B&F winner at Nth Ballarat, now you tell me Phil how can you discard a bloke like that???? maybe cause his on 30k a season you would love that mate.
I'll ignore that last remark because it's irrelevant. I don't care how many accolades Mark Power has. He threw every single one of them right out the window and metaphorically spat on them when he did what he did. That's his value out the window in an instant. There is ZERO honour in retaining a player who is not prepared to leave the ground when he is told by the umpire, especially someone who is supposed to be the leader! Some leader! Give me a break!
I actually thought it was great viewing the GF, great to see the punch ups and melees very funny stuff. I cant belive how much the BFL is making a fuss of when Luppo went to jump the fence!!!! it was a light hearted attempt to scare the crowd which actually worked a treat as the group on fence scruffled back hahaha.
I wasn't laughing. That is the sort of thing that drives familes away from the game to other sports. I find it offensive that you find humour in that. The last thing we want is fighting in the crowd! Besides Lupson's behaviour went beyond just the crowd incident. We all read what he did at the tribunal. That was NOT ON!
Now I would point out that I do NOT support the banning of the club from the BFL - provided they clean to club up of the trouble makers. Much like Hepburn did as I said. The fine is heavy - even though Sunbury can pay it in comfort - and that should be enough. Redan did nothing wrong except defend themselves. You tell me if that deliberate shoulder thirty seconds into the game was fair or foul (metaphorically speaking)! Or those three brats on the reserve grade victory platform!
Wayde Petersen
11th October 2003, 03:30
Well from the outside looking in, I can only guess what's happened through media reports & word of mouth (both highly inaccurate sources of information:) ).
Lupson is, and has always been an A-Grade *****head, even during his days at Fitzroy and later on at Euroa, where he got suspended for a year (also in a Grand Final), for breaking a Rochester player's jaw during the Goulburn Valley Grand Final in 1990.
Sunbury (like Research in the Diamond Valley League, before they were kicked out in 1991 for similar offences), seems to havea disipline problem (sadly due to a few morons like Dean Lupson etc.), and I think that this suspension is nothing more than a hatchet job by the Ballarat F.L. to get rid of a successful outsider.
When Research got suspended in 1991, a lot of thier senior players & officials went over to Panton Hill, which worried my dad because he thought at the time that thier idiot supporters would follow suit, but it was one of the best things to ever happen to Panton Hill, we got thrown a lifeline, got into the finals the next year, and more importantly the Research & Panton Hill people got along really well.
One of the things that I remember about that era was that there was a feeling that we should try our best to NEVER LET SOMETHING LIKE THAT HAPPEN EVER AGAIN., and I believe that Sunbury should be at least be given the chance to pay the fine, and serve a SUSPENDED SENTENCE, for 2-3 years or so, and show the back stabbing journalists & BFL officials that they at least have seen the error of thier ways, Sunbury should at least be given a second chance, anything less than this is a sad reflection on the league as a whole.
tige19
11th October 2003, 11:52
I wasn't going to post again (and the reason had nothing to do with this thread) but Tige has forced my hand.
Who threw the punches? Sunbury. Who was doing nothing more than pushed and shoving? Redan. That's what I saw. Which game were you watching?
I'll ignore that last remark because it's irrelevant. I don't care how many accolades Mark Power has. He threw every single one of them right out the window and metaphorically spat on them when he did what he did. That's his value out the window in an instant. There is ZERO honour in retaining a player who is not prepared to leave the ground when he is told by the umpire, especially someone who is supposed to be the leader! Some leader! Give me a break!
I wasn't laughing. That is the sort of thing that drives familes away from the game to other sports. I find it offensive that you find humour in that. The last thing we want is fighting in the crowd! Besides Lupson's behaviour went beyond just the crowd incident. We all read what he did at the tribunal. That was NOT ON!
Now I would point out that I do NOT support the banning of the club from the BFL - provided they clean to club up of the trouble makers. Much like Hepburn did as I said. The fine is heavy - even though Sunbury can pay it in comfort - and that should be enough. Redan did nothing wrong except defend themselves. You tell me if that deliberate shoulder thirty seconds into the game was fair or foul (metaphorically speaking)! Or those three brats on the reserve grade victory platform!
And these are the reason you cant,never and wont ever play football in your life. You have no idea what runs through a players head GF day or have any idea what its like to be targeted by the opposition constantly.
I say this Phil, stick to Umpiring wish you could play the game hell even dream it but shut the hell up on thinking you know about the actual game of football.
Bombers 2003
11th October 2003, 14:40
Originally posted by lions_threepeat
Hope that the appeal is thrown out. They deserve the suspension. Suzi.
If the appeal is Thrown out,Sunbury may take it to Court.Wouldnt THAT embarrass the BFL?,And the VCFA in General.
Squeak
11th October 2003, 15:08
Originally posted by tige19
And these are the reason you cant,never and wont ever play football in your life. You have no idea what runs through a players head GF day or have any idea what its like to be targeted by the opposition constantly.
I say this Phil, stick to Umpiring wish you could play the game hell even dream it but shut the hell up on thinking you know about the actual game of football.
I think, Mr Downey, that as a Sunbury boy you are a little biased on this issue.
timelord
11th October 2003, 16:02
I know more about the game than you ever will - because as Squeak rightly said, you are biased. As long as you are biased you will always have a slanted view. I pride myself on being as neutral as I can - the hall mark of a good umpire. And good umpires understand how players think so they can head off any potential trouble and handle it as appropriate. That includes grand final day - and I've done five of them as field umpire.
If you are targetted by the opposition, then you have to stand up and take what comes and not react as Sunbury did at the grand final - both in the first ten minutes of the senior grand final, and on the victory platform in the reserves.
So take your bias and shove it. Your attitude stinks to high heaven - and the sensible people at the Sunbury FC won't want you as a supporter if this is any indication!
pazza
11th October 2003, 21:13
Wayde...Lupson was a Grade A ******** when he was playing for Essendon's seconds in the late 80's. Certainly remember him having a more than major impact on a brawl in the reserves greand final in 1988!!!
Dog Town
12th October 2003, 09:08
I know more about the game than you ever will - because as Squeak rightly said, you are biased. As long as you are biased you will always have a slanted view. I pride myself on being as neutral as I can - the hall mark of a good umpire. And good umpires understand how players think so they can head off any potential trouble and handle it as appropriate. That includes grand final day - and I've done five of them as field umpire.
If you are targetted by the opposition, then you have to stand up and take what comes and not react as Sunbury did at the grand final - both in the first ten minutes of the senior grand final, and on the victory platform in the reserves.
So take your bias and shove it. Your attitude stinks to high heaven - and the sensible people at the Sunbury FC won't want you as a supporter if this is any indication! I would have thought the fact that he is closer to the issue (being a sunbury boy) would help him to make a more informed opinion.Anyone who has had anything to do with that league knows that the BFL have wanted them out anyway they can for some time.I know for a fact Mick Mcguane was in Freemans (coach of sunbury) ear telling him that theres no way Gisborne would hang around in a league after being crucified by the umpires like they were in the GF.So theres an unbiased view for you off someone who has played AFL football.
Mobbenfuhrer
12th October 2003, 09:36
I would have thought the fact that he is closer to the issue (being a sunbury boy) would help him to make a more informed opinion.Anyone who has had anything to do with that league knows that the BFL have wanted them out anyway they can for some time.I know for a fact Mick Mcguane was in Freemans (coach of sunbury) ear telling him that theres no way Gisborne would hang around in a league after being crucified by the umpires like they were in the GF.So theres an unbiased view for you off someone who has played AFL football.
It might be fun to revisit at this time the Sunbury whinges of a year ago about how Redan bought last year's flag.
Seems they're pretty difficult to please.
Lethal
12th October 2003, 09:56
The Bendigo Football League has ruled out Sunbury joining next season even though they are on the lookout for a 10th team. They've basically said they won't ask a club more than 100km's away.
Dog Town
12th October 2003, 09:59
It might be fun to revisit at this time the Sunbury whinges of a year ago about how Redan bought last year's flag.
Seems they're pretty difficult to please. What do you mean by bought?Its not a whinge I have watched the tape and some of the decisions are mind boggling.People who absolutely hate Sunbury (pretty much anyone who doesn't play for them) have said they got arse raped.How you can send 4 players off and only 1 of the opposition is staggering.The fact that Sunburys under 18s have been involved in the last 11 grand finals and won 7 of them isnt really an encouraging thought for the future if your a ballarat club and dont think for a second that half the clubs in the comp wernt on the phone to Sunbury players the day after they were suspended trying to get there signature.The BFL looks after the Ballarat teams and thats why they couldnt wait to kick them out.
Mobbenfuhrer
12th October 2003, 10:06
What do you mean by bought?Its not a whinge I have watched the tape and some of the decisions are mind boggling.People who absolutely hate Sunbury (pretty much anyone who doesn't play for them) have said they got arse raped.How you can send 4 players off and only 1 of the opposition is staggering.The fact that Sunburys under 18s have been involved in the last 11 grand finals and won 7 of them isnt really an encouraging thought for the future if your a ballarat club and dont think for a second that half the clubs in the comp wernt on the phone to Sunbury players the day after they were suspended trying to get there signature.The BFL looks after the Ballarat teams and thats why they couldnt wait to kick them out.
Was talking about the 2002 GF.
How you can send 4 players off and only 1 of the opposition is staggering.
What's staggering about that? In the 1989 GF (VFL) there were a number of reports that game, all against only one side, yet they were all legit.
In the thick of the reports ... one Dean Lupson.
Dog Town
12th October 2003, 10:18
Was talking about the 2002 GF.
What's staggering about that? In the 1989 GF (VFL) there were a number of reports that game, all against only one side, yet they were all legit.
In the thick of the reports ... one Dean Lupson. I dont think Redan bought a flag.They are one of the only sides who develops there youth like Sunbury as opposed to going out and buying blokes.There the team that most years will have a strong under 18s like Sunbury.
Its staggering when you look at the incident.The retaliators didnt just get caught they got raped,pillaged and had a flag ripped from under them.
footyman
12th October 2003, 13:29
And good umpires understand how players think so they can head off any potential trouble and handle it as appropriate.
hahahaha, I'm not sure the blokes up there on Grand Final day had this ability.
timelord
12th October 2003, 15:30
If you mean the reserve grade umpires footyman - I AGREE! I can't believe no one saw that fracas which started the whole thing until it was way too late! Heck - it was right in front of the bloody emergency field umpire! They had five order offs as a result when it could have been just two and that would have been the end of it! (One from each team BTW!)
But I thought the senior boys did very well. In thirty seconds nobody could see that there was going to be trouble. It just blew up. I was stunned that it blew up so quickly - there was nothing to indicate it at all. No umpire would have seen THAT coming!
Kev, I think Mark Power was worse on the day than Lupson - and that's saying something!
Bombers 2003
12th October 2003, 15:36
Originally posted by pazza
Wayde...Lupson was a Grade A ******** when he was playing for Essendon's seconds in the late 80's. Certainly remember him having a more than major impact on a brawl in the reserves greand final in 1988!!! Didnt Lupson play in the '90 GF for Essendon?.
footyman
12th October 2003, 20:27
Originally posted by Squeak
I think that as a Sunbury boy you are a little biased on this issue. And where is it your place to pass judgement on someone else? You supposedly live in Wantirna South so I don't know why you are sticking your bib into this topic. Were you at the Ballarat FL Grand Final? How about you tell us about the incidents at the game Squeak? You probably couldn't - you seem to be one of those stupid people who gets in topics and posts for the sake of it - no wonder you have an average of nearly 7 posts a day. Get a life.
footyman
12th October 2003, 20:42
Originally posted by Bombers 2003
Didnt Lupson play in the '90 GF for Essendon?.
No, his only VFL/AFL senior games were played at Fitzroy.
goaldrush
13th October 2003, 08:37
Originally posted by footyman
No, his only VFL/AFL senior games were played at Fitzroy. I'm actually suprised that he actually played AFL/VFL games at all. Lupson is an idiot and should get himself checked out.
timelord
13th October 2003, 08:41
Originally posted by Bombers 2003
Didnt Lupson play in the '90 GF for Essendon?.
Footyman's right - he only played for Fitzroy.
And to add to that, Lupson played for Euroa at Deakin Reserve the Sunday prior to the AFL grand final in 1990 - and got himself reported (and consequently suspended for 12 months) for king hitting Rochester player Ross Andrews. He was a Euroa player in 1990. He well away from the AFL - and I knew why when I first saw him against Euroa in July (still got the video of that game and I was calling on the Euroa coach to get the idiot off the ground!)
I think Squeak was making a valid point, Footyman. It doesn't matter on that score if he was at the game or not. Locals tend to be biased. I'll be biased towards Donvale - and I admit it. It's why I'll never umpire for the Eastern FL. You're right as well of course, when you talk about people who were there having an advantage (like both of us). But it's like protecting family - if you get my meaning there. I respect that, but in this case Power and Lupson and those three reserve grade players have placed Sunbury in a shocking light and the sooner they admit that the better.
Now then - this is my last post (not because of Tige or anyone else on this thread - but because I'm looking like a hypocrite with my tag on the left, an action taken because of the unacceptable demand made on me by a forum owner)
Squeak
13th October 2003, 09:40
And where is it your place to pass judgement on someone else? You supposedly live in Wantirna South so I don't know why you are sticking your bib into this topic. Were you at the Ballarat FL Grand Final? How about you tell us about the incidents at the game Squeak? You probably couldn't - you seem to be one of those stupid people who gets in topics and posts for the sake of it - no wonder you have an average of nearly 7 posts a day. Get a life.
If you weren't a stupid **** you would see that I actually have a point. How is ********* supposed to give an unbiased view of the whole thing if by commenting on it he is really doing nothing more than backing up his mates?
{edited to remove user's name}
goaldrush
13th October 2003, 09:59
Originally posted by Squeak
If you weren't a stupid **** you would see that I actually have a point. How is Mr Downey supposed to give an unbiased view of the whole thing if by commenting on it he is really doing nothing more than backing up his mates?
footyman does have a role in Sunbury Football Club.
If there is one thing that we could ask him is to contact Dean Lupson and Mark Power and tell them that their services are no longer required.
It would be the best thing to do.
It would be right as well.
goaldrush
13th October 2003, 10:04
hahahaha, I'm not sure the blokes up there on Grand Final day had this ability. The umpiring was really good on Grand Final Day.
Really it was really good.
This whole thread might be picking on your team, bud, but there is a point to it all.
If you or somebody else on the board at Sunbury could get rid of the thugs(or mates who have a bad attitude), your team would be a better side.
Mobbenfuhrer
13th October 2003, 10:21
Footyman's right - he only played for Fitzroy.
Very few senior matches, but he did play soem for the Roys.
I believe he played with Essendon at one stage but never a senior match, reserve only at best.
I think Squeak was making a valid point, Footyman. It doesn't matter on that score if he was at the game or not. Locals tend to be biased. I'll be biased towards Donvale - and I admit it.
I'll admit I am slightly biased against Sunbury, and they probably don't deserve my bias. (My bias is based on weird dreams I have for regional footy for which Sunbury is in no way responsible!)
... an action taken because of the unacceptable demand made on me by a forum owner)
Yell out if I can do anything to help.
footyman
13th October 2003, 19:50
Originally posted by goaldrush
footyman does have a role in Sunbury Football Club.
If there is one thing that we could ask him is to contact Dean Lupson and Mark Power and tell them that their services are no longer required.
It would be the best thing to do.
It would be right as well.
hahahaha, that is the funniest thing I have ever read suzi. No wonder the people on Bigfooty think you are an idiot. I am, in no way at all, connected with the Sunbury Football Club.
I was surprised with how they umpire country football - I see a heap of AFL, VFL and TAC Cup footy every year and the difference between the umpires control on the games were very noticeable. As I said before in this thread, it was the first time I have seen a country footy game and certainly the first time I have ever seen Sunbury play.
Timelord, perhaps squeak would like to share his name with us? He seems so desperate to call people by their real name in his posts, and apart from doing that can you explain the reason he posted in this thread????
Dog Town
13th October 2003, 20:19
If you or somebody else on the board at Sunbury could get rid of the thugs(or mates who have a bad attitude), your team would be a better side. No they wouldnt be a better side Lupson has coached Sunbury to 4 flags!Say what you want about him as a person but he is a bloody good coach and an even better player.Mark Power could still be dominating VFL if he wanted to so taking him away isn't going to improve the side I wouldnt think.
goaldrush
14th October 2003, 10:06
hahahaha, that is the funniest thing I have ever read suzi. No wonder the people on Bigfooty think you are an idiot. I am, in no way at all, connected with the Sunbury Football Club.
I was surprised with how they umpire country football - I see a heap of AFL, VFL and TAC Cup footy every year and the difference between the umpires control on the games were very noticeable. As I said before in this thread, it was the first time I have seen a country footy game and certainly the first time I have ever seen Sunbury play.
Timelord, perhaps squeak would like to share his name with us? He seems so desperate to call people by their real name in his posts, and apart from doing that can you explain the reason he posted in this thread???? Well check your PM's then footyman.
As well as that go buy yourself a rulebook:mad:
goaldrush
14th October 2003, 10:08
No they wouldnt be a better side Lupson has coached Sunbury to 4 flags!Say what you want about him as a person but he is a bloody good coach and an even better player.Mark Power could still be dominating VFL if he wanted to so taking him away isn't going to improve the side I wouldnt think. Lupson is an idiot. As is Mark Power.
When Lupson was coaching he got himself reported all the time. He is a dirty thug.
Sheik Mathious
14th October 2003, 10:53
Was at the GVFL grand final in 1990 - Euroa vs Rochester.
Lupson was standing next to Rochester's CHB early in the first quarter (I think) while the ball was at the other end of the ground. Just turned around and whacked him. Never saw it coming. Never had a chance. I think from memory his jaw was broken and he was taken straight to hospital.
Mobbenfuhrer
14th October 2003, 11:08
That was about the story I heard, too, Sheik.
goaldrush
14th October 2003, 11:10
That was about the story I heard, too, Sheik. As I told you Lupson is a dirty thug. Should be banned for life.
tige19
14th October 2003, 16:49
Squeak ... {content deleted, suffice to say tige isn't impressed with you, Squeak. please check PMs.}
footyman
14th October 2003, 17:12
Squeak ... {content deleted, suffice to say tige isn't impressed with you, Squeak. please check PMs.}
Mobbs, this was one of tige's very best posts. It's disappointing that you took it away!
As well as that go buy yourself a rulebook
I would have a far better knowledge of interpreting the rules than you do suzi. You just worry about your poles and sticking your fingers where it matters.
Mobbenfuhrer
14th October 2003, 17:19
footyman, at Tige19's request I can send him the content of his post so that he can disseminate it off the boards if he likes.
I'm here to help :)
tige19
14th October 2003, 19:41
footyman, at Tige19's request I can send him the content of his post so that he can disseminate it off the boards if he likes.
I'm here to help :)
Here is my formal request mobbs to send that post :D, doing a good job as always.
Should have maybe kept that post for the PMs but you can do that for me now.
Oh and by the way i just read in the paper today that the 7 BFU umpires who were at the GF will be heading to the boards (yes the tribes) for bringing the game into disrepute. The allegation is that these umpires were verbally abusing Sunbury players and officials during the game!!!!! now someone tell me that they are unbiased.
Suzi would you be one of those 7??? :confused: haha, what about that other bloke who umpires in the Ballarat comp , i think his name is something like Redan_fan dont hold me to it though. The name by the way does not suggest he supports Redan as he is a umpire who does so on a mutual basis :rolleyes: .
cheers
pazza
14th October 2003, 19:59
Here is my formal request mobbs to send that post :D, doing a good job as always.
Oh and by the way i just read in the paper today that the 7 BFU umpires who were at the GF will be heading to the boards (yes the tribes) for bringing the game into disrepute. The allegation is that these umpires were verbally abusing Sunbury players and officials during the game!!!!! now someone tell me that they are unbiased.
Suzi would you be one of those 7??? :confused: haha, what about that other bloke who umpires in the Ballarat comp , i think his name is something like Redan_fan dont hold me to it though. The name by the way does not suggest he supports Redan as he is a umpire who does so on a mutual basis :rolleyes: .
cheers
Hey Kev..do you want to pass this onto Phil or should I do it?
goaldrush
15th October 2003, 08:56
Mobbs, this was one of tige's very best posts. It's disappointing that you took it away!
I would have a far better knowledge of interpreting the rules than you do suzi. You just worry about your poles and sticking your fingers where it matters. We have to worry about the rules as well, footyman. That's what you don't know.
goaldrush
15th October 2003, 08:58
cheers No Tige. I was not anywhere near the tossers who were doing that. I think that where you were watching the game was where all the trouble was. (near the grandstand)
At that time of day I was up where the Redan cheersquad was.
Mobbenfuhrer
15th October 2003, 12:21
Hey Kev..do you want to pass this onto Phil or should I do it?
???
pazza
15th October 2003, 14:26
???
The latest on Sunbury, as reported above:D
Mobbenfuhrer
15th October 2003, 16:06
The latest on Sunbury, as reported above:D
Go ahead :)
Richoagain
16th October 2003, 10:43
And I don't do anything stupid in the public eye either.
I think everyone here has to admit that getting into fights on internet sports forums qualifies as doing somthing stupid in public :)
goaldrush
16th October 2003, 11:13
Originally posted by Richoagain
I think everyone here has to admit that getting into fights on internet sports forums qualifies as doing somthing stupid in public :) Not when you are talking about the real world.
goaldrush
16th October 2003, 12:16
Umpires on outer over grand final incidents
Michael Ruffles
Wednesday, 15 October 2003
SEVEN umpires have been placed on probation for bringing football into disrepute at the Ballarat Football League grand final.
The Ballarat Football Umpires Association released the penalties yesterday after the umpires faced the BFUA board on Tuesday night.
One umpire has been placed on indefinite probation and told that any further indiscretion will result in him being expelled from the BFUA.
He was also fined $500 and will have to meet strict conditions before his membership is renewed.
The other six umpires have each been placed on a 12-month probation.
Two have been fined $200.
Any further breach of the association's code of conduct will result in suspension.
BFUA chairman Andrew Dark said the association had refrained from naming the penalised umpires to avoid further public ridicule.
"They've been penalised enough," he said.
"They know who they are ... and some of the public probably do too."
BFL chief executive officer Rod Ward said he was satisfied with the way the investigation had been handled.
"We want to act consistently ... whether it is a club or an umpire," he said.
The inquiry came after complaints about the seven umpires' behaviour during the senior grand final between Redan and Sunbury at the Eastern Oval on September 28.
Mr Dark said the public deserved an unreserved apology.
He said there was no question the seven umpires had brought the game into disrepute, and had to be punished accordingly.
"The BFUA feel it is appropriate if we apologised if anyone took offence," he said.
He said the behaviour on grand final day would not be tolerated, and hoped the punishments would demonstrate that.
"Hopefully we'll end up stronger out of this," he said.
"As far as we're concerned the matter's closed now."
There are 7 male umpires. I am a female. Please read this article.
Mobbenfuhrer
16th October 2003, 12:32
Suzi can you please post a link to the article, or at least name the source of the newspaper?
goaldrush
16th October 2003, 12:45
Suzi can you please post a link to the article, or at least name the source of the newspaper? Yep sure Mobbs.
http://www.ballarat.yourguide.com.au
That's the Ballarat Courier's website
you_idiot
16th October 2003, 13:10
Yep sure Mobbs.
http://www.ballarat.yourguide.com.au
That's the Ballarat Courier's website
I'll do better than that... I'll post a direct link to the article. :)
http://www.thecourier.com.au/detail.asp?class=sport&subclass=local&category=general%20sport&story_id=261254&y=2003&m=10
Text is as Suzi posted above.
Mobbenfuhrer
16th October 2003, 14:10
I hereby declare martial law on any sidetracking and embellishing contributions to this thread.
The subject is worth discussing. Its even worth arguing about.
False claims against other users of the board are not to be tolerated. Publicising grievances are also a no-no.
I realise that there's a chance no-one has ever heard this before, but 1. adhere to the Terms of Use and 2. take your grievances to me or another mod or an admin.
Issues arising from discourse on this thread are being looked at.
rampantswan
16th October 2003, 14:40
Dean Lupson, footballs answer to Lloyd Christmas. He is a dirty player with a terrible record in all leagues he has played in, not only the BFL. Some of his on field actions should have resulted in county court, let alone a 'bush court'. Suspended indefinately? Good riddance to a dirty sniping sook.
tige19
16th October 2003, 16:23
Originally posted by rampantswan
Dean Lupson, footballs answer to Lloyd Christmas. He is a dirty player with a terrible record in all leagues he has played in, not only the BFL. Some of his on field actions should have resulted in county court, let alone a 'bush court'. Suspended indefinately? Good riddance to a dirty sniping sook.
Oh right ok, another educated opinion on a bloke you have never seen play!!!! back in your shell mate.
Richoagain
16th October 2003, 17:25
How do you know he's never seen him play?
Repeated occasions on-field of things that get you arrested for assault off-field.... Tige, how exactly do you defend Lupson's actions?
If you're that good a player, you shouldn't need to be a sniper.
rampantswan
17th October 2003, 10:22
Played on him and seen him play, and watched the grand final. Had prime viewing of power 'stomp' and dummy spit, and of Lupsons 'courageous' elbow and dummy spit. Loves to throw them but sooks and whinges like a school girl if he cops a high one. Trys to intimidate by hitting blokes when they are not looking. Courage.... Good example to young players.... Football is better without him. Lupson lived by the sword and deserves to be skewed.
goaldrush
17th October 2003, 11:31
Played on him and seen him play, and watched the grand final. Had prime viewing of power 'stomp' and dummy spit, and of Lupsons 'courageous' elbow and dummy spit. Loves to throw them but sooks and whinges like a school girl if he cops a high one. Trys to intimidate by hitting blokes when they are not looking. Courage.... Good example to young players.... Football is better without him. Lupson lived by the sword and deserves to be skewed. Who do you play for rampantswan? and which league?
rampantswan
17th October 2003, 11:47
Ballarat Football League since 1994. 3rd oldest club in Aussie rules history, second to Geelong & Melboure as our former president most admirably boasted. Played with them before Sunbury, Melton South, Melton and Darley entered league. Sunbury are not the toughest, nor near the best that have played in that time. They have a reputation for being thugs that they thoroughly deserve. Power got off lightly for his head stomp. Brereton got 6-8 weeks for stomping Tallis. he also disobeyed a red card, by running at redan player and throwing the worst haymaker ever seen. He and Lupson should give the game away, as well as their assistant coach that was rubbed out for the season. they deserve their thug rep, but anyone who thinks that hitting from behind is tough, does not understand the word. Lupsons 'indefinite suspension' is totally justified. He does not deserve to play our great game.
Dog Town
18th October 2003, 19:07
Played on him and seen him play, and watched the grand final. Had prime viewing of power 'stomp' and dummy spit, and of Lupsons 'courageous' elbow and dummy spit. Loves to throw them but sooks and whinges like a school girl if he cops a high one. Trys to intimidate by hitting blokes when they are not looking. Courage.... Good example to young players.... Football is better without him. Lupson lived by the sword and deserves to be skewed. Easy to say that over the internet!Lupson has been nothing but a good influence on the young blokes at sunbury.The under 18s at sunbury have played in the last 11 grand finals FFS!Thats why sunburys a force because they blood there kids and dont head hunt players from other clubs.
Dog Town
18th October 2003, 19:10
Just another note on this.The grand total of suspensions for a season of footy for this supposedly dirty club was 2 suspensions.They sound vicious!
Bombers 2003
18th October 2003, 19:19
DogWatcher.
Sunbury arnt dirty,they just play the ball hard.Lupson is a good Footballer,he just has a short fuse.Same with Fedoruk.
anniswan
18th October 2003, 19:32
Federouk's son has talent although the poor kid broke his collar bone this year and missed half the season.
tige19
18th October 2003, 19:42
Ballarat Football League since 1994. 3rd oldest club in Aussie rules history, second to Geelong & Melboure as our former president most admirably boasted. Played with them before Sunbury, Melton South, Melton and Darley entered league. Sunbury are not the toughest, nor near the best that have played in that time. They have a reputation for being thugs that they thoroughly deserve. Power got off lightly for his head stomp. Brereton got 6-8 weeks for stomping Tallis. he also disobeyed a red card, by running at redan player and throwing the worst haymaker ever seen. He and Lupson should give the game away, as well as their assistant coach that was rubbed out for the season. they deserve their thug rep, but anyone who thinks that hitting from behind is tough, does not understand the word. Lupsons 'indefinite suspension' is totally justified. He does not deserve to play our great game.
Your posts are very tough, very strong words. Let me ask you this, would you say any of the above and in previous posts to Luppo or Power??? i doubt it mate so when you actually have the guts to ring both these guys up or say what you think to there face then you are allowed to run your mouth around like your doing.
Mate Luppo has been a senior AFL footballer and Power a VFL B&F footballer so how you can lay claim they are what they are is very silly.
My advice would be to to put up or shut up and im tipping you wont be saying to much to either Luppo or Sergi.
Typcial Ballarat view on things.
cheers
rampantswan
20th October 2003, 09:44
There is no doubt that lupson and power have loads of skill and footy nouse. They can play football, no question, but they are dirty thugs and a blight on the game.
goaldrush
23rd October 2003, 08:45
Easy to say that over the internet!Lupson has been nothing but a good influence on the young blokes at sunbury.The under 18s at sunbury have played in the last 11 grand finals FFS!Thats why sunburys a force because they blood there kids and dont head hunt players from other clubs. But in saying that, Lupson deserved what he got.
Dog Town, Did you actually come and watch the Ballarat Grand Final?
goaldrush
23rd October 2003, 08:48
Your posts are very tough, very strong words. Let me ask you this, would you say any of the above and in previous posts to Luppo or Power??? i doubt it mate so when you actually have the guts to ring both these guys up or say what you think to there face then you are allowed to run your mouth around like your doing.
Mate Luppo has been a senior AFL footballer and Power a VFL B&F footballer so how you can lay claim they are what they are is very silly.
My advice would be to to put up or shut up and im tipping you wont be saying to much to either Luppo or Sergi.
Typcial Ballarat view on things.
cheers Tige,
It might be a great idea for you to have a chat to your mates considering you seem to be around them a bit. If I saw them both I would say to them to play the ball and not the man like they did.
You will have to do something.
Clackers69
23rd October 2003, 08:51
I heard on the grapevine that Sunbury's appeal has been successful and both the suspension and fine have been revoked. Has anybody else heard this? Can this be verified somehow?