View Full Version : First Test: Australia vs Zimbabwe at the WACA
Richmondfan#1
8 Oct 2003, 16:32
The favourite's are undoubtedly Australia going in with a stronger team of late, with much more experience. Although we are without Glenn McGrath, Zimbabwe don't have their strongest side playing either.
I wouldn't completely underestimate Zimbabwe, they can still put on an impressive run chase, although it would seem the game lies with Australia.
Is anyone going to day one tomorrow? If so, where are you seated?
Cupido13
8 Oct 2003, 18:08
Originally posted by Richmondfan#1
The favourite's are undoubtedly Australia going in with a stronger team of late, with much more experience. Although we are without Glenn McGrath, Zimbabwe don't have their strongest side playing either.
I wouldn't completely underestimate Zimbabwe, they can still put on an impressive run chase, although it would seem the game lies with Australia.
Is anyone going to day one tomorrow? If so, where are you seated?
Australia have won more tests in the last 3 years than Zimbabwe have won in their history. I WOULD completely underestimate Zimbabwe because they are hopeless and will get flogged here.
matty_saints
8 Oct 2003, 19:20
yeah, without both the flower brothers Zimbabwe are pretty poor !! i don't reckon i'd pick em tp win a chook raffle at the moment. There very, very average.
EagleBlue
8 Oct 2003, 20:25
Lets hope to god Australia bat first. At least then we MAY go into a 4th day
wagstaff
8 Oct 2003, 20:27
Originally posted by matty_saints
yeah, without both the flower brothers Zimbabwe are pretty poor !! i don't reckon i'd pick em tp win a chook raffle at the moment. There very, very average.
Yep, that's the way I thought about Zimbabwe when I saw their squad. Their performances in the lead-up matches have been a bit better then I expected which suggests that they've at least got their minds on the job.
Having said that, if they can avoid an innings defeat in either of their Tests they'll have done well.
stmookeyj
8 Oct 2003, 21:00
I can only recognise 4 of the Zimbabwean names, so I won't be surprised if it is a pounding.
Richmondfan#1
8 Oct 2003, 21:18
Originally posted by Cupido13
I WOULD completely underestimate Zimbabwe
I won't underestimate any cricket side, as in sport anything can happen (yeah, yeah cliche). Except maybe Bangladesh ;).
I'll be on the grass at the western end.
Is it a 10:30 or 11:00 start this year?
scottywiper
9 Oct 2003, 00:06
Set the alarm - try a 10am start...not kidding...
scottywiper
9 Oct 2003, 00:07
Set the alarm...try a 10am start...not kidding...
Wicked Lester
9 Oct 2003, 10:59
If Australia win the toss I don't think there is any doubt we'll bat first.
Tugga wants a century at Perth.
Fall Out Boy
9 Oct 2003, 11:54
Streak won the toss and elected to bowl.
Lovely.
Langer is rusty Hayden will score a ton in the first innings.
Cupido13
9 Oct 2003, 12:45
Well boys, lucky we didn't underestimate them. Their bowling attack (which is their strength) is looking world class at the moment with Alfie and Haydos cruising along at 7 an over. What a ridiculous statement, do not underestimate them. They are hopeless, anyone think it will go into a 5th day? I don't think so, maybe not even a 4th.
ViperV10
9 Oct 2003, 13:10
4 recognisable names in the Zimbo team.....they are probably stuffed. They were probably stuffed before the match though anyway, but this just cements it.
Current Score at 1:03pm melbourne time
1/54 after 13 overs
Ponting 4*
Hayden 23*
Langer out for 26 (bowled by Ervine)
bluechampion
9 Oct 2003, 13:45
It's riveting stuff, isn't it...:o
2/182 Australia currently.
Why Streak would actually send the Aussies in is beyond me. Ervine looks good (has both wickets so far).
Hayden and Martyn are doing as they please now.
3/203 at Tea.
Haydos a very slow 76
Tugga 4
Pretty soft dismissal from Marto just before tea.
Originally posted by pazza
Why Streak would actually send the Aussies in is beyond me.
Because he doesn't want to get bowled out for 80 on the first day of the series. Not that 3/350 is much better, but it's not quite as confidence shattering as getting rolled before lunch.
Originally posted by acg_204*
3/203 at Tea.
Haydos a very slow 76
Tugga 4
Pretty soft dismissal from Marto just before tea.
167* (and counting) for Hayden from 250 balls is cruising along. He started smacking them about in the last session moving from 100 to 150 in just 32 balls.
I reckon I could make runs against the Zimbos
Hayden;s put the slow start behind him. He is going off!
179 no couple of overs before stumps.
No one in the Zim team averages over 27 with the bat. Tugga's got one innings to get his ton. 49* - he's almost halfway there
Originally posted by Lidge
I reckon I could make runs against the Zimbos
The thing is Lidge is you lived there chances are you would be!
They don't have great depth in their cricket at all.
Sorry the above comment doesn't really make sense.
I misread you are saying "I could make runs for the Zimbos".
As you were.....
Fall Out Boy
9 Oct 2003, 19:20
3/372 at stumps.
Hayden 183* S Waugh 61*
Stumps score Day 1:
Aust 1st Inn.
3/372 (90 overs)
Hayden 183*
Waugh 61*
Ervine 2/56
Richmondfan#1
9 Oct 2003, 19:23
I was sitting on level 2 in the Prindiville Stand. Got there at 9.40, left at about 3. I was hoping Australia would be out in the field for some entertainment, but it wasn't too bad I suppose.
Bloody hell the WACA officials are tight though! Me and my brother had several altercations with them, the power just gets to their head. :mad:
Met Dennis Lillee though (this was BEFORE we told to move away from the non-standing area) and seems a great bloke, happy to give out signatures and chat quickly.
cupido, all I'm saying is I never underestimate anyone in sport, I'm not bloody saying they'll win. And today, Australia kicked Zimbabwe's arse.
EagleBlue
9 Oct 2003, 19:41
Watch it virtually all day, waiting for someone to tear the attack apart, instead 90% of shots, straight to the fielder, Ch9 goes to news at 6:10 after Hayden gets his century, Australia then proceed to hit about 120 runs in the last hour of play. NOT HAPPY :mad: :mad: With Lehmann and Gilchrist still to come, you would be hoping NOT to take another wicket :D
Would I be right in saying that Hayden himself scored over 100 in the last session ????
Langer's_Babe
9 Oct 2003, 20:20
well done haydos you played great i hope justin langer will play better in the 2nd innings
Word is Haydos was in slight doubt for the match with a back injury, hence his slow start to his innings. Hopefully he'll go on with it, make his double ton, then get out so Gilly has his chance to smash a few quick ones. Knowing him he'll either be bowled for single figures or make 50 odd in quick time.
Originally posted by Rob
Because he doesn't want to get bowled out for 80 on the first day of the series. Not that 3/350 is much better, but it's not quite as confidence shattering as getting rolled before lunch.
Yeah but it's this defeatist attitude the same as Hussain showed at Brisbane by putting them in on a lovely pitch that betrays how these teams lack any belief at even giving the Aussies a game.
If the conditions are right for batting then you have to bat whoever the opposition.
I mean really you should bat first most times anyway, what's that old saying when you win the toss you think about it & then bat & if you decide to field then you think again & bat.
I know Steve Waugh has turned this on it's it head bit but with the armoury he's got at his fingertips he could probably reverse the batting order & still win.
eagleskickass
10 Oct 2003, 01:58
Originally posted by DIPPER
I know Steve Waugh has turned this on it's it head bit but with the armoury he's got at his fingertips he could probably reverse the batting order & still win.
isnt it great:)
Originally posted by eagleskickass
isnt it great:)
Yeah I'm absolutely thrilled that all you Aussies have such a strong cricket team, to go with all the other world class sportsmen that you've got, envy is the last thought on my mind.
Cupido13
10 Oct 2003, 10:24
Who was the fool that said do not underestimate the Zimbo's. They are worse than Bangladesh, they only reason they gained any sort of respectability in cricket was Andy Flower (Grant is not even that flash) and he is gone never too return.
Fall Out Boy
10 Oct 2003, 10:27
Originally posted by Cupido13
They are worse than Bangladesh
And you had the temerity to label someone else a fool.
The irony is delicious.
Fall Out Boy
10 Oct 2003, 10:27
Will be interesting to see if Hayden can go on.
In the past, when he's neared 200, he's lost concentration and given his wicket away cheaply.
NICK THE PIE MAN
10 Oct 2003, 10:51
Go on with it Tugga!
GOALden Hawk
10 Oct 2003, 11:06
At least C9 stuck with the cricket when Hayden was on 96. Very disappointing we missed the best hour of the day though. No excuse on the weekend I hope.
The disappointing thing forZimbabwe was Streak bowling pies all day.
I hope we bat all day and get 700 at least.
bluechampion
10 Oct 2003, 11:21
Hayden did make a century in a session. And oyu can see the glint in Steve Waugh's eye. This is his best chance to make that elusive perth Century ever.
Declare on a score of 600ish?
Still doesn't make for scintillating cricket, though.
Wicked Lester
10 Oct 2003, 11:28
I'd rather watch banana's ripen.
It is a 'test' in name only.
Cupido13
10 Oct 2003, 11:30
Originally posted by phatandphreaky
And you had the temerity to label someone else a fool.
The irony is delicious.
Not really sure what that means. But, trust me, they are worse than Bangladesh and that will be proven at the end of the series when they lose both tests by an innnings, something that didn't happen to the Bangi's in either Test.
Cupido13
10 Oct 2003, 11:32
Originally posted by bluechampion
Hayden did make a century in a session. And oyu can see the glint in Steve Waugh's eye. This is his best chance to make that elusive perth Century ever.
Declare on a score of 600ish?
Still doesn't make for scintillating cricket, though.
It will depend of Matt Hayden, if he is still in and going at a good clip Waugh will give him every chance to get to 400. They will not need 2 days to bowl out the Zimbo's twice, let alone 3.
Once Hayden goes out however, his mindset may change and we will just be keen to get in the field and wrap things up I would reckon.
My North
10 Oct 2003, 12:31
Aust are 3/400. Hayden is on 194. I think Brian Lara 375 is in danger here. Will watch with interest
My North
10 Oct 2003, 12:32
make Hayden 198 with another 4.
My North
10 Oct 2003, 12:36
there it is Hayden 200. Lets see if he can beat his highest score of 203 vs India. Like I said before i think Brian Lara 375 record score will be broken by Hayden today
lions_threepeat
10 Oct 2003, 13:02
Go Haydos!
Go Aussies
Fall Out Boy
10 Oct 2003, 13:34
Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
I hope we bat all day and get 700 at least.
The way Hayden is batting, we'd make 800 by days end.
Can't see us batting past tea though, Steve Waugh isn't the type of skipper to allow Hayden the opportunity to break records.
Frustrating.
Fall Out Boy
10 Oct 2003, 13:36
Originally posted by My North
Aust are 3/400. Hayden is on 194. I think Brian Lara 375 is in danger here. Will watch with interest
Already up to 261, another 100 in a session on the cards.
lions_threepeat
10 Oct 2003, 13:41
That's great to hear.
bluechampion
10 Oct 2003, 13:41
No fairytale century for Steven Waugh though.
i reckon Hayden should give it away. Who wants a record-breaking score against test cricketing minnows? Surely he'd want it against a side that can play decent test-standard cricket.
St-KriS
10 Oct 2003, 13:47
Originally posted by bluechampion
No fairytale century for Steven Waugh though.
i reckon Hayden should give it away. Who wants a record-breaking score against test cricketing minnows? Surely he'd want it against a side that can play decent test-standard cricket.
You reckon Hayden's gunna turn down the chance of getting a 300 no matter who he's playing? Do you think any batsmen would? I dont think so...
Minkus_Swan
10 Oct 2003, 13:55
come on steve, don't be a bum... let Hayden pass Bradman at least.
GOALden Hawk
10 Oct 2003, 14:26
At this current rate he could quite possibly pass Lara before tea!
Incredible innings, 271* against anyone is good going. To score 200 in 2 sessions is simply amazing stuff.
If he gets past 320 I might have to find a TV to see history.
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2003, 14:47
Current score anyone? Not near a radio and it's not on the tele here yet.
Cheers all.:D
Ray Nolan
10 Oct 2003, 15:02
5/563
Hayden 296*
Ray Nolan
10 Oct 2003, 15:11
5/573
Hayden 300*
GOALden Hawk
10 Oct 2003, 15:12
Sensational performance. Possible records almost every run from here on in.
mattyc2422
10 Oct 2003, 15:16
It's all too easy for Matty Hayden.
Terrific athlete. Unbelievable innings.
Go for broke, Haydos.
3lions3
10 Oct 2003, 15:21
308* from 368 balls. 33 4's, 9 6's. 4th highest all time by an Aussie.
Steve76
10 Oct 2003, 15:24
This is up there with scoring 5 tries in rugby wc match vs Georgia -
On baggygreen.com.au they keep mentioning other highest innings he is passing......Bradman vs England, Cowper vs Aust....even Tubby's 333 was done the hard way vs the Pakis in Pakistan.... vs Zim at the WACA doesn;t stack up...
But I guess you take what you can get.
Minkus_Swan
10 Oct 2003, 15:31
The way that Australia plays cricket now, there probably won't be another chance of passing Bradman's/Tubs record. It's hard to imagine that it's not even tea and they have brought up the 600 mark.
Cupido13
10 Oct 2003, 15:32
Originally posted by St-KriS
You reckon Hayden's gunna turn down the chance of getting a 300 no matter who he's playing? Do you think any batsmen would? I dont think so...
Lara made his record against an England side whose best bowler was Chris Lewis. There type of Tests are only good for one thing and that is making/breaking records.
ImperialPurple
10 Oct 2003, 15:33
what's he up to now?
3lions3
10 Oct 2003, 15:34
bluechampion
10 Oct 2003, 15:35
Hayden - 318*
Gilchrist - 55*
And I'm stuck at work! The internet just doesn't cut it...
Cupido13
10 Oct 2003, 15:35
And who was on here the other day trying to tell me that Bangladesh were worse than these retards?? Zimbabwe are the worst side in cricket with daylight second
GOALden Hawk
10 Oct 2003, 15:36
My damn audio feed has crashed! Not happy.
Wicked Lester
10 Oct 2003, 15:36
I'm really torn on this.
I understand the 'you take it when you get it' argument BUT let's face it if he passes the record today there will always be a degree of negativity - rightly or wrongly - about the achievement.
Whatever his final score today people will always qualify the innings by noting the opposition.
I just wonder whether 'the record' under these circumstances will prove to be something he almost regrets.
I know watching it ATM I feel almost no sense of excitement whatsoever. It barely deserves first class status let alone being classed as a test.
Cupido13
10 Oct 2003, 15:41
Originally posted by Wicked Lester
I'm really torn on this.
I understand the 'you take it when you get it' argument BUT let's face it if he passes the record today there will always be a degree of negativity - rightly or wrongly - about the achievement.
Whatever his final score today people will always qualify the innings by noting the opposition.
I just wonder whether 'the record' under these circumstances will prove to be something he almost regrets.
I know watching it ATM I feel almost no sense of excitement whatsoever. It barely deserves first class status let alone being classed as a test.
I just posted this on another thread, but, just for your reading pleasure:
What a load of garbage, most records are made against poor sides. I understand that Taylor made his runs in Pakistan, but, look at the bowling attack, they were pretty poor. Also, look at Lara's 375, it was made against a terrible England attack led by Dominic Cork and Chris Lewis. Those names don't instantly spring to mind when thinking of the world's greatest ever bowlers.
Minkus_Swan
10 Oct 2003, 15:42
Originally posted by Wicked Lester
I felt the same way when Langer got 250 last year against the poms, and england are half decent. Australian cricket is so far ahead of the rest of the world, it wouldn't matter whether it's india or zimbabwe.
Ray Nolan
10 Oct 2003, 16:03
5/665
Hayden 334*
Ray Nolan
10 Oct 2003, 16:04
5/667
Hayden 335*
Australian Record
Hayden got the Aussie record.
Ray Nolan
10 Oct 2003, 16:06
Hayden just dropped at deep long on.
mattyc2422
10 Oct 2003, 16:06
Zimbabwe fielder dropped a gift. Dud.
mattyc2422
10 Oct 2003, 16:08
Haydos is beserk. Pulling, hooking, left hand, right hand, eyes closed. He's unstoppable.
Gilly's almost got to 100 off about 70 balls, has got his average back above 60 and by all indicia, is outbatting the bloke who just broke Don Bradman's record.
Just another day at the office really...watching Australia play cricket these last few years has been like playing a video game with all the cheats on.
mellowyellow
10 Oct 2003, 16:09
Will Waugh allow hayden him to reach Lara's record? ..He better
Ray Nolan
10 Oct 2003, 16:11
5/684
Hayden 350*
Originally posted by mellowyellow
Will Waugh allow hayden him to reach Lara's record? ..He better
If he doesn't, he should be dropped from the team!
GOALden Hawk
10 Oct 2003, 16:13
Keep us updated - Baggygreen.com is not working! :mad:
I was hoping he'd hang on until tea before breaking the world record, looks like I will miss out.
mattyc2422
10 Oct 2003, 16:15
I'm certain Tugga will let Hayden go to the record. Waugh is one for history - he'd much rather an Aussie with the record rather than Lara.
Black JuJu
10 Oct 2003, 16:15
Keep us updated - Baggygreen.com is not working! :mad:
I was hoping he'd hang on until tea before breaking the world record, looks like I will miss out.
Try there mate -
http://abc.net.au/cricket/scores/
:)
I wonder whether someone has told Lara?
I wonder if he's watching it somewhere, or listening?
What time is it in the West Indies?
Originally posted by Black JuJu
Try there mate -
This one is better
http://www.howzat.net.au/
And go to the Matchlet. It's got graphics and stuff.
GOALden Hawk
10 Oct 2003, 16:20
Originally posted by Black JuJu
Try there mate -
Yeah, I've got that, but I want the live audio feed! Even Richie must be getting a little excited by now.
I hope they have some tissues for Bill.
Black JuJu
10 Oct 2003, 16:22
Even Richie must be getting a little excited by now.
Naaaahh surely not. ;)
Ray Nolan
10 Oct 2003, 16:24
5/705
Hayden 364*
Gilchrist 99*
Ray Nolan
10 Oct 2003, 16:25
5/706
Hayden 364*
Gilchrist 100*
mattyc2422
10 Oct 2003, 16:26
Gilly joins the party. 100.
Originally posted by mattyc2422
Gilly joins the party. 100.
Only 275 to go and he can pass Lara too!
GOALden Hawk
10 Oct 2003, 16:28
What is the highest score by Australia in a test? Highest 6th wicket partnership?
I hope we bat at least an hour after tea, really grind them into the dirt.
What is the highest score by Australia in a test? Highest 6th wicket partnership?
I hope we bat at least an hour after tea, really grind them into the dirt.
Honestly though, why wouldn't you just bat out the second day, or at least until Hayden gets out. If I were captain I'd give him the chance to go until stumps.
It's not like we're going to lose, we don't have to bat again. It gives us 3 days to bowl out Zimbabwe twice.
C'mon Waugh, give us something to watch!
GOALden Hawk
10 Oct 2003, 16:36
Waugh will be keen to have a crack at them tonight, imagine how demoralised their openers would be.
At least wait until 5-6 overs left though.
mellowyellow
10 Oct 2003, 16:37
Waugh will rain on this parade and declare at tea..
Ray Nolan
10 Oct 2003, 16:40
5/731
Hayden 376*
World Record
mellowyellow
10 Oct 2003, 16:42
Congatulations Mattty on a superb world class innnings. :)
Originally posted by mellowyellow
Waugh will rain on this parade and declare at tea..
C'mon Steve! Give us a go! He could get another 100 in the last session!
What a legned Matt Hayden is!!
Well done Haydos. Vs Zim or not 376* is an awesome feat.
mattyc2422
10 Oct 2003, 16:44
Phenomenal.
Well done Matthew Hayden.
GOALden Hawk
10 Oct 2003, 16:45
I can't believe I was stuck at work when this happened!
Did the crowd go nuts?
Surely he has to at least let him get to 400.
Who was the bloke who dropped him? I hope Hayden gives him a cut of the money he makes from the memrobilia Channel Nine will be flogging off by the time the players return from tea.