View Full Version : Barb from The Footy Show

35eye
16 Mar 2001, 17:51
My god this woman on The Footy Show annoys the crap out of me.

If every club offerred their token spastic supporter to appear on the show & carry on the way she does, what fantastic TV it would make. lol!

JUBJUB
16 Mar 2001, 17:55
35eye,I agree.

I'm sick of this bloody woman.She must be the 'fill-in' if a guest doesn't turn up.

Don't you just wish Dirk Wellham had of clobbered her harder all those years ago :rolleyes:

------------------
"Hey ,just because I don't care doesn't mean I don't understand"

Stealth bomber
16 Mar 2001, 18:40
I thought I'd heard that that was Kouta's mother? Am I wrong on this?

ant
16 Mar 2001, 18:41
Are Barb and Sheeds related?? Bloody good likeness I reckon. :)

lioness
16 Mar 2001, 18:57
I think she was funny for about the first minute, then it was more than a little old. :rolleyes: :rolleyes: :rolleyes:

------------------
*the one and only lioness*

Catman
16 Mar 2001, 19:02
I'd like to know how she gets on the show so regularly. There is a huge waiting list for tickets onto the show (over a year, i think) yet she gets on at least 3 times a year. What's the deal with that?

Anyway she's an embarassment, I'm glad she's not a Cats fan.

Same Old's
16 Mar 2001, 19:32
Something funny seems to be going on between Carlton and Collingwood.

First, their presidents are bum chums, then Barb is in there defending Collingwood when Trevor Marmalade made a remark to her.

mantis
16 Mar 2001, 21:43
I actually feel sorry for blues supporters, how would you like to have that person representing your club. :rolleyes:
What about street talk tonight, lol, easty where are you to defend your state. :D
I also I think one of our regular port posters was interviewed in the car with his family. :D
I loved the show tonight, on top of all that, they had Sheeds & the great man himself Simon (you're a legend) Madden.

------------------
RED & BLACK, THE COLOURS OF FENG SHUI

[This message has been edited by mantis (edited 16 March 2001).]

JUBJUB
17 Mar 2001, 03:04
Originally posted by mantis:
I actually feel sorry for blues supporters, how would you like to have that person representing your club. :rolleyes:

MANTIS
She's nothing compared to John Elliott representing Carlton.

------------------

JUBJUB
17 Mar 2001, 03:11
Originally posted by Catman:
I'd like to know how she gets on the show so regularly. There is a huge waiting list for tickets onto the show (over a year, i think) yet she gets on at least 3 times a year. What's the deal with that?.

CATMAN
Eddie gets his mates on each week and has them sitting at the tables.Why else do you think a HOLDEN V8 Supercar team is often sitting there ? because Holden are sponsors.
Last year the guy from WIZARD just happened to be sitting there .Another of Eddie's mates.
Jeff Fenech sometimes pops up.Another of Eddies mates.

Last night I reckon Eddie was pissed off when he thought Bruno Grollo had been stuck up the backrow of the studio.As it turned out it wasn't even him. :rolleyes:

------------------

Magpie-Fletch
17 Mar 2001, 06:38
Originally posted by 35eye:

If every club offerred their token spastic supporter to appear on the show & carry on the way she does, what fantastic TV it would make. lol!

Hey how would you like it if Bee spoke about your mother like that?

haha

------------------
"We shall fight on the beaches. We shall fight on the landing grounds. We shall fight in the fields, and in the streets, we shall fight in the hills. We shall never surrender!" -Winston Churchill

Arch
17 Mar 2001, 06:39
whats worse is that Barb didnt even have the decency to shave before coming on the show !!

Bee
17 Mar 2001, 06:45
Pardon me Fletch, but are you implying that Barb is my mother?

------------------
The BLUES. The Best in the Business.

Magpie-Fletch
17 Mar 2001, 07:03
Originally posted by Bee:
Pardon me Fletch, but are you implying that Barb is my mother?

It would certainly appear that way.

------------------
"We shall fight on the beaches. We shall fight on the landing grounds. We shall fight in the fields, and in the streets, we shall fight in the hills. We shall never surrender!" -Winston Churchill

Bee
17 Mar 2001, 07:10
No way Fletch Barb is much better looking than my mother or me. :p

Magpie-Fletch
17 Mar 2001, 07:12
No way Fletch Barb is much better looking than my mother or me. :p

Now there is a scary thought.

------------------

Bee
17 Mar 2001, 07:22
Actually Fletch, I shouldn't make jokes like that about my mum. She is a very attractive lady. Really.

mantis
17 Mar 2001, 07:35
Bee
When Barb said she was thinking of becoming a Pies supporter, I thought how appropriate that was. :D

------------------

Bee
17 Mar 2001, 07:37
Aww don't pick on Barb, she's loyal and genuine. The Footy Show use her. They invite her in there just to get laughs

Blues_Girl
17 Mar 2001, 08:16

This woman is even worse in real life, and she has her "bunch" of Carlton "groupies" with her.

I've only ever been to Optus Oval once and my encounter with Barb scared me enough not to go back!

She was rude and gave every Carlton supporter a bad name.

Maybe she's giving Sam some good lovin' that's why she keeps coming back week after week.

JUBJUB
17 Mar 2001, 08:26
Blues Girl
Spot on :).Barb is a shocker.She abuses everyone at the footy [she reminds me of someone on this site :D].
She has a posse of other silly old codgers with her.

------------------

Mr Ripper
17 Mar 2001, 09:12
Originally posted by JUBJUB:
Barb is a shocker.She abuses everyone at the footy [she reminds me of someone on this site :D].
She has a posse of other silly old codgers with her.

Sounds like the "Hell's Grannies" of Monty Python fame! :D

------------------
Olmy knows best

Wally
17 Mar 2001, 09:34
Ugly...damn ugly.

where's wally?

dees01
17 Mar 2001, 11:30
I got a little sick of Barb, in particular when she defended Collingwood and had a go at North. She should stick to the Blues. And if you thought the world was a wierd place, just go to Port Adelaide. How embarrasing.

Spidergirl~RiCkChiCk
17 Mar 2001, 11:43
see her nearly crying hahahahaha!
good thats wot she gets for kissing Spider grrrh how dare she!

sPiDeR eVeRiTt and RiCkY oLaReNsHaW
~kewlest players round!!!

GoEagles
17 Mar 2001, 11:53
I think BARB has turned into the Footy Shows 'latest fad' replacing Big Mouth Billy Bass from last year.

Also I liked it how Sam got a letter from the Burswood in Sams Mailbag!

Asgardian
17 Mar 2001, 12:47
When "Barb" was on, I left the room, probably missed a third of the show avoiding that horrible old woman.

Barb must be the wicked witch of the east, sister of that other witch in the west

------------------
Chris

(Yes Virginia, there is a Santa Claus)

WA
17 Mar 2001, 14:43
Aww don't pick on Barb, she's loyal and genuine. The Footy Show use her. They invite her in there just to get laughs

I totally agree.
I think they took it too far with her last night, she was obviously upset towards the end.

35eye
17 Mar 2001, 15:12
Originally posted by GoEagles:
I think BARB has turned into the Footy Shows 'latest fad' replacing Big Mouth Billy Bass from last year.

Lets hope that Barb meets a similar demise as the singing fish did. But I guess even he didn't lay down without a fight.

GoEagles
17 Mar 2001, 19:26
LOL 35eye - I couldn't believe it's tail still kept moving after Sam smashed it to pieces!

WA - I went to bed after Street Talk, was Barn mentioned after that? You mentioned she looked quite upset over something.

lioness
17 Mar 2001, 20:24
Originally posted by Arch:
whats worse is that Barb didnt even have the decency to shave before coming on the show !!

:eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek: :eek:

------------------
*the one and only lioness*

WA
17 Mar 2001, 21:06
Originally posted by GoEagles:
LOL 35eye - I couldn't believe it's tail still kept moving after Sam smashed it to pieces!

WA - I went to bed after Street Talk, was Barn mentioned after that? You mentioned she looked quite upset over something.

I only meant when they were saying she'd taken her teeth out & that. I think this was before Street Talk. I just think she looked a little upset, like it wasn't a joke anymore. I could be wrong.

GoEagles
17 Mar 2001, 21:21
Nope your right on there WA! She did look upset when either Sam or Trev made that comment, was that just before she rushed up onto the stage and attacked Sam Newman?

WA
17 Mar 2001, 21:41
I think she may have attacked Sam prior to the teeth comments. I feel sort of embarrassed for her, I can't work out if she is for real, or if it is just a complete setup by the Footy Show.

I feel the same for her as I used to watching some of the contestants on 'Red Faces' - never quite understood if some of them actually thought they were good or if they were taking the mickey out of themselves.

35eye
18 Mar 2001, 13:43
I expect that precious little spontaneity sneaks through on The Footy Show.

They run by a pretty strict script. I'm sure talking to Barb was in the running sheet. I'd bet that the wrestle with Newman was rehersed.

The most annoying part is when something a bit "bawdy" occurs, such as the Wayne Jackson lookalike being ushered through the brothel. Eddie without fail will follow up with a comment, dis-engage himself from the gag & act like he didn't know it was going to happen. Yeah right! Like that control freak doesn't have absolute creative control over the final product.

WA
18 Mar 2001, 14:22
Spot on about Eddie 35Eye. I'm sure nothing happens on the show that he isn't fully aware of and has pre-approved!
lol @ the control freak part. Eddie & Monica from Friends would make a great couple ;)

mantis
18 Mar 2001, 15:04
35 eye
I have been in the audience quite a few times, it is live, sure they have scripts but if someone in the audience says or does something that isn't in the script, they can do nothing about it apart from ad libbing & coming up with a response. When I was in the adience in WA the first year they brought the show to perth, alan jakovich was still playing, when they announced the team & jako was in it I yelled out go Jako, one of the panel quickly replied, one of his girlfriends was in the audience. Same thing happens in Melb.

------------------

Same Old's
18 Mar 2001, 18:47
The most annoying part is when something a bit "bawdy" occurs, such as the Wayne Jackson lookalike being ushered through the brothel. Eddie without fail will follow up with a comment, dis-engage himself from the gag & act like he didn't know it was going to happen. Yeah right! Like that control freak doesn't have absolute creative control over the final product.

I wonder if "The Footy Show" will be taking shots(although they are tongue-in-cheak) at Wayne Jackson and the AFL next season when the get the television rights?

"The Game" rarely do it on channel 7.