View Full Version : Jordan 'Moose' Lisle
Grimreepah
16 Oct 2011, 02:00
2011 Trade Week (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/124955/default.aspx)
Lions gain Hawthorn's Jordan Lisle in exchange for the Club's priority draft selection (Pick No.29 overall)
http://img163.imageshack.us/img163/9193/jordanlisle.jpg
twitter (http://twitter.com/#!/MooseyLisle)
Contract status: 2012 -> 2014 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=22615530&postcount=3)
Summary:
* debut [Hawthorn] (#9 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=22615667&postcount=9))
* fractured cheekbone [Hawthorn] (#11 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=22615683&postcount=11))
* emergency list [Hawthorn] (#14 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=22615704&postcount=14))
* Jordan's father, Mark Lisle (#40 (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showpost.php?p=22763996&postcount=40))
Merrett-Murray medal results:
2012:
Tribunal record:
none
Grimreepah
16 Oct 2011, 02:11
Trade winds (http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/default.aspx?newsid=122386)
By Luke Holmesby
7:00 AM Mon 05 Sep, 2011
Jordan Lisle has played just four games and has been named an emergency for most of the other matches this year and could be tempted by greener pastures.
http://img267.imageshack.us/img267/8323/31994832.jpg
What your club needs in trade week (http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/afl/what-your-club-needs-in-trade-week/story-e6frepf6-1226162846261)
by: Jon Anderson
October 10, 2011 10:26AM
Jordan Lisle is a 196cm player of interest. Lisle, 21, has been starved of opportunity at the Hawks and could create interest this week.
Grimreepah
16 Oct 2011, 02:28
Lisle on Lions' radar (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/125138/default.aspx)
By Jason Phelan
1:59 PM Sat 15 Oct, 2011
THE BRISBANE Lions have shown interest in dealing for Hawthorn key position prospect Jordan Lisle, according to his manager Liam Pickering.
AFL.com.au's Trade Week Radio reported on Saturday that Pickering had confirmed the approach, but he did not shed any light on the likelihood of a deal being done before Monday's 2pm deadline.
http://img10.imageshack.us/img10/1686/lislea.jpg
Hawk Jordan Lisle could fill Mitch Clark gap for Brisbane (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/hawk-jordan-lisle-could-fill-mitch-clark-gap-for-brisbane/story-fn69a32t-1226167416434)
by: AAP
October 15, 2011 5:35PM
Brisbane have confirmed 21-year-old, 196cm Hawthorn key position player Jordan Lisle is also on their radar.Lisle has struggled for a regular AFL berth with the Hawks.
In his third season on their list, Lisle made his AFL debut in round 11 this season, but played just five senior games and was not part of the club's finals campaign.
Lisle's prospects of cementing a spot with Hawthorn would have dimmed further when the Hawks recruited another young forward, Adelaide's Jack Gunston, earlier in trade week.
http://img266.imageshack.us/img266/8596/lisleb.jpg
Hawthorn's Jordan Lisle set for Brisbane Lions (http://www.theaustralian.com.au/hawthorns-jordan-lisle-set-for-brisbane-lions/story-fn69a32t-1226167481133)
by: Glenn McFarlane
October 16, 2011 12:00AM
"He (Lisle) is a player who can play key forward or key back, and we need players who are capable of doing that," Kerr said. "He is one that we have identified as having that capacity.
"He is a 21-year-old and has looked promising in some of the games he has played at AFL level this year. We are interested in him and hopefully we can arrange it."
http://img257.imageshack.us/img257/2900/lislec.jpg
Surprise as Clark takes up Demon offer (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/melbourne-demons/surprise-as-clark-takes-up-demon-offer-20111015-1lqxx.html)
Emma Quayle
October 15, 2011 - 11:14PM
The Lions have agreed to a three-year deal with Hawthorn forward Jordan Lisle.
The Lisle deal is expected to go through tomorrow, with the Hawks and Lions to settle on which draft pick it will involve. Brisbane has picks 29, 30 and 34.
Discussion thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=882578)
Grimreepah
16 Oct 2011, 02:40
Wikipedia (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Jordan_Lisle)
Jordan Lisle (born 12 July 1990) is an Australian rules footballer with the Hawthorn Football Club in the Australian Football League (AFL). A strong-marking forward who has ability to play back. Lisle was a competitive and courageous player who has solid skill level. A Vic Metro under-18 representative in 2008, culminating in selection in the All-Australian under-18 team. He made his debut for the Hawks in Round 11 of the 2011 AFL season against Fremantle. Lisle was a late inclusion after star forward Lance Franklin withdrew because of a calf injury. Jordan is the son of former North Melbourne ruckman Mark Lisle.
http://img692.imageshack.us/img692/7808/35752613.jpg
Statistics:
rleague (http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/J/Jordan_Lisle.html)
footywire (http://www.footywire.com/afl/footy/pp-hawthorn-hawks--jordan-lisle)
final siren (http://finalsiren.com/PlayerStats.asp?PlayerID=2146&SeasonID=2011&Sort=AverageDisposals%20Desc)
Grimreepah
16 Oct 2011, 02:49
Draft countdown: Jordan Lisle (http://www.afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=69345)
By Chelsea Roffey
8:00 AM Tue 11 Nov, 2008
What are your strengths?
I’ve probably taken a few good marks here and there. I’ve played forward and back – versatility’s probably been my strength this carnival; being able to play either end of the ground and do a job either forward or back.
Weaknesses?
Probably more athletic stuff. My fitness has been good, but my speed and agility is probably something I need to work on to be the best I can be.
Which AFL team do you support?
Kangaroos.
Which AFL player do you feel you most resemble?
Obviously the best tall players, probably (Nick) Riewoldt, just because of his run, and (Jonathan) Brown [for his] big contested marking, just those sorts of guys. Matty Pavlich, along with Matthew Richardson. They’re probably the four I admire the most.
http://img543.imageshack.us/img543/1686/lislea.jpg
afldraftinfo (http://afldraftinfo.blogspot.com/2009/01/jordan-lisle-oakleigh-chargersvic-metro.html)
Strengths
> Strongly built and uses his body well in contest to work around his opponents – good bodywork
> Hits the footy hard
> Strong aerially – clean, strong pair of hands and a decent spoiler when he’s in position – good pack grab
> Good vision and handballing in traffic
Weaknesses
> Poor recovery
> Has very little athleticism – pace is so-so, poor endurance and very poor agility – opponents slip away laterally from him very easily and beat him to the footy a lot on the lead – very straight lined – can’t create as much as he should be – his skinfolds turned up very poor so it would suggest there’s some scope to improve
> Lacks mobility
Grimreepah
16 Oct 2011, 03:00
Under 18 footage (http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=4pzELv1ldfA)
4pzELv1ldfA
Draft camp results (http://www.woof.net.au/forum/archive/index.php/t-3697.html)
WEIGHT – heaviest players at the draft camp
1 – Matthew Martin (West Adelaide, SA – tall defender) – 99.35kg
2 – Shaun McKernan (Calder Cannons, VIC – ruckman) – 94.30kg
3 – Nick Naitanui (Swan Districts, WA – ruckman) – 93.90kg
4 – Jordan Lisle (Oakleigh Chargers, VIC – tall forward) – 92.75kg
5 – Micheal Hurley (Northern Knights, VIC – tall defender) – 91.80kg
6 – Jordan Roughead (North Ballarat Rebels, VIC – ruckman) – 91.75kg
7 – Clancee Pearce (Swan Districts, WA – medium defender) – 89.75kg
8 – Tyrone Vickery (Sandringham Dragons, VIC – ruckman) – 88.80kg
Rhys Stanley (West Adelaide, SA – ruckman) – 88.80kg
10 – Jackson Trengove (Calder Cannons, VIC – tall forward) – 88.50kg
Under 18 All Australian Team (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/63694/default.aspx)
B: Nick Suban Michael Hurley Clancee Pearce
HB: Stephen Hill Jordan Lisle Rhys O’Keefe
C: Mitch Robinson Matthew DeBoer David Zaharakis
HF: Hamish Hartlett Lewis Johnston Tom Scully
F: Tyrone Vickery Jack Watts Michael Walters
Foll: Nicholas Naitanui Jack Ziebell Ranga Ediriwickrama
I/C: Daniel Rich Shaun McKernan
Kade Klemke Steele Sidebottom
Coach: David Dickson
The heat is on for Whitehorse hopefuls (http://whitehorse-leader.whereilive.com.au/sport/story/the-heat-is-on-for-whitehorse-hopefuls/)
19 Nov 08 @ 02:06pm
Elise Kinsella
Chargers manager Stephen Conole said Lisle - who was a Blackburn junior player - will likely be drafted in the first two rounds.
“He was all Australian this year and should be a reasonably high draft pick,” he said. “He’s very skilful for a tall player and has very good hands.”
But Lisle, son of former North Melbourne ruckman Mark Lisle, said if he was drafted he wouldn’t rest on his laurels.
“If I do get drafted I will go back to being a small fish in a big pond, I’ll have a lot of work in front of me,” he said.
http://img41.imageshack.us/img41/8172/jordanlisleb.jpg
James Strauss, Zac Clarke and Jordan Lisle have an anxious wait ahead.
Grimreepah
16 Oct 2011, 03:18
Pick 50 in the 2008 National Draft (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/2008_AFL_Draft)
Link (http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/tabid/4742/Default.aspx?newsid=70411)
Jason McCartney says: I saw him play at centre half-back [in the championships] and be very good in the air, very good one on one and set up a lot of play. With him and Michael Hurley down there the opposition didn't have much of a chance, but I also saw him go forward a couple of times and kick three or four goals. His dad played some games at North and he looks to have good footy smarts.
Vic Metro U18 coach David Dickson says: Jordan, as a 17-year-old, was probably carrying a lot of puppy fat, but to his credit he did an enormous amount of work over the summer and got himself into a program that saw him do a lot of running and strip away a lot of weight. I don't think he ever realised he was good enough to play at national level, but when we lost Jackson Trengove to injury we threw him down to centre half-back and I thought he was outstanding throughout the carnival.He can play centre half-back, he can play centre half-forward and while there is a little bit of a question mark over his speed, he reads the game so well that he offsets that.
http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/1782/jordanlislea.jpg
Big draft charge by Oakleigh stars (http://waverley-leader.whereilive.com.au/sport/story/big-draft-charge-by-oakleigh-stars/)
2 Dec 08 @ 12:32am
Megan Hustwaite
Lisle’s drafting is, simply, a reward for effort. His father played for North Melbourne but played just 37 games, meaning Jordan was ineligible to join the Roos under the father-son rule. Jordan was selected at centre half-back in the All-Australian team and is a strongly-built key-position player. He lives in Box Hill, home to the Hawks’ VFL affiliate.
http://img832.imageshack.us/img832/8172/jordanlisleb.jpg
The future is shining for AFL draftees James Strauss, Zac Clarke and Jordan Lisle
Grimreepah
16 Oct 2011, 03:24
Hawthorn's roster watch thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=521568)
http://img810.imageshack.us/img810/1686/lislea.jpg
2010 update (http://www.imgtalent.com.au/profiles/index.cfm?fuseaction=display_main&ProfileID=979&orgid=2077)
Noted for his great hands and ability to take contested pack marks, Jordan has worked on his fitness over the last few pre-seasons and believes this has helped him develop into the player he is thus far. Knowing that the Hawthorn line-up will be a tough gig to break into, Jordan’s level headedness will see him work hard on any weaknesses he feels he has so in the not so distant future he can be a integral part of this young and exciting lineup.
Playing in one of the league’s best sides, Jordan was unable to make his senior debut. But his consistent performances for the Box Hill Hawks have no doubt put him in good stead for the 2010 season. He looks forward to a big pre-season to put in a good position to make a senior debut next season.
Outside of football, Jordan has also experienced a successful VCE year at Carey Grammar with a ENTER high into the 90’s, which will aid him in University interests outside of his AFL career.
Grimreepah
16 Oct 2011, 03:36
Debut: Round 11 vs Fremantle (http://optuszoo.sportal.net.au/afl-display/Not-Buddy-likely/44840)
Franklin's spot in the team was taken by youngster Jordan Lisle, who endured a torrid AFL debut. Despite taking several impressive marks, Lisle misfired badly, kicking two points from a gettable range and then horribly miscuing a chance out of bounds from 30m out directly in front during the second quarter.Clarkson said that he would focus on the positives for Lisle, who promises to be an important key position player for the Hawks in the near future.
"I suppose the thing you say to him is 'at least you're getting it champ'." the coach said.
"He looked ok, he just looked terrible when he was lining up. He'll stick at it, he's a god lad and he has waited a long time for his chance. I think he has been an emergency 12 times before today."
"He'll persevere and probably next week kick three."
Link (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/hawthorn-and-fremantle-name-substitutes/story-e6frf9jf-1226069550183)
Is it the worst set shot of season 2011? Time will tell, but Jordan Lisle's effort at the Punt Rd in the second quarter will take some beating.
Lisle had impressed early, but faced with a shot from 35m directly in front, his kick squibbed sideways and dribbled over the boundary 20m around from the point post. Made for an end-of-season blooper reel.
C1oIV6pzA14
Sam Mitchell (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/sam-mitchell-says-jordan-lyle-and-kyle-cheney-are-evidence-of-hawthorns-depth/story-e6frf9jf-1226068728794)
HAWTHORN midfield ace Sam Mitchell said the long wait for Jordan Lisle and Kyle Cheney emphasises the depth of the playing list this season.Mitchell said the pair have been performing consistently well enough with VFL affiliate Box Hill Hawks to deserve a senior call-up long before this round.
"He (Lisle) is a strong, brute of a man. He has really good strong hands, a good mark and a good leading option. He can play a defensive role in the back half as well,'' Mitchell said.
"He's just a good strong mark, good kicking, confident, well skilled. He has probably been ready to play for two years, but just hasn't had the opportunity with some of our big guys being fairly durable types.
"He's one of those guys that everyone hopes can break into the side. I think once he does, he'll be someone who will be hard to get out because he can play a lot of different roles.''
http://img694.imageshack.us/img694/7102/5ondebut.jpg
Grimreepah
16 Oct 2011, 03:41
VFL stats (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?action=PSTATS&pID=192150711&client=1-118-10469-150677-14510040)
Games - 13
Goals - 27
Box Hill Awards (http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4742/newsid/103913/default.aspx)
Best in Finals (seniors): Jordan Lisle
http://img571.imageshack.us/img571/1686/lislea.jpg
Grimreepah
16 Oct 2011, 03:54
Round 15 vs Collingwood (http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/default.aspx?newsid=117730)
One inexperienced player to stand up under the pressure was young key defender Jordan Lisle.
In just his fourth AFL game, Lisle had completely shut Collingwood man-mountain Chris Dawes out of the match in the first three quarters, restricting him to one mark and five disposals.
However, the Hawks' big man curse struck yet again approaching time on in the third term when the 20 year-old suffered suspected facial fractures after clashing heads with Magpie Leon Davis.
http://img24.imageshack.us/img24/6885/92048427.jpg
Link (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/young-hawk-lisle-added-to-injury-list-20110704-1gyko.html)
Hawthorn's dreadful run of bad luck with injuries has continued, with young forward Jordan Lisle facing surgery on a facial fracture. Scans have confirmed what Hawks' medicos had suspected after yesterday's defeat by Collingwood: that the 20-year-old Lisle has a depressed fracture of the cheekbone. He is due for surgery on Tuesday and will miss an unspecified period of football.
Link (http://www.adelaidenow.com.au/sport/afl/facial-surgery-for-young-hawk-jordan-lisle/story-e6freck3-1226087285459)
Lisle had shown signs he could become a back-up for Josh Gibson, but has become another casualty."He will have surgery, (in the next 24 hours) depending on the swelling," Evans said.
"Usually once they insert a plate in there it's pretty strong straight away, so it comes down to the level of comfort. He won't be available this weekend."
Link (http://www.theaustralian.com.au/news/sport/hawthorns-attack-of-the-smalls/story-e6frg7mf-1226087476621)
Lisle came from the ground in the third term on Sunday after teammate Brent Guerra collided with Collingwood's Leon Davis, whose head snapped back into the left side of Lisle's face. The 20-year-old was due to have a plate inserted into his cheek either last night or first thing this morning.
"Jordan will take it easy for the first week or so but with the plate he should have good strength there," Evans said. "It will be quite strong. It's then a matter of when he feels comfortable to resume."
A more natural forward, Lisle was deputising in defence because of Hawthorn's shortage of tall backmen.
http://img835.imageshack.us/img835/8906/7facialfractures.jpg
Grimreepah
16 Oct 2011, 03:59
Liam Shiels (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/liamshiels/story-e6frf9jf-1226114101400)
Rare spare time is spent fishing and enjoying the peace of the open water on the boat he bought with teammate Jordan Lisle.
Last summer, Shiels and Lisle were in the middle of a seven-hour fishing expedition when they reeled in a gummy shark the size of a coffee table. "But we couldn't get it in the boat. It broke through the bottom of the net," Shiels said.
http://img404.imageshack.us/img404/8596/lisleb.jpg
Grimreepah
16 Oct 2011, 04:01
Hawks TV
iRGf3_HWRdI&feature=player_embedded
Grimreepah
16 Oct 2011, 04:06
Hawthorn's 2011 emergency list
round 1 Ellis, Lisle, Cheney
round 2 Ellis, Guerra, Whitecross
round 3 Guerra, Whitecross, Puopolo
Round 4 Whitecross, Murphy, Puopolo
round 5 Whitecross, Lisle, Milne
round 7 Schoenmakers, Murphy, Cheney
round 8 Ellis, Young, Schoenmakers
round 9 Ladson, Young, Lisle
round 10 Ladson, Young, Lisle
round 11 first game
round 12 Ladson, Renouf, Cheney
round 13 Lisle, Milne, Cheney (second game)
round 14 third game
round 15 fourth game (injured cheeckbone)
round 16 Ladson, Morton, Sierakowski
round 18 Young, Lisle, Milne
round 19 Ladson, Lisle, Bruce
round 20 Lisle, Sierakowski, Bruce
round 21 Lisle, Savage, Cheney
round 22 Osborne, Lisle, Cheney
round 23 Osborne, Lisle, Cheney
round 24 fifth game
Qualifying final Ellis Stratton Cheney
Semi final Lisle Savage Breust
Preliminary final Lisle Savage Breust
whatboutbob
16 Oct 2011, 05:54
Nickname = 'Moose'.
If he has been picked up to play at CHB, the irony is strong.
mINORITY
17 Oct 2011, 10:40
Welcome to the Lions Jordan
BrisbaneLion9636
17 Oct 2011, 11:08
Welcome Jordan! Looking forward to seeing you in action for the Lions. :)
Bobby Beecroft
17 Oct 2011, 11:48
Nickname = 'Moose'.
If he has been picked up to play at CHB, the irony is strong.
Nickname inherited from his father Mark during his North Melbourne days.
Lionheart182
17 Oct 2011, 14:04
I hope the recruiting of Jordan Lisle doesn't hurt his chances next year.
Would think Lisle might start down back initially.
Bucking Beads
17 Oct 2011, 15:08
I hope the recruiting of Jordan Lisle doesn't hurt his chances next year.
I reckon Lisle will be down back just quietly.
BlairForceOne
17 Oct 2011, 16:17
Moose and Goose may have to compete for a position in our backline.
From what I have seen and read about Lisle, he really reminds me of Tom Lonergan - especially as a backman. They both seem like players that, despite lacking athleticism and speed, are/have the ability to be very solid second or third defenders in a good team. They both read the ball well and have the smarts to get to the ball before their opponent. I think Lisle has more potential as a forward than Lonergan but if he was able to become a sturdy defender - as Lonergan has become with the Cats, I would be very happy to have given pick 29 for him.
Grimreepah
17 Oct 2011, 21:13
Trade Week Wrap (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/125208/default.aspx)
Mitch Clark goes out, but Jordan Lisle comes in from the Hawks with three years of development in a good program. He should command a regular senior berth from round one next year.
http://img525.imageshack.us/img525/9193/jordanlisle.jpg
OldLion
17 Oct 2011, 22:24
Needs some work. Get fit.
Moose and Goose may have to compete for a position in our backline.
If I remember correctly, didn't some dumb-arsed TV commentator actually refer to Goose (Maguire) as "Moose" Maguire sometime this season just past?
I can see it now:
"Goose Lisle and Moose Maguire have been solid for the Lions tonight.....er sorry....the two Gooses........errrr............. I mean the Geese have been unflappable.......what's that?.........sorry!.... I mean the two Moosses......umm.... I mean the Mice have really scurried well in defence against the might of the Cats ......what's that.....the plural of Moose is not Mice????
Well I can't call them the two Moosses can I?.......why not????......cause it sounds really stupid, that's why.........what's that ya say??......... one's a Goose and one's a Moose???"
Bugger me....that's what I said in the first place !!!!"
kuklinski
18 Oct 2011, 00:39
Lol Luthor.
Loving how he Pwned that sook from Collywobbleville. Look forward to seeing him play for the Lions.
Grimreepah
18 Oct 2011, 01:39
Link (http://www.sportsnewsfirst.com.au/articles/2011/10/17/afl-trade-week-club-by-club/) ....
Lisle has shown good signs in his handful of matches as a key position player.
Lisle set for new challenge (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/125265/default.aspx)
Lisle - who can play either up forward or down back - said he has no preference to where he potentially lines up next year, and simply wants to make a significant contribution to his new Club.
“I’m happy to play anywhere,” he said.
“I’ll probably sit down with the Senior Coach once I get up to Brisbane and see what their plans are for me.”
The former Hawk said he was also looking forward to meeting Lions Captain Jonathan Brown who he has long admired.
“I’ve never played against him or even met him,” Lisle said.
“But the prospect of playing alongside him in the forward line is pretty exciting.”
Seems like a really likeable guy. I can't wait to seeing him play, hopefully he can get a big pre-season under his belt.
chopperduck
18 Oct 2011, 15:57
I can't decide where he fits in our team just yet. Might depend on who else we draft or pick up. We do have a spot in the forward line, i think whoever does the best out of Acorn and Lisle might get it.
I think Lisle will start forward for us, but like Staker, he might end up playing more in defense to cover injuries. Not sure about balance having Lisle as a CHB though. Merrett is best when closer to goal, but i would assume Lisle would be better on the FF types instead of leading players due to his speed and agility limitations. Merrett further up the ground is a loss for us, he owns the defensive 50 when he plays from FB, and his leadership is evident when he is out.
chopperduck
18 Oct 2011, 16:01
Link (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/125265/default.aspx)
Seems like a really likeable guy. I can't wait to seeing him play, hopefully he can get a big pre-season under his belt.
Like the reference to Browny. I remember him saying in his draft profile that Browny was one of his Heroes, so i thought he might like the posibility of playing with him. It would be simply awesome to admire someone like that, and then end up training, learning and playing alongside them. He will get good opportunies up here, even if he is not best 22 come round 1, he would be the first cab off the rank i would think.
BlackCaviar
18 Oct 2011, 17:48
I love the fact that melbourne were looking at him
ive got one of those feelings about clark leaving :thumbsu:
jordan could become a real gun:D
would love for him to kick more goals than clark in his first season:p
or line up on mitch and keep him goaless:D
best of luck jordan and welcome to the lions
Grimreepah
18 Oct 2011, 19:26
Rob Kerr's Trade Week Analysis (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/125257/default.aspx)
Jordon Lisle was one player whose progress we watched closely from the start of the season. He impressed as a clever thinker who knows when to lead at the kicker and is prepared to sit under a high ball. Our research indicates he is very coachable and will understand team structures very well, while also being able to provide ruck support in the forward line.
Jordan’s first AFL game would have been more renowned had he not had the yips in front of goal, where four shots produced only two behinds. This was a trait he hadn’t previously displayed. While he can improve his agility, his ability to read the play helps overcome these areas. This was particularly evident when he played at centre half-back against Collingwood.
Jordan’s ability to play back and forward is an added attraction. While we will most likely play him up forward, if our other forwards continue their development over the summer, it will be a bonus to able to move him back. It was also important we added some competition for spots amongst our young tall brigade.
http://img802.imageshack.us/img802/9193/jordanlisle.jpg
Grimreepah
19 Oct 2011, 00:11
Brisbane Lions recruit Jordan Lisle excited at chance to play beside Jonathan Brown (http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/afl/brisbane-lions-recruit-jordan-lisle-excited-at-chance-to-play-beside-jonathan-brown/story-e6frepex-1226169962656)
by: Chris Garry
October 19, 2011 12:00AM
"I was looking for more opportunity then what Hawthorn could give me . . . I want to play every game next year for the Lions. I can't wait to be part of the club."
Lisle, who took 10 marks in a game against Collingwood in Round 15 this year, said he felt he had shown he was "capable at the top level".
Lisle, son of former North Melbourne ruckman Mark, is studying a commerce and law degree and is renowned as an intelligent footballer.
Lions national talent manager Rob Kerr said it had been the performance against Collingwood that had raised eyebrows about Lisle.
"If he was at most other clubs he would have played a lot more games by now," Kerr said.
http://img28.imageshack.us/img28/9193/jordanlisle.jpg
Grimreepah
19 Oct 2011, 00:55
Link (http://www.foxsports.com.au/afl/trade-and-draft/we-review-the-performance-of-your-club-during-afl-trade-week-and-deliver-all-the-vital-information/story-fna8vsun-1226169296115) ....
Lisle should be ready to play 15-plus games in his first year with his new club and track a similar development path to former Lion Lachie Henderson.
Haggis McHaggis
19 Oct 2011, 13:29
Anyone happen to get his interview on SEN?
Anyone that missed it can have a listen here (http://www.sen.com.au/audioplayer/Audio/New-Brisbane-recruit-Jordan-Lisle/3305). Really well spoken young bloke.
PattyKisagun
19 Oct 2011, 16:22
Anyone that missed it can have a listen here (http://www.sen.com.au/audioplayer/Audio/New-Brisbane-recruit-Jordan-Lisle/3305). Really well spoken young bloke.
Cheers :thumbsu:
I agree, sounds great. Can't wait to see him line up next year.
Grimreepah
19 Oct 2011, 19:03
Hawthorn Football Club (http://www.hawthornfc.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/4742/newsid/125177/default.aspx)
General Manager Football Operations Mark Evans thanked Lisle for his three years at the Club and wished him well for the future.
"Jordan has been a fine servant at VFL level and was able to further develop his game with five appearances in the senior side this season,” Evans said.
“Jordan is a quality young man and we wish him all the best for the future.”
http://img189.imageshack.us/img189/9193/jordanlisle.jpg
TheBrownDog
19 Oct 2011, 23:05
From the Lions Twitter feed.
http://i53.tinypic.com/10zskdg.jpg
Grimreepah
20 Oct 2011, 17:46
Link (http://www.allfooty.info/2011/10/new-improved-fantasy-afl-players-for.html) ....
There were times in the VFL when he was marking everything, which is tough to do in the AFL when Franklin is on the same team.
http://img692.imageshack.us/img692/9193/jordanlisle.jpg
Grimreepah
4 Nov 2011, 19:54
Jordan's father, Mark Lisle
(http://stats.rleague.com/afl/stats/players/M/Mark_Lisle.html)
http://img834.imageshack.us/img834/4732/marklisle.jpg
Box Hill Hawks (http://www.boxhillhawks.com.au/history/locker-legends.aspx)
Usual Position: Ruck
Years Played: 1990 to 1994
Senior Games: 84
Goals: 45
BHFC Career Highlights
· BHFC Club Champion 1990
· BHFC Club Captain 1991 to 1993
· Third Place JJ Liston Medal 1990
· Played in 1991, 1992 and 1994 Finals Series inc 1994 Grand Final
· BHFC Life Membership awarded 1998
· Interchange Player BHFC Team of the Century
http://img809.imageshack.us/img809/4732/marklisle.jpg
Rundles Chartered Accountants (http://www.rundles.com.au/?page=sow.php&a=da&aid=16063&cid=1224)
Mark graduated from R.M.I.T. with a Bachelor of Business (Accountancy) in 1985 and was admitted to the Institute of Chartered Accountants in 1990 and was appointed a Fellow in 2004. Mark worked with KPMG Peat Marwick for two years before joining Rundles in 1986. These days he enjoys a social game of golf but spends most of his time supporting his sons' sporting activities
http://img228.imageshack.us/img228/6329/marklisle2.jpg
chopperduck
4 Nov 2011, 21:10
Runs in the family, Jordon is apparently a pretty smart fellow, IIRC, is studying law currently.
Grimreepah
8 Nov 2011, 09:08
Michael Voss (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/125898/default.aspx)
“He’s (Brown) also pretty determined with a new group of players down there to form those relationships.”
“Jordan Lisle will play there, and Patty Karnezis will be up forward again, so given the fact it’s a relatively new group down there, he sees those relationships as being pretty important.”
Based on Vossy's comments and earlier statements from Kerr, it is looking very likely that he'll line up as a forward for round 1.
Bobby Beecroft
8 Nov 2011, 11:02
& spend some time in the Ruck per the end of Voss interview on SEN.
http://www.sen.com.au/audioplayer/Audio/Brisbane-coach-Michael-Voss/3421
Grimreepah
9 Dec 2011, 06:24
Link (http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/afl/lions-midfielder-josh-green-takes-the-number-six-jumper-previously-worn-by-luke-power/story-e6frepex-1226217361246) ....
Ex-Hawthorn player Jordan Lisle takes over the No.19 that belonged to premiership ruckman Jamie Charman.
http://img716.imageshack.us/img716/9436/lisle3.jpg
Grimreepah
11 Dec 2011, 22:15
Jordan Lisle ready to risk move into the Brisbane Lions den (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/jordan-lisle-ready-to-risk-move-into-the-brisbane-lions-den/story-e6frf9jf-1226219421965)
by: Matt Windley
December 12, 2011 12:00AM
"In the end, it sort of came down to my decision: did I want to give him the green light to get the deal done or did I want to stay at Hawthorn?" Lisle said.
"It wasn't the easiest decision to make. I spoke to my family and a few friends, but they all said pretty much what I was thinking and that was that it is a great opportunity and the best thing for my career.
"I'm sort of at the stage of my career where I thought I was good enough to be playing AFL footy, but I wasn't really getting a regular chance at Hawthorn. That's what I thought I could get at Brisbane and that's really the reason why, in the end, I asked Hawthorn if they could do the trade."
http://img694.imageshack.us/img694/3106/jordanlisle2.jpg
Grimreepah
21 Dec 2011, 23:36
Hawthorn Board (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=800160) (thread started 04/03/2011)
Lilse is the best overhead mark on the list.
He is just about the best set shot for goal on the list.
He can't ruck at AFL level to save himself.
He is slow over the ground but reads the ball in ball in flight as well as the generally flow of play beautifully.
I went to a Box Hill game, towards the end of Lisle's first season, with a couple of people including an ex Hawthorn champion who's opinion I respect. He ventured the opinion that Lisle would eventually settle at CHB and make a good fist of it. He noted that while Lisle was a big strong lad that he didn't yet have the power or technique in his legs to lug his frame around at a pace that was required. But he made the point that he thought that would be developed as Lisle progressed through the system and gained the necessary strength etc. He also noted the qualities that Ordivician pointed out re his contested marking ability and reading the ball.
Some people seriously overrating a B grade player here.
He hasn't done anyhting remarkable yet,
hasn't given any indication he's capable of anything remarkable.
WTF?
Have you ever seen this kid play?
I hope that you haven't, as that would at least in part account for your views.
FYI:
- he is only 20
- is already regulary one the best players at Box Hill
- he has had stand out games in high level VFL finals
- if he has not had a chance to play senior football that is hardly his fault.
Yep I've seen him,
Slow,
no pronounced acceleration,
no great endurance,
not physically aggressive (in a pack busting, scare the opposition sense),
No major vertical leap,
no oustanding agility/lateral movement,
he may be a good mark, but hardly a phenomenal one.
not a brilliant reader of the play (which doesn't mean he's clueless),
not a good backup ruckman,
Goal kicking is good but not phenomenal Mark Williams/Le Cras level.
Look I'm not saying he's worthless, but so far he's just a 'vanilla' B Grade AFL level KPP. No outstanding traits, most young AFL KPP's (playing seniors) have one or more outstanding traits. Taller/faster/more agile/greater endurance etc.
I wish him all the best, but I see no outstanding traits, and unless Roughhead gets injured/is sent to the backline/traded, I can never see a place for him in the Hawks team.
I think Lisle may be this year's Great White Hope, (as opposed to whipping boy Tom Murphy).
Despite all that, good luck Jordan, I sincerely hope you prove yourself to be a gun AFL footballer, and embarass me badly.
There is definately something to work with with Lisle.
One thing overlooked (maybe not by you Ord) is his temperament - very cool and calm - and this is why he played well in Box Hill finals.
Also even though he was doing some hard yards in the West Coast NAB game at times on Glass he never dropped his head or looked like he felt he was in over his head. He then popped up and kicked 2 later on.
You might think this is a small thing but belief is probably the most important thing of all...ask Beau Dowler.
He is very predictable in the way he plays...on the lead and fights for the front position.
Ha ha!
Correct.
I did post something on another site several months ago, about how impressed I was his temperament after the Nth Ballarat final, when Hale really got on top of Lisle and started sledging him and pushing him around. Lisle never dropped his head and stayed completely focused on maintaining body contact with Hale.
BTW Lisle does have surprisingly sound vertical leap as is evidenced by the free kick he got for arm chopping against Glass in the WCE pre-season cup game. Lisle jumped and Glass could not get any closer than Lisle's elbow. It was quite a good unassisted jump.
Also I have seen Lisle come over the top of his opponent's shoulders but that was probably an assisted leap. Nevertheless, I was surprised at the time as I did not think a player that was that bottom heavy would have much of a leap.
Grimreepah
21 Dec 2011, 23:56
Allfooty (http://www.allfooty.info/2011/10/jordan-lisle-afl-fantasy-news.html)
Away from Franklin, Roughead: The fantasy potential of Jordan Lisle went up a lot with the trade to Brisbane. He could be their centre half forward, or might do what L Henderson did for them in the back half. Staker is out, Karnezis and Cornelius will compete with Lisle for a forward role, and in the back line the health of Drummond, Maguire, Patfull and others could also be important as the Lions decide where to play Lisle. Brisbane probably got a bargain, trading away pick 29.
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7171/6518325161_c73a6a4ef4.jpg
photo courtesy of Jorgo
Grimreepah
16 Jan 2012, 15:01
Link (http://news.smh.com.au/breaking-news-sport/lions-bookends-boost-brisbanes-afl-hopes-20120116-1q2s7.html) ....
One new face is Hawthorn recruit Jordan Lisle, 21, who has impressed in training to be a prime candidate to partner Brown up front.
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7032/6693865269_a61873e8eb.jpg
Lisle loving it (http://www.afl.com.au/tabid/208/default.aspx?newsid=128017&utm_medium=RSS)
By Michael Whiting
2:53 PM Thu 19 Jan, 2012
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/clubs/lions/lisle_training-c.jpg
"Going into trade week I didn't think I was going to be traded, I didn't ask to be traded, but the opportunity arose and in the end it was too good to pass up.
"I'd spent three years at Hawthorn and loved it there but struggled to crack into the side and Brisbane is a developing young group. It was a great opportunity to come up here and hopefully play some senior footy."
Jorgo what are your thoughts on Moose from your observations at training?
Seems to mark the ball quite well, decent on a lead and seems to be travelling okay comparatively with our other big guys in the running.
Never really grabs my attention though, don't think he's setting the place on fire I guess. But always present and getting all the training done.
TheBrownDog
19 Jan 2012, 15:51
He was actually less physically impressive than I was expecting.
I know he's only 21 or something but I still had the impression he was a pretty solid lump of a lad. He seems quite light from afar. Needs more time in the gym.
Grimreepah
10 Feb 2012, 15:59
2012 Jumper Presentation (http://www.slideshare.net/brisbanelions/2012-lions-jumper-presentation?from=ss_embed)
http://img690.imageshack.us/img690/9193/jordanlisle.jpg
Grimreepah
22 Feb 2012, 11:12
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7197/6919248859_a4e034c0d4.jpg
Surly Boy
26 Feb 2012, 06:27
Emma Quayle (http://www.theage.com.au/afl/afl-news/game-three-gold-coast-vs-brisbane-20120225-1tvui.html)
Jordan Lisle: Moved from Hawthorn in October, having struggled to break into that side's strong forward line. This wasn't a great night for marking players, but he finished up with nine possessions, did his bit and should certainly get some early opportunities.
TheBrownDog
26 Feb 2012, 08:01
Thought he started really slow but managed to work his way into the game.
Could go either way long term. Not getting my hopes too high.
Hardly conditions that were ever going to be good for him. Did pretty much the same as any other tall forward on the night.
cotter101
26 Feb 2012, 11:24
I thought he did OK, was involved in a nice little bit of play that set up a goal.
Very good and quick hands for a big man which I didn't expect. Was surprisingly good when the ball was at his feet. Didn't get to as many contests I would have hoped but was also not played forward as much as I expected. Wasn't quite physically imposing in the marking contest either. Got destroyed in the ruck when he went there - don't think that is an option for round 1.
I was reasonably satisfied for a first game in new colours. He needs to build on that though to make an impact.
chopperduck
26 Feb 2012, 11:38
If Brown/Lisle is going to be our forward set up, we won't get an idea until a few dry games in. He is new to the club/forward line/game plan and hasn't played a lot of AFL level footy. Will take him a few games to even get settled in the forward line i think. I thought he did ok, did what he needed to do without standing out. Played half a game vs Melb i think, then was rotating into the ruck vs GC, so didn't really get to settle into a key forward role, not that the conditions would have help that anyway. I think him rucking was more about just letting Longer ruck the game and giving him a break, more than it was about seeing if Lisle could be a viable ruck option.
He is still only a young forward. I’m not expecting him to come straight in and kick 4 a game.
Grimreepah
2 Mar 2012, 11:18
Lisle views life without Brown (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/129907/default.aspx)
By Michael Whiting
12:25 PM Fri 02 Mar, 2012
Patrick Karnezis appears to have one key post wrapped up, but the race is on for the other.
"Myself and Bryce Retzlaff and Aaron Cornelius will all be playing on Saturday night trying to fill the void left by Browny," Lisle said.
"The mindset doesn't really change for us young blokes. We're not assured a spot in the team and we'll just go about it the same way, we're trying to be in the best 22 come round one."
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7152/6689011103_85b65afd6c.jpg
Grimreepah
3 Mar 2012, 23:45
NAB Cup Round 2 vs Adelaide (http://www.couriermail.com.au/sport/afl/crows-v-brisbane-quarter-by-quarter/story-e6frepf6-1226288324285)
After losing his skipper to another facial injury, Voss trialled Hawthorn recruit Jordan Lisle, Aaron Cornelius and Bryce Retzlaff inside his forward 50 against the Crows. But the trio failed to have an impact, going goal-less as the Lions lost 0.14.9 (93) to 1.5.3 (42).
Lisle began his audition for the vacant centre half-forward position with a nice contested mark and hand off to Clay Beams for the opening goal, but showed little from there on.
Grimreepah
13 Mar 2012, 00:08
NEAFL practice match: Brisbane Reserves vs Morningside (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/130535/default.aspx)
Cornelius and Retzlaff each booted four goals, while Lisle showed great versatility in playing as a back-up ruckman to Hudson.
"Lisle probably spent 5-6 minutes in the ruck, which allowed Huddo to have a rest and also occasionally play up forward," Reserves Coach Nathan Clarke said.
"The three talls worked really well together and didn't do their chances (of senior selection) any harm."
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7049/6825866406_fe1d97a772.jpg
photo courtesy of Jorgo
Grimreepah
13 Mar 2012, 17:36
Still early days, but it seems that he's not kicking on as well as hoped at this point in time.
I think it was thought that he would be a better option than Cornelius and Retzlaff, but he looks to be at about the same level as those two.
Hodgepodge
13 Mar 2012, 17:56
Lisle is perfect for the Lions forward line because he at least creates a contest and he knows where the ball is going. At the very least he'll be an Adrian DeLuca who either marks the ball or creates a spillage for the small forwards.
Grimreepah
14 Mar 2012, 12:26
Season Preview (http://www.smh.com.au/afl/afl-news/fantastic-picks-brisbane-20120314-1uzat.html)
Jordan Lisle - another key position prospect with big opportunities in front of him who has not dominated during pre-season. His versatility makes him a good chance to get games in a team light on for talls at both ends.
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7054/6825855508_4c1cc74d4b.jpg
photo courtesy of Jorgo
chopperduck
14 Mar 2012, 15:03
Probably right there Grim, i think many (including) myself viewed him as being higher than Ace and Retzy in the pecking order when he came here, and therefore he has been disappointing so far this pre season. However, it's probably an unfair expectation, being he has only played in the wet or with the kids team that went to Alice, neither is great for a KPP. He has been moved around a little bit playing, forward, back and ruck in those games. He also doesn't have any more senior experience than Ace or Retzy, infact he has less AFL games. He does have flexibility over the other two, and i still think he is a promising player. Would like to see what he can do as the key forward with our full contigent of mids feeding him ball.
Having not seen him live in person, it's hard to tell how he goes playing forward. He seems to like taking a contest mark more than out on the lead. How is Lisle ment to be as a leading forward? Does he have enough pace in the first few steps to get a bit of seperation and does he have a tank big enough for repeat efforts? These are things much easier to see in person, as you don't see them on TV.
Grimreepah
3 Apr 2012, 15:51
Ooh Aah Ash McGrath (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/132159/default.aspx)
Question: Hi Ash! Apart from Redden and Rockliff, are there any other "couples" amongst the playing group?
There are a few couples. Matthew Leuenberger and Jordan Lisle are quite a cute couple. You might have seen them on our Lions documentary cooking up a storm together. They are inseparable.
http://img40.imageshack.us/img40/7648/lisle20.jpg
Grimreepah
4 Apr 2012, 11:31
Video: Into the Lions Den (http://www.lions.com.au/video%20%20audio/tabid/8533/contentid/436750/default.aspx)
"One of the things that I really liked about the Lions when I spoke to them about possibly coming up here was it's a young group, and I'm hoping to grow with the young team and hopefully be a part of it. If success comes in two or three years I'll be part of that core group of players."
"I've been living at home all my life, so to move out of home for the first time definitely is a bit of a shock to the system. You don't have mum there doing everything for you. I've never really cooked before I left home so she might get a bit of a shock if she watches this and sees that I've actually been helping out around the house."
http://img521.imageshack.us/img521/9193/jordanlisle.jpg
Grimreepah
10 Apr 2012, 12:15
NEAFL Round 3 vs UWS Giants (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2012&tx_ttnews[month]=04&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=772&cHash=1f9e7d9d62389e8a19fee5bd346d6a2f)
Key forward Jordan Lisle didn’t play after quarter-time. He copped a nasty early knock to the shin and a repeat blow on the same spot when he returned shortly afterwards, prompting Clarke to put him in mothballs.
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7040/6971971807_9cc2a13b68.jpg
thoselionslads
10 Apr 2012, 14:45
Watching Tom Hawkins yesterday was a convenient reminder of the patience and tutelage needed with big, young forwards. We need to keep in mind that Lisle is still only 21 years old and has only played a handful of senior games. He has good size, a good footy brain and can take a grab - certainly attributes worth persisting with.
LIONHART
16 Apr 2012, 10:09
would have to confess to being a tad disappointed in jordan so far, i thought by know he would be forcing his way into the senior team, but from quigley's report of the reseves at the w/e, seems to still be a far way off.
i was genuinely excited when we recruited him, & couldn't believe how quick hawthorn were at the time to trade him, maybe we are beginning to see why.
i'm not sure what he's lacking, but it is obviously something. hopefully the coaches continue to work on it with him.
I’m a bit disappointed too, but he is still really young, has another 2 years to find his feet.
Football Pope
16 Apr 2012, 21:47
Watching Tom Hawkins yesterday was a convenient reminder of the patience and tutelage needed with big, young forwards. We need to keep in mind that Lisle is still only 21 years old and has only played a handful of senior games. He has good size, a good footy brain and can take a grab - certainly attributes worth persisting with.
^this...:thumbsu:
Grimreepah
30 Apr 2012, 09:46
NEAFL Round 6 vs Morningside (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2012&tx_ttnews[month]=04&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=809&cHash=8f137fed3027f19d350f2b75fe109440)
Jordan Lisle played his best game for the club, alternating between a marking role up forward and in the ruck. He also kicked three goals.
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8159/7118792009_194718be17.jpg
Bengwatkins
30 Apr 2012, 11:38
Handy to have someone who can pinchhit in the ruck and be a target up forward...Longer/Isle as a possible future combo for us after Huddo finishes up for good?
TheBrownDog
30 Apr 2012, 11:42
I remain largely unconvinced with Lisle. He really should be dominant at NEAFL level.
Just seems very timid/polite as a player, massive dose of angry pills needed.
Also very slow, both physically and mentally.
Football Pope
30 Apr 2012, 21:32
I remain largely unconvinced with Lisle. He really should be dominant at NEAFL level.
Really?...That's not what I wanted to read...if that's the case should expect an answer from Moose next week..
Seems to be way down on confidence. Sometimes players take a while to adjust to a new environment.
At the moment he is not the same player the reports from the Hawks say that he is.
Balony_pony16
30 Apr 2012, 22:35
how many years is he contracted for again? I bloody hope he comes good.
Oh no!! Trust your opinion on most things TBD - so maybe I shouldn't have asked him to sign my 2012 Member cap when I called into the Lions shop :o
TheBrownDog
30 Apr 2012, 23:28
Oh no!! Trust your opinion on most things TBD - so maybe I shouldn't have asked him to sign my 2012 Member cap when I called into the Lions shop :o
I've been wrong before.
Willing to give him time.
I've been wrong before.
Willing to give him time.
:thumbsu: I'm yet to see him play, but the young talls often need that time.
Very pleasant young man :)
Bucking Beads
1 May 2012, 17:26
He is still only young. Hopefully he does find a bit of mongrel about him.
Grimreepah
1 May 2012, 18:56
Nathan Clarke (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/134525/default.aspx)
Up forward, the Reserves were best served by Bryce Retzlaff, Jordan Lisle and top-up player Alexander Kitching who each booted three goals.
“Retzy had his customary 8-9 shots on goal, but only finished with three,” Clarke said.
“Jordan didn’t have as many shots on goal because he rucked 60-70% of the game. He was really clean in slippery conditions, and showed a lot more defensive energy. At one stage he even ran down the smallest player on the ground!”
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7094/6981830884_9f5c553361.jpg
photo courtesy of Jorgo
Could he be our forward/ruck option ? Certainly tall enough for the AFL at 196cm. Interesting that he played a majority in the ruck in at least one game... wonder if thats been influenced by 1st coaching staff...
Has he been rucking much in the 2nds for the season so far ???
Grimreepah
12 May 2012, 12:41
Recruiting errors costly for Lions (http://www.couriermail.com.au/ipad/recruiting-errors-costly-for-lions/story-fn6ck6i3-1226353350456)
by: Andrew Hamilton
May 12, 2012 12:00AM
And what of Jordan Lisle? It is reasonable to expect when a club trades a draft pick to recruit a young key-position player that he is good enough to get a game in the seniors.
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7228/7056140281_0060234546.jpg
Andrew Hamilton appreciation thread (http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?p=24172751#post24172751)
Grimreepah
15 May 2012, 13:50
NEAFL Round 8 vs Sydney Reserves (http://www.neafl.com.au/index.php?id=16&tx_ttnews[year]=2012&tx_ttnews[month]=05&tx_ttnews[tt_news]=838&cHash=e4adf2b3f521864f8323764d71d8f1e8)
Jordan Lisle, forced to start in the ruck after the club decided to give Ben Hudson the weekend off, carried the load manfully in what Clarke described as his best game for the club. His only blemish was in front of goal where he kicked 0-3.
http://farm6.staticflickr.com/5335/7186855210_3bec28f0f3.jpgNathan Clarke (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/135819/default.aspx)
“In the absence of a recognised ruckman, Jordan Lisle took some good marks and looked better with his aggression in aerial and ruck contests. That aspect of his game seems to be improving every week.”
http://farm9.staticflickr.com/8005/7186890402_51a5dbe0ba.jpg
Lets hope the improvement keeps going ,as we will need him soon.
IanHaso84
15 May 2012, 17:07
Seems like he is attempting to inject some aggro into his game. With this should come a little more confidence. I would love for him to make it into the team by the end of the year to fill the role that Rog has been stop-gapping to show us why he was picked up.
Tassie4ever
16 May 2012, 17:56
Not so much aggro at the man but at the pill. Much more assertive and to stand his ground in the ruck contest.
Coming along very nicely IMHO. Maybe next year with a good workout in the gym.
PTizzle
16 May 2012, 18:54
Wonder if Lisle might be a possibility to come in for Longer against GWS if Longer is buggered.
Typical Hammo above, jeez.
BuntonRules
17 May 2012, 10:16
Not so much aggro at the man but at the pill. Much more assertive and to stand his ground in the ruck contest.
Did any one else see Mike Pyke had a go at Green (I think) on the wing, & Jeordie stepped in & let him know it was not on. Well done - showing signs.