View Full Version : Greatest debut album ever?
I was having this discussion with a few mates not ong ago... We were trying to come up with a definitive list of some of the greatest debut albums of all time...
My contribution to the nominations was Pearl Jam's 'Ten'... Anyone else got any nominations?
Leaping Lindner
10 Oct 2003, 12:00
"Never Mind The Bollocks" by the Sex Pistols
Porthos
10 Oct 2003, 12:01
Muse - Showbiz is a cracker for a debut.
Scream - Siouxsie and the Banshees
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
"Never Mind The Bollocks" by the Sex Pistols
The Sex Pistols were amazing. As a band they were together for 9 months??? (correct me if I'm wrong), and yet managed to turn the music industry upside down and change music forever...
On a side note does anyone know what the highest selling debut album is? Not that it has anything to do with this discussion, as sales mean jack all about the quality of a recording, generally.
Leaping Lindner
10 Oct 2003, 12:19
Originally posted by Zeke
The Sex Pistols were amazing. As a band they were together for 9 months??? (correct me if I'm wrong), and yet managed to turn the music industry upside down and change music forever...
As a 15 yo who was bored shirtless with music at the time it came out. I will forever be in it's debt. It made music alive and exciting again.
It's a little cloudy as to the actual time the band were together. However they did last less than a year after Glen Matlock left the band (the one guy who could actually write songs and music:D ).
Leaping Lindner
10 Oct 2003, 12:21
On a side note does anyone know what the highest selling debut album is? Not that it has anything to do with this discussion, as sales mean jack all about the quality of a recording, generally.
Damn good question. Meatloaf's bat out of hell would be up there but I'm just guessing.
Disgustipated
10 Oct 2003, 12:53
Foo Fighters
TOOL-Undertow
RATM-Self titled
Pantsless
10 Oct 2003, 13:50
Muse - Showbiz is a cracker for a debut.
Read my mind champ!
Seriously though, I head a comment once regarding great debut albums and then subsequent albums which are never as good.
"When a singer releases a debut album at age 25, they've had 25 years of life experience to call on to write the album"
"For the next one, they've only had a year or two"
My point is..it takes enormous talent to follow up an awesome debut with an even better albums.
Rusty Brookes
10 Oct 2003, 14:15
The Ramones - self titled.
Totally changed the way, rock n roll was looked at.
In recent years...
Rage Against the Machine - self-titled
Coldplay - Parachutes
Sparta - Wiretap Scars
Ray Nolan
10 Oct 2003, 14:40
Oasis - Definitely Maybe
The Stone Roses - The Stone Roses
Stone Sour - Self Titled
Flaw - Through The Eyes
Shinboners
10 Oct 2003, 16:36
"Unknown Pleasures" - Joy Division (although technically, it may not be a debut because they recorded a previous album that wasn't released)
"Tigermilk" by Belle and Sebastian
"Fresh Fruit For Rotting Vegetables" by Dead Kennedys
"Psychocandy" by The Jesus And Mary Chain
"Penny Century" by Clouds
"She Hangs Brightly" by Mazzy Star
"Violent Femmes" by Violent Femmes
"George Best" by the Wedding Present
lovebuzz
10 Oct 2003, 17:16
Originally posted by AZZO
Stone Sour - Self Titled
great album....
my fav debut albums would have to be
Pearl Jam - Ten
Audioslave (self titled)
Noddy Holder
10 Oct 2003, 20:11
Madonna - self-titled
Fat Pizza
10 Oct 2003, 20:14
Days Of Innocence by Moving Pictures.
magicman
10 Oct 2003, 21:31
Five Star Laundry - Motorace
Emergency on Planet Earth - Jamiroquai
Slightly Oddway - Jebediah
The Music - The Music
GhostofJimJess
10 Oct 2003, 22:16
Radio Birdman - Radios Appear
Sugar - Copper Blue
Sunnyboys - Sunnyboys
Celibate Rifles - Sideroxylon
Died Pretty - Free Dirt
Midnight Oil - Midnight Oil
Hoodoo Gurus - Stoneage Romeos
You Am I - Sound As Ever
Led Zeppelin - Led Zeppelin
Weezer - Weezer
Zappa & The Mothers - Freak Out
Santana - Santana
The Doors - The Doors
Jeff Buckley - Grace
The Beasts of Bourbon - Axeman's Jazz
Massive Attack - Blue Lines
Tricky - Maxinquaye (sp?)
Portishead - Dummy
Saint Etienne - Foxbase Alpha
Stone Roses - Stone Roses
The Stooges - The Stooges
...and I agree with most of the others mentioned....
Straight outta compton - N.W.A - Beginning of gangsta rap.
You Am I - Sound As Ever - Revived the local circuit.
Soungarden - Louder Than Love - Changed my life.
Milkman
10 Oct 2003, 23:04
Originally posted by PeteLX
Massive Attack - Blue Lines
I'm pretty sure 'Blue Lines' was their second album. I could be wrong, but great album all the same.
I'd probably go with Jamiroquai's 'Emergency On Planet Earth'. Unfortunately I think they've gotten progessively worse with each album.
Originally posted by Milkman
I'm pretty sure 'Blue Lines' was their second album. I could be wrong, but great album all the same.
Protection was second, No Protection third, Mezzanine fourth, 100th Window fifth.
They had an EP (Massive Attack EP) just prior to Blue Lines.
Milkman
10 Oct 2003, 23:19
Originally posted by PeteLX
They had an EP (Massive Attack EP) just prior to Blue Lines.
That must be what i'm thinking of, I stand corrected. I agree, 'Blue Lines' was a great debut then, 'Mezzanine' is probably my favourite Massive attack album though.
materamagic
11 Oct 2003, 01:00
Whitney Houston self-titled was successful
Black Sabbath by Black Sabbath is awesome
ATMP by George Harrison was one majestic and breathtaking debut for the solo beatle
CowboyFromHell
11 Oct 2003, 01:35
Metallica - Kill Em All
Machine Head - Burn My Eyes
RATM - Self Titled
Pantera - Cowboys From Hell (duh ;))
Down - NOLA
Superjoint Ritual - Use Once and Destroy
Just to name a few.
Milkman
11 Oct 2003, 02:02
'Cowboys from Hell' wasn't Pantera's debut album, it was just their first with Anslemo. Unlike with Massive Attack, this one i'm sure of.
http://members.tripod.com/panterametal/disc.html
Originally posted by The God Rakim
Soungarden - Louder Than Love - Changed my life. That wasn't their first.
Louder than Love came out in 1989. Ultramega OK was 1988. And there was an EP or two before that.
I agree with Audioslave, Foo Fighters and Pearl Jam's Ten.
Some more that I don't think have been mentioned...
Mr Bungle - self titled (heck, any debut release from one of Patton's bands)
Bush - 16 stone
Incubus - SCIENCE (was that their first??)
Fuel - Sunburn (I'm pretty sure that was their first)
St-KriS
11 Oct 2003, 06:46
Nine Inch Nails - Pretty Hate Machine
Nas - Illmatic
Foo Fighters - Self Titled
SydneyBomber
11 Oct 2003, 09:59
Dead Kennedys - Fresh Fruit
Ramones - Ramones
Sex Pistols - Bollocks
NWA - Straight Outta Compton
NIN - Pretty Hate Machine
Mr Bungle - Mr Bungle
Morbid Angel - Altars of Madness (well it was their first 'official' album!)
Deicide - Deicide
Haunted - Haunted
Emperor - In The Nightside Eclipse
Korn - Korn
EDIT: Guns n Roses - Appetite (yeah that was a pretty handy debut I guess!)
Hawkers_here
11 Oct 2003, 13:16
The Living End - The Living End
Braddock
11 Oct 2003, 15:26
Nearly every one I was gonna say has been said but here's my list anyway: Jeff Buckley - Grace
Coldplay - Parachutes
The Strokes - Is This It
Weezer - Weezer
Motorace - Five Star Laundry
Muse - Showbiz
Primus - Sailing the Seas of Cheese
Not gonna bother trying to single one out, it's just too hard.
Supergrass - I should Coco
Oasis - Definately Maybe
Van Halen - Van Halen.
Guns'N'Roses "Appetite For Destruction" was also pretty handy first up, as were Meatloaf's "Bat Out of Hell" and Black Sabbath's self-titled debut.
A bit less mainstream, and there's Hammerfall's "Glory to the Brave, Manowar's "Battle Hymns" and The Dictators "Go Girl Crazy".
jerry springer
11 Oct 2003, 18:00
Alanis Morisette-Jagged little Pill has to be up there
Personally my fave is Appetite for destruction -GNR
Lots of great ones mentioned so far.
A few more:
Living Colour - Vivid... Revolutionary at the time. Black dudes playing rock? Wow, what a concept!! The fact they were all master musos soon wore down the novelty factor and they were excepted for what they are: brilliant.
Alice in Chains - Facelift... Fresh.
System of a Down - selftitled... a personal favourite. Again, very fresh.
Refused - Songs to fan the flames of discontent... Unrelenting, consistent and superb musicianship.
Eminem - The Slim Shady LP... Certainly shook things up a bit, but had quality behind the hype.
In terms of just Australian bands, the Baby Animals forst album was an outstandingly consistent recording.
The Screaming Jets first effort wasn't bad either.
But my all time fav is Front End Loader's first LP. Great tongue in cheek Aussy rock played by some great musos and having a p*ss funny time doing it.
CowboyFromHell
11 Oct 2003, 20:20
Originally posted by Milkman
'Cowboys from Hell' wasn't Pantera's debut album, it was just their first with Anslemo. Unlike with Massive Attack, this one i'm sure of.
http://members.tripod.com/panterametal/disc.html
As much as I hate to admit it, Anselmo was actually on their previous record, "Power Metal", before CFH.
Okay, so I cheated with Pantera.... so shoot me! :D
Milkman
11 Oct 2003, 20:55
I wouldn't shoot you, I love that album. 'Cowboys from hell' that is. I didn't know Phil was on any previous albums, is 'Power metal' better than the title would suggest? geeze, I would hope so.
Milkman
11 Oct 2003, 20:58
Originally posted by SydneyBomber
Mr Bungle - Mr Bungle
Absolute classic.
Originally posted by Carlos
In terms of just Australian bands, the Baby Animals forst album was an outstandingly consistent recording.
What about Noiseworks self titled debut? Very consistent album with four or five charting singles off it, and bonus points for its mulletude.
El Scorcho
12 Oct 2003, 00:19
Liz Phair - Exile in Guyville
Rod Stroker
12 Oct 2003, 02:56
Prolly won't mean much to too many ppl here, but one of my fav debut albums would have to be Long Player by Pollyanna. Matt Handley is just one of the most under rated singer / songwriters this country has ever produced !
Others worth a mention:
Live - Mental Jewelry
Coldplay - Parachutes
Alice in Chains - Facelift
Foo Fighters - Self Titled
Baby Animals Self Titled
Originally posted by Darky
What about Noiseworks self titled debut? Very consistent album with four or five charting singles off it, and bonus points for its mulletude.
Clearly the words of a rampant bogan who retreats to a closet full of cheesy 80's top 40 bands' cd's.
C'mon Darky, we're all friends here mate. Spill it! :p
NakedDeadGuy
12 Oct 2003, 06:53
Hoodoo Gurus - Stoneage Romeos
Crowded House - Crowded House
Weddings Parties Anything - Scorn Of The Women
Skyhooks - Living In The 70s
Saints - Stranded
Sunnyboys - Sunnyboys
Men At Work - Business As Usual
Divinyls - Desperate
Stems - At First Sight Violets Are Blue
fitzmantle
12 Oct 2003, 11:49
Slanted and Enchanted, Pavement
Nowhere, Ride
Hail, Straitjacket Fits
Velvet Undergound & Nico
Originally posted by Darky
Guns'N'Roses "Appetite For Destruction" was also pretty handy first up,
To bad it wasn't their first.
"Lies" was their first. It wasn't that good either apart from the last 4 tracks, Patience, Used to Love her, You're Crazy (which was acoustic on this album, different from the Appetite version), One in A Million, which cuased a stir.
Originally posted by M29
To bad it wasn't their first.
"Lies" was their first. It wasn't that good either apart from the last 4 tracks, Patience, Used to Love her, You're Crazy (which was acoustic on this album, different from the Appetite version), One in A Million, which cuased a stir.
Half corrrect there mate.
Techinically AFD was released first, then G'n'R Lies released shortly after to cash in on the popularity. However, alot of the stuff on that had been recorded before AFD.
However, alot of the stuff on that had been recorded before AFD.
All of it was, wasn't it? In 1986 (live concert) and 1988. (IIRC AFD was released in 90(?))
Probably also explains why it isn't that good. Just glorified 'demos'.
Originally posted by M29
All of it was, wasn't it? In 1986 (live concert) and 1988. (IIRC AFD was released in 90(?))
AFD released in 1987 mate.
One of the all time greats.
The_Flying_Egg
12 Oct 2003, 16:41
Ten (best album ever) then Definetely Maybe
WuTang - Enter the WuTang: 36 Chambers
Adrian Shelton
12 Oct 2003, 20:06
Queen-Queen 1
Black JuJu
12 Oct 2003, 20:44
Half corrrect there mate.
Techinically AFD was released first, then G'n'R Lies released shortly after to cash in on the popularity. However, alot of the stuff on that had been recorded before AFD.
GN'R released "Live like a Suicide" in 1986, which was the first 4 tracks on "GN'R Lies".
Also they weren't actually recorded live, just made to sound like they are.
The cover for Live like a Suicide can be seen in the sleeve for Lies (it's a close shot of Duff and Axl).
If I remember correctly, Live like a Suicide was released by Geffen under the "Uzi Suicide" label to test the market prior to Appetite for Destruction.
Appetite was their first LP - Live like a Suicide their first EP.
Originally posted by Black JuJu
GN'R released "Live like a Suicide" in 1986, which was the first 4 tracks on "GN'R Lies".
1 of those being a cover of "Mama Kin".
The cover for Live like a Suicide can be seen in the sleeve for Lies (it's a close shot of Duff and Axl).
Always wondered why that was there beside the track listing at the back.
Yes, I bought it. Not worth $18 I paid, (unless that chick on the inlay was fully naked). For some reason I had a GNR frenzy that day.
I thankfully, don't own "The spaghetti incident".
Originally posted by M29
Probably a good decision there champ.
I own it, and don't think i've actually seen it all the way through from start to finish once.
Bad, very.
Thankfully, cash converters didn't charge me too much for it. :p
Originally posted by Black JuJu
speaking of live suicides...
does anybody know if that band who threatened to have a live suicide on stage happen to go through with it?
Black JuJu
13 Oct 2003, 00:20
Originally posted by M29
Some of the covers hit the mark like Ain't in Fun and Down on the Farm (they performed it at Farm Aid 88 much better though), but the album just smacks of "Contractual Obligation".
It's a shame that's what they decided to pump out when required.
Arabian Goggles
13 Oct 2003, 00:24
Peter Blakely - Harry's Cafe De Wheels
Vapours - Nu Clear Days.
Originally posted by Bresh
WuTang - Enter the WuTang: 36 Chambers
This was a serious and thoughtfull discussion until you posted. ;)
Probably a good decision there champ.
I own it, and don't think i've actually seen it all the way through from start to finish once.
Bad, very.
Thankfully, cash converters didn't charge me too much for it. :p
Hahaha. I won't even download it.
Originally posted by coxon
speaking of live suicides...
does anybody know if that band who threatened to have a live suicide on stage happen to go through with it?
That would have been GG Allin. He did numerous 'acts', inlcuding rolling around on stage in his own ****, smashing bottles over his head, and ramming his head through the drum kit. He was planning to do a grand finale and kill himself at one gig (which turned out to be his last anyway), but IIRC a riot broke out during the gig and later on that evening he died of a heroin overdose.
TheWackedYak
13 Oct 2003, 23:02
Was "Soul of a New Machine" Fear Factory's first? loved it.
Other notables :
Jimi Hendrix - Are You Experienced?
UFO - Phenomenon
Rainbow - Ritchie Blackmore's Rainbow
The Fullerman
14 Oct 2003, 01:18
Ten- Pearl Jam
Rage Against The Machine - Rage Against The Machine
Audioslave - Audioslave
All sensational first albums
This was a serious and thoughtfull discussion until you posted. ;)
You mean my post on the first page?
;) :o
Rusty Brookes
14 Oct 2003, 09:41
I notice a few mentions of the Sunnyboys' debut. It still stands up today I reckon and it's amazing to think that Jeremy Oxley was only 18 when he came up with all of those incredible songs.
Originally posted by The Fullerman
Audioslave - Audioslave
Whilst I agree that it's a great first up album - it's not really in the same league as some of the others.
The members of Audioslave had all previously been part of widely acclaimed and successfull bands who had released killer albums. It's not like they didn't know what they were doing...
You mean my post on the first page?
;) :o
I was referring to the Wu-Tang shyte you were spouting.
Evidently.
I'm sorry to have mentioned a different genre on this thread.
Evidently.
I'm sorry to have mentioned a different genre on this thread.
Nothing to do with genre, my friend. Wu-Tang are/were a business, not a band. Anyone want to nominate Spice Girls? :rolleyes:
You won't find a single item of WuTang clothing in my cupboard. I also don't tend to backdate my appreciation of bands due to business decisions made further down the track.
I guess everything that Metallica has released has lost value in your eyes?
Grendel
14 Oct 2003, 12:07
Joy Division - Unknown Pleasures
The Specials - The Specials
Graham Parker - Howling Wind
Elvis Costello - My Aim is True
Pogues - Red Roses for Me
Pixies - Surfa Rosa
Bruce Springsteen - Greetings from Asbury Park NJ
GhostofJimJess
14 Oct 2003, 23:08
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes
I notice a few mentions of the Sunnyboys' debut. It still stands up today I reckon and it's amazing to think that Jeremy Oxley was only 18 when he came up with all of those incredible songs.
And tell me if I'm wrong, Rusty, but every time I hear The Strokes I perceive a band that's recently had it's Sunnyboys albums out ... and of course the Velvet Underground.
Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
And tell me if I'm wrong, Rusty, but every time I hear The Strokes I perceive a band that's recently had it's Sunnyboys albums out ... and of course the Velvet Underground. whilst in the next room the Vines after hearing the Easybeats come to the conclusion that they arent that original despite what Molly told them ...
Weezer - Weezer
Sparta - Wiretap Scars
JJ72 - JJ72
PAW - Dragline
Brewing up with Billy Bragg - Billy Bragg
Mad Season - Above
CarterS
14 Oct 2003, 23:48
neither of these 2 have been mentioned:
The Stooges - s/t
Pink Floyd - Piper at the Gates of Dawn
Leaping Lindner
15 Oct 2003, 00:11
Originally posted by bragg
whilst in the next room the Vines after hearing the Easybeats come to the conclusion that they arent that original despite what Molly told them ...
Gold!:D
I actually had this discussion with someone at a party recently and they pointed out the (now)obvious "homage" to the Easybeats. I reckon they may have stumbled across The Pretty Things' first two LPs as well. Not even allowing for the blatant rip off of "Lust for Life".
Leaping Lindner
15 Oct 2003, 00:13
Originally posted by CarterS
neither of these 2 have been mentioned:
The Stooges - s/t
Pink Floyd - Piper at the Gates of Dawn
The Stooges first LP is vastly underated IMO. That really was the birth of punk. The good sort of punk that is!
Rusty Brookes
15 Oct 2003, 09:16
Originally posted by GhostofJimJess
And tell me if I'm wrong, Rusty, but every time I hear The Strokes I perceive a band that's recently had it's Sunnyboys albums out ... and of course the Velvet Underground.
I think I'm so far out of the loop that it looks like a rhombus from where I stand. I don't think I could name a single Strokes song. What I do know is that it isn't new for so-called alternative bands to enter the mainstream as the Sunnyboys did it back in 1981.
Rusty Brookes
15 Oct 2003, 09:17
Originally posted by Leaping Lindner
Gold!:D
I actually had this discussion with someone at a party recently and they pointed out the (now)obvious "homage" to the Easybeats. I reckon they may have stumbled across The Pretty Things' first two LPs as well. Not even allowing for the blatant rip off of "Lust for Life".
You're not thinking of Jet are you Leaping? That single of their's does use the exact same riff as Lust for Life. I mean it is one of the most distictive riffs ever - why would you even attempt to rip it off?
Leaping Lindner
15 Oct 2003, 09:27
Originally posted by Rusty Brookes
You're not thinking of Jet are you Leaping? That single of their's does use the exact same riff as Lust for Life. I mean it is one of the most distictive riffs ever - why would you even attempt to rip it off?
Ah yes. It was late and I was confused:D
I think ripping off that riff almost shows contempt for their audience.
The Vines are the band that (doesn't)sound like every second Australian band from the early 80's :rolleyes:
robbie67
15 Oct 2003, 11:48
The Sex Pistols - Never Mind the Bullocks
Ride - Smile
You Am I - Sound as Ever
Teenage Fanclub - A Catholic Education
Portishead - Dummy
From the last couple of years.
Interpol - Turn on the Bright Lights
Black Rebel Motorcycle Club - Self Titled
fitzmantle
15 Oct 2003, 12:40
Ride - Smile
I was going to put that in but I think it was their first two eps merged to create smile. So I put in "Nowhere" instead. I love "Like a Daydream", absolute classic.
the fly
16 Oct 2003, 00:47
A couple of debuts that I like (I think they're debuts anyway) that haven't been mentioned yet are:
Powderfinger - Parables For Wooden Ears
Something For Kate - Elsewhere For Eight Minutes
George - Polyserena
Cranberries - Everybody Else Is Doing It So Why Can't We
Hoodoo Gurus - Stoneage Romeos (all time winner)
special mentions to ....
Smashing Pumpkins - Gish
Badly Drawn Boy - The Hour Of Bewilderbeast
Sigur Rós - Ágaetis Byrjun
Straitjacket Fits -Hail
Swervedriver - Raise
Zwan-Mary Star Of The Sea.
****ing awesome debut from guitar god Corgan and drum god Chamberlin.
The invisible mullet
15 Nov 2003, 10:33
The La's - the La's
The Stone Roses - The Stone Roses
moistie
15 Nov 2003, 15:38
Originally posted by The God Rakim
Straight outta compton - N.W.A - Beginning of gangsta rap.
And for a gangsta rap album it has never been bettered in my eyes.
'Sunset Studies' by Augie March is just about as close to perfection as you can get, for a first up effort. An absolutely brilliant debut record.
R.E.M.'s 'Mumur' is one of their best, and a defining moment in terms of marking the band from there-onwards, as a influential force in music.
Likewise, 'Gish' by Smashing Pumpkins was also a defining record by the virtue of unveiling Billy Corgan's awesome song-writing and guitar-playing talents (combining many great styles such as Led Zeppelin, Jimi Hendrix, Pink Floyd, Black Sabbath, etc, without sounding particularly like any individually), whilst also matching it in unison with Butch Vig to revolutionise the "rock sound" production-wise.
Led Zeppelin were one of the great bands and their first album is in my opinion their best.
Adrian Shelton
15 Nov 2003, 20:43
Did LedZep bring any material out as the New Yardbirds or did they just play concerts to fulfill contracts?
The Stone Roses - Stone Roses is the greatest album of all time so I guess by definition has to also be the greatest debut album:D Some very good albums have been mentioned in this thread though
topjars
16 Nov 2003, 11:11
"Bat out of Hell- Meatloaf"
amazingjosh
30 Nov 2003, 15:48
Bring It On - Gomez
Bat Out Of Hell
probably the highest selling debut lp ever.
tredders16
1 Dec 2003, 10:01
The Living End - Self Titled
Ten - Pearl Jam
Led Zeppelin 1
All For One - The Screaming Jets
Appetite for Destruction - G N R
Guide To Better Living - Grinspoon
Shake Your Money Maker - The Black Crowes
Fresh Cream - Cream
The invisible mullet
1 Dec 2003, 11:42
The Sundays "Reading, Writing and Arithmetic"
BLONDIE - Blondie
12 short, sharp, superbly crafted pieces of pop, included two of the most beautiful songs I've heard, Look Good in Blue and Attack of the Giants Ants.