10 Oct 2003, 16:10
Originally posted by no1bankteller
Just scored 339 NO against Zimbabwe
Absolute LEGEND!!!!
get this off the afl board you ********:rolleyes:
bogan_blue
10 Oct 2003, 16:16
Who cares ....
Cricket is the most boring, overrated waste of time in the history of time wasting.
339 against 3rd opposititon big deal.
That's like Ronaldo scoring ten goals against an Victorian Premier league soccer side.
Cricket is rubbish !!!
thought he would have declared before passing 334
that would have been nice
TigerCraig
10 Oct 2003, 16:21
Cricket is the only real sport in the world, but really the Zims are rubbish
Originally posted by JohnD
thought he would have declared before passing 334
that would have been nice
I agree, I thought it would have been a fantastic mark of respect to Sir Don if they followed Tubby Taylor's lead and declared on 334*
Any team with a batsman on a triple century can afford to declare and still win with ease.
both of them are going nuts. GILLY jsut scores a TON.
Cricket and football go hand in hand.
Disgustipated
10 Oct 2003, 16:26
Originally posted by droche
both of them are going nuts. GILLY jsut scores a TON.
Cricket and football go hand in hand.
Well said,
Lara's 375 looks gone.
Originally posted by Disgustipated
Well said,
Lara's 375 looks gone.
He will smash it. No i know what it feels like to follow Brisbane, every time you go out there you win!!
Thewlis Dish
10 Oct 2003, 16:42
376* at tea, likely declaration now.
Arabian Goggles
10 Oct 2003, 16:45
Give a **** Board.
What a joke, shouldn't even count, theyre only playing Zimbabwe, what next? Port Power claiming their victory over Sturt's U19's as their biggest win? Lame.
Captain Blood
10 Oct 2003, 16:47
Originally posted by no1bankteller
Just scored 339 NO against Zimbabwe
Absolute LEGEND!!!!
Mate, I could score 339 against Zimbabwe, who gives a ****. Playing a seccond rate game against a third rate team. ***** this off to the cricket board
understudy
10 Oct 2003, 16:50
arhh i feel dirty get this rubbish off the afl board.
maybe i'll start posting other sports as well, how about golf.
how was tigers win the other week magnificent hey. the guy is back in form and will start imposing himself again. my forms on the up too, shot 77 on weekend, still playing off 7.
blahblahblah get it?
Originally posted by bogan_blue
Who cares ....
Cricket is the most boring, overrated waste of time in the history of time wasting.
339 against 3rd opposititon big deal.
That's like Ronaldo scoring ten goals against an Victorian Premier league soccer side.
Cricket is rubbish !!!
...or like North Melbourne flogging Carlton in Round 22.
:D
Originally posted by Captain Blood
Mate, I could score 339 against Zimbabwe, who gives a ****. Playing a seccond rate game against a third rate team. ***** this off to the cricket board
nobody else has done it before against Zimbabwe, 5 players went out before him that couldnt do it!
catland2
10 Oct 2003, 16:56
Didn't you read the board name AFL
Thewlis Dish
10 Oct 2003, 16:59
Bloody hell, it's an Australian achievement of ENORMOUS magnitude and people are complaining cos it got posted on the wrong board?? Get a grip...
no1bankteller
10 Oct 2003, 17:01
Originally posted by Petrie Dish
Bloody hell, it's an Australian achievement of ENORMOUS magnitude and people are complaining cos it got posted on the wrong board?? Get a grip...
THANK YOU!!!
I am glad that somebody has an appreciation for history...
I wonder if John Howard will coem out and say "Any boss that sacks someone for using the internet to watch cricket score whilst working is a mug." :)
Thewlis Dish
10 Oct 2003, 17:01
No declaration either - looks like Tugga is letting him have a crack at 400
understudy
10 Oct 2003, 17:02
Bloody hell, it's an Australian achievement of ENORMOUS
LMFAO:D
It is already being discussed on the Cricket board, plus there are 2 threads about it on the General board, why the hell do we need one on the Footy board as well. :confused:
No declaration either - looks like Tugga is letting him have a crack at 400
Win or lose the toss, Australia has to bat first every time.
If he declared now, the match would be over by tomorrow arvo!!
Thewlis Dish
10 Oct 2003, 17:05
Out for 380, how about if we pretend it was Roger Hayden - will that satisy everyone?
eastaugh36
10 Oct 2003, 17:11
I think cricket shouldnt even start until November like it always used to. Give us a break after the footy season.
Also, the amount of cricket saturation is a joke. I saw that Australia now has an 18 month block of virtual full on cricket. It should be like the past where international cricket goes from November to February and then the only cricket any other time involving Australia is in our winter in England for the Ashes every 3 years.
bogan_blue
10 Oct 2003, 17:43
What a load of rubbish.
Any player who wasn't gangly legged or cross eyed could score 300 plus against Zimwhatitssname.
Get a grip people.
No one in ESPN or around the world is going to sit up and take notice.
More people would be interested in the highest ever Ten Pin Bowling score honestly.
Mathew Hayden = Who Cares
(Probably will score nothing against India anyway)
piefan2002
10 Oct 2003, 18:09
What a load of rubbish.
Any player who wasn't gangly legged or cross eyed could score 300 plus against Zimwhatitssname.
Get a grip people.
More people would be interested in the highest ever Ten Pin Bowling score honestly.
Get a LIFE.
The whole cricketing world will take notice, the West Indies public will be in mourning (they celebrated the anniversary of Lara 375 each year) and he will be front page news right around Australia tomorrow.
Isn't it funny, Langer, Martyn, Lehman, Waugh, Ponting and Gilchrist all failed to make 380 so obviously not everyone can score that score against Zimbabwe.
It is the greatest innings in test cricket and will be remembered for it.
He is the number 1 player in cricket at the moment. A modern day Don Bradman
By the way
bogan_blue = who cares
Bomber Spirit
10 Oct 2003, 18:10
Matthew Hayden is a champion. He's been a huge accumulator of runs for years, and he had to wait a long time to get a regular Test spot but it's been well worth the wait.
Well done Haydos. 380 a world record.:D :D
red+black
10 Oct 2003, 18:26
What a load of rubbish.
Get a grip people.
yeah, you know HOW much about cricket? about sport? about anything?
your last comment about Haydo v India proves that you know absolutely nothing.
bogan_blue
10 Oct 2003, 18:31
your last comment about Haydo v India proves that you know absolutely nothing.
I don't know much about Cricket, true, but then, I don't really want to know much about the sport. It's simply an excuse for hoons to get drunk and throw rubbish onto the turf of the MCG.
Anyone who can stomach watching more an hour of this rubbish a day is amazing.
What a load of rubbish.
Get a grip people.
Get a grip you imbecile.
http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=index2&cid=706
Oh look Matthew Hayden has popped up here on this international news site. You are completely clueless mate.
bogan_blue
10 Oct 2003, 18:49
Originally posted by llosis
Get a grip you imbecile.
http://story.news.yahoo.com/news?tmpl=index2&cid=706
Oh look Matthew Hayden has popped up here on this international news site. You are completely clueless mate.
Don't think anyone overseas would care though .
You guys are all getting delusions of grandeur.
I would rate Mark Viduka scoring 4 goals against Liverpool in the English Premier League a much more worthy achievement than Matty Hydrogen's 370 whatever against an tiddywinks side.
There will be no international recognition (apart from cricket and commonwealth supportered communities whatsoever)
I say again, it's not a big deal.
piefan2002
10 Oct 2003, 19:45
Does that mean anything an AFL player does is worthless as it will not be given recognition overseas?
Or if Lloyd kicks 10 against Carlton it doesnt count, cuase lets face it Bangladesh are the Bulldogs and Zimbabwe are Carlton in AFL terms
Originally posted by piefan2002
Does that mean anything an AFL player does is worthless as it will not be given recognition overseas?
Or if Lloyd kicks 10 against Carlton it doesnt count, cuase lets face it Bangladesh are the Bulldogs and Zimbabwe are Carlton in AFL terms
Face it Aussie rules footy is played in one country stuck miles from anywhere. The only people who play it outside Australia are expats and no-one can play it because the field required is too big.
The number 1 national side in Australia is the cricket team followed by the Wallabies. AFL doesn't even have representative footy anymore where the fans can see the best players playing against each other, show what the officals think of the fans.
piefan2002
10 Oct 2003, 20:59
All I am saying is just because a sport is not recognised by the Americans for example it is not worthless.
IceTemple
10 Oct 2003, 21:12
Geez you people are a bunch of fing w*ankers. You call yourselves "Australian" but find a way to bag someone who makes an international achievement. Get off your bums and do something like it yourselves if you can be bothered.
Bloody sooky fing wingers -- just p**s off if it doesn't interest you.
Well done Hayden, you have proved your Captains faith!
noogie_da_sheep
10 Oct 2003, 22:46
Anyone who can stomach watching more an hour of this rubbish a day is amazing.
yeah right mate, whatever...well done to Hayden...380 of the best...and how could cricket be boring when the Australians are playing...Hayden hit like 40 4's and 11 6's....and then you've got Gilchrist 'slowly' making his way to 113 n.o....it's all good, especially for the crowd trying to catch all those rain-makers...
swans_supporter
10 Oct 2003, 23:40
Get over yourselves you ****s. Hayden just scored 180, you are not Austraalian if you can not acknowledge that as a remarkable achievement. And Bogan_Blue you are just that, a Bogan. Just ****ty cos he smacked the Carlton of World Cricket
Didn't lara's record come against England? Worldbeaters those poms.
utility
11 Oct 2003, 02:43
Congrats to Hayden, mighty fine effort that.
Grendel
11 Oct 2003, 08:12
Originally posted by piefan2002
It is the greatest innings in test cricket and will be remembered for it.
No, it wont. It will be remembered as the highest score made in a test (and to be honest, the Zimbabwean team at the minute is lucky to have that ranking as a test nation) match is how it will be looked upon.
Personally, the greatest I have seen was Lara's brilliant 277 at the SCG (with the 153 at Kensington Oval not to far behind it). Botham at Headingly in 81 must have been some knock. Steve Waugh's 200 in Jamaica in 1995 was epic and delivered the series to Aus.
In all probability there has no doubt been hundreds of innings from individuals over the years that have been better in quality if not in score.
Settle on the hyperbole and congratulate him on a great knock but appreciate that he wasn't really up against all that strong a side.
Found this (http://www.334notout.com/ashes/wistop100bat.htm) while doing a read of what's being said on the net about Hayden's innings. Interesting reading that three of the top five were all 'middling' tons. Hughes century at the G in 81/82 was a surprise (great knock though) to me to see there.
1 DG Bradman 270 Australia England Melbourne 1936-37
2 BC Lara 153* West Indies Australia Bridgetown 1998-99
3 GA Gooch 154* England West Indies Headingley 1991
4 IT Botham 149* England Australia Headingley 1981
5 DG Bradman 299* Australia South Africa Adelaide 1931-32
6 VVS Laxman 281 India Australia Calcutta 2000-01
7 C Hill 188 Australia England Melbourne 1897-98
8 Azhar Mahmood 132 Pakistan South Africa Durban 1997-98
9 KJ Hughes 100* Australia West Indies Melbourne 1981-82
10 BC Lara 375 West Indies England St John's 1993-94
EagleBlue
11 Oct 2003, 08:23
Originally posted by IceTemple
Geez you people are a bunch of fing w*ankers. You call yourselves "Australian" but find a way to bag someone who makes an international achievement. Get off your bums and do something like it yourselves if you can be bothered.
Bloody sooky fing wingers -- just p**s off if it doesn't interest you.
Well done Hayden, you have proved your Captains faith!
What he said !!!!!!
dr nick
11 Oct 2003, 08:31
Don't think anyone overseas would care though .
You guys are all getting delusions of grandeur.
I would rate Mark Viduka scoring 4 goals against Liverpool in the English Premier League a much more worthy achievement than Matty Hydrogen's 370 whatever against an tiddywinks side.
There will be no international recognition (apart from cricket and commonwealth supportered communities whatsoever)
I say again, it's not a big deal. that would explain why ESPN's lead story... yes a country who does not even play cricket... was Matthew Hayden's record. If you ever bothered to watch it, you'd also realise that AFL regularly makes it on.
and the Australian Cricket Team was acknowledged as the worlds best sporting side in Geneva or wherever last year. 4 goals against a club side would not stack up against a half century v Zimbabwe.
Grendel
11 Oct 2003, 08:51
Originally posted by Dave
Didn't lara's record come against England? Worldbeaters those poms.
A R C Fraser 43-4-121-2
A R Caddick 47.2-8-158-3
P C R Tufnell 39-8-110-0
C C Lewis 33 -1-140-0
G A Hick 18-3-61-0
vs
H Streak 26-6-131-0
A Bliganut 28-4-115-0
S Ervine 31-4-146-4
R Price 36-5-187-0
T Gripper 25.3-0-142-2
I guess it's up to perception but even allowing for the fact that the Pom's were hardly the most hostile looking attack, I'd still give em the nod over what the Zim's are serving up.
Anyone think that Tugga let Hados go for 400, because the skipper was the reason he pretty much got him back in the team? A little point to the selectors and "Cricket Australia" one world think.
Goldenblue
11 Oct 2003, 12:10
Well done to Matty Hayden.
Congrats on being the highest scorer in a single innings.
Pity he did not get the 400.
Originally posted by Grendel
I guess it's up to perception but even allowing for the fact that the Pom's were hardly the most hostile looking attack, I'd still give em the nod over what the Zim's are serving up.
Smaller ground over there too......
Agree with your other post. Highest score yes. Greatest innings, no. I still remember Hughes 100 against the windies on boxing day. Magnificent innings against the stormtroopers. Then Liilee came out and tore them a new one. Magic day.
essnickess
11 Oct 2003, 20:05
Australia can make all attacks look like ****.
flamethrower
11 Oct 2003, 22:08
Matthew Hayden.....380.
The best advertisement Gray Nicolls could have for their
Gladius bat. Guy at the local cricket shop expects to sell
a dozen of them this week!!!
Haydos has come a long way since those days when the
"Give Matt a Bat" signs ringed the Gabba.
And it did make the news in the USA (on ESPN's Sportscenter), just like Mark McGuire and Barry Bonds made the news here
when they broke the single season home run records.
^Eagle^
12 Oct 2003, 22:17
And they didn't even show the first two sessions - which included Hayden's 376 - live in perth. Typical Channel 9
Originally posted by ^Eagle^
And they didn't even show the first two sessions - which included Hayden's 376 - live in perth. Typical Channel 9 That's standard and fair enough, since people in Perth had the option of going to the ground and seeing it for themselves.
I went on Thursday, so at least I saw the first 183 runs of his innings. My brother went on Friday, so between us we can say "We were there!" :D
bogan_blue
13 Oct 2003, 14:00
Originally posted by flamethrower
Matthew Hayden.....380.
The best advertisement Gray Nicolls could have for their
Gladius bat. Guy at the local cricket shop expects to sell
a dozen of them this week!!!
Haydos has come a long way since those days when the
"Give Matt a Bat" signs ringed the Gabba.
And it did make the news in the USA (on ESPN's Sportscenter), just like Mark McGuire and Barry Bonds made the news here
when they broke the single season home run records.
If you ask me, Mark MuGuire's record is far more worthy (against his equal's/peers in the world) than Hayden's score against 3 rd rate opposition.
If he scored the runs against South Africa, or even Pakistan or England it would be worthy, but against an rabble of Zimbabwe.
Great knock, but not one of the all time great sporting feats.
If you ask me, We didn't. Now **** off.
^Eagle^
13 Oct 2003, 21:15
Originally posted by scmods
That's standard and fair enough, since people in Perth had the option of going to the ground and seeing it for themselves.
I went on Thursday, so at least I saw the first 183 runs of his innings. My brother went on Friday, so between us we can say "We were there!" :D
lol - but they couldve shown it delayed by an hour or sumthing or show the record being broke on tv half n hour b4 the coverage was schedueld 2 start
of all days, i chose day 3 to go 2 - less than 2 hours of true entertainment
piefan2002
13 Oct 2003, 22:47
Rules are rules and unless the game is sold out Channel 9 cannot show the Cricket live into the metro area of the state due to its contract with the ACB