View Full Version : Possible ruck solution
Stiffy_18
11 Oct 2003, 19:59
I asked this on the other thread but I thought it would be good to put it to poll to see how majority of Crows supporters feel.
Jamie Charman is yet to sign a contract with Brisbane. IMHO, he is one of the best young up and coming ruckman in the competition.
Would you be prepared to trade away our pick 14 for him??????
I would;)
Bockchoy67
11 Oct 2003, 20:07
If he was willing to come to Adelaide after a Premiership, I would think it would be a great deal.
However, I don't think Pick 14 would be enough for the Lions.
Jamie Charman an extremely talented Ruckman, who played perhaps his best game in this year's Grand Final. He's a powerful presence, can take a mark, and hits it boomingly out of the center square.
I say a perfect deal. :)
Stiffy_18
11 Oct 2003, 20:10
Originally posted by Bockchoy67
However, I don't think Pick 14 would be enough for the Lions. I would be prepared to offer a bit more;)
Bockchoy67
11 Oct 2003, 20:15
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
I would be prepared to offer a bit more;)
Any players you have in mind Stiffy?
Someone important to our team or one of our "tradebait" players.
IMO opinion I would pick the later option, but what's your view?
If he was willing to come to Adelaide after a Premiership, I would think it would be a great deal.
However, I don't think Pick 14 would be enough for the Lions.
Jamie Charman an extremely talented Ruckman, who played perhaps his best game in this year's Grand Final. He's a powerful presence, can take a mark, and hits it boomingly out of the center square.
I say a perfect deal. :)
Spot on.
I'd go for him. I'd be pretty happy with AFC if we could secure him.
Stiffy_18
11 Oct 2003, 20:27
Any players you have in mind Stiffy?
Someone important to our team or one of our "tradebait" players.
IMO opinion I would pick the later option, but what's your view? One of our trade bait players. Although I am not sure we have what Brisbane need so 3 way deal would not be out of the question.
spindoctor
11 Oct 2003, 20:41
Yep, probably worth it, my only question is will he dominate games?
Maybe pick 14, or pick 14 plus a Gallagher or Doughty or the like.
Bockchoy67
11 Oct 2003, 20:50
Originally posted by spindoctor
Yep, probably worth it, my only question is will he dominate games?
He's not as dominating as Keating, but still packs in a massive thump of the ball in the ruck and he is a very athletic and versatile footballer for his height.
Not dominating but still very talented.
Gallagher or Doughty or the like. You're kidding yourself if you think you can offload these two to the Lions. They'd be a waste of space to the team that has the strongest midfield in the league.
As for the question.
I'm not sure... I'd prefer a quality KPP to a quality ruckman.
I'd like to see us keep a first round draft pick this year.
Stiffy_18
11 Oct 2003, 21:04
I just heard a bit of a whisper (not from my source, just here say I assume) that Ottens will be up for grabs for a suitable offer.
If this is true, time to make a move I say:)
I just heard a bit of a whisper (not from my source, just here say I assume) that Ottens will be up for grabs for a suitable offer. There's a fair chance he'll go to Essendon as part of the Solomon trade.
Stiffy_18
11 Oct 2003, 21:18
Originally posted by DaveW
There's a fair chance he'll go to Essendon as part of the Solomon trade. Essendon couldn't afford his salary. He would be on higher money than Solomon.
I see hawks want a player for Rawlings. How about:
Goodwin to Hawks
Rawlings to Kangaroos
Solomon and Pick 25 (from Hawthorn) to Richmond
Ottens to Adelaide
Pick 9 to Essendon
Might need a bit of sweetening here and there but I would be thrilled with that.
Then
Perrie to Western Bulldogs
Pick 19 to Adelaide
Essendon badly need a ruckman.
With Hird and Mercuri going on to the vets list they may have room. Then again, they may have backloaded these contracts to the hilt - like they usually do - in anticipation for them going on the vets list and still be left with negligible cap room.
They did get rid of Soloman because they can't afford him necessarily. But because he wasn't worth what he was asking. So they've offloaded him to avoid salary cap problems later on. It looks like they're finally learning something there at Windy Hill.
As for your trade, I'm not even going to begin to try and figure it out whilst you have pick 9 (which is the Kangaroos?) going in two directions. :confused:
Stiffy_18
11 Oct 2003, 21:42
With Hird and Mercuri going on to the vets list they may have room. Then again, they may have backloaded these contracts to the hilt - like they usually do - in anticipation for them going on the vets list and still be left with negligible cap room.
They did get rid of Soloman because they can't afford him necessarily. But because he wasn't worth what he was asking. So they've offloaded him to avoid salary cap problems later on. It looks like they're finally learning something there at Windy Hill.
As for your trade, I'm not even going to begin to try and figure it out whilst you have pick 9 (which is the Kangaroos?) going in two directions. :confused: Maybe BUT Essendon have emarasment of riches whenit comes to young ruckman. Hille is really coming on and Laycock is coming through the system. They also have a good prospect in O'Keefe (??).
Essendon are still struglling with cap room (Mecuri's contract is killing them) Lloyd and Hird are on massive contract. I still think they couldn't afford Ottens. I would have thought they are in greater need of pace in the midfield.
Having said all that I think AFC would not trade Goodwin even if they get Ottens in return.
BTW, Esendon get Pick 9 via Richmond for Solomon;)
BTW, Esendon get Pick 9 via Richmond for Solomon;) Richmond can't be that dumb, can they?
Stiffy_18
11 Oct 2003, 22:38
Richmond can't be that dumb, can they? Hey they are offering Brown $500K a yera and Solomon $380K a year.
They also said they are expecting 1st and 2nd round picks for en Holland.
Does that answer your question??????:p
spindoctor
11 Oct 2003, 22:44
Ottens would be a good pick-up, still young and very good when he isn't over-used like Richmond tried to do...playing him forward, back and ruck is not good for his longevity during the season.
Essendon might take a look at some our midfield extras...such as Gallagher and Doughty, we could get Ottens for them and a draft pick to Richmond who could on-trade them to Essendon for Solomon.
lozstar
11 Oct 2003, 22:54
I'd rather get Charman than ship off Goodwin to Hawthorn :(
(i hate trade week! :mad: :()
Stiffy_18
11 Oct 2003, 22:55
Ottens would be a good pick-up, still young and very good when he isn't over-used like Richmond tried to do...playing him forward, back and ruck is not good for his longevity during the season.
Essendon might take a look at some our midfield extras...such as Gallagher and Doughty, we could get Ottens for them and a draft pick to Richmond who could on-trade them to Essendon for Solomon. If we are to get Ottens it would take a hell of a lot more than what you mentioned.
If we really want him we have to say goodbye to someone like Goodwin;)
Stiffy_18
11 Oct 2003, 22:59
Originally posted by lozstar
I'd rather get Charman than ship off Goodwin to Hawthorn :( With me its a no brainer. i would rather have Ottens than Goodwin;)
As much as I like Goodwin, Ottens would be much more valuable to our team
lozstar
11 Oct 2003, 23:13
With me its a no brainer. i would rather have Ottens than Goodwin;)
As much as I like Goodwin, Ottens would be much more valuable to our team I would too.. But Goody was playing alright until he got injured, so once he's all over that next year he'll be playing like he should be..
So instead of getting rid of an important player like him, it'd be better to get Charman (I'm guessing he wouldn't cost as much as Ottens would?) it'd be a win win situation that way!
... Or if Ottens gets #36, I'll be happy :p
Stiffy_18
11 Oct 2003, 23:27
Originally posted by lozstar
I would too.. But Goody was playing alright until he got injured, so once he's all over that next year he'll be playing like he should be..
So instead of getting rid of an important player like him, it'd be better to get Charman (I'm guessing he wouldn't cost as much as Ottens would?) it'd be a win win situation that way!
... Or if Ottens gets #36, I'll be happy :p Doesn't matter. Good midfielders are easier to find than good ruckman.
Goody is 27 and has 5 years max left. Ottens is 23 and has 7-8 years left. You gotta give quality to get quality. While losing Goody will leave a bit of a hole in our midfield, we get a gun ruckman.
Charman is a good prospect but nowhere near as good as Ottens;)
spindoctor
11 Oct 2003, 23:52
This is true
macca23
12 Oct 2003, 00:05
Essendon would be having their normal salary cap problems IMO, thanks mainly to a back end loaded Hird contract which is rumoured to be close to a million dollars for 2004. On top of that Mercuri is on at least $400,000 and isn't up to it any more.
As for the poll, I'd take Charman in a heartbeat for pick 14 if we could. He really does have a future.
As much as it would hurt to lose Goody, if we could do a trade - which I doubt - for Ottens, then we should as players like Ottens are rarely available.
Stiffy_18
12 Oct 2003, 00:12
Originally posted by macca23
As much as it would hurt to lose Goody, if we could do a trade - which I doubt - for Ottens, then we should as players like Ottens are rarely available. My point all along;)
Russian
12 Oct 2003, 17:50
Essendon couldn't afford his salary. He would be on higher money than Solomon.
I see hawks want a player for Rawlings. How about:
Goodwin to Hawks
Rawlings to Kangaroos
Solomon and Pick 25 (from Hawthorn) to Richmond
Ottens to Adelaide
Pick 9 to Essendon
Might need a bit of sweetening here and there but I would be thrilled with that.
Then
Perrie to Western Bulldogs
Pick 19 to Adelaide
Goodwin for Rawlings is a fair deal, don't think Hawthorn should be giving up an extra pick, make it Essendons 2nd round pick then its fair
Second one looks fair enough
Kane McGoodwin
12 Oct 2003, 18:16
Essendon would be having their normal salary cap problems IMO, thanks mainly to a back end loaded Hird contract which is rumoured to be close to a million dollars for 2004. On top of that Mercuri is on at least $400,000 and isn't up to it any more.
As for the poll, I'd take Charman in a heartbeat for pick 14 if we could. He really does have a future.
As much as it would hurt to lose Goody, if we could do a trade - which I doubt - for Ottens, then we should as players like Ottens are rarely available.
Like you Macca, I reckon the Dons are still tight cap-wise. The know that they couldn't even offer Solomon anything close to what the Tigers are offering (mind you, nor should they!) So can't see them getting close to fitting in Ottens.
Mind you, we have problems fitting it Ottens too, though if we had to offload a gun player like Goodwin to make the deal happen, we should be OK (certainly have more room thean the Dons).
Even though Ottens would come at more of a cost than Charman, I think he would be worth it, as he solves 2 problems, by giving us a player who can play in the ruck & up forward.
Whilst Charman is worth pick 14, I'm not sure whether it would be the right thing for us to do. Like Dave, I'm leaning towards drafting a young KPP. However, if we were able to offload some players for draft picks (obviously in a 3-way deal), then it may be worth considering.
naughty monkey
13 Oct 2003, 00:37
If you really do have a shot at Ottens then you must do whatever it takes to make it happen. It will take more than Goodwin to get him (if you're being dinkum).
Pull this off and it would be the biggest coup for AFC since the McLeod deal.
For all that, I don't believe Ottens will be available, at least not this year anyway.
For that reason I would still be concentrating on Motlop.
naughty monkey
13 Oct 2003, 00:42
Back to the original topic...
I would be very surprised to see Charman leave the Lions. He is a Queensland boy who is happy playing in Qld. The fact he hasn't signed yet (if true) is just an indication that he's trying to squeeze a bit more dough out of them. When it gets serious he will re-sign.
Stiffy_18
14 Oct 2003, 22:37
OK I really want to get rid of Ben Marsh this year and unless we get someone better than big sook, he will stay.
I am thinking who could be a bargain pick up that is better than Marsh and is competative at AFL level.
How does Ricky Mott sound??????
By all reports he had a great year in WAFL and Fremantle have elevated him off the rookie list which means he can be traded if they get the right offer.
They need a bit of help in the midfield so I was thinking if we can get Mott for Gallagher, I would take it.
Thoughts??????
Kane McGoodwin
14 Oct 2003, 23:19
OK I really want to get rid of Ben Marsh this year and unless we get someone better than big sook, he will stay.
I am thinking who could be a bargain pick up that is better than Marsh and is competative at AFL level.
How does Ricky Mott sound??????
By all reports he had a great year in WAFL and Fremantle have elevated him off the rookie list which means he can be traded if they get the right offer.
They need a bit of help in the midfield so I was thinking if we can get Mott for Gallagher, I would take it.
Thoughts??????
Stiffy, you are not coming around are you... ;)
The SANFL GF did the Crows a favour & showed him for the dud he is. Heck if he can get outshone by Schoeller & Diabrowski (?sp of both), then either of them would be better on our list!
Marsh is clearly not up to AFL standard, so time to take a chance on someone else if we can't trade for an established player.
Kane McGoodwin
14 Oct 2003, 23:20
PS. On Mott, pretty sure he is on Freo's rookie list, so they can't trade him (even if they put him on the full list).
Stiffy
Even though Brisbane may not have signed Charman, I do not think he will be traded. With the identified salary cap issues Brisbane would be more likely to trade McDonald and keep Keating and Charman. If Adelaide want to take McDonald from Brisbane like when Matthew Clarke was traded for selection 6 (i believed we drafted Luke Power), I am sure that Brisbane would be more than happy.
This would also free some room in the salary cap.
Cheers
Kane McGoodwin
14 Oct 2003, 23:30
Originally posted by SDG72
Stiffy
Even though Brisbane may not have signed Charman, I do not think he will be traded. With the identified salary cap issues Brisbane would be more likely to trade McDonald and keep Keating and Charman. If Adelaide want to take McDonald from Brisbane like when Matthew Clarke was traded for selection 6 (i believed we drafted Luke Power), I am sure that Brisbane would be more than happy.
This would also free some room in the salary cap.
Cheers
Adelaide would be stupid to trade a 1st round pick for McDonald.
Kane
Adelaide just need to draft youth, after there drafting of more... experienced players they should trust there recruiters. This would start to give them the balance they need.
Good Luck:)
Kane McGoodwin
14 Oct 2003, 23:38
Originally posted by SDG72
Kane
Adelaide just need to draft youth, after there drafting of more... experienced players they should trust there recruiters. This would start to give them the balance they need.
Good Luck:)
Yeah, I agree with you.
We should hold onto our early picks to draft a couple of good talls for the future, unless there is a good young gun (eg. Ottens) available (unlikely though).
We need to ensure our squad is balanced - both by age & position.
GoalsFrom50Out
14 Oct 2003, 23:39
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Schoeller & Diabrowski (?sp of both)
Scoullar and Dabrowski.
Kane McGoodwin
14 Oct 2003, 23:43
Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
Scoullar and Dabrowski.
Yeah, thought I stuffed up both!
Stiffy_18
14 Oct 2003, 23:48
PS. On Mott, pretty sure he is on Freo's rookie list, so they can't trade him (even if they put him on the full list). Actualy they can. I read the rules the other day and they can trade him as they promoted him before trade period.
Since this is the case would u trade Gags for him?:)
Stiffy_18
14 Oct 2003, 23:51
Stiffy, you are not coming around are you... ;) Hey the only time I disagree with you is when you say we should get rid of Marsh regardless of whether we get a ruckman inn trade week or not;)
I am not his fan at all. In fact the sooner we get rid of him the better BUT if we don't get a ruckman by 2pm friday Marsh is most likely to stay and Reidy confirmed this the other day on 5AA.
Kane McGoodwin
14 Oct 2003, 23:53
Actualy they can. I read the rules the other day and they can trade him as they promoted him before trade period.
Since this is the case would u trade Gags for him?:)
Geez, I wan't aware of that rule. So we could trade Skipworth then.
In answer to your question, yes I would trade Gallagher for Mott, as we have plenty of players like Gags, but lack ruck depth. Mott has also showed that whilst he is no superstar, he is capable of holding his own in the rucks. We should consider all options to rid ourselves of our Marshmellow.
Stiffy_18
14 Oct 2003, 23:57
Geez, I wan't aware of that rule. So we could trade Skipworth then. Yes but we can't trade any of our other rookies
In answer to your question, yes I would trade Gallagher for Mott, as we have plenty of players like Gags, but lack ruck depth. Mott has also showed that whilst he is no superstar, he is capable of holding his own in the rucks. We should consider all options to rid ourselves of our Marshmellow. Why doesn't that answer surprise me??????:p:)
Kane McGoodwin
14 Oct 2003, 23:59
Well Stiffy, you have taught be something new about the trade rules.
BTW, would ypu trade Gags for Mott?
Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 00:03
BTW, would ypu trade Gags for Mott? In a heart beat;)
macca23
15 Oct 2003, 00:08
BTW, would ypu trade Gags for Mott?
You betcha!! ;)
Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 00:19
You betcha!! ;) Anyone but Marsh:p
Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
Scoullar and Dabrowski.
Scoullar and Arnold were the Centrals ruck team that nullified Mr Marsh.
Dabrowski was the Bloods ruckman and I dont remember him doing that much.
acg_204*
15 Oct 2003, 02:10
Anyone but Marsh:p
Amen!!
BTW, would ypu trade Gags for Mott? No. Mott is an average tap ruckman who offers nothing else.
He doesn't fill a need at all.
Crow-mosone
15 Oct 2003, 02:53
No. Mott is an average tap ruckman who offers nothing else.
agree, he's also a nutjob.
Russian
15 Oct 2003, 03:49
I'm a fan of Ricky but he doesn't fit the Crows needs. His around the ground play isn't significantly better than Clarke, Biglands and Marsh. That's the weakness and if that problem can't be fixed then might as well stick with the status quo
Kane McGoodwin
15 Oct 2003, 10:33
So if are lead ruck duo are injured, you would prefer Marsh ahead of Mott....:confused:
So if are lead ruck duo are injured, you would prefer Marsh ahead of Mott....:confused: It's come to that again. :p
Mott v Marsh? There's probably not much in it. :o
naughty monkey
15 Oct 2003, 12:14
It's come to that again. :p
Mott v Marsh? There's probably not much in it. :o
No, but then Gallagher may be delisted if he isn't traded. So what's the harm in having a 4th ruckman for free basically?
Problem is I think Freo would say "no thanks" to Gags.
Originally posted by naughty monkey
No, but then Gallagher may be delisted if he isn't traded. So what's the harm in having a 4th ruckman for free basically? True. Although we must've overlooked Mott in the pre-season draft last year - where we didn't take anyone despite having a spot available on the list.
Problem is I think Freo would say "no thanks" to Gags. Agreed. It's a moot point anyway.
naughty monkey
15 Oct 2003, 12:21
Yes but we can't trade any of our other rookies
Are you sure?
Skip was promoted temporarily while Crowell was on the long term injury list. (I assume he's still there)
But it wasn't a "permanent" promotion as such, as with Mott.
Don't know the exact rule here, bit of a quirky one.
I'm thinking we couldn't be allowed to trade both Crowell AND Skipworth as they are effectively only one spot on the senior list. (Could be construed as giving Adelaide an advantage otherwise as they would have one extra player available to trade than the other clubs).
Kane McGoodwin
15 Oct 2003, 12:22
Originally posted by naughty monkey
No, but then Gallagher may be delisted if he isn't traded. So what's the harm in having a 4th ruckman for free basically?
Problem is I think Freo would say "no thanks" to Gags.
Exactly, we would be getting a backup ruckman for a player who is unlikely to be on our list if we can't make a trade for him.
Freo still lack midfield depth IMO & in particular wingmen, so the trade isn't as silly as it sounds.
Porthos
15 Oct 2003, 12:26
Mott would be a good get for the Crows. Craig would soon get the extra poundage off and he actually can ruck.
So if are lead ruck duo are injured, you would prefer Marsh ahead of Mott....:confused:
Bloody hell Kane i know Marsh is down near the bottom of the AFL ruck pile but so is Mott & what's the use of going through all the re-settlement & other expenses for a ruckman type that we already have,
be better off drafting a ruckman from the sanfl ranks or putting one on the rookie list,
Originally posted by Porthos
Mott would be a good get for the Crows. Craig would soon get the extra poundage off and he actually can ruck.
As much as i respect your knowledge in drafting matters & talent in the pool on this one i think you are just having a little dig at us,
Kane McGoodwin
15 Oct 2003, 12:54
Originally posted by noddy
Bloody hell Kane i know Marsh is down near the bottom of the AFL ruck pile but so is Mott & what's the use of going through all the re-settlement & other expenses for a ruckman type that we already have,
be better off drafting a ruckman from the sanfl ranks or putting one on the rookie list,
Marsh has had more than enough time at AFC. Time to look to other options, be it Mott, someone from the SANFL or someone else. Mott may not be as talented, but he has ticker, which is more than I can say for Marshmellow.
Somehow Mott reminds me of Lucas Herbert,
There must be someone in the sanfl ranks who could do a better job.
Russian
15 Oct 2003, 13:20
Mott has been promoted from the Freo rookie list so u'd have to trade for him
Thunderstruck
15 Oct 2003, 13:32
Craig Parry is the man for the job. If we cant get Charman (great proposal btw) then this guy would surely be the next best option. He is 19 years old, is very agressive, takes marks around the ground and was the leading hitout ruckman in the SANFL this year. About 194cm 98kg, and has a good leap. Ive seen enuff of him to be fully convinced he is worth picking up. Better than Marsh thats for certain!
dyertribe
15 Oct 2003, 13:35
I'd do it...
Clarke is old and is pointless when not at stoppages...
Biglands has all the physical attributes of a fine around the ground ruckman but he just doesn't do the business...
Bring Charman in so we can all call him "Darren" ;)
Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 14:21
Originally posted by Thunderstruck
Craig Parry is the man for the job. If we cant get Charman (great proposal btw) then this guy would surely be the next best option. He is 19 years old, is very agressive, takes marks around the ground and was the leading hitout ruckman in the SANFL this year. About 194cm 98kg, and has a good leap. Ive seen enuff of him to be fully convinced he is worth picking up. Better than Marsh thats for certain! I am a big fan of Parry BUT he is not big enough to be a ruckman in the AFL.
I did a bit of sniffing around and we definetly have someone in mind to recruit as far as ruckman are concerned. I wasn't able to get the name BUT we are keepng a very close eye on someone that would be a good get and we are hoping to get him for a good price.
He didn't want to tell me who it is but there is someone. I just hope its not someone like McKernan:(
dyertribe
15 Oct 2003, 14:30
He didn't want to tell me who it is but there is someone. I just hope its not someone like McKernan:(
McKernan - the future of football... :D
Should've been the first man before Goodes and Buckley to do the Rising Star/Brownlow double.
Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 14:38
Originally posted by dyertribe
McKernan - the future of football... :D
Should've been the first man before Goodes and Buckley to do the Rising Star/Brownlow double. If we get McKernan I'll follow Collingwood:mad: :( :p
So the old Corey/Carey combo might be reuinted? :D
maccas_no1
15 Oct 2003, 15:23
Good deal Stiffy, I just hope you are hiding under the AFC trade table this week;)
Also the advantage of having Ottens is he can play up forward, can take marks and kick goals, unlike Clarke and Biglands:rolleyes: , Clarke cant kick goals from 10m out:rolleyes:
Ottens would be and absoulute gem:D :D :D :D
Bye Bye Goody:(
I just want to say this but I read in Tuesday's Herald Sun that Richmond have said Ottens and Coughlan are untouchable:confused:
Hope you have a good source Stiffy;)
lozstar
15 Oct 2003, 19:34
Originally posted by maccas_no1
:mad: :mad: I'm gonna slap someone around here soon :p
UNTOUCHABLE! :)
I did a bit of sniffing around and we definetly have someone in mind to recruit as far as ruckman are concerned. I wasn't able to get the name BUT we are keepng a very close eye on someone that would be a good get and we are hoping to get him for a good price.
Loats? Seaby? Laycock?
I will not be happy if Marsh is retained.
I am hoping that if we cannot trade for a ruckman, that we can at least draft one. Hopefully we can snare Glenelg's Clint Dubencki (200 cm), too bad Norwoods Tim Nicholls (200 cm) was not up to scratch last year.
I could handle Marsh staying on the list for one more year, provided we also pick up one or two young ruckmen (even on the rookie list) to increase our ruck depth.
Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 21:36
Originally posted by Jerome
Loats? Seaby? Laycock?
I will not be happy if Marsh is retained.
I am hoping that if we cannot trade for a ruckman, that we can at least draft one. Hopefully we can snare Glenelg's Clint Dubencki (200 cm), too bad Norwoods Tim Nicholls (200 cm) was not up to scratch last year.
I could handle Marsh staying on the list for one more year, provided we also pick up one or two young ruckmen (even on the rookie list) to increase our ruck depth. I would love Laycock, that bloke will develop into one very good ruckman who can also play as key forward. Seaby would be good as well but I think it would be Loats ater reading this paragraph on AFL.comFremantle’s Steven Koops, Hawthorn’s David Loats, and Geelong trio Peter Street, Cameron Mooney and David Clarke are all tipped to find new homes before 2pm Friday Street will be a Bulldog and Mooney is not a ruckman so I would say Loats is the likely choice. Doesn't fill me with a lot of excitement but anyone is better than Marsh.
As for Laycock, I would give pick 14 and Michael Doughty to Essendon for him. I really rate the kid.
Don't worry Jerome, I think we will draft a ruckman if one is available;)
Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 21:40
Originally posted by maccas_no1
Good deal Stiffy, I just hope you are hiding under the AFC trade table this week;)
Also the advantage of having Ottens is he can play up forward, can take marks and kick goals, unlike Clarke and Biglands:rolleyes: , Clarke cant kick goals from 10m out:rolleyes:
Ottens would be and absoulute gem:D :D :D :D
I just want to say this but I read in Tuesday's Herald Sun that Richmond have said Ottens and Coughlan are untouchable:confused:
Hope you have a good source Stiffy;) Settle down mate. I posted it as one of those "fantasy trades". Nothing from a source.
The chances of it happening are close to none;)
David Loats? Oh please, he is rubbish.
Frankly I like the McKernan suggestion better.
Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 22:02
Frankly I like the McKernan suggestion better. He is off to Kangas for David Teague and 3rd round pick.
I would rather go after Laycock, Seaby or Jamar.;)
macca23
15 Oct 2003, 22:04
I would love Laycock, that bloke will develop into one very good ruckman who can also play as key forward. Seaby would be good as well but I think it would be Loats ater reading this paragraph on AFL.com Street will be a Bulldog and Mooney is not a ruckman so I would say Loats is the likely choice. Doesn't fill me with a lot of excitement but anyone is better than Marsh.
I can't believe that we would trade for Loats. :(
Strikes me as being a younger version of Marsh.
I think you're correct that they have their eyes on a specific ruckman, though. Pilko kept asking KG on 5AA this morning repeatedly who was the ruckman that the Crows were chasing but KG just wouldn't answer him. KG does get told more than most because he does keep things secret until he gets the green light to reveal it.
There's not a lot around though. Charman would be a good get, but I can't see Brisbane letting him go.
Cox or Seaby seem to be the only ones around that are worth trading for.
Seaby would be my preference, but I could live with Cox.
Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 22:12
I can't believe that we would trade for Loats. :(
Strikes me as being a younger version of Marsh.
I think you're correct that they have their eyes on a specific ruckman, though. Pilko kept asking KG on 5AA this morning repeatedly who was the ruckman that the Crows were chasing but KG just wouldn't answer him. KG does get told more than most because he does keep things secret until he gets the green light to reveal it.
There's not a lot around though. Charman would be a good get, but I can't see Brisbane letting him go.
Cox or Seaby seem to be the only ones around that are worth trading for.
Seaby would be my preference, but I could live with Cox. So KG knows something. You are right about him having a lot of good sources and he WILL keep quiet until they tell him to let it out.
As I said Loats doen't fill me with excitement at all. I have seen him play 1 good game (against Port earlier in the season) in his entire career.
Interesting about Charman. Ch 7 said that Mal Michael, Power and Lappin (????) agreed to new terms with the Lions but nothing about Charman who is out of contract.
Maybe we are barking up the wrong tree. Maybe its Beau McDonald:(
I would love Seaby or Laycock but it is very unlikely that Eagles and Bombers respectively, would entertain trading them
macca23
15 Oct 2003, 22:28
Interesting about Charman. Ch 7 said that Mal Michael, Power and Lappin (????) agreed to new terms with the Lions but nothing about Charman who is out of contract.
Maybe we are barking up the wrong tree. Maybe its Beau McDonald:(
I would love Seaby or Laycock but it is very unlikely that Eagles and Bombers respectively, would entertain trading them
I hope it's Charman.
McDonald is only 23 coming up 24, but is very injury prone, and doesn't get a lot of the ball around the ground - see his stats below up until this year when he only added another 9 games.
CAREER STATISTICS
Year Games Kicks Marks H/Balls Poss
1998 3 4.7 1.3 2.3 7.0
1999 3 1.3 0.7 0.7 2.0
2000 22 5.0 3.2 2.9 8.0
2001 23 3.2 1.3 2.8 6.0
2002 15 2.7 2.0 3.3 6.0
Total 66 3.7 2.1 2.8 6.5
2.1 marks per game and 6.5 disposals per game is not what we're looking for, although as a ruckman, he is a good ruckman.
Essendon have always struggled to have ruckmen, and although Hille came on well this year, they won't trade Laycock IMO - he's needed.
So unless we fluke Charman, Stiffy, I think it has to be one of the two West Coast Eagles players.
Kane McGoodwin
15 Oct 2003, 22:36
McDonald is only 23 coming up 24, but is very injury prone, and doesn't get a lot of the ball around the ground - see his stats below up until this year when he only added another 9 games.
Better not be McDonald - he is a poor man's Matty Clarke - like Clarke does buggar all around the ground & is a worse tap ruckman. Surely Reidy & Co realise we need a ruckman who can do stuff around the ground.
Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 22:38
I hope it's Charman. So do I;)
McDonald is only 23 coming up 24, but is very injury prone, and doesn't get a lot of the ball around the ground - see his stats below up until this year when he only added another 9 games. McDonald is a VERY good tap ruckman BUT does bugger all around the ground. Not what we are really looking for but he is WAY better than Marsh
Essendon have always struggled to have ruckmen, and although Hille came on well this year, they won't trade Laycock IMO - he's needed. I agree. They would be mad to let him go but we can always ask politely:)
So unless we fluke Charman, Stiffy, I think it has to be one of the two West Coast Eagles players. Cox or Seaby?????? Or it could be someone like Mark Porter:( or god forbid Steven McKee:(
Please let it be Charman:)
macca23
15 Oct 2003, 22:50
Or it could be someone like Mark Porter:( or god forbid Steven McKee:(
Did you know Stiffy that Collingwood actually approached the Crows, knowing that we were looking for a ruckman, and tried to unload that dud Mckee on us.
We very politely refused. :)
It won't be Mark Porter - I'd put money on that.
My other fear is Barnaby bloody French - we don't want that dud either.
Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 22:56
Did you know Stiffy that Collingwood actually approached the Crows, knowing that we were looking for a ruckman, and tried to unload that dud Mckee on us.
We very politely refused. :) Yeah I heard that and I couldn't stop laughing. How could they possibly think that a ruckman who can't make their side would be welcome at AFC??????:rolleyes:
My other fear is Barnaby bloody French - we don't want that dud either. I think its a possibility. His name has been whispered around the traps lately but not from my usual source. He is a dud but a dud of higher "quality" than Marsh.
I would prefer someone younger.
Grrrr... we are after Loats. Get serious Adelaide. We should be recruiting for quality.
I'm also appalled but not surprised that Bassett is in the trade bait category.
http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,7573933-23211,00.html
Crows cast net for Hawk
By Michelangelo Rucci
October 16, 2003
UNCONTRACTED Hawthorn ruckman David Loats may answer one of Adelaide's wishlist items as the Crows continue a low-key approach to AFL trade week.
Loats, 22 and an 11-game player with the Hawks, has been handed a new offer by Hawthorn but so far has not indicated whether he wants to remain Peter Everitt's understudy or move on.
This has prompted Adelaide to ask Hawthorn's position on trading Loats.
Adelaide football operations manager John Reid last night confirmed the Crows' interest in Loats as a potential addition to the ruck crew of Matthew Clarke, Rhett Biglands and the out-of-contract Ben Marsh.
"It is no secret we are looking for a ruckman who will emerge with time and also be ready to go if we need him," Reid said. "Loats fits that category.
"But while we are interested, we also need there to be a realistic evaluation from Hawthorn on how the trade would happen. We'll only talk if there is a realistic trade."
Hawthorn football operations manager John Hook yesterday declared Loats must decide his future.
"It's not up to us now; we've put a new contract to his manager but he hasn't told us what he is doing yet," Hook said. "If he wants to go, he will have to tell us soon."
Adelaide is increasingly likely to be without a trade by Friday's 1.30pm deadline after attracting little interest in its bait list which reportedly has included defender Nathan Bassett, Martin Mattner and Michael Doughty.
The Advertiser
Stiffy_18
16 Oct 2003, 11:38
At least he is only 22 and has played a couple of good games.:(
Anyone is better than Ben Marsh. Not really surprised by Bassett as being trade bait but if he does go (which looks unlikely) then we have no FB unless we transform Biglands into one.
I just get the feeling that we will get out of this trade period empty handed because these big deals are taking too bloody long:mad:
Jars458
16 Oct 2003, 12:11
I just get the feeling that we will get out of this trade period empty handed because these big deals are taking too bloody long:mad:
Wouldn't be the end of the world if so. We have a decent squad and we will just then have to suplement it with some youngsters in the draft.
NO point trading for trading's sake.
blighty
16 Oct 2003, 12:25
Rehn would be the source for the interest in Loats.......
You'd reckon if he said he was a dud they wouldn't show any further interest!
from that we can deduce he's worth chasing !!
MaccasNeighbour
16 Oct 2003, 12:29
Originally posted by Jars458
Wouldn't be the end of the world if so. We have a decent squad and we will just then have to suplement it with some youngsters in the draft.
I agree! Unless we can get a quality defender, or a quality young ruckman, there isn't too much point in getting heavily involved in the trade. I don't see us getting either of these.
We don't have too many weaknesses in our squad. We've got a good defence, good midfield, 2 good rucks and if our forward line can stay fit in 2004 we should be a high scoring team. The only person we really need to trade is our coach.
In the midfield: McLeod, Goodwin, Ladhams and Bode had poor seasons compared to 2002. If 2 of these guys have better seasons then we'll be laughing.
In defence: McGregor and Johncock will continue to get better, Hart, Edwards and Smart are always reliable
Ruck: As much as we like to have a go at them, we have 2 of the best rucks going around. Hopefully they can stay fit most of the season.
Forward: Imagine having Carey, Stevens, Perrie and Welsh all fit and playing at the same time! What team, apart from maybe Brisbane could contain 4 tall forwards all capable of kicking 40+ goals?
Kane McGoodwin
16 Oct 2003, 14:15
Originally posted by Jars458
I agree Jars that we should not be trading for players for the sake of it.
However, I believe we should be trading some (2) of our fringe midfielders away, even if it is just for mid-round picks, so we can bring through our next generation of players (Reilly, Schuback, etc) & plan for the future generation too, by injecting some new talent.
macca23
16 Oct 2003, 14:25
However, I believe we should be trading some (2) of our fringe midfielders away, even if it is just for mid-round picks, so we can bring through our next generation of players (Reilly, Schuback, etc) & plan for the future generation too, by injecting some new talent.
And you're right IMO. Makes very good sense.
maccas_no1
16 Oct 2003, 15:10
Okay have a couple of queries about this Loates lad as I have never seen him play, Is he Sth Aussie????? If he isnt will he play his entire career at the AFC or are we going to develope him into a great ruckman only to lose him in say 5-6 yrs time when he gets 'home sick'??????? I know we need a good ruck solution but I feel at the minute we have two very capable ruckman, I think we really need to get Biglands playing more around the ground, by that I mean instead of benching him when he isnt rucking give him a rest up forward let him develop his marking and kicking skills, he is tall and resonably strong give Biglands a chance to become an Ottens type player;)
Stiffy_18
16 Oct 2003, 15:23
No Loats is NOT Sth Aussie.
You are right we have 2 good ruckman but thats the problem, we have bugger all depth.
I am not a big fan of Loats BUT surely he would be better than Marsh. Loats is an athletic 200 cm ruckman and is only 22. If we get him we would have a developing ruckman that can play AFL if one of our big man goes down. I would still say he is better to have on the list than Marsh.
If we get Loats for say Gallagher and still draft a young ruckman n the draft, I would be happy.
This would mean we get rid off Marsh of course
Thunderstruck
16 Oct 2003, 15:27
Pfft Loats. What on earth for? We are supposed to be solving our problems and looking for answers not making more problems with more answers to answer for!!
He is better than Marsh but only just.
Parry is a fine size and while he aint tall at 194cm he has a great leap and is agressive which will be enough to see him succeed. White is 195cm, Barnes 193cm, Goodes 194cm etc etc. While he wouldnt come near these guys in terms of talent, he'd be a much better option than Loats...really come on, get serious guys!
maccas_no1
16 Oct 2003, 15:33
Agree Stiffy he would be a better option than Marsh, I just dont want the AFC to go for the 'band aid' option that we may have to fix when the lad gets 'homesick' What is the status with Jamie Charman??????
Thunderstruck
16 Oct 2003, 15:40
Cox would be a fine solution but we'd have to trade a bit to get him. He is prolly going to be better than Charman, works around the ground well, kicks goals and gets a tonne of hitouts and is 204cm and still young.
Stiffy_18
16 Oct 2003, 16:44
Originally posted by Thunderstruck
Cox would be a fine solution but we'd have to trade a bit to get him. He is prolly going to be better than Charman, works around the ground well, kicks goals and gets a tonne of hitouts and is 204cm and still young. Cox would be good BUT we would have to trade our 1st round pick at least to get him.
Loats wouldn't cost much but he actually MIGHT develop into a decent ruckman. I have only seen him play 3 games and he did impress me against Port earlier this year in shocking conditions.
I think the strategy for us this year is to get something that will help us without selling the farm. Loats is no superstar but he is better than Marsh