View Full Version : Crows Trade Thread

Pages : [1] 2

Kane McGoodwin
13 Oct 2003, 10:23
When you hear of any Crows' trades, post them here. :)

Stiffy_18
13 Oct 2003, 13:50
Let the games begin!!!!!! :D

Jars458
13 Oct 2003, 14:59
More stickies than you can poke a sticky stick at.:mad:

Kane McGoodwin
13 Oct 2003, 15:06
Originally posted by Jars458
More stickies than you can poke a sticky stick at.:mad:
Only temporary for the week Jars, so you can get a summary of the Crows trades in the 1 place. :)

Jars458
13 Oct 2003, 15:58
Originally posted by Kane McGoodwin
Only temporary for the week Jars, so you can get a summary of the Crows trades in the 1 place. :)

what about the other three:mad: ;)

Stiffy_18
13 Oct 2003, 20:25
While its not a trade it has to do with a trade week.

I got in contact with my source and there are a number of clubs interested in a few of our senior players. While we are VERY unlikely to trade away any of them its nice to know there are clubs out there that want something we have:)

Simon Goodwin, Nathan Bassett, Tyson Edwards, Mark Stevens, Scott Welsh, Matthew Bode, Ken McGregor, Ben Hart and Rhett Biglands have attracted some interest from a few clubs. However, it was made very clear that it would take something bloody special to part with these blokes.

We also have approached Brisbane for a possibility of getting Mal Michael. Brisbane are hoping to sign him up in the next couple of days. We will wait and see what happens. We will still be keeping an eye on that one.

Basically we are waiting to see what happens with the big name players so we can see if we can exchange a couple of 2nd tier players.

Crow-mosone
13 Oct 2003, 20:36
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
While its not a trade it has to do with a trade week.

I got in contact with my source and there are a number of clubs interested in a few of our senior players. While we are VERY unlikely to trade away any of them its nice to know there are clubs out there that want something we have:)

Simon Goodwin, Nathan Bassett, Tyson Edwards, Mark Stevens, Scott Welsh, Matthew Bode, Ken McGregor, Ben Hart and Rhett Biglands have attracted some interest from a few clubs. However, it was made very clear that it would take something bloody special to part with these blokes.

We also have approached Brisbane for a possibility of getting Mal Michael. Brisbane are hoping to sign him up in the next couple of days. We will wait and see what happens. We will still be keeping an eye on that one.

Basically we are waiting to see what happens with the big name players so we can see if we can exchange a couple of 2nd tier players.

No one has enquired about Ben Hart - geez, where did you get that from. Can't believe anyone would ask about stevens or welsh with their injury records recently.

Mal Michael would be someone we definately need, he should be our no.1 target.

Jerome
13 Oct 2003, 21:00
Stiffy,

Any enquiries about Massie? Dont get me wrong I like the bloke, nice guy, good clubman, can play. His form at the end of 2003 was good and I would say his value is up atm.

I have this feeling that sooner or later he will be traded back to a Vic club if we want a big name player from a Vic club. He has a family and a house in Melbourne, if he was traded he would have no hassles settling in.

People keep talking about Bass or Goody heading east, for a quality KPP or ruckman, I reckon Mass would be gone before those guys.

Stiffy_18
13 Oct 2003, 21:06
Originally posted by Jerome
Stiffy,

Any enquiries about Massie? Dont get me wrong I like the bloke, nice guy, good clubman, can play. His form at the end of 2003 was good and I would say his value is up atm.

I have this feeling that sooner or later he will be traded back to a Vic club if we want a big name player from a Vic club. He has a family and a house in Melbourne, if he was traded he would have no hassles settling in.

People keep talking about Bass or Goody heading east, for a quality KPP or ruckman, I reckon Mass would be gone before those guys. I haven't heard anything regarding Massie mate. According to my source our mob was pleasently surprised by the amount of interest that those players have received.

We will definetly just step back and see how we can improve our list without selling the farm.

I think Massie is close to signing a new 2 year deal. (not 100% sure)

Stiffy_18
13 Oct 2003, 21:25
Originally posted by Crow-mosone
No one has enquired about Ben Hart - geez, Hawthorn;)

Can't believe anyone would ask about stevens or welsh with their injury records recently. Geelong have enquired about both of them as well as Burton;)

noddy
13 Oct 2003, 21:40
Hawthorn;)

Geelong have enquired about both of them as well as Burton;)

At the risk of having daggers thrown,

Stevens & Welsh in exchange for Harley & Enright,

Crow-mosone
13 Oct 2003, 21:41
Hawthorn;)

laughable rubbish.

Geelong have enquired about both of them as well as Burton;)

Bollocks.
maybe someone asked about burton

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
13 Oct 2003, 21:42
OOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHH I hate this time of year. I get soooo nervous. I'll be praying that we don't trade Stevo :( I know it is unlikely but you never know what can happen!

k
xx

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
13 Oct 2003, 21:43
Originally posted by noddy

Stevens & Welsh in exchange for Harley & Enright,

Here comes a dagger Noddy!!!!!! Watch out!!!!!!!!!

k
xx

Stiffy_18
13 Oct 2003, 21:43
Bollocks.
maybe someone asked about burton If you say so. Why don't you ring Fantasia yourself and ask;)

Stiffy_18
13 Oct 2003, 21:44
Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
OOOOOOOOHHHHHHHHHH I hate this time of year. I get soooo nervous. I'll be praying that we don't trade Stevo :( I know it is unlikely but you never know what can happen!

k
xx Just sit back and relax MarksGirl, we are NOT trading Stevo;)

Stiffy_18
13 Oct 2003, 21:47

Stevens & Welsh in exchange for Harley & Enright, NO WAY mate.

Enright is a midfielder and Harley a defender. Both are easier to find than forwards.

Crow-mosone
13 Oct 2003, 21:50
NO WAY mate.

Enright is a midfielder and Harley a defender. Both are easier to find than forwards.

Spot on.

if we trade 2 of our best 3 forwards, then we have to replace them again. how does that make us better?

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
13 Oct 2003, 21:53
Just sit back and relax MarksGirl, we are NOT trading Stevo;)

I hope your right Stiffy! I couldn't imagine us doing a deal for him - I know they rate him very highly down at the AFC. With a big preseason hopefully he can get back to his best form in 2004!

k
xx

Crow-mosone
13 Oct 2003, 21:54
If you say so. Why don't you ring Fantasia yourself and ask;)

listen either you're talking rubbish, or you can't tell when you're listening to it.

Neither of which is something to advertise.

We need defenders, why would someone even think we would trade our 30 YR old, best defender. at that age, and under that circumstance, it would NOT happen.

If geelong asked about stevens & welsh, it would have been during the same conversation we had with them about King & ablett Jr. - in the pub after 10 beers.

noddy
13 Oct 2003, 21:57
Here comes a dagger Noddy!!!!!! Watch out!!!!!!!!!

k
xx

Ouch !!

sorry about that kb but i couldn't resist it when i seen you was about the place,:)

Stiffy_18
13 Oct 2003, 21:57
Spot on.

if we trade 2 of our best 3 forwards, then we have to replace them again. how does that make us better? And thats the key to trading. Especially this year. How can we improve our list without selling the farm? We are going to sit back and see what happens. This year its not about getting B&F type of players. Its about adressing our needs.

We needs to trade for bargains. If we trade just for the sake of trading we are not doing our job properly.

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
13 Oct 2003, 22:00
Ouch !!

sorry about that kb but i couldn't resist it when i seen you was about the place,:)

LOL - you fuel my nightmares with posts like that! :( :D :)

k
xx

noddy
13 Oct 2003, 22:03
listen either you're talking rubbish, or you can't tell when you're listening to it.

We need defenders, why would someone even think we would trade our 30 YR old, best defender. at that age, and under that circumstance, it would NOT happen.

If geelong asked about stevens & welsh, it would have been during the same conversation we had with them about King & ablett Jr. - in the pub after 10 beers.

In defense of Stiffy i believe he said that some clubs were making inquiries about certain players,

anyway there would be very few players at all clubs that would not be traded if the right deal was to come about.

Stiffy_18
13 Oct 2003, 22:17

If geelong asked about stevens & welsh, it would have been during the same conversation we had with them about King & ablett Jr. - in the pub after 10 beers. You are either not listening to me or you are as thick as.

Why would he lie???? What has he got to gain by it because we ALL know that the chances of those trades happening are close to none.

Its the same situation as us enquiring about Mal Michael the only difference being that our blokes are under contract. They enquire about it but it doesn't mean it will happen.

Crow-mosone
13 Oct 2003, 22:42
You are either not listening to me or you are as thick as.

Why would he lie???? What has he got to gain by it because we ALL know that the chances of those trades happening are close to none.

Its the same situation as us enquiring about Mal Michael the only difference being that our blokes are under contract. They enquire about it but it doesn't mean it will happen.

why would who lie? some mate of someone, who once met someone in a pub? look, yes I know, you're mate is really well placed, not like the others one, yes, he really is in the loop...
maybe he can tell us who is on the block then, and who will be delisted?

I'm saying grain of common sense here, before you post some of this rubbish.

Jerome
14 Oct 2003, 07:43
Michael, Power to stay Lions
By MICHELANGELO RUCCI
14oct03

ADELAIDE says its is a "passive player" in the AFL trade week - but this did not stop the Crows from asking after some big-name players yesterday, in particular Brisbane premiership defender Mal Michael.

Adelaide, whose coach Gary Ayres has declared the need for a key defender and ruckman a priority, yesterday felt compelled to ask if the out-of-contract Michael was on Brisbane's trade list.
Brisbane recruiting manager Kinnear Beatson yesterday was adamant Michael and premiership midfielder Luke Power, who is wanted by the Western Bulldogs, are both "required players" and would not be traded.

Adelaide football operations manager John Reid left yesterday's session saying: "That is the quietest day we've ever had (at trade talks).

"We didn't go with a shopping list. And until the bigger deals fall into place, we're not sure what is going to pop up to draw our interest."

Adelaide also has decided to hold off any delistings until after the trade period ends at 1.30pm on Friday.

*Looks like Mal is out of the question. Guess we had better look elsewhere.

PrideOf
14 Oct 2003, 10:45
I won't rule out Mal Michael until Saturday morning.

EVERY player at this stage (bar those who have publicly said they're quitting) is referred to as a required player.

Stiffy_18
14 Oct 2003, 15:10
Originally posted by PrideOf
I won't rule out Mal Michael until Saturday morning. I won't rule him out until the deadline. Until 2pm on Friday I would be having a crack at Michael.

maccas_no1
14 Oct 2003, 15:21
How about this Perrie, Stenglin and our first rnd draft to pick to Freo for ....................................MATTHEW PAVLICH;) :D ;)

RaDaR ReiLLy
14 Oct 2003, 18:00
Originally posted by maccas_no1
How about this Perrie, Stenglin and our first rnd draft to pick to Freo for ....................................MATTHEW PAVLICH;) :D ;)
Over my dead body!
I love Matty Pav but I will protest if Stinger goes! :mad:
Perrie on the other hand, I have one word: meh! :o

lozstar
14 Oct 2003, 19:36
How about this Perrie, Stenglin and our first rnd draft to pick to Freo for ....................................MATTHEW PAVLICH;) :D ;) ... naaah stuff pavlich! he can stay at freo :)

although perrie can be traded for someone, no worries..
but stinger, err no!

acg_204*
14 Oct 2003, 19:40

Done, hell throw in McLeod if need be.

Jerome
14 Oct 2003, 20:09
Channel 7 reports that Dogga is up for trade but more interest has been shown to Bock, Hentschel and Rutten.

Chennal 9 has reported that Tony Modra has been signed up by AFC. He will be working in the marketing dept.

lozstar
14 Oct 2003, 20:12
Chennal 9 has reported that Tony Modra has been signed up by AFC. He will be working in the marketing dept.
That was the best news I heard all day! :D :D :D

acg_204*
14 Oct 2003, 20:17
...but more interest has been shown to Bock, Hentschel and Rutten.

They'd better not even bloody think about it!!

GoalsFrom50Out
14 Oct 2003, 20:25
Bock, Hentschel.

Do it and die, AFC.

Stiffy_18
14 Oct 2003, 20:44
Channel 7 reports that Dogga is up for trade but more interest has been shown to Bock, Hentschel and Rutten. Yeah I heard that too but AFC better not trade Hentschel or there will be hell to pay:mad:

But its really interesting how know alls on these boards and in the media were quick to bag out youngsters coming through but as soon as trade week opens other clubs come knocking on our doors asking for these supposedly no good youngsters. I have seen enough of them to say that all 3 have what it takes to make it with 2 needing to bulk up and Rutten needing to improve his speed and agility. I doubt we would trade any of them but I would suspect that we could be receiving a couple of tempting offers for those blokes as this years draft is VERY thin on talls.

lozstar
14 Oct 2003, 20:47
I heard on the news that Ayres and the other have come back to Adelaide today.... So would thats it for trading for us this year?

Stiffy_18
14 Oct 2003, 20:53
Originally posted by lozstar
I heard on the news that Ayres and the other have come back to Adelaide today.... So would thats it for trading for us this year? NO we are still waiting to see what happens. No smaller deals will get done until one of the big deals goes down. Once one deal is done the rest follow.

At this stage it looks like big deals are not even close to being completed so we headed back to Adelaide. Once one of the BIG deals goes through we will get into the trading frenzy.

No need to panic but its a bit weird that no deals have been done in 2 days. I just get the feeling that so many delas will fall through because a faz machine will be jammed come friday afternoon.:(

Jerome
14 Oct 2003, 21:08
That was the best news I heard all day! :D :D :D

No worries. I am hoping that he may be helping out/replacing Shane Ellen with the junior development stuff. That would suit Mods beautifully.

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
14 Oct 2003, 21:16
No worries. I am hoping that he may be helping out/replacing Shane Ellen with the junior development stuff. That would suit Mods beautifully.

Well he would get a few mothers interested anyway - I guess then the kids follow on.

k
xx

GoalsFrom50Out
14 Oct 2003, 21:24
I can see it now.

"CROWS TRAINING SESSION. W/ TONY MODRA." "he used to play for us."

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
14 Oct 2003, 21:34
Originally posted by GoalsFrom50Out
I can see it now.

"CROWS TRAINING SESSION. W/ TONY MODRA." "he used to play for us."

that would get me down there!.........and I know a few others who would enjoy such an event :p :D

k
xx

lozstar
14 Oct 2003, 21:54
that would get me down there!.........and I know a few others who would enjoy such an event :p :D

k
xx I'll start walking now :p

ant
14 Oct 2003, 21:58
Channel 7 reports that Dogga is up for trade but more interest has been shown to Bock, Hentschel and Rutten.

Reidy, Ayresy and Co, don't be afraid to trade! Any good offers, jump at them! :p :)

Stiffy_18
14 Oct 2003, 22:03
Originally posted by ant
Reidy, Ayresy and Co, don't be afraid to trade! Any good offers, jump at them! :p :) It looks like you have a death wish:p;)

ant
14 Oct 2003, 22:08
Well, 3? AFL games and 4 or 5 SANFL matches this year is enough for me Stiffy.

I don't know about you, but I don't need to see them play a whole year of footy to know if they have it or not.

As for the death wish, if certain players get traded, and we get a good deal, I'm more than happy to watch us prosper from Heaven :D <------this bit I realise is pretty presumptious, but I figure, after a brief stopover somewhere else, I should be headed there eventually....

Stiffy_18
14 Oct 2003, 22:12
Originally posted by ant
Well, 3? AFL games and 4 or 5 SANFL matches this year is enough for me Stiffy.

I don't know about you, but I don't need to see them play a whole year of footy to know if they have it or not. I bet you would have said the same thing last year about Reilly;)

Time will tell and I reckon time is on my side;)

ant
14 Oct 2003, 22:34
I bet you would have said the same thing last year about Reilly;)

Time will tell and I reckon time is on my side;)

Stiffy, you make it sound like I bag all our young players!

I only bag those with minimal talent and who, most likely, will not make the grade.

I'm pretty sure I saw something in Reilly from reasonably early on.....that one handball he got against the Saints last year was sensational ;)

Time will tell and time is on your side. What is on my side is fact we're talking about Trent Hentschel here :p

Stiffy_18
14 Oct 2003, 22:41
Originally posted by ant
Stiffy, you make it sound like I bag all our young players! Well not all of them but most of them. You look for negatives in most of our youngsters:p

I still think Hentschel is a VERY good player in the making. If he can have a full pre-season and put on some muscle he will get a few games under his belt in 2004;)

Kane McGoodwin
14 Oct 2003, 23:15
Originally posted by ant
Reidy, Ayresy and Co, don't be afraid to trade! Any good offers, jump at them! :p :)
Ant I tend to agree, but perhaps for different reasons to you. We may get an offer for 1 of these players that is too good to refuse & allow us to either pick up another quality player we need (eg. ruckman) or an early pick. We should not completely close our minds. I have serious doubts about Bock being a KPP, so I would trade him as we have plenty of his (flanker) type. Hentschel & Rutten on the hand would need a very good offer ... but anything is possible. We should not trade both though.

** waits for abuse **

ant
14 Oct 2003, 23:47
It's all about improving the list, in both the short-term and long-term. If we can do that by trading any of these players, we should.

Kane McGoodwin
14 Oct 2003, 23:49
Originally posted by ant
It's all about improving the list, in both the short-term and long-term. If we can do that by trading any of these players, we should.
I agree & that may mean trading a valuable player, who has more perceived value at another club.

Stiffy_18
14 Oct 2003, 23:54
If we trade Hentschel I burn down AFC:mad: :p

It would have to be a bloody good deal for us to trade these blokes as this years draft is VERY thin on talls and by all reports so its the next year's draft.

Kane McGoodwin
14 Oct 2003, 23:58

It would have to be a bloody good deal for us to trade these blokes as this years draft is VERY thin on talls and by all reports so its the next year's draft.
I agree with you Stiffy, which is why I said it would have to be a very good deal. What if we were offered a top-5 pick (bloody unlikely I know)?

Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 00:00
I agree with you Stiffy, which is why I said it would have to be a very good deal. What if we were offered a top-5 pick (bloody unlikely I know)? If it was that pick you would take it but that deal is as real as fake t|ts:p

KEEP HENTSCHEL:(

Kane McGoodwin
15 Oct 2003, 00:03
If it was that pick you would take it but that deal is as real as fake t|ts:p

KEEP HENTSCHEL:(
Stranger things have happened.

What if the Dees miss out on Holland & are looking for a good young KPP offer us their #5 pick for Hentschel & Doughty/Bode?

Sure, it isn't very likely to happen, but who was to say that the Saints would go after Brooks in a big way last year.

macca23
15 Oct 2003, 00:03

I'm with you on Hentschel, Stiffy - after all we are the 2 members of the official "I believe in Hentschel club" ;)

Any offer for Rutten and Bock that significantly improved our list or draft position would seriously have to be considered IMO. But only one of them, not both.

Because of the lack of talls in the draft, we just might get over value for them.

Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 00:06
Stranger things have happened.

What if the Dees miss out on Holland & are looking for a good young KPP offer us their #5 pick for Hentschel & Doughty/Bode?

Sure, it isn't very likely to happen, but who was to say that the Saints would go after Brooks in a big way last year. Dude, I can tell you straight away that Demons would rather give Richmond Pick 20 for Holland than give us Pick 5 for Hentschel + Bode/Doughty.

Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 00:09
Originally posted by macca23
I'm with you on Hentschel, Stiffy - after all we are the 2 members of the official "I believe in Hentschel club" ;)

Any offer for Rutten and Bock that significantly improved our list or draft position would seriously have to be considered IMO. But only one of them, not both.

Because of the lack of talls in the draft, we just might get over value for them. I knew you would come to my rescue. :) I have been a lone hand in this battle:(

I agree with you. I wouldn't trade Hentschel but I would consider offers for the other 2. But even then it would have to be a very good deal for us.

Lets face it we need tals and there is no point in trading our talls if we cannot get better talls in return.

Kane McGoodwin
15 Oct 2003, 00:10
Dude, I can tell you straight away that Demons would rather give Richmond Pick 20 for Holland than give us Pick 5 for Hentschel + Bode/Doughty.
Stiffy, yes I realise that this trade is very, very unlikely to ever happen, but just giving you an (albeit unrealistic) example of where we may get an offer that is too good to refuse for one of our younger players. We shouldn't close our door to any possibility.

Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 00:16
Stiffy, yes I realise that this trade is very, very unlikely to ever happen, but just giving you an (albeit unrealistic) example of where we may get an offer that is too good to refuse for one of our younger players. We shouldn't close our door to any possibility. No question I would consider it;)

and I would trade Hentschel in that deal:(:p

macca23
15 Oct 2003, 00:21
I have to say this though. I really wish that they would pull their fingers out and get the major trades done.

If they don't I can see them lingering right to the death knock on Friday, which will prevent a myriad of smaller trades taking place - and it's in this category that the smart teams can pick up a bargain.

That would really sh*t me if that happened.

Jerome
15 Oct 2003, 00:25
I have to say this though. I really wish that they would pull their fingers out and get the major trades done.

If they don't I can see them lingering right to the death knock on Friday, which will prevent a myriad of smaller trades taking place - and it's in this category that the smart teams can pick up a bargain.

That would really sh*t me if that happened.

I agree and the fact that the Crows staff have come back to SA could be a bit of a worry. I would have stayed in Melbourne no matter what, so that if something comes up we are onto it ASAP.

Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 00:27

That would really sh*t me if that happened. Thats my worry. These big trades will drag out and we will miss out.

Its a bit unusual that no delas have been done in first 2 days. Hopefully someone gets the bloody ball rolling tommorrow:(

Stiffy_18
15 Oct 2003, 00:30
I agree and the fact that the Crows staff have come back to SA could be a bit of a worry. I would have stayed in Melbourne no matter what, so that if something comes up we are onto it ASAP. Dude we came back last year at the end of day one. We then hard a conference call with Kangas and Tigers and got the Carey deal stitched up that night and made it official the next morning.

We also stayed in Adelaide for the rest of the week and did Burns trade via phone and fax Machine.

The fact that they came back doesn't worry me one bit;)

macca23
15 Oct 2003, 00:40

The fact that they came back doesn't worry me one bit;)

No, their return doesn't worry me either Stiffy.

It's the lack of any bloody action at all that does!! :(

DaveW
15 Oct 2003, 06:52
Channel 7 reports that Dogga is up for trade but more interest has been shown to Bock, Hentschel and Rutten. I would highly doubt we've been offered anything more than peanuts for these three.

Remember they all came via the pre-season or rookie draft. Which I assume means they were overlooked in the 2001 national draft.

They've done nothing in the two years since they would've significantly increased their value.

#5 pick? Get off the drugs, Kane.

And Crow-mosone: Hawthorn gave up a first round pick for an aging ruckman who had had three knee reconstructions. Why then is it so surprising that they'd enquire about an experienced, reliable defender, who is a similar age to what Rehn was, but has a much better history with injuries?

Kane McGoodwin
15 Oct 2003, 10:30
Originally posted by DaveW
I would highly doubt we've been offered anything more than peanuts for these three.

Remember they all came via the pre-season or rookie draft. Which I assume means they were overlooked in the 2001 national draft.

They've done nothing in the two years since they would've significantly increased their value.

#5 pick? Get off the drugs, Kane.

Dave - Rutten, Hentschel & Bock are likely to command more value than Bode, Doughty, Gallagher & Marsh. The issue I began discussing is that we should keep our options open to trading these guys (not all though), as we may be given an offer to good to refuse (ie. more than they are worth to us).

If you had read all my posts, the #5 pick was just an example for Stiffy (albeit an unrealistic one) to demonstrate that another Brooks like offer could come out of the blue. I certainly wasn't suggesting it would happen (in fact said it was bloody unlikely). I don't need drugs mate as alcohol does me fine! ;)

DaveW
15 Oct 2003, 10:43
Dave - Rutten, Hentschel & Bock are likely to command more value than Bode, Doughty, Gallagher & Marsh. Bode at least would be ahead of that trio.

Like I said in my other post, why would teams be prepared to use picks on these guys now but not two years ago?

Kane McGoodwin
15 Oct 2003, 10:54
Bode at least would be ahead of that trio.

Like I said in my other post, why would teams be prepared to use picks on these guys now but not two years ago?
IMO, Hentschel & Rutten as young KPP would be worth more in a trade that a midfielder like Bode. I agree with you with Bock though.

Jerome
15 Oct 2003, 20:21
Crows in holding pattern
Matt Burgan
afl.com.au
2:44:30 PM Wed 15 October, 2003

Adelaide is adopting a wait-and-see approach to this week’s exchange period with the club likely to be involved in trades only when several higher profile players are landed by rival clubs.

Recruiting manager James Fantasia indicated that the Crows would be quieter this year, as compared to 2002 when they landed Wayne Carey, Ronnie Burns and Jason Torney during the trade period.

“We’re pretty relaxed to be honest. We’ve got a few options," Fantasia told afl.com.au on Wednesday.

"There’s a couple of guys that we’ve showed some interest in and we’ve had a few guys show some interest in our blokes, but none of them match up at this stage."

“Like you’ll find with many of these things, other clubs that you’re dealing with are tending to wait because they’re tied up somewhere in these other deals," he said.

"So they try and get their priorities out of the way first. We’re pretty quiet. I’ve done the ring around this morning and it seems like there’s still a few stand-offs.”

“(There’s) some irons in the fire, but they’re back in the picking order of the trading period."

Crow-mosone
15 Oct 2003, 22:15

And Crow-mosone: Hawthorn gave up a first round pick for an aging ruckman who had had three knee reconstructions. Why then is it so surprising that they'd enquire about an experienced, reliable defender, who is a similar age to what Rehn was, but has a much better history with injuries?

fair question, let me respond:

Rehn was 28 or so, who wanted out. they hoped to turn him into a Salmon like success story, by recruiting a former champion who had grown stale at his own club. Rehn wanted out, and drove that bus. Hawthorn desperately needed a ruckman at that time.

No one is desperate for a 30 year old, who doesn't want to move, plays as a mid sized defender, is worth more to his current club than to any he could be traded for.

Ben Hart means a lot to the AFC, symbolically and as a player. He is happy, doesn't want to move, and is very much needed by his club. Ben Hart is as likely to move as Nathan Buckley. No one has seriously asked about Buckley this trading period either.

Hart will be our first 300 game player.
His age means that he does not improve the prospects for any team, when weighed up against his age.

Wanted players at his age do not get traded, only ones who have gotten stale, asked for too much cash, or worn out their welcome. Schwass, Paul Williams, Paul Salmon, Shaun Rehn all come to mind recently.

A team will not waste it's time asking about clun stalwarts, do you think anyone asked about mcleod or Ricciuto? if a club is fishing, they will assess a club's strengths, see if there is any excess, and make a pitch for someone that the club had not thought of trading, but they might be able to do with out for the right deal. Mal Michael probably fits that criteria, with AFC asking.
usually rejected, but sometimes a surprise happens.

AFC is trying to replace Nigel Smart, is in dispute with Nathan Basset, and generally lacks tall options in defence. Who in their right mind went fishing for a 30 year old, club stalwart who is needed, and doesn't want to move?

answer: no ****ing one.
Besides John Hook said in the Rawlings deal that, Hawthorn is not interested in bringing in any player over the age of 26, to that football club.

spindoctor
15 Oct 2003, 22:23
Hart would never leave. Though I doubt Hawthorn would knock back an offer by the Crows to let him go...Hart is one of the most consistently reliable players in the competition.

Kane McGoodwin
15 Oct 2003, 23:00
IMO, Hart is virtually an untouchable. ie. We would need to be offered a deal where we were ripping of the other club blind if were to part with him.

spindoctor
15 Oct 2003, 23:31
Matty Lloyd for Ben Hart and our first draft pick?

Matty Gardiner for Ben Hart and our first draft pick?

Matty Primus for Ben Hart and our first draft pick?

Matty Richardson for Ben Hart and our first draft pick?

Matty Allan for Ben Hart and our first draft pick?

Matty Bishop for Ben Hart and our first draft pick?

Matty McCarthy for Ben Hart and our first draft pick?

Matty Lokan for a few pies and a round of pints?

macca23
15 Oct 2003, 23:33
Originally posted by spindoctor

Yes thank you!!

Crow-mosone
15 Oct 2003, 23:36
Hart would never leave. Though I doubt Hawthorn would knock back an offer by the Crows to let him go...Hart is one of the most consistently reliable players in the competition.

my point precisely, the crows would never offer him up.
he's our first 300 gamer.

DaveW
16 Oct 2003, 00:02

Matty Gardiner for Ben Hart and our first draft pick?
Removing the sentimental aspect, we'd take those.

Matty Primus for Ben Hart and our first draft pick?

Matty Richardson for Ben Hart and our first draft pick?

Matty Allan for Ben Hart and our first draft pick?

Matty Bishop for Ben Hart and our first draft pick?

Matty McCarthy for Ben Hart and our first draft pick?
You must be joking.

spindoctor
16 Oct 2003, 00:12
Seriously, what is wrong with the Matty Primus deal? He is younger than Hart and an absolutely brilliant ruckman, exactly the sort we're looking for.

Maybe our first draft pick along with Hart would be a bit much...but it's not a stretch.

Kane McGoodwin
16 Oct 2003, 00:48
Seriously, what is wrong with the Matty Primus deal? He is younger than Hart and an absolutely brilliant ruckman, exactly the sort we're looking for.

Maybe our first draft pick along with Hart would be a bit much...but it's not a stretch.
2 reasons:

1. We send one of our all time greats to Port. What a way to reward Benny ... not!

2. We end up with an ex-Port captain. Why the heck would we want to do that!

Forget it! :mad:

blighty
16 Oct 2003, 01:00
Hart " so called champion" 300 game player finished 15th in our B&F......... & he's vice captain of the club

Worst season he's ever put in !

the real question about Hart......... IS... is he going to improve?

He's simply another half back flanker who's beaten too many times for my liking & is worth whatever you can get for him in the draft!

You have to give something to get something of value & he's easily replaceable.....

Kane McGoodwin
16 Oct 2003, 01:07
Originally posted by blighty
Hart " so called champion" 300 game player finished 15th in our B&F......... & he's vice captain of the club

He's simply another half back flanker who's beaten too many times for my liking & is worth whatever you can get for him in the draft!

You have to give something to get something of value & he's easily replaceable.....
Sure Benny had one of his worst seasons, but he deserves more respect that this crap you posted. :mad:

blighty
16 Oct 2003, 02:08
Why did he have one of his worst seasons?

Was his preseason poor?

Was he injured?...... no[ not until round 20]

what were the reasons that contributed to his poor season?

Is it because he doesn't get on with the coach?

Hart is a South Australian media darling that nobody dares criticise.

Take your rose coloured glasses off & judge his performances this year for what they really were.

I'd prefer to take the opinion of the match committee who rated his performance more accurately than you did!

dyertribe
16 Oct 2003, 02:24
Yep Hart was awful this season no doubt, have said that a few times during the course of 2003 - but he's still the best defender we have by a country mile. We need to be keeping our backs, not shipping them.

Crow Boy
16 Oct 2003, 10:12

Benny certainly did not have his best year but was still a reasonable performer. If you think back to the article by Mick Malthouse he was including him in his All Australian side. Now I don't agree with that but he certainly is a player we want to keep.

The other part to consider is what it does to your footy club when you offer up a player like Benny for trade. I just think it destroys any spirit and sends a terrible message to any current and prospective players

Porthos
16 Oct 2003, 10:24
Crows cast net for Hawk (http://foxsports.news.com.au/story/0,8659,7573933-23211,00.html)

UNCONTRACTED Hawthorn ruckman David Loats may answer one of Adelaide's wishlist items as the Crows continue a low-key approach to AFL trade week.

Adelaide football operations manager John Reid last night confirmed the Crows' interest in Loats as a potential addition to the ruck crew of Matthew Clarke, Rhett Biglands and the out-of-contract Ben Marsh.

"It is no secret we are looking for a ruckman who will emerge with time and also be ready to go if we need him," Reid said. "Loats fits that category.

Adelaide is increasingly likely to be without a trade by Friday's 1.30pm deadline after attracting little interest in its bait list which reportedly has included defender Nathan Bassett, Martin Mattner and Michael Doughty.

DaveW
16 Oct 2003, 10:27
Yeah I posted that in the ruckman thread, where Loats' name was thrown up - amongst others - last night.

I can't say I'm thrilled with this development.

Porthos
16 Oct 2003, 10:29
Its a bit of a weird one, thats for sure. Are they trying to get their own back for Rehn?

DaveW
16 Oct 2003, 10:37
Originally posted by Porthos
Its a bit of a weird one, thats for sure. Are they trying to get their own back for Rehn? Heh.

They're probably thinking along the same lines as Kane McGoodwin. i.e. "anyone is better back up than Marsh"

I hope we're not planning to give up too much for Loats.

macca23
16 Oct 2003, 10:38
Yeah I posted that in the ruckman thread, where Loats' name was thrown up - amongst others - last night.

I can't say I'm thrilled with this development.

None of us could be really. :(

It shows how few young ruckman there are around or available.

lozstar
16 Oct 2003, 11:09
How about that guy who's started playing with West Adelaide, who's come from basketball trying to do the same thing that Dean Brogan did... Would he be worth trying to get as a ruckman??

Jars458
16 Oct 2003, 11:23
Why did he have one of his worst seasons?

Was his preseason poor?

Was he injured?...... no[ not until round 20]

what were the reasons that contributed to his poor season?

Is it because he doesn't get on with the coach?

Hart is a South Australian media darling that nobody dares criticise.

Take your rose coloured glasses off & judge his performances this year for what they really were.

I'd prefer to take the opinion of the match committee who rated his performance more accurately than you did!

His season was below his high standards but sill more than passable.

If you are jugding Hart on one seaon then thats just dumb.

The club will never trade Benny Hart and nor should they. It would rip the soul out of the club.

Some things are just not measurable.

lozstar
16 Oct 2003, 11:49

You have to give something to get something of value & he's easily replaceable..... :mad: I'm really very glad that some of the people on this board aren't in charge of shipping players off to other clubs :mad:

Stiffy_18
16 Oct 2003, 12:02
How about that guy who's started playing with West Adelaide, who's come from basketball trying to do the same thing that Dean Brogan did... Would he be worth trying to get as a ruckman?? Matt Illman. He should be considered for Rookie List. He will not get picked up in the National Draft

maccas_no1
16 Oct 2003, 15:43
Um just cause Hart had 'ONE' bad season doesnt mean we trade him:rolleyes: and he isnt going anywhere near those ferals at Alberton:mad: That is just an insane post:mad:

Ben Hart is an AFC Champion;) :D ;)

lozstar
16 Oct 2003, 19:57
I just heard on channel 9, that Port requested a trade for Bassett... :eek:
But thank god they were told no! :D

lozstar
16 Oct 2003, 20:02
Matt Illman. He should be considered for Rookie List. He will not get picked up in the National Draft It'd be worth a try at least putting him on the rookie list, and just seeing how he goes and seeing if he could turn anything like Brogan.

Jerome
16 Oct 2003, 20:07
From tonights news reports on 7 and 9

Loats does not look like becoming a Crow.

AFC are interested in Scott Stevens from Sydney

http://sydneyswans.com.au/default.asp?pg=players&spg=playerprofile&personid=13535

There was talk of trading Bass to the Power but the deal has been abandoned. I wonder who we asked for - or they offered? Wade Champion would be a good prospect for us.