View Full Version : Lynch in pay dispute
acg_204*
14 Oct 2003, 18:51
Apparently he's not happy with the amount offered to him, which is less than his previous contract. Matthews has flown to the Gold Coast for crisis meetings according to Ch 10 news.
LionHeart20
14 Oct 2003, 19:15
*sigh* oh well if he's not happy with the amount he's been offered then there's not much you can really do about it ... use the money to keep other current players out of contract.
adey115
14 Oct 2003, 19:17
or we could wait to see if its just trade week media balony.
SpecialBruce
14 Oct 2003, 19:18
You're kidding right?
Well I'm about to say something here and you can classify it as an OLS if you want.
**** HIM
I don't care if he's had a good career, I don't care if he is 8 games short of 300. If he doesn't like the contract that was given to him, he can go **** off from the club. We don't need people like that at the club. I don't care if he is a loved son of the club, the club should make him an ultimatum. Accept the contract or retire or we'll trade you.
I don't care if this money will go on the veterans list or whatever but we have guys out of contract. Players who can travel to Perth, who can travel a lot, who can give to the club roughly 8 more years instead of maybe half a year of a full year. We need all the money we can get to sign these other players up. Any player out there who is asking for more money than what they are worth can go **** off to a different club as far as I'm concerned.
PLAYERS have taken pay cuts over the last few years to keep their friends and team mates on the list to try and make history with them and if Lynch can't take a pay cut for one lousy year, he isn't worth the time as far as I'm concerned.
Lynch will retire at the end of next year for crying out loud. He isn't going to be worth much and he should wake up to himself and accept what the club is going to give. We should start to rebuild and rebuild now. Leppitsch FF, Weller CHB next year if Lynch doesn't accept the contract.
That is much better than allowing someone to take more money and ultimately losing a player worth more than what Lynch is worth.
Moneybags Lynch, accept the contract or **** off.
acg_204*
14 Oct 2003, 19:21
I think your being a bit unfair on Lynch. The guy has been getting paid about a quarter of what he's worth for the last four years because he signed a ten year deal. He's been paid around 100, 000 a year...and to be offered less than that when only half will go under the salary cap?!
SpecialBruce
14 Oct 2003, 19:42
Originally posted by acg_204*
I think your being a bit unfair on Lynch. The guy has been getting paid about a quarter of what he's worth for the last four years because he signed a ten year deal. He's been paid around 100, 000 a year...and to be offered less than that when only half will go under the salary cap?!
Lets do some Maths shall we. These are just estimates.
He is probably being offered 100 000 next year when he'll play probably 15 games.
$50.000 for the cap
You have McRae
$100 000 for the cap probably.
You have White
$75 000 for the cap probably.
All 3 players who can retire.
White said he would retire if we won the flag. McRae considered retirement 2 years ago. Said that he might retire if we won the flag this year.
Those 3 players alone, free up $225 000 of the cap.
Lets do some trades.
Notting is probably being paid, $200 000 a year.
Morrison is probably on $100 000 a year.
McLaren is probably on $100 000 a year.
That's $400 000 cleared up.
Add all those together and you get $625 000 roughly of cap space.
Gram might be traded, so that will be probably another $80 000. Brings the total to $705 000
Take out McRae and White out of that sum and you have $530 000.
I don't know how much more we have left to offer, but freeing up that space could save Michael, Lappin, Power and Bradshaw. Hard to tell without knowing the exact figures, but a spare $50 000 may not seem like much, but when trying to sign on important players it is.
Note - That these figures are just estimates and this is just an example to show that freeing up little can be all that's needed.
adey115
14 Oct 2003, 19:47
or we could wait to see if its just trade week media balony......
sorry for repeating myself, but hey, do u guys believe everything that is on the news????
for all we know the negotiations could have been quite good natured, with Lynchy asking for a little bit more, and then all including Leigh deciding to sit down and discuss their expectations for next year. given its day two of trade week, and its been pretty quiet today, the news folk run with it to create a story out of nothing much.
relax, unwind, sheesh.
acg_204*
14 Oct 2003, 19:50
Originally posted by adey115
or we could wait to see if its just trade week media balony......
sorry for repeating myself, but hey, do u guys believe everything that is on the news????
for all we know the negotiations could have been quite good natured, with Lynchy asking for a little bit more, and then all including Leigh deciding to sit down and discuss their expectations for next year. given its day two of trade week, and its been pretty quiet today, the news folk run with it to create a story out of nothing much.
relax, unwind, sheesh.
Ssshhh don't spoil it, it's the off season...things like this is the only action we can hang onto at the moment:p
roostersgal4eva
14 Oct 2003, 19:51
it could be baloney
we are reacting because that most of us would luv to see him play on to reach 300
Wont he go onto the veterans list so it wouldnt matter what brisbane gave him, it wouldnt count? And isnt that the same with mcrea, pike and hart???????
and besides asking a player to take a pay cut is fine BUT to offer him a quater of what you previously paid him is ludecrous! :mad:
i would be suprised if anything other than a resolution to be solved
SB - i cant believe you actually believe what you have wrote about a person who has given everthing he's got into the lions and shows what disrespect you have!
Originally posted by SpecialBruce
Note - That these figures are just estimates and this is just an example to show that freeing up little can be all that's needed.
SB I would say they aren't estimates, they are 'guesstimates' at the best and an unfair tool in relation to the topic at hand.
Lynch and $$ is the issue, and in my book he deserves more than he has been getting over the last few years, and has every right to be dirty if the reports are accurate and he has been offered 'significantly less' than what he was getting over the last couple of years.
Yes the club did the right thing by carrying him through his CFS years, however based on his 10yr contract it was probably a financial basket of 1/2 a dozen of this or 6 of the other, when it came to make the decision of paying out his contract or keeping him onboard. Lynch in return has worked his way into his best football and been a solid and significant contributor to the lions 3 flags. He has repaid his 'debt' for his CFS years more than twice over I would venture to state.
Now as for veterans listing..........what is the criteria?
And if a club has more than 2 eligible can they pick and chose which of the eligible players can be put on the list?
If they can.......would it not make more sense to put Voss on the list and thus free up the same if not even more dollars than the SB scenario above?
acg_204*
14 Oct 2003, 19:55
Vets list criteria is something like:
10 years service
Between the rookie list and vets list you have 6 spots...most clubs go 4 rookies and 2 veterans
A player placed on the veterans list only has half his salary counted under the cap
Originally posted by acg_204*
Vets list criteria is something like:
10 years service
Which would see Voss counted then now wouldn't it?
Half his salary would free up a fair bit of space.
roostersgal4eva
14 Oct 2003, 19:57
Originally posted by Danni
SB I would say they aren't estimates, they are 'guesstimates' at the best and an unfair tool in relation to the topic at hand.
Lynch and $$ is the issue, and in my book he deserves more than he has been getting over the last few years, and has every right to be dirty if the reports are accurate and he has been offered 'significantly less' than what he was getting over the last couple of years.
Yes the club did the right thing by carrying him through his CFS years, however based on his 10yr contract it was probably a financial basket of 1/2 a dozen of this or 6 of the other, when it came to make the decision of paying out his contract or keeping him onboard. Lynch in return has worked his way into his best football and been a solid and significant contributor to the lions 3 flags. He has repaid his 'debt' for his CFS years more than twice over I would venture to state.
couldnt of said it better myself
he has had to work soooooo hard to even play footy not to mention being the quality player he is
it is a TOTAL lack of respect IMHO if its true
ZeeTheClown
14 Oct 2003, 20:59
The Veterans list rules are a bit different for 2004 due to the new Collective Bargaining Agreement...
To qualify as a "veteran," you have to be turning 30 during the season. That means, you could be 29 at the beginning of the year, but you would still qualify as a veteran if you were turning 30 during the season. You also have to have been at the club for a minimum of 10 years. So, according to this - White, Hart, McRae and Lynch would all be eligible as veterans next year as you can have as many veterans as you want (no longer maximum of 2).
Furthermore, it's not as easy as "50% of the players wage" goes under the salary cap - from this season on, it depends how many veterans you have. For example, if you only have 1 veteran, then only 50% of his wage is included under the cap. But if you have 4 veterans (as it looks like it might), then 75% of their salaries are included under the cap. The rule is that 1-(1/x) of the veteran's salary is included under the cap (for values of x >2...if x=1 or 2, then 50% of the veteran's salary/ies is included in the cap).--> Can you see my penchant for maths? (nerd)
So, one of the big factors of how much we're going to pay Lynchy next year (assuming the club wants to keep him...I certainly do!!) is who else is going to retire. If we have all 4 veterans playing, then it's important that we squeeze Lynchy's wage, because 75% of it would count. However, if McRae and White retire, then we could probably afford to pay Lynchy more because only 50% of his salary would be included in the cap.
Assuming there is tension over the amount that Lynchy is wanting, then it seems likely that McRae and White will be playing on. I feel that they both are able to contribute, but I'd love to see some of the younger kids coming up, so I'm a bit torn between the two options at this stage...
It's all pretty complex, but I hope I've made sense!
If they decide not to resign Lynchy I can tell you now that 20% of the Victorian membership will be ****ed off, and unlikely to resign. Remember that we are Fitzroy fans who watched him 15 years ago and don't want to see the club shaft him on what would be his final season.
Lynch goes I go!
SpecialBruce
14 Oct 2003, 21:25
Originally posted by Slax
If they decide not to resign Lynchy I can tell you now that 20% of the Victorian membership will be ****ed off, and unlikely to resign. Remember that we are Fitzroy fans who watched him 15 years ago and don't want to see the club shaft him on what would be his final season.
Lynch goes I go!
I have heard this before numerous times, but different people and players. These are my thoughts on the issue of leaving a club when a player leaves.
Total hypocrisy. Seriously. How can you be described as a supporter of the club if you will leave if a player departs on bad terms? That is not being a true supporter of a football club. That is being selfish, immature and totally ridiculous. You said that and I doubt anyone can rate you as a supporter of a club. I can't. Me for example, I was a Martin and Cupido fan as you know. Did I leave when they both left the club, especially Cupido on a bad note? No I didn't.
You leaving is up to you, but I find it pathetic how people say that they will leave the club if a player leaves the club. It's not being a true supporter at all.
SpecialBruce
14 Oct 2003, 21:39
Originally posted by Danni
If they can.......would it not make more sense to put Voss on the list and thus free up the same if not even more dollars than the SB scenario above?
Okay, you've got a point there regarding Salary Cap.
However, I don't have time to do this whole debate on the topic about Lynchy. I have stated my thoughts on the issue of players who have one or two years left at best when we have other uncontracted players who have about 8 years of football left who are more important than the players who have 1 or 2 years of football left. I would be signing up those players first after we trade players because we have a future of the club to look out for and then offer the remaining money we can to the older players who have 1 or 2 years of playing left.
And if they don't accept, so be it. They will leave or retire. I know where you're coming from about Lynch, but for the future of the club, the club needs to be harsh on these older players. We need to rebuild - that will happen eventually. We may aswell start now by concentrating on freeing up money to sign the players who can give more to the club over the next 5 years and then look at the older players.
ZeeTheClown
14 Oct 2003, 21:44
Unfortunately Vossy's not eligible for the veteran's list because he's only 29 next year. He will be eligible in '05.
lioness
14 Oct 2003, 22:31
I have to agree. I'm not really going to speculate too much at this point, I'll wait till a bit later in the week till more is known. However for supporters like myself who have been battling with whether or not to renew our memberships (and I haven't since 2000) are obviously going to be upset to see one of our long-time favourites shafted over a money issue. I can't imagine that he's asking the earth - hell, he's probably only got one season left in him!!!!!! I've been seriously thinking about taking up my membership again, and surely the fact that I haven't been a member through THREE premiership seasons would say that I'm not a fairweather fan. But if I had to watch one of my favourites forced into retirement (I don't see him relocating just to play one more season) because of MONEY then yes I would reconsider my stance as far as membership goes.
Perhaps both sides need to meet halfway, I don't know. As I said, I'm going to wait and see. But it'd be disappointing.
Oh and SB, I thought you wanted Lynchy to play on next season? :confused:
PLAYERS have taken pay cuts over the last few years to keep their friends and team mates on the list to try and make history with them and if Lynch can't take a pay cut for one lousy year, he isn't worth the time as far as I'm concerned.
Players who were earning 2 to 3 times more than lynch. If you can't afford $90,000 of your salary cap for Lynch than you have got problems (as most successful clubs do).
And McRae retired weeks ago and the last I heard about White was that if Brisbane didn't want him he'd play anywhere that would.
Lynch goes I go!
In my opinion Lynch deserves better than this. While I remain very disappointed with the circumstances that saw him leave Fitzroy in the first place, thats another story.
Lynch has provided magnificent service to the Lions and I believe has easily repaid the moral debt owed to the club for having seen him through the Chronic Fatigue problems.
While the CFS has obviously not allowed him to excel to the level he did in his time at Fitzroy, his role at full forward if only judged in the three premiership years, has been superb. I cannot believe that the second or third best full forward - after Lloyd and maybe Neitz - can be treated with so much disdain.
Surely he is entitled to a reasonable deal in what will definitely be his last year. If the Lions don't want him, I wonder whether his great mate Paul Roos might like to have him for a year. Come to think of it I reckon there could be anything up to another 10 to 12 clubs who would seriously look at the opportunity if it arose.
Okay, you've got a point there regarding Salary Cap.
However, I don't have time to do this whole debate on the topic about Lynchy. I have stated my thoughts on the issue of players who have one or two years left at best when we have other uncontracted players who have about 8 years of football left who are more important than the players who have 1 or 2 years of football left. I would be signing up those players first after we trade players because we have a future of the club to look out for and then offer the remaining money we can to the older players who have 1 or 2 years of playing left.
And if they don't accept, so be it. They will leave or retire. I know where you're coming from about Lynch, but for the future of the club, the club needs to be harsh on these older players. We need to rebuild - that will happen eventually. We may aswell start now by concentrating on freeing up money to sign the players who can give more to the club over the next 5 years and then look at the older players.
Gee SpecialBruce, thats a pretty ruthless attitude. In my opinion a footy club cannot afford to be too mercenary (an interesting term in the context of this thread) in how they treat their senior players.
In my view perception is a very important aspect and if the younger players sense that clubs are likely to get really hard to deal with when getting closer to retirement, then they will be looking to move on say 3 to 6 years before they might normally retire, so as to ensure that they can prolong their careers for as long as possible.
keatings_gal
14 Oct 2003, 23:40
there is a new story on the Lions site saying that the club denies this story.....so who knows...... good old mass media.....
SpecialBruce
14 Oct 2003, 23:48
Originally posted by lioness22
Oh and SB, I thought you wanted Lynchy to play on next season? :confused:
Yes it would be good if Lynchy plays on next year, but if he's after more money for one year, there is no point IMO.
Originally posted by dj21
And McRae retired weeks ago
Did he? Funny no-one else has heard of it. Care to supply a link?
Originally posted by dj21
and the last I heard about White was that if Brisbane didn't want him he'd play anywhere that would.
Actually, in an interview, White said something along the lines that if we won the flag he'd consider retirement, but if we didn't he'd consider playing on - even if it had to be at another club. It sounded to me as if he'd been put on notice - although, his form did improve after that time.
Lionel Lyon
15 Oct 2003, 05:09
Me for example, I was a Martin and Cupido fan as you know. Did I leave when they both left the club, especially Cupido on a bad note? No I didn't.
While I agree with your call to loyalty to the club, the club cannot be above reproach at all times. Secondly, you simply cannot compare Martin and Cupido to Alastair Lynch. Such a comparison, as well as your other words about him (**** him etc.) were mindbogglingly disrespectful. The man's been a longtime and bigtime contributor to our successes and is part of the very fibre of the club. It should make every effort to accommodate him. From the few facts I can glean from this story I don't think he's being unreasonable. Hopefully Leigh's arrival for the "crisis talks" can put some sense back into things. And if AL does sign up for another year, you can be sure he will continue to be a vital contributor, yet again. Besides the fact that I would absolutely love also to see him hit a well-deserved triple century, I am not convinced that we have anybody to replace him up forward at this point anyway. Bradshaw and Lappa are great, but they seem to better down back, coming forward only when Lynch is not on song. Lynch's premature departure would leave a massive hole up forward.
Lions43
15 Oct 2003, 08:42
Originally posted by Lionel Lyon
While I agree with your call to loyalty to the club, the club cannot be above reproach at all times. Secondly, you simply cannot compare Martin and Cupido to Alastair Lynch. Such a comparison, as well as your other words about him (**** him etc.) were mindbogglingly disrespectful. The man's been a longtime and bigtime contributor to our successes and is part of the very fibre of the club. It should make every effort to accommodate him. From the few facts I can glean from this story I don't think he's being unreasonable. Hopefully Leigh's arrival for the "crisis talks" can put some sense back into things. And if AL does sign up for another year, you can be sure he will continue to be a vital contributor, yet again. Besides the fact that I would absolutely love also to see him hit a well-deserved triple century, I am not convinced that we have anybody to replace him up forward at this point anyway. Bradshaw and Lappa are great, but they seem to better down back, coming forward only when Lynch is not on song. Lynch's premature departure would leave a massive hole up forward.
Well said LL. I couldn't agree more....
Its all about respect. Forget his age, Lynch has been a sensational performer for the club for the last 3 years and has been a leader at the club for 10 years now.
I'm sure he's not asking for a King's Ransom and if the press reports are correct that he has been offered less money than he was on last year then he has every right to feel aggrieved. Its a balancing act and I can understand the club doesn't want to lose a Power, Lappin or Michael just for the sake of keeping Lynch one more year but I'm fairly convinced he's not asking for that much.
Come on Aker, you're making enough out of the media, kick in $20,000 from your salary and see if we can get another $100-$150k from player salary reductions.
come on ,i think lynch needs a little support he has been a noble servent to this club and dare i say it without him the premierships of 01 and 02 may not be in our keeping. its alright for aka to flaunt himself to other clubs to get more money but as soon as lynch askes for a better deal we turn on him,not fair i say he deserves a final season to honour a great career as a true champion of the brisbane lions - lets hope they sort it out quickley and how about a little support for him as well !!
Originally posted by Stocka
Did he? Funny no-one else has heard of it. Care to supply a link?
Maybe my mind is playing tricks on me. I thought he did but maybe he was just talking about it. Sorry if I caused any McRae fans any distress.
jmerino
15 Oct 2003, 10:34
Funny how clubs want loyalty from players and members, but rarely afford the players the same. Just look at essendon in recent years.
We should be offering Lynch the same contract as he has already for 1 year, not a reduced one.
SpecialBruce
15 Oct 2003, 13:33
Now I know Lynch has been a good servent to the club over the years. I know he is a good player, but lets compare him to someone else.
Shaun Hart. Shaun has been a very serviceable player over the last few years and I guarantee that his contract that he signed last week would have been less money than what he was getting the last few years. Reports are that Martin Pike is not happy with his contract and he's being offered less money, so I presume Hart, an older player aswell would have been offered less money on his contract and he accepted.
If I am right about Hart, all older players who have been offered less money should follow in Hart's example. I would be willing to bet my life that Shaun was offered less money than his previous one year contract because it appears that other older players have been offered less money aswell.
Think about that!
Lions43
15 Oct 2003, 14:02
Now I know Lynch has been a good servent to the club over the years. I know he is a good player, but lets compare him to someone else.
Shaun Hart. Shaun has been a very serviceable player over the last few years and I guarantee that his contract that he signed last week would have been less money than what he was getting the last few years. Reports are that Martin Pike is not happy with his contract and he's being offered less money, so I presume Hart, an older player aswell would have been offered less money on his contract and he accepted.
If I am right about Hart, all older players who have been offered less money should follow in Hart's example. I would be willing to bet my life that Shaun was offered less money than his previous one year contract because it appears that other older players have been offered less money aswell.
Think about that!
Why base your argument on age?? Why not form?? Lynch is the 2nd best full forward in the competition (based on goals kicked over the last 3 years). He would be worth a lot more than he's asking for a one year contract on the open market.
Should Steve Waugh be the 10th best paid player for the Australian cricket team just because he's an older player?
Age is irrelevant. Form is everything. If Lynch wanted what he's worth on the open market (about $300,000) and we were going to lose Power or Lappin or someone of that ilk just to keep him for one year I'd agree that we should cut our losses and reluctantly let Alistair go. He's asking a lot less than he's worth though and I don't think its going to cost us a top player with 5 years plus left in him.
Lionel Lyon
15 Oct 2003, 14:04
Originally posted by Lionel Lyon
Bradshaw and Lappa are great, but they seem to better down back, coming forward only when Lynch is not on song.
:mad: That's supposed to read Leppa BTW, lest anybody thinks I'm talking about Lappin and not Leppitsch. I really ought to take typing lessons! For you Baseball fans (hey, I live in the US), the Chicago Cubs just contrived to snatch defeat from the jaws of victory! :rolleyes: One more chance, else they're chokers bigtime! :mad:
adey115
15 Oct 2003, 14:22
My take on things:
a) in the past few years, as indicated by Lethal in a recent article, Lynchy has taken until mid Oct to make a decision as to playing the year after.... our seasons in 2001-03 have ended in the last week of September. He's taken 2-3 weeks to decide as to if he'd play on the year after. If we'd missed out on the finals, that 2-3 weeks would have been mid to late Septmeber, not now.
b) this is the first time in 10 yrs he's been officially out of contract come the end of the season - thus the first time any significent "negotiation" has had to take place
c) Lynchy would walk into any media organisation involved in the AFL. He's well spoken and articulate, presentable, yada yada. It would not surprise we at all if he already has a deal with one or more media organisations relating to "when you retire, we'll pay you $X to be on board".
d) so its negotiation time. The club says "one year deal, we'll pay you $x". Thus Lynchy must weigh up - play on for another year for $X or retire and go into the media for $X. More than a dollar decision, its a lifestyle decision too - from what I hear, there's less training and pressure on the body when you are in the media... (!) Other factors - hunger - he's enjoying his footy but hell 3 in a row would be a special way to go out wouldn't it.... SEEMS A PRETTY BLOODY SENSIBLE PROCESS TO ME.
e) he takes his time, wants to discuss with Family/ Friends/ Fellow Players / The Coach etc.
f) perhaps the media are playing on the issue of payment issue a little? there's more of a story in "Lynch not offered enough for next season" versus "Lynch deciding on whether its worhwhile playing one more year or taking up media position" isn't there????
g) does anyone honestly believe he'd go and play for one, maybe two years MAX with another club? Honestly?
I don't know what AL is being offered by the club. I don't know what $$ he'd make out of the media.... what I do know if that I believe it would be a difficult decision as to whether I'd play on another year at age 35 after 3 in a row when weighing up the possibility of sitting behind the microphone or going through another pre-season.
And I do hope that those who have offered some scathing krap based on "media reports" on this here thread eat there words when he makes a decision. He's a flipping legend.
blackys_chick20
15 Oct 2003, 17:43
HELLO!!! has anybody stopped and seen how much akermanis is getting paid for only 2 years...he bloody sooks and moans and starts rumours about himself just so that we would give him more money...... why isnt anybody complaining about him!!
Lynchy maybe old... but he has still got skill and experience WE NEED HIM!!!! i know ill be sending a lovely little email to the club to express my opinions on this. it may not do anything but least i know i have tried!
EVERYBODY GET BEHIND LYNCHY AND SHOW YOUR SUPPORT!!
Lynch for 1 more year!
lioness
15 Oct 2003, 17:50
Originally posted by blackys_chick20
HELLO!!! has anybody stopped and seen how much akermanis is getting paid for only 2 years...he bloody sooks and moans and starts rumours about himself just so that we would give him more money...... why isnt anybody complaining about him!!
Lynchy maybe old... but he has still got skill and experience WE NEED HIM!!!! i know ill be sending a lovely little email to the club to express my opinions on this. it may not do anything but least i know i have tried!
Lynch for 1 more year!
EXACTLY!!!!!!!!
I agree completely!!!!! We need him, and the club HAS to find a way to keep him!!!!!! Well said blackys_chick!!!!! :)
LionHeart20
15 Oct 2003, 17:53
Originally posted by blackys_chick20
Lynch for 1 more year!
I understand . . . i'm not very happy with Aka myself starting up crap that he wants to goto Sydney and all that crap. But we're talking about Lynch, now obviously if he's not happy with what he's being offered. I guess we can't really do much about it, we have 4+ stars outta contract and we need to re-sign them before Lynch. I don't blame SB for being so angry towards Lynch it's players like Hart who set the example of staying with the club without being paid more money than what he should be getting.
If Lynch goes no doubt we'll miss him like hell but that's how the cookie crumbles, i guess.
keatings_gal
15 Oct 2003, 18:27
exactly Blackys_chick............
its exacxtly the same thing... aka wanted more money... was sneaky about it & got it...
even if lynchy does want more money.. i rekcon we give it to him as well.... hes getting paid less than the others coz im sure that those 10 years ago that player managers wouldnt dream that players would be getting paid what they are today.
we have 4+ stars outta contract and we need to re-sign them before Lynch.
hes a star as well....we certainly couldnt have done it without him (even though sometimes i just wish we would try & give the ball to someone else but thats irrelevant coz as long as someone is taking it & putting it through the goals thats all that matters...)
good luck to you alastair whether you decide to hang up the boots or play on with the lions in 2004.
well you got me lets start a one more year lynchy campain !!!
why,this is why
he deserves to get to 300 games,the first tasmanian to do so i think and what a honour that is, when you look at all the great tassie players over the years
he has been a great servent not only to brisbane but also to fitzroy and deserves to have a fitting farewell from his fans
we do still need him 80 odd goals a year dont just happen by themselves
for what he is and his value he is bloody cheap and isnt asking the world. imagine what tarrent and lloyd are getting his asking price is a pittance.
the man is a champion and he deserves to be treated as such !!
allystar
15 Oct 2003, 19:02
Firstly, SB I cannot believe your attitude. What a disgrace. You say people like Lynchy shouldn't be around the club, well mate supporters like you shouldn't either.
I agree with all that have said forget the age issue. Lynchy has had a great career, been a loyal player and a mighty inspiration to many.
He is asking for one more year and I believe the club owes him that, on his terms.
You go Blacky's Chick, everyone (who are loyal supporters of the Lions, maybe not SB) should get behind Lynchy, support him 100% and let the club know exactly how they feel about what they are doing to an absolute LEGEND. 78 goals for this season and he missed games, could have been 100!
LYNCHY TO STAY AND THE CLUB TO PAY
Originally posted by adey115
My take on things:
a) in the past few years, as indicated by Lethal in a recent article, Lynchy has taken until mid Oct to make a decision as to playing the year after.... our seasons in 2001-03 have ended in the last week of September. He's taken 2-3 weeks to decide as to if he'd play on the year after. If we'd missed out on the finals, that 2-3 weeks would have been mid to late Septmeber, not now.
b) this is the first time in 10 yrs he's been officially out of contract come the end of the season - thus the first time any significent "negotiation" has had to take place
c) Lynchy would walk into any media organisation involved in the AFL. He's well spoken and articulate, presentable, yada yada. It would not surprise we at all if he already has a deal with one or more media organisations relating to "when you retire, we'll pay you $X to be on board".
d) so its negotiation time. The club says "one year deal, we'll pay you $x". Thus Lynchy must weigh up - play on for another year for $X or retire and go into the media for $X. More than a dollar decision, its a lifestyle decision too - from what I hear, there's less training and pressure on the body when you are in the media... (!) Other factors - hunger - he's enjoying his footy but hell 3 in a row would be a special way to go out wouldn't it.... SEEMS A PRETTY BLOODY SENSIBLE PROCESS TO ME.
e) he takes his time, wants to discuss with Family/ Friends/ Fellow Players / The Coach etc.
f) perhaps the media are playing on the issue of payment issue a little? there's more of a story in "Lynch not offered enough for next season" versus "Lynch deciding on whether its worhwhile playing one more year or taking up media position" isn't there????
g) does anyone honestly believe he'd go and play for one, maybe two years MAX with another club? Honestly?
I don't know what AL is being offered by the club. I don't know what $$ he'd make out of the media.... what I do know if that I believe it would be a difficult decision as to whether I'd play on another year at age 35 after 3 in a row when weighing up the possibility of sitting behind the microphone or going through another pre-season.
And I do hope that those who have offered some scathing krap based on "media reports" on this here thread eat there words when he makes a decision. He's a flipping legend.
Well done.
Yours is the most sensible and balanced post by far.
People are jumping up and down, starting "One More Year" campaigns and even threatening to "go" if "Lynch goes". (although, just where they are"going" remains unclear)
All based on media reports on what Lynch is supposed to have said to "someone".
Huge beat up if you ask me.
We even have people blaming it all on nasty old Aker and calling for him to "kick in" a 5 figure sum.
Wasn't he one of a number of Lions who PREVIOUSLY accepted reduced salaries to help keep the side together in 2003.
Chill out.
There's a whole week of wheeling and dealing left in the trade period so why give yourslves ulcers this early?
These type of "reports" in the media turn out to be nothing but hot air at least half the time.
I have heard this before numerous times, but different people and players. These are my thoughts on the issue of leaving a club when a player leaves.
Total hypocrisy. Seriously. How can you be described as a supporter of the club if you will leave if a player departs on bad terms? That is not being a true supporter of a football club. That is being selfish, immature and totally ridiculous. You said that and I doubt anyone can rate you as a supporter of a club. I can't. Me for example, I was a Martin and Cupido fan as you know. Did I leave when they both left the club, especially Cupido on a bad note? No I didn't.
You leaving is up to you, but I find it pathetic how people say that they will leave the club if a player leaves the club. It's not being a true supporter at all.
I have been screwed over that many times by Brisbane and the AFL since the merge that it is really giving me the sh*ts.
Next season there are only 6 matches in Melbourne instead of 7.
After match functions where the players attend are a thing of the past.
The AFL's treatment of fans has also helped.
The fact that it has reached a point where I seriously ask, do I give a rats arse about the Lions winning or losing or would I be happier at the Reds.
The end of the day truth is, it is not all about Lynch and whether he plays or not the fact is the AFL has changed the game. Not on the field but in the way in which they allow the fans to behave and I've had enough, I no longer really enjoy the game as much as I used to and thats because you cant do a f***ing thing at the footy anymore without being kicked out. What ever happened to died in the wall supporters who wore their heart on their sleeve? They'd all be outside before the end of the first quarter kicked out on some stupid trumped up charge.
Believe you me it happened to me this season. The said I was drunk after 1 beer. Still I did report the copper for manhandling me and demand an apology.
SpecialBruce
15 Oct 2003, 21:15
Originally posted by allystar
Firstly, SB I cannot believe your attitude. What a disgrace. You say people like Lynchy shouldn't be around the club, well mate supporters like you shouldn't either.
I agree with all that have said forget the age issue. Lynchy has had a great career, been a loyal player and a mighty inspiration to many.
He is asking for one more year and I believe the club owes him that, on his terms.
You go Blacky's Chick, everyone (who are loyal supporters of the Lions, maybe not SB) should get behind Lynchy, support him 100% and let the club know exactly how they feel about what they are doing to an absolute LEGEND. 78 goals for this season and he missed games, could have been 100!
I'm not loyal hey? Let's talk about club loyalty shall we.
I have been a Bears supporter since the early 90's. I have been living in country NSW all that time. How many people in country NSW would have been supporting the bears?? How many do you reckon? Not many. I have stuck by the club through the years and people have always asked me, you live in NSW, how can you go for a team like Brisbane? They aern't even in New South Wales or in Victoria? I say, because I love them. I even purchased memberships over the years of where I was living. I don't intend to leave the club because of one player. I am loyal to the club and will always be loyal to the club.
Sure I don't agree sometimes with some things the club has done over the years, but have I left the club still living in the same area? No I havn't. I have moved on. I didn't like the way the club treated Richard Champion in his last year and he was an all time favourite of mine throughout his career pre-merger and post-merger. Did I leave the club because they didn't treat Champion right? The answer is that no I didn't. I'm not saying Champion is in the same situation as Lynch, but Champion was an all time favourite of Brisbane and a legend and Lynchy is an all time favourite of Fitzroy/Brisbane and is also a legend.
You can say all you want about loyalty, but I tell you, I am definately loyal to this club and looking forward to the future of the club as everyone should be.
This situation about Lynch is life. Life is pretty **** sometimes and at the moment you probably think it is **** about Lynch. It could be, but what? Do you want a young player who is going to be the future of this club to leave because there isn't enough money for them or not enough oppurtunities?
Everyone says that Lynch deserves more money over the years for what he has done to the club and that he has played a huge part in the premiership. Let's go through some of the comments made in this thread already.
dare i say it without him the premierships of 01 and 02 may not be in our keeping.
hes a star as well....we certainly couldnt have done it without him
Sure he has played a huge part in the premierships over the last few years, but so have the other 21 players who played those 3 important games and the players who filled in for Lynch when Lynch couldn't play and filled in for other injured players. They were also a part of the premiership aswell and also contributed to bring the 3 premierships to this club. Not just one player.
hes getting paid less than the others (Lynch)
He would be worth a lot more than he's asking for a one year contract on the open market.
Come on Aker, you're making enough out of the media, kick in $20,000 from your salary and see if we can get another $100-$150k from player salary reductions.
The guy has been getting paid about a quarter of what he's worth for the last four years because he signed a ten year deal. He's been paid around 100, 000 a year...and to be offered less than that
for what he is and his value he is bloody cheap and isnt asking the world. imagine what tarrent and lloyd are getting his asking price is a pittance
Whilst you all have valid points here, Lynch is not getting money he deserves. That's correct. He deserves more, but we can't offer it to him. However lets look at one player in particular. You're all implying that Lynch is being underpaid. Correct. So is Michael Voss.
Michael Voss is worth about $900 000 a year over the last 4 - 5 years. Has he been paid that? No, I wouldnt' think so. Did you see Michael Voss complain when he was offered less money and extended his contract to stay with this club? No you didn't! Did you see Michael Voss refuse to take a pay cut? No you didn't. Voss took a $60 000 pay cut last year to keep players at the club. He never complained about money. He knows he's worth more than what he would be getting but he's playing for this club because he loves the club and would do anything for this club. Money is not an issue for him and he's happy to play for less than what he is worth. I'm sure there are other players like this aswell.
As previously mentioned, Shaun Hart would have been offered less money this year when he signed last week. Did he refuse to sign? No he didn't. He signed up because he wants to play for this club. I'm not saying Lynch doesn't want to play for this club, but if he wants to play, he has to accept the contract the club is giving him.
Lynch was offered less than what he is getting over the last few years. That shows you how tight the salary cap is at the moment. That shows you that even after veterans list, our cap is so tight. Sure he deserves more, but the fact is that obviously we can't afford to pay him more if we need to offer him less. Sure he can play on for one more year but I believe if he wants to play on, he should accept what he's getting. Vossy and Hart are players you like around the club. Attitude. Just not on field performance. You also rate players on attitude and their attitude they display is something in which other players around the club and supporters should like. Not playing for the money, but playing because they love the game and also want to play along with mates. Lynch's attitude by wanting more money is not setting a good example for other players who have played for less than what they are worth and probably will for the rest of their careers aswell. Based on this, it's a pathetic attitude. He may want more money, but we obviously can't give it to him. If Lynch wants to play on he can accept being paid less. There would be a lot of people who want to be in the same position as Lynch. AFL player, 3 premierships. Lynch is in a situation where he is 35 years of age. His body can go on for one more year, but financially, he might not be able to unless he accepts what the club is offering him.
This part really did shine out to me.
He's asking a lot less than he's worth though and I don't think its going to cost us a top player with 5 years plus left in him.
Obviously it is because as mentioned before, the club wouldnt' be offering players less money if we could afford the top players with 5 years left in them.
It's not only Lynch.
Pike apparently isn't happy with his contract because he is probably getting screwed around by the club as some people would like to call it. It just shows again that our cap is obviously tight if we have to offer players less than what they are worth.
Lets ask a question here.
Who would you rather lose!
Lynch, Bradshaw, Power, Michael or Lappin?
Lynch - Has the ability to play on for one more year but has been offered less and he doesn't like it.
Power - 23 years of age. Has improved out of sight. A very handy player through the midfield and also up forward. Has a good 10 years left one would think.
Michael - 26 years of age. Probably the best Full Back in the comp. Has a good 7 - 8 years left.
Bradshaw - 25 years of age on the 21st of next month. Our most improved player. Has shown he can play up forward and down back. Versatile. Has a good 8 years left.
Lappin - 27 years of age. One of the fab 4. A brilliant midfielder. Has guts playing a Grand Final with a punctured lung. Couragous player. A good 5 - 6 years left.
We have been successful, that is correct. The fact is that we need to rebuild soon and we can't avoid it. Those 4 are the future of our club and will be part of the rebuilding phase. The club should sign up those 4 first before Pike and Lynch who have 2 years and 1 year left respectively. Those young players are important for our long term future.
Other things people have said in this topic.
but he has still got skill and experience WE NEED HIM!!!!
I am not convinced that we have anybody to replace him up forward at this point anyway. Bradshaw and Lappa are great, but they seem to better down back, coming forward only when Lynch is not on song. Lynch's premature departure would leave a massive hole up forward.
Yes, we may need Lynch however we have to lose Lynch sometime. Who said we'll have the player then to replace him when he does go, whether it be this year or next year? We have to face life without Lynch sooner or later. If we can't afford to keep him, then so be it. I would prefer to sign up younger players instead who are our future to the club. That may be harsh but even though he has been a good servant to the club over the last few years, if he wants to play on next year, he'll have to accept this contract that he's being offered.
he deserves to get to 300 games,the first tasmanian to do so i think and what a honour that is, when you look at all the great tassie players over the years
He may deserve to play 300 games, but if he wants to play 300 games, he should accept this contract without any fuss. Let's see, if you were in Lynch's shoes, what would you be after most? Money or 300 games? This is not just intended for one person, but for all supporters. I know I'd be after 300 games and would accept whatever I was offered without fuss. Having that milestone of 300 games and playing with friends for one more year is more important than money and he is obviously putting money first if he doesn't like what the club is offering him.
In conclusion, Lynch is not the only player being underpaid. Lynch is not the only part of the club. We have the rest of the list who are part of the club. Lynch may be in career best form, but if we can't afford him, what's the point of losing someone with a huge future ahead of them at the club just so we can afford Lynch and maybe bring him to 300 games? It may be sad losing him like this, but this is the only way. We have the future of the club to look out for and not just one year. One year is not the whole future. It spreads for more than one year.
There comes a time in life when you can't do things you want to do and you can't please everyone with your decisions. The club can't please everyone with their decisions. That's a part of life. We as supporters of the Brisbane Lions Football Club need to live through the hard decisions the club needs to make. You gotto remember that the club is in a hard situation at the moment. They need to work out what is best for the club. They realise that to do this they can't please everyone. This is something that we all need to accept regardless if it is a player, a coach, a fitness guy, a volunteer who have dedicated their lives to the club. We all as supporters need to move on from what is going to happen in the next week or 2. There is a huge future of this club to look forward to regardless of what happens.
People can leave the club if they want if they don't agree with what happens, it is up to them. But the whole point of this post as you can tell is to just show what situation the club is in at this point in time and to help you realise that there is a reason the club is doing all this. You can say whatever you want to me, I don't care. Everyone has opinions.
I will sum this post up with a quote from:
Originally posted by LionHeart20
If Lynch goes no doubt we'll miss him like hell but that's how the cookie crumbles, I guess.
Yes, nothing can be done about it. It has to happen eventually whether it's on good terms or bad terms. We just have to live with what happens.
So Slax, did you get that apology?
blackys_chick20
15 Oct 2003, 22:36
WOW sb can u write my end of year english exam for me?? even tho u have made some valid points, i never knew somebody could spin so much s*** under 1000 words... u would be a great help to me on the 31st october!
MaroonBoy
15 Oct 2003, 23:58
Football clubs have a long history of eating their own. It would be a shame - no, a bloody disgrace - if Lynchy was sent off in such an undignified, pathetic way. Loyality is a two way street.
Want the club to end up with the pathetic culture of a Richmond?
It's not as if he's a broken down hack, an embarrassment like Mick Martin, desperate to make the 300 Club. Lynchy has at least one more year in him, if not two or three. If Brisbane don't want him then I hope he does a Dougie Hawkins circa '95 and plays on somewhere else. Sydney would be a great match for him (and he'd link up with Roosy once more).
keatings_gal
16 Oct 2003, 09:44
yeah maybe we can have a big protest march coz
sounds like a great chant to be singing.... think im just in the mood for protests after the big uni one that is going on today....(by the way i will not be attending)
lioncub
16 Oct 2003, 11:01
haha good call Blackys chick!!
SB - got through about half of what you'd written - and you made some good points - but man - a little more succinct hey?! ;) we don't all have 5 hours to read one post!
I *was* really annoyed by your first post - I love Lynchy and can understand how he must feel getting so much less than what he deserves. But then read your "essay" and calmed down a bit after seeing your reasoning behind "attacking" Lynch.
One of the other guys made a good post too listing all aspects of Lynchy's options which was great - it's hard being an avid supporter when it comes to this time of the year because in your own little happy world players don't give a s*&t about money, they just play for the love of the sport and love of the team. But then reality hits during trade period and you realise that this is actually their job and some would (dare I say it) even play for another team!!! *gasp* AND actually want to be paid their worth!! :eek:
SO anyway - whatever he, and the Lions heirachy DO decide to do - there will be pros and cons, someone will complain whatever the outcome, but I figure they've got to do what's best for each of them.
adey115
16 Oct 2003, 11:29
Originally posted by luthor
Well done.
Yours is the most sensible and balanced post by far.
People are jumping up and down, starting "One More Year" campaigns and even threatening to "go" if "Lynch goes". (although, just where they are"going" remains unclear)
All based on media reports on what Lynch is supposed to have said to "someone".
Huge beat up if you ask me.
We even have people blaming it all on nasty old Aker and calling for him to "kick in" a 5 figure sum.
Wasn't he one of a number of Lions who PREVIOUSLY accepted reduced salaries to help keep the side together in 2003.
Chill out.
There's a whole week of wheeling and dealing left in the trade period so why give yourslves ulcers this early?
These type of "reports" in the media turn out to be nothing but hot air at least half the time.
I think Luthor and I are having a love-in. The last three lines are a remarkably accurate appraisal of where things are up to.
adey115
16 Oct 2003, 11:33
Herald Sun article today. Apart from mentioning the further signing of Power, Lappin, Mal and Bradshaw also mentions the following direct quotes from Lynchy's manager:
"
Alastair Lynch's manager Damien Smith said yesterday he would be astounded if the Lions did not retain the veteran full-forward for next season.
Lynch is considering his future after being offered a reduced deal for 2004.
Smith yesterday said he was not aware what Brisbane had offered Lynch.
"I have been away for the last 10 days and so has he, so I don't know what they have put to him," he said.
"I rang him just before the Grand Final. I said to go away and think about it (the future), call when you want to have a chat.
"I haven't heard from him so presumably he is still thinking about things."
"
At least this is a direct quote from someone involved in the proceedings, not most of the unnamed source claptrap and speculation thats been around.
adey115
16 Oct 2003, 11:39
Actually here's another from yesterdays Age:
"
Matthews said last night that there was "no animosity" between Lynch and the Lions, but acknowledged that financial considerations might influence whether Lynch opted to play on. "I think the financial remuneration could be part it," Matthews said.
The coach pointed out that Lynch differed from most players in that he would not necessarily be "gigantically better off playing", given his outside interests, including his promising media career. "He has opportunities in the media that not many players have."
But Matthews pointed out that money was by no means the only factor in Lynch's decision, given his age. "If he decides to retire, it's not just money."
Matthews said Lynch had made his decision at a similar stage last year and there was nothing unusual about his operations. "
"
....yes there IS footy vacuum at the moment....when the media, (and dare I say people here) write about Lynchy's contract negotiations....which obviously haven't started. There is so little footy news at the moment.......we're all starving for something.....so out comes a beat-up.
I'd stick with the comments from the club, and Lynchys manager. There's no other news therefore.
I've already watched the GF replay 4 times.....how are we going to survive summmer??
Lady Lawrence
16 Oct 2003, 13:39
Heard an interview with Peter Blucher last night and he explained a lot of the stuff that is being thrown around the traps. The financial consideration is not so much as whether the club have offered him enough it is more to do with what he is being offered from the media.
Is this the time for him to move on having achieved so much, go out on a high and start the next phase of his life. Will the same opportunity be offered to him next year if the Lions don't perform as well or he for some reason doesn't etc etc etc.
adey115
16 Oct 2003, 13:45
beeeeautifully put LL.
FattyLumpkin
16 Oct 2003, 23:25
A couple of points.
1. Would rather keep Lynch and sacrifice Hart & McRae to the Salary Cap gods (maybe even White - at a pinch).
2. Can someone be a "playing assistant coach" ???? ie. be paid $XXX to play & thus counted under the salary cap, then $YYYY as the assistant coach role.
Surely Big Al could fill such a role???
Put another way, if the Salary Cap was around when Mal Blight was Cap/Coach at North, how much would have gone against the cap?
If the dual assistant coach/player role is possible - could see Big Al fill a role with the Ones, and maybe McRae doing something with the Two's. Certainly a way of exploiting the cap - but is it legal??
Fatty
As I said elsewhere money is not the issue here. The media have once again made up a story. Lynchy was just thinking of moving on - and who wouldn't be in his position. Maybe they'll convince to stay on but they were offering him the same deal as last year (not less as reported).
adey115
19 Nov 2003, 17:49
Here we are a month down the track. An interesting article on Lynchy's position at the end of the year:
http://www.heraldsun.news.com.au/common/story_page/0,5478,7871678%255E20322,00.html
Sounds remarkably different to the crap being bandied around by the media at the time, not to mention the public lynching offered here. (lynching, thats a funny one hey)
Mike Sheahan: Lynch still flourishing
By MIKE SHEAHAN
15nov03
THE oldest player in the AFL has just had his best season in 10 years, and that's from the man himself. Alastair Lynch, who turned 35 in June, said yesterday it was his best since 1992-93, when he alternated between full-back and full-forward at Fitzroy and was one of the guns of the competition.
He was hot, too, in 1994, his first season in Brisbane, but injuries restricted him to 13 games.
"Since that time, I've got no doubt that this year has been my best year. Outside of the fact it was my biggest goal return (78)," Lynch said.
Which raises one of the amazing discoveries of the post-season analysis.
Lynch's return was 51 goals better than the next best at the premiership club -- Jason Akermanis and Daniel Bradshaw both kicked 27 goals.
Only 10 players in the AFL kicked more than 50 goals for the year. Factor in "assists", a Lynch specialty, and you have a 100-goal forward.
Why, then, any doubts about him playing on next year? Why a pay cut?
Lynch will play on, yet there was an anxious wait before the final decision.
His feelings were hurt, his ego bruised, by the pay cut, which he described as "a slap". He needed time to gather his thoughts and count his blessings.
"In my mind, there were a couple of days where I wasn't playing (on)," Lynch said.
"It was a good time to finish; playing reasonable football in a good side. I was comfortable with that at the time, although there wasn't any big sensation saying, 'Isn't that a relief?'
"Eventually, we came round to 'Let's keep going'."
Time helped, as did a visit from coach Leigh Matthews and football manager Graeme Allan to the Sunshine Coast, where the Lynch family was on holiday.
"They just wanted to reinforce what role I had in the team," he said.
"You know you're 35, and there's a time when they're going to want to bring young guys through.
"It gave me a lot of confidence to hear that Leigh was keen for me to be a major part of the forward structure next year."
As strange as it seems for someone as talented, as decorated, as Lynch is, he spoke for many ageing performers in all walks of life when he said: "You get more sensitive as you get older.
"Physically, I'm fine. Got the normal aches and pains and the achilles tendon plays up, but I'm fine."
He was in Melbourne to speak at a Chronic Fatigue Syndrome forum at Parliament House.
The illness disrupted his career for 4-5 years during his late 20s, but he sees himself as almost recovered.
"I'm fine, but I've still got to do the right things all the time."
While he was reported to have been insulted by Brisbane's offer for 2004, he said nothing publicly before announcing he would play on.
"I wasn't ****ed off . . . I was probably a bit surprised, let's say, at the offer.
"I wouldn't be in the senior team as far as match payments go; it was a bit of a slap.
"It probably took me a few days to appreciate the situation. That the club's trying to retain its full list (under fierce salary cap pressure), that we've got an enormous amount of young guys playing super footy that have played in two and three premierships and quite rightly deserve more money.
"I thought, 'Hang on, I've played three premierships in a row and we've got young guys at the prime of their careers, I'm 35 years old, and the money that I will be getting next year is bloody good money'.
"There wasn't anything (other than the pay cut) saying 'you've got to give up'."
Lynch, who went to Brisbane on a 10-year deal that guaranteed him $1.8 million, said it had been "a great move for me".
While CFS robbed him of what probably would have been his prime years, he believes there have been compensations. Interestingly, he is convinced light pre-seasons during the past 10 years have played a major part in extending his career.
He now wants to become the first Tasmanian to play 300 games (seven more).
"The actual number doesn't mean a lot but I think in the future it will," he said.