View Full Version : New Draft and rookie players
popcorn
14 Oct 2003, 20:08
Hey im new to this thing but i was just wondering who do u rekon will get drafted from QLD and who do u think will go ont he Rookie list from QLD..
these players were in the draft camp + screening
National Draft
1. Lee Ryswyck (southport)
2. Jake Fufaro ( Mt gravatt)
Screening
1.Josh Drummond (eagles)
2.Jay Drummond (labby)
3.Rory Lake (M'side)
4.Matty Pardew (M'side)
5.Chris Counstable (redlands)
6.Jayden Russ (M'side)
7.Martin Pask (western Magpies)
8.Scott Harding (M'side)
9.Billy Cleary (mt gravatt)
From that Fufaro will get Drafted and so might Pardew and Russ (only cause he ran an 16.7 beep test with a rolled ankle clubs have to do some workbut it will come with his skills)..now for the rookie list Jay Drummond, Chris Counstable and maybe Rory Lake if not billy cleary.
Scotty harding just has to have another season at senior level, Martin Pask wont go anywhere, i saw him play 7 or 8 games in the QLD side and for magpies and he had one of the biggest bodies in the QLD side but he was the softest there and he dosent know how to play the game.
Thats my tip for the drafts and rookies..
anyone else have any?
keatings_gal
14 Oct 2003, 20:31
good onya matey!!
some one else who cares about the state U18s & what chance they have....what is your connection?
what do u reckon about Rozynski? perhaps you may have seen him play with the magpies after he come back when u watched Marty...
yeah i reckon that fufaro will get drafted....
love pardew & hes a big bloke with a even bigger physical presence on the field.... knuckled down this year & has definately benefitted form it.... was damn good @ morningside in teh seniors all year & no doubtedly helped in geting the team to the flag this year..... yeah top bloke & top player hope he gets a go...
would love rory to get a rookie spot coz he just works sooo hard
heheh jayden.. what a gem.. wasnt initially selected for the state squad but he had a great start to the season playing with the lions reserves that they included him & he did alright.. he is just a running freak.. down @ morningside u18s training during the year he would like do heaps more laps than the other blokes coz he just ran & ran & ran & then sometimes he would do even more extra training....
ryswyk is good too... havent seen a whole lot of him since he is from down the coast but goes alright... also runs well....
how good was the game that drummond got a bag of goals in teh carnival....nice.....
definately agree that scotty could use another year @ the siders coz he is a lil skinny to be there yet... but he is a very very good player with great skills....
like the way that CC plays too....always been one of my fave bushies players....
billy had a great carnival up here & had some good moments @ the national carnival as well.... some magnificent marks were taken....
maybe you should check out the pre-season trainer thread & the one about James Rozynski.....
Lenny29
15 Oct 2003, 20:10
Constable's gotta be a monty.
A 6'+ midfielder with good pace and skills. Surely a spot on the rookie list at least, and may even go to Essendon. Wouldn't surprise to see Sheedy pick up a Redlands player for the rookie list to strengthen the Bomber bond.
Mr Ripper
15 Oct 2003, 20:38
Phillips.
Lenny29
15 Oct 2003, 20:46
You really haven't seen that bloke play, have you? ;) :p
Mr Ripper
15 Oct 2003, 20:51
I saw him leaning against the goalpost at Coorparoo during the curtain raiser to the state game. :p
Lenny29
15 Oct 2003, 22:01
Rumour has it that he actually acted AS the goalpost. :p
Lenny29
15 Oct 2003, 22:45
How about a Stephen Forbess?
keatings_gal
15 Oct 2003, 22:53
we'd only want forbes if we did lose a chuck of our forward line.. & then he'd still be behind strawb in the list for senior selection....
& if we were looking for a backman phillips woul dhave to be the one coz he stopped forbes who had kicked like 10 goals against everyone else during the 18s this year....
keatings_gal
15 Oct 2003, 22:55
want to draft Pavone just so we can have a sign like some smart freo fan that says Pav-lover... heheheh (written on the side of a giant pavlova obviously)
Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Phillips.
who is this guyy..did he play state or what?
blackers
16 Oct 2003, 15:41
Does anyone know what's the situation with the boy Daniel Pratt. Showed quite a bit in the preseason this year and I'd like to think he'll stick around for another, on the rookie list or otherwise.
Beausgirl43
16 Oct 2003, 17:56
Originally posted by blackers
Does anyone know what's the situation with the boy Daniel Pratt. Showed quite a bit in the preseason this year and I'd like to think he'll stick around for another, on the rookie list or otherwise. Ask SB blackers, he's the one with his finger up the source at the Lions. He'll know the answer to that one for sure.
SpecialBruce
16 Oct 2003, 19:21
Originally posted by Beausgirl43
Ask SB blackers, he's the one with his finger up the source at the Lions. He'll know the answer to that one for sure.
Bit jealous are we that a Non-Queenslander possibly knows stuff before you? Or that a Non-Queenslander can comment on younger players at the club? You know, it's not only you and your friends that can comment on young players and should know stuff before you. Other people have the same right as what anyone else has regardless if they don't go to training all the time and go to the reserves games every week, so with attitude like that, I think you're being a bit selfish and jealous.
Cheers, SB.
Mr Ripper
16 Oct 2003, 22:14
You're making it up as you go along, SB.
Beausgirl43
16 Oct 2003, 22:45
Originally posted by SpecialBruce
Bit jealous are we that a Non-Queenslander possibly knows stuff before you? Or that a Non-Queenslander can comment on younger players at the club? You know, it's not only you and your friends that can comment on young players and should know stuff before you. Other people have the same right as what anyone else has regardless if they don't go to training all the time and go to the reserves games every week, so with attitude like that, I think you're being a bit selfish and jealous.
Cheers, SB. NFI
SpecialBruce
16 Oct 2003, 22:58
The player in the draft is not me, that's all I'll tell ya. Obviously not me coz I'm not playing football again till half way through next year or 2005.
Hope that helps. :D
keatings_gal
16 Oct 2003, 23:16
repeat that sentiment kaz......
keatings_gal
16 Oct 2003, 23:20
Other people have the same right as what anyone else has regardless if they don't go to training all the time and go to the reserves games every week, so with attitude like that, I think you're being a bit selfish and jealous.
sounds like a lil parrot of someone else dont u think guys.....
you can say whatever you want but like i previously said.. you havent even seen half of the players play before.....
& its not that we r jealous of you SUPPOSEDLY knowing something.. just that you are acting like a 5 year old about it..... its like "yeah i know & im not telling YOU"... act your age buddy
SpecialBruce
16 Oct 2003, 23:31
Originally posted by keatings_gal
sounds like a lil parrot of someone else dont u think guys.....
you can say whatever you want but like i previously said.. you havent even seen half of the players play before.....
& its not that we r jealous of you SUPPOSEDLY knowing something.. just that you are acting like a 5 year old about it..... its like "yeah i know & im not telling YOU"... act your age buddy
If you want to try and pay me out, please type properly.
keatings_gal
17 Oct 2003, 09:12
yeah CC is a good player & given a pre-season in the lions gym would be a even better player i rekcon.....
SpecialBruce
17 Oct 2003, 18:10
Did it also occur to you that this player concerned also doesn't want me to say who he is until after he gets drafted, if the club decide to draft him? It's a Bushie.
Mr Ripper
18 Oct 2003, 19:20
keatings_gal
18 Oct 2003, 22:05
CC was a bushie....
keatings_gal
18 Oct 2003, 22:08
& matty & Jimmy were both Kookaburras..... i imagine that the likes of Brett Backwell was a kookaburra as well...