View Full Version : Patrick Wearden

Grimreepah
24 Nov 2011, 17:49
Pick 47 in the 2011 National Draft

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7011/6415313127_2485fb99e4.jpg
Photo courtesy of Jorgo

Grimreepah
24 Nov 2011, 17:52
AFL bio (http://www.afl.com.au/News/NEWSARTICLE/tabid/208/Default.aspx?newsId=120285)

DOB: 06/08/93
Height: 191cm
Weight: 75Kg

KEVIN SHEEHAN SAYS
"Is a long kick and strong mark, reads the game well and can be dangerous around goals. Very athletic player with good repeat speed. From Kyabram FC."

http://img94.imageshack.us/img94/9663/patrickwearden.jpg

6wZOCV6OhO8

borrat
24 Nov 2011, 18:28
hopefully a hadley special :D:D:thumbsu::thumbsu:

chopperduck
24 Nov 2011, 18:36
Welcome to the Lions Patrick. You've been chosen by Hads so you must do something right. Lets hope you live up to our Patrick from last year.

kharis
24 Nov 2011, 19:13
Welcome to the Lions Patrick. You've been chosen by Hads so you must do something right. Lets hope you live up to our Patrick from last year.
And the lions website has him as a Position: Tall Forward and at 191cm... a skinny Kersten?? Great to have him on board!! Welcome to the lions:thumbsu:

Grimreepah
24 Nov 2011, 19:55
Rob Kerr (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/126501/default.aspx)

"In terms of build, he reminds me a lot of Paul Kelly. Paul wasn't as tall but I think he is an exciting prospect."

"Living where he was, his pre-season was one night a week and during the season was two nights a week. The country boys have got a good margin for improvement, simply because they don't get the intensity of work the city boys do."

http://img705.imageshack.us/img705/9663/patrickwearden.jpg

JasRulz63
24 Nov 2011, 20:07
On the SEN coverage, it was mentioned (Kevin Shehan I think?) that he's got the class sometimes, but quite inconsistent, and there's currently quite a big gap between his best and worse. I think that was in reference to Wearden.

Always a Lion
24 Nov 2011, 20:30
it was Leon Harris who said that.

leaper
24 Nov 2011, 20:33
Some great p[ayers came out of Kyabram. Dick Clay, Ross Dillon, Gary Lyon to name a few.

JasRulz63
24 Nov 2011, 20:53
Brett Deledio too from memory.

The Flying Belgian
24 Nov 2011, 21:11
Looks more like a tall midfielder to me from the video.

Splendini
24 Nov 2011, 21:13
Looks more like a tall midfielder to me from the video.

I reckon he's got something.....good pick up there. I think your team had a good draft, well done

Dr Awkward
24 Nov 2011, 22:06
He is the type of guy who has quite a large scope for improvement. And yeah lots of good players have come out of Kyabram they breed em well down there.

pulpdriver
24 Nov 2011, 22:33
I like the look of him from that (albeit short) video. Athletic, kicking action looks pretty nice and a strong mark; his arms look a lovely length for plucking the ball just above his opponents.

Lace Out
24 Nov 2011, 23:03
This will be the most misspelt surname in the history of footy.

Simple,yet diabolical.

Crusha
24 Nov 2011, 23:12
This will be the most misspelt surname in the history of footy.

Simple,yet diabolical.

lions.com.au got the ball rolling early.....

Pick 47: Patrick Reardson, Murray Bushrangers

Lace Out
24 Nov 2011, 23:18

Wow,I never expected it to get that bad :D

Grimreepah
25 Nov 2011, 02:12
Draft Camp (http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/120008/default.aspx)

PROSPECTIVE No.1 draft pick Jonathon Patton is the key figure in the group of 15 tall forwards invited to the 2011 NAB AFL Draft Combine.

Victoria:

Michael Bussey
Tom Curran
Jake Hammond
Dylan Orval
Jackson Paine
Johnathon Patton
Xavier Richards
Jai Sheahan
Lachlan Smith
Jordan Staley
Patrick Wearden

Grimreepah
25 Nov 2011, 02:16
Statistics (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?action=PSTATS&pID=192144988&client=1-118-10581-150677-14515025)

TAC Cup

Season: 2011
Games: 14
Goals: 8
Most goals in a game: 2

VFL Seniors

Season: 2011
Games: 3
Goals: 2
Most goals in a game: 1

Grimreepah
25 Nov 2011, 02:31
SEN (http://www.sen.com.au/display-article/Brisbane/35961)

Is a long kick and strong mark, reads the game well and can be dangerous around goals. Very athletic forward with good repeat speed.

sportal (http://www.sportal.com.au/afl-news-display/afl-draftfollow-it-live-148714)

A goal sneak, very quick and athletic player. Has the potential to burst onto the scene and set the AFL on fire.

Herald Sun (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/brisbane-lions-2011-national-draft/story-e6frf9kf-1226202575078)

A medium midfielder who can go forward and prove deadly. Great left-foot kick who joined Murray as an under-14 whippet and has developed steadily.

chef
25 Nov 2011, 06:18
He is the type of guy who has quite a large scope for improvement. And yeah lots of good players have come out of Kyabram they breed em well down there.

They certainly do, you have a good kid on your hands.

Crusha
25 Nov 2011, 06:36

They still haven't corrected this....a little embarrassing that we can't get his name correct.

I hope they fix it soon (hopefully before he sees it).

ZoBlitz
25 Nov 2011, 09:55
I'm interested to know whether he plays more in the midfield or forward.

thoselionslads
25 Nov 2011, 10:37
I'm interested to know whether he plays more in the midfield or forward.
It does seem as though there are a few contradicting player reviews.

He must be versatile :p

ZoBlitz
25 Nov 2011, 13:16
It does seem as though there are a few contradicting player reviews.

He must be versatile :p

Yeah, obviously he's a key forward, midfielder and goal sneak all wrapped into one! :thumbsu:

cotter101
25 Nov 2011, 14:32
Expect him to play a few games next year. I think he might play forward and let McGrath go to defence again.

Grimreepah
25 Nov 2011, 16:37
More detailed comments from Rob Kerr (http://bigpondvideo.com/BrisbaneLionsTV/405242/draft-wrap-rob-kerr/)

Similarly with Patrick Wearden, a country boy. Patrick sorta showed towards the end of the year that he's got a good ability to play outside the game or inside the game, win the ball, good in traffic. 191cm - to have the athleticism he does at that height, we think we can develop him to fill a number of roles for us.

chopperduck
25 Nov 2011, 16:49
Sounds like one of those guys that has a great mix of height and speed/agility. Seems to be one of those picks that he is someone who has natural talent and a nice physical attributes, but hasn't been in a serious environment to really let his skills flourish. These are the kinds of picks that turn out gems as these kinds of kids sometimes just explode in a full time professional environment. Hadley is usually on the money when he finds a smokey.

He seems like he plays as a HF type midfielder, getting up the ground and amongst it, but seems like he is good on the lead as well. If he grows another few cm it would be ideal, but really at 191 he is tall enough to be a KPP if he is good enough, especially with good speed and marking. Is said to have good goal sense as well, so maybe a bit like Karni in that he can crumb and kick goals without taking marks as well.

chef
25 Nov 2011, 18:01
You seen him play chef?

No sorry mate, the Bushies never play in Ky.

He grew up just around the corner from me and his brother used to milk my dads cows. Comes from a great family and has a good head on his shoulders. Happy for him to end up at the Lions as my two daughters are one eyed Brisbane members.

cotter101
25 Nov 2011, 18:52
Maybe the club will try to turn him into a FF? He has the tools to become one IMO.

jackess
25 Nov 2011, 19:11
Looks like he has abnormally long arms. The Anti-Rich perhaps.

Swanny10
25 Nov 2011, 21:52
You just get he feeling he has a touch of a x-factor about him.

Seems pretty raw but looks like a potential line breaking mid to me - good speed.

mpal6
26 Nov 2011, 09:12
Patty X 2.

Forward line mayhem.

Grimreepah
26 Nov 2011, 19:11
sportsiq (http://sportsiq.com.au/sports-analysis/afl/brisbane-lions-2012-draft-picks)

#47: Patrick Wearden: The boy from the Murray Bushrangers shows great agility and speed. An extremely long kick of the football and a fantastic mark overhead. Dangerous around goals and has good endurance.

http://img411.imageshack.us/img411/6664/wearden2.jpg

jackess
26 Nov 2011, 19:56
The mystery man - love it.

chopperduck
26 Nov 2011, 20:01
Loving the sound of him though, strong mark and long kick, good athletic ability and dangerous around goals, sounds ideal for a decent FF target. If you can manage a FF like Fev, strong marking and leads, but also can crumb his own ball and is dangerous that way, it's a big bonus.

I like the sound of the kid, really wanna see him playing at FF in the 2nds and see what he can do.

Dr Awkward
27 Nov 2011, 18:35
o has natural talent and a nice physical attributes, but hasn't been in a serious environment to really let his skills flourish.

This is pretty much it. I've seen him play a bit. He really has quite a high ceiling, and probably hasn't trained hard enough as a kid but will probably benefit from a professional environment.

Moves very well and makes good decisions with the ball. Apparently Hawthorn were very keen and were thinking about taking him in the 30's but banked on the fact nobody else would take him so decided to get him in the 50's, only for Bris to come in and swoop.

weevil
27 Nov 2011, 19:46
It’s not just the names, Patty 2 gives me a very similar vibe to Patty 1. Very talented but for different reasons not on people’s radars come draft day.

Given Hadley’s performance in previous drafts I have a very strong vibe about this kid.

Get the feeling that the P1 and P2 could become quite a handful in the same forward line.

MacMum
27 Nov 2011, 19:51
P1 + P2....the 3 R's...and the double LL's in the middle......oh yes, there is certainly a good vibe around our team now!!:heart:

Rally
27 Nov 2011, 20:07
Redden just tweeted:

picked up patty weardin from airport. Might battle with @rockwiz38 cuddling sessions on the couch tho#timewilltell

Obviously the surname was a bit of a struggle for him too, but great to see the boys are welcoming the cubs with open arms. :)

Grimreepah
28 Nov 2011, 05:36
Nick's Collingwood Bulletin Board (http://magpies.net/nick/bb/viewtopic.php?t=63631)

Patrick Wearden is a player from our TAC Cup affiliate side, the Murray Bushrangers. He has played 3 matches this season for Collingwood under the 23rd man rule, which allows for VFL sides to play a 23rd player from their TAC Cup affiliate.

Wearden has played 14 matches this season for the Bushies, notching up a modest 8 goals in total. He also played for them last year in 9 matches, also scoring 8 goals.

Grimreepah
28 Nov 2011, 06:05
Murray Bushrangers 2011 (http://www.sportingpulse.com/team_info.cgi?action=PSTATS&client=1-3020-111726-150804-14537509&pID=192112911&pname=Patrick%20Wearden&news_task=DETAIL)

Total Average
Games 14 1
Goals 8 0.57
Behinds 5 0.36
Effective kicks 88 6.29
Ineffective kicks 52 3.71
(total) 140 10
Effective handballs 74 5.29
Ineffective handballs 32 2.29
(total) 106 7.57
Handballs received 76 5.43
Tackles 55 3.92
Frees for 9 0.64
Frees against 6 0.43
Hit outs 0 0
Contested marks 14 1
Uncontested marks 46 3.29

Grimreepah
28 Nov 2011, 06:17
Andrew Carson (http://oneeyed-richmond.com/forum/index.php?topic=14390.0) (Murray Bushrangers region manager)

DOB: 6/8/93. Ht: 191 cm. Wt: 75kg.
Pos: Medium midfielder.
"Terrific size for a half forward/winger, Patrick has been through our program right from under-14s. He is a left footer who finds a lot of the footy and can really run and break the lines. Versatile player similar to Jack Crisp, and can play at each end of the ground as well as through the midfield."

http://img502.imageshack.us/img502/245/wearden.jpg

Nicky G
28 Nov 2011, 11:37
Voss- (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/126612/default.aspx)

“As we went through the list, we started ticking the players off and Patrick Wearden was still there. That was another nice surprise for us. He’s 191cm, moves really well and is probably more of an outside midfielder, but can play inside. So we’ve been able to bolster our midfield strength that’s for sure.”

Sounds like he was targeted more as a mid than a forward. Our utility stocks are certainly increasing.

Bucking Beads
29 Nov 2011, 13:45
He could easily shoot up and get a fair bit taller as well. Athletic midfielders a pure gold though.

chopperduck
29 Nov 2011, 13:53
We don't have many really tall athletic type mids, would be good if he turns out as a gem.

Grimreepah
29 Nov 2011, 14:38
Rob Kerr (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/126650/default.aspx)

His pre-season involved one session per week with the Bushrangers, and in season he trained only twice a week with the Bushrangers squad, often getting home at 10.30-11pm at night. This information helped us appreciate that Patrick has had very little exposure to a program at anything like the intensity that many of his peers in the cities had experienced. It also provided some explanation as to why his season was a little up and down as the demands on his time, including working the family farm, were significant.

As a player, Patrick is a good mark, can run well and demonstrated towards the end of this season that he is capable of coming off the wing and involving himself in heavy congestion, winning the ball and delivering it to a team-mate on the outside. His knack of keeping his hands clear when under pressure so that he can deliver a clean handball to a team-mate is also eye-catching.

When in traffic, he is also very agile and competitive. Patrick has a unique ball drop, but is generally an effective kick although no doubt the coaches will work on the way he positions his hand over the ball. At 191 cm and very lightly built, Patrick comes to the Club in a condition not unlike Patrick Karnezis. He can be expected to build his body up over the next year or two and when he does, it is hoped that we have a player who can win his own ball as well as play outside on the wing and flanks or even been rotated through a key forward position to change things up.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7006/6415305557_1857c95913.jpg
Photo courtesy of Jorgo

cjwalkley
30 Nov 2011, 07:19
If we are looking at nicknames, I'd suggest we can't go far wrong with 'Doc'.

This is a nice blast from the past.

Grimreepah
30 Nov 2011, 13:21
Wearden wonderful (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/126702/default.aspx)
By Michael Whiting
12:59 PM Wed 30 Nov, 2011

He can play anywhere from half-back to wing to half-forward and at 191cm is a good size in any position.

Wearden missed selection in the Vic Country team that contested the U18 national championships, but he says that setback did not slow him down.

"A lot of people don't expect those that miss out on the rep sides to get picked up in the draft," Wearden said.

"I was lucky enough to get a few VFL games with Collingwood and I think that might have helped my chances a bit.

"I think a lot of clubs see a bit of upside with the country boys because we don't have the exposure with the facilities that the city boys do, so I think that might have helped my chances as well."

http://img231.imageshack.us/img231/3397/wearden5.jpg

Grimreepah
30 Nov 2011, 13:44
Quigley

Patrick Wearden
DOB 6/8/93 Ht 190.9 Wt 74

First up I have seen stuff all of Wearden so my write up is based on a pretty small sample size and a few comments from those who have seen a bit of him. First up what position will he play? Cotter seems to have his heart set on him being a FF but I really don’t see it.Too me he looks like a flanker most likely at the forward end. He played 14 games for the Murray Bushrangers this year in the TAC and finished with 17.5 possessions a game but only managed 8 goals in total. He did not always play in the forward half but he did get forward enough for that to be a disappointing return. He also played 3 games for Collingwood in the VFL as a 23rd man and acquitted himself well from all accounts.

Wearden is a good size for a flanker and gets around the park pretty well. He has good hands overhead but he doesn’t really get off the ground much in the marking contest. At AFL level he might do okay on a flank but I think he could struggle to mark the ball as a leading target where the bigger AFL guys can jump over him and spoil. Athletically he is fine but nothing spectacular. He has nice pace for a tall (2.97 in the 20m) and was pretty much bang on average for agility and endurance (8.57 agility, 14.15 beep and 11.02 3km).

Kerr played up the fact that Wearden was a country boy in his post draft comments and him supposedly having less exposure to a high intensity program. This was pure spin and a complete furphy. Wearden has been in the Bushrangers elite program for the last four years and whilst he might be from country Victoria it’s not like he is from central Queensland. He has trained with very good players, had access to high level coaching and been on a high performance program since he was 14 years old. Brett Deledio is from the same area and he did not need the “he’s from the country” excuse. There are plenty who you could certainly trot that line out for (e.g. Manson and Schloithe) but Wearden is not one of them in my opinion.

Wearden weighed in at only 74kgs at Combine and this did surprise me quite a bit. He has a decent set of shoulders on him and looks heavier than the 74kgs he actually is. I see him as a lot like Collier in height and build and in probably the types of positions he will play. At this stage you would hope that he has a bit better skills than Tom demonstrated but he does lack some of Tom’s physicality and defensive attitude.

He is very much an outside player and lacks a bit of grunt / intensity in his play. He and Yeo are much alike in this regard and it did surprise me to see us take two actually very similar players. Like Yeo, Wearden also has a fairly good, penetrating kick. He tends to kick the ball a bit more on its point than is usual but he does get pretty good accuracy and feel on his kicks. He is a left footer and pretty one sided.

Overall I thought Wearden probably did not have the runs on the board to be taken in the national draft. That is not to say he won’t end up justifying the pick but merely that there were others available who had done more with the opportunities they have been given. Wearden has been picked on upside that the recruitment staff see in him as he develops physically and with the work that will be demanded of him in a full time environment. At the stage where he was taken that’s fair enough and I hope he more than justifies the selection.

mish33
30 Nov 2011, 19:41
If we are looking at nicknames, I'd suggest we can't go far wrong with 'Doc'.

This is a nice blast from the past.

Call me simple, but I was thinking Weardo

Grimreepah
1 Dec 2011, 15:46
Shepparton News

Thursday, 24th November 2011 (http://www.sheppnews.com.au/article.aspx?id=1249684)

Bushrangers region manager Andrew Carson said up to five of the club’s 2011 crop and two previous players could be on AFL clubs’ radar.

Carson said he expected Myrtleford’s Jack Crisp, the Bushrangers’ best-and-fairest winner, to be selected, while Euroa’s Lachie Smith, who plays with Benalla, and Kyabram’s Patrick Wearden were strong chances.

Tuesday, 29th November 2011 (http://www.sheppnews.com.au/article.aspx?id=1250278)

Just one Bushranger had his name called out on Thursday, with Patrick Wearden joining Brisbane after being selected with pick 47.

Carson said Thursday’s draft had been a ‘‘roller-coaster’’ for the club as well as the potential draftees.

‘‘It was fantastic for Patrick (Wearden), it is a great opportunity for him, but we are still mindful that others have missed an opportunity and we hope that will change.’’

Wednesday, 30th November 2011 (http://www.sheppnews.com.au/article.aspx?id=1250629)

Within minutes of Brisbane announcing Patrick as their choice for pick number 47, the family home was swamped with family and friends ? excited, emotional and proud. Facebook and Twitter went into overdrive as the news filtered further afield, and those not able to park their car on the front lawn and burst through the door with a bottle of champagne posted messages of congratulations and support.

The phone was ringing off the hook and the young man at the centre of it all looked a little bewildered at times at all this fuss. And while his mates and young cousins gathered about, back slapping and bear hugging each other, you’d swear every mother who walked through the door had raised Patrick herself.

http://img576.imageshack.us/img576/245/wearden.jpg

Grimreepah
Wearden pride of the Lions (http://www.mmg.com.au/local-sport/kyabram/wearden-pride-of-the-lions-1.3288)
NOVEMBER 30, 2011 4:13am

Wearden, picked up at number 47, declared his drafting as ‘‘a big and pleasant surprise’’.

Despite having extensive talks in the presence of his father Peter with Lions list managers in Benalla on Tuesday last week before the draft, Wearden was still well aware of the odds of being drafted.

‘‘It came out of the blue, really, but I’m rapt,’’ he said at the weekend.

Wearden, a 193cm and classy left-footer, said several AFL clubs had made contact him with him before the Draft Camp in October but it was mainly Hawthorn and Brisbane Lions who had shown continuing interest after the draft.

He said the Brisbane Lions’ list managers spent about an hour-and-a-half talking with him and his father last week.

‘‘They really suss you out to see what sort of person you are and what your ambitions are. It was pretty thorough,’’ Wearden said.

http://img214.imageshack.us/img214/6638/wearden1.jpg

Grimreepah
Wearden and Downie picked up in National Draft (http://www.mmg.com.au/local-sport/shepparton/wearden-and-downie-picked-up-in-national-draft-1.2957)
NOVEMBER 25, 2011 5:01am

Wearden, who ventured to a neighbour’s house with his family to watch the count, described seeing his name appear on the screen as a ‘‘pretty surreal’’ feeling.

‘‘I had absolutely no idea (they were going to take me),’’ Wearden said.

‘‘I honestly thought I wasn’t going to get picked up and I would be kicking around here (Kyabram) next year.

‘‘I am still trying to come to terms with it.’’

Wearden played with the Murray Bushrangers in the TAC Cup this season and forged a reputation as a midfielder-forward who knows how to find space and is dangerous around goal.

http://farm7.staticflickr.com/6221/6415466801_b9fb92e0ac.jpg
photo courtesy of stitchface

Grimreepah
5 Dec 2011, 04:56
Andrew Carson (http://www.nenews.com.au/stories.aspx?pub=ma&day=Wed&class=Stories&type=SINGLE&path=XML/&rec=50)

Carson said both Wearden and Elliott had the ability to make an impact at the Lions and Magpies.
"Pat tested really well at the draft combine," he said.
"He is a wing, half forward type and a real modern prototype footballer.
"He's got a lot to offer and Brisbane have seen a bit in him."

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7005/6415466977_fcc631694a.jpg
Photo courtesy of stitchface

Grimreepah
5 Dec 2011, 05:11
Prime7 video (http://au.prime7.yahoo.com/v1/sport/video/-/watch/26876147/panthers-lose-young-gun/)

"Patty's got that ability to play at half forward, or even on a wing. He's a nice athletic boy and he can get across the ground pretty quickly. He can take a nice mark as well."

"He took big steps in his football this year, and improved a hell of a lot throughout the year."

Grimreepah
9 Dec 2011, 06:22
Link (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/127009/default.aspx) ....

Meanwhile, fellow draftees Elliot Yeo and Patrick Wearden will wear #26 and #37 respectively.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7015/6458978855_eb2e30fa87.jpg
photo courtesy of Jorgo

Grimreepah
14 Dec 2011, 23:37
Wearden does have his own style when it comes to kicking the footy.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7164/6507695497_cd6dd0f29f.jpg http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7027/6507687963_b117d899fd.jpg
photos courtesy of Jorgo

Grimreepah
19 Dec 2011, 08:26
Video: meet Patrick Wearden (http://bigpondvideo.com/BrisbaneLionsTV/408867//)

How different is being at an AFL club like the Lions?

Yeah, training most days here is pretty intense. Back at the Bushies you'd be training once or twice a week and you wouldn't really catch up with the group that much. It's been good to be around the boys here a lot. Just the intensity of training and the step up in how much you're doing is something to get used to.

What are you working on over the pre-season?

I've been working on my fitness, so that's been pretty intense, and my strength as well so I've been in the gym trying to put some weight on. That's a big priority for me.

How are you enjoying Brisbane so far?

It's a good city, pretty cruisy, bit smaller than Melbourne. But enjoying the change. The heat's a bit to get used to and I'm starting to get there now. It's been raining, and hot, a bit of everything. But I'm really enjoying it. Glad to be up here.

http://img824.imageshack.us/img824/9663/patrickwearden.jpg

Grimreepah
13 Jan 2012, 09:38
First impressions (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/127857/default.aspx)
10:42 AM Fri 13 Jan, 2012

I’m starting to get used to it now and am loving it.

I still pinch myself to think that this is my job. I wake up in the morning and spend the day getting fit, doing weights and running around in nice weather.

But it was tough at the start. I’ve pretty much gone from doing one or two light training sessions per week (with the Murray Bushrangers TAC Cup side), to doing regular 3km time trials followed by 100m sprints!

It’s obviously a lot harder than anything I experienced before, but I’m really enjoying it.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7020/6507705037_1439a79157.jpg
photo courtesy of Jorgo

Grimreepah
16 Jan 2012, 10:48
Wearden’s happy homecoming (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/127889/default.aspx)
9:07 AM Mon 16 Jan, 2012

“It was really good,” Wearden said.

“I had all my brothers and sisters over from Perth, so I just hung out with them in Kyabram.”

Now a local hero, the 18 year-old said it hadn’t taken long for his family to switch allegiances and show their support for the Lions.

“My dad even got some Lions caps out at Christmas gave them out to everyone to wear,” he said.

“Everyone’s on board and they are really happy for me. They all love Vossy and are happy that I’m at the Lions.”

http://img405.imageshack.us/img405/8372/wearden13.jpg

whatboutbob
6 Feb 2012, 21:01
AFL Prospectus 2012 (http://store.championdata.com/store/afl_prospectus_2012.html)

Wearden played TAC Cup football with the Murray Bushrangers last year and his form improved so much as the season progressed he was given three VFL games as a top-up player with Collingwood late in the year, averaging nine disposals and booting two goals. He averaged the fifth most Champion Data ranking points of any Bushranger last season, ranking No. 1 for them in disposals and second for effective long kicks.

Grimreepah
10 Feb 2012, 16:09
2012 Jumper Presentation (http://www.slideshare.net/brisbanelions/2012-lions-jumper-presentation?from=ss_embed)

http://img528.imageshack.us/img528/9663/patrickwearden.jpg

Grimreepah
23 Feb 2012, 21:21
http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7190/6776933726_7d13b14f0f.jpg

Grimreepah
7 Mar 2012, 16:11
Josh Drummond (http://www.lions.com.au/lions%20live%20chat/tabid/15917/default.aspx)

Comment From glen
How is Patrick Wearden going? A former student at the school I teach at.

He's going well, seems to have a really good attitude to training. Hopefully he can get some senior experience this yr!

Grimreepah
13 Mar 2012, 00:26
NEAFL practice match: Brisbane Reserves vs Morningside (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/130535/default.aspx)

Draftees Elliot Yeo and Patrick Wearden also showed plenty of promise. Wearden played in a range of positions from half-back to the midfield, while Yeo was given a greater opportunity to play in the centre.

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7202/6971984253_405aa7806c.jpg
photo courtesy of Jorgo

Grimreepah
10 Apr 2012, 19:01
NEAFL Round 3 vs UWS Giants (http://www.lions.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/5085/newsid/132713/default.aspx)

Of the Club’s crop of 2011 draftees, Clarke said Patrick Wearden and Billy Longer were particularly noticeable.

“Wearden has started to find a fair bit of the footy and played one of his better games since coming to the Club,” Clarke said.

“His strength is his versatility and he’s a good competitor. He can play in most positions and always stays in the contest.”

http://farm8.staticflickr.com/7176/6971979943_8c6070e4e9.jpg
photo courtesy of Jorgo

thoselionslads
2 May 2012, 07:56
I haven't seen Wearden play yet.

Reading the reports, I've gathered he is versatile, but what type of player is he? Nice kick/finds the footy/good overhead??