View Full Version : looking for a club 2012 sunny coast or nth bris
craffles
26 Nov 2011, 12:28
hey guys, new to the state living in mooloolaba looking to play at a strong club with success aspirations......played 1s footy back in melb til work commitments made me stop.......mid/flanker pretty short but not afraid to go in hard..........any contacts or recommended clubs?
craffles
26 Nov 2011, 12:29
hey guys, new to the state living in mooloolaba looking to play at a strong club with success aspirations......played 1s footy back in melb til work commitments made me stop.......mid/flanker pretty short but not afraid to go in hard..........any contacts or recommended clubs?
im 24 yrs old
smy1305
26 Nov 2011, 17:23
Maroochydore, Craffles - closest club to you and a club on the rise. Great coach, good young fellas. Worth heading over to. Who did you play for in melbourne?
craffles
26 Nov 2011, 21:04
juniors coldstream 18s lilydale seniors belgrave ........whats the best way to find out when they train etc
Sweetie
27 Nov 2011, 19:02
juniors coldstream 18s lilydale seniors
belgrave ........whats the best way to find out when they train etc
Sandgate in north Brisbane better option mate in my opinion. Played in Gf 2010, prelim last year. Check out last few years results for a comparison between them and Maroochy. Bit further to travel (40 mins) but they would be worth at least talking to. PM me if interested and I'll send contact numbers. They train Monday and Thursday at 6pm, go down have a look! Great club to IMO.
smy1305
27 Nov 2011, 20:38
40min - LOL. How fast do you drive Sweetie!! Try at least an hr from Mooloolaba and thats assuiming there is no hold ups on the Bruce Hwy - is a 160km round trip !!
No better way to get to know the local people Craffles than being part of the local football clubs. EFL is good standard of footy and you would be more than happy in the PHC I reckon. Come down to Fishermans Rd on Tuesdays or Thursdays as training has already started but if you are keen then PM me and I'll put you in contact with the right people.
s364376
30 Nov 2011, 11:51
your options are pretty much limited to the sunshine coast, unless you want to play in the NEAFL. I personally wouldn't recommend driving all the way to Brisbane (atleast an hour each way) to play in a competition where there are local teams playing.
AFLQ Premier Div
Noosa Tigers (40 mins from Mooloolaba) are the reigning premiers 2 years in a row. They have a good close nit club, and produce alot of good local kids (but no AFL players yet, had to slip that in). I personally wouldn't want to drive 40 mins up the highway to play on a mosquito infested third rate ground, but others have.
Maroochy Roos
5 mins drive from Mooloolaba. 3 ovals in AFL like condition. Close nit club that is rebuilding after having some financial problems after 2 good seasons (finished second and third). Great senior coach, 2 very experienced assistant coaches and reserves coach. Very few (if any) player movements this year (compared to last year).
AFLQ Division 1
Caloundra (20 mins drive)
Good succesful club that plays in the division under Noosa and Maroochydore. I don't know alot about them, except they have a great record of producing AFL players, and that they won the flag in 2010 and went out in the prelim this year which cost me my Sunshine Coast dominance bet (Sunshine Coast Teams won premier, Div 2, and div 3). Facilities limited. (field awful to play on)
AFLQ Div 2
Nambour (15 mins)
Promoted to Div 2 from Div 3 after winning 3 straight flags in Div 3, and made it 4 straight last year. Coach is a good bloke, very young list but all good blokes. Good family club, facilities are limited but not terrible. Very weak division judging on games I watched last year, thats the only reason I wouldn't play for Nambour.
AFLQ Div 3 North
Glasshouse (45 mins)
Pinerivers (45 mins)
Pomono (45 mins)
Noosa (40 mins)
Gympie (60 mins)
Maroochydore (5 mins)
Very average comp, mostly for blokes past there prime but still wanting to have a kick. Would only recommend playing in this comp if you had mates playing at a club and you wanted to play with them.
craffles
1 Dec 2011, 01:47
40min - LOL. How fast do you drive Sweetie!! Try at least an hr from Mooloolaba and thats assuiming there is no hold ups on the Bruce Hwy - is a 160km round trip !!
No better way to get to know the local people Craffles than being part of the local football clubs. EFL is good standard of footy and you would be more than happy in the PHC I reckon. Come down to Fishermans Rd on Tuesdays or Thursdays as training has already started but if you are keen then PM me and I'll put you in contact with the right people.
i work bribie to hervey n my office is in acacia ridge....maroochy seems the best fit at this stage trained on tues good blokes n ground but obv wanna play highest std possible .....that is once im half fit again haha
[quote=craffles;22925445]i work bribie to hervey n my office is in acacia ridge....maroochy seems the best fit at this stage trained on tues good blokes n ground but obv wanna play highest std possible .....that is once im half fit again haha[/quot
If you get a chance Craffles, have a run at Sandgate as well, to compare. Sounds like you will be travelling a fair bit any way! Best chance of playing finals, outside of Noosa, who are super strong already. They train Monday and Thursday at 6pm.
Good to hear Craffles - nice choice:D Excellent coaching staff at the Roos this year and sounds like you will be doing enough driving without giving yourself another 2hrs/night heading to Brisbane! More than enough blokes down there I would have thought too Sweetie - are the hawks struggling this year??
Like you said mate, you won't find a better surface in Qld than Fishermans Rd currently.
Noosa are certainties to play finals but I reckon the Roos might surprise a few next year.
Toucan Soup
5 Dec 2011, 08:23
Crikey, craffles! Your office is based at Acacia Ridge? Why not have a run with Yeronga? (Half joking / half serious)
As an outsider, considering where you will be living, Maroochydore is a really good option for you. However, if you find yourself stuck in Brisbane & unable to get to your regular club training, you will be welcome to join in with our sessions at Yeronga. Just an offer to help out so you keep the skills & fitness on track.
craffles
6 Dec 2011, 19:34
I'm a sales rep for Colgate-Palmolive....... i'm on the road 90% of the time so usually only have to go down to bribie but make 3-4 trips to the office a month...... to put it into perspective i did 2500kms last week :eek:
localfootyguru
6 Dec 2011, 20:53
Craffles, welcome to Gods Country. :)
You couldnt go past Maroochy Roos. Great club and good people involved and certainly growing rapidly. The ground is fantastic and you will definitely notice the difference compared to the beautiful oasis that is Belgrave Reserve.
Hope you make the decision to be involved there, you honestly could not go wrong and will certainly be made welcome.
craffles
11 Dec 2011, 19:12
Craffles, welcome to Gods Country. :)
You couldnt go past Maroochy Roos. Great club and good people involved and certainly growing rapidly. The ground is fantastic and you will definitely notice the difference compared to the beautiful oasis that is Belgrave Reserve.
Hope you make the decision to be involved there, you honestly could not go wrong and will certainly be made welcome.
Yeah i'll be playing at Maroochy, cant make any more trainings till the new year but went to one and the blokes and coach were fantastic, appreciate all the advice fellas!
How do you know Belgrave Reserve lol, it's actually had a lot of work done on it and the surface is fantastic... come to think of it, you post on the YVMDFL forum dont you?