View Full Version : Scott Stevens

Pages : [1] 2

Stiffy_18
16 Oct 2003, 20:32
Can someone please explain to me why the hell are we interested in him??????:confused:

DaveW
16 Oct 2003, 21:02
Originally posted by Stiffy_18
Can someone please explain to me why the hell are we interested in him??????:confused: We are?

Great news!

He's the one Swans fringe player I hoped we'd go after.

Stevens can play forward or back, can take a mark.

He's still young and we can probably get him on the cheap. Why wouldn't we go after him?

dyertribe
16 Oct 2003, 21:05
In another news, ex-Swan Jon Stevens has quit INXS...

:p

macca23
16 Oct 2003, 21:10
Originally posted by DaveW
We are?

Great news!

He's the one Swans fringe player I hoped we'd go after.

Stevens can play forward or back, can take a mark.

He's still young and we can probably get him on the cheap. Why wouldn't we go after him?

I'm getting worried. This is the second time in a row that I've agreed with you Dave!! :D

He's 6'3" and a bit, and can take a mark. He's only 21.

I think you summed him up well Dave, and he'd add something to our squad.

Hope we get him.

Stiffy_18
16 Oct 2003, 21:16
C'mon guys he can't crack a game for Sydney who are crying out for a KPP, yet you expect him to add something to our team. He has had so many chances its not funny.

I would rather we got a bloody ruckman.

What do you think will it take it to get him??????

Jerome
16 Oct 2003, 21:19
I feel a bit better now that Dave and Macca23 are keen on him.

6'3 and can play down back eh? Interesting.

macca23
16 Oct 2003, 21:19
C'mon guys he can't crack a game for Sydney who are crying out for a KPP, yet you expect him to add something to our team. He has had so many chances its not funny.

I would rather we got a bloody ruckman.

What do you think will it take it to get him??????

Not a lot Stiffy - a 3rd rounder at most or even one of our fringe mid-fielders.

He's had a few good games with 8 or so marks against sides.

Definitely worth a punt. Can be played as a 3d tall down back or up forward.

Stiffy_18
16 Oct 2003, 21:25
I am not all that convinced. Granted I haven't seen much of him.

He is a thin tall and too inconsistent.

On 2nd thought, anyone is better than Schell:D

I WANT A BLOODY RUCKMAN:mad:

DaveW
16 Oct 2003, 21:27
I'd swap a third rounder.

I'm not sure if any of our fringe players would interest the Swans.

Stiffy_18
16 Oct 2003, 21:27
Originally posted by macca23
Definitely worth a punt. Can be played as a 3d tall down back or up forward. Wouldn't we be better off playing Parker/Hentschel as 3rd talls in the backlines or Perrie/Hentschel as 3rd talls in forward line??????

Stiffy_18
16 Oct 2003, 21:28

I'm not sure if any of our fringe players would interest the Swans. Gallagher??????

macca23
16 Oct 2003, 21:31
Wouldn't we be better off playing Parker/Hentschel as 3rd talls in the backlines or Perrie/Hentschel as 3rd talls in forward line??????

Parker and Hentschel haven't proved that they are AFL standard, although I expect them to be. This kid has played 2 seasons already at the same age. He'd be in front of both of them at this stage.

As for Perrie, why in ***** aren't we trading him???????

If we're relying on him for our future we're rooted.

ant
16 Oct 2003, 21:32
I'd like to see us try and get pick 6 now that the Bullies have it.

Unlikely I know, but if they can't get Rawlings to Whitten Oval, and since they already have picks 1 and 4, maybe we can somehow entice pick 6 away.

I'm not sure if we have the bait though, or the bait we'd be willing to part with anyway.

Kane McGoodwin
16 Oct 2003, 21:32

I'm not sure if any of our fringe players would interest the Swans.
Sounds a fair swap to me.

I have liked what I have seen of Stevens. Looked like a mobile KPP, but appears to be out of favour with Roos. Sure we probably need a more solid KPP, but if came cheap would add KPP depth to our squad & allow us to trade Perrie perhaps for a 2nd rounder if we got a good deal.

macca23
16 Oct 2003, 21:34
Originally posted by ant
I'd like to see us try and get pick 6 now that the Bullies have it.

Unlikely I know, but if they can't get Rawlings to Whitten Oval, and since they already have picks 1 and 4, maybe we can somehow entice pick 6 away.

I'm not sure if we have the bait though, or the bait we'd be willing to part with anyway.

I'd love to get it. Would Perrie plus #14 do it??

spindoctor
16 Oct 2003, 21:40
How about we just cut our whole list and take a whole swag o draft picks and maybe we'll get lucky?

The enthusiasm of youth might get us over the line for a premiership.

I wonder if the Bulldogs would give us the no 1 pick for Andrew McLeod?

Stiffy_18
16 Oct 2003, 21:40
I'd love to get it. Would Perrie plus #14 do it?? Doubt it. In fact I doubt we would trade Perrie but if you guys think Scott Stevens is worth going after then I give in. I think you are better judges than I am.

If we get Stevens for say Gallagher or Pick 45, I would make Bulldogs an offer of Perrie and Pick 14 for Pick 6. I am not sure they would take it but we will never know if we don't ask.

spindoctor
16 Oct 2003, 21:43
Perrie > Stevens

ant
16 Oct 2003, 21:49
Doubt it. In fact I doubt we would trade Perrie but if you guys think Scott Stevens is worth going after then I give in. I think you are better judges than I am.

If we get Stevens for say Gallagher or Pick 45, I would make Bulldogs an offer of Perrie and Pick 14 for Pick 6. I am not sure they would take it but we will never know if we don't ask.

Yeah, I don't think they'd go for it, but they might. Anything can happen on the final day of trading.

And Perrie better than Stevens? That's good spindoctoring, are you his agent or something?

Stiffy_18
16 Oct 2003, 21:53
Originally posted by ant
Yeah, I don't think they'd go for it, but they might. Anything can happen on the final day of trading. I think the problem this year will be that a LOT of trades will fall through because the Fax machine at AFL will get jammed.

I don't see the point of having a 5 day trade period when deals don't get done until day 4. Better off having a 3 day trade period to begin with.

spindoctor
16 Oct 2003, 21:55
No. It's true though. When was the last time Stevens kicked 6 goals in a game. The last time Stevens took 11 marks in a game? The last time Stevens shouldered the responsibility of being the sole key forward in a forward line cut down by injuries, and performed admirably to boot?

Answer is never. Perrie did all of those.

You speak of ticker...Steven don't have any, Perrie has it in spades.

Stiffy_18
16 Oct 2003, 22:05
Originally posted by spindoctor
No. It's true though. When was the last time Stevens kicked 6 goals in a game. The last time Stevens took 11 marks in a game? The last time Stevens shouldered the responsibility of being the sole key forward in a forward line cut down by injuries, and performed admirably to boot?

Answer is never. Perrie did all of those.

You speak of ticker...Steven don't have any, Perrie has it in spades. Hey with Perrie its all about opportunity. This time last year you would have said exactly the same thing about Perrie.

With our position in trading this year its about identifying a player that is not being given a fair go at his current club and recruiting him for bugger all and giving him a chance to prove himself.

ant
16 Oct 2003, 22:05
Sorry, got confused there mate. Perrie is better than Scott Stevens.

ant
16 Oct 2003, 22:09
I think the problem this year will be that a LOT of trades will fall through because the Fax machine at AFL will get jammed.

I don't see the point of having a 5 day trade period when deals don't get done until day 4. Better off having a 3 day trade period to begin with.

Trading week should be two days.....day 1, clubs meet, get aquainted, pussy foot around....day 2, they meet again, do deals, go home, thank your mother for the rabbits.

Russian
16 Oct 2003, 22:09
Perrie and 14 for pick 6 ... I think that works for both. Perrie plays his best football when he's the #1 target. Crows need good quality youth

Stevens for Perrie - Why would Sydney want another forward - their lineup at the moment:
F: Davis, Hall, O'Loughlin
HF: Schneider, Goodes, ???
Can't see Perrie fitting in to this team
Stevens may be as good as Perrie, but its not clear cut so no need 4 change

DaveW
16 Oct 2003, 22:32
Originally posted by Russian
Perrie and 14 for pick 6 ... I think that works for both. Perrie plays his best football when he's the #1 target. Crows need good quality youth

Stevens for Perrie - Why would Sydney want another forward - their lineup at the moment:
F: Davis, Hall, O'Loughlin
HF: Schneider, Goodes, ???
Can't see Perrie fitting in to this team
Stevens may be as good as Perrie, but its not clear cut so no need 4 change If that's their line up, why wouldn't they want another tall forward? CHF is hardly the best place for Goodes.

But I don't think Perrie is really what they need either.

Stiffy_18
16 Oct 2003, 22:52
I don't think Perrie is going anywhere

liz
16 Oct 2003, 22:54
If that's their line up, why wouldn't they want another tall forward? CHF is hardly the best place for Goodes.

But I don't think Perrie is really what they need either.

Hall at CHF, Doyle or Ball at FF, stick O'Keefe in there or one of the youngsters in the reserves who have been kicking plenty of goals and you have a more than decent forward line. Not really room for Stevens - and I agree I don't really see that Perrie would fit in.

But you guys aren't really interested in Sydney's forward line so...

What do you reckon Bode is worth? I heard he was looking for more opportunities at another club. I've been impressed with his ball winning ability at stoppages the few times I've seen him play and that is exactly what Sydney needs. Would he and Stevens be a fair swap? Have to confess I don't really have a feel for Bode's value, but he probably has more runs on the board than Stevens.

DaveW
16 Oct 2003, 22:59
Originally posted by liz
What do you reckon Bode is worth? I heard he was looking for more opportunities at another club. I've been impressed with his ball winning ability at stoppages the few times I've seen him play and that is exactly what Sydney needs. Would he and Stevens be a fair swap? Have to confess I don't really have a feel for Bode's value, but he probably has more runs on the board than Stevens. I figured Bode might interest Swans fans - a lot of whom want to go after an inside midfielder. But we're just as light on for genuine in-and-under types. Especially with the retirement of Bickley.

So Bode is very much a required player. We'd want something decent in return if we were going to give him up.

A fringe tall doesn't really cut it in my opinion.

DaveW
16 Oct 2003, 23:22
One more thing. Where did you hear Bode was looking for opportunities with another club? :confused:

Perhaps he's resentful about spending a lot of time on the bench this year. He'll probably get a lot more ground time next year though.

liz
16 Oct 2003, 23:56
One more thing. Where did you hear Bode was looking for opportunities with another club? :confused:

His name was mentioned in the papers a couple of weeks ago as someone who had asked to be traded, unless my memory is playing tricks on me. Of course, you can't believe everything you read.

I saw that the HS had him down as possible trade bait, suggesting a trade with the Dees. They rarely hit the mark with these things, but if his suggested value in that trade is about OK, then I'd be happy with Stevens and, say, a second round pick for Bode? But then again, I'd be surprised if Adelaide were prepared to lose him.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 00:09
Originally posted by liz
His name was mentioned in the papers a couple of weeks ago as someone who had asked to be traded, unless my memory is playing tricks on me. Of course, you can't believe everything you read.

I saw that the HS had him down as possible trade bait, suggesting a trade with the Dees. They rarely hit the mark with these things, but if his suggested value in that trade is about OK, then I'd be happy with Stevens and, say, a second round pick for Bode? But then again, I'd be surprised if Adelaide were prepared to lose him. I don't think we will trade him we are light on his types

DaveW
17 Oct 2003, 00:23
Originally posted by liz
I saw that the HS had him down as possible trade bait, suggesting a trade with the Dees. Fair enough.

They rarely hit the mark with these things, but if his suggested value in that trade is about OK, then I'd be happy with Stevens and, say, a second round pick for Bode? That's probably closer to the mark in terms of what Bode's worth. But I still wouldn't do that trade.

Stevens would be far from a certain selection in a current Adelaide line up; he isn't one with the Swans at the moment either. And a pick late in the 2nd round is fairly hit and miss.

Bode had an up and down year. But in form he walks into our best line up. It was only three years ago we gave up a first round pick to get him from Port.

But then again, I'd be surprised if Adelaide were prepared to lose him. Same. Bode's a required player. I wouldn't mind trading him if we were given an offer we couldn't refuse but otherwise I'd rather keep him.

What do you see Stevens' worth? He's shown a bit at times but seems to remain a rather maligned player. I think he's got some promise. Is a third round pick too little? I'd be annoyed if we gave up our second round pick.

macca23
17 Oct 2003, 00:46

What do you see Stevens' worth? He's shown a bit at times but seems to remain a rather maligned player. I think he's got some promise. Is a third round pick too little? I'd be annoyed if we gave up our second round pick.

As you should be - surely that won't happen. He's a 3rd rounder or nothing.

Kristof
17 Oct 2003, 00:56
I am not all that convinced. Granted I haven't seen much of him.

I WANT A BLOODY RUCKMAN:mad:

Sure, we're going to need a ruckman, but mobile size is a need NOW, a ruckman (which we have become obsessed by) is a need for 2005 or 2006 ...

Kristof
17 Oct 2003, 01:00
I think the problem this year will be that a LOT of trades will fall through because the Fax machine at AFL will get jammed.

No - best off having a trade period that is ten months long, stopping eight weeks before the finals. Like most large sports have.

It certainly gives you more to talk about - and there are often sides that realize half way through the season that they're only a player or two away from reallly competing, and yet they have to sit still, effectivly throwing away the season and millions of dollars. But it won't happen, because footy is such a sentimental sport ...

liz
17 Oct 2003, 08:40

Hard to say really. He was an earlyish 2nd round pick in his time (I think we took him at 21 or so) but that was four years ago so isn't really relevant now I guess. He seems to be the kind of player who dominates at reserves level - in the VFL last year as well as the Canberra comp this year - but can't put it together with any regularity in the seniors. He'll play one good game but then go missing the following week.

He is a pretty good mark, especially for his weight, and if he could bulk up he could be a force up forward. His problem seems to be a lack of foot speed - or at least, an inability to get to enough contests. Playing as the 3rd or 4th tall in the Sydney team where the likes of Hall and O'Loughlin are the main targets, this is a bit of a problem. But until he bulks up he's not going to be a key forward for any AFL team.

He may be one of those players who makes a successful switch to the back half. He did quite well in the Port final back there, but Sydney already have a lot of light bodied tall defenders so he wouldn't get a regular gig for us. Not sure if the Crows need that kind of player.

I'd be pretty happy if we got a 3rd round pick for him.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 14:49
Stevens and Pick 31 to Adelaide
Picks 29 and 45 to Sydney.

This really gives me the sh|ts. We don't have a pick in the 20s:mad: . Unless we get a pick in the 20s in the next 10 minutes I will be one p|ssed off chap:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

Jars458
17 Oct 2003, 14:54
Stevens and Pick 31 to Adelaide
Picks 29 and 45 to Sydney.

This really gives me the sh|ts. We don't have a pick in the 20s:mad: . Unless we get a pick in the 20s in the next 10 minutes I will be one p|ssed off chap:mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad: :mad:

what a stupid statment

There is very little difference between 29 and 31 given by that stage it is a lottery whether a player will develop or not

That's a good deal I reckon for a 21 year old guy who is 194 cm

He has potential.

We havn't lost much for that.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 15:03
Originally posted by Jars458
what a stupid statment

There is very little difference between 29 and 31 given by that stage it is a lottery whether a player will develop or not

That's a good deal I reckon for a 21 year old guy who is 194 cm

He has potential.

We havn't lost much for that. IN this years draft its a difference between getting a tall or a small. We need to use our 1st 2 picks to get TALLS. We can kiss goodbye one of Hall or Gayfer. I am not happy.

If there is no much difference why didn't Swans give him up for pick 45 alone??????

maccas_no1
17 Oct 2003, 15:53
Welcome to the AFC Scott Stevens, goodluck to you, may you have alot of success @ the Adelaide Footy Club;)

Jars458
17 Oct 2003, 16:04
IN this years draft its a difference between getting a tall or a small. We need to use our 1st 2 picks to get TALLS. We can kiss goodbye one of Hall or Gayfer. I am not happy.

If there is no much difference why didn't Swans give him up for pick 45 alone??????

I am so glad you know exactly how the draft will pan out right down to pick 31. The AFL should hire you.

I would imagine our boys owuld have thought about that.

Anyway its done now - we should just support Stevo #2 and hope he plays well

The great thing about trade week is that Port got shafted on Stevens and Guerra. You have to laugh.

Mong
17 Oct 2003, 16:06
Generally the Crows would get the same player for pick 31 as they would if they had pick 29.

By that stage in the draft there are so many variables we would be very unlucky if the player we eventually want with pick 31 goes with pick 29 or 30.

Mong

Mong
17 Oct 2003, 16:11
Originally posted by Jars458
The great thing about trade week is that Port got shafted on Stevens and Guerra. You have to laugh.

Guerra too??

What are they doing over there? Why couldn't they find a trade for Guerra? Their performances in trade week are usually good but those are huge blows. Oh well, who cares? We lost out on Angwin so I guess it's someone else's turn.

Mong

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 16:26
I thought Guerra went to Saints for Pick 39:confused:

lozstar
17 Oct 2003, 16:28
I thought Guerra went to Saints for Pick 39:confused: Yep he did..
Port Adelaide has completed two trades that earned it two draft selections in exchange for Brent Guerra and Adam Morgan. Guerra is now a St Kilda player in exchange for selection 39 and Morgan will join the Western Bulldogs in exchange for selection 34.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 16:34
I swear, Sheedy is a genius. Pick 6 for Jacobs. We could have done better in the trading period. Be a bit more agressive for a ruckman we desperately need.

Mong
17 Oct 2003, 16:36
Sorry, I thought when Jars said they got shafted by Guerra he went for nothing. Still, in their fans minds they probably think they still got shafted by getting only pick 39. Or maybe their fans were seriously overating the value of a guy who couldn't even get a game with them. They were talking a player and second round draft picks for Guerra. I guess they were dreaming.

Mong

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 16:38
I think Saints got a bargain. Pick 39 for Guerra is a deadset bargain.

Pick 34 for Morgan was a very good get IMHO.

PrideOf
17 Oct 2003, 16:38
Welcome aboard Scott Stevens.

You're already a cross between Scott Welsh and Mark Stevens, let's hope you play like it.

Port only got #39 for Guerra? Looks like their September form is creeping into October.

Mong
17 Oct 2003, 16:45
I swear, Sheedy is a genius. Pick 6 for Jacobs. We could have done better in the trading period. Be a bit more agressive for a ruckman we desperately need.

As I have thought for a while, we should've offered Perrie to the Bulldogs. Judging by this I reckon we could've upgraded our 1st round pick to number 6 in exchange for Perrie and someone else.

We don't desperately need a ruckman. It would've taken a huge sacrifice to trade for a ruckman good enough to displace Clarke or Biglands. And that's unecessary because these two are one of the best ruck duo's in the league. Marsh is an able third string ruckman.

We will need a ruckman in 3 years or so but we don't need to trade get that. We need to draft and put some on the rookie list. In three years time we will then have a replacement.

What we don't need is to overpay for an average ruckman and thankfully, we haven't.

Mong

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 16:48
OK I have calmed down a bit now. Welcome aboard Scott Stevens. I hope you reach your potential with AFC.

I still think we should have played hard ball and got him for pick 45 alone. I wanted us to have a pick in 20s.

Now we have picks 14, 31 and 61.

Pick 14: I think we will take a punt here and take Brent Hall (a98 cm / 94 kg) ruckman from South Fremantle. Although he not exactly worth pick 14, he will NOT be available at 31. IMHO, we will take a punt here.

Pick 31: Hopefully a project player like Chris Stewart (193 cm / 80 kg) will still be available. A one grab player than can play at either end. Rated as possibly a tall with most raw talent. If we can get him and then develop him, can turn out to e a good investment.

Pick 61: Hopefully we can get a smoky. If someone like Harry Miller (175 cm / 75 kg) is available, he would be worth considering. We might use this pick to pick up a delisted player from another club.

We have done the trades and now its time to make our draft selections count:(

PrideOf
17 Oct 2003, 16:52
I wanted us to have a pick in 20s.

But seriously Stiffy, there's not much difference between 29 and 31. I'd totally agree with you if we gave up a pick in the 20s (like 21-23) for 31.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 16:54
Originally posted by Mong
As I have thought for a while, we should've offered Perrie to the Bulldogs. Judging by this I reckon we could've upgraded our 1st round pick to number 6 in exchange for Perrie and someone else.

Mong You know that is a really interesting trade. Dogs trade Pick 6 to Essendon, who send Jacobs to Hawthorn. Hawthorn send Veale (who????) and their word that they will let Rawlings into the pre season draft to Bulldogs.

Surely Pick 14 and Perrie to Bulldogs would have been good. Then doggies could have traded pick 14 to Essendon instead of pick 6.

I think Essendon well and truely laugh all the way to the draft.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 16:58
Originally posted by PrideOf
But seriously Stiffy, there's not much difference between 29 and 31. I'd totally agree with you if we gave up a pick in the 20s (like 21-23) for 31. True BUT when you look at the teams before us in the 2nd round, most of them will be after talls. Sydney will most likely pick a tall with that pick and it might well be a tall that we would want ourselves.

This also forces us to take more of a punt with our 1st pick. I am almost certain now we will draft a ruckman with Pick 14 even if there isn't really one thats worth that much:(

MaccasNeighbour
17 Oct 2003, 17:04
I thought Guerra went to Saints for Pick 39:confused:

Absolute bargain, I think Guerra will be a top player within 2 seasons.

Mong
17 Oct 2003, 17:08
With our first pick I think the Crows will (and should) take the best available player.

All picks after that will come down to positional needs but the first pick is the most important one and we need to get the best available. We did this two years ago with Reilly when we didn't need another wingman and I think the policy will be the same this year.

That's just a hunch I have, nothing more.

Mong

PrideOf
17 Oct 2003, 17:11
True BUT when you look at the teams before us in the 2nd round, most of them will be after talls. Sydney will most likely pick a tall with that pick and it might well be a tall that we would want ourselves.

But we're not looking at the second round as a whole. We were always going to be behind teams with picks #20-#28 anyway. We've only lost the opportunity of standing behind teams with #29 and #30. Sydney now has #29. Fair enough, they may go tall. But #30 is Port - who don't need talls (particularly ruckmen) like most other clubs. So I don't think we've missed out on much at all.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 17:22
Originally posted by PrideOf
But we're not looking at the second round as a whole. We were always going to be behind teams with picks #20-#28 anyway. We've only lost the opportunity of standing behind teams with #29 and #30. Sydney now has #29. Fair enough, they may go tall. But #30 is Port - who don't need talls (particularly ruckmen) like most other clubs. So I don't think we've missed out on much at all. I think Port will get a ruckman this year. Even if its pre-season draft. We really have very little chance of getting a good KPP at 31.

There is nothing we can do about it now. We just have to make the most of it. One thing is for sure, I have not heard good things about Ericksen and Whitehead and those 3 might be available with pick 31. Whitehead I have seen a couple of times and while he has a very good leap for a ruckman he doesn't offer much in terms of ability. Hopefully I am proven wrong. Ericksen is an atlethic giant with basketball background but some people reckon he is a bit of Ben Marsh.

I just hope we have somethin up our sleeve come draft day.

spindoctor
17 Oct 2003, 19:22
Originally posted by Mong
With our first pick I think the Crows will (and should) take the best available player.

All picks after that will come down to positional needs but the first pick is the most important one and we need to get the best available. We did this two years ago with Reilly when we didn't need another wingman and I think the policy will be the same this year.

That's just a hunch I have, nothing more.

Mong

Uh...we have always had a deficiency on the wing, mate until Burton arrived this year...we definitely needed another wingman

DaveW
17 Oct 2003, 19:54
Is a third round pick too little?
Originally posted by liz
I'd be pretty happy if we got a 3rd round pick for him. I thought we agreed on the third rounder alone.

No one said anything about swapping our second rounders!

Not that I'm anywhere near as upset as Stiffy (are you feeling ok S18?). In fact I couldn't care less that we drop a whole two places in the second round. It's a rather insignificant sweetner, it puzzles me that they even did it.

I'm very happy with this deal.

DaveW
17 Oct 2003, 20:04
it puzzles me that they even did it. I guess the Swans were just squeezing that last little bit out of the deal.

He was always worth around about a third rounder.

The Swans wouldn't have been interested in any of our delistable players - they just take list and cap space.

And we'd never swap our first round picks - they're too valuable.

But a second round swap is worth that teency bit something.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 20:04
Not that I'm anywhere near as upset as Stiffy (are you feeling ok S18?). I am OK now :)

I have been looking through the draft list reports and I reckon we could still get a couple of good kids. But whichever way i look at it we will take a punt on a ruckman with Pick 14.

Pick 61, I think this is where Brent Busastow could come in;)

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 20:07
I guess the Swans were just squeezing that last little bit out of the deal.

He was always worth around about a third rounder.

The Swans wouldn't have been interested in any of our delistable players - they just take list and cap space.

And we'd never swap our first round picks - they're too valuable.

But a second round swap is worth that teency bit something. According to James Fantasia we offered Pick 45 but they thought it was not quite right. We went back and said Pick 29 and Pick 45 for Stevens and Pick 31 were the best we would offer. Sydney didn't really want this either but rang back with about hour and a half left and accepted our latest offer.

You would have seen more of him than I have. How would you rate him?

Crow-mosone
17 Oct 2003, 20:33
I don't think we will trade him we are light on his types

Matthew Bode, did not ask to be traded.
from very reliable source.

Crow-mosone
17 Oct 2003, 20:37
Uh...we have always had a deficiency on the wing, mate until Burton arrived this year...we definitely needed another wingman

exactly right.

macca23
17 Oct 2003, 21:14

Pick 14: I think we will take a punt here and take Brent Hall (a98 cm / 94 kg) ruckman from South Fremantle. Although he not exactly worth pick 14, he will NOT be available at 31. IMHO, we will take a punt here.

I doubt that they'd give up pick 14 for this guy Stiffy, because as you said he's not worth it.

William Gayfer is a good chance to be around at #14, and as a big strong 6'4" goer who plays anwhere, he'd be good value.

I tend to agree with the others Stiffy. 29 or 31. It gets pretty speculative at this level. No guarantees and plaenty of bad ones.

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
17 Oct 2003, 21:33
OMG - We have 2 STEVO'S!!!!!!!!

Please note - from now on - when I refer to Stevo - I mean MY Stevo - Mark Stevens!!!

Although............my STEVENS warm up shirt will cover both bases!!

k
xx

ok.crows
17 Oct 2003, 21:34

I'd guess that Burton & Reilly were marked down for the wings next season.

There are only two wings.

spindoctor
17 Oct 2003, 21:40
No, the AFL are considering changing the rules and will examine having 3 wings in the pre-season.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 22:35
I doubt that they'd give up pick 14 for this guy Stiffy, because as you said he's not worth it.

William Gayfer is a good chance to be around at #14, and as a big strong 6'4" goer who plays anwhere, he'd be good value.

I tend to agree with the others Stiffy. 29 or 31. It gets pretty speculative at this level. No guarantees and plaenty of bad ones. I am not so sure that he will be available at pick 14. I think Essendon will pick him up just before we get a crack at him.:(

Behind Bradley, Hall is the best young ruck prospect and I doubt he would last until pick 31. I think with 31 we are probably looking at someone like Ericksen or Whitehead, none of which are rated that highly. Both ate LONG term projects. Hell they might never develop into good AFL ruckmen.

Gets!
17 Oct 2003, 23:08
A pretty good deal me thinks.

Let's offer Jason Porplyezia for Rawlings. Fair Deal. :eek:

Jerome
17 Oct 2003, 23:14
I am not so sure that he will be available at pick 14. I think Essendon will pick him up just before we get a crack at him.:(

Behind Bradley, Hall is the best young ruck prospect and I doubt he would last until pick 31. I think with 31 we are probably looking at someone like Ericksen or Whitehead, none of which are rated that highly. Both ate LONG term projects. Hell they might never develop into good AFL ruckmen.

Dont go anywhere near Whitehead. Not up to it.

Stiffy dont be so negative.

Rawlings and Stevens in the draft may help us. It's changed the draft order, so the priorities for the clubs who have a pick before us may have changed now. Ours havent changed so we may still get a Gayfer or Hall.

macca23
17 Oct 2003, 23:22
I am not so sure that he will be available at pick 14. I think Essendon will pick him up just before we get a crack at him.:(

Kevin Sheehan just went through his top 10 draft picks on Fox Footy and he didn't have either Fergus Watts or William Gayfer in there.

Hopefully one of them will hang in there until our turn.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 23:38
Originally posted by Jerome
Stiffy dont be so negative.

Rawlings and Stevens in the draft may help us. It's changed the draft order, so the priorities for the clubs who have a pick before us may have changed now. Ours havent changed so we may still get a Gayfer or Hall. Dude. not negative just looking at possible selections. Rawlings and Stevens are going into the pre-season draft so really drafting targets for Bulldogs and Carlton have not changed at all.

For whats it worth here is how I think the top 15 will go.

1. Bulldogs: Adam Cooney
2. Carlton: Kane Tenace
3. Melbourne: Colin Sylvia
4. Bulldogs: Kepler Bradley
5. Melbourne: Farren Ray
6. Essendon: Andrew Walker
7. Geelong: Troy Chaplin
8. St. Kilda: Raphael Clarke
9. Kangaroos: Fergus Watts
10. Fremantle: Jacob Surjan
11. West Coast: William Gayfer
12. Fremantle: Brock McLean
13. Essendon: Bill Morrison
14. Adelaide: Brent Hall
15. Port Adelaide: Beau Waters

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 23:40
Kevin Sheehan just went through his top 10 draft picks on Fox Footy and he didn't have either Fergus Watts or William Gayfer in there.

Hopefully one of them will hang in there until our turn. He goes by how good a footballer one is. It doesn't neccesarily mean than they will go top 10. Clubs will pick to adress their needs.

BTW, who was in his top 10??????

macca23
17 Oct 2003, 23:44
He goes by how good a footballer one is. It doesn't neccesarily mean than they will go top 10. Clubs will pick to adress their needs.

That's true Stiffy.

Our other big hope is that usually there's a couple of real smokies in the top 10 which pushes the list down a bit.

West Coast prefer to draft local lads so let's hope there's someting in the WAFL that they like in the first round.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 23:47
That's true Stiffy.

Our other big hope is that usually there's a couple of real smokies in the top 10 which pushes the list down a bit.

West Coast prefer to draft local lads so let's hope there's someting in the WAFL that they like in the first round. Mate if Fergus Watts was available with our 1st pick and we don't select him I am sending a bloody missile to AFC. He is a FANTASTIC pack mark and is a goal kicker. I seriously think he will go top 10 most likely to Kangaroos @ pick 9.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 23:48
West Coast prefer to draft local lads so let's hope there's someting in the WAFL that they like in the first round. Maybe Matthew Moody or Callum Burges :)

and speaking of smokies, I am really interested to see who (if anyone) picks up this Rowan Bonson kid from NT. Accoding to some newspapers earlier in the year one of the Adelaide club might be "hiding" him.

dyertribe
18 Oct 2003, 00:02
Saw the interview with him tonight...

Anyone else notice he was wearing a FILA Adelaide Crows jacket? Who was the **** that made that decision? Our friends at Russell Athletic would've been pleased :rolleyes:

Scotty's_Girl
18 Oct 2003, 00:10
Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
OMG - We have 2 STEVO'S!!!!!!!!

Please note - from now on - when I refer to Stevo - I mean MY Stevo - Mark Stevens!!!

Although............my STEVENS warm up shirt will cover both bases!!

k
xx

Your Stevo is much better looking than Scott Stevens! ;)
That photo on the Crows website makes him look so rugged!!

lozstar
18 Oct 2003, 00:12
Originally posted by Scotty's_Girl
That photo on the Crows website makes him look so rugged!! I think that's his profile photo from Sydney, those things don't do anybody justice :p

Stiffy_18
18 Oct 2003, 00:13
Originally posted by dyertribe
Saw the interview with him tonight...

Anyone else notice he was wearing a FILA Adelaide Crows jacket? Who was the **** that made that decision? Our friends at Russell Athletic would've been pleased :rolleyes: You serious??????:)

Scotty's_Girl
18 Oct 2003, 00:14
Originally posted by lozstar
I think that's his profile photo from Sydney, those things don't do anybody justice :p

Nah, they don't!! Almost as bad as driver's license photos!

dyertribe
18 Oct 2003, 00:16
You serious??????:)

Yeah he did a live interview on FOX Footy's Trading Places from Perth (holidaying back home) and he had a dark blue with gold trim FILA/Adelaide Crows/Camry jacket on...

D'oh! :o

Stiffy_18
18 Oct 2003, 00:19
Yeah he did a live interview on FOX Footy's Trading Places from Perth (holidaying back home) and he had a dark blue with gold trim FILA/Adelaide Crows/Camry jacket on...

D'oh! :o ROFL!!!!! :D

Russell Athletics won't be happy.

Scotty's_Girl
18 Oct 2003, 00:32
Russell Athletics won't be happy.

Some of the boys still wear the Fila footy boots. Don't think Russell Athletic will be that happy either, but then again, I don't even know if they make shoes.

dyertribe
18 Oct 2003, 00:35
Some of the boys still wear the Fila footy boots. Don't think Russell Athletic will be that happy either, but then again, I don't even know if they make shoes.

You can negotiate your own boot contract... Andrew McLeod with Adidas... Wayne Carey with Nike etc...

As far as official team kit goes - guernseys, shorts, socks, jackets, shirts, etc - it has to be Russell Athletic.

AngelEyes
18 Oct 2003, 00:36
Isnt half our fringe players wingmen?:confused:

Oh and Welcome Scott Stevens...Hopefully you produce the goods. Still would've preferred to have gained a ruckman BUT if he can kick goals :D:D:D

Scotty's_Girl
18 Oct 2003, 00:39
You can negotiate your own boot contract... Andrew McLeod with Adidas... Wayne Carey with Nike etc...

As far as official team kit goes - guernseys, shorts, socks, jackets, shirts, etc - it has to be Russell Athletic.

Okay ;)

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
18 Oct 2003, 11:17
That photo on the Crows website makes him look so rugged!!

LOL - I know!

I will reserve my judgement on the New Stevo until I see him for myself!!!

However rugged is good...........see Roo.

k
xx

Scotty's_Girl
18 Oct 2003, 12:46
Originally posted by MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
LOL - I know!

I will reserve my judgement on the New Stevo until I see him for myself!!!

However rugged is good...........see Roo.

k
xx

lol! :D

lozstar
18 Oct 2003, 20:19
In the paper today in the article about the Scott Stevens deal, it said "suprisingly to Adelaide"..

What was so suprising about it seeing as it also says he was long ago targeted by the Crows?

Stiffy_18
18 Oct 2003, 22:32
The more I think about it the more I like the addition of Scott Stevens. He is a 194 cm / 88 kg KPP who can play at both ends of the ground and has played 25 games. How many times this year did we have Perrie as our only tall in the forward line?????

With addition of Stevens it would give us 2 tall targets and subsequently more deoth in the KP department. It would also allow us to match up better in defence. Overall the addition of Stevens to our squad gives us more flexibility and besides he will only be 22 at the start of next season. Still young and hopefully a bloke that can give us good 8-10 years of very good service.

DaveW
18 Oct 2003, 22:34
The more I think about it the more I like the addition of Scott Stevens. He is a 194 cm / 88 kg KPP who can play at both ends of the ground and has played 25 games. How many times this year did we have Perrie as our only tall in the forward line????? Hey look who's coming around. :D

Stiffy_18
18 Oct 2003, 22:51
Hey look who's coming around. :D :p

I never really disliked the idea of getting him but initiallly I did dislike what we gave up for him.

You would have seen more of him than I did. Do you see him becoming a VERY good AFL player??????

NMWBloods
18 Oct 2003, 23:04
I never really disliked the idea of getting him but initiallly I did dislike what we gave up for him.

You pretty much picked him up for pick #45 so it's not a bad deal. He's reasonably talented, but a bit light and lacks experience. I think he will become a useful tall option for you at either end of the ground but I suspect his main position will be in the backline.

DaveW
18 Oct 2003, 23:37
You would have seen more of him than I did. Do you see him becoming a VERY good AFL player?????? Like I said on the first page. He's a handy marking tall, who has looked impressive on some ocassions. His career scoring total is 17.8; which suggests he's a decent kick as well.

I don't know if he'll become a star, a handy contributor or a dud. But I think he's shown that he has potential and is more than worth what we gave up for him.

macca23
19 Oct 2003, 00:02

I don't know if he'll become a star, a handy contributor or a dud. But I think he's shown that he has potential and is more than worth what we gave up for him.

That's the real crux of it. Whatever he turns out to be, pick 45 in the draft is genuine gambling territory as to whether the selection will even get close to playing 1 AFL game , let alone play useful games at that level.

Stevens has already done both of those, which puts him way in front of the average pick 45 for a start.

Well done by the AFC.

Stiffy_18
19 Oct 2003, 00:05
I am really p|ssed off that we didn't get a ruckman in the trading period. Being stuck with Ben Marsh for another year is WRONG. Hell Matthew Allen would have been 1 000 000 times better.