View Full Version : SEQAFL Division 1 2012

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6

Tiger G
15 Dec 2011, 15:26
Hey guys the AFL premier division has been renamed. Any news on the clubs, here is a bit news from Mayne's website.

Mayne boys come home

http://www-static.sportingpulse.com/pics/00/01/62/86/1628608_1_M.jpg (http://www-static.sportingpulse.com/pics/00/01/62/86/1628608_1_O.jpg)

The foundations have been laid for a Tiger resurgence in season 2012 with the return of three of our finest sons. Caleb Brown, Luke Ferguson and Tom Falconer have made their way back to Mott St after successful forays in division one. All three will bring fresh ideas to the club and will be able to draw on their experience in showing younger players what it takes to be a quality performer. Brown in particular was fortunate to play alongside some of the best players in Queensland when he represented his state against WA earlier this year. Whilst Brown made his mark as centre half back at Morningside, Ferguson in the ruck and Falconer in the midfield at Aspley, new coach Mitch Ferguson has hinted that each player will potentially be playing different roles next season. The return of the trio has ensured that other recruits know that the side is being rebuilt for immediate success.

Gundy kids make every post a winner

http://www-static.sportingpulse.com/pics/00/01/62/86/1628607_1_M.jpg (http://www-static.sportingpulse.com/pics/00/01/62/86/1628607_1_O.jpg)

The tigers will be hoping that new recruits Jack Collings and Corbin Sellen display all the attributes of another star performer from Goondiwindi in Gunsynd. That Gunsynd went on to become one of Queensland's greatest thoroughbreds might be asking a tad much but nonetheless the signs have been impressive on the training track.

Collings - first cousin of 2 time club champion Caleb Brown, joins the club after 3 years at Morningside and looks a mirror image of his well credentialed cousin. He will work through the midfield and bring that reknowned Goondi steel to his work. Sellen, a junior star on the downs, returns to the club he played his first season of senior football at in 2008. The 2011 version looks as good as Gunsynd did in the mounting yard with his customary dash across half forward sure to give the Tigers another dimension in attack.

The two Goondi boys will be on display at the Mayne Cup held in the new year at Eagle Farm over 2400m with both sure to attract plenty of support from the local punters.

Mayne AFC welcome Jack and Corbin back to the club and wish them every success for the season ahead.

stuyd1
15 Dec 2011, 19:34
Hey guys the AFL premier division has been renamed. Any news on the clubs, here is a bit news from Mayne's website.

Tiger G; this is excellent promoting by the clubs website. Informing your supporters , good stuff.

2010premier
15 Dec 2011, 22:08
I for one would love to see Mayne have some success. Their long suffering loyal supporters deserve it. 4-5 inclusions can make a big difference. My prediction-Mayne to win 4-6 games in 2012

They are not the only side that will improve in 2012. Grange and Surfers on the way up, both to play finals- Palmy may drop off a bit IMO.

damochandler
15 Dec 2011, 22:28
good to see someone advertising the name change. nothing on the aflq website.

the lower leagues were once called aflsq

kwhit
16 Dec 2011, 05:36
Surfers and Grange to improve, should both play finals. Maroochy and Mayne to upset a few sides plans. Noosa still bench mark, have they lost any players? read div 3 forum and there is talk of a couple Noosa players going to Alex Hills. Sandgate? the loss of Walker and dickfos to hurt, will they hold on to their couple of good kids, Overington? Will Long go around again? May find themselves down the ladder. Cooly may struggle, Hawkins offered big coin in vic country, wouldnt be surprised to see him go. Talk out of Burleigh, Van Rossum to hang them up and couple others, will need to be the big recruiters of the off season to drag themselves up the ladder, not sure it will happen. Springwood to improve but not challenge, would also need to snag a handful of real good players, but will be more than competitive. Maggies look to have regained Rozinzki, Moore and grabbed Corrie, will be up there with Noosa as bench mark. Palmy losses, Carrol, Horn, Vis, Blowes, Munro Knight, Ianson? Not sure if he has gone north, watched training tues night and very poor numbers. Wouldnt say all have definatly hung them up, but Knight at Southport along with Munro. No word on any recruits just yet. But in summary still Dec.

dale15
16 Dec 2011, 05:58
Which country Vic club Is Hawkins of to ??

kwhit
16 Dec 2011, 08:17
Couldnt tell you I'm sorry. Have only heard that two clubs in vic have made offers. Would bet Tatura or shep in the GV would be front runners, with the state coaches in Daniels and one of the ass. coach being heavily involved with the two clubs down there. And a few of the southport boys have headed to one club in the edfl! I am not close enough to give exact details, speculation only!

dale15
16 Dec 2011, 09:41
No dramas his a handy player that's forsure anyone that can kick 60 meters and as hard running and great skills he has would be a good pick up for any club great bloke to

smy1305
16 Dec 2011, 13:57
Good post Kwhit - Noosa will be very strong again and the Roos will be stronger than last year!! Thats all i know:D

Tiger G
16 Dec 2011, 14:48
Good post Kwhit - Noosa will be very strong again and the Roos will be stronger than last year!! Thats all i know:DWe have ways to make you talk!:D

switchingplay
16 Dec 2011, 16:46
Surfers and Grange to improve, should both play finals. Maroochy and Mayne to upset a few sides plans. Noosa still bench mark, have they lost any players? read div 3 forum and there is talk of a couple Noosa players going to Alex Hills. Sandgate? the loss of Walker and dickfos to hurt, will they hold on to their couple of good kids, Overington? Will Long go around again? May find themselves down the ladder. Cooly may struggle, Hawkins offered big coin in vic country, wouldnt be surprised to see him go. Talk out of Burleigh, Van Rossum to hang them up and couple others, will need to be the big recruiters of the off season to drag themselves up the ladder, not sure it will happen. Springwood to improve but not challenge, would also need to snag a handful of real good players, but will be more than competitive. Maggies look to have regained Rozinzki, Moore and grabbed Corrie, will be up there with Noosa as bench mark. Palmy losses, Carrol, Horn, Vis, Blowes, Munro Knight, Ianson? Not sure if he has gone north, watched training tues night and very poor numbers. Wouldnt say all have definatly hung them up, but Knight at Southport along with Munro. No word on any recruits just yet. But in summary still Dec.

Good report kwit, not sure bout any Noosa players goin to Alex Hills, what i do know is they have picked up a gun from the O & M (Oswald) and heard in the last few days the unorthodox Matt Hicks is pulling on the boots again, last time he went around kicked 100+. Headaches for defenders with him and Brewster in same side. Where has Walker gone? Very good player when up and about and with forbes up frd were a real threat, but how often did they actually play together, alot of injuries between the two and not known for their high training workrate. Rozynski will add some real bite and grunt to maggies, Corrie could be hit and miss, heard he had maybe swallowed an air compressor! Thats some big losses from PBC if true, where has Horn gone? Im led to believe he was very embarressed with what went on GF day. Munro good player, good to see having a crack at state league. Mayne three pick ups handy and could be enough to get them a few more wins. Maroochy seem to have got a few players back. Page, mid size frd is a very good player and have some good youngsters, cant see them troubling top 5 teams. Springwood havent done much in last 4/5 years, seem to have stagnated. Is Fulton playing at Surfers? and who are their other recruits that are going to make them, as some are saying, a top side? Grange sound like they have been very active and if they have retained most of this years list could be a real handful.

chikka ferguson
16 Dec 2011, 17:23
Good report kwit, not sure bout any Noosa players goin to Alex Hills, what i do know is they have picked up a gun from the O & M (Oswald) and heard in the last few days the unorthodox Matt Hicks is pulling on the boots again, last time he went around kicked 100+. Headaches for defenders with him and Brewster in same side. Where has Walker gone? Very good player when up and about and with forbes up frd were a real threat, but how often did they actually play together, alot of injuries between the two and not known for their high training workrate. Rozynski will add some real bite and grunt to maggies, Corrie could be hit and miss, heard he had maybe swallowed an air compressor! Thats some big losses from PBC if true, where has Horn gone? Im led to believe he was very embarressed with what went on GF day. Munro good player, good to see having a crack at state league. Mayne three pick ups handy and could be enough to get them a few more wins. Maroochy seem to have got a few players back. Page, mid size frd is a very good player and have some good youngsters, cant see them troubling top 5 teams. Springwood havent done much in last 4/5 years, seem to have stagnated. Is Fulton playing at Surfers? and who are their other recruits that are going to make them, as some are saying, a top side? Grange sound like they have been very active and if they have retained most of this years list could be a real handful.

Overington training at Mt Gravatt and Fabian signed at Aspley

Tiger G
16 Dec 2011, 17:56
By reading all the reports on Grange on here, they sound like they will be a force to reckon with next year. All the best to them, hope they do well, it would be nice for the Brissie teams to do well.

Hopefully a more even comp will happen with most clubs recruiting quite well, point is great for QLD FOOTY!!!!!

s364376
16 Dec 2011, 18:19
http://www.flickr.com/photos/72189747@N05/6519998757/

Maroochydore wish to unveil a new club signing, first training session was last night. needs a bit of fitness, but goes ok ;)

damochandler
16 Dec 2011, 18:52
is the best on ground in the gf playing. brookes durden. what about the dukes for noosa

kwhit
17 Dec 2011, 10:39
Fulton has signed at Surfers. That is two very big losses for the hawks! couple that with the ones mentioned earlier and good luck filling those holes. i think Walker did his knee if I remember correctly? Hicks back at tiger land, Oswald is a gun. I guess that really cemented my bench mark quote ? Palmy has signed Perry Bolt from Burleigh, monster of a man. Must have put on 10kg at least from last time I watched him play. Interesting, no sooner had I made that post and had found out Ianson, Carrol and Munro? staying. Horn has hung them up, boys have been putting pump on him but sounds pretty happy with his decision. Hindsight is a beautiful thing? Anyway I am sure it will change an other ten times before the season starts. Good luck all!

smy1305
18 Dec 2011, 21:26

Maroochydore wish to unveil a new club signing, first training session was last night. needs a bit of fitness, but goes ok ;)

Yeah he went ok S36... but his Buddy was better:D Apparently will only play if we take them both..:D

Switching Play - you after Marty Kings ex-job with that wrap up?? Couple of good ones walked into Maroochy over the last couple of weeks and a couple of young fellas back from NEAFL footy which will be handy.

kwhit
20 Dec 2011, 09:04
Couple of good ones walked into Maroochy over the last couple of weeks and a couple of young fellas back from NEAFL footy which will be handy.

Do elaborate smy? or are these the guys who where recently mentioned on the Maroochy website?

s364376
20 Dec 2011, 21:47
nothing to report from maroochydore, not much happening. nothing to see, move along.....

Breakthelines
28 Dec 2011, 15:10
Now that they have 3 major divisions in the SEQAFL, will they adopt the format they use in Victoria with promotions & relegations?

Speedyunit
31 Dec 2011, 06:11
Now that they have 3 major divisions in the SEQAFL, will they adopt the format they use in Victoria with promotions & relegations?

i dont think they will as alot of the clubs in the league below PHC level wouldnt have the funds to compete, the top clubs (consistantly) Palmy,Noosa and now again Magpies would spend around 100K to run their entire senior programme - coaches,fees,match payments,equipment grounds etc..... i couldnt see a Kenmore or such generating that sort of $$

2010premier
3 Jan 2012, 21:54
i dont think they will as alot of the clubs in the league below PHC level wouldnt have the funds to compete, the top clubs (consistantly) Palmy,Noosa and now again Magpies would spend around 100K to run their entire senior programme - coaches,fees,match payments,equipment grounds etc..... i couldnt see a Kenmore or such generating that sort of $$

It would be more like 150k I reckon. I agree there is a big gap between each divisions. They should just play it as it comes, if a club dominates a lower division, wants to be promoted and can show that they have the dollars, facilities etc then put them up. But a bit of caution look what happened to the western magpies, went up and couldn't win a game.

If you relegate a team, that can be devastating for that club. Players and officials, sponsors leave. It is important that there is support for that club if a decision like that has to be made.

I am not a huge fan of promotion relegation for this reason, but no doubt it can add interest especially late in a season when a few teams are out of finals contention.

Outsidethearc
5 Jan 2012, 09:01
Rumours surfacing down south that L Brauer & L Matthews both possibly heading to VIC? Any truth to this in Noosa Land?

kwhit
5 Jan 2012, 10:10
Big news if to be true! Would doubt it highly thou?

amarooplace
5 Jan 2012, 11:21
Rumours surfacing down south that L Brauer & L Matthews both possibly heading to VIC? Any truth to this in Noosa Land?

Brew owns and runs a gym and I'm pretty sure Matthews has a wife and kid so it'd be a big call to up and leave for a game of footy. The inevitabilty of life's commitments make it difficult to move once you hit the magical '30'.

I'm with Kwit, doubt it'll happen

smy1305
5 Jan 2012, 17:36
Think Luke B may be trying his hand in one of the emergency services if my memory serves me correctly - might be wrong but if so then certainly a chance. Reckon employment tends to make blokes move more than staying put for family reasons these days. Luke M has a good job but maybe the grass is greener in Vic?? Don't think either guy would be moving for football reasons though as they would be very well compensated for their efforts at tiger land!!:D

smy1305
5 Jan 2012, 17:39
It would be more like 150k I reckon. I agree there is a big gap between each divisions. They should just play it as it comes, if a club dominates a lower division, wants to be promoted and can show that they have the dollars, facilities etc then put them up. But a bit of caution look what happened to the western magpies, went up and couldn't win a game.

If you relegate a team, that can be devastating for that club. Players and officials, sponsors leave. It is important that there is support for that club if a decision like that has to be made.

I am not a huge fan of promotion relegation for this reason, but no doubt it can add interest especially late in a season when a few teams are out of finals contention.

Concur 2010 - just bc you win the premiership in a lower division doesn't actually mean you are the most suitable club to be promoted - alot more factors to take into consideration than just on field success. There are numerous examples of clubs in various leagues that have relegation/promotion systems whereby promotion has set a club back 10 years!

s364376
9 Jan 2012, 19:04

think you got this confused. they are heading south, about 40km south. confirmed with maroochy roos thirds last week, we outbid pomona and bribie (2 pies and can of beer per game for matthews and a protein shake per game for brauer)

on a serious note (you will need to try harder with rumours than that), good work on the AFL bringing the lions v blues NAB cup game to fishermans road. condition of the grounds at fishermans at the moment warrant AFL matches being played there.

smy1305
9 Jan 2012, 21:24
think you got this confused. they are heading south, about 40km south. confirmed with maroochy roos thirds last week, we outbid pomona and bribie (2 pies and can of beer per game for matthews and a protein shake per game for brauer)

on a serious note (you will need to try harder with rumours than that), good work on the AFL bringing the lions v blues NAB cup game to fishermans road. condition of the grounds at fishermans at the moment warrant AFL matches being played there.

Great news S36... re the NAB Cup match. Not sure if they will but would be great to see Judd and Murphy strolling around the Fish Rd oval! Another good earner for the club.

s364376
10 Jan 2012, 14:17
Great news S36... re the NAB Cup match. Not sure if they will but would be great to see Judd and Murphy strolling around the Fish Rd oval! Another good earner for the club.

Unfortunately not. Not looking like benefiting from it financially.

kwhit
10 Jan 2012, 16:12
Does anyone know when a 2012 draw will be released?

Outsidethearc
11 Jan 2012, 05:49

Try harder you say, Brauer linked to central highlands and matthews possibly back for work and Bendigo football! Brauer also linked to Tatura with SJ following in the footsteps of Daniel Hawkins for excess of 1k per game!

few good players missing from our comp next year if it happens.

smy1305
11 Jan 2012, 06:20
Food and drink?

kwhit
11 Jan 2012, 07:01
Looks like there could be some truth the the rumor! Didnt think Hawkins had signed at tat? But the three leaves a gapping hole in the league. But there is always an upside, Grange has signed Shir from Aspley who if I remember correctly was on the crows list? Super player, Caleb Brown back from Morningside, O'brien and Carmody will surely play at one of the coast clubs, so all in all lose a couple gain a couple. And all the clubs still havnt showed thier cards yet! Sure bet the comp will be stronger again this year.

Top 5 at end of regular season

Noosa
PBC
Grange
Magpies
Surfers

Tiger G
11 Jan 2012, 17:56
School's Back for the Tigers

Training is set to resume on the first day back at school Jan 23rd at 6pm. With terrific numbers on the training track before Xmas it will be exciting to see everyone back down and rearing to go. In particular a number of players restricted to light duties up until this point will be relishing the opportunity to hit the track at full pace.

Part of the intrigue at this time of year is the number of new faces at each club in the competition with Mayne no exception. The club is set to unveil the next batch of recruits in the coming weeks with one high profile name in particular set to get the competition talking.

See you on the track Off Mayne's Facebook

pinky951
12 Jan 2012, 01:39
The long awaited return of Akermanis?

s364376
12 Jan 2012, 14:08
The long awaited return of Akermanis?

thats funny.

s364376
12 Jan 2012, 14:10
from the maroochydore website

Former Scorpion Sam Panoho Joins Roos
Tweet The Maroochy Northshore Roos are pleased to announce another off season pick up with Sam Panoho signing to play with the club for the 2012 season. Sam joins the Roos after being part of the Queensland State U/18 squad last year and playing with Aspley when state commitments allowed him to. A regular member of the Suncoast Power and Queensland sides as a junior, the club is thrilled to be signing another talented junior who has come through the development pathway on the Sunshine Coast in recent years.

Panoho, joins friend and fellow recruit Jed Turner (Redlands), Shaun Fletcher (returning to the club after missing 2011), Leighton Cooper (formally Swan Districts) as early season recruits for the Roos in 2012. These recruits compliment the return of Co-captain James Page who managed just 6 quarters of football in 2011 due to injury.
The signing of Panoho also sees him join Dylan Weichardt and James Coleman who have both graduated from the U/18 program last year, as well as several U/18 players that were exposed to senior football in 2011.

Players are reminded that training starts next Tuesday the 17th of January at 5.45pm at the club.

smy1305
12 Jan 2012, 21:07
Great news S36... Quality kid as well just as importantly.

Tiger G
14 Jan 2012, 17:21
Don't know if it's been mentioned already, Korey Fulton has signed with Surfers!

Megaman123
14 Jan 2012, 19:27
thats funny.

He charged Cooly $10k for one game, Tigers would need $180K for a year of Aker fever! Plus widen the doors for his fat head!

Black Caviar
16 Jan 2012, 13:30
Does anyone know when a 2012 draw will be released?
I saw an email of the draw flying around last week. So i assume it wont be too far away.
Season Starts April 14 and the GF is Sept 8.
Noosa unveil the flag against Sandgate at home round 1. Well thats if this was the final draft of it.

PIES11
22 Jan 2012, 08:55
I for one would love to see Mayne have some success. Their long suffering loyal supporters deserve it. 4-5 inclusions can make a big difference. My prediction-Mayne to win 4-6 games in 2012

They are not the only side that will improve in 2012. Grange and Surfers on the way up, both to play finals- Palmy may drop off a bit IMO.

I would love to see Mayne make the finals but i just cant see it happening. Brown and other recruits are good pick up but they have always had 6 guns and then fall away dramatically after that. They need more depth.
I reckon the roos may shock some teams this year. They have recruited some good youth

Tiger G
22 Jan 2012, 10:02
This years Draw, quite happy with Mayne's draw a fairly decent spread!

http://www.sportingpulse.com/comp_info.cgi?a=ROUND&round=-1&client=1-109-0-202888-0&pool=1

kwhit
22 Jan 2012, 13:12
Must say it looks a very even draw! With the exception of travel I think with the depth of the comp all clubs would be happy with the draw. Can anyone confirm the losses if Brauer and mathews yet? Maynes depth has always been there Achilles heel, top 3 or 4 would be as competitive as any teams but fairly substantial drop after that. What has maroochydore recruited that will turn them around so much? Where 10 - 12 goals of vest sides that's a lot of ground to make up! And for the record I am not a hater. Would love to see a more competitive comp and I think we will get it.

smy1305
22 Jan 2012, 20:28
Think they were more competitive than that Kwhit. Lost quite a few goals by less than 4 goals (I think) or were in the match until the last qrt. With the side they put out last year quite remarkable actually. Should be a good season of footy all the same with the guys that seem to have come into the comp.

Lenny29
23 Jan 2012, 11:49
Ugh.

Two Sunshine Coast trips, one home game in the first six rounds, last round up at Maroochydore - doesn't look an appealing draw at first glance for us.

Not that it really matters for me given it appears unlikely I'll play, but at least we avoided the annoying Sunday arvo Coolangatta game this year that leaves me very sore and sorry for myself Monday morning :D

kwhit
23 Jan 2012, 12:03
Don't be so negative Lenny ! That's a lot if bonding trips up and back, clearly you have a better relationship with your misses than i do with mine! What I would give for a legitimate excuse to go away for the weekend with the lads. Try and find the positives out of, well let's face it, Footy and stubbies with the boys, grouse!

s364376
23 Jan 2012, 16:05
Don't be so negative Lenny ! That's a lot if bonding trips up and back, clearly you have a better relationship with your misses than i do with mine! What I would give for a legitimate excuse to go away for the weekend with the lads. Try and find the positives out of, well let's face it, Footy and stubbies with the boys, grouse!

this league would be so much better if they ever worked out how to split it in half and have a northern and southern division. Gold Coast hate the sunny coast trips and vice versa.

someone put an idea forward to have neafl clubs reserves play in this division with a north and south, and have 18s play instead of reserves. was a good plan in theory, obviously too good for the AFL to consider.

Tiger G
23 Jan 2012, 19:46
this league would be so much better if they ever worked out how to split it in half and have a northern and southern division. Gold Coast hate the sunny coast trips and vice versa.

someone put an idea forward to have neafl clubs reserves play in this division with a north and south, and have 18s play instead of reserves. was a good plan in theory, obviously too good for the AFL to consider.The neafl reserves would practically flogg every team in this Div...

Megaman123
23 Jan 2012, 21:06
The neafl reserves would practically flogg every team in this Div...

From memory, Sandgate played Aspley and Mside reserves last year pre season, and beat them both. So maybe wouldnt be that big a gap?

smy1305
23 Jan 2012, 21:10
The neafl reserves would practically flogg every team in this Div...

Nah -that's a dumb comment. They would flog the Tigers, wouldn't beat any of the top 4 sides at least!

smy1305
23 Jan 2012, 21:13

someone put an idea forward to have neafl clubs reserves play in this division with a north and south, and have 18s play instead of reserves. was a good plan in theory, obviously too good for the AFL to consider.

Not sure - it is what it is I reckon. The GC is 2hrs away basically which for many country leagues isn't a massive time issue. You only get stuck with 2 maybe 3 trips a year, not the end of the world and like someone said, good bonding trips generally!:)

kwhit
24 Jan 2012, 04:59
How did the magpie reserves go at state league? Watched several broady games last year and caught some of the reserves and they would not be in top 5 phc! Redlands southport etc would obviously be firm favorites in phc, I think it's a great idea and that way we could bring back the old north v south rep game! Would lift the level of this comp considerably and from a state country perspective make us a lot stronger. I guess it would be similar to lion and sun reserves playing neafl in respect to young guys still wanting to play highest standard possible and not just dropping back a comp for a couple of bucks!

Speedyunit
24 Jan 2012, 07:03
How did the magpie reserves go at state league? Watched several broady games last year and caught some of the reserves and they would not be in top 5 phc! Redlands southport etc would obviously be firm favorites in phc, I think it's a great idea and that way we could bring back the old north v south rep game! Would lift the level of this comp considerably and from a state country perspective make us a lot stronger. I guess it would be similar to lion and sun reserves playing neafl in respect to young guys still wanting to play highest standard possible and not just dropping back a comp for a couple of bucks!

magpies reserves played finals for the 2 years that they were in the top comp, i disagree with tiger i reckon the top 5 clubs in phc would beat the the top 5 neafl reserves easy

kwhit
24 Jan 2012, 07:13
Another point to the neafl2 playing phc is you are and will continue to see more first graders coming back thru the phc rather than the two's due to the competition being stronger than there own reserves! Why would southport send Hughes and carmody to burleigh and likewise the morningside players to both mayne and grange? And who could forget the storm Fulton caused by going to palmy rather than twos at broady! Players decision or is it that of the coaches?

kwhit
24 Jan 2012, 07:20
And the comp is seen as good enough for the lion reserve to top up from magpies!

Lenny29
24 Jan 2012, 08:29
I'd take six Sunshine Coast trips a year ahead of having NEAFL reserves sides play in this comp.

It's probably an unpopular opinion but IMO this comp is the best competition in Queensland purely becasue every side in the competition is out to win a flag. Obviously every club is at various stages in the process to do so but when you compare it to a NEAFL Northern Division where you have two sides that are purely developmental and winning is a secondary concern, you kill the fabric of the competition. The Magpies/Lions alignment is bad enough albeit that at least the 22 Magpies blokes that run out each week are Magpies players, not Lions Reserves players who have been dropped

Probably not a popular viewpoint but there's probably no post in this forum I've agreed with less

Speedyunit
24 Jan 2012, 11:05
Another point to the neafl2 playing phc is you are and will continue to see more first graders coming back thru the phc rather than the two's due to the competition being stronger than there own reserves! Why would southport send Hughes and carmody to burleigh and likewise the morningside players to both mayne and grange? And who could forget the storm Fulton caused by going to palmy rather than twos at broady! Players decision or is it that of the coaches?

i think you will find these players at PHC level when their neafl clubs had byes....

Lenny why dont you like the magpies/lions setup

Lenny29
24 Jan 2012, 11:25
i think you will find these players at PHC level when their neafl clubs had byes....

Lenny why dont you like the magpies/lions setup
I think it's great for the Western Magpies footy club, I only dislike it in the context of how it affects the competition - it's a retention advantage that no other club has for quality youth, but also has the flipside that where the Lions are decimated by injury it can also impact on the Magpies firsts team.

It's a competition purity issue more than anything else. Like I said, it's not the end of the world given they only have Magpies players playing for them but it can artificially impact the strength of the side the club can put on the park week to week and my preference is that these variances are kept to "natural" causes within a competition only (injuries, unavailability etc)

Speedyunit
24 Jan 2012, 11:48
I think it's great for the Western Magpies footy club, I only dislike it in the context of how it affects the competition - it's a retention advantage that no other club has for quality youth, but also has the flipside that where the Lions are decimated by injury it can also impact on the Magpies firsts team.

It's a competition purity issue more than anything else. Like I said, it's not the end of the world given they only have Magpies players playing for them but it can artificially impact the strength of the side the club can put on the park week to week and my preference is that these variances are kept to "natural" causes within a competition only (injuries, unavailability etc)

thanks for the reply, how are the pumas travelling... they seem to have struggled to recruit since the days of easdown, moncur,lynn,buswell and co

s364376
24 Jan 2012, 11:55
the idea came from cooloongatta apparently. everyone is entitled to there own opinion on how far we should travel, and what teams make up the league.

I thought it was a very good idea. Have the NEAFL as the major standout league, with the Lions and Suns reserves as teams, then have the division 1 north and south made up of the state league club reserves, and the PHC senior teams and possibly look at promoting some of the stronger SA Div 1 clubs like Caloundra and Uni. Instead of seniors and reserves, you would play seniors and under 18s, and your reserves outfit would then play in whatever lower division which is made up of clubs from the SA Div 1 (and 2 if applic). Then maybe a thirds division under that, in it's current form with North, Central and South. That way SA Div 2 clubs don't struggle finding numbers for reserves if they don't want to (if they want to have reserves they can play in the thirds comp.)

It would actually make the PHC a stronger division, with a strong focus on under 18s as the NEAFL clubs would play there under 18s on the same day as there reserves. It would give a very good development pathway for under 18s to go from under 18s, to PHC to NEAFL if they are good enough.

It would mean for a club like Springwood, you can keep your good under 18s up until they are dominating 18s and PHC, then send them to NEAFL on permit for the remainder of the year, as opposed to losing them to Mt Gravatt only to watch them play in the reserves all year.

Travolta
24 Jan 2012, 12:22
If NEAFL reserves teams play SEQAFL Div1 senior teams....who do SEQAFL Div1 reserves teams play against??? Maybe Div2 Senior sides?? Then where do their Ressies play...and so on..

Also would mean SEQAFL reserves and seniors play at different grounds. Would never work!! not enough volunteers to go around as it is!!

Let the decision makers that wanted the NEAFL sort out there own "not enough reserves teams" problems and leave the SEQAFL/PHC alone, it is going great guns as a competition.

As Lenny said, a strength of this comp is that is is a very good standard of community football, not trying to be an elite pro comp and it shouldn't be treated as a support act to the NEAFL either.

Tiger G
24 Jan 2012, 15:15
Nah -that's a dumb comment. They would flog the Tigers, wouldn't beat any of the top 4 sides at least!If i'm wrong, i'm wrong so be it, no need to be a ****ing smartass for having an opinion!:thumbsd::thumbsd:

Tiger G
24 Jan 2012, 16:00
We have heard how most clubs are going so far, any news on Cooly will they improve or struggle? Same with Springwood, please don't take me the wrong way just wondering how they are going?

smy1305
24 Jan 2012, 17:34

Great point Lenny - and I agree (so not as unpopular as you might think?:D). I think the integrity of a comp is vital for credibility. The NEAFL is the comp for a stepping stone to AFL stuff and clubs quite rightly put players desires ahead of clubs needs occasionally. The PHC is a great standard of footy, all clubs are out there trying to win and like Lenny said, if there was more than one Magpies/Lions arrangements in place then it would be a concern.

Lenny29
24 Jan 2012, 17:56
I don't actually know how we're travelling - other than we've kept most of last year's side (only one other than me I can think of, and I'm easily replaced :D) and there are a few new faces around, but at this time of year who knows how good they are

Would still expect a ramp up in improvement given the kids of 3-4 years ago are getting to that 40-60 game bracket

spot_on_news
26 Jan 2012, 03:41
Its a great concept and does work, this is how the Tasmanian state league is run. They play a 10 team seniors & U/18's comp with no reserves, the guys that arent getting games in the ones or U/18s then are feed to the local affilated clubs which are in there recruiting zones. This helps improve the local footy and makes the top comp better

Megaman123
27 Jan 2012, 09:45
Anyone from Noosa confirm Matthews and Breuer departure? And the arrival of an ex Sydney swan rookie listed player?

kwhit
27 Jan 2012, 16:01
Will have to be a exceptional player to fill the Mathews Brauer departure! Think you may be clutching at straws there megaman if you think someone from noosa would confirm such losses as those two. So far everyone is being very coy about signings and losses, just adds to the entrigue for round 1. Some great games first up noosa v sandgate mayne v surfers. Actually that's about it for round 1! Anyway look forward to it none the less.

amarooplace
28 Jan 2012, 07:20
The silence is deafening. Don't think anyone would confirm departures (especiallywhen they're players of Matthews & brauer calibre) but you'd think the noosa posters would be out and about if there was nothing in the whispers.

smy1305
28 Jan 2012, 10:05
They'll replace them alright. Both midfielders so alot easier to find than a key forward. Matthews will be the bigger loss of the 2 IMO (might be slightly biased). Think the Tigers were more concerned when they loss Hicksy (who is apparently coming back) a couple of years back - replacing 80+ goals is difficult - but they did with a bloke that just walked in off the street!

Professional club - I'm sure they would be disappointed but not unduly concerned if true.

Dezario
28 Jan 2012, 13:24
I reckon Palm Beach Currumbin will be tough to beat, i heard on the grape vine a few very handy players who are making their way there...

Megaman123
28 Jan 2012, 13:32
I reckon Palm Beach Currumbin will be tough to beat, i heard on the grape vine a few very handy players who are making their way there...

Got some names? You obviously have heard more than just rumours....

smy1305
29 Jan 2012, 10:45
Sounds like everyone is GF material in this comp this year!!:confused:

Tiger G
29 Jan 2012, 11:13
Well I hope every team will improve this year and it's looking very positive in having an exciting comp in 2012. All the best to all teams, I can't wait for it all to start!!

kwhit
29 Jan 2012, 13:18
Hey tigerG, have you signed the guy that was going to get the whole comp talking? Dezario, where did you get your mail on the palmy recruits? are they ex broady?

Tiger G
29 Jan 2012, 13:39
Hey tigerG, have you signed the guy that was going to get the whole comp talking? Dezario, where did you get your mail on the palmy recruits? are they ex broady?Not me personally :D, seriously the club haven't announced who yet.

Dezario
29 Jan 2012, 15:31
Hey tigerG, have you signed the guy that was going to get the whole comp talking? Dezario, where did you get your mail on the palmy recruits? are they ex broady?

Not sure if they are for real or not, probably just got gee'd up so I wont mention any names because its most likely false info

Dezario
29 Jan 2012, 15:32
But i know for certain that Darryn Cresswell is coaching down there this year so you'd think he would bring some quality with him...

Fanatic4
29 Jan 2012, 16:24
But i know for certain that Darryn Cresswell is coaching down there this year so you'd think he would bring some quality with him...
I can gaurantee PBC have got some very handy recruits already and more on the way - some serious money has been thrown into the sporting club with a high % of that to be spent on players.
3 players that i know have been on AFL lists - courtesy of Daryn Cresswell recruiting and the fact many good players on the Gold Coast will head that way they will have some very good players this year.

Tiger G
30 Jan 2012, 15:45
Well i'll be daring and do my ladder prediction

1. Noosa
2. W/Magpies
3. W/Grange
4. Sandgate
5. PBC
6. Surfers
7. Burleigh
8. Maroochy
9. Mayne
10.Coolangatta
11.Springwood

s364376
30 Jan 2012, 18:08
They'll replace them alright. Both midfielders so alot easier to find than a key forward. Matthews will be the bigger loss of the 2 IMO (might be slightly biased). Think the Tigers were more concerned when they loss Hicksy (who is apparently coming back) a couple of years back - replacing 80+ goals is difficult - but they did with a bloke that just walked in off the street!

Professional club - I'm sure they would be disappointed but not unduly concerned if true.

rumours around the man they call punky is off to redland bombers.

lasthurrah
31 Jan 2012, 11:45
surfers paradise talking up another massive season in 2012, jake ryan putting $500 on them to win the flag in November. have also heard from their camp that they will go undefeated this season. they havent learned their lesson from previous years, nor do they have the runs on the board. confirmed from the horses mouth directly, breuer and matthews are definitely heading south. Breuer to GV league and matthews back to Bendigo league. WG will be very strong in 2012, shir and brittain brothers will make a difference. They have some quality younger players that will be heading into their 3rd senior seasons, provided they are still there. Corrie at WM but apparently has swallowed an air compressor, although rumours do tend to get blown (pardon the pun) out of proportion. PBC to annnounce signings of some very handy state league players in coming weeks.

LMGEN3
31 Jan 2012, 14:04
I think that info may be from the horse's arse rather than mouth! heading south is correct but not confirmed! Brauer is currently tied up shooting the biggest loser 2012, he's commando's midget stunt double. Matthews can't get of the couch, too many xmas puddings.....
SMY, I'm dissapointed you see us midfielders as easily replaced, 2010 Noosa GF side had no functioning forward line against Sandgates key forwards, I will agree however the key forwards of Mills,Brewster,Frew, Mcguigan made a huge difference in the GF 2011. However I believe it will be a challenge to replace a guy that kicks the football 90m directly up in the air & another the has mastered the helicopter mongrel punt, not to mention no one will fit in his shorts! unless reece langan makes a come back of course....

Dezario
31 Jan 2012, 15:21
daryn cresswell the convicted criminal attracting players that have been on afl lists?

daryn cresswell the guy that openly admitted placing a bet on a game he played in?

i would have thought that decent young footballers would want to stay a mile away from a bloke like cresswell. i guess he is a step up from a bloke that got arressted on grand final day, at half time, threatening umpires.

Massive call. Good on Palmy for giving the bloke a chance to get back on track. I'm sure he'd attract players for his football knowledge rather than his criminal record.

smy1305
31 Jan 2012, 19:09
I think that info may be from the horse's arse rather than mouth! heading south is correct but not confirmed! Brauer is currently tied up shooting the biggest loser 2012, he's commando's midget stunt double. Matthews can't get of the couch, too many xmas puddings.....
SMY, I'm dissapointed you see us midfielders as easily replaced, 2010 Noosa GF side had no functioning forward line against Sandgates key forwards, I will agree however the key forwards of Mills,Brewster,Frew, Mcguigan made a huge difference in the GF 2011. However I believe it will be a challenge to replace a guy that kicks the football 90m directly up in the air & another the has mastered the helicopter mongrel punt, not to mention no one will fit in his shorts! unless reece langan makes a come back of course....

Mate no matter how much us midfielders like to rate our importance a key fwd is just far more valuable because there just aren't that many good ones around! Midfielders dime a dozen (aka Geelong - didn't miss a beat). Bumped into Mr.Langan a couple of weeks back - lucky to walk let alone roost the footy 60m either foot at this stage - his knees are shot (too much bending getting in and out of trucks and fridges!:D

If you indeed go back home all the best - no doubt the recent addition has probably made the heart grow fonder (and baby sitting easier!!). You have been a fine addition to the sunshine coast football community and left a stamp at Noosa FC.

s364376
1 Feb 2012, 09:33
hi im trying to find out where ex afl players go after they are off afl list . so im looking to know if any ex afl listed or rookie players are playing in your competition? hopefully someone can help me

hi there. Maroochydore had Ben Matthews (swans premiership midfielder) play 2 seasons in 2009 and 2010. I believe Corrie from the lions is playing with the western magpies, and danny dikfos who is also ex lions played with sandgate hawks for about 10 years.

outside of that, generally the ex AFL listed players tend to end up in the NEAFL in qld, or head to country victoria or WAFL, SANFL etc for $$$. Also a few ex AFL players running around in Darwin.

The Div 1 league is more community footy, with most clubs being limited on what they can spend.

smy1305
1 Feb 2012, 15:58
Except Noosa:D:D

Fanatic4
2 Feb 2012, 20:10
My money is on PBC.
Grange will be hard again this year although a birdie tells me they have lost Nicholson and Skuse - and there big ruckman could be gone for the year ( forgot his name ). They have recruited some handy players and Wayne Brittain having some input. Great club and have a great ammateur set up.
Corrie has swallowed a 6 man tent - he wont last 6 games if he doesnt get fit. he is just injury proned and this comp is better then what some of these guys think.Magpies are crazy if they have paid him big bucks.
Sandgate can only improve if they move on some of the oldies including the coach - lost some young kids to Aspley i believe and have no money to do anything.
Mayne - just give it up - good players should just go over to Grange and win some games.
Springwood - should be competitive but need to swoop in on ex Mt Gravatt/Morningside players - SOMETHING
Noosa - strong again. but would love to see them knocked over early.
Maroochy - have no idea.
Cooly - have no idea
Surfers - will be very handy from all reports - have some very good players signed. Between them and PBC to see who can pick up the most State League players from Southport/Broadbeach etc
Burleigh - give up

kwhit
4 Feb 2012, 15:34
Grange: The loss of Skuse will hurt! Their best player of last season. The ruckman Macmahon? Gave them first use of the footy more often than not will also be sorely missed, the ins however will ensure the gorillas play in september.
Magpies: Have also heard the Corrie rumors, is no chance of making an impact at their club let alone the comp, none the less the boys from out west will be right there come seasons end.
Mayne: A little harsh fanatic4! will be the biggest improvers for 2012. Will win as many if not more than they lose!
Sandgate: Some very big outs, Long has been a very good coach! has not had a side of stars, but implemented and played to a very good game plan. Unless they can fill with some experience may be a leaner year for the hawks.
Springwood: Defiantly should be scratching around the south brissy neafl clubs for experience to help with their young side! May be another long year for the pumas, but will push clubs harder again this year.
Maroochy: Have picked up some players, and confidence is high. Still need to find min 6 goals a game to trouble top sides and with the loss of Hay might have trouble.
Noosa: September specialists, will not fill the holes left by Brauer and Mathews but will not lose a game up there. May come back to the pack this year but more than capable of going for 3 in a row.
Cooly: Massive losses in the Cairns boys and Hawkins, will struggle for mine this year. A good coach and lots of youth may surprise occasionally but will hover around the bottom.
Burleigh: Like cooly, unless they can snag a couple of neafl boys will be a long year. Can always bet, that when you leave, you know you have been in a contest!
Surfers: Some handy pickups, will they live up to expectations only time will tell. With all the talk coming from there camp anything less than a gf will be another year of under achieving.
Palmy: Big losses, big pick ups, new coach and hopefully a new attitude, will see the boys be right there at the end. Still waiting on confirmation on exactly what they have picked up but if the rumors are true will be very very hard to beat.

The opinions written are those of an uneducated footy tragic. All information is rumor at best. Anyway had fun with it, pick it to pieces lads.

Tiger G
4 Feb 2012, 15:56
Grange: The loss of Skuse will hurt! Their best player of last season. The ruckman Macmahon? Gave them first use of the footy more often than not will also be sorely missed, the ins however will ensure the gorillas play in september.
Magpies: Have also heard the Corrie rumors, is no chance of making an impact at their club let alone the comp, none the less the boys from out west will be right there come seasons end.
Mayne: A little harsh fanatic4! will be the biggest improvers for 2012. Will win as many if not more than they lose!
Sandgate: Some very big outs, Long has been a very good coach! has not had a side of stars, but implemented and played to a very good game plan. Unless they can fill with some experience may be a leaner year for the hawks.
Springwood: Defiantly should be scratching around the south brissy neafl clubs for experience to help with their young side! May be another long year for the pumas, but will push clubs harder again this year.
Maroochy: Have picked up some players, and confidence is high. Still need to find min 6 goals a game to trouble top sides and with the loss of Hay might have trouble.
Noosa: September specialists, will not fill the holes left by Brauer and Mathews but will not lose a game up there. May come back to the pack this year but more than capable of going for 3 in a row.
Cooly: Massive losses in the Cairns boys and Hawkins, will struggle for mine this year. A good coach and lots of youth may surprise occasionally but will hover around the bottom.
Burleigh: Like cooly, unless they can snag a couple of neafl boys will be a long year. Can always bet, that when you leave, you know you have been in a contest!
Surfers: Some handy pickups, will they live up to expectations only time will tell. With all the talk coming from there camp anything less than a gf will be another year of under achieving.
Palmy: Big losses, big pick ups, new coach and hopefully a new attitude, will see the boys be right there at the end. Still waiting on confirmation on exactly what they have picked up but if the rumors are true will be very very hard to beat.

The opinions written are those of an uneducated footy tragic. All information is rumor at best. Anyway had fun with it, pick it to pieces lads.Pretty good write up their kwhit,quite fair I think. Maroochy and Mayne will be the big improvers, won't play finals but have a solid year. I think Surfers and grange will give the big guns a good shake rattle and roll! Haven't heard enough on Burleigh,Pumas and Cooly to really know how they go, from what little I have read looks they might struggle, who knows.
Lets pray for a nice even and exciting comp this year!

2010premier
4 Feb 2012, 21:40
I will put my 2 cents worth but I more regularly watch the NEAFL games.

Noosa- the best run and most supported club in the league IMO as an outsider looking in. Will cover the couple of big losses.

Surfers- I believe the hype and by reports good numbers to training. Rolfes and Fulton will be very handy.

Magpies- the Lions relationship is a big advantage for retention of players.

Grange- The Aspley boys will ensure they are finalists.

PBC- Lost quite a few and a couple of others Drake etc starting to get a bit long in the tooth. Still play finals though I reckon.
--------------------------------------------------------------
Sandgate- usually thereabouts.

Mayne- big improvers with a couple of genuine competition elite pick ups.

Maroochy- heard they got a couple should improve.

Burleigh- not sure where they are at but have not heard of any real pick ups. Top 6 sides will be too good, but will win a few against the other strugglers.

Springwood- I think give their location that they ought to do better. Should have a stream of Gravatt, Morningside and Redland fringe players being attacted to the club.

Cooly- I fear for where they are at. Lost some of their best players, training numbers are poor from what I hear- the economy on the southern end of the coast is pretty bad and it is tough to keep spirit up when you start getting whacked. Hope I am wrong.

Lenny29
5 Feb 2012, 12:29
Springwood- I think give their location that they ought to do better. Should have a stream of Gravatt, Morningside and Redland fringe players being attacted to the club.

Been there, done that. It's not sustainable to throw the $$$ around to do it and given the increasing seriousness of the PHC, blokes who want to have a real crack are going to NEAFL clubs and blokes who want to ease back and play with mates go to the less serious Wynnum/Alex Hills type clubs

2010premier
5 Feb 2012, 13:04
Been there, done that. It's not sustainable to throw the $$$ around to do it and given the increasing seriousness of the PHC, blokes who want to have a real crack are going to NEAFL clubs and blokes who want to ease back and play with mates go to the less serious Wynnum/Alex Hills type clubs

Surfers seem to have been able to get a few from the coast neafl clubs and they certainly don't have money to throw around. Maybe I am harsh in my assessment but IMO springwood need to work harder because I reckon their location should allow more success, as there are hardly any phc clubs on the south. The north has more clubs competing (about 5) so on balance it should be harder for them.

Lenny29
5 Feb 2012, 13:59
Surfers seem to have been able to get a few from the coast neafl clubs and they certainly don't have money to throw around. Maybe I am harsh in my assessment but IMO springwood need to work harder because I reckon their location should allow more success, as there are hardly any phc clubs on the south. The north has more clubs competing (about 5) so on balance it should be harder for them.
Like I said, I don't reckon it's sustainable unless you have the $$$ to back it up.

I query this not to be a smart arse or anything as I genuinely don't know the answer - but when you say "Surfers seem to have been able to get a few from the coast neafl clubs and they certainly don't have money to throw around" how many stay more than 2-3 years? I'd be surprised if it's more than a couple and if that's the case, you end up stifling the development of (some) young guys and can also burn some long term stalwarts if it's not done properly. There's certainly ways to go about it properly but it's delicate and can fail

You can look at us over the 2005-07 period - massive names from Redlands/Springwood/Mt Gravatt came into the club, Easdown, Moncur, Wilson x 2, Gillett, Button, you could put 20 names there. But then for various reasons most of them left (work, moving interstate, wanting to move down to a lower comp) and unless you replace them you leave a void and end up with the debacle that was us in 2008.

I'm more than happy with our current strategy, a sprinkling of experience guiding kids through development phases and you can top up with the right kind of players along the way. Absolutely there's a hell of a long way to go but most importantly it's sustainable and you end up with a quality group on and off field

Speedyunit
5 Feb 2012, 15:29

The opinions written are those of an uneducated footy tragic. All information is rumor at best. Anyway had fun with it, pick it to pieces lads.
corrie looks ok when i saw him the other week, where did cairns go?

kwhit
6 Feb 2012, 08:37
The cairns boys have gone back to tassie apparently!

smy1305
6 Feb 2012, 16:53
Contradiction of terms mate??:D

s364376
6 Feb 2012, 17:40
Where is Noosaboy?

This time last year he was a serial pest on here, telling us all about the amazing pick ups they have, and from all reports most of them aren't actually playing for Noosa this year.

Gotta feel for them if it's true, not alot of work around on the coast at the moment.