View Full Version : who are the big winners???

dover56
17 Oct 2003, 16:18
in my book the two big winners in trade time are essendon and carlton. the dons get murphy, allan, alvey and pick 6 for jacobs, mcgrath and pick 60. big win well done sheeds.
the blues have picked up half a side and have given away oldtimers and useless draft choices. will make carlton competitive again as they were aiming plus will get stevens in draft

smartest play was by footscray giving pick 6 for a young untried player, but actually to stop hawthorn trading with anybody else so he goes through to pre-season where they can get him. brilliant

losers
port adelaide and collingwood, neither got what they wanted and lost decent players for mediocre draft choices
geelong - again got no big names to come

Sera
17 Oct 2003, 16:21
Carlton and Fremantle. Croad for 10 and Koops for 19 is daylight robbery.

sabre_ac
17 Oct 2003, 16:23
Originally posted by Sera

:D :D

funky_monk
17 Oct 2003, 17:06
Originally posted by Sera

Considering this is meant to be the draft which is full of decent WA talent having 3 top 20 picks is awesome. This trade period could set Freo up for a while.

I thought the Bullies did well and will end up with Rawlings and Cooney as well. With Grant and Bandy healthy next year they'll rise for sure.

Slax
17 Oct 2003, 17:14
Bullies and Carlton.

gosaints
17 Oct 2003, 17:30
We are not the big winners but I'm pretty happy with what the Saints did over the trade period.
Guerra and Gram for picks 39 & 23. These two should turn out to be good players in the future.

superstar
17 Oct 2003, 18:05
Essendon are the BIG winners.

Carlton should be rapt.

irel
17 Oct 2003, 18:47
The Lions are the biggest winners.
They kept their entire list and gained a high second round pick.
No other club has been able to get to their list.
How good is that.

Jim Boy
17 Oct 2003, 18:52
Originally posted by dover56
losers
geelong - again got no big names to come

No big names, but no losses either, Geelong came out marginally ahead, mainly thanks to getting pick 20 for Street. Geelong could yet be big winners if it can massage the preseason draft to snare Rawlings for nix.

One-eyed Tiger
17 Oct 2003, 19:47
in my book the two big winners in trade time are essendon and carlton.

Funny that.......:rolleyes:

I'll let you know once the AFL completes it's investigation...;)

One-eyed Tiger
17 Oct 2003, 19:50
Originally posted by Jim Boy
Geelong could yet be big winners if it can massage the preseason draft to snare Rawlings for nix.

Dreamin' :D

But I'd love to know how you think they can swing that.

Jim Boy
17 Oct 2003, 20:02
Originally posted by One-eyed Tiger
Dreamin' :D

But I'd love to know how you think they can swing that.

I admit it's a long shot, but Geelong could offer a one year million dollar deal to blow any opposition out of the water, on the understanding that the subsequent two years are only around $100,000 each. Geelong can do that with it's salary cap by getting a bunch of senior players to take one off $100,000 pay cuts with that money repaid the following year, with interest of course!

Crow-mosone
17 Oct 2003, 20:06
I admit it's a long shot, but Geelong could offer a one year million dollar deal to blow any opposition out of the water, on the understanding that the subsequent two years are only around $100,000 each. Geelong can do that with it's salary cap by getting a bunch of senior players to take one off $100,000 pay cuts with that money repaid the following year, with interest of course!

No.

TPP does not allow that sort of flexibility.
IF you could find10 players to shave 100k off - which you can't, you still the cap room next year to replace the cash.
where is that coming from.

this would smack of Kouta's back loaded contract, you have to pay up some time.

Fact is, he will be WB. end of.

Jim Boy
17 Oct 2003, 20:13
Originally posted by Crow-mosone
No.

TPP does not allow that sort of flexibility.
IF you could find10 players to shave 100k off - which you can't, you still the cap room next year to replace the cash.
where is that coming from.

this would smack of Kouta's back loaded contract, you have to pay up some time.

Fact is, he will be WB. end of.

But that's the point, we pay up front and we would have plenty of room in subsequent years, because Rawlings salary drops 900K. And we don't need 10 players, we probably have around $600,000 now, so it would only be four players or 8 players by $50,000.

The Kouta deal was a shambles because it relied upon rules being changed in the future, which they weren't.

Crow-mosone
17 Oct 2003, 20:19
But that's the point, we pay up front and we would have plenty of room in subsequent years, because Rawlings salary drops 900K. And we don't need 10 players, we probably have around $600,000 now, so it would only be four players or 8 players by $50,000.

The Kouta deal was a shambles because it relied upon rules being changed in the future, which they weren't.

why would you have room in future, that's rubbish.
you are re-arranging but you are not creating cap room.

JUBJUB
17 Oct 2003, 20:35
in my book the two big winners in trade time are essendon and carlton. the dons get murphy, allan, alvey and pick 6 for jacobs, mcgrath and pick 60.

How are Essendon winners by getting Murphy,Allan & Alvey ?
Hasn't Alvey missed most of 2003 with a knee reco ?
Murphy & Allan couldn't get a regular game at Carlton.They'll struggle to get a regular game in the Bendigo Bombers 1st's.

Orangewhip
17 Oct 2003, 20:58
Blues and Saints for me.

Blues had to be super creative and passed with flying colours.

Saints picked up two very handy players to add to an increasingly fierce list.

But we'll be taking Godard back next year boys...;)

irish
17 Oct 2003, 21:33
lions for me - didnt do bugger all and still have the best list !!

pozzo
17 Oct 2003, 21:36
Nick Stevens!

You may not think it but he is a big winner. He might have had his heart set on collingwood, but the real reason he didnt accept the trade was so he could play footy in the future with a young star we'll pick up with the number 2 pick.

Baron Baldrick
17 Oct 2003, 21:41
Surely the Non-Victorian Clubs (Bar Port) would be *****ing themselves at the way the Victorian Footy Clubs handled this week.. considering they were all in the finals in 2003

None of them(bar Port) gave up anything critical to their next year's campaign without being adequately compensated

marcuz
17 Oct 2003, 21:45
How are Essendon winners by getting Murphy,Allan & Alvey ?
Hasn't Alvey missed most of 2003 with a knee reco ?
Murphy & Allan couldn't get a regular game at Carlton.They'll struggle to get a regular game in the Bendigo Bombers 1st's.

How are they losers?...McGrath was going to be delisted.Whether you like murphy or not he is a better footballer than McGrath. We gave up pick 60 for allan which is nothing. And jacobs for pick 6 and alvey..id say we won and comfortably so.

bogan_blue
17 Oct 2003, 21:57
Originally posted by marcuz
How are they losers?...McGrath was going to be delisted.Whether you like murphy or not he is a better footballer than McGrath. We gave up pick 60 for allan which is nothing. And jacobs for pick 6 and alvey..id say we won and comfortably so.

Marcuz, I respect your opinions (always spot on usually IMO) however Mcgrath is still young and is a good prospect, and Murphy is getting on and hasn't set the world on fire since leaving Geelong.
Still I hope he plays well for your club and gives you good service.
If Mcgrath doesn't work out, oh well, we have cleared cap room to get Nick 'BLUE BOY' Stevens.

marcuz
17 Oct 2003, 22:02
Never said he wasnt a good footballer bogan_blue. But Murphy is a better footballer. McGrath will give you guys a lot more years no doubt. I think you hit the nail on the head though. Murphy was shipped off for salary cap reasons. Any other year pagan wouldnt do that trade

bozza
17 Oct 2003, 22:04
Originally posted by bogan_blue
Marcuz, I respect your opinions (always spot on usually IMO) however Mcgrath is still young and is a good prospect, and Murphy is getting on and hasn't set the world on fire since leaving Geelong.
Still I hope he plays well for your club and gives you good service.
If Mcgrath doesn't work out, oh well, we have cleared cap room to get Nick 'BLUE BOY' Stevens.

Cory McGrath aint young - he is about 24/25

Joffaboy
17 Oct 2003, 22:06
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Orangewhip
Blues and Saints for me.

Blues had to be super creative and passed with flying colours.

Saints picked up two very handy players to add to an increasingly fierce list.

Blues did a great job. They were dealt a s hitty hand and played it superbly. Not too wrapped with the names, time will tell, but what else could the Blues do. Fantastic effort.

Saints. Happy with Gram ang Guerra even though i dont know much about Gram.

Saints now have 10 first round picks and 5 top 5 picks.

Gotta love the draft

Port have set the precedent with Stevens. The Saints will follow suit with BJ if the Blues want to get down and dirty :p

Goddard may not always play for the Saints, but he will never play for Carlton.;) ;)

Ripper
17 Oct 2003, 22:12
Originally posted by Baron Baldrick
Surely the Non-Victorian Clubs (Bar Port) would be *****ing themselves at the way the Victorian Footy Clubs handled this week.. considering they were all in the finals in 2003

None of them(bar Port) gave up anything critical to their next year's campaign without being adequately compensated

Exactly right. Talk about shuffling the deckchairs on the titanic. ;)

GhostofJimJess
17 Oct 2003, 22:48
Originally posted by irish
lions for me - didnt do bugger all and still have the best list !!

Dead right, irish. Just like shuffling the deckchairs on the "Pacific Princess" ...

The Old Dark Navy's
17 Oct 2003, 23:35
Originally posted by marcuz
Murphy was shipped off for salary cap reasons. Any other year pagan wouldnt do that trade Most Blues fans wanted to see the back of Murphy. He was a disease at Carlton, played one good game in 2002 and one good game in 2003 and was a passenger the rest of the time. Terrible attitude and was no doubt one of the players undermining the coach. Had to go trade or no trade. He may knuckle down at the Bombers and be a win for you but he was never going to be any good for the Blues ever again.

evertonfc
18 Oct 2003, 00:22
Originally posted by Orangewhip

No probs.

Tenace/Clarke + Whitnall/Stevens, and it's a deal.

Effes
18 Oct 2003, 00:27
Originally posted by pozzo
Nick Stevens!

You may not think it but he is a big winner. He might have had his heart set on collingwood, but the real reason he didnt accept the trade was so he could play footy in the future with a young star we'll pick up with the number 2 pick.

EXACTLY RIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And Max Stevens stated tonight that 'Nick never mentioned that he didn't want to play with Carlton'

feher
18 Oct 2003, 00:38
Originally posted by Bluemike
EXACTLY RIGHT!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

And Max Stevens stated tonight that 'Nick never mentioned that he didn't want to play with Carlton'

+ max said on fox footy that carlton didn't offer them a offer cos beamount didn't want to goto the power so the deal was 'dead'

A bit of topic but balme also said that didak wasn't intresting in going to the power, which i found strange.