View Full Version : Matt Illman

Mong
17 Oct 2003, 17:59
Could be worth a gamble with the last pick in the draft.

For those unaware Matt Illman quit the 36ers to take a chance at the AFL. The last person to do this was Dean Brogan.

Illman is 196cm and is an athlete. As a fan of the 36ers I have seen a lot of Illman and Brogan for the Sixers and I would say he has at least the equal of Brogan in terms of athleticism and on the basketball court has better hands, better ball skills and was always a leader on the court when it came to committment and tenacity. And he was tough, liking to mix it with the big guys.

This doesn't mean a lot when it comes to football but like Brogan, Illman does have a history of football at junior levels.

To only see both as basketballers Illman would've appeared to be the more likely to succeed at football in my opinion. Such was the way he played basketball.

Brogan has proved himself and now has the runs on the board.

There is absolutley no guarantee that Illman could do anything like what Brogan has but the attibutes seem to be there.

I think he is worth a risk at some level. Whether that's drafting or rookie list. We could wait 12 months but after a year playing with West Adelaide he could well be much sought after.

Whether it's as a ruckman or a key position player he has as much athleticism as any in the AFL. And for the last spot on our list I would love to see us bite the bullet, take a risk and get him on our list. The potential upside is huge.

Mong

lozstar
17 Oct 2003, 19:25
He'd be worth at least taking a look at/rookie listing just to see what he's capable of.. If he can turn out anything like Brogan has, it'd be great!! :D

Blues_Girl
17 Oct 2003, 19:26
I thought he was in talks with Port :confused:

Or at least that's what I thought he said about 6 weeks ago.

spindoctor
17 Oct 2003, 19:27
Yes please.

Stiffy_18
17 Oct 2003, 19:54
Port are after Illman.

I think he will be worth rookie listing but taking him in the National Draft is a bit too much of a risk.

Crow-mosone
17 Oct 2003, 20:40
Illman, threw a tantrum at his contract offer from the 36'ers.
threatened to walk, and was politely shown the door.

who needs another sulk.

kirky
17 Oct 2003, 21:20
Originally posted by Crow-mosone
Illman, threw a tantrum at his contract offer from the 36'ers.
threatened to walk, and was politely shown the door.

who needs another sulk.

Agreed, plus can't players that bleach their hair (they lose focus).

MarksGirl-kbcrowgirl
17 Oct 2003, 21:38
Not every basketballer is going to make a great footballer.

Rookie list at the best............but really I'd like to see him have a year at westies to see what he can really do.

k
xx

spindoctor
17 Oct 2003, 21:45
Originally posted by kirky
Agreed, plus can't players that bleach their hair (they lose focus).

Ricciuto didn't seem to have any dip in form when he bleached his hair. Neither did Biglands.

Garth
17 Oct 2003, 22:52
He didn't throw a tantrum mosone, he was stuffed around by the 6ers management for ages and finally came to the realisation he was never going to make a viable career out of basketball. Now he has decided to try football.

As a long time 6ers fan, I saw a fair bit of Matt. He is the sort of person you'd like around any sporting club. The only obstacle is whether he is any good at footy (I have no idea on this, so I won't comment).

Gets!
17 Oct 2003, 23:12
Matt works down at athletes foot at Westfield Marion, and from what I've spoken with him he is a good bloke.

He has nominated for the draft has he?

kirky
18 Oct 2003, 12:57
Originally posted by spindoctor
Ricciuto didn't seem to have any dip in form when he bleached his hair. Neither did Biglands.

Bit of difference between doing the tips and the whole head.

Bockchoy67
18 Oct 2003, 13:11
I find it pretty amazing that such athlete's can pick up a football and play like they've been playing for years.

This Matt Illman bloke would be great for our team, but if it's true what Stiffy says then I doubt we have a real chance to obtain him.

You never know, he could to turn out to be a dud or a great footballer...

magicman
18 Oct 2003, 14:49
I have a mate who has a connection with the 36ers who has told me that Illman is a pretty arrogant person. To quote him he said Illman was a d*ckhead. If this is true, I guess it's no wonder he's linked to Port then :D

sog35
20 Oct 2003, 12:50
It's safe to say Illman doesn't mind himself. It's also safe to say that the Sixers management were trying to screw him over. I have no doubts that the problems lay with the club and not Illman.

Thunderstruck
21 Oct 2003, 13:34
I reckon he needs to prove himself to at least SANFL reserves level to a good degree b4 he should be rookie listed. Is a good size and I have no doubt that he will make the grade one day.

dyertribe
21 Oct 2003, 16:07
Originally posted by spindoctor

Matthew Bode on the other hand...

And who can forget Dickie's mohawk and lighting-bolt ensemble?

naughty monkey
21 Oct 2003, 17:56
Originally posted by Thunderstruck
I reckon he needs to prove himself to at least SANFL reserves level to a good degree b4 he should be rookie listed. Is a good size and I have no doubt that he will make the grade one day.

so why wait?
why give some other club the opportunity to pick him up before we do?

If he's going to show anything, you'll see it next year. We should have him on the RL this year.

Crow-mosone
21 Oct 2003, 23:19
He was an average player with an attitude, who signed his own ticket out of the powerhouse, not who we need.

Regardless he was a low end player who wanted too much money, and had his bluff called.

What would he be like on a rookie contract? besides he now needs a job, how comitted does that make him.

MaccasNeighbour
22 Oct 2003, 12:03
Originally posted by magicman
I have a mate who has a connection with the 36ers who has told me that Illman is a pretty arrogant person. To quote him he said Illman was a d*ckhead. If this is true, I guess it's no wonder he's linked to Port then :D

A lot of people think Akermanis is a *****head but I wouldn't mind him playing for Adelaide.

Thunderstruck
24 Oct 2003, 13:13
Id wait because there are better options out there to rookie list besides matt Illman. He will prolly make the grade, but nowhere near as good as Brogan.

Kane McGoodwin
26 Oct 2003, 11:40
Could be worth a spot on the rookie list, but we should explore all other possible rucking options too.

Mong
21 Jun 2004, 15:59
I apologise if anyone objects to me recalling this old thread but I noticed Illman made his SANFL debut for West on the weekend. Kicked a couple of goals.

I still reckon we should seriously look at him. Probably should've rookie listed him last year. We've got plenty of dead wood and delisting a couple of extra guys than normal so that we can take a chance on someone like this is hardly going to set our club back. There's guys on our list that won't amount to anything. Get rid of them and give Illman a go.

That is unless every AFL club is now keen and he is in demand.

Anyone see him on the weekend?

Mong

Macca19
21 Jun 2004, 16:10
Hes 23 so he may be too old for rookie listing (but im not sure of the age limit).

If he showed good signs then i thought Port would have picked him up last year.

Mong
21 Jun 2004, 16:18
Originally posted by Macca19
Hes 23 so he may be too old for rookie listing (but im not sure of the age limit).

Good point. Forgot about that.

If he showed good signs then i thought Port would have picked him up last year.

But last year he only played a few games at the end of the season as he didn't leave the 36ers until July. Difficult to start your career towards the end of the football season. This year was his first preseason and first full year in SANFL. This was always going to be the year where he would really show if he's up to it.

Mong

MaccasNeighbour
21 Jun 2004, 16:22
If we started ruling out potential players because of arrogance I dont think we would have a full squad.

Don't really know much about the guy but from what's been said on here it sounds like a risk.

It's been at least 12 months since I read similar threads about him on here. What has he achieved since then? Is he playing regular SANFL footy yet? Is it going to take him another 12 months to be a good SANFL player? If so how much longer before he is up to AFL standard?

dyertribe
21 Jun 2004, 16:27
I'd rather we drafted Chris Blakemore - just so we can find out where the hell he's been.

Macca19
21 Jun 2004, 16:33
Originally posted by MaccasNeighbour
It's been at least 12 months since I read similar threads about him on here. What has he achieved since then? Is he playing regular SANFL footy yet? Is it going to take him another 12 months to be a good SANFL player? If so how much longer before he is up to AFL standard?

He played his first SANFL senior game on the weekend.

Mong
21 Jun 2004, 16:36
Originally posted by Macca19
He played his first SANFL senior game on the weekend.

Yeah, that's why I revived the thread.

Anyone see the game?

Mong

MaccasNeighbour
21 Jun 2004, 16:45
Originally posted by Mong
Yeah, that's why I revived the thread.

Anyone see the game?

Mong

Fair enough Mong. I guess he has a couple of months to show promise, assuming he holds his spot down. Who does he play for? Wouldn't mind seeing him in action.

As far as competing with Port for him (if it does come to that) I would think we will have considerable more space and money to accomodate draftees than Port over the summer.

Mong
21 Jun 2004, 16:52
No doubt it's a risk, just like Brogan was for Port and Angwin was for Carlton.

Sometimes they pay off, sometimes they don't.

But in our current predicament we are well placed to take a chance or two. What's the risk with delisting someone like Skipworth or Gallagher (assuming they otherwise would keep a spot on the list) and taking a chance with a very late pick in the draft?

People wouldn't think twice about Brogan now but a few years ago he was in a very similar situation.

Mong

sog35
21 Jun 2004, 18:14
He did a few trainings with Port and he was told to go away and work on his speed across the ground.

Chris Blakemore would be sensational out of the goal square. ;)

redandblack
21 Jun 2004, 19:44
Matt Illman played his first league game last Saturday. Westies played him at full-back and he won his position and played well, before going forward and kicking a goal. He would have made his debut earlier, except for an injury.

There's no question of any arrogance with him, he seems to have a terrific attitude. Seeing he only started playing reserves with only a few games to go last season, he's progressing well.

Jerome
21 Jun 2004, 20:15
hey Redandblack what can you tell us about # 66 - Leonard Clark? 20 year old, 203 cm ruckman - how has he been going?

crazy_big_al
21 Jun 2004, 20:19
Originally posted by redandblack
Matt Illman played his first league game last Saturday. Westies played him at full-back and he won his position and played well, before going forward and kicking a goal. He would have made his debut earlier, except for an injury.

There's no question of any arrogance with him, he seems to have a terrific attitude. Seeing he only started playing reserves with only a few games to go last season, he's progressing well.

interesting

he may lose his Spot to the Grew

redandblack
22 Jun 2004, 01:04
Jerome, a meteoric rise. Lenny Clark was playing for Edwardstown, I think, was recommended to West, played one reserves game, then straight into the league side for the last 3 games. He's about 200cms, 20yo and looks a natural. Will take a bit of time, but is well co-ordinated and could be a good ruck option for a long time.

Nice lad, too.

Macca19
3 Jul 2004, 20:20
Thought id ressurect this thread after seeing both Illman and Clark today.

Clark is a tall bugger. Quite mobile...bit soft tho. Needs to work on his skills a bit. Naturally talented for sure.

llman...I cant see him playing AFL footy any time soon. Very well built but looked very slow today. That as well as the fact he didnt seem really to know what to do at CHF. Looked a bit lost, wasnt sure how to present or where to run or when to run. Average skills....struggled in physical contests against Craig Parry (playing only his 2nd game at CHB). Im sure shall improve but i'd say he looks like he will just be a SANFL player.

Zombie
3 Jul 2004, 22:19
Originally posted by MaccasNeighbour
As far as competing with Port for him (if it does come to that) I would think we will have considerable more space and money to accomodate draftees than Port over the summer.

That wouldn't come into the equation, money isn't an issue in the case of draftees as they are all on the base salary.

I don't think either side will take Illman, the difference between him and Brogan is that Brogan is the extra couple of inches taller and so can play in the ruck. Illman would have to play key position and would struggle to have the skills to keep up with AFL standard KPP's.