tamba
28 Dec 2011, 11:36
With all things quiet at the moment might as well start the 2012 thread :D

TheTommyGun
28 Dec 2011, 11:53
Very premature of you Tamba ;)

tamba
4 Jan 2012, 13:09
Mitch farmer ex delisted richmond player of to the saints with danny wise and also Jamie Allan all three are jets

Saints look to be recruiting very well, hard to find jobs for all though,

Any more recruiting names ready to be released yet
How are the doggies going Chris ??

Itsmyshow
5 Jan 2012, 07:55
Mitch farmer ex delisted richmond player of to the saints with danny wise and also Jamie Allan all three are jets

I believe that Mitch Farmer signed with Romsey in the RDFL in Victoria?

Poiderr
5 Jan 2012, 09:12
The Cutters "officially" start training this coming Wednesday 11th at Fretwell Park. The ground is looking good, recouperating from last years hammering. The gym should be up and running. Some new faces, some old, and the kids chomping at the bit to get back in to it.:thumbsu:

Bourky23
6 Jan 2012, 19:55

sauce?

tamba
7 Jan 2012, 06:47
sauce?

Quote Carried over from the previous Cairns blog 2011 from can't remember only made a comment what some else blogged :cool:

Barry59
8 Jan 2012, 14:44
Tigers look to have recruited successfully, some handy new key position players. Have lost 1 or 2 and a few promising juniors that played seniors all year.

paganspaddock
9 Jan 2012, 13:53
Tigers look to have recruited successfully, some handy new key position players. Have lost 1 or 2 and a few promising juniors that played seniors all year.

Yeah Wade Dixon confirmed he had signed which was fantastic music for us tigers!!! Along with Steve Davies and Ricter, they will be guiding our young tigers around the field. Tennick looks in great shape and Sam Davis has improved out of sight. Great club man!

The loss of Rown Gray and potentially Aaron Kent will mean the ruck options will be limited so hopefully we can fill that void asap.

HadToPost
9 Jan 2012, 14:30
Sam Davis has improved out of sight.

Nice try Sam Davis! ;)

hawkersman16
9 Jan 2012, 15:39
is it jamie allen from wang magpies that has signed with saints?
appearently tigers are talking to a couple of other players aswell?

Bourky23
9 Jan 2012, 16:07
don't know where the Allan rumour started but it isn't true.

Lachrilly
9 Jan 2012, 17:53
Nice try Sam Davis! ;)

Norths must be the only club in the comp he would get a senior game at. Didn't Kent hardly play at all last year and when he did in the two's?

paganspaddock
10 Jan 2012, 11:03
is it jamie allen from wang magpies that has signed with saints?
appearently tigers are talking to a couple of other players aswell?

Thats excellent, do you know who else? Great news for the yellow and black!

hawkersman16
10 Jan 2012, 18:38
Thats excellent, do you know who else? Great news for the yellow and black!
im not sure mate, i think from victoria somewhere.

ttu44
10 Jan 2012, 18:40
whats the league like up there? quick or more scrappy crash and bash? been asked to play for bulldogs and am considering it if my canadian trip falls through

Poiderr
11 Jan 2012, 09:10
whats the league like up there? quick or more scrappy crash and bash? been asked to play for bulldogs and am considering it if my canadian trip falls through

Mate the league has its highs & lows, dependant (dare I say) on content on interstate players. Have some great local talent as well. David Downes is ex Traralgon, playing with the Cutters.:thumbsu:

Saint
11 Jan 2012, 10:05
Due to the large grounds and the sunny climate during the season, the games are usually open, running games.

Some windy games can turn into scrappy affairs, but it's certainly not 'crash and bash'.

paganspaddock
11 Jan 2012, 13:42
Due to the large grounds and the sunny climate during the season, the games are usually open, running games.

Some windy games can turn into scrappy affairs, but it's certainly not 'crash and bash'.

Howdy Saint, Hows the recruiting going in your neck of the woods? Word over at tigerland, you secured a bloke we chasing from down in Ballarat.... Truth?

paganspaddock
11 Jan 2012, 13:44
I believe that Mitch Farmer signed with Romsey in the RDFL in Victoria?

Is this confirmed? thanks for the goss on this one? I know a couple of clubs are trying to lure him here.........

Itsmyshow
11 Jan 2012, 13:56
Is this confirmed? thanks for the goss on this one? I know a couple of clubs are trying to lure him here.........

Was confirmed on their Facebook page.. With a picture of the handshake sealing the deal, so would assume so.

HadToPost
11 Jan 2012, 14:16
Heres an article talking about him being in the leadership group there next year.. Its too bad, I wouldve loved to see him up here!

I found this link somewhere else on this board so excuse the google rubbish
Farmer's heading back to the bush (http://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=mitch%20farmer%20romsey%20newspaperdirect&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CB0QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fleader.newspaperdirect.com%2Fepaper%2Fviewe r.aspx%3Fissue%3D68842011122000000000001001%26page%3D35%26ar ticle%3D64d9e559-ad2a-4f39-8f2b-55ea7a5141ee%26key%3DY6Zv7XpV5XckJcgKckEXCw%253D%253D%26feed %3Drss&ei=lRoNT7XXFIyuiQecwPSGBg&usg=AFQjCNHaMgNVbBz0ddxjJNVdHZKzPJbrxw&sig2=tTPRSiZjn6M2bLojpCQBdA)

paganspaddock
11 Jan 2012, 14:26
Was confirmed on their Facebook page.. With a picture of the handshake sealing the deal, so would assume so.

Big shame!

Any other news around the traps?

Toby Fatanowna deal is done, he is at the Bulldogs this year! BIG loss for City Lions and disappointing for all the effort they have put into the kid

paganspaddock
11 Jan 2012, 14:28
Heres an article talking about him being in the leadership group there next year.. Its too bad, I wouldve loved to see him up here!

I found this link somewhere else on this board so excuse the google rubbish
Farmer's heading back to the bush (http://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=mitch%20farmer%20romsey%20newspaperdirect&source=web&cd=1&ved=0CB0QFjAA&url=http%3A%2F%2Fleader.newspaperdirect.com%2Fepaper%2Fviewe r.aspx%3Fissue%3D68842011122000000000001001%26page%3D35%26ar ticle%3D64d9e559-ad2a-4f39-8f2b-55ea7a5141ee%26key%3DY6Zv7XpV5XckJcgKckEXCw%253D%253D%26feed %3Drss&ei=lRoNT7XXFIyuiQecwPSGBg&usg=AFQjCNHaMgNVbBz0ddxjJNVdHZKzPJbrxw&sig2=tTPRSiZjn6M2bLojpCQBdA)

He would have a really good player to watch. Be great to see a player take the comp by its horn and really dominate. Last time i saw this was Jason Eagle at Saints, that was a magical year for that club and what a pick up! Before that, Tyson Lane in 2004........ He really played some good footy but again, i have my black n gold glasses on when i say this so forgive me :)

ttu44
11 Jan 2012, 15:24
Mate the league has its highs & lows, dependant (dare I say) on content on interstate players. Have some great local talent as well. David Downes is ex Traralgon, playing with the Cutters.:thumbsu:

yeah im mates with downsy, played against him a few times very big unit. Thanks for the help guess any league ends up the same its what you make of it

dale15
11 Jan 2012, 21:22
yeah im mates with downsy, played against him a few times very big unit. Thanks for the help guess any league ends up the same its what you make of it

Well rumoured Daniel wise will be playing at the saints was seem out and about with a few saints boys on Sunday night if he plays will dominate same goes with another player by the name tim lobby

Barry59
12 Jan 2012, 07:40
Does anyone know about Tim Davis? Have heard he's quite a player. Should be a great scoop for Norths.

ShowNtell
12 Jan 2012, 09:09
Toby Fatanowna deal is done, he is at the Bulldogs this year! BIG loss for City Lions and disappointing for all the effort they have put into the kid

Pretty sure cities said he was no longer "required"

Barry59
12 Jan 2012, 09:14

Cities obviously have rocks in their heads. Toby is a great player who got best on ground in the 18s grand final with 7 goals. Surely he couldnt be no longer needed

paganspaddock
12 Jan 2012, 11:05

This is completely untrue. Coach Roe who was at tigerland last year told me yesterday they were 'very disappointed' and he was being viewed at being in the leadership group.

paganspaddock
12 Jan 2012, 11:12
Well rumoured Daniel wise will be playing at the saints was seem out and about with a few saints boys on Sunday night if he plays will dominate same goes with another player by the name tim lobby

Have seen Wise play in QLD team and jet is an understatement. He is a very good player and will be the best onballer the league has had here in the last few years. Danny unfortunately was not drafted and should have been in my opinon. He was very good for Southport in the QAFL and finished top 4 in the league medal two years consecutively in AFL feeder league. Pity he isnt viewed to be coming to tigerland but exciting if he runs around here!

ShowNtell
12 Jan 2012, 12:49
This is completely untrue.
This is completely untrue

paganspaddock
12 Jan 2012, 13:33
This is completely untrue

What have you heard showntell?

Barry59
12 Jan 2012, 14:34
Who are your picks for the top mids in the comp?
D.Bosen certainly the most underrated
B. Powell

Who else??

paganspaddock
12 Jan 2012, 15:08
Who are your picks for the top mids in the comp?
D.Bosen certainly the most underrated
B. Powell

Who else??

B.Powell
K.Ricter
N.Bradburry
L.Ellich
B.Tennick
M.Cunningham

Really hard to gauge who is around and who has left. I am thinking should these new recruits come and play in cairns they would be natural inclusions. Souths, Port, City Lions and Centrals will have totally new looking teams and have heard mumours they are recruiting strongly. Which is fantastic!

paganspaddock
12 Jan 2012, 15:10
Who will coach the 2012 AFL Cairns Rep Side?

Rick Hanlon for me!

Barry59
12 Jan 2012, 15:32
Who will coach the 2012 AFL Cairns Rep Side?

Rick Hanlon for me!

The bloke is a legend and awesome coach

ShowNtell
12 Jan 2012, 16:00
What have you heard showntell?

Out and about couple weeks back, overheard him saying that the committee said that he wasn't required or something to that effect. I'm sure roe is dissapointed to lose him.

Bosen is simultaneously overrated and underrated.
I'd say he's a top 5 midfielder
At north cairns
If he put more effort into winning the hard ball instead of trying to hit blokes when they were vulnerable I might take him
Seriously

ttu44
12 Jan 2012, 16:35

ive never heard of tim lobby but wise should try his luck in the wafl or sanfl. Are they from down south or qld?

My cousin is chris adams co coaching bulldogs so he has told me.

Poiderr
13 Jan 2012, 09:10
See Matt Walsh, Saints has put in for transfer to NT couple of days ago... Must be fit? Good signs for Saints for 2012? Anyone know which club he is going to?

paganspaddock
13 Jan 2012, 10:36
Out and about couple weeks back, overheard him saying that the committee said that he wasn't required or something to that effect. I'm sure roe is dissapointed to lose him.

Bosen is simultaneously overrated and underrated.
I'd say he's a top 5 midfielder
At north cairns
If he put more effort into winning the hard ball instead of trying to hit blokes when they were vulnerable I might take him
Seriously

This hurts me to agree with the comments regarding Dywane Bosen. You dont play curtain raisers at the MCG with limited ability, he is a very special player but has an equally hot head which leads to him lifting his eyes from the ball and wanting to make body contact and putting on hits which look 'hard' but often lead to umpires making decisions against him. His hits are often after the ball has been disposed or he will run past the ball when they player is not looking at him but rather the ball. If this element of his game improved, he would not be playing in Cairns, he would have been recruited south. I see him train weekly and his skills both sides, jump, explosive speed and knowledge of the game is beyond his young age. I just wish he would get the ball first and the body second but always worth $6 every time he runs out. My fav player at the tigers den by a mile!

My 2 cents!

paganspaddock
13 Jan 2012, 10:39
ive never heard of tim lobby but wise should try his luck in the wafl or sanfl. Are they from down south or qld?

My cousin is chris adams co coaching bulldogs so he has told me.

Can someone confirm Adams appointment. I heard from the dog kennel that Cunningham was furious that the article listed Adams as 'Co Coach' when he is the assistant coach........ I understood this to be true and I will eat humble pie if this is incorrect!

paganspaddock
13 Jan 2012, 10:41
See Matt Walsh, Saints has put in for transfer to NT couple of days ago... Must be fit? Good signs for Saints for 2012? Anyone know which club he is going to?

My understanding is that Matt Walsh and young family are staying put in Cairns as he has accepted a new role at St Augustines College...... Saint can you add to this or am i putting on extra kg with more humble pie.......

Lachrilly
13 Jan 2012, 13:06
My understanding is that Matt Walsh and young family are staying put in Cairns as he has accepted a new role at St Augustines College...... Saint can you add to this or am i putting on extra kg with more humble pie.......

I am pretty sure he has the job you are talking about. If this is true you would think that he would be starting that very soon and not going to NT. If he is going i would think that the Saints will have their fingers crossed he comes back in good nick

paganspaddock
13 Jan 2012, 13:38
I am pretty sure he has the job you are talking about. If this is true you would think that he would be starting that very soon and not going to NT. If he is going i would think that the Saints will have their fingers crossed he comes back in good nick

My thinking also

How are the saints shaping up lachrilly? Have seen the lads going through their paces on the esplanade.....

The tigers trained very well last night. Wade Dixon is a class above. Very fit and alot taller and bigger in frame than first described to me! Positionally, i think he will float around the ground.

Saint
13 Jan 2012, 14:44
Walshy flies over to play on the weekend for a bit of extra cash. Starting later this year than usual but it's good to see him get some games under his belt before the start of this season.

I think Saints are going to take a Geelong-like approach with some of the older players perhaps Walsh giving them plenty of time to freshen up during the season.

Wade Dixon is very impressive on the training track. I've never seen him play though.

Re: Bosen, sometimes people mistake ability for output. Bosen might have all the talent in the world, but if he can't focus on the ball and do the best for his team, he's wasting that talent. Seen it with plenty of players and most never actually reach their potential which is always a pity.

I'd rate one of Saints' other midfield pickups as in the top 5 if his return from injury is still improving. I'll save the name until it appears in the clearances, but he's already in Cairns.

Barry59
13 Jan 2012, 15:16
I wonder how the 18s comp will be this year. Loosing the comps best juniors wardle, dewis etc and several others will definitely lower the standard.

sayitasitis
14 Jan 2012, 05:14
Cities obviously have rocks in their heads. Toby is a great player who got best on ground in the 18s grand final with 7 goals. Surely he couldnt be no longer needed

Toby wont be missed. Any one could have kicked 7 in the under 18's final, he was just in the forward line as is he is too lazy to play on ball where he should have been. Even if cities struggle again this year Toby will be easy pickings for most clubs as everytime he gets possession he steps and tries to dance around opposition. Tries to be too flashy instead of getting the job done and gets caught 80 % of the time. Heard he had a 4 week trial at Port Melbourne and was home by the end of the 1st week. Must of trained more than once a week. Enjoy the frustration he brings you Bulldogs.

paganspaddock
16 Jan 2012, 10:55
Walshy flies over to play on the weekend for a bit of extra cash. Starting later this year than usual but it's good to see him get some games under his belt before the start of this season.

I think Saints are going to take a Geelong-like approach with some of the older players perhaps Walsh giving them plenty of time to freshen up during the season.

Wade Dixon is very impressive on the training track. I've never seen him play though.

Re: Bosen, sometimes people mistake ability for output. Bosen might have all the talent in the world, but if he can't focus on the ball and do the best for his team, he's wasting that talent. Seen it with plenty of players and most never actually reach their potential which is always a pity.

Couldnt agree anymore with your comments!

Impressive to hear about Walshy, who is he running around with?

We at tigerland are already impressed with Dixon. Lead fitness at training and was outstanding and skills are very good to say indeed. We will need a few fringe players to step up and contribute.

I'd rate one of Saints' other midfield pickups as in the top 5 if his return from injury is still improving. I'll save the name until it appears in the clearances, but he's already in Cairns.

Where interested to find out a bit more about this player, was intending on popping in to have a quick peek at Saints training tonight after i get the wife from Sportsworld!

paganspaddock
16 Jan 2012, 11:17
I wonder how the 18s comp will be this year. Loosing the comps best juniors wardle, dewis etc and several others will definitely lower the standard.

Perhaps a 'Colts' competition. and make it an U20's comp????

We look to be short also at tigerland this season

Saint
17 Jan 2012, 07:43
Almost 40 players at Saints' first training session last night including about 10 or so new players.

It's going to be a long season, starting so early in January but there's no shortage of enthusiasm. Some look like they need the long pre-season while others look like they've improved significantly.

In particular the ex-rugby guys have brought down a couple of new faces and they look to have been working on their kicking. All eyes on the Cranesaw!

tamba
17 Jan 2012, 08:01
Any ideas when the Draw is due out

or at least the Pre-season one

don't know why it takes so long to release them :rolleyes:

tamba
17 Jan 2012, 08:07
Almost 40 players at Saints' first training session last night including about 10 or so new players.

It's going to be a long season, starting so early in January but there's no shortage of enthusiasm. Some look like they need the long pre-season while others look like they've improved significantly.

In particular the ex-rugby guys have brought down a couple of new faces and they look to have been working on their kicking. All eyes on the Cranesaw!

will admit they are good numbers for anyone Saints

Souths have around 30 on the track, but some are slow starters as always LOL :D

anyone else with numbers

The Situation1
17 Jan 2012, 08:34
Who is going to kick the most goals this year?? My eyes are fixed on the new port foward...

Saint
17 Jan 2012, 09:21
Walshy will be playing from round 1 and averaged 7 goals a game last year, I'd say he'll be the benchmark.

The obvious challengers would be from Hawks and Port, whoever they have up front will kick plenty of goals. Booth who won it last year wasn't a great player (I'm still understanding that he's moved on?). Maybe Langford?

Numbers look good for the reserves, hopefully they can go a couple of steps further this year. Would've been over 40 if you include the guys who attended but didn't train.

paganspaddock
17 Jan 2012, 11:14
Walshy will be playing from round 1 and averaged 7 goals a game last year, I'd say he'll be the benchmark.

The obvious challengers would be from Hawks and Port, whoever they have up front will kick plenty of goals. Booth who won it last year wasn't a great player (I'm still understanding that he's moved on?). Maybe Langford?

Numbers look good for the reserves, hopefully they can go a couple of steps further this year. Would've been over 40 if you include the guys who attended but didn't train.

Outstanding numbers but proof again that Saints have a strong profile in this league. We have had anywhere between 25-35 at our sessions with many missing due to xmas, work and holidays in new year but that being said, expect as we get closer to the season start more will arrive at Watsons.

Who is the new port forward? *keen eyes point up the hill*

paganspaddock
17 Jan 2012, 11:28

My tip is Nic Braybon, ventured past Gatton St last night and having watched him in the TAC with NSW a long time ago, he has filled right out and is a MAN MOUNTAIN. Bigger than Poyner and there is NOT a defender in the league who will match it with him. Think Ricter could do a job on him but it would detract from the other talented saints players on their list. BOY OH BOY!

The Situation1
17 Jan 2012, 12:03
Who is the new port forward? *keen eyes point up the hill*

A little bird told me he hasn't signed any paper yet but he's played in the TAC cup and could do with a tan...

Can someone confirm that cities aren't putting in a reserve team?? Lack of numbers for a struggling club...

Collo_Cairns
17 Jan 2012, 12:18
A little bird told me he hasn't signed any paper yet but he's played in the TAC cup and could do with a tan...

Can someone confirm that cities aren't putting in a reserve team?? Lack of numbers for a struggling club...

I understand that they have picked up ok but will lack depth.... Need 15 new good players, but they have got a few very handy ones. Whether that means no reserves. They are on the right track with Roe.

Have Hawks got a coach?

paganspaddock
17 Jan 2012, 12:58
I understand that they have picked up ok but will lack depth.... Need 15 new good players, but they have got a few very handy ones. Whether that means no reserves. They are on the right track with Roe.

Have Hawks got a coach?

I assumed you had to have both a grade and reserves to field a team in the competition. I would not support and allow Cairns Lions to only field one team, would be very unfair to other clubs as they could recruit and would be able to pool $$$ resources and have expenses for one team on the weekends :)

To my knowledge no, i am sure judging by older posts that plugger or whoever his alias is now would be able to confirm this. Who knows what his name is these days!

tamba
17 Jan 2012, 14:13
I assumed you had to have both a grade and reserves to field a team in the competition. I would not support and allow Cairns Lions to only field one team, would be very unfair to other clubs as they could recruit and would be able to pool $$$ resources and have expenses for one team on the weekends :)

To my knowledge no, i am sure judging by older posts that plugger or whoever his alias is now would be able to confirm this. Who knows what his name is these days!

Imagine the senerio, :confused:

your Senior team plays Lions , your Ressies have weekend off due to no team for them to play

the next week is your scheduled bye , that means your Ressies has had no games for 3 weeks by time they play again,

would you be allowed to name 26 players for the Senior game against Lions ??? ;)

ShowNtell
17 Jan 2012, 15:25
I think it's pretty obvious whoever had a bye their reserves would play against whoever played cities reserves. Obviously there would have to be guidelines about eligibility for the bye team

tamba
17 Jan 2012, 18:48
I think it's pretty obvious whoever had a bye their reserves would play against whoever played cities reserves. Obviously there would have to be guidelines about eligibility for the bye team

Ok, then you will have a draw for Seniors & one for Reserves, wont work,
the teams will be out of whack ,

7 teams Seniors
6 teams Ressies, Nah I can't see it too messy

is Power ready for a Ressy team :confused:

will you make one team say travel to PD whilst the other stays elsewhere to play & stretch resources :(

ShowNtell
18 Jan 2012, 08:17
You quote me but you obviously didn't read what i wrote.
If for example south cairns played cities at holloways then it's no different for the reserves to also play there 1st. They would play the club having a byes reserves say north cairns. So north cairns seniors wouldn't b playing any game that day, hence no stretch of resources. The only difference would be instead of 3 byes each reserve team would get 3 extra away games. The only problem would be the draw would have to be mixed up so that u wouldn't play every team 3 times and 1 6 times. I'm not saying it should happen just how I reckon it would happen if the league went down that path.

paganspaddock
18 Jan 2012, 11:31
Imagine the senerio, :confused:

your Senior team plays Lions , your Ressies have weekend off due to no team for them to play

the next week is your scheduled bye , that means your Ressies has had no games for 3 weeks by time they play again,

would you be allowed to name 26 players for the Senior game against Lions ??? ;)

A terrible scenario and one i wouldnt wish on any club...... The tigers have had our fair share of big defeats and low numbers and last night was pleasing to see many new faces to the club and refreshing news about our new found depth BUT we are by no means out of the woods! Carn the tigers!

Word is it that Hawks put all their eggs in the basket with recruiting a 'former' crows player as coach but have broken down with the player moving to cairns but not seeking to caoch. A number of clubs are in the hunt for his signature as a player but will only be available for 6-10 games this season. But havent heard the tigers name in the chase for this player.

Word has it 2 WAFL players have arrived in Cairns for the 'gold and the brown' club to see if they 'like' cairns and will decide on signing by the end of this week. Centrals will announce another signing this week from one of the big 3 clubs in town (Port, Saints or hawks). Its understood to be worth ' complete outdoor home reno' worth a fair bit of coin..... Times have changed from when i played, used to be a brown paper bag and a box of cigars lol. Showing my age now ;)

TheTommyGun
18 Jan 2012, 11:37
Damn Pagans, you ever considered becoming a investigative journalist for the Cairns Post. At least the Football section might actually get some interest this year.

dale15
18 Jan 2012, 12:40
Nick gill is the ex crows player the hawks were after as a coach

tamba
18 Jan 2012, 12:46
As I said before

Nah I can't see it too messy :thumbsd:

and I did read what you said before,

it won't work, you need two draws,

they have problems doing one as it is let alone two :eek:

ShowNtell
18 Jan 2012, 14:47
As I said before

Nah I can't see it too messy :thumbsd:

and I did read what you said before,

it won't work, you need two draws,

they have problems doing one as it is let alone two :eek:

... R u sure u get it?

paganspaddock
19 Jan 2012, 15:21
Damn Pagans, you ever considered becoming a investigative journalist for the Cairns Post. At least the Football section might actually get some interest this year.

HA HA the Craig Hutchinson or Damien Barrett of Big Footy! I will leave that duty to yourself, i am more concerned volunteering my time down at the local food hall feeding the retired servicemen and RSL members. Thanks for the prospective job comment ;)

paganspaddock
19 Jan 2012, 15:35
Nick gill is the ex crows player the hawks were after as a coach

So the race continues with Centrals joining the list for Nic Gill. The 192cm forward has arrived in Cairns and was spotted by source meeting Co coach / assistant coach at Gloria Jeans at Cairns Central. Interesting............

Saint
23 Jan 2012, 15:11
He'll be the best player in the comp by a fair way, I'd say.

Had a lot of talent when I used to watch him play for Port one year when he played with some friends of mine.

Kicked 38 goals for the Roosters in the SANFL last year and it wasn't too long ago he played AFL.

I hear he's on the radio up here, but haven't heard him, anyone know what station and what time it's on? He used to be a funny pr!ck. Probably worth a listen. Never seemed like the type of character that would want to coach, though, never that serious a person, though I'm sure with his experience he'd be a good one.

dick pepperfield
23 Jan 2012, 18:41
Gill won't coach. He is still overseas, so he is not on radio yet and has not had any face to face meetings. Heard it's out of Cities or Saints, he knows people at both of these clubs.

Wise is not in town and I doubt he will be. Eagle still has not signed anywhere. Nothing exciting except good numbers at saints.

Haven't heard much of Souths and Hawks progress? When does the clearance window open?

Sweet Undies
23 Jan 2012, 23:22
Nic Gill. The 192cm forward has arrived in Cairns and was spotted by source meeting Co coach / assistant coach. Interesting............

He is still overseas, so he is not on radio yet and has not had any face to face meetings.

Who's fibbing about Gill:confused:???

Sweet Undies
23 Jan 2012, 23:24
Who will coach Hawks........anyone want to take a punt??

Saint
24 Jan 2012, 07:31
If you're holding out for a new coach to possibly come on board, surely the end of January is when you just have to bite the bullet and appoint somebody you know is going to turn up.

For that reason, if they haven't appointed somebody by the end of Jan, I'm going to tip that Langford gets the job. They'll keep Asst coach open for any prospects who they've been holding out for.

I'd like to see Gill at Cities. Just playing alongside him, even for a few games, would be great to get youngsters down to a club that needs the support.

DrRichardKimble
24 Jan 2012, 10:03
Gill won't coach. He is still overseas, so he is not on radio yet and has not had any face to face meetings. Heard it's out of Cities or Saints, he knows people at both of these clubs.

Wise is not in town and I doubt he will be. Eagle still has not signed anywhere. Nothing exciting except good numbers at saints.

Haven't heard much of Souths and Hawks progress? When does the clearance window open?

I consider Adam Couch's brother who played in Spotwoods flag last yr, Sam Harkin (absolute gun) and Rick Allen both Ballarat inter league reps, The player Saint is talking about who will be the best mid in the comp, Zac White as a new ruckman, new CHB from Croydon, man mountain Braybon, Searl from Nth Ballarat VFL, a fit Matt Walsh and few more pick ups as exciting if you are involved around the club...

DrRichardKimble
24 Jan 2012, 10:07
If you're holding out for a new coach to possibly come on board, surely the end of January is when you just have to bite the bullet and appoint somebody you know is going to turn up.

For that reason, if they haven't appointed somebody by the end of Jan, I'm going to tip that Langford gets the job. They'll keep Asst coach open for any prospects who they've been holding out for.

I'd like to see Gill at Cities. Just playing alongside him, even for a few games, would be great to get youngsters down to a club that needs the support.

Obviously that's if he doesn't come to Saints to play with his good mate Mulva

paganspaddock
24 Jan 2012, 11:42
I consider Adam Couch's brother who played in Spotwoods flag last yr, Sam Harkin (absolute gun) and Rick Allen both Ballarat inter league reps, The player Saint is talking about who will be the best mid in the comp, Zac White as a new ruckman, new CHB from Croydon, man mountain Braybon, Searl from Nth Ballarat VFL, a fit Matt Walsh and few more pick ups as exciting if you are involved around the club...

So is there any truth about the 2 x hawks players heading to wear the black, white and red next year? True hawks have lost a player to cities also but not a regular a grade player

Tigers have 40 strong on the track, looks great and hope the rain stays away to ensure the balls come out on the track today!

Saint
24 Jan 2012, 14:48
Don't think Mulva will be trying to convince him too much (though I see they're Facebook Friends!), he might take his position! The Ressies league BnF would be fighting for that same spot, both have been working hard in the off-season.

Saints have lost a few too and need to improve if they want to challenge for the flag again.
Lost Coatesworth, Dixon, Martin, Harth, Parsons, Poyner. That's half the spine and the coach and equal best player(one person).

Haven't seen any Hawks players on the Saints track, but I've only been down to watch one training. Good to see a couple of new redheads on the track, I was worried we were losing them all.

From what I'm hearing, I'm happy to slot Tigers into my top 4, but who would drop out, Port or Centrals? Have Port dropped back enough, have Centrals picked up anyone?

watsons oval
24 Jan 2012, 17:32
Who will coach Hawks........anyone want to take a punt??
My mail today was that Hawks had appointed Jeremy Gleeson as head coach, non playing, who was with Old Collegians in the Warnambool league last year. Not here for another 3 weeks though.:confused: Gill shopping himself around as he will be only available for around 10 games. As someone else said Cities and Saints were favourites to get him.
Saw Norths training Thurs night, good numbers, Richter, Tennick and Dixon absolute standouts and if we can keep these 3 on the paddock should see some finals action.
From what I hear Saints have recruited well again are my early team to beat. Can't be ideal for Hawks to not have a coach until 4 weeks before kick off.

dale15
25 Jan 2012, 09:12
Rumors are terrible micky searle from north ballarat vfl is playing singed ages ago why would he want to play at the saints with that stubby and mark Kennedy still there

dale15
25 Jan 2012, 09:13
His a north ballarat boy 2012

Saint
25 Jan 2012, 10:03
If he's playing at Nth Ballarat, he's a long way from home. He's been to every training from what I hear.

And from what I've seen of the one I watched, he sets a pretty high standard on the track. Even if he doesn't play at Saints, I can say with 100% certainty that he's training there (so not a rumour at all) and sets the highest standard, which is good for the club.

paganspaddock
25 Jan 2012, 11:17
My mail today was that Hawks had appointed Jeremy Gleeson as head coach, non playing, who was with Old Collegians in the Warnambool league last year. Not here for another 3 weeks though.:confused: Gill shopping himself around as he will be only available for around 10 games. As someone else said Cities and Saints were favourites to get him.
Saw Norths training Thurs night, good numbers, Richter, Tennick and Dixon absolute standouts and if we can keep these 3 on the paddock should see some finals action.
From what I hear Saints have recruited well again are my early team to beat. Can't be ideal for Hawks to not have a coach until 4 weeks before kick off.

It looked fantastic! Fitness wise, those three were clear standouts. Slotting in Davies, Batten, Bosen and my fav son Fenton will lead the tigers into strong position finals time. I would like to think we could be finals contenders this year with the knowledge that the 'best team on the day' wins the game, not reputation. Carnnnnn the tigers!

paganspaddock
25 Jan 2012, 11:22
Don't think Mulva will be trying to convince him too much (though I see they're Facebook Friends!), he might take his position! The Ressies league BnF would be fighting for that same spot, both have been working hard in the off-season.

Saints have lost a few too and need to improve if they want to challenge for the flag again.
Lost Coatesworth, Dixon, Martin, Harth, Parsons, Poyner. That's half the spine and the coach and equal best player(one person).

Haven't seen any Hawks players on the Saints track, but I've only been down to watch one training. Good to see a couple of new redheads on the track, I was worried we were losing them all.

From what I'm hearing, I'm happy to slot Tigers into my top 4, but who would drop out, Port or Centrals? Have Port dropped back enough, have Centrals picked up anyone?

Great insight into the sainters! Which Dixon? Jeremy or Jessie?

You have been rumoured to have some fantastic pick ups this season and having looked from Sportsworld last week, they move very well. Can you confirm who has signed?

The hawks players and one centrals player from what i have heard will be training at the end of the month but have been talking to your club. This is unconfirmed but heard this from a life member at Hawks who lives at Cazalys who i happened to share a beer with occassionally.

DrRichardKimble
25 Jan 2012, 11:44
Rumors are terrible micky searle from north ballarat vfl is playing singed ages ago why would he want to play at the saints with that stubby and mark Kennedy still there

It's Jarryd Searl not Michael... Jarryd played there a couple years ago.
And its Jeremy Dixon leaving as he is moving back to Vic

Saint
25 Jan 2012, 12:42
Sorry DRK, only heard his last name from the track.

There's no 'signing' until clearance time and that doesn't open until February does it? So as far as I know nobody is 'signed' (except the two co-coaches)

By my calculations, once a bloke trains somewhere 10 times, that's as good as 'signed' for me.

Flintstone
25 Jan 2012, 14:33

I can tell you that young Mr Walsh has been appointed as Head of Sport at St Augustines for this year.

paganspaddock
25 Jan 2012, 15:13

There's no 'signing' until clearance time and that doesn't open until February does it? So as far as I know nobody is 'signed' (except the two co-coaches)

By my calculations, once a bloke trains somewhere 10 times, that's as good as 'signed' for me.

Is Jessie Dixon playing at Saints again?

DrRichardKimble
25 Jan 2012, 15:59
Is Jessie Dixon playing at Saints again?

Has been training and brought a friend with him Monday night so yes...

tamba
25 Jan 2012, 18:59

From what I have heard that's on 1st Feb. but will bite my tongue if that was the wrong info given to me. :confused:

Sweet Undies
25 Jan 2012, 19:07
From what I have heard that's on 1st Feb. but will bite my tongue if that was the wrong info given to me. :confused:

Hi Tamba (massive smile face).

LenardWashington
30 Jan 2012, 09:38
Anyone know when the fixture will be released?
Also will the lions have a 2's team this year?
Cheers

Flintstone
30 Jan 2012, 12:46
Heard on the grapevine that the big ruckman from last year's Centrals team walked out and is on the market.

paganspaddock
30 Jan 2012, 14:24
Heard on the grapevine that the big ruckman from last year's Centrals team walked out and is on the market.

Hope norths are calling this guy, we will be short in this department!

all right
30 Jan 2012, 15:07
Hope norths are calling this guy, we will be short in this department!

I was informed not more than 20mins ago that the gentleman in question has indeed signed with North Cairns and that there is a better than good chance that Rowan Gray will be back
What has happened to the shit slinging at North's from Hawks? I miss it :(

tamba
31 Jan 2012, 06:32
Season 2012 draw is out some interesting match ups :footy:

Pre-season comp 17th & 24th March

Round 1 Grand Final Replay ------Hawkies V Sainters :thumbsu:

Souths V Lions , Norths V Port CTB week off

http://www.sportingpulse.com/get_file.cgi?id=1660805

Sweet Undies
31 Jan 2012, 07:02
Season 2012 draw is out some interesting match ups :footy:

Pre-season comp 17th & 24th March

Round 1 Grand Final Replay ------Hawkies V Sainters :thumbsu:

Souths V Lions , Norths V Port CTB week off

http://www.sportingpulse.com/get_file.cgi?id=1660805

Hi Tamby:):)

oldwarrior
31 Jan 2012, 11:13
Cutter's have picked up a gun from Sth Warrnambool Premiership Player Trent Harmen, he was asked to join Sth Adelaide but opted to go with mate's to Cairns, quick running mid size backmen.