View Full Version : My final Phantom Draft.
Demon37
17 Oct 2003, 19:29
I can't say I know as much as an OldSchool or Weaver, but here is my final Phantom Draft for 2003.
(As I said, I don't know an awful lot, so I will only go to pick 10).
1. Bulldogs - Adam Cooney
Picks himself. Explosive midfielder ready to step up straight away.
2. Carlton - Kepler Bradley
The Blues take Bradley after losing McKernan and Allan. Gifted utility who plays his best footy up forward or in the ruck.
3. Melbourne - Kane Tenace
Super quick midfielder who has good skills, terrific endurance and is a natural ball winner. The Demons are delighted he is available at 3.
4- Bulldogs - Farren Ray
Apparantly the Bulldogs have committed to Ray. However, if Sylvia is still available at 4 then they may reconsider. Ray is a quick, skilful wingman from WA.
5. Melbourne - Colin Sylvia
A bargain at 5. Strong, inside midfielder who can go forward and kick goals.
6. Essendon - Raphael Clarke
Sheedy decides to take the gifted younger brother of Xavier. Freakish skills, Clarke and Cupido could be a lethal combination in the Bombers forward line.
7. Geelong - Andrew Walker
The Cats are pleased to get Walker at 7 after he was touted to go as high as 2. Athletic defender with good evasive skills and a strong leap.
8. St. Kilda - Ryley Dunn
Hard utility who may be able to play senior footy straight away. One I haven't seen play much, but he sounds like a good prospect.
9. Kangaroos - Fergus Watts
Strong marking CHF who has unlimited potential. After intending to use this pick on Rawlings, the Roos will be happy to pick up such a good prospect.
10. Fremantle - Matthew Moody
Fremantle go for a local at pick 10. Moody is a reliable forward who showed good form for WA in the U/18 Championships.
Thoughts please!
Yze_Magic
17 Oct 2003, 19:34
my thought is that we take Sylvia at pick 3, or risk him being taken by the Doggies with pick 4
I would have suggested the Doggies would definitely pick up Sylvia at 4 if he is available, but after today, God knows what they'll do.
|D_J^B_J|
17 Oct 2003, 19:48
I don't think Moody will go that high.
He has been disappointing in the premiership winning Sth Fremantle Colts side this year and will realistically be taken somewhere between 10 - 20.
OldSchool
17 Oct 2003, 20:01
D37, Good effort.
I think you might have rated Moody a liilte too highly and perhaps McLean should have replaced him.
Was going to post mine tomorrow but the Doggies have taken a little of the fun out of it. With just picks 1 and 4 it hardly seems worthwhile.
tashibatts
17 Oct 2003, 21:07
Would prefer Mclean at #9 I think..
Then again, I have seen very very little of Watts (however, I saw enough of Mclean to know I like him as a player)
Go Roos
Although I rate him due to his pure talent, I doubt Geelong will pick up Walker. We have enough of his type who can play as a defender/midfield. I'm thinking the Cats will pick up Ryley Dunn (Well, at least I'm hoping we will...) or Troy Chaplin (A more logical choice due to his ability to play CHB and CHF).
1jasonoz
17 Oct 2003, 21:15
God I hate clubs getting priority picks, what a rort.
Bronx Bomber
18 Oct 2003, 01:56
Tenace will go #2........
evertonfc
18 Oct 2003, 02:06
Good job.
Unfortunately, I can see Sheedy swooping onto Raphael Clarke, sadly.
If Fergus Watts is still available, I'd be adament that St Kilda would choose him at Pick #8.
St Kilda doesn't need hard utilities per se; we just picked up Guerra and Gram! Watts seems to have the attributes we want.
FreoDocker
18 Oct 2003, 02:26
At the moment my top 20 picks would be:
2. Carlton - Kane Tenace
3. Melbourne - Colin Sylvia
4- Bulldogs - Kepler Bradley
5. Melbourne - Farren Ray
7. Geelong - Fergus Watts
9. Kangaroos - Andrew Walker
10. Fremantle - Brock McLean
11. West Coast - Callum Burges
12. Fremantle - Jacob Surjan
13. Essendon - Troy Chaplin
14. Adelaide - Tim Schmidt
15. Pt Adelaide - Ricky Dyson
16. Sydney - David Mundy
17. Collingwood - Brent Hall
18. Brisbane - Matthew Moody
19. Fremantle - Matthew Spencer
20. West Coast - Michael Pettigrew
nightcrawler
18 Oct 2003, 02:26
The jury is out on whether the Blues will stick with Tenace or swing to Walker at the death. I doub we will take bradley. We actually think pretty highly of a couple of our ruck prospects who most of you wouldn't have heard of.
|D_J^B_J|
18 Oct 2003, 02:43
FreoDocker,
I think WC will take an interstate key position player with pick 11. I'm thinking they have their sights on Chaplin and will take a risk, hoping Burges is still available at pick 20.
Also, Moody going at pick 18 (one selection before ours) would be disappointing.
whisper_metal
18 Oct 2003, 02:45
Originally posted by 1jasonoz
God I hate clubs getting priority picks, what a rort.
Especially when a team like Melbourne can go from a spot in the finals to win only 5 games the next year......and then teams like St. Kilda continually finish bottom (not this year though) and get the first 2 picks every year...... rules are rules, but i think the AFL needs to adjust their policy on it
Undertaker
18 Oct 2003, 07:08
FreoDocker:
Looks pretty good to me, although I think WCE will pick Jacob Surjan if they get the chance which will mean Freo to pick Moody with pick 12 and Spencer with pick 19. Which is a pretty good mix of players. Maclean hard inside midfielder, Moody midsize forward, Spencer tall KPP. I also think that either Johnson, Pettigrew or Burgess may still be available at pick 27
dan warna
18 Oct 2003, 11:16
i think fergus watts will go to the saints if he's available, i think the saints are hoping clarke goes before pick 8, otherwise they'll be under tremendous pressure from x to take him.
there are some question marks of raphael, while watts is close to being ready to play now.
raphael has more skills than possibly all except cooney and was expected to go top 4 early in the year, but there question marks on his willingness to do the 1% and the training required to be great.
He could swan around and pick up 10 to 15 touches and kick a every game for his career, or he could be as good as michael long or nicky winmar.
a risky proposition with on 38 slots, while Fergus Watts will be a CHB/CHF of solid if not spectacular quality....
the genuis or mr reliability?
TheSheik
18 Oct 2003, 11:20
Originally posted by Demon37
The Blues take Bradley after losing McKernan and Allan. Gifted utility who plays his best footy up forward or in the ruck.
Geez I hope you are right !! He's the one we really want IMO.
From all reports don't get too happy, Tenace is signed and delivered to Carlton apparently. IMO Cooney, Tenace and Sylvia are far better players than Kepler.
Sylvia and Cooney are the standouts for me
wooshta_9
18 Oct 2003, 11:54
At the moment my top 20 picks would be:
2. Carlton - Kane Tenace
3. Melbourne - Colin Sylvia
4- Bulldogs - Kepler Bradley
5. Melbourne - Farren Ray
7. Geelong - Fergus Watts
9. Kangaroos - Andrew Walker
10. Fremantle - Brock McLean
11. West Coast - Callum Burges
12. Fremantle - Jacob Surjan
13. Essendon - Troy Chaplin
14. Adelaide - Tim Schmidt
15. Pt Adelaide - Ricky Dyson
16. Sydney - David Mundy
17. Collingwood - Brent Hall
18. Brisbane - Matthew Moody
19. Fremantle - Matthew Spencer
20. West Coast - Michael Pettigrew
--------------------------------------------------------
Looks good for mine, would love to get Mclean at 10 i seen him in the TAC Cup GF and he was awesome in the wet a real goer in and unde te packs. i rekpon WCE will go for a tall forward with theri first of second pick. Tim Schmid to Adelaide could be a risk no doubt hes a great player i played a bit of under age against him and he was excellent. The problem is that he has been suffering from Osteitis Pubis. (that came him when i spoke to him about a month back)
theorangeapple
18 Oct 2003, 12:26
a little birdy told me today that the eagles expect sujan to go at 10 to the dockers and we are aiming to take a eastern states KPP - i suspect chaplin, gayfer even Mundy??? at 11. And we'll try and take a local at 20 - probly Burges or pettigrew, only if they are the best available tho.
But its so hard to predict.
Originally posted by theorangeapple
a little birdy told me today that the eagles expect sujan to go at 10 to the dockers and we are aiming to take a eastern states KPP - i suspect chaplin, gayfer even Mundy??? at 11. And we'll try and take a local at 20 - probly Burges or pettigrew, only if they are the best available tho.
But its so hard to predict.
I'd be interested in knowing where you heard that from TOA. I would have assumed Eagles would be looking at Moody rather than Surjan to suit team needs if both are available at that time.
Chaplin may not last that long, however if they are looking for a KPP i highly recommend Michael Johnson, i really like the look of this kid's game.
hands off surjan to essendon!
Originally posted by jivey
hands off surjan to essendon!
Well that means pick 6 jivey.........considerably higher than what myself and many people have though. What justifies this opinion may I ask?
Personally i dont think he will last to your next pick so fill us in
we wont get him at 6, and prob not 13. i was more hoping 28 :rolleyes:
not sure who essendon would get at 13 though
btw: who do you think essendon should get at 8 and 13?
theorangeapple
18 Oct 2003, 16:16
I'd be interested in knowing where you heard that from TOA. I would have assumed Eagles would be looking at Moody rather than Surjan to suit team needs if both are available at that time.
i was talking to tim gepp's son whom i went to skool the same yr as me (deff skool tho). But yeh he did say that they had little hope of Chaplin but after getting johnson last year at 24 after him expected to go top 10 - anything is possible.
Yeah sorry mate he wont last to 28, in the same instance I dont think he is a 6 either atm.
To be honest I'm more bedazzled now than I was before the trading period!!!! It's a very very even playing group so the top 20 is interchangeable to be honest.
funky_monk
18 Oct 2003, 16:18
Originally posted by dasler
Chaplin may not last that long, however if they are looking for a KPP i highly recommend Michael Johnson, i really like the look of this kid's game.
Moody appears to be over-rated by WA people. My understanding was that he was very dissappointing this year and has fallen dramatically in the eyes of many scouts. I'm thinking there are enough question marks for Moody to fall to the early/mid second round.
Has anyone got a link to a site with a run down of the prospects? Porthos, what happen to your site this year? Always good value.
Originally posted by theorangeapple
i was talking to tim gepp's son whom i went to skool the same yr as me (deff skool tho). But yeh he did say that they had little hope of Chaplin but after getting johnson last year at 24 after him expected to go top 10 - anything is possible.
Yeah fair enough then toa. thanks for that. Yeah Johnson was a suprise
Originally posted by funky_monk
Moody appears to be over-rated by WA people. My understanding was that he was very dissappointing this year and has fallen dramatically in the eyes of many scouts. I'm thinking there are enough question marks Moody to fall to the early/mid second round.
Has anyone got a link to a site with a run down of the prospects? Porthos, what happen to your site this year? Always good value.
FUnky i share your sentiments. However on the strength of last years performances Moody is still there with a chance. Have been bitterly disappointed with him this year. I would have liked to seen what he played like in a team that wasn't so dominant and being fed the ball constantly by the midfielders.
But yeah i do agree, I think he has had alot of unwanted pressure and may have been over-rated somewhat.
so dasler who do you think we would get for 6 and 13.
i predict 6. clarke and 13. mclean / ricky dyson (i have no idea who he is or where he plays but bomber fans like him)
Yeah you would be in the ballpark saying them jivey!
Demon37
18 Oct 2003, 16:32
How do people see Andrew Walker?
He is being talked about as a Top 5 pick, but IIRC he is eligible to play U/18 footy next year.
You'd think he'd be a certain number 1 pick in the 2004 Draft (if he was held back a year).
Come to think of it, I would be more than happy to get Walker at 5.
He is being talked about as a Top 5 pick, but IIRC he is eligible to play U/18 footy next year.
You'd think he'd be a certain number 1 pick in the 2004 Draft (if he was held back a year).
All I can think of is massively impressives draft camp results and a very good player.
dascman03
18 Oct 2003, 20:36
I would take a look at Chaplin for the Saints if he is still there at no. 8. Can someone tell me if he would be worth a number 8 pick. I am only going on what people think. He is supposed to be a tall KPP at either end. Please can someone shed some light??
Please don't take him at 5. I want him at 6;)
Demonheart
19 Oct 2003, 12:47
I'd be stoked if we ended up with Sylvia and Walker, absolutely stoked. Depends on what the blues does obviously, they do need some more young kpp's (hopefully). Tenance and Clarke are pretty good as well.
Banger35
19 Oct 2003, 19:23
Looking for a few opinions on a standout for the Gippsland Power, Andrew McQualter. Played only a handful of games due to School Committments and Caulfield Grammer. Got something like 37,38,41,42 possesions in the games he has played.
Admittedly lightly framed, but someone with that sort of ball winning ability, and good skills, has go to go this year dont they?
Originally posted by Banger35
Looking for a few opinions on a standout for the Gippsland Power, Andrew McQualter. Played only a handful of games due to School Committments and Caulfield Grammer. Got something like 37,38,41,42 possesions in the games he has played.
Admittedly lightly framed, but someone with that sort of ball winning ability, and good skills, has go to go this year dont they?
****ing Caulfield. If they didn't offer sports scholarships, which they agreed with all the other APS schools not to, not one would go there.
GOALden Hawk
20 Oct 2003, 00:04
Originally posted by Banger35
Had plenty of debates with people over this kid. I think he will go a lot lower than most people expect, last round pick or rookie list. He is great under pressure, good disposal and can find the footy.
However, he is very light and I'm not sure where he would play at AFL level. He wasn't even used onball by Vic Country, they played him loose in defence instead.
Wasn't invited to draft camp, and usually only 2-3 players who weren't get picked up in the first 50.
Banger35
20 Oct 2003, 02:16
Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
Had plenty of debates with people over this kid. I think he will go a lot lower than most people expect, last round pick or rookie list. He is great under pressure, good disposal and can find the footy.
However, he is very light and I'm not sure where he would play at AFL level. He wasn't even used onball by Vic Country, they played him loose in defence instead.
Wasn't invited to draft camp, and usually only 2-3 players who weren't get picked up in the first 50.
Thanks for that. His TAC stats are better than any player in the comp I would imagine for games played. Would be a shame to see such a naturally good footballer go un-drafted.
Agreed I dont think he is up to AFL level for a few years, only due to his physique. Then again they say our game is suited to all shapes and sizes, so hope he makes a go of it.
Outoftheblue
20 Oct 2003, 12:37
However, he is very light and I'm not sure where he would play at AFL level.
Back pocket? Providing a bit of run and good use of the ball. Could be used for the kick-ins.
Originally posted by GOALden Hawk
Agreed. I don't like McQualter.
Gippsland are a team that grossly over-use the ball (as are Bendigo for that matter), you really need to reduce their stats totals by a third or more to compensate for guys handballing backwards and forwards to each other.
McQualter had another year and I'd expect that he will be in the mix next year.
Banger35
20 Oct 2003, 16:12
Originally posted by Weaver
Agreed. I don't like McQualter.
Gippsland are a team that grossly over-use the ball (as are Bendigo for that matter), you really need to reduce their stats totals by a third or more to compensate for guys handballing backwards and forwards to each other.
McQualter had another year and I'd expect that he will be in the mix next year.
Thanks for that. I was formerly based in Gippsland and haven't actually seen them play this year. There was games though and McQualter would have 40 possies, 5-10 tackles and a couple of goals, and no other bloke would get above 22 touches.
God I hope if Essendon get Clarke he doesn't decide to throw a tantrum in a few years and **** off to the Saints. It's for that reason I doubt Sheedy will want him, we've been burned with the Shane Harvey and Marcus Pickett draftings, and I think that's enough of the Spastic Brother Rule quota for one club.
Originally posted by DonAce
God I hope if Essendon get Clarke he doesn't decide to throw a tantrum in a few years and **** off to the Saints. It's for that reason I doubt Sheedy will want him, we've been burned with the Shane Harvey and Marcus Pickett draftings, and I think that's enough of the Spastic Brother Rule quota for one club.
Third time lucky perhaps?
Still both of those other two were picked ahead of where they were expected to be picked. In Marcus Picketts' case he wasn't expected to be picked up at all. So if it's any consolation Clarke won't be picked ahead of where he's expected to, not sure that's all really relevant but there you go.
Bomber12
20 Oct 2003, 19:27
I can't say I know as much as an OldSchool or Weaver, but here is my final Phantom Draft for 2003.
(As I said, I don't know an awful lot, so I will only go to pick 10).
Picks himself. Explosive midfielder ready to step up straight away.
3. Melbourne - Kane Tenace
Super quick midfielder who has good skills, terrific endurance and is a natural ball winner. The Demons are delighted he is available at 3.
4- Bulldogs - Farren Ray
Apparantly the Bulldogs have committed to Ray. However, if Sylvia is still available at 4 then they may reconsider. Ray is a quick, skilful wingman from WA.
5. Melbourne - Colin Sylvia
A bargain at 5. Strong, inside midfielder who can go forward and kick goals.
Sheedy decides to take the gifted younger brother of Xavier. Freakish skills, Clarke and Cupido could be a lethal combination in the Bombers forward line.
7. Geelong - Andrew Walker
The Cats are pleased to get Walker at 7 after he was touted to go as high as 2. Athletic defender with good evasive skills and a strong leap.
Hard utility who may be able to play senior footy straight away. One I haven't seen play much, but he sounds like a good prospect.
9. Kangaroos - Fergus Watts
Strong marking CHF who has unlimited potential. After intending to use this pick on Rawlings, the Roos will be happy to pick up such a good prospect.
10. Fremantle - Matthew Moody
Fremantle go for a local at pick 10. Moody is a reliable forward who showed good form for WA in the U/18 Championships.
Thoughts please!
just wondering if you are goin to complete a full draft, we prettty much know the top 10 just, its the next 50 that are the most interesting
I won't be happy if we get Clarke. We've got enough outside players. We need another creative inside player to help out JJ when Hird retires in a couple of years.
One of the following would be nice: Sylvia, Ray, Tenance, McLean, Walker, Dunn.
If Clarke is still around at pick #13, then maybe. But not at pick #6 when we can get a very promising player who will fill a role.