View Full Version : Has Leppa lost his way
Maverick
17 Oct 2003, 23:20
In 2001 I rated Leppa extremely highly.
In some ways I actually rated him our most important player.....yes, even more so than Voss. I wasn't saying a better player, just a key CFB more important than an individual member of the fab 4.
However, I have been bitterly disappointed in Leppa the last 2 years.
Not sure if his drop of in form has been due to:
1) ageing player;
2) player slacking off slightely following contract signing;
3) other.
Was a bit of a joke him being all australian CHB this year....we all know Leppa had a shocker this year. Michael would have been a much more worthy recipient.
Someone at the club needs to give Leppa a good kick up the ass.
I think you are being a bit tuff Maverick. He was down a little on form this year but I think it was due more to injury than anything else.
Maverick
17 Oct 2003, 23:41
Was always going to tuff getting back to good form after the shoulder injury Troppo, but I'm concerned about his output over a couple of years now.
Also, used to be able to throw him forward with great effect...only seen it work once in recent years...that was against the Roos at Telstra Dome this year.
I as much as anyone hope he bounces back next year. However I fear he has lost the hunger slightly, and he has and will get found out if 5% off the job.
SpecialBruce
17 Oct 2003, 23:47
FF for Leppa when Lynch goes. Weller to play CHB. Weller needs to be promoted off the rookie list and played CHB. He played well down at CHB when he played games this year.
Maverick
17 Oct 2003, 23:54
The other player I was disappointed in this year was Brad Scott. I reckon he had shocking year.
Appears he is not mentally tuned in at times. Another one that needs a kick up the ass to get him back to his best.
Wow.
Are we ever spoilt.
At various stages of this year, just about every one of our players has been criticised and/or written off by our own supporters on this board and elsewhere.
Voss had only one leg, White, Mcrae and Ashcroft were past it, Caracella and Bradshaw were hacks, Black was "down" on his 2002 form, Lappin's disposals were shocking, Aker had lost his pace and goal-kicking form, Chris Scott was ill-tempered and undisciplined, Michael was too slow, Johnno zoned off too often, Lynch drpopped too many chest marks, Keating was injury prone and didn't do enough around the ground, McGrath and Shattock were never going to make it.
Just to round it all off, the coach was insane all year and now it has been determined that Brad Scott and Leppitsch both had shockers of seasons in 2003.!!!!
How the bloody hell did we ever win that Premiership Cup?
Originally posted by luthor
Wow.
Are we ever spoilt.
At various stages of this year, just about every one of our players has been criticised and/or written off by our own supporters on this board and elsewhere.
Voss had only one leg, White, Mcrae and Ashcroft were past it, Caracella and Bradshaw were hacks, Black was "down" on his 2002 form, Lappin's disposals were shocking, Aker had lost his pace and goal-kicking form, Chris Scott was ill-tempered and undisciplined, Michael was too slow, Johnno zoned off too often, Lynch drpopped too many chest marks, Keating was injury prone and didn't do enough around the ground, McGrath and Shattock were never going to make it.
Just to round it all off, the coach was insane all year and now it has been determined that Brad Scott and Leppitsch both had shockers of seasons in 2003.!!!!
How the bloody hell did we ever win that Premiership Cup?
Hey luthor can you imagine what this team can do if all of the above mentioned hacks can actually play the game.
:D :D :D :D :D
Originally posted by irel
Hey luthor can you imagine what this team can do if all of the above mentioned hacks can actually play the game.
:D :D :D :D :D
That's right.
Thinking back, just about the only players in our side who didn't come under intense scutiny at one stage or another were Brown, Charman, Power, Pike and maybe Copeland.
On this basis, these guys can feel rightlly agrieved that they could have played in an even greater Premiership side...........if only it wasn't for those other dopey fools that kept buggering it up for them.
Mr Ripper
18 Oct 2003, 19:33
Much of the above were warranted criticisms, Luthors, AT THE TIME.
Great for us that we managed to get it all together at the right time. Doesn't mean everything's been all hunky dory all season, though.
SpecialBruce
18 Oct 2003, 19:57
Originally posted by luthor
That's right.
Thinking back, just about the only players in our side who didn't come under intense scutiny at one stage or another were Brown, Charman, Power, Pike and maybe Copeland.
On this basis, these guys can feel rightlly agrieved that they could have played in an even greater Premiership side...........if only it wasn't for those other dopey fools that kept buggering it up for them.
Hadley and Weller also.
konstas_87
19 Oct 2003, 20:14
Originally posted by Maverick
Was a bit of a joke him being all australian CHB this year....we all know Leppa had a shocker this year. Michael would have been a much more worthy recipient.
Michael is a full back, likes to know where everything is in relation to goals.
BrisGirl
21 Oct 2003, 11:27
Originally posted by Mr Ripper
Doesn't mean everything's been all hunky dory all season, though.
What, 3 Premierships in a row not good enough for you?
I wouldn't be surprised if you secretly wish for their failure so you can sprout sanctimonious 'I told you so's'.
So what if it hasn't been pretty football and not to your liking, but 3 Premierships in 3 years, who cares how they got there, they have come home proud every time.
For over 3 years now, you have been the soothsayer of doom and gloom, and predicting failure. It is time to admit you have been wrong, and in anyones book, 3 years is a long time to be wrong.
Instead of sitting on the edge of the seat looking for small errors and minor flaws, try sitting back and actually enjoying their overwhelming and amazing achievements?
These boys are not done yet, so why not try a new tact, and actually try say encouraging and supporting things, as 2004 may prove to be yet another ride that you might miss out on because you are too busy telling us how bad things are.
NathanD
21 Oct 2003, 11:45
Welcome back BrisGirl.
I'm not about to defend Mr Ripper, but if we just went along swimmingly, without questioning anything, it'd be a pretty dull place.
The Lions have set extremely high standards by playing extraordinary footy when it all comes together. Knowing what they can achieve, it's disappointing when it doesn't happen as well as we know it can. Eg close losses to the Saints, Freo, Port and the flogging by WCE.
Of course we've got to wonder about what might've been if everyone had played to their potential on those occasions.
The Lions got it all together at the times it counted this year, but by crikey it didn't look like we'd get past the 2nd week of the finals for a good while there. And that, surely, is something we can all talk about and feel free to express our wide range of opinions upon?
OldLion
21 Oct 2003, 12:19
The old Plan B - Leppa goes forward - didn't work this year in the games I saw - North, Saints - as he tried to win the game off his own boot with a massive speccie or a solo running goal. He didn't play with enough discipline or planning.
I'm a huge fan of his - he's got the lot and could ( and often has )do anything but his forward play needs more work rather than a 'hit-and-hope' approach. He could be as good as Rocca as a marking forward and an outside 50 goal - but hey, he's a fantastic backline player if a little loose( credit Matthews with his inspired 1999 move to FB ) and when he's up and running, the team gets on a massive roll.
I reckon his future is up forward ( post Lynch ) but he may just contine to be the All Australian CHB for a few more years. And he has had his share of injuries that must take their toll.
Yes I agree we should seek answers when there are deficiencies and suggest resolutions, however now we have the luxury of hindsight and I would like to enjoy our success, wallow and glory in our achievements and look forward to next season knowing that our list is in tact and the next generation of Lions are beginning to emerge.
Season 2004 can't come soon enough, because players such as Brennan, Hadley, Weller, McLaren maybe even Sellwood and Corrie will be emerging to maintain and improve on our already exalted achievements.
It is a rare player that can go through a season at full performance capacity. All of us in life have our ups and downs. The important fact with us is that even when we are not at our best we get results and as long as we finish in the top four we have proven that we can win the premiership.
Some of our established players may not have had their best year. Yet we still managed to be champions. I can only glean satisfaction from this fact, because if all of them manage to have a consistent year I can imagine the type of year we will have. I want next year to confirm without any doubts our greatness and our right to be called the greatest of all time.
I often do not agree with the decisions the club makes but ultimately the score is there for us to see. Until such time I ill take my place with the rest of the LION PRIDE.
BrisGirl
21 Oct 2003, 14:39
Originally posted by irel
It is a rare player that can go through a season at full performance capacity. All of us in life have our ups and downs.
...and this is the beauty of playing a 'team' sport.
Not every player, or even one, is going to be 'on' all year long. Consistant, yes, but starring in superman fashion, it doesn't happen and you can not ask it.
When one player is down, to your delight, you find someone new to the fold with the likes of Ash McGrath kicking 6 goals and having a blinder and you get excited all over again, because he came through the ranks and he fought for his position and he has given you the sense of pride that he is one of ours, by right, and not bought.
That is the beauty of our game, there are 22 men on the side to help you over the line, limping if you have to.
As I said, and agree, it wasn't pretty football this year, but in the end, who cares, all of those boys, together, as a team, limped over the line and come home with the goods.
I am extremely proud of them and their achievements due to the hard year that they had.
2004 is a brand new year and has nothing to do with past achievements. There are plenty of new boys wanting their chance in the sun, and they are the ones that keep everyone else in focus.
BrisGirl
21 Oct 2003, 14:42
Originally posted by NathanD
Welcome back BrisGirl.
Thank you NathanD
Mr Ripper
21 Oct 2003, 16:02
Originally posted by BrisGirl
I wouldn't be surprised if you secretly wish for their failure so you can sprout sanctimonious 'I told you so's'.
Blah, blah, blah...
I'm as positive on here about things as I am negative. It's called balance. You and one or two of your associates just love zeroing in on and highlighting the "bad" things I might post.
Would you like everyone posting the sort of gushing drivel you contribute on a regular basis?
Join the real world.
OldLion
21 Oct 2003, 16:30
..gushing drivel you contribute on a regular basis.. Nice.
Mr Ripper
21 Oct 2003, 16:41
You should have seen what I wanted to post.
Lady Lawrence
21 Oct 2003, 17:32
Ok enough - it stops here. We all have different and conflicting viewpoints and opinions. Please keep it to that, no more personal attacks please from anyone.
If someone wants to "gush" or conversely if someone wants to state that all has not been "hunk dory" that is their right.
State your reasons why you think or feel that way, feel free to question why someone does or doesn't match your way of thinking and agree to disagree if need be. A bit of lively debate and discussion is what a forum is all about.
Thank you.
Jonathan B. Brown
22 Oct 2003, 01:00
So what if it hasn't been pretty football and not to your liking, but 3 Premierships in 3 years, who cares how they got there, they have come home proud every time.
For over 3 years now, you have been the soothsayer of doom and gloom, and predicting failure. It is time to admit you have been wrong, and in anyones book, 3 years is a long time to be wrong.
Instead of sitting on the edge of the seat looking for small errors and minor flaws, try sitting back and actually enjoying their overwhelming and amazing achievements?
These boys are not done yet, so why not try a new tact, and actually try say encouraging and supporting things, as 2004 may prove to be yet another ride that you might miss out on because you are too busy telling us how bad things are. When the writer in question degenerates their answers, I see it as a win.
It is a little tantrum, shown for all to see or as I name them 'board bullies'.
Take a note of who is rude and juvenile, and you will find it is the same ones, over and over again.
It is a part of this board, but only a small part of the board.
BrisGirl
22 Oct 2003, 08:32
Originally posted by Jonathan B. Brown
When the writer in question degenerates their answers, I see it as a win.
It is a little tantrum, shown for all to see or as I name them 'board bullies'.
Take a note of who is rude and juvenile, and you will find it is the same ones, over and over again.
It is a part of this board, but only a small part of the board.
I am flattered, as I see you recognise my work, enough to quote it and I can sort of see where you are coming from but for future reference, Jonathan B. Brown, seeing that you are new to the board, after a couple of posts, you will know where I am coming from and the reason behind the post.(plus, can you guess who I named 'board bullies' after)
After 3 years, especially after this season, and because it was hard going for the boys, I just thought the boys deserved words of support and to show some pride at their achievement, because the negative and destructive words that are used when discussing the boys performance 'during' a season are not required after they have actually come home with the Cup.
The need to write destructive words during the season by some, that is a given, but we won and I just thought I would remind some that it is a time to celebrate and dredging up old failures that happened in 2003 is irrelevant
keatings_gal
22 Oct 2003, 11:54
im sure that if Ripper was negative @ any stage that there have been many others who had done everyything but totally write us off on this board during the middle part of the season which was really upsetting for me & im sure the majority of the board to read
hey did u guys see that we got a new board member?
check out the lions site for all the info
Lady Lawrence
22 Oct 2003, 13:45
Originally posted by keatings_gal
hey did u guys see that we got a new board member?
check out the lions site for all the info
David Liddy is a real gentleman. I have met him on many many occassions through my work and he is a truly passionate supporter and this can only mean good things for the members and the club.
BrisGirl
22 Oct 2003, 14:44
im sure that if Ripper was negative @ any stage that there have been many others but totally write us off on this board during the middle part of the season which was really upsetting for me
Geez M, I am sorry.
You are a sweetie, and you know my reaction and departure was not directed at you and certainly was never intended to upset you, of all people.
Negative posts are part of open discussions, but it loses its appeal when posts turns into personal name calling, then into abusive posts..... hence my departure at that time.
keatings_gal
22 Oct 2003, 17:13
thats cool that hes a good bloke then hey LL.... & im sure he will do a good job for the club after reading the blurb about it.... & its great that he is also a great fan of the club & knows the footy which is not somthing you find in board members as much these days i dont think.. (well compared to before) being the big business men that alot of them are....
no Brisgirl.. its all good....
i just cant wait til we have the draft & pre-season starts so we can have something interesting to talk about & perhaps all of this may die down a bit....
BRING ON 2004!!
Lady Lawrence
22 Oct 2003, 17:21
thats cool that hes a good bloke then hey LL.... & im sure he will do a good job for the club after reading the blurb about it.... & its great that he is also a great fan of the club & knows the footy which is not somthing you find in board members as much these days i dont think.. (well compared to before) being the big business men that alot of them are....
Yup passionate Lions supporter so should be good when combining his business acumen. Let's hope those with voices vote and keep him on the board.
i just cant wait til we have the draft & pre-season starts so we can have something interesting to talk about & perhaps all of this may die down a bit....
BRING ON 2004!!
NOOOOOOOOOOOO!!!! Loving the off season - although I feel this way every year at this time, really enjoying my weekends with no footy commitments is just awesome, the thought of every weekend being footy almost brings me a shudder. (steps aside and puts on flame suit!!)
Then come February/March excitement bubbles up and its all for one and one for all again!!
Very very p'd off at the draw again. I used to go to Melbourne every Easter and have a complete footy fest with the Thursday night at the G, Friday to explore Victoria and then Saturday Sunday and Monday - 6 games in all. Now the buggers have the Lions at home again on the Thursday night!!
Now where was that Whitsunday's brochure from this year!!
keatings_gal
22 Oct 2003, 17:32
hehehhe
yeah having a bit of time off... escpecially now @ the height of my uni work due & exams to be done....
heheh whitsundays..... just thank the AFL we arent melbourne with that many sunday games which is known to be a bad gate taking time... poor things....
yeah planning a trip down for next year already... kinda hoping to see grammy in action next year so that would be very cool....
Maverick
22 Oct 2003, 21:14
The point's this....
Des Headland worked his butt off to get a gig in the seniors.
Regardless of whether your a regular player or not, all players should be working their butts off.
Leppa was outstanding in 2001, but now looks to be going through the motions. During games, at times he looks to be going at 85% effort. Not good enough. Brad Scott is another.
Yep...we've won 3 on the trot. Forget that. Cos u know why? Cos they are bloody hard to win. Fitzroy's last flag was in 1944 and the Bears never won one.
If we are to win the 2004 flag....we need everyone working their arses off.....including Leppa.
Lady Lawrence
23 Oct 2003, 10:32
Originally posted by Maverick
Leppa was outstanding in 2001, but now looks to be going through the motions. During games, at times he looks to be going at 85% effort. Not good enough. Brad Scott is another.
I have to agree that the orange roughie did on many ocassions look like he wanted to be anywhere but out there on the paddock. Couldn't step up to the captaincy when required and in fact even went backwards on those ocassions.
Perhaps with the wedding etc all out of the way he may be back on track next year! He bloody needs to be.
Mr Ripper
23 Oct 2003, 13:29
I will re-iterate for the last time, Brisgirl.
I have not made a habit of criticising the team in an unreasonable manner. However, if there's something that I believe deserves questioning, I'll question it. We were going pretty ordinary at various times of the year - only a fool would disagree - and I posted accordingly. However, we came good when it mattered and again I posted accordingly. Whe're's your problem?
How about posting some evidence of my outlandish negativity? You really only see what you want to see, don't you?
Thanks for coming out of your exile to bag me, by the way, but I suggest in future you read my post IN CONTEXT before deciding to have a go at the poster.
End of sermon, and I can only hope for a reasoned reply and no hiding behind any of this "board bully" mumbo jumbo.
Lady Lawrence
23 Oct 2003, 14:04
Can I please respectfully ask that this discussion continues off the board.
Thank you
rchowell
23 Oct 2003, 21:46
I think it's fairly obvious that Ripper is fairly accurate with his comments - there were times during the season where the Lions were really down, and some were saying out. At stages I thought they were going to struggle to make the top 4, and after the loss to Collingwood I thought they were waiting for the knockout punch, whether it was Adelaide or Sydney.
But BrisGirl is right as well, because nobody was ever able to deliver that knockout punch, and when everything was on the line the Lions showed a commitment to their team mates that I have never seen in any other team before. It is one thing to say that a team plays for their coach (and a lot of people say this about Paul Roos and his Sydney team), but it is another thing completely to say that a team plays for each other. And this Brisbane team does it, and does it superbly. As the saying goes, when the going gets tough, the tough get going.
Mr Ripper
24 Oct 2003, 11:43
Point taken. Not that I was expecting a reply.
BrisGirl
24 Oct 2003, 12:38
End of sermon, and I can only hope for a reasoned reply and no hiding behind any of this "board bully" mumbo jumbo.
Originally, when I left this board it was not because of your 'constructive' posts on the teams performance, and you know it.
I left because you and another poster started to personally abuse me.
I left because that act alone took all the joy out of posting on my own board.
'Constuctive' or even 'negative' comments are a given during a season. When bad games are experienced or poor Coaching moves are done, but I do not see the need to personally abuse fellow board members because their opinion differs from yours.
The 'board bully' mumbo jumbo, applies to the times that you have bullied me with personal attacks along with the added 'tag team' always ever present.
Just because I like to write positive and encouraging comments about the boys, doesn't give you the right to attack me - please see example below from this post alone:-
Mr Ripper
Would you like everyone posting the sort of gushing drivel you contribute on a regular basis?
Join the real world.
You have always found my type of posts offensive or as you so nicely put it 'gushing drivel'.
I have never called anyone cruel or demeaning names on any board just because I didn't like their type of writing.
Mr Ripper
31 Oct 2003, 21:33
When you post BS along the lines of...
For over 3 years now, you have been the soothsayer of doom and gloom, and predicting failure. What do you expect in return? A bouquet of flowers? Of course I'm going to fire back. :rolleyes: