Lynch?
Pike?
McRae?
Rookie Elevations:
Weller
Pratt?
Rookie delistings
??
I need help from the BRITS folk and other Reserves watchers with the rookies as I've never seen any of them play
SpecialBruce
18 Oct 2003, 15:44
Rookie delistings would be only Nick Raines.
MacDonald, Tandogac will probably both stay on the rookie list for another season.
Weller and Pratt most likely promotions. However, Pratt was injured for most of the year, so they might keep Pratt on for one more year and see what he is like and if he's any good, we then at the end of next year delist him or promote him. Which would give MacDonald a promotion if we left Pratt on.
So I'd go with these elevations.
Weller
MacDonald.
Gram and Ashcroft are gone as we know.
Delistings.
Morrison will be a definate delisting.
Wright is suspect. 2 years on the list, 0 games. Same position as what Hammond was in last year.
McLaren will stay on another year.
We could end up doing 3 rookie promotions instead of 2.
Mr Ripper
18 Oct 2003, 20:15
Originally posted by NathanD
I need help from the BRITS folk and other Reserves watchers with the rookies as I've never seen any of them play
Originally posted by SpecialBruce
Rookie delistings would be ...
I know you're desperate to join the BRITS, SB, but we haven't yet had the chance to discuss and either approve or disapprove your membership application. :p
As for the above players (and these are solely my opinions, I'm not privy to any inside goss on such matters)...
Morrison - took his game up not one notch, but two or three in 2003 but didn't get the opportunities to prove himself at senior level. Would have came in during Browny's injury sabbatical, but for an untimely broken wrist which allowed Weller to slip in ahead of him. I'd hang on to him for insurance alone. Don't believe he's a personal favourite of the coach, however, and this could lead to his downfall.
Lynch and Pike - I'd be surprised if either didn't saddle up again next year.
McRae - Could be waiting until pre-season before making any decisions. Still value on the field, but really struggled to 'get up' physically for matches. Got by for much of the second half of the season thanks to mid-week epidurals, and he never recovered properly from that pre-season wrist injury. If the body's still not right within the next few weeks, I'd expect Fly to make some sort of announcement.
Pratt - was the most impressive of all our rookies, IMO. Looks a ready-made senior player. Apparently a dodgy attitude was his problem during his stint at the Kangas, but I haven't detected anything wrong in this department over the past twelve months. Big chance for promotion.
Weller - Great trier, genuine workhorse, fantastic attitude and a top young fella. Unfortunately he's a trifle on the slow side (leg speed-wise, I mean). Would be promoted if it came down to effort alone, but his lack of pace could crucify his chances. No better than 50/50 to be retained, even on the rookie list.
Raines - Nice player, but didn't do enough to be retained.
MacDonald & Tandogac - Both did enough to be retained, with MacDonald a reasonable chance to be bumped up to the senior list.
Wright - Played from round one on under duress with back related hamstring and groin problems. Never really able to get going. As SB mentioned, he could find himself under pressure to keep his spot a'la Luke Hammond last year. I'd like to see him play on with the Lions - injury free; I reckon he's a very clever operator out on the footy field.
McLaren - A fantastic clubman. A ball of enthusiasm around the place. Would be walking the tight-rope. Depends on how many players the club feels like drafting as to whether Dylan gets another chance. He's never going to be a star, but then, ruckmen-cum-key position players don't exactly grow on trees.
SpecialBruce
18 Oct 2003, 20:24
Originally posted by Mr Ripper
I know you're desperate to join the BRITS, SB, but we haven't yet had the chance to discuss and either approve or disapprove your membership application. :p
I take it that's a joke? No offence, but I don't think so.
Mr Ripper
18 Oct 2003, 20:30
You were all over us at the Grand Final. Something about wanting a 'source' within the club wasn't it?
Mr Ripper
18 Oct 2003, 20:39
Deserves another chance. Great second half of the year after a bit of a knee-scrape mid-season.
What do you reckon, Nino?
keatings_gal
18 Oct 2003, 22:43
i reckon that Kev had a pretty damn good season.. only player to play them all....
joel was great after a slow start to the year... like the last 6-10 weeks of the season were just magic....
nugget was much the same... definately turned it up after that surgery during the year... no doubting his wanting to play the game.. he would want to be no where else but on the field.. unfortunately sometimes it just cant happen...hope he does get another run but i just reckon that the others may have had a bit more game time than him... well thats all bar nick..... he didnt play much @ all.....which was a shame coz hes a good smart lil player...
pratt... well what can i say... yeah great size & good attitude i rekcon.... so maybe he has changed since his kangas days.....would have loved to have seen him play the whole year coz he was very good in the 1st half... just a shame he had the same injury that Nuxy got & that he missed such a long stint....always kinda thought that Jared was better than Anthony in what i saw of their games for NT.... jsut totally different types of players.. will be looking for a big season next year from anthony.. would love to see him played on the wing by super coach coz i rekcon hes magic on the wing... same with pratty... with the injury.. it unfortunately was just a shame it shook his season so much after playing early & then injuring himself....& then getting better(extra time than 1st expected off the paddock coz of the Weller promotion to the seniors) & then comng back to play.....