View Full Version : 2012 SEQAFL Division 3 Thread

Pages : [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10

RoaringUniLions
11 Jan 2012, 21:25
One of the most talkative threads in the Queensland division!

Formally Division 2 is now SEQAFL Division 3.

Last year was fairly marred with incidents, injuries, trash talk, brawls. Other than that, there were some fun times aswell (Calamvale boys on the piss is quite a laugh!)

So let the madness begin.....

Toucan Soup
12 Jan 2012, 12:38
Because of the change of name for the Division, let's start things off by listing the clubs involved so that others have a better idea of who is involved.

In SEQAFL Division 3, we have:

Beenleigh
Caboolture
Calamvale
Coomera
Griffith Moorooka
Ipswich
Logan
Nambour
Redcliffe
University of Qld

Observer23
8 Feb 2012, 11:35
Great to see new thread underway.

Just like to put to bed a nasty little bit of heresay on the old thread,
Ipswich Eagles are up and about, and looking forward to the 2012 season. Have really good numbers on track, a really keen coaching crew on board and have some handy pick ups to come in, along with a number of younger guys developing pretty nicely.

Last year was, after a good start very disappointing for the club, with a really big list of injuries, mostly long term, combined with lack of depth being a big problem.

Believe that the committee and coaching staff have worked pretty hard to address issues, and a lot more competitive Eagles will be around in 2012

RoaringUniLions
8 Feb 2012, 11:38

Ipswich Eagles are up and about, and looking forward to the 2012 season. Have really good numbers on track, a really keen coaching crew on board and have some handy pick ups to come in, along with a number of younger guys developing pretty nicely.

Last year was, after a good start very disappointing for the club, with a really big list of injuries, mostly long term, combined with lack of depth being a big problem.

Believe that the committee and coaching staff have worked pretty hard to address issues, and a lot more competitive Eagles will be around in 2012

Good the hear the Eagles still up and about mate.

Might put up the Round 1 matches shortly.

Ben the Bomber
8 Feb 2012, 11:44
Could Logan be in a bit of Strife With Dyl Whitney Going, going, Goooonnnnnneeee.

RoaringUniLions
8 Feb 2012, 12:09
Could Logan be in a bit of Strife With Dyl Whitney Going, going, Goooonnnnnneeee.

Bit of a story there I take it?

Morro
8 Feb 2012, 12:45

Good to hear, I dont think anyone was intending to be nasty, just we hear nothing about them usually and its been even quieter this off season.

They are always a real unknown.

Observer23
8 Feb 2012, 13:48
Cheers Morro, may have been a bit tongue in cheek!

We like to keep it quite down here, club going through a bit of a culture shift, blokes working bloody hard on track, really seems to be a bit of steel in group.
Recruiting is going well, some suprises I think with some pick ups and the walk ins. Really just cant wait til footy starts!

Mighty Leopards
8 Feb 2012, 19:17
So does anyone know how that Calamvale full forward goes?? No no let's not go there again!!! Just had to....

Good to hear everyone is keen to go!! I certainly am and the season is coming quick!!

We have a double header at Moorooka on the 3rd which is a great idea... Watch the game before us then we are on...

watto7
8 Feb 2012, 21:25
So does anyone know how that Calamvale full forward goes?? No no let's not go there again!!! Just had to....

Good to hear everyone is keen to go!! I certainly am and the season is coming quick!!

We have a double header at Moorooka on the 3rd which is a great idea... Watch the game before us then we are on...

If people just accepted the fact he was the best forward in the comp last year we wouldnt have to!

Any chance of a slot in under the name of Dash on August 4th (Round 18)? I will be back to watch Tigers v Lions @ Gabba

Mighty Leopards
9 Feb 2012, 07:42
Sounds perfect Watto, we have Nambour so you can tag the Poss, if he will still be at Nambour.....

PIES11
9 Feb 2012, 08:56
My predictions. This is based on what I have heard. I know rumours are rife at this time of year but this is what a came up with. A bit outrageous, but I do expect some changes this year.

Ipswich
Coomera
Caboolture
Nambour
Beenleigh
Clamvale
Logan
Redcliffe
UQ
Griffth Moorooka

RoaringUniLions
9 Feb 2012, 09:39
2nd last is a bit harsh for UQ considering how the core of our 3rds and 4ths have been really putting some hard work in order to close the gap between the big clubs of Div 3. I seriously believe that this year our 3rds and 4ths can give Division 3 a bit of a shock.

Here is just hoping the ugly incidents that marred our season don't return. With any luck I might be able to jump down from assisting with the 1st and 2nds to come down and see a few games in Division 3. If not, will try catch up with a few of you throughout the year elsewhere.

PIES11
9 Feb 2012, 10:47
Caloundra have lost around 20 players from last year, only small numbers at training, lots of players moving away for work. and did speak to the league about dropping down a div and where told it's either div 2 or go back to div 4 with one team. This would make a huge difference to this league if Caloundra came back. Watch out Nambour!!!

RoaringUniLions
9 Feb 2012, 10:55
That is disappointing to hear that Caloundra have fallen on hard times. Hopefully they can stay in the league.

Mind you, I remember the Swans dropping down to the one team division 3 and won the flag against UQ before getting the numbers back to field 2 teams. That stated, I would love to see the Panthers remain a Division 2 side. Looking forward to Round 1 and watching 2 good tough games of footy

PIES11
9 Feb 2012, 10:59
That is disappointing to hear that Caloundra have fallen on hard times. Hopefully they can stay in the league.

Mind you, I remember the Swans dropping down to the one team division 3 and won the flag against UQ before getting the numbers back to field 2 teams. That stated, I would love to see the Panthers remain a Division 2 side. Looking forward to Round 1 and watching 2 good tough games of footy

It is very disappointing. It seems to make sense having Mdore/noosa in div1, caloundra in div 2 and nambour div 3. I think all coast teams will suffer a little due to lack of work and a heap of blokes choosing to go to the mines!!!

RoaringUniLions
9 Feb 2012, 11:11
One of my mates and I were actually discussing this earlier in the year. He reckons its actually not just a coast thing but very well could be a competition wide thing with many younger but key blokes needing to move away for work. Just goes to show how everything suffers in poor economic climates.

Whatever happens, I think my boys are still expecting a tough battle come March 24th. Always very tough matches in the battle of the cats.

goalkicker11
9 Feb 2012, 11:39
One of my mates and I were actually discussing this earlier in the year. He reckons its actually not just a coast thing but very well could be a competition wide thing with many younger but key blokes needing to move away for work. Just goes to show how everything suffers in poor economic climates.

Whatever happens, I think my boys are still expecting a tough battle come March 24th. Always very tough matches in the battle of the cats.

Caloundra won't be playing in div 2 this year, as the club has made a decision. It's look like a div 4 team on the coast.

RoaringUniLions
9 Feb 2012, 11:41
Caloundra won't be playing in div 2 this year, as the club has made a decision. It's look like a div 4 team on the coast.

Holy crap! Confirmed today?

PIES11
9 Feb 2012, 11:58

That is massive, Caloundra have been such a strong club the past 4-5 years. I have heard maroochy are getting 50-60 at training , nambour average about 30-40 and we are looking okay at caboolture averaging 20-30. I also have been reading that noosa have lost a few as well. Maybe it could be the yer of the brisbane sides in div 1,2 and 3??

goalkicker11
9 Feb 2012, 14:32
That is massive, Caloundra have been such a strong club the past 4-5 years. I have heard maroochy are getting 50-60 at training , nambour average about 30-40 and we are looking okay at caboolture averaging 20-30. I also have been reading that noosa have lost a few as well. Maybe it could be the yer of the brisbane sides in div 1,2 and 3??

Yes I just left a meeting and caloundra will look at fielding a team in div 4 this year, and look to move back up when the club has the numbers. the people that are running the club are doing whats best for the club. we don't have the numbers to field 2 teams is the one and only reason for us dropping out of div 2.

PIES11
9 Feb 2012, 15:44
Yes I just left a meeting and caloundra will look at fielding a team in div 4 this year, and look to move back up when the club has the numbers. the people that are running the club are doing whats best for the club. we don't have the numbers to field 2 teams is the one and only reason for us dropping out of div 2.

Not good news. Oh well we wish u all the best and hopefully u move up to div 2 or 3 in the near future. Where will young players from your club now head to play senior football? Maroochydore?
Is Barry O'brien still at the helm down there??

smy1305
9 Feb 2012, 18:43
M'dore are very up and about at the moment and good on them - lots of pain last year held together by good spirit and maybe the fact that quite a few old boys rallied together to lend a hand too. Not sure how Caloundra go in this area? Would be great for the Roos if the better Caloundra players moved up to the Roos if nothing else to improve depth and a stronger 2's side.
Reckon Nambour will collect a few as well with a similar sort of standard. The Coast has had a big exodus of blokes to mines or alternatively just moving back to their southern home town as the "dream" hasn't paid off by working and living in paradise :)
I know Noosa is also struggling with finding work for blokes - its a coast thing for sure IMO.

watto7
9 Feb 2012, 20:11
My predictions. This is based on what I have heard. I know rumours are rife at this time of year but this is what a came up with. A bit outrageous, but I do expect some changes this year.

Ipswich
Coomera
Caboolture
Nambour
Beenleigh
Clamvale
Logan
Redcliffe
UQ
Griffth Moorooka

Pies, what is this? These huge calls need some explanations...Ipswich & Logans positions.

Nambour wont drop out of top 2. I have been in contact with the ''source from up north'' and he says all is well.

smy1305
9 Feb 2012, 21:20
Esp with Caloundra folding Watto - there already was a couple of ex Panthers at the Blues so assume there might be a few more heading over.

watto7
10 Feb 2012, 16:49
Esp with Caloundra folding Watto - there already was a couple of ex Panthers at the Blues so assume there might be a few more heading over.

God only help the rest of the teams in the comp when Nambour pick up some of these blokes from Caloundra. Perhaps 3 flags for the coast this year...Noosa, Nambour, Caloundra?

smy1305
10 Feb 2012, 21:46
Yeah it will be a pretty strong side you would think. Maybe they will get asked to move up to Div 2? I'm sure they would relish the challenge. Very well run club from what I know, won't make decisions based on egoes.

s364376
11 Feb 2012, 14:53
God only help the rest of the teams in the comp when Nambour pick up some of these blokes from Caloundra. Perhaps 3 flags for the coast this year...Noosa, Nambour, Caloundra?

Maroochydore, Nambour, Maroochydore ;)

Neutral Observer
11 Feb 2012, 19:04
In regards to Caloundra - if anyone has seen and heard the caloundra Coach over the boundary line in the last few years you will not be surprised that they are struggling to attract players. This "Coach" has turned away more players and parents of potential players than he will ever know. He will never know because they turned up to watch their "new team" and got the full abuse at umpires, opposition players and even his own players. This is when they decided to seek another club. You reap what you sow and caloundra is now reaping the rewards of a poor Coach not as a result of the economy. Any committeee that accepted his tirades deserves what it gets - good riddance.

goalkicker11
11 Feb 2012, 20:38
In regards to Caloundra - if anyone has seen and heard the caloundra Coach over the boundary line in the last few years you will not be surprised that they are struggling to attract players. This "Coach" has turned away more players and parents of potential players than he will ever know. He will never know because they turned up to watch their "new team" and got the full abuse at umpires, opposition players and even his own players. This is when they decided to seek another club. You reap what you sow and caloundra is now reaping the rewards of a poor Coach not as a result of the economy. Any committeee that accepted his tirades deserves what it gets - good riddance.
Caloundra have had 4 coaches in the last 4 years so are you talking about all of them. Look forward to your reply.

watto7
11 Feb 2012, 22:25
Maroochydore, Nambour, Maroochydore ;)

The Oracle has spoken!

s364376
12 Feb 2012, 13:02
The Oracle has spoken!

mate, you could get odds of about 1000-1 on that happening. 900-1 on that is maroochydore in the PHC.

PIES11
12 Feb 2012, 13:40
Caloundra have had 4 coaches in the last 4 years so are you talking about all of them. Look forward to your reply.

I only know 1 and that is Barry O'brien. He is a top bloke and has been around for years at numerous clubs. Mayne, Coolangatta, grange and caloundra to name a few. He has a wealth of football knowledge and from what i have seen is a great man to have around the club!! Im sure anyone who has played with him will back me up on this one. If bazza is on this forum all the best mate and I wish the Panthers every success in years to come.

Megaman123
12 Feb 2012, 19:53
I only know 1 and that is Barry O'brien. He is a top bloke and has been around for years at numerous clubs. Mayne, Coolangatta, grange and caloundra to name a few. He has a wealth of football knowledge and from what i have seen is a great man to have around the club!! Im sure anyone who has played with him will back me up on this one. If bazza is on this forum all the best mate and I wish the Panthers every success in years to come.

Barry and Goalkicker11 have never been seen in the same room together, if you know what I mean...

goalkicker11
12 Feb 2012, 20:34
Barry and Goalkicker11 have never been seen in the same room together, if you know what I mean...

Barry has been seen typing on my profile.

goalkicker11
12 Feb 2012, 20:39

At least someone likes me out there, the panthers will be fine, might be a tough year but if we can keep the club moving forward we will be ok.

Megaman123
12 Feb 2012, 20:49
At least someone likes me out there, the panthers will be fine, might be a tough year but if we can keep the club moving forward we will be ok.

All the best goalkicker, no one ever wants to see a club go downhill. And a year is a long time in footy, things can turn around pretty quick!

RoaringUniLions
12 Feb 2012, 20:53

I'm with Megaman with this. I think you'd find a lot more support for the Panthers. No one wants to see a sudden drop like the Panthers have just done. Here is hoping the Panthers can return soon. :):thumbsu:

Tiger G
13 Feb 2012, 17:40
All the best goalkicker, no one ever wants to see a club go downhill. And a year is a long time in footy, things can turn around pretty quick!Yep Thats how I felt about Mayne many years ago after being so successful.:(:(

smy1305
13 Feb 2012, 22:05
Lot easier for a club to go backwards fast than go forward - and generally noone sees it coming from my experience until it is all too late. (and more often than not, the reasons for it are disguised and lessons are only learnt years later).

Buffaloridge
14 Feb 2012, 18:28
hearing great things out of the chook pen this year good numbers on the track. also heared they wanted to play more games at the uni ground (not sure if this was just the players view or the committes).
if what i have been told is true they will not be at the bottom of the greasy pile this year

Buffaloridge
14 Feb 2012, 18:36
like the fact that we have a week of around the 9th of june as i should be a dad by then. not a bad draw by the looks of it for most of the teams. round 8 at tansey park one not to be missed

watto7
14 Feb 2012, 19:53
AFL Dream Team anyone ?

League code 935850

Titeleash
15 Feb 2012, 18:51
G'day

Was after some info. I have just moved up from Melbourne and keen to have a kick. Im out for a mobth or so with a medial tho. Will probably be living in the nundah/Windsor area. Any clubs around that area?

Cheers

Buffaloridge
16 Feb 2012, 15:50
G'day

Was after some info. I have just moved up from Melbourne and keen to have a kick. Im out for a mobth or so with a medial tho. Will probably be living in the nundah/Windsor area. Any clubs around that area?

Cheers
Well u have kedron. They have droped down to diva 4 as. They can opus field 1 side or aspley who have 4 sides 2 in diva one and 2 in div 2. Having played at aspley eod say go there facilities second to none. And good bunch of blokes. Just watch out for the house of sin . You'll never leave the same person.

Mighty Leopards
17 Feb 2012, 08:54
TMo, what has happened to your second praccy match against Nambour??

Morro
19 Feb 2012, 18:22
TMo, what has happened to your second praccy match against Nambour??

Mate I have relinquished all responsibilities this year so couldn't tell you. Didn't even know Praccy match schedules were released :eek:

Rhino81
22 Feb 2012, 19:42
Well u have kedron. They have droped down to diva 4 as. They can opus field 1 side or aspley who have 4 sides 2 in diva one and 2 in div 2. Having played at aspley eod say go there facilities second to none. And good bunch of blokes. Just watch out for the house of sin . You'll never leave the same person.

Buffaloridge, I having difficulty trying to make sense of your post, however if you were trying to say that Kedron have dropped down to Div 4, then that is completely incorrect.

I can assure you Kedron still remain in SEQAFL Division 2 (formerly State Association Division 1).

Dug the dog
22 Feb 2012, 20:57
Interested on anyone's thoughts on who might be the big improvers this year? IMO and going on what I've heard & read I would pick Coomera. They had a solid season last year, sounds like they could go top two this year

Up North
23 Feb 2012, 07:11
Buffaloridge, I having difficulty trying to make sense of your post, however if you were trying to say that Kedron have dropped down to Div 4, then that is completely incorrect.

I can assure you Kedron still remain in SEQAFL Division 2 (formerly State Association Division 1).

I think he may have gotten Kedron & Caloundra confused, Rhino.

Morro
23 Feb 2012, 09:27

Cheers for that Rhino, I was pretty suprised when I heard they were dropping back also. Some great blokes at Kedron and would be a shame to see such a big fall from grace.

Morro
23 Feb 2012, 09:39
Interested on anyone's thoughts on who might be the big improvers this year? IMO and going on what I've heard & read I would pick Coomera. They had a solid season last year, sounds like they could go top two this year

I have also heard Coomera will go up another peg this season, they weren't far off the pace last year, so one would expect them to give it a good shake.

It appears nambour will widen the gap though which is a bit scary for the comp :eek:

The Buffs have some handy blokes that have joined us in the last month which should see us provide a similar competitive outfit to last year, but with a younger squad which is great for our future. 2 of them will suprise the hell out of this division and I am backing one of them already to win the league medal as I believe he is the best player our div will have seen in my time.

Rumours are still running rife that Logan have very few on the track still, really hope this is crap though for the sake of the comp, would be a shame to see them go backwards after such big steps forward last year.

Everyone else is pretty quiet, maybe they are looking for suprise attacks on the comp, or maybe they just have nothing to report, fortunately we dont have to wait too much longer.

P.s Have been told by 2 different club officials that Nambour have accepted the offer to move to Div 1, but this morning was told by a pretty reliable source that they declined. Can anyone confirm or deny if there has been any movement on this topic? Personally I think with the addiiton of some Caloundra players as reported, they would definately play finals in Div 2 and give that comp a fair shake aswell. Would be an amazing escalation of a club in a very short period of time.

RoaringUniLions
23 Feb 2012, 10:08
Cheers for that Rhino, I was pretty suprised when I heard they were dropping back also. Some great blokes at Kedron and would be a shame to see such a big fall from grace.

Here here!

Good to see Kedron staying in the comp. :)

goalkicker11
23 Feb 2012, 10:54
I have also heard Coomera will go up another peg this season, they weren't far off the pace last year, so one would expect them to give it a good shake.

It appears nambour will widen the gap though which is a bit scary for the comp :eek:

The Buffs have some handy blokes that have joined us in the last month which should see us provide a similar competitive outfit to last year, but with a younger squad which is great for our future. 2 of them will suprise the hell out of this division and I am backing one of them already to win the league medal as I believe he is the best player our div will have seen in my time.

Rumours are still running rife that Logan have very few on the track still, really hope this is crap though for the sake of the comp, would be a shame to see them go backwards after such big steps forward last year.

Everyone else is pretty quiet, maybe they are looking for suprise attacks on the comp, or maybe they just have nothing to report, fortunately we dont have to wait too much longer.

P.s Have been told by 2 different club officials that Nambour have accepted the offer to move to Div 1, but this morning was told by a pretty reliable source that they declined. Can anyone confirm or deny if there has been any movement on this topic? Personally I think with the addiiton of some Caloundra players as reported, they would definately play finals in Div 2 and give that comp a fair shake aswell. Would be an amazing escalation of a club in a very short period of time.

No caloundra players are heading to nambour that I know of.

Neutral Observer
23 Feb 2012, 15:00
No caloundra players are heading to nambour that I know of.
I have it on good authority that Nambour never seriously considered moving up. They are a smart club and I am told they will never consider the next division until they are also strong in the reserves. Being the Neutral Observor I tend to move around some clubs - the good word is that Redcliffe are the real deal and are really setting themselves for a crack at Nambour in their up comming practice match to determine where they actually sit, should be a beauty - for a practice match. A past Ipswich Coach has also advised that they have an influx of RAAF players from Amberley and are looking to give the finals a real shake - good luck to them I say. Bring it on..... the footy that is.

smy1305
23 Feb 2012, 19:27

Why do you say this Morro?

Dug the dog
23 Feb 2012, 23:17
Looking to rebuild down at the chook pen, good numbers on the track, everyone has put in a very solid pre-season. Have got some handy new additions to the club and are fitting in well. It's a mostly young group looking to build for the future. Will most likely be a mixed season for us, no bold predictions for the chooks this year but shouldn't be looking all the way up the ladder by seasons end, it's a case of watch this space. One word to describe the Roosters this year, United

np_#1
24 Feb 2012, 07:00
Where's all the Logan muppets ? This page is by far to friendly ! Wish someone would consider stiring the pot a little !

s364376
24 Feb 2012, 08:04

strange thing to say, they won't have the benefit of poaching half of maroochydores reserves this year, and from what I am hearing a few nambour boys are talking about heading back to Maroochydore.

Morro
24 Feb 2012, 08:37

Smy my good mate, buddy old pal :D

Mate I just heard that they had retained most of their squad from last year and had picked up a few more. Certainly wasnt passing it off as fact, just based on rumours and most rumours that come out about them arent usually covered in shit like most other teams.

More than happy to be wrong, seriously hope I am actually

Cru_Jones
24 Feb 2012, 10:04
First time Big Footy user, long time viewer of this division of footy.

Some interesting posts here and all is set for a good season of footy. Hard not to tip Nambour to go back to back in the seniors. Coomera sound like they are only going to get stronger as well as Redcliffe. A little birdy has told me that several of Beenleigh's key players have decided to show their wares in the Pineapple Cup and could mean that the once competitive Buffaloes may not be so this year. Anyone involved with them will no doubt quash these rumours...

Heard that Ipswich may have picked up a few air force recruits and should be alot more competitive than last season. Logan are apparently keeping a low profile this pre-season and are keeping quiet about their prospects. Be hard not to imagine that they will still be pretty strong after making the granny last year. Suppose only time will tell.

Griffith Moorooka are continuing with their youth policy and one would think they should improve this year and for the years to come. Any news on how Caboolture are travelling?

Bring on the 24th March

smy1305
24 Feb 2012, 10:06
As long as you don't think there are a number that will play for the Lions next year we are all sweet!:D

No thats fine, thought you may have heard some more news. They certainly thought long and hard about moving up to Div 1 but as someone else said on here (might have been you?) the concern with lack of depth in the 2's went against them.

Out of interest, those who know better, would they have competed highly with last years side in Div above? What is the jump in standard like? Is there a jump?

Morro
24 Feb 2012, 10:19
As long as you don't think there are a number that will play for the Lions next year we are all sweet!:D

No thats fine, thought you may have heard some more news. They certainly thought long and hard about moving up to Div 1 but as someone else said on here (might have been you?) the concern with lack of depth in the 2's went against them.

Out of interest, those who know better, would they have competed highly with last years side in Div above? What is the jump in standard like? Is there a jump?

Using Robina as a reference point, who were highly competitive and lost many games by under a kick or 2 in their first year back in Div 1, I can confidently say that Nambours best 22 or so woould have made finals last year in the div up. Their ressies however would have really struggled. The main difference in my opinion in the div up, is 2 fold. The good sides run deeper in quality and generally their top end talent would have it over our div. Our top 5 last year would all have won some games.

Morro
24 Feb 2012, 10:35
First time Big Footy user, long time viewer of this division of footy.

Some interesting posts here and all is set for a good season of footy. Hard not to tip Nambour to go back to back in the seniors. Coomera sound like they are only going to get stronger as well as Redcliffe. A little birdy has told me that several of Beenleigh's key players have decided to show their wares in the Pineapple Cup and could mean that the once competitive Buffaloes may not be so this year. Anyone involved with them will no doubt quash these rumours...

Heard that Ipswich may have picked up a few air force recruits and should be alot more competitive than last season. Logan are apparently keeping a low profile this pre-season and are keeping quiet about their prospects. Be hard not to imagine that they will still be pretty strong after making the granny last year. Suppose only time will tell.

Griffith Moorooka are continuing with their youth policy and one would think they should improve this year and for the years to come. Any news on how Caboolture are travelling?

Bring on the 24th March

We have lost 4 very good players mate, 1 to fishing(WTF), 2 to Surfers who apparently are really impressing and 1 to Springwood. Certainly hurts thats for sure, but cant hold it against them.
On a positive note, we have more than covered those losses with 4 extremely handy additions. We will still be very competitive this season, of that I have no doubt. I would probably say we will be on par with last year but with more youth, which is great for the club. As recently as last night we had another 2 very good players come back to the club aswell. Both early 20's.
Our ressies dont appear to have the depth of last year but have retained most of our core players which should see us remain quite competitive again.

frazer
24 Feb 2012, 10:49
Our ressies dont appear to have the depth of last year but have retained most of our core players which should see us remain quite competitive again.

Any word on you guys fielding a thirds team this year Morro?

King 05
24 Feb 2012, 11:25

Based on the draft draw I saw yesterday for Div 4 Central, I'm going to guess it's not happening.

Morro
24 Feb 2012, 11:42

No can do mate. Our 3rds last year consisted mostly of older blokes who have hang up the boots. We simply dont have the numbers this year. Shame really but seems we are not alone in the not enough players category.

frazer
24 Feb 2012, 12:03
No can do mate. Our 3rds last year consisted mostly of older blokes who have hang up the boots. We simply dont have the numbers this year. Shame really but seems we are not alone in the not enough players category.

A shame, the buffs thirds played at a similar level to our Yeronga Thirds and generally played the game in good spirits. Not many actual thirds teams around these days.

cats35
24 Feb 2012, 15:21
Redcliffe have had an influx of several players but have also lost some experience. I know they are keen to have a run against Nambour to see where they are at. I think the 2's my struggle this year with the Ruckman gone interstate and Frusher and Ricky Bob not sighted so far. Whereas last year The Buffs had more depth i think some others may be a better chance to take the title.

Megaman123
24 Feb 2012, 16:22
We have lost 4 very good players mate, 1 to fishing(WTF), 2 to Surfers who apparently are really impressing and 1 to Springwood. Certainly hurts thats for sure, but cant hold it against them.
On a positive note, we have more than covered those losses with 4 extremely handy additions. We will still be very competitive this season, of that I have no doubt. I would probably say we will be on par with last year but with more youth, which is great for the club. As recently as last night we had another 2 very good players come back to the club aswell. Both early 20's.

Which player left to Surfers and Springwood? Fishing is a new one!

assjar
24 Feb 2012, 16:48
nambours team will be extremely different to last years with many people moving away for work ect... in saying that for the first time in a whilst our 18's have great numbers to training. overall wont know the makeup of our team till a couple of games in, no different to last year really.
also we only have one person going back to mdore, to play thirds with all of his mates.

this rain does suck tho, last week we trainined on our ground and it was the best it has been in 3 years, who know with all this rain how it will pull up :(.
looking forward to redcliff next week!

smy1305
24 Feb 2012, 21:53
Using Robina as a reference point, who were highly competitive and lost many games by under a kick or 2 in their first year back in Div 1, I can confidently say that Nambours best 22 or so woould have made finals last year in the div up. Their ressies however would have really struggled. The main difference in my opinion in the div up, is 2 fold. The good sides run deeper in quality and generally their top end talent would have it over our div. Our top 5 last year would all have won some games.

Yeah good points - invariably too in divisions above there is less "soft" games where certain players can be rested / nursed thru matches. less blow outs and in turn tend to be more injuries hence rely on 2's blokes more.
Sounds like Nambour recognised their lack of depth and wisely stayed put.

Assjar - interesting that you guys and Maroochydore are flushed with 18's this year - 2 clubs that really have made an effort to get them off the ground and support this age group and recognise the importance of the connection bn juniors and senior footy. Roos have over 40 boys signed up currently!

s364376
26 Feb 2012, 15:04
nambours team will be extremely different to last years with many people moving away for work ect... in saying that for the first time in a whilst our 18's have great numbers to training. overall wont know the makeup of our team till a couple of games in, no different to last year really.
also we only have one person going back to mdore, to play thirds with all of his mates.

this rain does suck tho, last week we trainined on our ground and it was the best it has been in 3 years, who know with all this rain how it will pull up :(.
looking forward to redcliff next week!

and it was your coaches brother!

http://www.sunshinecoastdaily.com.au/story/2012/02/26/focus-on-juniors-has-roos-leaping-ahead/

"We had quite an exodus of playing talent last year, but they weren't necessarily people we wanted at the club.
"We've now got people coming to us saying they've heard what we're doing and they are keen to be a part of it. A football club should be about more than just putting a team on the field each week."

Hope the Nambour boys that left Maroochydore last year don't read that, not sure it is directed at them.

smy1305
26 Feb 2012, 16:07
Yeah read that too today S36.... First thought was "ouch"!!
Hopefully he wasn't taken out of context (the local rag has been known to do this occasionally...) but agree that reckon ALL the blokes that went to Nambour wouldn't fit into this category as none were at the Roos playing for $$ anyway in 2010.

assjar
26 Feb 2012, 17:49
the slime can say what they want, im happy with all the mdore players that came over. we didnt get any ********s.

RoaringUniLions
26 Feb 2012, 20:28
Geez, I'm used to the pre-season hate being directed between Beenleigh and Logan. This year it seems to be between Nambour and Maroochydore :S

One week to go before practice games. Can't believe the off-season has almost come to an end. Although I personally am committed to UQ 1st and 2nds in Division 2 this year, I hope to follow and even come down to a couple Division 3 games. Failing that, perhaps a few beers at the pub post-game :)

smy1305
26 Feb 2012, 20:45
the slime can say what they want, im happy with all the mdore players that came over. we didnt get any ********s.

Yep - pretty sure thats what S36.. and myself just said didn't we mate???:confused: Think you might find that the pres was talking about blokes that left bc they weren't going to be paid $300/game or the like...

All the same probably didn't need to be said in a newspaper. BTW Roaring Lion, the relationship bn Nambour and Maroochy is pretty good - the Nambour coach is at Fishermans Rd every week in any case!!

RoaringUniLions
26 Feb 2012, 20:50
Ahhh that is good to hear! My apologize for suggesting otherwise. Tis always good to see good relationships between the clubs off field :)

watto7
27 Feb 2012, 18:34
Ahhh that is good to hear! My apologize for suggesting otherwise. Tis always good to see good relationships between the clubs off field :)

Get back on your fence, fence sitter! :D

cats35
28 Feb 2012, 16:13
I see a particular full forward who is mentioned here a fair bit has a clearance pending as of today. Will be a massive loss and a massive gain to his new club.

s364376
28 Feb 2012, 19:28
andrew clancey from nambour going to PBC? big loss for the blues. Not sure if "bradshaw" matty peters is going around again, said he is retiring. Not sure there is any caloundra players to add to Nambour, I heard the reason they have no players is because all of them moved away for work, and whoever is left wants to stick it out with Caloundra (should be more of those sorts of people).

Think you will find Nambour might be brought back to the pack a fair bit this year, depending on who other clubs have managed to recruit.

RoaringUniLions
28 Feb 2012, 20:37
Get back on your fence, fence sitter! :D

I shall name a goal post pad in your honour, oh wise Watto :D

Neutral Observer
29 Feb 2012, 17:49
Can anyone tell me where all the practice games are this weekend? I am happy to give an unbiased report on Redcliffe v Nambour as I live on the north side of Brisbane, unless there is a potential better encounter.

RoaringUniLions
29 Feb 2012, 20:03
UQ VS Caboolture at the Caboolture Showgrounds

smy1305
29 Feb 2012, 21:40
For some reason thought the showgrounds had been taken over by the State Equestrian - is this for next year now?

Dug the dog
29 Feb 2012, 21:59
Two games at Moorooka. 12pm Roosters Vs Ipswich then at 2pm Logan Vs Calamvale

Gaz Obama
1 Mar 2012, 07:52
How come no clubs play practice matches for ressies? Is everyone struggling for numbers or are things done different in QLD? I cant understand why you would want to get as many blokes on the ground as possible?

Coomera vs Beenliegh this week. Should be interesting, not that you can take much out of pre season games.

Morro
1 Mar 2012, 12:22
How come no clubs play practice matches for ressies? Is everyone struggling for numbers or are things done different in QLD? I cant understand why you would want to get as many blokes on the ground as possible?

Coomera vs Beenliegh this week. Should be interesting, not that you can take much out of pre season games.

AFLQ think the ressies only need 1 hit out prior to the season apparently :confused:

How are you guys looking for this weekend Gaz? Half our boys are going to that future festival or some crap.

In all honesty we wouldnt be able to field 2 full sides this weekend thats for sure.

Gaz Obama
1 Mar 2012, 14:45
AFLQ think the ressies only need 1 hit out prior to the season apparently :confused:

How are you guys looking for this weekend Gaz? Half our boys are going to that future festival or some crap.

In all honesty we wouldnt be able to field 2 full sides this weekend thats for sure.

Yeah we were going to play 6 1/4's (or 6/6's what ever) but AFLQ said we cant do that, **** knows why. So just seeing if you boys have the numbers tonight and make some plans tomorrow. Sounds like a few teams are having trouble this year which is not good to hear.

We are looking good at this stage, couple of changes to last years side only a couple from the seniors (one is cloughy, sure there will be a few sighs of relief from the opposition) but we have picked up some really handy players so think we should be a little stronger then last year. Been a long preseason so cant wait to get into it Saturday!

smy1305
1 Mar 2012, 19:03
Yeah we were going to play 6 1/4's (or 6/6's what ever) but AFLQ said we cant do that, **** knows why. So just seeing if you boys have the numbers tonight and make some plans tomorrow. Sounds like a few teams are having trouble this year which is not good to hear.

We are looking good at this stage, couple of changes to last years side only a couple from the seniors (one is cloughy, sure there will be a few sighs of relief from the opposition) but we have picked up some really handy players so think we should be a little stronger then last year. Been a long preseason so cant wait to get into it Saturday!

Maybe umpires??

Gaz Obama
1 Mar 2012, 21:30
Maybe umpires??

Yeah it's got a bit to do with it but there a few other factors such as these games have to be ran like a normal game so people can be reported etc, apparently they had some trouble in years gone by with some teams using practice matches to brush up on their boxing skills.

I think next year there needs to be ressies games booked or needs to be an extended bench to ensure everyone will get a run. Sure it will be raised at the presidents meeting next week.

AeroBoy
2 Mar 2012, 07:16
Yeah we were going to play 6 1/4's (or 6/6's what ever) but AFLQ said we cant do that, **** knows why.

The UQ v Caboolture practice game is going to be 6 quarters, so not sure where the inconsistency comes from.

Observer23
2 Mar 2012, 12:00
Yeah it's got a bit to do with it but there a few other factors such as these games have to be ran like a normal game so people can be reported etc, apparently they had some trouble in years gone by with some teams using practice matches to brush up on their boxing skills.

I think next year there needs to be ressies games booked or needs to be an extended bench to ensure everyone will get a run. Sure it will be raised at the presidents meeting next week.

Biggest problem with it from an Ipswich point of view is that we are scheduled to play at 12 noon at Moorooka. A lot of guys working in morning, or have families did not make it viable from what I'm lead to believe to push for a ressies game. To that end our Ressies play Yeronga on Thursday night, and the Seniors will play an extended bench against Calamvale, who can only field one team on the 10th.

Numbers look good at Ipswich with some handy walk ins and some good recruits coming on board over the last couple of weeks. A good solid core of guys on track each week and as season gets closer the regular faces are drifting in. Footy's back, can't wait for some fierce opinions on this site, and see how the other teams are travelling.

Gaz Obama
2 Mar 2012, 12:16
The UQ v Caboolture practice game is going to be 6 quarters, so not sure where the inconsistency comes from.

interesting, We are play the six now but they wont us to walk off the ground and come back on after the second quarter to show that its a new game and produce a new team sheet. I cant see that happening :) If both teams are happy to play that format and the umpire have no issue then I dont see why AFLQ need to get involved.

Morro
3 Mar 2012, 08:44
interesting, We are play the six now but they wont us to walk off the ground and come back on after the second quarter to show that its a new game and produce a new team sheet. I cant see that happening :) If both teams are happy to play that format and the umpire have no issue then I dont see why AFLQ need to get involved.

Talk about making things harder than they need to be haha

I'm sure between u guys and us we can work it out.

See u there and make sure to play nice now. :D

Neutral Observer
3 Mar 2012, 17:42
I ventured up to Redlciffe today to watch Tigers v Blues. It was a good game that did not rise to any great heights. The rain did not help skills. Final score was: Redcliffe 12-10-82 def Nambour 7-11-53.
Some neutral observations:
Redcliffe:
1 - Are fitter than last year and fitter than Nambour,
2 - Appeared to be near full strength with a good sprinkling of 18's,
3 - Were more disciplined than I have seen in the past,
4 - #57 looked like he had 57 hamburgers,
5 - #52 is a very unlikely looking footballer but can play
6 - Should push for a finals berth.

Nambour:
1 - Could not have had anymore than 8 of last years premiership side on the paddock, 10 at most,
2 - Were not fit, maybe resting on last years laurels,
3 - Could not hold a mark, maybe resting on last years laurels,
4 - Some exceptional young kids - #31, #6,
5 - Big blonde bloke in the middle is a machine,
6 - Cannot see going back to back - but will play finals.

Got to listen to both Coaches:

Redcliffe:
Good talker, lacks strategy, will get them pumped when it counts, too concerned with result for 1st practice match, assistant struggled. Not sure if coaching from last year,
Nambour:
Has a plan, not concerned with result, good talker, prepared to play everyone, assistant will be an asset if Coach plays?

Please don't bite my head off - just neutral observations.

The Neutral Observer.

cats35
3 Mar 2012, 19:28
Spot on there Neutral. Have done alot more running pre season than in the past where they concentrated on skills. Probably about 6 under 18's from last year with another 2 to come in. believe it or not #57 has lost a truck load of weight. Could barely run a lap last year without stopping. #52 played 18's at sandgate and goes ok. Needs to get fitter. Coach is the same as last year but all new assistants. I spoke to one of the Nambour guys who mentioned they have a few out. I think #6 may have been from Caloundra as he had their shorts on. From what i saw running the boundary #51 & #2 feed each other and do it well. #31 played under 16's last year.

Neutral Observer
4 Mar 2012, 08:54
Spot on there Neutral. Have done alot more running pre season than in the past where they concentrated on skills. Probably about 6 under 18's from last year with another 2 to come in. believe it or not #57 has lost a truck load of weight. Could barely run a lap last year without stopping. #52 played 18's at sandgate and goes ok. Needs to get fitter. Coach is the same as last year but all new assistants. I spoke to one of the Nambour guys who mentioned they have a few out. I think #6 may have been from Caloundra as he had their shorts on. From what i saw running the boundary #51 & #2 feed each other and do it well. #31 played under 16's last year.
Thanks Cats35 - I wasn't trying to offend #57, just stating the obvious. Atleast he is having a go and with clubs falling over left, right and centre we should not be turning anyone away from our game regardless of physical condition or playing ability - give them all a game to encourage them to stay with our great game.

footy2b
5 Mar 2012, 06:56
First time poster, cheers Neutral for your detailed game review of tigers v blues. Does anyone know how the other praccy games went?

Why would one focus or prioritise results in practice games? Isnt it a time to try out a few diff things, play players in diff positions and give young players a taste of senior footy?

Gaz Obama
5 Mar 2012, 09:03
Coomera v Beenleigh was a good day, played in good spirits. Credit to Beenleigh for playing out the 6 quarters even though they were/(are?) struggling for numbers.

Think Coomera won by 3-4 goals.

I cant give to many useful observations as I was lying on my back in the club rooms for half of it after pinching a nerve in my back in the first 5 min, old mans injury.....

From what I sore Beenleigh looks like they have picked up some talented kids, bit raw but have potential. The guy with all the tape on his head is a hothead (maybe due the the roll of sticky tape wound around his melon, whats going on there?) and I think he could be the key to picking up some easy free kicks through out the year. Morro's boots are still disgraceful and his head aint any prettier but he looked like there is still some run in the old fellas legs.

I dont really think there was much to take out of the day as Beenleigh were clearly not at full strength and Coomera played a mix of ressies and seniors in multiple positions just trying people out.

Morro can you confirm or deny that the buffs and Cob's are in talks about re merging? I heard it come from the mouth of your boys but not sure if they were just having a joke. They seemed pretty serious.