View Full Version : Bris Lions Est 1997 - Team Changes...
31 - yes THIRTY ONE players gone..........12 remain.
Unpacking in the new abode and the 1997 BL team block mount picture has gone up. Having a squiz through it (besides the fact they ALL look SOOOOOOOOOOOO YOUNG!) it was amazing to realize how many players have gone from that first ever Brisbane Lions team. Admittadly we had a larger list than other teams that year due to the merger, but still.............31 players gone from 7 complete seasons ago, and considering we had a list of what...35?...this year, it is an amazing number.
Then again.......12 remaining is a significant number too I think. But you then look at the 12, and the pride certainly swells....
The 12 remaining are:
Daniel Bradshaw
Shaun Hart
Chris Johnson
Clark Keating
Nigel Lappin
Justin Leppitsch
Alastair Lynch
Craig McRae
Tim Notting
Chris Scott
Michael Voss
Darryl White
The Orignal team (for those interested):
Jason Akermanis
Marcus Ashcroft
Scott Bamford
John Barker
Trent Bartlett
Andrew Bews
Brad Boyd
Daniel Bradshaw
Nick Carter
Richard Champion
Nathan Chapman
Matthew Clarke
Shane Clayton
Danny Dickfos
Adrian Fletcher
Andrew Gowers
Andrew Gowling
Brent Green
Shaun Hart
Simon Hawking
Rory Hilton
Chris Johnson
Clark Keating
Matthew Kennedy
Craig Lambert
Nigel Lappin
Steven Lawrence
Justin Leppitsch
Alastair Lynch
Tristan Lynch
Scott McIvor
Michael McLean
Craig McRae
Jarrod Molloy
Tim Notting
Ben Robbins
Chris Scott
Dion Scott
Nick Trask
Michael Voss
Brett Voss
Darryl White
Derek Wirth
SpecialBruce
19 Oct 2003, 18:44
I was looking at that the other day actually. Akermanis with Brown hair.
It's quite interesting really, there were more hacks in that team than what we've had in the last 3 - 5 years. I won't name them, people can figure them out.
At the end of next year, it will be down to 8 with White, Hart, McRae and Lynch (maybe) gone. So even more of a reason to win the flag next year.
Akermanis was in the 1997 "originals".
Shouldn't the number remaining be 13 then, including Aker?
Originally posted by luthor
Akermanis was in the 1997 "originals".
Shouldn't the number remaining be 13 then, including Aker?
OOPS!! MY Bad!! Better take more care when cutting and pasting from Excel!
Originally posted by Danni
OOPS!! MY Bad!! Better take more care when cutting and pasting from Excel!
That's OK mate.
If I had tried a cut and paste, I probably would have ended up with 3 players or 97 !!:(
..........anyway, the general idea of what you were saying was the main thing.
Just out of interest, does anyone know exactly what happenned to
1) Scott Bamford.
Seem to remember him being traded to another club (Geelong ?).
Pretty sure he got a game or two in 1999 with whatever the other club was, but apart from that it's all a bit of a blur.
2) Nick Carter - was he delisted or traded?
3) Andrew Gowling
Wasn't he the guy that was sent packing back to WA during 1998 for "disciplinary" reasons?
Seem to remember him being drafted by the Bears in 1996. I'm certain I read in the 1997 or 1998 yearbook that he was determined to put his "history" behind him and actually play some footy.
Obviously, he didn't.
4) Simon Hawking - no idea
Hope I'm not confusing him with Gowling. If so, my apologies to you Mr Gowling.
5) Nick Trask
I remember liking the look of Trask and being disappointed when they got rid of him. (1999?)
Thought he ended up at the Tigers but faded from the scene after a season or two???
6) Derek Wirth
Originally drafted from Southport?
Delisted in 2000?
If I got those both right, I'm happy but realy I have no idea what happened to him.
Anyway, if any of you have got more info on the abovementioned, I'd be glad to hear it.
Mr Ripper
19 Oct 2003, 22:24
Nick Carter's been playing and starring for Bendigo in the VFL; Derek Wirth is at Redlands in the AFLQ; Scotty Bamford has been playing for North Adelaide.
Dunno about Gowling's past, as hinted to by Luthors, but Troy Johnson was a Westralian dispatched back home for bouts of naughtiness. Not sure if that's who you're thinking of, Lexy.
Hilly72
20 Oct 2003, 22:08
Hawking went to Sydney didn't he, and then was picked up by Collingwood.... I could well be wrong.
OldLion
21 Oct 2003, 11:53
What a loss Brad Boyd was. If he had not been struck down, he'd be up there with our best and would have has 3 medals.
Brad Boyd, for me the saddest Brisbane Lion's story.
A champion player who battles on bravely completely against the odds with Fitzroy. Moves to Brisbane and finally gets the opportunity to play in a really good side. Plays his first game, is BOG, kicks 4 goals and has to be thinking that at last his time has come. Breaks down midweek and never plays again.
Originally posted by weevil
Brad Boyd, for me the saddest Brisbane Lion's story.
A champion player who battles on bravely completely against the odds with Fitzroy. Moves to Brisbane and finally gets the opportunity to play in a really good side. Plays his first game, is BOG, kicks 4 goals and has to be thinking that at last his time has come. Breaks down midweek and never plays again.
Wrong.
He broke down pre-Rd 9.
From memory, he managed the first 8 games in a row.
Still a great loss :(
I agree.
Boyd carried Fitzroy through it's death throes with great poise and dignity.
At the time of the merger, i thought it was going to be something really special to have a player of such character playing for the newly formed "Brisbane Lions"......both for him and for us as supporters.
Now excuse my ignorance, but does anyone know where he is these days?
From memory, he's back down here in Melbourne, looking after his business. That was the last I heard, anyway.
Lady Lawrence
21 Oct 2003, 23:17
Quite right Denno, he went back to Melbourne - used to be a regular on Sportscene here in Brisbane
Denno, please don’t let little things such as facts get in the way of a perfectly good story! :)
In hindsight perhaps I was blending Brad with a bit of Ross Lyon.
[sigh] And there is another one that got away...
Maverick
22 Oct 2003, 20:55
Nick Trask is playing for Sale in Country Victoria...kicking plenty of goals.
blackys_chick20
22 Oct 2003, 21:23
i miss boydo he used to me by all time fav...still is
aparently he wanted nothing more to do with the club after his retirement..........??? such a shame