BigFooty >
AFL Teams >
Essendon > Player Watch #28: Elliot Kavanagh - Producing excitement in the magoos | Misses out against GWS
View Full Version : Player Watch #28: Elliot Kavanagh - Producing excitement in the magoos | Misses out against GWS
www.afl.com.auhttp://mm.afl.com.au/portals/0/2011/draft/kavanagh-elliot-2011.jpg
http://resources2.news.com.au/images/2011/07/04/1226087/398482-elliot-kavanagh.jpg
Player statistics
Former club:Western Jets/Williamstown Juniors
DOB:19/05/1993
Height:185cm
Weight:75kg
Position:Midfielder
Player assessment
A member of the 14th intake into the AIS/AFL Academy. He has excellent endurance and game sense. He had an injury-interrupted year but finished the year in good fashion. He uses the ball well, is a strong mark overhead and a good decision maker. He is a real competitor and enjoys winning the contested ball.www.afl.com.au
Elliot Kavanagh 19/05/93 Western Jets
Missed the champ series through injury and has played a few games back for the Jets with pretty good results. Has a bit of pace and his skills are pretty good. He tackles well and is solid over head and his work rate into space is good as well. Has missed a lot of footy but is still in the frame to go in the top 25.
Herald Sun interview here (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/elliott-kavanagh-could-be-another-surprise-for-essendon/story-fnau1fjg-1226200566836)
Kav with a bang! (http://www.heraldsun.com.au/sport/afl/kav-back-with-a-bang/story-fn53klc6-1226087398601)
C6bExPh_eNQ
Ludwig van Bertstare
24 Nov 2011, 17:29
Welcome Elliot!
table tennis
24 Nov 2011, 17:30
Welcome elliot
Mumbo Jumbo
24 Nov 2011, 17:31
Rig wins.
Colin D'Cops
24 Nov 2011, 17:33
You beauty! God bless him
Keystone agony
24 Nov 2011, 17:34
Better than Shuey ;)
I swear someone on SEN went YESS when essendon read him out. Couldnt contain themselves.
Jobe Watson
Couldn't be happier. Top 10 talent when injury free.
fodzilla
Thanks Damir.
zaharaharakis
24 Nov 2011, 17:35
:thumbsu: booyeah!!!!
too bad the saints took ross:(
Wrong thread I know, but just a shame we missed out on Ross as well, but stoked with Elliot "Black" Kavanagh!
centurion
24 Nov 2011, 17:37
Oh no. Welcome mate.
Bombermania
24 Nov 2011, 17:38
The word injury makes me nervous :eek:
Loonerty
24 Nov 2011, 17:39
Welcome to Essendon Elliot!
Jobe Watson
24 Nov 2011, 17:42
The word injury makes me nervous :eek:
Well, he didn't slide this far for no reason (his father not included).
Remember, Heppell had OP a year ago and Selwood was a major injury concern...
mattyboy_666
24 Nov 2011, 17:48
Another PEGS boy! Welcome to EFC!
Keystone agony
24 Nov 2011, 17:54
Well, he didn't slide this far for no reason (his father not included).
Remember, Heppell had OP a year ago and Selwood was a major injury concern...
and Chris Judd ........ went 3 instead of 1
woot - wrapped we got him but....
pls no one say injury anymore I start thinkning of Gumby!
Starlin Castro
24 Nov 2011, 18:04
Very good pick, so pleased he slid to us.
Glinn Mgraw
24 Nov 2011, 18:16
Better than Shuey ;)
I swear someone on SEN went YESS when essendon read him out. Couldnt contain themselves.
Heard that too.
:thumbsu:
bombermick
24 Nov 2011, 18:25
I heard the YES as well. There's no better place to be if you're injury-prone :p
Good luck Elliott, hoping you stay fit and have a great career!
OP updated for your education.
Lord Nicholson
24 Nov 2011, 18:26
I'm calling him Q.C.
Strike Swiftly
24 Nov 2011, 18:37
Welcome to Essendon Elliot.
Better than Shuey ;)
Think it may have been Tom Petroro - Another one from his stable.
ZAAHAARAKIS!!!!!
24 Nov 2011, 19:01
Pardon my ignorance but what are the extent of his hamstring injuries? What other players have had similar problems?
fishardansin
24 Nov 2011, 19:04
Thanks Damir.
Is my role model. I've made my boys promise that if on the off chance they become AFL players and get drafted to any other team then Essendon they wont try. I'll be sure to remind anyone from another club who interviews them.
DarthAnnihl8or
24 Nov 2011, 19:38
One of my best mates is an Assistant to Fletch at PEGS.
HE told me 2 months ago we were after Kavanagh and that we would draft him. He also said not to worry about his hamstrings....
Howard Moon
24 Nov 2011, 19:47
Is my role model. I've made my boys promise that if on the off chance they become AFL players and get drafted to any other team then Essendon they wont try. I'll be sure to remind anyone from another club who interviews them.
my bomber mate at work has a couple of sons....the 6 year old came home one day and said he wanted to go for collingwood, he locked him out of the house (for about 25 mins) until he cried and said ok ok, i still go for essendon.
considered child abuse? maybe..but letting him go for collingwood is a worse form of abuse.
Howard Moon
24 Nov 2011, 19:49
Dr Reid strikes again.
if he comes out and does a 'heppell' the rumour mill will say that we cotton wooled him from the start of the year so he could only play a few games through the year to force the slide. We know our pegs boys afterall!
Prog Rocker
24 Nov 2011, 20:20
To quote Randy Marsh...."WE GOT HIM"
Jobe Watson
24 Nov 2011, 20:25
Back to back Rising Star winners.
I'm going early.
Lord Nicholson
24 Nov 2011, 20:29
Back to back Rising Star winners.
I'm going early.
Victorian Conspiracy!
Watson_my_mind
24 Nov 2011, 20:30
Elliot Kavanagh - The missing link for the Essendon Football club.
The return to greatness shall be swift!
Stoked we got Elliot Kavanagh!
bombermick
24 Nov 2011, 21:05
Glad to see we got 3 potential mids in this draft. Another couple of top-line mids and we'll be on our way.
I was shitting myself that North were going to pick him at 18!
Keystone agony
24 Nov 2011, 21:11
Ive already heard Joe Daniher is having knee problems.
(Clubs only nominate 2nd round picks for Daniher or higher first round picks)
*We trade our first rounder to GC for a guy called Caddy whos dad has further problems with his heart and he needs to come home but only to essendon (apparently closer to the hospital in essendon) ;)
We than say to other fans we have a midfield of big bodies Watson, Hocking and star talents Heppell, Zaka, Caddy, Kavanagh and Melksham (Merrett may go alright aswell).
:D happy days
I was hoping we would get him. I'd only seen 1 vid and read a bunch of draft profiles but I was happy for us to take the risk on him as the payoff is apparently pretty darn good.
I was a bit worried though, as a few journos in the last day or so, were starting to lean towards him going to norf so I was glad he got through in the end.
bombermick
24 Nov 2011, 21:19
As good as it would be to get Daniher with a second round pick - and getting us Caddy - I'd rather Joe smashed it next year, so he could attack 2013 with confidence. Another injury-plagued KPP is not good news.
bombermick
24 Nov 2011, 21:23
Essendon Constitution
Article 59: No player thenceforth may be drafted unless he has a 2000 GF poster on his wall and idolizes James Hird.
Bomber32
24 Nov 2011, 21:26
I'm ecstatic that we got Kavanagh. He's just what we need in the middle.
whats_at_stake
24 Nov 2011, 21:42
Good get- now just add Caddy and Goddard next year and 2013 premiership here we come.
OzBomber
24 Nov 2011, 21:47
Essendon Constitution
Article 59: No player thenceforth may be drafted unless he has a 2000 GF poster on his wall and idolizes James Hird.
We should've got Todd Elton then. :(
bombermick
24 Nov 2011, 21:59
I don't think we're going to cry over missing out on Elton. Kav needs a nickname - something better than Kav.
Superstoked to get Kav- in a compromised draft, to get someone of his talent is a huge win. Just need to hope those hammies don't pull him down and we're laughing.
Ben the Gooner
24 Nov 2011, 22:06
I haven't seen any of the draftees play so I think I'm well positioned to say suck shit everyone who passed on Kavanagh. The next Dick Reynolds etc
fishardansin
24 Nov 2011, 22:09
my bomber mate at work has a couple of sons....the 6 year old came home one day and said he wanted to go for collingwood, he locked him out of the house (for about 25 mins) until he cried and said ok ok, i still go for essendon.
considered child abuse? maybe..but letting him go for collingwood is a worse form of abuse.
Why is everyone quick to go with the child abuse label? That was parent abuse!!
My kids were considering Carlton for a while because my best mate from teenage years was offering them a motor bike to barrack for Carlton, typical!
I told them that they better find out if he'll look after them because they'll be living on the street if they do. After I calmed down a bit I told them that I'd never ever take them to the footy if they mention that again.
They learnt the lesson that just like your surname you don't choose your footy team!!
fishardansin
24 Nov 2011, 22:10
Good get- now just add Caddy and Goddard next year and 2013 premiership here we come.
No room for Goddard!!! Seriously though if we get Caddy we can have the three guys who've won the clean hands test. That would be a midfield that Bomber Thompson would love. They'd flip it around like Geelong circa 07-09.
Glinn Mgraw
24 Nov 2011, 22:25
I don't think we're going to cry over missing out on Elton. Kav needs a nickname - something better than Kav.
I'm calling him Q.C.
Use it.
EVERLAST
24 Nov 2011, 22:26
Watching the highlights of Kavanagh on the www.essendonfc.com.au, he has Montagna/Marc Murphy written all over him the way he grips the ball as he breaks from a contested situation and the way he begins to line the ball up for a kick.
If he stays injury free, Hird and co are VERY close to building a Carlton model for a midfield. This kid is going to link up very well with Heppell, Melksham and Zaka :thumbsu:
Very exciting....
bipolarbeaR
24 Nov 2011, 22:29
He looks like an athletic Dave Hughes.
OzBomber
24 Nov 2011, 23:27
Haha yeah I was just saying it because he's a mate from school. Happy for him to be drafted.
bombermick
24 Nov 2011, 23:47
Haha yeah I was just saying it because he's a mate from school. Happy for him to be drafted.
Good luck to him then, he's repotedely got talent, but he was very hot and cold this year. He'll get some games at the Saints.
stugots
25 Nov 2011, 05:35
wraps on him sound good, this Kavanagh fella likely to be ready for senior duty next year?
Humble Minion
25 Nov 2011, 05:51
Good luck to him then, he's repotedely got talent, but he was very hot and cold this year. He'll get some games at the Saints.
That would surprise me - given he was drafted by Richmond! ;)
smcateer
25 Nov 2011, 07:42
As good as it would be to get Daniher with a second round pick - and getting us Caddy - I'd rather Joe smashed it next year, so he could attack 2013 with confidence. Another injury-plagued KPP is not good news.
Essendon drafting someone with real injuries?
http://gifninja.com/animatedgifs/57774/yao.gif
**** that!
bombermick
25 Nov 2011, 11:08
That would surprise me - given he was drafted by Richmond! ;)
Oops I had him as a Saint because of the pre-draft conjecture :o
matty lloyd the champ
25 Nov 2011, 11:33
I keep seeing people associate attitude problems with Kavanagh, is this something to be slightly concerned about? Mind you, a lot of it has come from the mouths of Richmond and North fans which probably suggests sour grapes I reckon.
Edit: I know about the apparent interfering from his dad in an interview but apart from that, are there actually any concerns with Elliot himself?
SirJimi05
25 Nov 2011, 11:45
Can anybody elaborate on what actually happened with Elliott's father?
matty lloyd the champ
25 Nov 2011, 11:49
Can anybody elaborate on what actually happened with Elliott's father?
Apparently things got a bit heated between the recruiters and his dad in an interview. The club that Elliott's dad was unhappy about was North I think.
ZAAHAARAKIS!!!!!
25 Nov 2011, 12:02
elliott 'black' kavanagh.
make it happen
DawOfSuspension
25 Nov 2011, 12:03
Glad to see we got 3 potential mids in this draft. Another couple of top-line mids and we'll be on our way.
I was shitting myself that North were going to pick him at 18!
I suspect if McKenzie had been taken (especially with Ellis already gone) we would have.
But it looks like you guys (and Kavanagh Snr) got what you wanted and we got our first choice too.
Happy days.
Be good to see them both play Round 1. Guy who knows his stuff on the North board says this isn't out of the realms of possibility.
Anyone know if Kavanagh would be a chance?
DawOfSuspension
25 Nov 2011, 12:08
Apparently things got a bit heated between the recruiters and his dad in an interview. The club that Elliott's dad was unhappy about was North I think.
Kavanagh Snr complained about questions Brad Scott and Bryce Lewis asked in the interview. The AFL subsequently cleared North.
Then it came to light a number of other clubs had complained about Kavanagh Snr's behaviour.
Jobe Watson
25 Nov 2011, 12:18
Kavanagh will play Round 1 if he isn't injured, no doubt in my mind.
DawOfSuspension
25 Nov 2011, 12:26
Kavanagh will play Round 1 if he isn't injured, no doubt in my mind.
Has he got the size and fitness? Good judges on our board seemed to think he'd need a year in the 2s, or at least start there.
Hope he does play Rd1, keen to see the kid in action.
Jobe Watson
25 Nov 2011, 12:35
From what I've read he's got great endurance so no worries there. Probably doesn't have the bulk yet but he's got a whole summer to stack it on, and if he's going to play on a wing or something it isn't that big a deal.
Pretty confident if he has a decent NAB Cup campaign he'll play in our opening game.
helicopter
25 Nov 2011, 12:38
From what I've read he's got great endurance so no worries there. Probably doesn't have the bulk yet but he's got a whole summer to stack it on, and if he's going to play on a wing or something it isn't that big a deal.
Pretty confident if he has a decent NAB Cup campaign he'll play in our opening game.
Yeh hopefully dominates. He goes out with our family friends cousin. Might ask him at family christmas to try and get me some free shit.
I wonder if Norf supporters will try to claim victory again, like they did with Atley over Heppell this year. :o
BomberTime
25 Nov 2011, 12:50
Would think they will throw him in rd 1 for a taste, probably as a sub. The weapon has to work his magic on those hammies first.
Lance Uppercut
25 Nov 2011, 12:53
I wonder if Norf supporters will try to claim victory again, like they did with Atley over Heppell this year. :o
maybe one of us could be cool enough to go up to their recruiting manager in Round One and mouth "Elliot Kavanagh, Elliot Kavanagh" at him and watch him shrug helplessly? :o
BomberTime
25 Nov 2011, 13:01
maybe one of us could be cool enough to go up to their recruiting manager in Round One and mouth "Elliot Kavanagh, Elliot Kavanagh" at him and watch him shrug helplessly? :o
That's the worst thing I've seen on BF I think. Just plain embarrassing!:confused:
maybe one of us could be cool enough to go up to their recruiting manager in Round One and mouth "Elliot Kavanagh, Elliot Kavanagh" at him and watch him shrug helplessly? Shiiiit, that'd be a big bucket of win for us, hey bruv?
Lance Uppercut
25 Nov 2011, 13:02
That's the worst thing I've seen on BF I think. Just plain embarrassing!:confused:
yeah, wouldn't it be embarrassing if someone claimed to have done something exactly like that?
BomberTime
25 Nov 2011, 13:04
What a cool guy.
Lance Uppercut
25 Nov 2011, 13:09
What a cool guy.
exactly what a North supporter claimed he did to Dodoro about Atley. lulz :o
hahaha. genuine lolz from the past. Nice bump on possibly the lamest thing I have ever read on bigfooty.
No point beating our chests about recruiting Kavanagh.
The fact is that any good footy player who attends PEGS will come under the watchful eye of Ken Fletcher - Our additional member of the recruiting team.
DawOfSuspension
25 Nov 2011, 13:45
hahaha. genuine lolz from the past. Nice bump on possibly the lamest thing I have ever read on bigfooty.
It was lame, agreed. But equalled in lameness by Macca18's constant claiming about how you guys smashing us would be the best birthday present ever. Then cracking the sads in spectacular style.
I know you guys scoff at the notion of a rivalry between us (in the face of all the historical and current evidence) as is your role as the "BIG CLUB" but it must be said that clashes between us bring out the worst in both sides.
I reckon we should try and make the Saturday night Rd1 game at Etihad a regular thing. Just alternate making it each other's home game.
fishardansin
25 Nov 2011, 14:28
It was lame, agreed. But equalled in lameness by Macca18's constant claiming about how you guys smashing us would be the best birthday present ever. Then cracking the sads in spectacular style.
I know you guys scoff at the notion of a rivalry between us (in the face of all the historical and current evidence) as is your role as the "BIG CLUB" but it must be said that clashes between us bring out the worst in both sides.
I reckon we should try and make the Saturday night Rd1 game at Etihad a regular thing. Just alternate making it each other's home game.
He was a negative ninny all year about the bombers and their prospects. Too many Essendon supporters are stuck in the past when we could completely rebuild in 3 or 4 years.
DapperDon
25 Nov 2011, 14:42
We have Macca, You have King's Army.
I believe we lose out in the the obsessed opposition supporters;)
Whatever happened to Kings Army?
banned?
Has he reincarnated himself?
Shane Hird
25 Nov 2011, 16:35
Very happy with our selection.
Go hard Elliott.
Nickname could be 'Nessie' after Elliot Ness in 'The Untouchables'..
Lets hope he is untouchable on the field....like Heppell.
Lance Uppercut
25 Nov 2011, 16:46
banned?
bad pennies don't disappear.
Mufassa.
animal ritz
25 Nov 2011, 18:12
post #8
http://www.bigfooty.com/forum/showthread.php?t=838572&highlight=dodoro
Macca18
25 Nov 2011, 18:38
LOL. Wow, speaking of lameness... how about your complete obsession with ALL my posts and everything I say about other clubs not concerning Essendon? Now you've finally made your way to the Essendon board by the looks here... even more hilarious... first time I bother looking at Bigfooty in weeks after the draft and you're still on your little high horse... BAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.
Kavanagh and his father obviously know what they're talking about and have taste. Who the **** would wanted to be drafted to the basketcase that is North anyway? Clearly the writing is already on the wall and has been for a while, especially the hilarious announcement of the significant financial loss only 19 minutes before the AFL draft commenced in the hope it would be swept under the carpet... err, nope!
Round 1 will be fun. :)
The Dustbin
25 Nov 2011, 18:52
Welcome aboard Elliott, get around him. :heart:
Keystone agony
25 Nov 2011, 19:03
"Billy" Elliott (nickname)
Anyway i have been watching his highlights and i see a fair bit of Barlow in him, anyone else?
Lines up his kicks, even the one where he takes the footy and runs inside 50 moving his arms like so (similar to judd, but also barlow) and his quick hands and tall size and footy smarts, the way he moves.
Alright ive said enough.
centurion
25 Nov 2011, 20:19
banned?
lance is on the money.
Mumbo Jumbo
25 Nov 2011, 22:06
Yeah Nah....
http://t3.gstatic.com/images?q=tbn:ANd9GcTNnrtvkyOeYDhfpEfehXnqJ9suQFHle-0fUOtRIRRAuA9HpT3b
Skeeta Olly
26 Nov 2011, 10:05
What is the obsession with obscure nicknames?
Kav works.
j2kboiz
26 Nov 2011, 10:56
Black Caviar
Shane Hird
26 Nov 2011, 15:12
Once he's established as gun player they can make a song for him using the tune to Van Halen's 'Panama'..
"Kavanagh!, Kavanagh-ahh!"
w-NshzYK9y0
Hirdismyhero
26 Nov 2011, 16:06
Black Caviar
That's already Melksham's nickname inside the club, haha
j2kboiz
26 Nov 2011, 19:09
That's already Melksham's nickname inside the club, haha
Is it really? haha
Macca18
26 Nov 2011, 21:11
http://mm.afl.com.au/Portals/0/images/AFL/AFL%20K-O/elliotk246b.jpg
ELLIOTT Kavanagh has been to Windy Hill a fair few times before. Having just completed his VCE at the local Penleigh and Essendon Grammar School, Kavanagh occasionally popped in for casual kick of the footy, slotting goals from the player race or threading passes in front of the Allan Hird Stand.
He also spent a pre-season at Essendon through his AIS-AFL Academy scholarship, so has strolled up and back Napier Street many times and knows the area well.
Now, he is about to become infinitely more familiar with his Essendon surroundings.
The next time Kavanagh, 18, walks into Windy Hill will be a completely different story after the Bombers took the talented midfielder with pick No.19 in Thursday's NAB AFL Draft. It's a change he hasn't quite got his head around.
"It just hasn't sunk in yet," Kavanagh told AFL.com.au.
"It's just like I'll be going to the Essendon Football Club, which I've been to a lot before so the feeling hasn't really sunk in that I'm actually a player there now."
http://www.afl.com.au/news/newsarticle/tabid/208/newsid/126592/default.aspx
Shane Hird
27 Nov 2011, 09:18
So...was/is he an Essendon supporter?