View Full Version : Lochlan Veale...

Jimmy#5
20 Oct 2003, 20:45
Just wondering if you think the club have seen/heard something about him before and see him as a likely prospect for the future or whether he was just putting the finishing touches to an inventive trade?

As we all know he was taken by the hawks with pick #65 last year as a 17 year old 'project player' who will have most likely been picked up relatively early (around 2nd or 3rd round from what I've heard) this year as he was seen to be too raw, too young and a 'surprise packet' when drafted last year, hence the reason he spent the whole of the 2003 season in the Box Hill Magoos.

Basically what I am getting at is would Libba (Box Hill Hawks senior Coach) have had a word with some of the hierarchy at Whitten Oval regarding this kid and pointed them in the direction of Veale...

OR...

Was it just a way to get DJ from the Dons and Alvey plus pick 6 from us to the Bombers with a minimum of fuss???

I am hoping the former of the 2 options is relevant in this case and that he can have a successful, enjoyable and rewarding career with the Doggies... would hate for him to be seen as a waste and have supporters constantly bagging him for basically being given no choice in the matter (especially if we do not end up getting Rawlings to the Kennel).

In closing, I just wanna say this...

Welcome to the the kennel Lochlan!

:D :D :D :D :D

Tank
20 Oct 2003, 20:49
I read somewhere that even if we had traded our pick 6 for Rawlings, Veale would've been part of that deal. We were after him anyway.

And I echo your sentiments,

Ching
20 Oct 2003, 21:41
Would like to hear from Clayton about him.

jboyar
20 Oct 2003, 23:19
hope its not another Luke Trew scenario:confused:

Anja_Nees
20 Oct 2003, 23:27
Originally posted by Ching
Would like to hear from Clayton about him.

He probably needs to see him play first :D

GOALden Hawk
21 Oct 2003, 14:55
If he makes it as a regular senior player it will be 2007...at the earliest.

Sedat!
21 Oct 2003, 15:59
So GOAlden, you're saying he is a "project player" (recruiter speak for tall guy who can't play) :)

GOALden Hawk
21 Oct 2003, 16:28
Originally posted by Sedat!
So GOAlden, you're saying he is a "project player" (recruiter speak for tall guy who can't play) :)

Spot on! The definition of a project player. He is so raw his nickname should be Veale Tartare ;)

Sedat!
21 Oct 2003, 16:30
I can see the headline already "Raw Veale Needs Maturing"

GOALden Hawk
21 Oct 2003, 16:34
I'm just hoping our Veale Substitute is a good player.

footyman
28 Oct 2003, 21:28
Veale could be quite good when he beefs up.

I couldn't resist...sorry :D

stmookeyj
29 Oct 2003, 03:37
So he will be served as a parmagiana with chips.

Templeton31
29 Oct 2003, 08:50
you can bet Veale will be off the menu at Dimmas restaraunt now.

murphy2bedabest
29 Oct 2003, 16:32
Originally posted by Jimmy#5
Just wondering if you think the club have seen/heard something about him before and see him as a likely prospect for the future or whether he was just putting the finishing touches to an inventive trade?

As we all know he was taken by the hawks with pick #65 last year as a 17 year old 'project player' who will have most likely been picked up relatively early (around 2nd or 3rd round from what I've heard) this year as he was seen to be too raw, too young and a 'surprise packet' when drafted last year, hence the reason he spent the whole of the 2003 season in the Box Hill Magoos.

Basically what I am getting at is would Libba (Box Hill Hawks senior Coach) have had a word with some of the hierarchy at Whitten Oval regarding this kid and pointed them in the direction of Veale...

:D :D :D :D :D

clayton would have seen him play last year and b4 that and know how good he was. libba hmay have said a thing or two but not much can be taking from that.if he did it might help him with the asstaint coaching job:D :D :D

SonOfScray
29 Oct 2003, 17:57
I heard that despite his size, Veale is a really good crumber.

Ching
29 Oct 2003, 18:36
Originally posted by SonOfScray
Boom Boom
And butters up well!
Garlick and him would make a good team.

(We could go for days with this;) )

footyman
29 Oct 2003, 19:08
Originally posted by murphy2bedabest
clayton would have seen him play last year and b4 that and know how good he was. libba hmay have said a thing or two but not much can be taking from that.if he did it might help him with the asstaint coaching job:D :D :D My understanding was that no other club spoke with him last year except Hawthorn. But you are right Clayton might not have expected him to be taken and had him down as a top prospect to watch in the U18s this year.

OldSchool
29 Oct 2003, 19:12
Originally posted by footyman
My understanding was that no other club spoke with him last year except Hawthorn. But you are right Clayton might not have expected him to be taken and had him down as a top prospect to watch in the U18s this year. He was a good junior and was always regarded as a long term project. FWIW, Some projected him as a likely top 20 prospect this year but he was taken a season early

SonOfScray
29 Oct 2003, 19:20
(We could go for days with this )

:D I think I've just about run out of material lol I can't wait to meat him and all the other new players at Buldog Footy Show's Christmas edition.

NW2
29 Oct 2003, 19:41

Six points for that one SonOfScray - the best so far.:D

footyman
29 Oct 2003, 19:43
I can't wait to meat him
Very clever!!!!

I hope the poor bloke doesn't read this stuff :D

Ching
29 Oct 2003, 20:02
Originally posted by footyman
Very clever!!!!

I hope the poor bloke doesn't read this stuff :D
He has probably herd it all before.

SonOfScray
29 Oct 2003, 20:12
If he stacks on the weight and gets on the angry pills I am sure that opposition players will mooove out of his way!

superstar
29 Oct 2003, 20:18
He has probably herd it all before.

another ripper!

Pepi
29 Oct 2003, 20:23
i hope he lines up on chris lamb next year

SonOfScray
29 Oct 2003, 20:25
hahaha. He will probably miss the Melbourne game due to a calf strain.

Pepi
29 Oct 2003, 22:15
hahaha. He will probably miss the Melbourne game due to a calf strain.

hahahaha...classic stuff!

Pepi
29 Oct 2003, 23:03
Someone told me hes a bit of a chop of a player

Sedat!
30 Oct 2003, 07:43
Pepi, I think he was picked up by the Dogs to give our undersized defence a bit of a chop-out. Mind you, Hawk fans don't think he's much chop...

Let's hope he doesn't play on Wulf next year. Wulf will eat him alive.

stefoid
30 Oct 2003, 09:10
Originally posted by Pepi
Someone told me hes a bit of a chop of a player

I heard he was total meathead

Sedat!
30 Oct 2003, 09:14
As a potential back-up ruckman, at centre bounces he is a good "parma" of the ball (they just get worse).

essnickess
30 Oct 2003, 09:22
his football life will be short lived and won't have a chance to mature.

SonOfScray
30 Oct 2003, 09:32
haha! These are deteriorating very quickly.

stefoid
30 Oct 2003, 10:04
I agree - stop roasting veale! If he's a tender sort, he could get really cut up :(

Sedat!
30 Oct 2003, 10:10
Poor old Veale has been given a good old-fashioned bake on this thread. The grilling he has received has been uncalled for.

SonOfScray
30 Oct 2003, 11:23
I heard he was too tough, thats why Hawthorn were willing to trade him.

Sedat!
30 Oct 2003, 12:35
When Veale get a bit older, does that mean he will be known as Lauchlan Cow

Curly5
30 Oct 2003, 12:48
I heard he was too tough, thats why Hawthorn were willing to trade him.
That's a load of bull-schnitzel.

Pepi
30 Oct 2003, 12:53
Hes so lean an opponent wouldn't even want to slaughter him, coz they feel sorry for him.

SonOfScray
30 Oct 2003, 12:56
I just hope he doesn't get thrown into the senior line up straight away. We'll get slaughtered.

SonOfScray
30 Oct 2003, 17:21
Originally posted by Sedat!
As a potential back-up ruckman, at centre bounces he is a good "parma" of the ball (they just get worse).

Gee we are really hamming it up over this kid. The jokes just keep getting cheesier and cheesier.

Curly5
30 Oct 2003, 19:12
And saucier and saucier ;)

Captain Sensible
30 Oct 2003, 19:14
And crumbier and crumbier.

This thread rocks.

Pepi
30 Oct 2003, 19:26
Breaking news: Veale just pulled a hammy
I wonder if the pig is good looking

SonOfScray
30 Oct 2003, 19:40
The kids a superstar already, I think we'll be hearing many a great tail about the lad for years to come.

carlos' roos
31 Oct 2003, 12:55
he's been running around the paddock at glenferrie for a while but was told the grass was greener at whitten ovals pasture.
He really needs to beef up for the start of the new season,
I think he is a dud myself

NW2
31 Oct 2003, 23:42
mmmmmmmmmmm Veale

goaldrush
2 Nov 2003, 14:42
Make sure that you guys look after Locky for us.

dan warna
2 Nov 2003, 14:53
Thanks guys

this is one of the funniest threads...

poor guy, you doggies are really steaking him to the cross early, when you traded for him, did you calculate what his future was going to be like or did you do it by the kilo?

He'll always be compared to Nathan Brown, Danny Jacobs and daisy the cow on his performance...

SonOfScray
2 Nov 2003, 15:30
lol!

Veale is more than welcome at the Kennel mate, I think he brings something pretty special to the plate.

dogsbody
2 Nov 2003, 15:48
Originally posted by dan warna
Thanks guys

this is one of the funniest threads...

poor guy, you doggies are really steaking him to the cross early, when you traded for him, did you calculate what his future was going to be like or did you do it by the kilo?

He'll always be compared to Nathan Brown, Danny Jacobs and daisy the cow on his performance...

Whilst this has been a funny thread, I hope the boy isn't reading it. If he is, then I hope he isn't taking it to heart. It is one thing to give an unfortunate nickname to a mature star like Brown. Veale is a boy of 18 years. If he achieves nothing more in his football career then he has achieved more than, in all likelihood, all contributors to this forum.

scooter600x
2 Nov 2003, 16:22
Originally posted by dan warna
you doggies are really steaking him to the cross early,

Gold

SonOfScray
2 Nov 2003, 16:28
If Eagleton can cope with the tirade of abuse he has recieved over the years, I am sure Veale can handle a bit of light hearted joking over his surname. I think most Doggies supporters, while not expecting much, hope that he can put his best foot forward at the Club and maybe one day challange for a senior berth.